Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 11, 1972
9.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1952 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,806
Mixed:
58
Negative:
88
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
ConstanceM.Jul 7, 2003
The only film that can surpass it is Godfather II. The ultimate movie!!! To Matt P. and all those bothered by his comment: "there never was a Godfather III" (jedi hand jesture)" it was all a horrible, horrible nightmare that sleeps with the The only film that can surpass it is Godfather II. The ultimate movie!!! To Matt P. and all those bothered by his comment: "there never was a Godfather III" (jedi hand jesture)" it was all a horrible, horrible nightmare that sleeps with the fishiz" Hope this helps and is cheaper than the therapy that everyone should recieve who watched the afore mentioned nightmare. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
YoonMinC.Sep 28, 2003
Gangster films before Godfather made organized crime exciting and glamorous but Godfather made it respectable. Ironically, by condemning society-at-large(politics and big business)by drawing analogies with organized crime, Coppola only Gangster films before Godfather made organized crime exciting and glamorous but Godfather made it respectable. Ironically, by condemning society-at-large(politics and big business)by drawing analogies with organized crime, Coppola only elevated the mafia to legitimacy; the book, by the way, is even more nakedly--but also more honestly--enamoured with mafia power; while the movie tells the story of a young Michael who's seduced into evil, the audience falls under the same spell; everyone leaves the theater thinking that Vito Corleone was a great man, that the murder of Sonny was a major tragedy, and that though Michael loses his soul, he's one well-dressed badass. One can defend this movie by saying that the Corleones are a breed apart from a breed apart. That while most mafia guys entered crime simply out of greed, Vito was originally a good guy who became a criminal for altruistic reasons(Robin Hoodlum?). Well, whatever, but I've also completely fallen under the spell. It's completely bogus as a statement about crime and politics but it's hard to think of another movie as finely mounted as period piece, conducted as blood opera, calibrated as compelling drama. The script, the acting, the direction are all supreme. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeRDec 24, 2004
Exellent movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Oct 23, 2004
When people hear the word "Godfather" they think, "Best movie ever made!!!". Well that is (in my opinion) a bunch of bullcrap!!! Don't get me wrong, The Godfather is an excellent piece of work, but I wouldn't go so far to say it is When people hear the word "Godfather" they think, "Best movie ever made!!!". Well that is (in my opinion) a bunch of bullcrap!!! Don't get me wrong, The Godfather is an excellent piece of work, but I wouldn't go so far to say it is the best movie ever made. Personally, I like GoodFellas a little better. The Godfather has the best of all the qualities for a movie = great directing, great writing (not as good as the book), excellent acting (Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, Robert DuVall), and all that jazz, but I still don't think it is the best movie ever made. One of the top 10 movies ever made (most likely), One of the top 5 movies ever made (maybe), the best movie ever made (I don't think so). If you like Mafia movies, this is the one that started them. If you are looking for the best Mafia movie or televison show, watch "The Sopranos" Sunday nights at 9:00 p.m. or 10:00 p.m. If you haven't seen "The Godfather" yet, I would rent it immediatley! (1/31/03) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NicolásT.Oct 26, 2004
Espectacular.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GaborA.Feb 17, 2004
The movie's only flaw (besides Keaton) is a lack of variety. Every scene feels like the last, but nonetheless every scene is perfect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ToddB.Apr 6, 2004
Half (also part two, we'll forget part three) of the two greatest movies of all time, anybody who doesn't like this is allowed to have their own opinions, but anybody who says that it sucks doesn't know anything about great movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.May 18, 2004
Sean M. you are a moron. If you haven't seen a movie don't rate it. If you watch in and give it a 0 so be it. This and Godfather 2 are amazing movies that are copied 30+ years later.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MilesT.Jun 5, 2004
A top 10 movie of all time for sure. Brilliant ending.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristosD.Jun 8, 2004
Almost the only movie with such a great casting and is actually really good!!! A really great movie! There is no way you can describe it! For me the best movie ever made! By far!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkS.Jul 29, 2004
Excellent movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ParkerO.Oct 11, 2005
