The Godfather

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1892 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. 5002LMfromgamespot
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    A masterpiece. a fantastic cast, with the possible exclusion of Kay Adams. a very memorable performance by Marlon Brando. as Brando once said "it is the audience really that is doing the acting."
  2. Ken-StianO.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    A groundbreaking epic drama. Riveting performances, fantastic directing, masterful cinematography. The greatest classic there is.
  3. J.RyanG.
    May 23, 2005
    8
    This is perhaps one of the finest examples of American storytelling on film, though its sequels paled in comparison. "Part II" is often hoisted into the same category with its predecessor, but it is a weak-willed antidote to the potent power and toughness of the 1972 original. "Part III" might even have surpassed the second film, which tells you something. Where did Coppola go wrong? The This is perhaps one of the finest examples of American storytelling on film, though its sequels paled in comparison. "Part II" is often hoisted into the same category with its predecessor, but it is a weak-willed antidote to the potent power and toughness of the 1972 original. "Part III" might even have surpassed the second film, which tells you something. Where did Coppola go wrong? The second film could never gain any momentum because of forced flashbacks, which one can only believe existed because of Robert De Niro's fierce performance. Speaking of performances, many critics have said that Pacino was on par with Brando in the first film. But I'm finally convinced that Brando deserved the Oscar that year. Pacino was, to me, a pretty close second. The most brilliant scene of acting that ever comes to my mind is from this film: A scene in the second half of the film, when Brando is feeding his fish in his private study. Many of the complex plotlines of the entire saga run right through the busy intersection of Brando's facial expressions and tone of voice. This is not a perfect movie, but it is perfect at what it does best: Establishing characters that one hopes, prays, and would kill to have really existed. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    This is the best movie that ever was made, Robert de Niro and Al Pacino play them roles like no one else.
  5. GlennM.
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Yeah deff the second best movie ever made.
  6. Tom
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This film is a work of art.
  7. C.J.O.
    May 8, 2006
    10
    The Godfather is the best moive of all time! Respect, Power and Money.
  8. DerekE.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    This is cliche, but it really is "the perfect movie."
  9. DavidK.
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    This is easily the best movie of all time, then would be part two, but I can't stand watching part 3, it, just like far too many other movies, ruined the trilogy.
  10. KellyB.
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    The people who gave this movie a "0" are either trying to be subversive, or are completely moronic. My guess is that they are trying to be the former. Whether you like The Godfather, or thought that it was overrated, it certainly doesn't warrant a "0". There are far worse movies out there than this wonderfully acted epic. As for the voter who said that Scarface was a better The people who gave this movie a "0" are either trying to be subversive, or are completely moronic. My guess is that they are trying to be the former. Whether you like The Godfather, or thought that it was overrated, it certainly doesn't warrant a "0". There are far worse movies out there than this wonderfully acted epic. As for the voter who said that Scarface was a better movie...now that's moronic. While The Godfather is a true classic, Scarface is a poor man's Godfather. It is, at best, an overblown, long-winded film, chock-full of a mugging Al Pacino (has Brian DePalma EVER made a subtle movie?). Even then, I still give it a "5". But Godfather gets a "10". Expand
  11. JohnW.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    If you gave this a 0 you are the ones that love movies like Baby Geniuses 1 and 2. This movie was great and you have bad taste.
  12. MichaelR
    Dec 30, 2007
    8
    Its a slow and very long movie but patience is a virtue.This is not a movie for the impatient people.This is an instant classic movie that has a great moral story and all Italians will love this movie.Marlon Brando was perfect for the role of the Don.The acting,dialog and action was brilliant.Its the second best movie ever made after Scarface.
  13. JoshuaM.
    Jan 9, 2007
    8
    Two reasons I don't give it 10: the book is so good (especially leading up to Michael's leaving for Sicily), that it is unfair to give sole credit to the film. Having watched the film after a few years, I now find the pacing a bit slow (yes, perhaps due to the kinetic pace of many films today).
