User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1627 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    The Godfather requires a level of maturity to completely understand the story. It's not for everyone but once you realize it's to your taste you will get pulled in the story and 3 hours will go by unnoticed. Having said that, it's not an action film, it's a drama. So if you disliked it because it didn't excite you, you clearly went to the wrong movie. A masterpiece, deserves it's 10/10The Godfather requires a level of maturity to completely understand the story. It's not for everyone but once you realize it's to your taste you will get pulled in the story and 3 hours will go by unnoticed. Having said that, it's not an action film, it's a drama. So if you disliked it because it didn't excite you, you clearly went to the wrong movie. A masterpiece, deserves it's 10/10 score for producing a brilliant, memorable mob drama! Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    Everybody knows how good The Godfather is meant to be, and while the 100% may not be fully justified it is definitely a work of surpassing excellence. Francis Ford Coppola perfectly chronicles the late life of Don Vito Corleone also known as The Godfather. Simply witnessing all of the hugely famous scenes and impeccably written lines is an enjoyable experience. Yes it goes on for 3 hoursEverybody knows how good The Godfather is meant to be, and while the 100% may not be fully justified it is definitely a work of surpassing excellence. Francis Ford Coppola perfectly chronicles the late life of Don Vito Corleone also known as The Godfather. Simply witnessing all of the hugely famous scenes and impeccably written lines is an enjoyable experience. Yes it goes on for 3 hours but sitting through the whole thing is undeniably worth it. Some scenes are much more gripping than others, basically Marlon Brando's screen time is the best thing about it. However every second is interesting and almost deserves the 100%, I found it to be masterfully acted and with some brilliant direction, but the most impressive aspect of The Godfather is undoubtedly how engaging every second is despite going on for 180 minutes. I would say it's worth watching but it's cult status ensures you were going to anyway. Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    This is the closest thing one can get to achieving perfection. This movie showed that you don't need consistent foul language or gruesome violence to make a movie. While there is some violence in it, this movie was nothing like some other mob movies out there (Scarface comes to mind). This movie presented a shadier side of the American world in a classy, interesting way. I could go on forThis is the closest thing one can get to achieving perfection. This movie showed that you don't need consistent foul language or gruesome violence to make a movie. While there is some violence in it, this movie was nothing like some other mob movies out there (Scarface comes to mind). This movie presented a shadier side of the American world in a classy, interesting way. I could go on for an hour about why this movie is so perfect but I think it can speak for itself. If you haven't seen this movie yet, I would highly recommend doing so. Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    It's hard to find a moment in the film that isn't great. The Godfather lives up to the term masterpiece. The greatest gangster film ever made. Coppola offers a rich and layered look at family and does so with an incredible cast and a meticulous amount of detail. My FAVORITE MOVIE EVER MADE.
  5. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Um filme tão denso que você pode passar anos e anos assistindo e ainda se surpreender com as camadas da história. Muito mais que uma aula de cinema: Uma verdadeira lição de Vida.
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    The Godfather is a masterpiece. With superb storytelling and incredible acting, this film is not only the greatest crime film ever created but possibly the greatest film ever!!!
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    8
    If you ask me: "what is the best movie of all time?". I will say: "It is NOT The Godfather". Yes, a lot of people around us say it is the best movie they have ever seen. But most of them literally know that they know and undersand few about this movie and they are repeating what others say!!!
  8. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    The perfect film. There's not a better overall film out there. Not Citizen Kane, not 2001, not Casablanca and not Raging Bull. This film is a work of art and it's sequel is the greatest sequel of all-time(sorry Empire Strikes Back). The Godfather is a masterpiece.
  9. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    Simply the best movie of all time, I know it sounds cliche, sorry to disappoint but the harsh truth Movie more closer to perfection doesn't exist.
  10. May 2, 2013
    10
    There are movies that I cannot judge with no bias as to its popularity. This is one of them. Consistently said to be one of the greatest movies of all time, what I found very fascinating about it are Marlon Brando, and the movie's authenticity. I read the book after having watched the movie. So, each and every page I went through, I couldn't help getting Brando's image on my mind over andThere are movies that I cannot judge with no bias as to its popularity. This is one of them. Consistently said to be one of the greatest movies of all time, what I found very fascinating about it are Marlon Brando, and the movie's authenticity. I read the book after having watched the movie. So, each and every page I went through, I couldn't help getting Brando's image on my mind over and again. I mean, I am so absorbed in his acting that I started living alongside him for the few days in which I went past the book. And the authenticity, yes, it sure enough has enough to make viewer feel it's been made amid 1950s Newyork. And there were this one-liners Offer you cant refuse and all. Add to the terrific things, Tom Hagen yes, I still recall Duvall as Hagen and Al pacino. Pacino in particular takes acting to a new level. Things only he can do with absolute coldness. It is a well made movie with one of the all time great cast giving out brilliant performances. I also would like to add, I still prefer the part 2 over this one, partly because of the fact that I am floored by De niro and Pacino in it and owing to some personal affection. Expand
  11. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Greatest movie of all time enough said... about 5 of the best actors of our life time all give oscar performances.. best acted film of all time and not to mention the best screenplay of all time.. love pacino in this but brando, caan, and duvall also give us oscar perfor.. does not get any better than this.. at least i havent seen it yet
  12. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    The Godfather is one of the greatest films ever made. Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan, Robert Duvall, Robert De Niro it can not get any better than that.
  13. May 20, 2013
    10
    Seems impossible anyone can make any movie better than The Godfather especially in the drama genre,
    It is by now thoroughly integrated into American life, and the film had the largest impact.
    Some characters will remain ever and ever in the cinema.
  14. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    Review Date: July 24, 2014. Movie Review #1: The Godfather

    If I ever get a job offer to write Movie Reviews and get paid for it, it is an offer I can't refuse. This movie is often quotable to those that have seen it and it is no surprise that this film affected pop culture to a certain degree. There was a time where it got a lot of dough and was a hit which in turn became the highest
    Review Date: July 24, 2014. Movie Review #1: The Godfather

    If I ever get a job offer to write Movie Reviews and get paid for it, it is an offer I can't refuse. This movie is often quotable to those that have seen it and it is no surprise that this film affected pop culture to a certain degree. There was a time where it got a lot of dough and was a hit which in turn became the highest grossing motion picture at a time back in the 1970's when The Godfather succeeded in the box office. Times have changed and this film is no longer the highest grossing motion picture but still to this day, it still remains as a remarkable film. Is there anything that has not been said about The Godfather? Probably not, but that is not going to stop me from sharing my thoughts regarding Francis Ford Coppola's masterpiece.