I have always loved all the Godfather movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JamesMNov 19, 2005
Certainly overrated but a fine film nonetheless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SamD.Oct 16, 2005
It is an excellent movie, but there are point in it where the acting could have used an extra oomph, like the scene where al pacino and his would be wife are walking down the sidewalk in the park, iwasn't impressed with the lack of It is an excellent movie, but there are point in it where the acting could have used an extra oomph, like the scene where al pacino and his would be wife are walking down the sidewalk in the park, iwasn't impressed with the lack of intensity nor the lack of emotion from the actress. also, if you do the math, the score for this movie should be a 99 since 1380(the total) divided by 14 (the amount of reviews) is 98.57 a.k.a. a 99. I'd like a recount here! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DylanB.Feb 1, 2005
This is the best movie of all time period.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IndyS.Feb 20, 2005
Spectacular movie. For those that are disappointed with the Godfather don't seem to understand everything behind it. A word of advice... stop being narrow minded and be open to what was once real.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RickC.Mar 11, 2005
Obviously the people who give this movie bad reviews don't know jack about filmmaking or artictic expression. If you think its so bad, than why is it on the AFI's top 100 movies (I believe its actually in the top five). Obviously Obviously the people who give this movie bad reviews don't know jack about filmmaking or artictic expression. If you think its so bad, than why is it on the AFI's top 100 movies (I believe its actually in the top five). Obviously you people are convoluted, so try to learn a little from the pros and stop being so ignorant. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PipH.Mar 10, 2005
The book is better then the film. However this is one of best if not the best film ever made. Quite simply if you do not understand or like this film you are obviously a sponge.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CamApr 27, 2005
One of the best movies ever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IllyaZ.May 30, 2005
One of the best films of all time; no question!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
FrancoSOct 12, 2006
BEST MOVIE EVER!! It had its flaws (too much diaglouge) I can see this movie over and over again. Plus I'm part Sicillian! Marlon Brando stole the first one though, excellent performance and Al Pacino wasn't bad himself. If you BEST MOVIE EVER!! It had its flaws (too much diaglouge) I can see this movie over and over again. Plus I'm part Sicillian! Marlon Brando stole the first one though, excellent performance and Al Pacino wasn't bad himself. If you havent seen it, buy it. A must-have for your movie collection! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EricR.Mar 17, 2006
I ruge anyone who doesn't like this or found it lacluster to watch it again. I didn't much care for it the first time, that's because I didn't understand the plot or characters, so I could't be emotionally involved, I ruge anyone who doesn't like this or found it lacluster to watch it again. I didn't much care for it the first time, that's because I didn't understand the plot or characters, so I could't be emotionally involved, regardless of how great the directing, acting and cinemetography was. The more you watch it, the more you uncover, and the more you can appreciate it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Mr.HankeyMar 22, 2006
A masterpiece that is in my opinion the best movie ever made. It is a violent movie but shows the bruatlity of the mob and how violent and vicious some of them were. It is a beautiful and tragic movie that shows how a son who originally A masterpiece that is in my opinion the best movie ever made. It is a violent movie but shows the bruatlity of the mob and how violent and vicious some of them were. It is a beautiful and tragic movie that shows how a son who originally would have hated to be in the family buisness came to the family buisness. We should be all thanking Mario Puzo for the amazing story that generated thousands screaming when the horse was in the the bed and Francis Ford Coppola who in great detail showed the personalities of the characters in such great shape. Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan and Robert Duvall have great strength as actors and each has a different trait that is either hard or soft. The Movie will remain one of the best ever made forever and if you can top this then you have to be pretty damn good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanR.Mar 9, 2006
There's no question this film will be considered a classic a century from now. One can only hope that an actor is born that will surpass Marlon Brando as the Godfather, or that a film that equally captures the American spirit will be There's no question this film will be considered a classic a century from now. One can only hope that an actor is born that will surpass Marlon Brando as the Godfather, or that a film that equally captures the American spirit will be made over the next 100 years. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyneM.Jul 10, 2006