  14. HaroldB.
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Coppola's playfulness is given full reign in several imaginatively retro montage sequences. Newspaper headlines pass over shots of hands passing the spaghetti bowl at one of those impromptu feasts that nourished the underworld. Equally potent is the quick cutting between images of Michael, at the baptism of a godchild, promising a priest that he will renounce Satan at the same time Coppola's playfulness is given full reign in several imaginatively retro montage sequences. Newspaper headlines pass over shots of hands passing the spaghetti bowl at one of those impromptu feasts that nourished the underworld. Equally potent is the quick cutting between images of Michael, at the baptism of a godchild, promising a priest that he will renounce Satan at the same time that his enemies are being gorily gunned down all over town. Coppola knew how to create monsters - Michael and his father - and make us gleefully root for their triumph. Michael, especially monstrous because with his education and early vow to stay clear of the family business, his slow evolution into cold-blooded killer seems more unforgivable. The collaboration between director and actor here is magical. We actually see Michael's face go deader as the movie progresses, and his eyes seem to narrow as if Michael can no longer bear what he sees around him and himself. If you've only viewed "The Godfather" on television, you owe it to yourself to go out and see it on the big screen. Expand
  15. DouglasM.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    It is one of the greatest movies ever.All aspects of this movie are brilliant. Almost every scene is a masterpiece. Al Pacino's acting in Godfather Part 1 and 2 has to be among the best in the history of movies. In particular, he is so real and believable in the scene at the restaurant in the Bronx.
  16. KrisP.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    This film is one of my all time favorites, and this film has Marlon Brando in, in my opinion, one of his best roles. A must see for any one who can watch it.
  17. ArtI
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    I will give it a nine because nothings perfect! But it is a great movie, people who put 0's and 1's are retarded... sure there are better movies out there, but who's comparing? someone even brought up Scarface as being the better movie... please... that was garbage compared to this. Overall the story and characters were perfect, yeah it's long and has a lot of story to I will give it a nine because nothings perfect! But it is a great movie, people who put 0's and 1's are retarded... sure there are better movies out there, but who's comparing? someone even brought up Scarface as being the better movie... please... that was garbage compared to this. Overall the story and characters were perfect, yeah it's long and has a lot of story to it... but thats what I loved about it. I don't agree w/ the 100 rating on metacritic, because its almost impossible to get a perfect score on here. But it is a great movie! better than the stuff the industry is pushing now. Expand
  18. SukuS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    The Best Film ever without a doubt. If you haven't watched it you cannot function in popular culture.
  19. EddieM.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Greatest American epic ever! Quite simply American cinema's finest moment.
  20. KentC.
    Jan 13, 2008
    6
    Not for everyone. It certainly doesn't deserve a 0, but it wasn't one of my favorite movies of all time. You really have to be interested in the genre. I tried watching it for the full 3 hours, but couldn't. I found it pretty boring, despite fantastic acting. People will probably assume that I like bloody, mindless action movies, which isn't true. I love classic films, Not for everyone. It certainly doesn't deserve a 0, but it wasn't one of my favorite movies of all time. You really have to be interested in the genre. I tried watching it for the full 3 hours, but couldn't. I found it pretty boring, despite fantastic acting. People will probably assume that I like bloody, mindless action movies, which isn't true. I love classic films, but found this to be a bit tedious. Watching it in segments helps, but make sure that you don't do anything else that will distract you from the movie (reading a magazine, talking on the phone, etc) as you really need to be paying attention for 100% of the movie to fully understand it. Expand
  21. Benjyx
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    It has to be said that not everyone will agree on a film and critics do tend to overrate films like this. I have to say though this film is something else.... Im only 17, not part of the baby boomer generation and this film was just something else. It's not perfect but it's definately one orf the greatest films ever made, and the tension and shocks in some of the scenes are It has to be said that not everyone will agree on a film and critics do tend to overrate films like this. I have to say though this film is something else.... Im only 17, not part of the baby boomer generation and this film was just something else. It's not perfect but it's definately one orf the greatest films ever made, and the tension and shocks in some of the scenes are incredible. Last point; anyone who considers the characters unlikeable, did you skip scenes? Al Pacino's slow descent into a life that he doesn't wants, Marlon Brando's performance as a mob leader who uses logic and politics rather than murder, plus his last scene with his grandson... wow. Expand
  22. BillM.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    I finally got to see this movie yesterday and it was great. Even after all the cliches it caused.