    The Godfather is a tale of a New York Mafia family and their struggle to protect their empire from rival families as the leadership switches from the father to his youngest son which carries a heavy weight.

    This film often gets praised for its acting and that's no surprise there. Even though The Godfather ended up as a trilogy, Most of the cast may have left a huge impression in the second Godfather film but the first movie still has terrific acting throughout the entire film. Marlon Brando's performance as Don Corelone is very likely and arguably his best role in his film career. Even though the late Marlon Brando was a well-respected actor before and since The Godfather, He was not the only reason that The Godfather is a great film. The casting is a rather interesting one since it contains actors that either have been around for a number of years or actors that are quite new but had a couple roles. James Caan plays a hot-tempered Sonny, Robert Duvall has a great voice of reason in playing Tom Hagen, Diane Keaton plays her supporting role quite fittingly as Kay Adams, and Al Pacino's performance really makes Michael Corleone an intriguing character in the film and that carries on in the later films. The entire performance of every cast member feels natural even if there were a number of takes shot in the movie. Some may say that this movie has some of the greatest acting in the history of cinema, but I think that would be a bit of a stretch to make that claim. The entire cast makes all the characters believable and realistic in their portrayal. The Godfather might not be the most realistic portrayal of the Mafia, but it is certainly the most romanticized Mafia movie. However there are some realistic moments which is the brutality that The Godfather portrays, and Khartoum was the first example of this film's brutality. I also don't think that the brutality is a way of glorifying violence in the film, it is first and foremost a cinematic portrait of the Mafia, and it also serves as a thought provoking character study which carries on in the later films. It may be a romanticized portrait of the Mafia, and it may be a bit realistic in its brutal moments, but it doesn't feel out of place. Considering the film is set in the 1940's with the notion that it is a romaticized portrayal of the Mafia, there's a theme of moral ambiguity that allows the viewer to think and question about the character inside the movie, I find it strange that outside of the movie, it is possible that a viewer (and myself if I may add) finds the moral ambiguity fascinating in The Godfather. It carries on in the story that is told in the film.

    One of the fitting touches is the music by Nino Rota and it's a bit predictable that it has that Italian sound but it is extremely fitting to the film. Like the film itself, Nino Rota's Film score to The Godfather is highly regarded as one of the greatest film scores in cinema, I can say it's hard not to like. It definitely has the Italian feeling and it compliments the movie perfectly. I should add an interesting additional note that Carmine Coppola (the father of Francis Ford Coppola) did compose some of the additional music I find this kind of interesting considering that the Father and Son relationship between Michael and Vito was intriguely written. If that isn't interesting enough, Francis Ford Coppola put his daughter Sofia in the movie too with a cameo appearance as a baby boy. Some members of the family may have been involved in this movie and even the later Godfather films, but family also plays a theme in The Godfather. Another nice element that gives the film its elegance is Gordon Willis' cinematography. The film is shot well, the movie looks like it is in the 1940's. The cars you will see in the movie were cars made in the 1940's and this movie was only made in 1972 so it wasn't too difficult to find vehicles like that. The design is fitting for this film because of its setting. Overall, The entire movie is shot extremely well. Even though this is an adaptation of Mario Puzo's novel of the same name published in 1969. Mario Puzo and Francis Ford Coppola did write the screenplay, and regardless if the movie faithfully follows the book from the first page to the last, Francis Ford Coppola and Mario Puzo are contempt with the changes that are there from Book to Movie. Even though The Godfather is a considered one of the greatest movies ever made. I was very close in rating this film a 10 out of 10, but I noticed a couple hiccups in the film, even though they are small errors they are not influencing me to change my mind that I find The Godfather to be a terrific film, those who saw the movie at face value can unanimously agree that The Godfather is a great film. My philosophy of "The 10 rating" is that it is as great as it is ever going to get. They are not perfect because of a rating like that. There could be some mistakes, and some miniscule flaws that can be found but are excused. Even if that were the case, they don't ruin the movie whatsoever. There really is no such thing as a perfect movie. Francis Ford Coppola pulled the strings with the terrific acting, excellent cinematography, fitting music, believable characters, and an intriguing plot. It is not only one of Francis Ford Coppola's masterpieces, it is one of the masterpieces in cinema

    This film gets my Thumbs Up, it's a 5-star film.

    My overall rating of The Godfather is a 9.9 out of 10, it is an excellent film.
    Expand
  15. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I do not believe this is the greatest movie ever made. I do believe it is the greatest drama ever created. The Godfather is beautiful. The characters give believable and moving performances, and the story itself is gripping. It's hard to say a movie, such as the Godfather, is better than Quentin Tarantino's masterpiece, Pulp Fiction, simply because they are worlds apart, but for what thisI do not believe this is the greatest movie ever made. I do believe it is the greatest drama ever created. The Godfather is beautiful. The characters give believable and moving performances, and the story itself is gripping. It's hard to say a movie, such as the Godfather, is better than Quentin Tarantino's masterpiece, Pulp Fiction, simply because they are worlds apart, but for what this movie aspires to be, it delivers on every level. Expand
  16. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    La pelicula tiene muchas capas como una cebolla. Tiene la particularidad que uno la ve varias veces en su vida, y al margen que siempre se disfruta, va cambiando la percepcion de la misma
  17. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    En su época esta película fue muy reveladora con el tema de pelis de Gangster, gran escenografia en retratando esos años 40, unas interpretaciones soberbias, la banda sonora, una historia muy cruda y a la vez maravillosa. Imprescindible.
  18. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Artful, visually and historically realistic, Francis Ford Coppola makes his mark as his epic saga depicts in clear detail the dramatic story of a mafia family and it's struggles with the conflicts of other families in the heart of crime-filled New York City
  19. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    (I apologize for not reviewing this trilogy sooner, but I wanted to wait until I have seen all of them)