The most perfect American film ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TrevorAug 3, 2006
All three films taken as a whole proves to be the greatest achievement in cinema history.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Sep 14, 2006
11 out of 10
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesEOct 15, 2007
This is the best movie i have ever seen in my life. People knew that back in the 70's and still today it is unmatched in quality and realism. The length of the movie was perfectly acceptable otherwise we would never get the whole story. This is the best movie i have ever seen in my life. People knew that back in the 70's and still today it is unmatched in quality and realism. The length of the movie was perfectly acceptable otherwise we would never get the whole story. Anyone (and i mean anyone) who gives this movie lower than 5 should be watching bio-dome and should be banned from any movie rating sites. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WillP.Mar 23, 2007
My absolute FAVORITE movie ever. Anyone with even a little bit of patience and an IQ over room temperature will recognize that this is an absolutely incredible movie. I honestly cannot think of any flaws, even minor ones.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KendallG.May 3, 2007
Puzo, he forged an epic tragedy about America, capitalism, family, greed, treachery and love. He showed us
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndreJun 28, 2007
One of the greatest of the best films of all time, a true masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PotatoHeadJul 31, 2007
Ryan J, if Godfather is a "0," how would you rate Bio-Dome? I bet you're real proud of yourself giving the highest rated movie on Metacritic a zero rating.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottW.Aug 25, 2007
I first saw this movie when I was 18 a few years ago in 2003 and I loved it. This is a movie that will never get old. Everything in this movie is at its best. From the acting and music to the story it's self. This gangster story is the I first saw this movie when I was 18 a few years ago in 2003 and I loved it. This is a movie that will never get old. Everything in this movie is at its best. From the acting and music to the story it's self. This gangster story is the best of the best and is also one of the all time greatest movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BraeH.Dec 17, 2008
A great set of movies.The new blu-ray version's are worth picking up.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
christianw.Jan 8, 2008
What a movie, what a cast. I love this flick so much, it blows me away every time I watch it. James Caan at the toll booth is one hell of a scene. Best movie ever made anywhere. It even pips Kubricks 2001, no mean feat.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JakeMay 11, 2008
I like the film, but I still think it's overrated. In my opinion it's a great gangster movie with excelent actors and a cool story. However I don't think that this is the best movie ever as some parts of it are simply too I like the film, but I still think it's overrated. In my opinion it's a great gangster movie with excelent actors and a cool story. However I don't think that this is the best movie ever as some parts of it are simply too long. I like it but it doesn't blow my mind. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DevonC.May 29, 2008
It
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeanetteA.Jul 18, 2008
I saw this movie when it first came out and it's been my favorite movie of all time. The key to the story line is how the family loves each other even though the business they are in is violent. The story line is the best part. No other I saw this movie when it first came out and it's been my favorite movie of all time. The key to the story line is how the family loves each other even though the business they are in is violent. The story line is the best part. No other movie has come close to having all that this one has to offer. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Aug 7, 2008
Goodness gracious me, it is not the best movie ever made. Sure, it's on the top 10 list, but not the number 1 greatest, at least for me. The Godfather was a brilliant and outstanding setup for Part II, and for that It was good. There Goodness gracious me, it is not the best movie ever made. Sure, it's on the top 10 list, but not the number 1 greatest, at least for me. The Godfather was a brilliant and outstanding setup for Part II, and for that It was good. There really was no big storyline to it though. Part II there were many thing happening. But The Godfather just had Marlon Brando walkin' around saying random things with his, somewhat annoying, but kick ass voice. It was just family problems. Oh no Michael was sent to prison, Johnny was murdered, and Michael took over the family business. In a nutshell, that's all it really was. But it sure was a good movie. A beautiful, amazing setup for Part II. It's worth watching, but you have to be In the mood, and when you are, you'll find the picture breathtaking. Sometime you wonder if they even made it in '72, thinking they did it sometime in the '90s. But the film was very well done. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertW.Nov 29, 2009