  23. JohnnyC.
    Feb 3, 2008
    7
    THE most overrated movie ever! Ya it has a nice story,and a nice set of actors. But it's way to long. Some of you are saying that if others dont agree this is the greatest movie ever there a moron? Lol. This movie is not all that. Scarface is better. More action,a good story,long,but not to long. The only reason people are saying this is the greatest ever,is because there trying to THE most overrated movie ever! Ya it has a nice story,and a nice set of actors. But it's way to long. Some of you are saying that if others dont agree this is the greatest movie ever there a moron? Lol. This movie is not all that. Scarface is better. More action,a good story,long,but not to long. The only reason people are saying this is the greatest ever,is because there trying to follow the crowd. Expand
  24. RD.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    Superb movie. Not bored for even a second. Marlon Brando, Al Pacino and James Caan as also Robert Duvall all were superb. immortal classic.
  25. StephenC.
    May 8, 2008
    9
    While perhaps not the greatest movie of all time, despite it's rank as such among many, it is in the top 5. Marlon Brando plays the almost sympathetic character very well. My biggest qualm is I just felt the turn of Al Pacino was a little quick to happen. It seems to me he went from nice kid to sociopath, way more unhinged than his dad, almost overnight. Still an incredible movie and While perhaps not the greatest movie of all time, despite it's rank as such among many, it is in the top 5. Marlon Brando plays the almost sympathetic character very well. My biggest qualm is I just felt the turn of Al Pacino was a little quick to happen. It seems to me he went from nice kid to sociopath, way more unhinged than his dad, almost overnight. Still an incredible movie and cinematic experience. Expand
  26. ShawnA.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Brilliant.
  27. LiamG.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    The greatest and most influential mob movie ever. Even after 36 years, nothing, bar its sequel and Scorsese's 'Goodfellas', have come close to matching its absolute perfection.
  28. StabsM.
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    What's there to say? A perfect movie that I was accustomed to watching on VHS or cable, both of which had the color washed out. The DVD release has the color beautifully restored; the color, alone, allows you to rediscover The Godfather again. The special features are fantastic. Coppola walks you through the movie, slowly and expertly. The deleted scenes are wonderfully shot. What's there to say? A perfect movie that I was accustomed to watching on VHS or cable, both of which had the color washed out. The DVD release has the color beautifully restored; the color, alone, allows you to rediscover The Godfather again. The special features are fantastic. Coppola walks you through the movie, slowly and expertly. The deleted scenes are wonderfully shot. What's not to love? Expand
  29. Mack
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    This has to be among the greatest movies ever made. I don't think any of the sequels even come close although I hear many prefer part II. Every scene is memorable.
  30. VladislavK
    Aug 13, 2009
    10
    Really one of the greatest films of all time I don't need to add more
  31. CarlC
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    I think the grammar inaccuracies, lack of spelling prowess, and vapid intellectual acumen of those who gave this film a bad rating prove just how good it is, simply the best film ever made. I admit "Return of the King" is a close second, but.
  32. JS
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    The greatest movie ever made. The only blockbuster ever produced for thinking adults. All the performances are outstanding and the direction is peerless. Manages to turn a good summer novel into a dark, brooding masterpiece.
