Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 11, 1972
9.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1985 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,850
Mixed:
53
Negative:
82
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BillM.Feb 3, 2008
I finally got to see this movie yesterday and it was great. Even after all the cliches it caused.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JohnnyC.Feb 3, 2008
THE most overrated movie ever! Ya it has a nice story,and a nice set of actors. But it's way to long. Some of you are saying that if others dont agree this is the greatest movie ever there a moron? Lol. This movie is not all that. THE most overrated movie ever! Ya it has a nice story,and a nice set of actors. But it's way to long. Some of you are saying that if others dont agree this is the greatest movie ever there a moron? Lol. This movie is not all that. Scarface is better. More action,a good story,long,but not to long. The only reason people are saying this is the greatest ever,is because there trying to follow the crowd. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RD.Apr 7, 2008
Superb movie. Not bored for even a second. Marlon Brando, Al Pacino and James Caan as also Robert Duvall all were superb. immortal classic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StephenC.May 8, 2008
While perhaps not the greatest movie of all time, despite it's rank as such among many, it is in the top 5. Marlon Brando plays the almost sympathetic character very well. My biggest qualm is I just felt the turn of Al Pacino was a While perhaps not the greatest movie of all time, despite it's rank as such among many, it is in the top 5. Marlon Brando plays the almost sympathetic character very well. My biggest qualm is I just felt the turn of Al Pacino was a little quick to happen. It seems to me he went from nice kid to sociopath, way more unhinged than his dad, almost overnight. Still an incredible movie and cinematic experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShawnA.Jun 21, 2008
Brilliant.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LiamG.Aug 8, 2008
The greatest and most influential mob movie ever. Even after 36 years, nothing, bar its sequel and Scorsese's 'Goodfellas', have come close to matching its absolute perfection.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StabsM.Sep 4, 2008
What's there to say? A perfect movie that I was accustomed to watching on VHS or cable, both of which had the color washed out. The DVD release has the color beautifully restored; the color, alone, allows you to rediscover The Godfather What's there to say? A perfect movie that I was accustomed to watching on VHS or cable, both of which had the color washed out. The DVD release has the color beautifully restored; the color, alone, allows you to rediscover The Godfather again. The special features are fantastic. Coppola walks you through the movie, slowly and expertly. The deleted scenes are wonderfully shot. What's not to love? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MackJan 6, 2009
This has to be among the greatest movies ever made. I don't think any of the sequels even come close although I hear many prefer part II. Every scene is memorable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VladislavKAug 13, 2009
Really one of the greatest films of all time I don't need to add more
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarlCAug 14, 2009
I think the grammar inaccuracies, lack of spelling prowess, and vapid intellectual acumen of those who gave this film a bad rating prove just how good it is, simply the best film ever made. I admit "Return of the King" is a close second, but.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JSAug 31, 2009
The greatest movie ever made. The only blockbuster ever produced for thinking adults. All the performances are outstanding and the direction is peerless. Manages to turn a good summer novel into a dark, brooding masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ZackM.Jan 3, 2010
While it is long i would consider it a classic. while it is brutal and violent and almost sadistic it has a well written story and amazing acting amplify a timeless crime drama
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ParkerO.Oct 11, 2005
I have always loved all the Godfather movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JamesMNov 19, 2005
Certainly overrated but a fine film nonetheless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SamD.Oct 16, 2005
It is an excellent movie, but there are point in it where the acting could have used an extra oomph, like the scene where al pacino and his would be wife are walking down the sidewalk in the park, iwasn't impressed with the lack of It is an excellent movie, but there are point in it where the acting could have used an extra oomph, like the scene where al pacino and his would be wife are walking down the sidewalk in the park, iwasn't impressed with the lack of intensity nor the lack of emotion from the actress. also, if you do the math, the score for this movie should be a 99 since 1380(the total) divided by 14 (the amount of reviews) is 98.57 a.k.a. a 99. I'd like a recount here! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
FrancoSOct 12, 2006