By far the best movie of all-time and every other film in the genre tries to live up to the standard of this movie... they all fall short.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IgorMMar 17, 2009
Plague on the houses of those who claims The Godfather is NOT the best movie of all time!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimNMay 9, 2009
Greatest movie ever. Al Pacino and Marlon Brando were excellent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
adityam.Jun 22, 2009
I am an aspiring Director and my works are all fresh until one day I watched this Film and after that I needed to clearly define my approach to the Films to stop imitating 'The Godfather'. This Film has set huge standards in film I am an aspiring Director and my works are all fresh until one day I watched this Film and after that I needed to clearly define my approach to the Films to stop imitating 'The Godfather'. This Film has set huge standards in film making. A very Influential Movie on all dimensions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottNJul 24, 2009
This movie is a classic and the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. Coppola creates not only some of the greatest moments in film history, but also creates characters that have amazing depth only surpassed by literary works. Despite This movie is a classic and the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. Coppola creates not only some of the greatest moments in film history, but also creates characters that have amazing depth only surpassed by literary works. Despite being long, not a single piece of dialogue is wasted. It is a masterpiece of art, not just film. To the negative reviews....just rate it on it's merits, not some feeling it's overrated. As to the Metascore, read their rating system. They weight specific reviews and then normalize. With their system it's gets a 100. This is one of the few films ever made that deserve such a rating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ElM.Aug 13, 2009
Although not my favorite movie of all time, I acknowledge it as being, perhaps, the best movie of all time. The acting is spectacular, Marlon Brando giving an excellent performance and Al Pacino (before he becomes the boss) is outstanding as Although not my favorite movie of all time, I acknowledge it as being, perhaps, the best movie of all time. The acting is spectacular, Marlon Brando giving an excellent performance and Al Pacino (before he becomes the boss) is outstanding as well. At around 175 minutes, it is a very long movie and at some points does drag on a little unnecessarily, but these moments are very rare and all of this comes together to form probably the best movie of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MirkoC.Aug 18, 2009
I think it is a good learning experience reading user comments for movies. It shows that there will never be a unanimous consensus on greatness. Some will always disagree. However most of those who disliked the movie are clearly very young. I think it is a good learning experience reading user comments for movies. It shows that there will never be a unanimous consensus on greatness. Some will always disagree. However most of those who disliked the movie are clearly very young. If you say a movie like Donnie Brasco or untouchable or Scarface is better you fail to realize that these movies owe there inspiration to the Godfather. Sooo many movie makers were influenced byu the Godfather that if you see the movie too late in your movie watching life maybe you just can't get it. I saw the movie growing up and have watched it many many times and am still mesmerized by its greatness. believe me I was watching it long before it was apparently "trendy' to like it. Me and my high school buddies would have Godfather movie nights well over 20 years ago and loved them with no preconceived notions other than we loved them. As a teenager I liked Scarface, it was amusing, but even then i knew it is no where near the movie that Godfather is. I guess I am just fascinated by the diversity of human opinions. Rarely will everyone agree when it comes to personal taste. However if you can't see the effort, thought and artistic care put into the Godfather I suppose it is one's loss. Thankfully there are endless movies out there to be enjoyed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottAug 30, 2009
The greatest movie of ALL time, hands down! those who dislike, know nothing about cinema.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArchanSSep 19, 2009