  33. ZackM.
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    While it is long i would consider it a classic. while it is brutal and violent and almost sadistic it has a well written story and amazing acting amplify a timeless crime drama
  34. PatC.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    This movie sets up Part II, where Pacino's character presents us with the premise that, no matter what circumstances one grows up in, all of us come to a crossroads where we may freely choose the tenets of our lives. Yes, I believe the combination of the two movies to tell the whole story is the inevitable designated metascore-100 movie. Part 1 is a prequel, it can't be a 10 This movie sets up Part II, where Pacino's character presents us with the premise that, no matter what circumstances one grows up in, all of us come to a crossroads where we may freely choose the tenets of our lives. Yes, I believe the combination of the two movies to tell the whole story is the inevitable designated metascore-100 movie. Part 1 is a prequel, it can't be a 10 because it's not complete. Casablanca & Citizen Kane didn't need a Part II. That's what completeness is. Let's just have that understood. Expand
  35. SantinoS.
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    the third greatest american film after "citizen kane" and "the godfather 2". A masterpiece that endures the impact of time and stays evergreen. the greatest cast of all time, brando, pacino, caan, duvall, shire, vigoda,etc.
  36. JasonC.
    Mar 22, 2003
    6
    It's ok but not as good as its hype, Godfather II or Goodfellas. When it first came out it was probably the dog's danglies but better films have been made since.
  37. MattP.
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    Without a doubt the best gangster movie ever, probably the best film ever. It's a shame about part 3...
  38. MZ
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    Part I and Part II are the best films ever. Great story, great acting, wonderful sets, cinematography....and the score..how could you ignore the mandolin strumming in the background? These 2 along with Citizen Kane will be very, very hard to beat........Classic, pure classic!
  39. ConstanceM.
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    The only film that can surpass it is Godfather II. The ultimate movie!!! To Matt P. and all those bothered by his comment: "there never was a Godfather III" (jedi hand jesture)" it was all a horrible, horrible nightmare that sleeps with the fishiz" Hope this helps and is cheaper than the therapy that everyone should recieve who watched the afore mentioned nightmare.
  40. YoonMinC.
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    Gangster films before Godfather made organized crime exciting and glamorous but Godfather made it respectable. Ironically, by condemning society-at-large(politics and big business)by drawing analogies with organized crime, Coppola only elevated the mafia to legitimacy; the book, by the way, is even more nakedly--but also more honestly--enamoured with mafia power; while the movie tells the Gangster films before Godfather made organized crime exciting and glamorous but Godfather made it respectable. Ironically, by condemning society-at-large(politics and big business)by drawing analogies with organized crime, Coppola only elevated the mafia to legitimacy; the book, by the way, is even more nakedly--but also more honestly--enamoured with mafia power; while the movie tells the story of a young Michael who's seduced into evil, the audience falls under the same spell; everyone leaves the theater thinking that Vito Corleone was a great man, that the murder of Sonny was a major tragedy, and that though Michael loses his soul, he's one well-dressed badass. One can defend this movie by saying that the Corleones are a breed apart from a breed apart. That while most mafia guys entered crime simply out of greed, Vito was originally a good guy who became a criminal for altruistic reasons(Robin Hoodlum?). Well, whatever, but I've also completely fallen under the spell. It's completely bogus as a statement about crime and politics but it's hard to think of another movie as finely mounted as period piece, conducted as blood opera, calibrated as compelling drama. The script, the acting, the direction are all supreme. Expand
  41. MikeR
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    Exellent movie.