BEST MOVIE EVER!! It had its flaws (too much diaglouge) I can see this movie over and over again. Plus I'm part Sicillian! Marlon Brando stole the first one though, excellent performance and Al Pacino wasn't bad himself. If you BEST MOVIE EVER!! It had its flaws (too much diaglouge) I can see this movie over and over again. Plus I'm part Sicillian! Marlon Brando stole the first one though, excellent performance and Al Pacino wasn't bad himself. If you havent seen it, buy it. A must-have for your movie collection! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
DemonicAngelJan 22, 2006
I wanted to like this movie, I really did, but after two hours of watching unmoved and unengaged, I switched off the TV. A masterpiece it may be, but I didn't find it particularly entertaining.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EricR.Mar 17, 2006
I ruge anyone who doesn't like this or found it lacluster to watch it again. I didn't much care for it the first time, that's because I didn't understand the plot or characters, so I could't be emotionally involved, I ruge anyone who doesn't like this or found it lacluster to watch it again. I didn't much care for it the first time, that's because I didn't understand the plot or characters, so I could't be emotionally involved, regardless of how great the directing, acting and cinemetography was. The more you watch it, the more you uncover, and the more you can appreciate it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Mr.HankeyMar 22, 2006
A masterpiece that is in my opinion the best movie ever made. It is a violent movie but shows the bruatlity of the mob and how violent and vicious some of them were. It is a beautiful and tragic movie that shows how a son who originally A masterpiece that is in my opinion the best movie ever made. It is a violent movie but shows the bruatlity of the mob and how violent and vicious some of them were. It is a beautiful and tragic movie that shows how a son who originally would have hated to be in the family buisness came to the family buisness. We should be all thanking Mario Puzo for the amazing story that generated thousands screaming when the horse was in the the bed and Francis Ford Coppola who in great detail showed the personalities of the characters in such great shape. Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan and Robert Duvall have great strength as actors and each has a different trait that is either hard or soft. The Movie will remain one of the best ever made forever and if you can top this then you have to be pretty damn good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanR.Mar 9, 2006
There's no question this film will be considered a classic a century from now. One can only hope that an actor is born that will surpass Marlon Brando as the Godfather, or that a film that equally captures the American spirit will be There's no question this film will be considered a classic a century from now. One can only hope that an actor is born that will surpass Marlon Brando as the Godfather, or that a film that equally captures the American spirit will be made over the next 100 years. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyneM.Jul 10, 2006
The most perfect American film ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TrevorAug 3, 2006
All three films taken as a whole proves to be the greatest achievement in cinema history.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Sep 14, 2006
11 out of 10
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesEOct 15, 2007
This is the best movie i have ever seen in my life. People knew that back in the 70's and still today it is unmatched in quality and realism. The length of the movie was perfectly acceptable otherwise we would never get the whole story. This is the best movie i have ever seen in my life. People knew that back in the 70's and still today it is unmatched in quality and realism. The length of the movie was perfectly acceptable otherwise we would never get the whole story. Anyone (and i mean anyone) who gives this movie lower than 5 should be watching bio-dome and should be banned from any movie rating sites. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WillP.Mar 23, 2007
My absolute FAVORITE movie ever. Anyone with even a little bit of patience and an IQ over room temperature will recognize that this is an absolutely incredible movie. I honestly cannot think of any flaws, even minor ones.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KendallG.May 3, 2007
Puzo, he forged an epic tragedy about America, capitalism, family, greed, treachery and love. He showed us
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndreJun 28, 2007
One of the greatest of the best films of all time, a true masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PotatoHeadJul 31, 2007
Ryan J, if Godfather is a "0," how would you rate Bio-Dome? I bet you're real proud of yourself giving the highest rated movie on Metacritic a zero rating.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottW.Aug 25, 2007
I first saw this movie when I was 18 a few years ago in 2003 and I loved it. This is a movie that will never get old. Everything in this movie is at its best. From the acting and music to the story it's self. This gangster story is the I first saw this movie when I was 18 a few years ago in 2003 and I loved it. This is a movie that will never get old. Everything in this movie is at its best. From the acting and music to the story it's self. This gangster story is the best of the best and is also one of the all time greatest movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BraeH.Dec 17, 2008
A great set of movies.The new blu-ray version's are worth picking up.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
christianw.Jan 8, 2008