The greatest movie I have ever seen. Strong realistic character development, complex plot, analytical evaluation of human nature, twists, classical depiction of mafia characteristics with great casting (including one of the greatest The greatest movie I have ever seen. Strong realistic character development, complex plot, analytical evaluation of human nature, twists, classical depiction of mafia characteristics with great casting (including one of the greatest performance in world history by Marlon Brando and career making performance by Al Pacino) and directed by one of the greatest visionary director Francis Ford Coppola makes this film not only the greatest gangster movie of all time but also the greatest movie of all time. Reading the comments of other users I have found that some people rated it very poorly (even some gave the movie 0). They think giving the movie 10 rating makes it overrated. But for them I want to say that either they haven't understood the movie or haven't actually watched the movie. Considering public rights it can be said that anyone can give any rating in their accordance but giving this movie 0 rating is a social insult in my opinion. Many people think Scarface and Goodfellas are better than this film. But I strongly believe that Scarface has neither strong character development nor any good story. Yes it has some cheesy lines and some eye-candy violence which makes it a "notable" gangster (also a reason is that it is based on a true character) film but definitely not a "great" film. And yes Goodfellas is a great film the characters of the film are all villainous in nature. They don't appeal the sympathy of mass. Along with it neither have the classical approach as The Godfather has nor had any complicated story which the viewer will go on thinking long after the movie as The Godfather. So I think rating this movie 10 is just. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanL.Dec 18, 2003
This is THE greatest movie ever made. what the hell is the point in giving it a 0 because they did something weird with the scoring? youv never even seen it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MitchH.Mar 27, 2003
Best film ever. There's no question about that.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BenS.Oct 22, 2004
Best movie ever anyone who says this movie isnt good shouldnt be rating movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CalH.Dec 26, 2004
A classic ,you would never get tired of watching.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
H.G.Mar 26, 2004
Really good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
H.G.Mar 26, 2004
Really good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaxR.Apr 17, 2004
Perfect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChanB.May 18, 2004
Best movie ever created.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SalvAug 16, 2004
As near perfect as you are ever going to get. As astounding and acomplished on your TV as in the cinema.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelHAug 18, 2004
One word for this movie, Unbelievable, deserves the 100.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelHAug 18, 2004
One word for this movie, Unbelievable, deserves the 100.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PhilA.Sep 17, 2004
Very good throughout but then again the length not great. could havebeen condensed to 140 mins.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewF.Jan 27, 2005
Easily one of the best movies ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertC.Jan 28, 2005
One of the best!! movies i seen all me life.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JerodE.Jul 15, 2005
One of the greatest films ever made. Superb acting and great storytelling.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShellaM.Jul 16, 2005
Best film ever!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnAug 28, 2005
Beautifully haunting. perfection on screen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BruceRNov 7, 2006
The single finest achievement in American film making. Perhaps, Ryan N. should have a nap.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AprilM.Feb 28, 2006
A very dramatic film. All I have to say is that I loved it! A succesful movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonydannieJun 14, 2006
Unlike a certain comment made by one of tv's favorite charecters. The Godfather is a masterpiece!! This is one of those movies that eventhough you own a copy wether it be on VHS or DVD . As soon as you find a tv station showing it Unlike a certain comment made by one of tv's favorite charecters. The Godfather is a masterpiece!! This is one of those movies that eventhough you own a copy wether it be on VHS or DVD . As soon as you find a tv station showing it during your usual channel surfing, you can't help but to watch to the point where you are even putting up with commercials. You have it on your shelf but yet you dont want to get up to pop in in your player.. when the commercials come up you use that time to go to the bath room instead of reaching for your copy. That is in my opinion the essence of a great film. Great acting. great writing. The film stand out as the best in american cinema. After Citizen kane of course. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