    "Leave the gun; take the cannolis." The first of The Godfather trilogy is one of the best mafia movies of all time. In fact, it is so accurate in its portrayal of mob families that actual mafia people confirmed it. The acting, especially between Marlon Brando and Al Pacino is
    (I apologize for not reviewing this trilogy sooner, but I wanted to wait until I have seen all of them)

    "Leave the gun; take the cannolis." The first of The Godfather trilogy is one of the best mafia movies of all time. In fact, it is so accurate in its portrayal of mob families that actual mafia people confirmed it. The acting, especially between Marlon Brando and Al Pacino is electrifying. Almost everything in the movie is believable, and the screenplay is close to flawless. The Godfather definitely deserves all the praise it gets, and is in no way overrated.
    Expand
  20. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    The movie was good. It was a good movie. #swaghestepikyololkejoidwajiojfaeliæjaflæwjfpoijkawfiopkwpodfkapåfwifpoawjfopawkfpowakfpåkawfpåwakfpåkwapokjfwpkfwa
  21. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Before there was Goodfellas, Donnie Brasco, The Departed, and Once Upon a Time in America there was the Godfather the "godfather" of all gangster movies, the "godfather" of the 70s, and the "godfather" of Francis Ford Coppola's career. It always hit the right notes, and doesn't miss any of them. It has not only reached its expectations, but also made numerous benchmarks for AmericanBefore there was Goodfellas, Donnie Brasco, The Departed, and Once Upon a Time in America there was the Godfather the "godfather" of all gangster movies, the "godfather" of the 70s, and the "godfather" of Francis Ford Coppola's career. It always hit the right notes, and doesn't miss any of them. It has not only reached its expectations, but also made numerous benchmarks for American cinema. Handled by Francis Ford Coppola's direction and screenplay (co-written with Mario Puzo, the movie was based on his novel), amazing performances by Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan, Robert Duvall, etc., superb editing, cinematography, and Nino Rota's amazing score it is such a "masterpiece", that I wish to watch it again, over and over. The Godfather is everything you expected, when it comes to gangster movies.
    "A wedding. A horse's head. A gun in a restaurant toilet. Sicily. Another wedding. A car bomb. A toll-booth. A orange peel. A baptism. A closed door."
    Expand
  22. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    this is absolutely one of the best movies i've ever saw in my hole life,it have brilliant actings and an outstanding script,it deserves more oscars than just 3 prizes.
  23. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Often considered one of the best movies ever made, this movie wouldn't be too long if it was 24 hours long. It shows you it's world, you enter it, and sadly after "just" three hours it ends. Perfectly directed, brilliant screenplay, flawless performances, timeless.
  24. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    A Legend.From here on the genre Gangster was born,no movie could ever match The Godfather.
    It is not one of the best,it in fact is the best .You just cannot ask for anything more in a movie!!
  25. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    A prime example of realism at its finest. The aesthetics of the film are quite possibly the greatest, and most accurate, in cinematic history. A brilliant film with a superb, all-star lineup.
  26. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    The Godfather is not only one the greatest film of all movies, It became a landmark achievement in the history of movie cinema, It's so riveting & powerful -Jonathan32042talks
    (First Review)
  27. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    I'm not a writer or a critic so I can't really tell you why this movie is perfect... but I know it is because of how I feel every time I see it. I'm moved.
  28. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    I'm going to throw him an offer he cant refuse The greatest film of all time words simply cannot give what marlon brando and coppola did for this movie is just showing you that nothing is impossible
  29. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Godfather is simply the god of films, it was a privilege to watch the Oscar winning performance of Marlon Brando, who conquered the role Vito Corleone. The film was a different class and is filled with incredible plots that is delivered in a fantastic mafia way. I recommend it to everyone even if they aren't into the gangster style films, it was no doubt the greatest film ever made. Each character resonates with you and the brilliant anti-hero role of Michael Corleone was a true gift to watch, which Al Pacino does not get enough credit for and was a genius replacement for Vito his father who's character was very difficult to equal.
    The scene in the restaurant between Michael, Sollozzo and McCluskey was magnificent and couldn't have been done any better, the suspense was outstanding from the bit Michael came back with the gun to the part he left the table with bullets in both men.
    When talking about leading you into movies, the Godfather pulled you in straight away the acting from Brando was intriguingly flawless. The first scene straight away brought the character Vito Corleone to life! We were never sure what Vito would say or what Michael would do, or how Sonny would react, which made me fall in love with the movie. And of course a big hand to the director Francis Ford Coppola, who brought us a film of pure gold that bestows the control of power from one generation to the other and character development of Michael was something special, when his father was shot the change took you by storm and when Sonny died he looked past justice and finished what his father had started, it was displayed with no fault what so ever and t all in all could not have been any better. The film take's you down the road of the powerful family crime dynasty and will blow your mind.
    The Godfather, is an offer you can't refuse.
    Expand
  30. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    What can be said? 'The Godfather' is one of the masterpieces of cinema, where every element is perfected and congeals to create something that is a work of art - the score, aesthetics, characterisation, directing, script and acting. It catapulted Francis Ford Coppola to the forefront of the New Hollywood wave, was the breakthrough for such stars as Al Pacino, James Caan, Robert Duvall,What can be said? 'The Godfather' is one of the masterpieces of cinema, where every element is perfected and congeals to create something that is a work of art - the score, aesthetics, characterisation, directing, script and acting. It catapulted Francis Ford Coppola to the forefront of the New Hollywood wave, was the breakthrough for such stars as Al Pacino, James Caan, Robert Duvall, Talia Shire, Diane Keaton etc. and cemented Marlon Brando's status in the pantheon of cinematic legends, though his work as Vito Corleone here is more supporting than leading. There is dissent over whether this is rightly considered to be one of the greatest movies of all time. For me, it is not the greatest movie but is among them and the length is certainly felt - when first watched, 'The Godfather' is a draining experience. But it ages well with repeat viewings. It meets the definition of classic and then some. It is memorable and masterful. If Part II overshadows it, it is only because Part I was so damn great nobody thought it could be topped. Expand
  31. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    One masterpiece i dunno any cons for this movie
    Epic movie which shows you the America of 30's and the sins of the american dream
    One of the best mafia movies ever seen and the best from the trilogy
  32. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. one of the greatest movies ever made... and also the best gangster film ever .. strong performance from the cast and good crew. excellent direction from ff coppala. Expand
  33. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    One of the best movies of all-time. You need to watch this before you exit this earth. Every character on this film is a fit. A good balance of drama and thriller. It keeps you on the edge of your seat. A true classic.
  34. Feb 14, 2014
    8
    This film was amazing. With great and true honesty it was, however I do believe it might be overrated just a bit. I liked it. From start to finish the story line was enough to keep someone watching. Without a doubt one of the greatest films I've seen. But In my opinion overrated.
  35. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    The Godfather is the Coppola´s masterpiece, for many the best movie ever made. In my opinion the best movie ever made. The book writen by Mario Puzo is it self a masterpiece and the adapted screenplay is GREAT.
  36. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Masterfully done, and I am not just saying that. I watched the whole thing, and I couldn't take my eyes off the screen until the credits rolled. Summary, BEST MOVIE EVER.
  37. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    The Godfather is unarguably the greatest film of all time. It dominates all its predecessors and its successors. Great acting performances also contribute to its magnificence.
  38. chw
    Jul 18, 2014
    10
    The Godfather is a really really good movie. Through the 175 minutes of The Godfather, there is never a part that is boring or doesn't make any sense.
  39. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this movie over 5 years now. I've seen a lot of movies since that time and none of it will ever compare to this masterpiece. Al Pacino is the best gangster ever! It did changed my ideology. Just a few movies could do that and that is one of them! Expand
  40. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Godfather Review
    by Al Carlson