What a movie, what a cast. I love this flick so much, it blows me away every time I watch it. James Caan at the toll booth is one hell of a scene. Best movie ever made anywhere. It even pips Kubricks 2001, no mean feat.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JakeMay 11, 2008
I like the film, but I still think it's overrated. In my opinion it's a great gangster movie with excelent actors and a cool story. However I don't think that this is the best movie ever as some parts of it are simply too I like the film, but I still think it's overrated. In my opinion it's a great gangster movie with excelent actors and a cool story. However I don't think that this is the best movie ever as some parts of it are simply too long. I like it but it doesn't blow my mind. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DevonC.May 29, 2008
It
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeanetteA.Jul 18, 2008
I saw this movie when it first came out and it's been my favorite movie of all time. The key to the story line is how the family loves each other even though the business they are in is violent. The story line is the best part. No other I saw this movie when it first came out and it's been my favorite movie of all time. The key to the story line is how the family loves each other even though the business they are in is violent. The story line is the best part. No other movie has come close to having all that this one has to offer. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Aug 7, 2008
Goodness gracious me, it is not the best movie ever made. Sure, it's on the top 10 list, but not the number 1 greatest, at least for me. The Godfather was a brilliant and outstanding setup for Part II, and for that It was good. There Goodness gracious me, it is not the best movie ever made. Sure, it's on the top 10 list, but not the number 1 greatest, at least for me. The Godfather was a brilliant and outstanding setup for Part II, and for that It was good. There really was no big storyline to it though. Part II there were many thing happening. But The Godfather just had Marlon Brando walkin' around saying random things with his, somewhat annoying, but kick ass voice. It was just family problems. Oh no Michael was sent to prison, Johnny was murdered, and Michael took over the family business. In a nutshell, that's all it really was. But it sure was a good movie. A beautiful, amazing setup for Part II. It's worth watching, but you have to be In the mood, and when you are, you'll find the picture breathtaking. Sometime you wonder if they even made it in '72, thinking they did it sometime in the '90s. But the film was very well done. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertW.Nov 29, 2009
By far the best movie of all-time and every other film in the genre tries to live up to the standard of this movie... they all fall short.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IgorMMar 17, 2009
Plague on the houses of those who claims The Godfather is NOT the best movie of all time!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimNMay 9, 2009
Greatest movie ever. Al Pacino and Marlon Brando were excellent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
adityam.Jun 22, 2009
I am an aspiring Director and my works are all fresh until one day I watched this Film and after that I needed to clearly define my approach to the Films to stop imitating 'The Godfather'. This Film has set huge standards in film I am an aspiring Director and my works are all fresh until one day I watched this Film and after that I needed to clearly define my approach to the Films to stop imitating 'The Godfather'. This Film has set huge standards in film making. A very Influential Movie on all dimensions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottNJul 24, 2009
This movie is a classic and the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. Coppola creates not only some of the greatest moments in film history, but also creates characters that have amazing depth only surpassed by literary works. Despite This movie is a classic and the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. Coppola creates not only some of the greatest moments in film history, but also creates characters that have amazing depth only surpassed by literary works. Despite being long, not a single piece of dialogue is wasted. It is a masterpiece of art, not just film. To the negative reviews....just rate it on it's merits, not some feeling it's overrated. As to the Metascore, read their rating system. They weight specific reviews and then normalize. With their system it's gets a 100. This is one of the few films ever made that deserve such a rating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ElM.Aug 13, 2009
Although not my favorite movie of all time, I acknowledge it as being, perhaps, the best movie of all time. The acting is spectacular, Marlon Brando giving an excellent performance and Al Pacino (before he becomes the boss) is outstanding as Although not my favorite movie of all time, I acknowledge it as being, perhaps, the best movie of all time. The acting is spectacular, Marlon Brando giving an excellent performance and Al Pacino (before he becomes the boss) is outstanding as well. At around 175 minutes, it is a very long movie and at some points does drag on a little unnecessarily, but these moments are very rare and all of this comes together to form probably the best movie of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MirkoC.Aug 18, 2009