  42. MichaelM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    When people hear the word "Godfather" they think, "Best movie ever made!!!". Well that is (in my opinion) a bunch of bullcrap!!! Don't get me wrong, The Godfather is an excellent piece of work, but I wouldn't go so far to say it is the best movie ever made. Personally, I like GoodFellas a little better. The Godfather has the best of all the qualities for a movie = great When people hear the word "Godfather" they think, "Best movie ever made!!!". Well that is (in my opinion) a bunch of bullcrap!!! Don't get me wrong, The Godfather is an excellent piece of work, but I wouldn't go so far to say it is the best movie ever made. Personally, I like GoodFellas a little better. The Godfather has the best of all the qualities for a movie = great directing, great writing (not as good as the book), excellent acting (Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, Robert DuVall), and all that jazz, but I still don't think it is the best movie ever made. One of the top 10 movies ever made (most likely), One of the top 5 movies ever made (maybe), the best movie ever made (I don't think so). If you like Mafia movies, this is the one that started them. If you are looking for the best Mafia movie or televison show, watch "The Sopranos" Sunday nights at 9:00 p.m. or 10:00 p.m. If you haven't seen "The Godfather" yet, I would rent it immediatley! (1/31/03) Expand
  43. NicolásT.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Espectacular.
  44. GaborA.
    Feb 17, 2004
    9
    The movie's only flaw (besides Keaton) is a lack of variety. Every scene feels like the last, but nonetheless every scene is perfect.
  45. ToddB.
    Apr 6, 2004
    10
    Half (also part two, we'll forget part three) of the two greatest movies of all time, anybody who doesn't like this is allowed to have their own opinions, but anybody who says that it sucks doesn't know anything about great movies.
  46. PaulF.
    May 18, 2004
    10
    Sean M. you are a moron. If you haven't seen a movie don't rate it. If you watch in and give it a 0 so be it. This and Godfather 2 are amazing movies that are copied 30+ years later.
  47. MilesT.
    Jun 5, 2004
    10
    A top 10 movie of all time for sure. Brilliant ending.
  48. ChristosD.
    Jun 8, 2004
    10
    Almost the only movie with such a great casting and is actually really good!!! A really great movie! There is no way you can describe it! For me the best movie ever made! By far!!!
  49. MarkS.
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    Excellent movie.
  50. ParkerO.
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    I have always loved all the Godfather movies.
  51. JamesM
    Nov 19, 2005
    8
    Certainly overrated but a fine film nonetheless.
  52. SamD.
    Oct 16, 2005
    8
    It is an excellent movie, but there are point in it where the acting could have used an extra oomph, like the scene where al pacino and his would be wife are walking down the sidewalk in the park, iwasn't impressed with the lack of intensity nor the lack of emotion from the actress. also, if you do the math, the score for this movie should be a 99 since 1380(the total) divided by 14 It is an excellent movie, but there are point in it where the acting could have used an extra oomph, like the scene where al pacino and his would be wife are walking down the sidewalk in the park, iwasn't impressed with the lack of intensity nor the lack of emotion from the actress. also, if you do the math, the score for this movie should be a 99 since 1380(the total) divided by 14 (the amount of reviews) is 98.57 a.k.a. a 99. I'd like a recount here! Expand
  53. DylanB.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    This is the best movie of all time period.
  54. IndyS.
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    Spectacular movie. For those that are disappointed with the Godfather don't seem to understand everything behind it. A word of advice... stop being narrow minded and be open to what was once real.
  55. RickC.
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    Obviously the people who give this movie bad reviews don't know jack about filmmaking or artictic expression. If you think its so bad, than why is it on the AFI's top 100 movies (I believe its actually in the top five). Obviously you people are convoluted, so try to learn a little from the pros and stop being so ignorant.
  56. PipH.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    The book is better then the film. However this is one of best if not the best film ever made. Quite simply if you do not understand or like this film you are obviously a sponge.
  57. Cam
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    One of the best movies ever.
  58. IllyaZ.
    May 30, 2005
    10
    One of the best films of all time; no question!
  59. FrancoS
    Oct 12, 2006
    9
    BEST MOVIE EVER!! It had its flaws (too much diaglouge) I can see this movie over and over again. Plus I'm part Sicillian! Marlon Brando stole the first one though, excellent performance and Al Pacino wasn't bad himself. If you havent seen it, buy it. A must-have for your movie collection!