smithyOct 14, 2007
Ultimatest movie ever, if you don't think so your a moron.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisS.Dec 14, 2007
Any ratings of below 8 are ridiculous(i.e little kids giving it a 0/10. Morons). This movie is an instant classic, with a riveting storyline and plenty of action. If you don't like the atmosphere of the movie like many of the reviews I Any ratings of below 8 are ridiculous(i.e little kids giving it a 0/10. Morons). This movie is an instant classic, with a riveting storyline and plenty of action. If you don't like the atmosphere of the movie like many of the reviews I have read here, please go and watch Grease. Or just go away. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DAOct 29, 2007
It's disappointing that some kids want to be rebellious and give it a 0, because as the last reviewer said, nothing's perfect, so nothing is so bad its 0. I do not believe this is the best movie I've seen, i enjoyed goodfellas It's disappointing that some kids want to be rebellious and give it a 0, because as the last reviewer said, nothing's perfect, so nothing is so bad its 0. I do not believe this is the best movie I've seen, i enjoyed goodfellas more along with a few others (Saw, Old School), but this is the classic and will always live on. So if you're in a rebellious mood, please do not review, it's a waste of time for you and any person who reads it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobW.Mar 19, 2007
Truly a dark masterpiece with so many famous scenes and lines it passed directly into screen legend status. Created a genre of movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JonC.Jun 26, 2007
Not what every critic hypes it up to be, but it's still well done as far as acting and writing. By the way, in response to a random comment by Mike C., "global warming" and fox news have nothing to do with movies...and global Not what every critic hypes it up to be, but it's still well done as far as acting and writing. By the way, in response to a random comment by Mike C., "global warming" and fox news have nothing to do with movies...and global warming's been proven to be fake by many scientists, they just can't go too public with it or people like you threaten to kill them (not making that up, it's actually happened to a guy). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DavidKJul 16, 2007
I've only ever seen bits of it and its ok but i read a comment from James K who said "Did not care for it. It insists upon itself" and had to say is that not from family guy when they are in a panic room like setting and peter says that I've only ever seen bits of it and its ok but i read a comment from James K who said "Did not care for it. It insists upon itself" and had to say is that not from family guy when they are in a panic room like setting and peter says that about the godfather? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Kneelb.Jul 21, 2007
Someone please kill ryan j... You deserve to be stabbed repeatedly in the eyeball with a rusty soldering iron. The godfather is the classic perfect movie, period. It stands with the best movies such as pulp fiction, goodfellas, ect. So ryan, Someone please kill ryan j... You deserve to be stabbed repeatedly in the eyeball with a rusty soldering iron. The godfather is the classic perfect movie, period. It stands with the best movies such as pulp fiction, goodfellas, ect. So ryan, think b4 you give a movie a 0 u stupid retard. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WHDelNidoMar 27, 2008
One of the best films ever made. You dont need to like the genre to acknowledge its one of the best.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LeonardoP.Apr 11, 2008
It's a very good movie.It is perfect the acting of Marlon Brando, Robert Duvall, James Caan etc. I love this movie, but I don't now why it's one of the better movies of all time. I recommend it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Hello1Jun 21, 2008
Brilliant film, perfectly juggling the strong racial themes of the italian mafia, with the deep meaningful knowledge they are just men playing a deadly game.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BillV.Jun 24, 2008
The best gangland movie ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DiogoC.Jun 28, 2008
A despite of the boring beginning, the plot gains more and more emotion while the story is being told. At the end, you look back, and realize this was one of the best movies ever.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
jacobh.Jan 11, 2009
Possibly the best movie ever made.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TimBNov 10, 2009
this is a great movie. Most people who do not realize this are simply unable to grasp the complex themes and ideas it conveys. While the are entitled to their own opinions I feel that they should just stop wasting their time bashing a this is a great movie. Most people who do not realize this are simply unable to grasp the complex themes and ideas it conveys. While the are entitled to their own opinions I feel that they should just stop wasting their time bashing a masterpiece and go watch some Micheal Bay movie and call it the s**t. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZachBOct 11, 2009