    The Godfather is a film considered by most to be one of the greatest ever made. From The American Film Institute to as voted by users on the Internet Movie Database (IMDB) it is consider to be one of the best. As a film that ranks as high as other masterpieces including Citizen Kane, Pulp Fiction and 12 Angry Men, The Godfather is an exceptional piece of cinema excellence that is flawless and is simply the pinnacle crime drama.
    The Godfather revolves around the Corleone’s, an Italian family with deep roots in the New York City mafia. The head of the Corleone’s is Don Vito Corleone, a man who takes care of his family and demands respect in return. His son Michael however, who just returned home from World War II, doesn’t want to become involved with the family business. The Sollozzo’s, a family of drug dealers, confront Don and request protection in exchange for profits from the Sollozzo’s drug sales. But Don declines the offer, for he is against selling narcotics. The rejected offer starts what turns into an all out mafia war between the two families with Michael diving deep into the mafia lifestyle.
    The characters are portrayed by a legendary all-star cast including Marlon Brando as Don, Al Pacino as his son Michael and James Caan as Don’s oldest son Sonny. The casting for this film has been considered by many to be the best casted film in history for their astonishing performances. All three main actors were nominated for an academy award, but only Marlon Brando won an Oscar for best actor in a leading role. It’s fascinating to watch how these characters change over the course of the movie, with one in particular changing drastically.
    Directer Francis Ford Coppola, being raised in an Italian-American family in New York, understood Italian culture exceptionally and made the film very authentically. Everything from the wedding dances to the cuisine to the terms used by the characters in Sicilian come from Coppola’s first-hand knowledge of Italian-American culture. Italian composer Nino Rota did an outstanding job making the soundtrack for the film, despite not getting the Oscar for best music (but he did win an Oscar for his work in the sequel, The Godfather: Part II). Virtually everyone recognizes that iconic trumpet solo once it starts playing. He also wrote the score for another great Italian film 8 1/2.
    This film should be immediately followed up by it’s sequel, The Godfather: Part II, which also won best picture. The series still holds the title of most best picture awards for a film series to this day. They’re both flawless crime dramas and have earned their titles as some of the best pieces of cinema ever. I will guarantee you won’t be able to see this film only once, as it gets better after continual viewings. There is really nothing more to add other than if you haven’t seen this movie yet, it’s about time you did. The Godfather is a movie you can’t refuse.
    Expand
  41. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. This adaptation of Mario Puzo's novel is perfectly directed and masterfully acted. A never-aging classic that proves that cinematography can be an art.
  42. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    The best,most quotable,well done,gory, Romantic,amazing you will ever see. I'm just going to wait here until you go and see it.
    Even if you don't bother with the other two Godfathers,this one is worth seeing
    Some day I may call upon you. That day may never come,but for now,consider this a gift,on my daughters wedding day.
    That day has comme, and I nose call upon you to watch this movie
  43. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest crime films ever made. This is what I call golden cinema. The Godfather is dripping with powerful ideas, it's a very poetic depiction of the mafia and the camera movements are simply stunning. The entire cast deliver stunning performances. And most notably, it's a very very unconventionally structured film. This is a masterpiece.
  44. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    The first Godfather was the movie that set and saved the Directors carrier. The cinematography makes amazing use of the cameras at the time. The development of the characters are slow yet very well done. the only thing I have to say is that some of the scenes in Sicily were not needed for the story.
  45. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    El Padrino ya es un clásico del cine. Sin duda una gran película y la mejor de las tres por varias razones:
    Marlon Brando (que se marca un papelón), Al Pacino, que en mi opinión está mejor que en las dos siguientes por su papel de iniciado en el mundo mafioso, y la trama, creo que tiene un punto interesante que a la 2 le faltó y no digamos ya a la 3. Se puede hacer algo pesada por su
    El Padrino ya es un clásico del cine. Sin duda una gran película y la mejor de las tres por varias razones:
    Marlon Brando (que se marca un papelón), Al Pacino, que en mi opinión está mejor que en las dos siguientes por su papel de iniciado en el mundo mafioso, y la trama, creo que tiene un punto interesante que a la 2 le faltó y no digamos ya a la 3. Se puede hacer algo pesada por su duración, pero tiene grandes escenas y diálogos poderosos.
    Expand
  46. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    The Godfather is a 1972 American crime film directed by Francis Ford Coppola and produced by Albert S. Ruddy from a screenplay by Mario Puzo and Coppola. Starring Marlon Brando and Al Pacino as the leaders of a fictional New York crime family, the story spans the years 1945-55, concentrating on the transformation of Michael Corleone from reluctant family outsider to ruthless Mafia bossThe Godfather is a 1972 American crime film directed by Francis Ford Coppola and produced by Albert S. Ruddy from a screenplay by Mario Puzo and Coppola. Starring Marlon Brando and Al Pacino as the leaders of a fictional New York crime family, the story spans the years 1945-55, concentrating on the transformation of Michael Corleone from reluctant family outsider to ruthless Mafia boss while chronicling the Corleones under the patriarch Vito. Expand
  47. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    My favourite film of all time, and the true ''Godfather'' of the gangster film genre. This film has it all; memorable characters and scenes, terrific acting all round (James Caan as Sonny Corleone and Al Pacino as Michael are amongst the best acting performances I've seen) and a wonderful and gripping storyline. And it's all beautifully filmed; the dark and smoky interiors of theMy favourite film of all time, and the true ''Godfather'' of the gangster film genre. This film has it all; memorable characters and scenes, terrific acting all round (James Caan as Sonny Corleone and Al Pacino as Michael are amongst the best acting performances I've seen) and a wonderful and gripping storyline. And it's all beautifully filmed; the dark and smoky interiors of the Corleone's retreat (complete with Godfather sitting in the corner in his armchair, face shadowed), the family wedding, Michael's exile in Sicilly and of course the tense scenes at the hospital, and the famous restaurant scene, where Michael turns killer for the first time.
    Totally memorable, and no other film I've seen is quite as perfect, polished or stylish as the Godfather.
    Expand
  48. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    The thing I love about The Godfather is the accurate portrayal of the mafia. There aren't gratuitous scenes or extreme Hollywood drama. It is a timeless classic, and honestly I have seen it 50+ times and never get sick of it. Marlon Brando's performance as Vito Corleone is impeccable and some of the best acting I have ever seen.
  49. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    A very powerful and well done movie! So unpredictable, so suspenseful, so full of offers you cannot refuse. A masterpiece that changed cinema as we know it! There is no way anybody could ever consider this movie boring unless they expect explosions every 10 minutes.
  50. Oct 21, 2014
    9
    The movie just like the water flow in the head. Fresh, cool, and in the same time it blow, but it doesn't make me "dead-man" with the blind-eyes. This is the moment when the masterpiece talked, even the movie sometimes make me a little bit blowing -that's mean confused- but the movie has never wrong. In turn, it take some capable of beauty, and I say "the movie was rising, a thousand thumbs up"
  51. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    I assume the negative reviews of this movie are people having a laugh. Its one of the greatest movies ever made, FACT.