I think it is a good learning experience reading user comments for movies. It shows that there will never be a unanimous consensus on greatness. Some will always disagree. However most of those who disliked the movie are clearly very young. I think it is a good learning experience reading user comments for movies. It shows that there will never be a unanimous consensus on greatness. Some will always disagree. However most of those who disliked the movie are clearly very young. If you say a movie like Donnie Brasco or untouchable or Scarface is better you fail to realize that these movies owe there inspiration to the Godfather. Sooo many movie makers were influenced byu the Godfather that if you see the movie too late in your movie watching life maybe you just can't get it. I saw the movie growing up and have watched it many many times and am still mesmerized by its greatness. believe me I was watching it long before it was apparently "trendy' to like it. Me and my high school buddies would have Godfather movie nights well over 20 years ago and loved them with no preconceived notions other than we loved them. As a teenager I liked Scarface, it was amusing, but even then i knew it is no where near the movie that Godfather is. I guess I am just fascinated by the diversity of human opinions. Rarely will everyone agree when it comes to personal taste. However if you can't see the effort, thought and artistic care put into the Godfather I suppose it is one's loss. Thankfully there are endless movies out there to be enjoyed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottAug 30, 2009
The greatest movie of ALL time, hands down! those who dislike, know nothing about cinema.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArchanSSep 19, 2009
The greatest movie I have ever seen. Strong realistic character development, complex plot, analytical evaluation of human nature, twists, classical depiction of mafia characteristics with great casting (including one of the greatest The greatest movie I have ever seen. Strong realistic character development, complex plot, analytical evaluation of human nature, twists, classical depiction of mafia characteristics with great casting (including one of the greatest performance in world history by Marlon Brando and career making performance by Al Pacino) and directed by one of the greatest visionary director Francis Ford Coppola makes this film not only the greatest gangster movie of all time but also the greatest movie of all time. Reading the comments of other users I have found that some people rated it very poorly (even some gave the movie 0). They think giving the movie 10 rating makes it overrated. But for them I want to say that either they haven't understood the movie or haven't actually watched the movie. Considering public rights it can be said that anyone can give any rating in their accordance but giving this movie 0 rating is a social insult in my opinion. Many people think Scarface and Goodfellas are better than this film. But I strongly believe that Scarface has neither strong character development nor any good story. Yes it has some cheesy lines and some eye-candy violence which makes it a "notable" gangster (also a reason is that it is based on a true character) film but definitely not a "great" film. And yes Goodfellas is a great film the characters of the film are all villainous in nature. They don't appeal the sympathy of mass. Along with it neither have the classical approach as The Godfather has nor had any complicated story which the viewer will go on thinking long after the movie as The Godfather. So I think rating this movie 10 is just. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
H.G.Mar 26, 2004
Really good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelHAug 18, 2004
One word for this movie, Unbelievable, deserves the 100.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnAug 28, 2005
Beautifully haunting. perfection on screen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BruceRNov 7, 2006
The single finest achievement in American film making. Perhaps, Ryan N. should have a nap.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AprilM.Feb 28, 2006
A very dramatic film. All I have to say is that I loved it! A succesful movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonydannieJun 14, 2006
Unlike a certain comment made by one of tv's favorite charecters. The Godfather is a masterpiece!! This is one of those movies that eventhough you own a copy wether it be on VHS or DVD . As soon as you find a tv station showing it Unlike a certain comment made by one of tv's favorite charecters. The Godfather is a masterpiece!! This is one of those movies that eventhough you own a copy wether it be on VHS or DVD . As soon as you find a tv station showing it during your usual channel surfing, you can't help but to watch to the point where you are even putting up with commercials. You have it on your shelf but yet you dont want to get up to pop in in your player.. when the commercials come up you use that time to go to the bath room instead of reaching for your copy. That is in my opinion the essence of a great film. Great acting. great writing. The film stand out as the best in american cinema. After Citizen kane of course. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
smithyOct 14, 2007
Ultimatest movie ever, if you don't think so your a moron.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisS.Dec 14, 2007