One of the best movies ever made and anyone who says other wise was most likely born after 1995.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
C.G.Nov 30, 2009
First time I have seen it, I wasn't impressed at all, not paying much attention. Years later, although I have just learned english in highschol, I have watched the trilogy online, also looking at the script, then I have read it (every First time I have seen it, I wasn't impressed at all, not paying much attention. Years later, although I have just learned english in highschol, I have watched the trilogy online, also looking at the script, then I have read it (every fan should, a lot more in depth) and also all the other novels by Mario Puzo I could find online. It changed my life and I have to continue watching them once in a while to bring the feelings back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SedrickWOct 14, 2009
What the hell is wrong with kids these days! The Godfather is the daddy of all movies. The Godfather is hands down to greatest movie ever seen on a TV anywhere in the world ever. That was misspelled horribly I am sorry. But The Godfather is What the hell is wrong with kids these days! The Godfather is the daddy of all movies. The Godfather is hands down to greatest movie ever seen on a TV anywhere in the world ever. That was misspelled horribly I am sorry. But The Godfather is amazing so up yours kids! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jamesjamesNov 6, 2009
People who rate this less than a 9 clearly haven't the first idea about filmmaking, and probably think Micheal bay is the worlds greatest director , go watch transformers and for all you who says its shit (the godfather) not everybody People who rate this less than a 9 clearly haven't the first idea about filmmaking, and probably think Micheal bay is the worlds greatest director , go watch transformers and for all you who says its shit (the godfather) not everybody can just switch there brain off and watch a movie that has only 1 purpose and that's line already rich studio dickheads pockets with more money, the likes of saw transformers all that eye candy retard shit has nothing to do with the art and craft of filmaking ,nothing to do with an artists vision but instead its just a cash cow ,if you don't like the likes of transformers and that shit than your a slave,art is about an artists vision,an what he or she wants to show you and wants to say,not what they think you wanna c,u idiots probably think prison break and 24 are better than the wire and the sopranos. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NiallKNov 9, 2009
I have to agree that this is the finest piece of cinema ever made. Fantastic acting performances, an enthralling, deep story, and all the atmosphere of a childhood Christmas. In my opinion, anyone who gives this less than a 9 either I have to agree that this is the finest piece of cinema ever made. Fantastic acting performances, an enthralling, deep story, and all the atmosphere of a childhood Christmas. In my opinion, anyone who gives this less than a 9 either didn't understand the movie, never saw it or is just being too elitist to recognise greatness. I for one still get chills when the theme music fades in as I load up the DVD yet again. A show-case in how to make a classic. It saddens me that great art such as this is called "borin lol". Epitomises the word "epic". Nothing, bar its successor comes even moderately close. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EveIllDec 29, 2009
Wow. The best movie I have ever seen. Period. If you have seen this movie you shouldn't be allowed to rate others, because it will influence your rating so much. Watch it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
williambillFeb 19, 2009
Brilliant performances by Al Pacino, Marlon Brando, James Caan, and Robert Duvall. This is one of the greatest films of all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonyCFeb 22, 2009
Possibly the best movie Ive ever seen. Excellent!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BlindSAug 11, 2009
THe Godfather is a brilliant piece of work and those who see it as dull and boring have no taste for Drama. If entertainment means bullets flying at every second, than The Gadfather was not the choice for you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jonathoncAug 18, 2009
An incredible piece of work easily one of the best movies ever made if you put this up against modern movies like American gangster or the new star wars series this will wipe the floor with them.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkK.Aug 22, 2009
Bob N is an idiot. This movie is great! And by saying that I don't mean "great" as in "good movie" I mean "great" as in "a movie revolutisionizing every aspect of the gangster genre" A lot of people thinks it's too long, (Too much Bob N is an idiot. This movie is great! And by saying that I don't mean "great" as in "good movie" I mean "great" as in "a movie revolutisionizing every aspect of the gangster genre" A lot of people thinks it's too long, (Too much movie to handle) but with a little patience and a mature mind you are sure to find this movie exciting and unlike anything else! Fantastic! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdamV.Dec 14, 2004