    After reading some of the reviews I just had to write my own, one particular 'review' by, lets call him Brian McInnis, is the most moronic piece of rubbish I have ever read, what an idiot. Anyway its definitely the best gangster film ever made, its actually almost
    I assume the negative reviews of this movie are people having a laugh. Its one of the greatest movies ever made, FACT.

    After reading some of the reviews I just had to write my own, one particular 'review' by, lets call him Brian McInnis, is the most moronic piece of rubbish I have ever read, what an idiot.

    Anyway its definitely the best gangster film ever made, its actually almost perfect, miles better than anything from Scorsese. Unbelievable cast featuring undoubtedly the greatest actor of all time, Marlon Brando in an unforgetable performance. There has never been another movie like it and there never will.
    Expand
  52. Dec 3, 2014
    9
    it might be a long movie but you dont want it to end. The best gangster film of all time no doubt marlon brando improvisation made this move,and the movie is joined with 2 other amazing films which makes it the best triolgy. Al pacino as per usual at his best its a young al pacino that you see another rang of his brilliant acting skills
  53. Mar 18, 2015
    10
    Great movie, although a bit long (VERY LONG). This is still without a doubt, a 10. I haven't watched the next parts, but I hope they're just as good (in all honesty, doesn't seem like it according to others).
  54. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    It's on kind of those movies that you must watch before and you die, and you're prohibited to hate it.
    A forever-classic, "The Godfather" has all the elements of a ground-breaking movie. Astonishing cinematography (excellent choice on choosing Gordon Willis by the way), carefully directing, superb acting by the entire cast and a marvelous screenplay.
    Find this movie as soon as you can,
    It's on kind of those movies that you must watch before and you die, and you're prohibited to hate it.
    A forever-classic, "The Godfather" has all the elements of a ground-breaking movie. Astonishing cinematography (excellent choice on choosing Gordon Willis by the way), carefully directing, superb acting by the entire cast and a marvelous screenplay.
    Find this movie as soon as you can, and watch it, and again, and again, and again and again. This one is worth of your time.
    Expand
  55. Feb 18, 2015
    6
    Good movie but so overrated! What's wrong with these people giving this movie a 10 out of 10? For real, this movie was ok but it was really boring as well.
  56. Mar 26, 2015
    10
    Such a freaking classic. Don Vito Corleone: You talk about vengeance. Is vengeance going to bring your son back to you? Or my boy to me?. the godfather to me is a bloody brilliant masterpiece of a film and people may say it is not they cup of tea and am okay with that but this movie changed the way that I thought of movies, the story is about a man called Don Vito Corleone who has this bigSuch a freaking classic. Don Vito Corleone: You talk about vengeance. Is vengeance going to bring your son back to you? Or my boy to me?. the godfather to me is a bloody brilliant masterpiece of a film and people may say it is not they cup of tea and am okay with that but this movie changed the way that I thought of movies, the story is about a man called Don Vito Corleone who has this big family and big friends and all in the middle of all of that the family and friends don't know that he works with the gangsters, The acting is out of this world and the music is so chilling and moving with a gangster feel mixed with it, R.I.P. Marlon Brando you beautiful man your brilliant actor bring us a strong Character in the movie that you deserved more then one Oscar and this movie deserved more then 3 Oscars it deserved 10 Oscars that's how good to movie is. Expand
  57. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    Arguably the greatest movie ever made. A cast of relative unknowns (Pacino, Diane Keaton, James Caan, Robert Duvall and John Cazale) join with the great Brando, who was in a low point in his career. Perfectly written and flawlessly directed. Pacino plays the role of Michael perfectly understated -- so understated that the studio wanted to fire him. (Apparently, he wasn't yelling likeArguably the greatest movie ever made. A cast of relative unknowns (Pacino, Diane Keaton, James Caan, Robert Duvall and John Cazale) join with the great Brando, who was in a low point in his career. Perfectly written and flawlessly directed. Pacino plays the role of Michael perfectly understated -- so understated that the studio wanted to fire him. (Apparently, he wasn't yelling like an Italian should.) Expand