Any ratings of below 8 are ridiculous(i.e little kids giving it a 0/10. Morons). This movie is an instant classic, with a riveting storyline and plenty of action. If you don't like the atmosphere of the movie like many of the reviews I Any ratings of below 8 are ridiculous(i.e little kids giving it a 0/10. Morons). This movie is an instant classic, with a riveting storyline and plenty of action. If you don't like the atmosphere of the movie like many of the reviews I have read here, please go and watch Grease. Or just go away. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DAOct 29, 2007
It's disappointing that some kids want to be rebellious and give it a 0, because as the last reviewer said, nothing's perfect, so nothing is so bad its 0. I do not believe this is the best movie I've seen, i enjoyed goodfellas It's disappointing that some kids want to be rebellious and give it a 0, because as the last reviewer said, nothing's perfect, so nothing is so bad its 0. I do not believe this is the best movie I've seen, i enjoyed goodfellas more along with a few others (Saw, Old School), but this is the classic and will always live on. So if you're in a rebellious mood, please do not review, it's a waste of time for you and any person who reads it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobW.Mar 19, 2007
Truly a dark masterpiece with so many famous scenes and lines it passed directly into screen legend status. Created a genre of movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JonC.Jun 26, 2007
Not what every critic hypes it up to be, but it's still well done as far as acting and writing. By the way, in response to a random comment by Mike C., "global warming" and fox news have nothing to do with movies...and global Not what every critic hypes it up to be, but it's still well done as far as acting and writing. By the way, in response to a random comment by Mike C., "global warming" and fox news have nothing to do with movies...and global warming's been proven to be fake by many scientists, they just can't go too public with it or people like you threaten to kill them (not making that up, it's actually happened to a guy). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DavidKJul 16, 2007
I've only ever seen bits of it and its ok but i read a comment from James K who said "Did not care for it. It insists upon itself" and had to say is that not from family guy when they are in a panic room like setting and peter says that I've only ever seen bits of it and its ok but i read a comment from James K who said "Did not care for it. It insists upon itself" and had to say is that not from family guy when they are in a panic room like setting and peter says that about the godfather? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Kneelb.Jul 21, 2007
Someone please kill ryan j... You deserve to be stabbed repeatedly in the eyeball with a rusty soldering iron. The godfather is the classic perfect movie, period. It stands with the best movies such as pulp fiction, goodfellas, ect. So ryan, Someone please kill ryan j... You deserve to be stabbed repeatedly in the eyeball with a rusty soldering iron. The godfather is the classic perfect movie, period. It stands with the best movies such as pulp fiction, goodfellas, ect. So ryan, think b4 you give a movie a 0 u stupid retard. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WHDelNidoMar 27, 2008
One of the best films ever made. You dont need to like the genre to acknowledge its one of the best.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LeonardoP.Apr 11, 2008
It's a very good movie.It is perfect the acting of Marlon Brando, Robert Duvall, James Caan etc. I love this movie, but I don't now why it's one of the better movies of all time. I recommend it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Hello1Jun 21, 2008
Brilliant film, perfectly juggling the strong racial themes of the italian mafia, with the deep meaningful knowledge they are just men playing a deadly game.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BillV.Jun 24, 2008
The best gangland movie ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DiogoC.Jun 28, 2008
A despite of the boring beginning, the plot gains more and more emotion while the story is being told. At the end, you look back, and realize this was one of the best movies ever.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
jacobh.Jan 11, 2009
Possibly the best movie ever made.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TimBNov 10, 2009
this is a great movie. Most people who do not realize this are simply unable to grasp the complex themes and ideas it conveys. While the are entitled to their own opinions I feel that they should just stop wasting their time bashing a this is a great movie. Most people who do not realize this are simply unable to grasp the complex themes and ideas it conveys. While the are entitled to their own opinions I feel that they should just stop wasting their time bashing a masterpiece and go watch some Micheal Bay movie and call it the s**t. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZachBOct 11, 2009
One of the best movies ever made and anyone who says other wise was most likely born after 1995.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
C.G.Nov 30, 2009
First time I have seen it, I wasn't impressed at all, not paying much attention. Years later, although I have just learned english in highschol, I have watched the trilogy online, also looking at the script, then I have read it (every First time I have seen it, I wasn't impressed at all, not paying much attention. Years later, although I have just learned english in highschol, I have watched the trilogy online, also looking at the script, then I have read it (every fan should, a lot more in depth) and also all the other novels by Mario Puzo I could find online. It changed my life and I have to continue watching them once in a while to bring the feelings back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SedrickWOct 14, 2009