  60. DemonicAngel
    Jan 22, 2006
    6
    I wanted to like this movie, I really did, but after two hours of watching unmoved and unengaged, I switched off the TV. A masterpiece it may be, but I didn't find it particularly entertaining.
  61. EricR.
    Mar 17, 2006
    9
    I ruge anyone who doesn't like this or found it lacluster to watch it again. I didn't much care for it the first time, that's because I didn't understand the plot or characters, so I could't be emotionally involved, regardless of how great the directing, acting and cinemetography was. The more you watch it, the more you uncover, and the more you can appreciate it.
  62. Mr.Hankey
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece that is in my opinion the best movie ever made. It is a violent movie but shows the bruatlity of the mob and how violent and vicious some of them were. It is a beautiful and tragic movie that shows how a son who originally would have hated to be in the family buisness came to the family buisness. We should be all thanking Mario Puzo for the amazing story that generated A masterpiece that is in my opinion the best movie ever made. It is a violent movie but shows the bruatlity of the mob and how violent and vicious some of them were. It is a beautiful and tragic movie that shows how a son who originally would have hated to be in the family buisness came to the family buisness. We should be all thanking Mario Puzo for the amazing story that generated thousands screaming when the horse was in the the bed and Francis Ford Coppola who in great detail showed the personalities of the characters in such great shape. Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan and Robert Duvall have great strength as actors and each has a different trait that is either hard or soft. The Movie will remain one of the best ever made forever and if you can top this then you have to be pretty damn good. Expand
  63. DanR.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    There's no question this film will be considered a classic a century from now. One can only hope that an actor is born that will surpass Marlon Brando as the Godfather, or that a film that equally captures the American spirit will be made over the next 100 years.
  64. RyneM.
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    The most perfect American film ever made.
  65. Trevor
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    All three films taken as a whole proves to be the greatest achievement in cinema history.
  66. JohnS.
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    11 out of 10
  67. JamesE
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    This is the best movie i have ever seen in my life. People knew that back in the 70's and still today it is unmatched in quality and realism. The length of the movie was perfectly acceptable otherwise we would never get the whole story. Anyone (and i mean anyone) who gives this movie lower than 5 should be watching bio-dome and should be banned from any movie rating sites.
  68. WillP.
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    My absolute FAVORITE movie ever. Anyone with even a little bit of patience and an IQ over room temperature will recognize that this is an absolutely incredible movie. I honestly cannot think of any flaws, even minor ones.
  69. KendallG.
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Puzo, he forged an epic tragedy about America, capitalism, family, greed, treachery and love. He showed us
  70. Andre
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest of the best films of all time, a true masterpiece.
  71. PotatoHead
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    Ryan J, if Godfather is a "0," how would you rate Bio-Dome? I bet you're real proud of yourself giving the highest rated movie on Metacritic a zero rating.
  72. ScottW.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    I first saw this movie when I was 18 a few years ago in 2003 and I loved it. This is a movie that will never get old. Everything in this movie is at its best. From the acting and music to the story it's self. This gangster story is the best of the best and is also one of the all time greatest movies.
  73. BraeH.
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    A great set of movies.The new blu-ray version's are worth picking up.
  74. christianw.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    What a movie, what a cast. I love this flick so much, it blows me away every time I watch it. James Caan at the toll booth is one hell of a scene. Best movie ever made anywhere. It even pips Kubricks 2001, no mean feat.
  75. Jake
    May 11, 2008
    8
    I like the film, but I still think it's overrated. In my opinion it's a great gangster movie with excelent actors and a cool story. However I don't think that this is the best movie ever as some parts of it are simply too long. I like it but it doesn't blow my mind.
  76. DevonC.
    May 29, 2008
    9
    It
  77. JeanetteA.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    I saw this movie when it first came out and it's been my favorite movie of all time. The key to the story line is how the family loves each other even though the business they are in is violent. The story line is the best part. No other movie has come close to having all that this one has to offer.