  58. Apr 29, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like the modern Shakespearean tragedy, the Godfather is very symbolic in storytelling that out bests other great movies before and after. The story about the loss of innocence caused by the life of the mafia and loyalty to the family. Its one of those few films that is still clashing with Citizen Kane as the greatest film ever made.

    Marlon Brando plays his iconic role well as the Mafia Don Vito Corleone of the Corleone family, a wealthy and powerful family crime syndicate, who falls into despair when his idealistic younger son Michael, in a chilling performance by Al Pacino, decides to turn away from a bright life, when other rival drug lords and fellow gangster organizations declare war against them, and the ending is tragically unbearable as Michael's life of idealism is corrupted by greed, power,and violence as Vito lays dying from the wounds of his assassination attempts.

    A film so utterly powerful and legendarily well told, its one of those rare films that has a powerful story and well domineering performances that makes it so great, it is the reason why its talked about everywhere. Francis Ford Coppola has made his mark in cinema history bringing Mario Puzo's shocking gangster fictional novel into a monument of pure entertainment.

    A fine film featuring additional A+ performances by Robert Duvall, James Caan, Talia Shire, Diane Keaton and the late John Cazale as Michael's friends who are divided emotionally by innocence and gangster-hood, a important element that makes this a film shadowed with irony and grief.

    a important masterpiece of life and sin

    and if thought it couldn't be any more tragic wait till you see part 2
    Expand
  59. Apr 23, 2015
    10
    Just excellent film with great acting on definitely worth your time. Enjoyed from start to finish. It really shows the Italian Mafia. Great work went into this movie.
  60. Apr 17, 2015
    5
    I don't know what people see in this movie because it's so boring and non-sense. I don't even saw the 2nd and 3rd movie because this is really anoying.
  61. Apr 19, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It could be argued that Francis Ford Coppola's film of Mario Puzo's bestseller, at once an art movie and a commercial blockbuster, marked the dawn of the age of the mega-movie. Appropriately, the film is about a similar transition in organised crime, as the gentlemanly but sinister world of Don Vito (Brando) is eclipsed by the more brutal and expedient organisation represented by the doomed Sonny (Caan) and the calculating Michael (Pacino).

    The old gangster movie is represented by Richard Conte and Sterling Hayden in bit parts, while Brando's cotton-cheeked patriarch represents everything about old Hollywood that Coppola aspired to. The younger generation is represented by the then fresh, exciting talents who remain respected names in their profession (Pacino, Robert Duvall, Caan, Diane Keaton). This is a film that has entered popular culture: even if you've never seen it, you know the lines ("Luca Brasi sleeps with the fishes"), and some of the scenes (the horse's head). But there's more to it than moments imprinted on the psyche.

    With a period setting evoked by amber-tinted photography and Nino Rota's elegantly decadent score, The Godfather has dated a lot less than most films of the early 70s. It paces itself deliberately, making its moments of action and horror more telling for the leisurely paths it weaves between them. With performances, style and substance to savour, this shows how it is possible to smash box office records without being mindless.

    With performances, style and substance to savour, this shows how it is possible to smash box office records without being mindless.
    Expand
  62. Apr 19, 2015
    10
    Don Vito Corleone (Brando) is brutally persued when he refuses to sulley the family business with drugs. His eldest, Sonny (Caan), steps in to take the helm in his father's illness, but is riddled with bullets. It is up to Michael (Pacino), the war hero and beloved son, to step up redeem the family's honour.

    It could be argued that Francis Ford Coppola's film of Mario Puzo's bestseller,
    Don Vito Corleone (Brando) is brutally persued when he refuses to sulley the family business with drugs. His eldest, Sonny (Caan), steps in to take the helm in his father's illness, but is riddled with bullets. It is up to Michael (Pacino), the war hero and beloved son, to step up redeem the family's honour.