What the hell is wrong with kids these days! The Godfather is the daddy of all movies. The Godfather is hands down to greatest movie ever seen on a TV anywhere in the world ever. That was misspelled horribly I am sorry. But The Godfather is What the hell is wrong with kids these days! The Godfather is the daddy of all movies. The Godfather is hands down to greatest movie ever seen on a TV anywhere in the world ever. That was misspelled horribly I am sorry. But The Godfather is amazing so up yours kids! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jamesjamesNov 6, 2009
People who rate this less than a 9 clearly haven't the first idea about filmmaking, and probably think Micheal bay is the worlds greatest director , go watch transformers and for all you who says its shit (the godfather) not everybody People who rate this less than a 9 clearly haven't the first idea about filmmaking, and probably think Micheal bay is the worlds greatest director , go watch transformers and for all you who says its shit (the godfather) not everybody can just switch there brain off and watch a movie that has only 1 purpose and that's line already rich studio dickheads pockets with more money, the likes of saw transformers all that eye candy retard shit has nothing to do with the art and craft of filmaking ,nothing to do with an artists vision but instead its just a cash cow ,if you don't like the likes of transformers and that shit than your a slave,art is about an artists vision,an what he or she wants to show you and wants to say,not what they think you wanna c,u idiots probably think prison break and 24 are better than the wire and the sopranos. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NiallKNov 9, 2009
I have to agree that this is the finest piece of cinema ever made. Fantastic acting performances, an enthralling, deep story, and all the atmosphere of a childhood Christmas. In my opinion, anyone who gives this less than a 9 either I have to agree that this is the finest piece of cinema ever made. Fantastic acting performances, an enthralling, deep story, and all the atmosphere of a childhood Christmas. In my opinion, anyone who gives this less than a 9 either didn't understand the movie, never saw it or is just being too elitist to recognise greatness. I for one still get chills when the theme music fades in as I load up the DVD yet again. A show-case in how to make a classic. It saddens me that great art such as this is called "borin lol". Epitomises the word "epic". Nothing, bar its successor comes even moderately close. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EveIllDec 29, 2009
Wow. The best movie I have ever seen. Period. If you have seen this movie you shouldn't be allowed to rate others, because it will influence your rating so much. Watch it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
williambillFeb 19, 2009
Brilliant performances by Al Pacino, Marlon Brando, James Caan, and Robert Duvall. This is one of the greatest films of all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonyCFeb 22, 2009
Possibly the best movie Ive ever seen. Excellent!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BlindSAug 11, 2009
THe Godfather is a brilliant piece of work and those who see it as dull and boring have no taste for Drama. If entertainment means bullets flying at every second, than The Gadfather was not the choice for you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jonathoncAug 18, 2009
An incredible piece of work easily one of the best movies ever made if you put this up against modern movies like American gangster or the new star wars series this will wipe the floor with them.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkK.Aug 22, 2009
Bob N is an idiot. This movie is great! And by saying that I don't mean "great" as in "good movie" I mean "great" as in "a movie revolutisionizing every aspect of the gangster genre" A lot of people thinks it's too long, (Too much Bob N is an idiot. This movie is great! And by saying that I don't mean "great" as in "good movie" I mean "great" as in "a movie revolutisionizing every aspect of the gangster genre" A lot of people thinks it's too long, (Too much movie to handle) but with a little patience and a mature mind you are sure to find this movie exciting and unlike anything else! Fantastic! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickGNov 16, 2005
The critics and the people agree: Best Movie Ever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GerrickC.Dec 19, 2006
The Godfather shows what goes on in the minds and realities of underworld men. It shows their good side, and it shows their ugly side. Al Pacino plays his character flawlessly. The movie is a masterpiece in drama and respect, and it is my The Godfather shows what goes on in the minds and realities of underworld men. It shows their good side, and it shows their ugly side. Al Pacino plays his character flawlessly. The movie is a masterpiece in drama and respect, and it is my favorite Al Pacino movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MorkusY.Nov 27, 2007
The acting was so incredible in this movie it wouldn't matter what the plot or story was.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DoubleMDec 13, 2007