  78. JaredC.
    Aug 7, 2008
    8
    Goodness gracious me, it is not the best movie ever made. Sure, it's on the top 10 list, but not the number 1 greatest, at least for me. The Godfather was a brilliant and outstanding setup for Part II, and for that It was good. There really was no big storyline to it though. Part II there were many thing happening. But The Godfather just had Marlon Brando walkin' around saying Goodness gracious me, it is not the best movie ever made. Sure, it's on the top 10 list, but not the number 1 greatest, at least for me. The Godfather was a brilliant and outstanding setup for Part II, and for that It was good. There really was no big storyline to it though. Part II there were many thing happening. But The Godfather just had Marlon Brando walkin' around saying random things with his, somewhat annoying, but kick ass voice. It was just family problems. Oh no Michael was sent to prison, Johnny was murdered, and Michael took over the family business. In a nutshell, that's all it really was. But it sure was a good movie. A beautiful, amazing setup for Part II. It's worth watching, but you have to be In the mood, and when you are, you'll find the picture breathtaking. Sometime you wonder if they even made it in '72, thinking they did it sometime in the '90s. But the film was very well done. Expand
  79. RobertW.
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    By far the best movie of all-time and every other film in the genre tries to live up to the standard of this movie... they all fall short.
  80. IgorM
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Plague on the houses of those who claims The Godfather is NOT the best movie of all time!
  81. TimN
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Greatest movie ever. Al Pacino and Marlon Brando were excellent.
  82. adityam.
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    I am an aspiring Director and my works are all fresh until one day I watched this Film and after that I needed to clearly define my approach to the Films to stop imitating 'The Godfather'. This Film has set huge standards in film making. A very Influential Movie on all dimensions.
  83. ScottN
    Jul 24, 2009
    10
    This movie is a classic and the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. Coppola creates not only some of the greatest moments in film history, but also creates characters that have amazing depth only surpassed by literary works. Despite being long, not a single piece of dialogue is wasted. It is a masterpiece of art, not just film. To the negative reviews....just rate it on it's This movie is a classic and the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. Coppola creates not only some of the greatest moments in film history, but also creates characters that have amazing depth only surpassed by literary works. Despite being long, not a single piece of dialogue is wasted. It is a masterpiece of art, not just film. To the negative reviews....just rate it on it's merits, not some feeling it's overrated. As to the Metascore, read their rating system. They weight specific reviews and then normalize. With their system it's gets a 100. This is one of the few films ever made that deserve such a rating. Expand
  84. ElM.
    Aug 13, 2009
    10
    Although not my favorite movie of all time, I acknowledge it as being, perhaps, the best movie of all time. The acting is spectacular, Marlon Brando giving an excellent performance and Al Pacino (before he becomes the boss) is outstanding as well. At around 175 minutes, it is a very long movie and at some points does drag on a little unnecessarily, but these moments are very rare and all Although not my favorite movie of all time, I acknowledge it as being, perhaps, the best movie of all time. The acting is spectacular, Marlon Brando giving an excellent performance and Al Pacino (before he becomes the boss) is outstanding as well. At around 175 minutes, it is a very long movie and at some points does drag on a little unnecessarily, but these moments are very rare and all of this comes together to form probably the best movie of all time. Expand