This is the greatest movie of all. The work of Francis Ford Coppola and Mario Puzo to create a story and make a movie that shows the inner workings of the mafia is amazing. What is most outstanding about this movie, however, is how it This is the greatest movie of all. The work of Francis Ford Coppola and Mario Puzo to create a story and make a movie that shows the inner workings of the mafia is amazing. What is most outstanding about this movie, however, is how it portrays the gangsters as good people. We see it from their side of the story, and we don't see many of the bad things they do, like the rapes, prostitution, and drugs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickGNov 16, 2005
The critics and the people agree: Best Movie Ever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GerrickC.Dec 19, 2006
The Godfather shows what goes on in the minds and realities of underworld men. It shows their good side, and it shows their ugly side. Al Pacino plays his character flawlessly. The movie is a masterpiece in drama and respect, and it is my The Godfather shows what goes on in the minds and realities of underworld men. It shows their good side, and it shows their ugly side. Al Pacino plays his character flawlessly. The movie is a masterpiece in drama and respect, and it is my favorite Al Pacino movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MorkusY.Nov 27, 2007
The acting was so incredible in this movie it wouldn't matter what the plot or story was.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DoubleMDec 13, 2007
First of all, i want to start by saying that i didn't like it the first time i saw it, really. I was confused and even a bit pissed, i was like "so this is the one of the greatest movie ever?!", and that's exactly the problem this First of all, i want to start by saying that i didn't like it the first time i saw it, really. I was confused and even a bit pissed, i was like "so this is the one of the greatest movie ever?!", and that's exactly the problem this movie (among others) can have; it's reputaion. I remember i had high anticipation and was very excited and eager when i started wathcing, and that distracted me and totally ruined the experience... Then later, i accidently found it starting on TV. As i didn't like it before i didn't plan to watch, but actually a few minutes later i was INTO IT till it ended ("Don Corleone" then the door shuts, i LOVE that moment that i have to mention it. That doesn't count as a spoiler, right?), i wanted to say something like whoa! but i was speechless. So what was different this time? well, i was relaxed with a clear mind, no anticipation, no distraction, i was just enjoying a movie, and what a movie it is. I've seen it many times since, and a good way to seperate the "really great" movies from the "just ok" is how they stand repeated viewings, i've found that many movies i liked lose their appeal or even make me wonder "i liked that BS?!", but the truly great movies get better, and The Godfather is one of these. So, for all the those who are confused about it or don't know why it's praised, i understand where you're coming froml, you may want to be a little more open minded and see it again. Or maybe wait till you get a little older, watch more movies and know more about filmmaking if you're too young (i was 16 when i first saw it, i'm now 20 and i view movies very differntly now). Now, there's no point in talking about the movie itself, you can find thousands of reviews all over the web and i won't add anything new when i say how perfect it is. I just wanted to tell my experience maybe someone find it useful. By the way, about the whole "best/greatest film ever", i don't think there's such one, but giving it a 0 without giving valid reasons or arguments is just a sign of immature behavior. Another thing, i'm not surprised with people who say Scarface is superior, i know how many hardcore gangstas, wiggers, badasses and 'tough' teens surf the net. Scarface is entertaining and i like it, but it has too many flaws form a very simple story to thin characters to over the top botched action scenes. It is probably remembered for the memorable lines. Tony Montana is a VERY FLAT character compared to Michael Corleone, and Scarface lacks the depth and complexity of The Godfather, maybe that is the point. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TIPDec 15, 2007
This is truly the greatest movie ever made, a hallmark in American Cinema. Al Pacino's class is unsurpassable. He is the greatest anti-hero actor i have ever seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HCNov 23, 2009
I love this movie. I don't think it is too long. I think it has subtle layers to define the whole story. If this isn't the best movie ever, it is in a short list at the top.
0 of 1 users found this helpful