First of all, i want to start by saying that i didn't like it the first time i saw it, really. I was confused and even a bit pissed, i was like "so this is the one of the greatest movie ever?!", and that's exactly the problem this First of all, i want to start by saying that i didn't like it the first time i saw it, really. I was confused and even a bit pissed, i was like "so this is the one of the greatest movie ever?!", and that's exactly the problem this movie (among others) can have; it's reputaion. I remember i had high anticipation and was very excited and eager when i started wathcing, and that distracted me and totally ruined the experience... Then later, i accidently found it starting on TV. As i didn't like it before i didn't plan to watch, but actually a few minutes later i was INTO IT till it ended ("Don Corleone" then the door shuts, i LOVE that moment that i have to mention it. That doesn't count as a spoiler, right?), i wanted to say something like whoa! but i was speechless. So what was different this time? well, i was relaxed with a clear mind, no anticipation, no distraction, i was just enjoying a movie, and what a movie it is. I've seen it many times since, and a good way to seperate the "really great" movies from the "just ok" is how they stand repeated viewings, i've found that many movies i liked lose their appeal or even make me wonder "i liked that BS?!", but the truly great movies get better, and The Godfather is one of these. So, for all the those who are confused about it or don't know why it's praised, i understand where you're coming froml, you may want to be a little more open minded and see it again. Or maybe wait till you get a little older, watch more movies and know more about filmmaking if you're too young (i was 16 when i first saw it, i'm now 20 and i view movies very differntly now). Now, there's no point in talking about the movie itself, you can find thousands of reviews all over the web and i won't add anything new when i say how perfect it is. I just wanted to tell my experience maybe someone find it useful. By the way, about the whole "best/greatest film ever", i don't think there's such one, but giving it a 0 without giving valid reasons or arguments is just a sign of immature behavior. Another thing, i'm not surprised with people who say Scarface is superior, i know how many hardcore gangstas, wiggers, badasses and 'tough' teens surf the net. Scarface is entertaining and i like it, but it has too many flaws form a very simple story to thin characters to over the top botched action scenes. It is probably remembered for the memorable lines. Tony Montana is a VERY FLAT character compared to Michael Corleone, and Scarface lacks the depth and complexity of The Godfather, maybe that is the point. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TIPDec 15, 2007
This is truly the greatest movie ever made, a hallmark in American Cinema. Al Pacino's class is unsurpassable. He is the greatest anti-hero actor i have ever seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HCNov 23, 2009
I love this movie. I don't think it is too long. I think it has subtle layers to define the whole story. If this isn't the best movie ever, it is in a short list at the top.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnTNov 25, 2009
There will be never a mob movies so well made. This show us how the Mafia is organized with an amazing attention to detail. They really turned it into something that is human. It is not like other mob movies, from the latest years, that is There will be never a mob movies so well made. This show us how the Mafia is organized with an amazing attention to detail. They really turned it into something that is human. It is not like other mob movies, from the latest years, that is just a bunch of killing scenes without any sense. And Marlon Brando acting is the best I ever had the opportunity to see. He is a man that is cold when needed but that show his emotions when talking about family. He shows us that even a mobster isn't much different from the common people. I think that, above everything, this movie is about family, although being an mob family. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ArkonBladeAug 22, 2010
this is a great film . its basically the story of the old generation of the mob being taking over by the new younger generation. great performances are done by all . the story telling is pretty well done all be it there are some slow downsthis is a great film . its basically the story of the old generation of the mob being taking over by the new younger generation. great performances are done by all . the story telling is pretty well done all be it there are some slow downs where things seem they drag on abit to long and gets alittle dull. for the most part though its a entertaining story that will be wached for years to come . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
joseap84Nov 25, 2011
The Godfather is, what I think, a vastly overrated movie. However it does have its strength, and upon a second viewing I was able to enjoy it. But it's its sequel that's the true masterpiece.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
ReviewerJul 3, 2011
The Godfather is the first in a trilogy of gangster movies. This movie practically made gangster movies popular. The Godfather is a great, artistic, famous gangster movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
black_mambaAug 26, 2010
Oh! I was there was a rating scale of more than 10 on Metacritic!
The Godfather/Il Padrino...Best Movie Ever Made...No wonder it's on top!