  85. MirkoC.
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    I think it is a good learning experience reading user comments for movies. It shows that there will never be a unanimous consensus on greatness. Some will always disagree. However most of those who disliked the movie are clearly very young. If you say a movie like Donnie Brasco or untouchable or Scarface is better you fail to realize that these movies owe there inspiration to the I think it is a good learning experience reading user comments for movies. It shows that there will never be a unanimous consensus on greatness. Some will always disagree. However most of those who disliked the movie are clearly very young. If you say a movie like Donnie Brasco or untouchable or Scarface is better you fail to realize that these movies owe there inspiration to the Godfather. Sooo many movie makers were influenced byu the Godfather that if you see the movie too late in your movie watching life maybe you just can't get it. I saw the movie growing up and have watched it many many times and am still mesmerized by its greatness. believe me I was watching it long before it was apparently "trendy' to like it. Me and my high school buddies would have Godfather movie nights well over 20 years ago and loved them with no preconceived notions other than we loved them. As a teenager I liked Scarface, it was amusing, but even then i knew it is no where near the movie that Godfather is. I guess I am just fascinated by the diversity of human opinions. Rarely will everyone agree when it comes to personal taste. However if you can't see the effort, thought and artistic care put into the Godfather I suppose it is one's loss. Thankfully there are endless movies out there to be enjoyed. Expand
  86. Scott
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    The greatest movie of ALL time, hands down! those who dislike, know nothing about cinema.
  87. ArchanS
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    The greatest movie I have ever seen. Strong realistic character development, complex plot, analytical evaluation of human nature, twists, classical depiction of mafia characteristics with great casting (including one of the greatest performance in world history by Marlon Brando and career making performance by Al Pacino) and directed by one of the greatest visionary director Francis Ford The greatest movie I have ever seen. Strong realistic character development, complex plot, analytical evaluation of human nature, twists, classical depiction of mafia characteristics with great casting (including one of the greatest performance in world history by Marlon Brando and career making performance by Al Pacino) and directed by one of the greatest visionary director Francis Ford Coppola makes this film not only the greatest gangster movie of all time but also the greatest movie of all time. Reading the comments of other users I have found that some people rated it very poorly (even some gave the movie 0). They think giving the movie 10 rating makes it overrated. But for them I want to say that either they haven't understood the movie or haven't actually watched the movie. Considering public rights it can be said that anyone can give any rating in their accordance but giving this movie 0 rating is a social insult in my opinion. Many people think Scarface and Goodfellas are better than this film. But I strongly believe that Scarface has neither strong character development nor any good story. Yes it has some cheesy lines and some eye-candy violence which makes it a "notable" gangster (also a reason is that it is based on a true character) film but definitely not a "great" film. And yes Goodfellas is a great film the characters of the film are all villainous in nature. They don't appeal the sympathy of mass. Along with it neither have the classical approach as The Godfather has nor had any complicated story which the viewer will go on thinking long after the movie as The Godfather. So I think rating this movie 10 is just. Expand
  88. DanL.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    This is THE greatest movie ever made. what the hell is the point in giving it a 0 because they did something weird with the scoring? youv never even seen it!
  89. MitchH.
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    Best film ever. There's no question about that.
  90. BenS.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Best movie ever anyone who says this movie isnt good shouldnt be rating movies.
  91. CalH.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    A classic ,you would never get tired of watching.
  92. H.G.
    Mar 26, 2004
    10
    Really good.
  93. H.G.
    Mar 26, 2004
    10
    Really good.
  94. MaxR.
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    Perfect.
  95. ChanB.
    May 18, 2004
    10
    Best movie ever created.
  96. Salv
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    As near perfect as you are ever going to get. As astounding and acomplished on your TV as in the cinema.
  97. MichaelH
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    One word for this movie, Unbelievable, deserves the 100.
  98. MichaelH
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    One word for this movie, Unbelievable, deserves the 100.
  99. PhilA.
    Sep 17, 2004
    9
    Very good throughout but then again the length not great. could havebeen condensed to 140 mins.
  100. AndrewF.
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the best movies ever made.
Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Just about as great as a movie's ever gonna be... As for the storytellng, The Godfather is an intricately constructed gem that simultaneously kicks ass.
  2. 100
    The picture is a series of mini-climaxes, all building to the devastating, definitive conclusion... It was carefully and painstakingly crafted. Every major character - and more than a few minor ones - is molded into a distinct, complex individual.
  3. 100
    The wedding sequence... is a virtuoso stretch of filmmaking: Coppola brings his large cast onstage so artfully that we are drawn at once into the Godfather's world.