    It could be argued that Francis Ford Coppola's film of Mario Puzo's bestseller, at once an art movie and a commercial blockbuster, marked the dawn of the age of the mega-movie. Appropriately, the film is about a similar transition in organised crime, as the gentlemanly but sinister world of Don Vito (Brando) is eclipsed by the more brutal and expedient organisation represented by the doomed Sonny (Caan) and the calculating Michael (Pacino).

    With a period setting evoked by amber-tinted photography and Nino Rota's elegantly decadent score, The Godfather has dated a lot less than most films of the early 70s. It paces itself deliberately, making its moments of action and horror more telling for the leisurely paths it weaves between them. With performances, style and substance to savour, this shows how it is possible to smash box office records without being mindless.

    With performances, style and substance to savour, this shows how it is possible to smash box office records without being mindless.
    Expand
  63. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    Rarely can it be said that a film has defined a genre, but never is that more true than in the case of The Godfather. Since the release of the 1972 epic (which garnered ten Academy Award nominations and was named Best Picture), all "gangster movies" have been judged by the standards of this one (unfair as the comparison may be). If a film is about Jewish mobsters, it's a "JewishRarely can it be said that a film has defined a genre, but never is that more true than in the case of The Godfather. Since the release of the 1972 epic (which garnered ten Academy Award nominations and was named Best Picture), all "gangster movies" have been judged by the standards of this one (unfair as the comparison may be). If a film is about Jewish mobsters, it's a "Jewish Godfather"; if it's about the Chinese underworld, it's an "Oriental Godfather"; if it takes place in contemporary times, it's a "modern day Godfather."

    If The Godfather was only about gun-toting Mafia types, it would never have garnered as many accolades. The characteristic that sets this film apart from so many of its predecessors and successors is its ability to weave the often-disparate layers of story into a cohesive whole. Any of the individual issues explored by The Godfather are strong enough to form the foundation of a movie. Here, however, bolstered by so many complimentary themes, each is given added resonance. The picture is a series of mini-climaxes, all building to the devastating, definitive conclusion.

    Rarely does a film tell as many diverse-yet-interconnected stories. Strong performances, solid directing, and a tightly-plotted script all contribute to The Godfather's success. This motion picture was not slapped together to satiate the appetite of the masses; it was carefully and painstakingly crafted. Every major character - and more than a few minor ones - is molded into a distinct, complex individual. Stereotypes did not influence Coppola's film, although certain ones were formed as a result of it.

    Despite the likes of Serpico, Dog Day Afternoon, Scarface, ...And Justice for All, and Scent of a Woman on his resume, Pacino is best remembered for the role he created in The Godfather (and subsequently reprised in two sequels). While this is not his most demonstrative performance - indeed, he is exceptionally restrained - the quality of the script makes Michael Corleone notable.

    Don Vito is a most complicated gangster. In his own words, he is not a killer, and he never mixes business with personal matters. He puts family first ("A man who doesn't spend time with his family can never be a real man") and despises displays of weakness. He understands the burden of power, and his wordless sympathy for Michael when he is forced to assume the "throne", is one of The Godfather's most revealing moments (about both father and son).

    Family responsibility. A father's legacy. The need to earn respect. The corrupting influence of power. These are some of the ingredients combined in Francis Ford Coppola's cinematic blender. They are themes which have intrigued the greatest authors of every medium through the centuries.

    Although the issues presented in The Godfather are universal in scope, the characters and setting are decidedly ethnic. Even to this day, there is an odd romanticism associated with New York's Italian crime families. The word "Mafia" conjures up images of the sinister and mysterious - scenes of the sort where Luca Brasi meets his fate. Francis Ford Coppola has tapped into this fascination and woven it as yet another element of the many that make his motion picture a compelling experience.

    We come to The Godfather like Kay Adams - outsiders uncertain in our expectations - but it doesn't take long for us to be captivated by this intricate, violent world. The film can be viewed on many levels, with equal satisfaction awaiting those who just want a good story, and those who demand much more. The Godfather is long, yes - but it is one-hundred seventy minutes well-spent. When the closing credits roll, only a portion of the story has been told. Yet that last haunting image (Kay's shock of recognition), coupled with Nino Rota's mournful score, leaves a crater-like impression that The Godfather Part II only deepens.
    Expand
  64. Apr 29, 2015
    10
    Rarely can it be said that a film has defined a genre, but never is that more true than in the case of The Godfather. Since the release of the 1972 epic (which garnered ten Academy Award nominations and was named Best Picture), all "gangster movies" have been judged by the standards of this one (unfair as the comparison may be). If a film is about Jewish mobsters, it's a "JewishRarely can it be said that a film has defined a genre, but never is that more true than in the case of The Godfather. Since the release of the 1972 epic (which garnered ten Academy Award nominations and was named Best Picture), all "gangster movies" have been judged by the standards of this one (unfair as the comparison may be). If a film is about Jewish mobsters, it's a "Jewish Godfather"; if it's about the Chinese underworld, it's an "Oriental Godfather"; if it takes place in contemporary times, it's a "modern day Godfather."

    If The Godfather was only about gun-toting Mafia types, it would never have garnered as many accolades. The characteristic that sets this film apart from so many of its predecessors and successors is its ability to weave the often-disparate layers of story into a cohesive whole. Any of the individual issues explored by The Godfather are strong enough to form the foundation of a movie. Here, however, bolstered by so many complimentary themes, each is given added resonance. The picture is a series of mini-climaxes, all building to the devastating, definitive conclusion.

    Rarely does a film tell as many diverse-yet-interconnected stories. Strong performances, solid directing, and a tightly-plotted script all contribute to The Godfather's success. This motion picture was not slapped together to satiate the appetite of the masses; it was carefully and painstakingly crafted. Every major character - and more than a few minor ones - is molded into a distinct, complex individual. Stereotypes did not influence Coppola's film, although certain ones were formed as a result of it.

    Despite the likes of Serpico, Dog Day Afternoon, Scarface, ...And Justice for All, and Scent of a Woman on his resume, Pacino is best remembered for the role he created in The Godfather (and subsequently reprised in two sequels). While this is not his most demonstrative performance - indeed, he is exceptionally restrained - the quality of the script makes Michael Corleone notable.

    Next to Humphrey Bogart's Rick from Casablanca, Oscar winner Marlon Brando's Don Vito may be the most imitated character in screen history. The line "I'm gonna make him an offer he can't refuse" has attained legendary status, as has the entire performance. With his raspy voice, deliberate movements, and penetrating stare, Brando has created a personae that will be recalled for as long as motion pictures exist.

    The Godfather had three Best Supporting Actor nominees, all well-deserved. The first was Pacino (who probably should have been nominated alongside Brando in the Best Actor category). The other two were James Caan and Robert Duvall. In a way, it's surprising that Duvall wasn't passed over. His presence in The Godfather isn't flashy or attention-arresting. Like his character of Tom Hagen, he is steady, reliable, and stays in the background. Not so for Caan's Sonny, whose demonstrative and volatile personality can't be overlooked.

    Family responsibility. A father's legacy. The need to earn respect. The corrupting influence of power. These are some of the ingredients combined in Francis Ford Coppola's cinematic blender. They are themes which have intrigued the greatest authors of every medium through the centuries.

    Although the issues presented in The Godfather are universal in scope, the characters and setting are decidedly ethnic. Even to this day, there is an odd romanticism associated with New York's Italian crime families. The word "Mafia" conjures up images of the sinister and mysterious - scenes of the sort where Luca Brasi meets his fate. Francis Ford Coppola has tapped into this fascination and woven it as yet another element of the many that make his motion picture a compelling experience.

    We come to The Godfather like Kay Adams - outsiders uncertain in our expectations - but it doesn't take long for us to be captivated by this intricate, violent world. The film can be viewed on many levels, with equal satisfaction awaiting those who just want a good story, and those who demand much more. The Godfather is long, yes - but it is one-hundred seventy minutes well-spent. When the closing credits roll, only a portion of the story has been told. Yet that last haunting image (Kay's shock of recognition), coupled with Nino Rota's mournful score, leaves a crater-like impression that The Godfather Part II only deepens.
    Expand
  65. May 6, 2015
    10
    Rarely can it be said that a film has defined a genre, but never is that more true than in the case of The Godfather. Since the release of the 1972 epic (which garnered ten Academy Award nominations and was named Best Picture), all "gangster movies" have been judged by the standards of this one (unfair as the comparison may be). If a film is about Jewish mobsters, it's a "JewishRarely can it be said that a film has defined a genre, but never is that more true than in the case of The Godfather. Since the release of the 1972 epic (which garnered ten Academy Award nominations and was named Best Picture), all "gangster movies" have been judged by the standards of this one (unfair as the comparison may be). If a film is about Jewish mobsters, it's a "Jewish Godfather"; if it's about the Chinese underworld, it's an "Oriental Godfather"; if it takes place in contemporary times, it's a "modern day Godfather."

    If The Godfather was only about gun-toting Mafia types, it would never have garnered as many accolades. The characteristic that sets this film apart from so many of its predecessors and successors is its ability to weave the often-disparate layers of story into a cohesive whole. Any of the individual issues explored by The Godfather are strong enough to form the foundation of a movie. Here, however, bolstered by so many complimentary themes, each is given added resonance. The picture is a series of mini-climaxes, all building to the devastating, definitive conclusion.

    Rarely does a film tell as many diverse-yet-interconnected stories. Strong performances, solid directing, and a tightly-plotted script all contribute to The Godfather's success. This motion picture was not slapped together to satiate the appetite of the masses; it was carefully and painstakingly crafted. Every major character - and more than a few minor ones - is molded into a distinct, complex individual. Stereotypes did not influence Coppola's film, although certain ones were formed as a result of it.

    Despite the likes of Serpico, Dog Day Afternoon, Scarface, ...And Justice for All, and Scent of a Woman on his resume, Pacino is best remembered for the role he created in The Godfather (and subsequently reprised in two sequels). While this is not his most demonstrative performance - indeed, he is exceptionally restrained - the quality of the script makes Michael Corleone notable.

    Next to Humphrey Bogart's Rick from Casablanca, Oscar winner Marlon Brando's Don Vito may be the most imitated character in screen history. The line "I'm gonna make him an offer he can't refuse" has attained legendary status, as has the entire performance. With his raspy voice, deliberate movements, and penetrating stare, Brando has created a personae that will be recalled for as long as motion pictures exist.

    Don Vito is a most complicated gangster. In his own words, he is not a killer, and he never mixes business with personal matters. He puts family first ("A man who doesn't spend time with his family can never be a real man") and despises displays of weakness. He understands the burden of power, and his wordless sympathy for Michael when he is forced to assume the "throne", is one of The Godfather's most revealing moments (about both father and son).

    We come to The Godfather like Kay Adams - outsiders uncertain in our expectations - but it doesn't take long for us to be captivated by this intricate, violent world. The film can be viewed on many levels, with equal satisfaction awaiting those who just want a good story, and those who demand much more. The Godfather is long, yes - but it is one-hundred seventy minutes well-spent. When the closing credits roll, only a portion of the story has been told. Yet that last haunting image (Kay's shock of recognition), coupled with Nino Rota's mournful score, leaves a crater-like impression that The Godfather Part II only deepens.
    Expand
Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Just about as great as a movie's ever gonna be... As for the storytellng, The Godfather is an intricately constructed gem that simultaneously kicks ass.
  2. 100
    The picture is a series of mini-climaxes, all building to the devastating, definitive conclusion... It was carefully and painstakingly crafted. Every major character - and more than a few minor ones - is molded into a distinct, complex individual.
  3. 100
    The wedding sequence... is a virtuoso stretch of filmmaking: Coppola brings his large cast onstage so artfully that we are drawn at once into the Godfather's world.