101 from my side if I was to score like a critic instead a user!!!!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
jeremyd99Dec 19, 2010
The best movie ever! Perfect everything perfect charachters, story, and score! Its amazing and fun to watch! The charachter developmnt is great and so is everything else!!! The best movie ever!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
joreganoMay 31, 2011
The script by Coppola and the novel's author, Mario Puzo, opens at the wedding of the Godfather's daughter. This richly textured montage immediately sets the tone for the entire story. The Corleone family represents the ideal American familyThe script by Coppola and the novel's author, Mario Puzo, opens at the wedding of the Godfather's daughter. This richly textured montage immediately sets the tone for the entire story. The Corleone family represents the ideal American family -- loyal and loving. All families have flaws, and theirs has to do with the family business. Everyone in the family, except the young college kid and war hero Michael (Al Pacino), is involved in the family's illegal business. Murder being the price of entry in their trade, the Corleone clan has long since been desensitized to violence by the requirements of their jobs. Only Michael appears untouched by the evil around him. Michael tells a frightening family story to his future wife, Kay Adams (Diane Keaton), but distances himself from it. "That's my family, Kay," he assures her. "It's not me." Anna Hill Johnstone's costumes for Michael almost always include preppie ties to reinforce his putative innocence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
KarthXLRApr 9, 2011
Fantastic film, although rather overrated. The characters are almost perfect, the story is almost perfect, and the dialogue is almost perfect. Everything else is just good. No more, no less.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheBearOct 19, 2010
The Godfather is a classic because it is a damn great movie. You can argue forever about issues of it glorifying the Mafia etc. but what it does do is glorify the concept of family. A great cast led by Marlon Brando, James Caan, Robert DuvallThe Godfather is a classic because it is a damn great movie. You can argue forever about issues of it glorifying the Mafia etc. but what it does do is glorify the concept of family. A great cast led by Marlon Brando, James Caan, Robert Duvall and Al Pacino, it boasts an incredible soundtrack as well. Slow and not very action packed, it may not appeal too well to most modern audiences today but this should stand as one of the greatest films of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
percy972Oct 17, 2010
The Godfather turned out to be my favorite movie of all time. Before this movie I didn't like long 2:30 plus movies but after I watched it I had a whole new view of films. This is a near perfect movie for real.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GarethCriticDec 19, 2010
I think anyone that says anything bad about The Godfather is saying it for the sake of being different from everyone else. It's a great movie, it has a great storyline and it's characters are universally regarded as some of the best inI think anyone that says anything bad about The Godfather is saying it for the sake of being different from everyone else. It's a great movie, it has a great storyline and it's characters are universally regarded as some of the best in cinematic history. The actors in it, especially Pacino and Brando, are amazing in their roles as Michael and Vito but they're not the only stars of the show as Cazale and Caan shine as Fredo and Sonny. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
There is a reason why its considered one of the greatest films of all time. The Godfather is as near perfect as perfect can be and its great from start to finish.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
codfather96May 3, 2011
A piece of cinema that will live on until the world is burnt up by the sun, if it will be for the fantastic story, rich characters, great performances, gritty mafia realism or just the fact that it is a catchphrase goldmine. One thing isA piece of cinema that will live on until the world is burnt up by the sun, if it will be for the fantastic story, rich characters, great performances, gritty mafia realism or just the fact that it is a catchphrase goldmine. One thing is sure, this will live on in history as one of the best cinema pieces ever. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BathtubTomFeb 23, 2011
Great movie, go watch it. I'm tired of the bickering classics like this get today that apparently don't "stand the test of time". what is this test of time? is it color, better sound quality, special effects? Hopefully people will realizeGreat movie, go watch it. I'm tired of the bickering classics like this get today that apparently don't "stand the test of time". what is this test of time? is it color, better sound quality, special effects? Hopefully people will realize one day that these things add to a movie. A beautiful story like this is still great today and unlike special effect junkie movies such as G.I Joe, Transformers, ext... this movie will still be great in another 30 years from now. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Roy9030May 16, 2011
The most underated movie ever. It deserves well beyond 100 out of 100. All of the people that gave it bellow 80 are either mentally disabled or can't tell the difference between a good and bad movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Silver1138Mar 8, 2011
Some people wonder why this film is considered a classic. If you seriously can't get that from the moment Nino Rota's unbelievable main theme starts playing and from one look at Marlon Brandon's face half obscured by shadow then you obviouslySome people wonder why this film is considered a classic. If you seriously can't get that from the moment Nino Rota's unbelievable main theme starts playing and from one look at Marlon Brandon's face half obscured by shadow then you obviously never will understand what "classic" really means. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheGodfatherMar 21, 2011
Wonderful film, wonderful direction, marvelous cast, record-breaking performance from Marlon Brando, Al Pacino and Robert Duvall. Great Direction of Francis Ford Coppola, loved the opening scene, and the five-heads-of-mafia-families'Wonderful film, wonderful direction, marvelous cast, record-breaking performance from Marlon Brando, Al Pacino and Robert Duvall. Great Direction of Francis Ford Coppola, loved the opening scene, and the five-heads-of-mafia-families' round-table meeting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
edlitz36Apr 1, 2011
Truly one of Hollywood's greatest achievements. It may take a few viewings to fully grasp the film. I certainly didn't care for it on my first viewing. But it will gradually pull you in with each viewing. 4-star Classic!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
guram1995Apr 19, 2011
phenomenal. obviously one of the best movies ever made. great acting, great music, great screenplay, great directing. i cant express my excitement with just words
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews