Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 11, 1972
9.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2058 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,919
Mixed:
56
Negative:
83
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MikeC.May 20, 2007
The movie is perfect. Everyone who gave it a 0 are probably the same people that watch Fox News and think global warming is fake so there is no point in arguing. Either you know movies or you don't.
13 of 21 users found this helpful
8
DesmondLAug 5, 2009
Classical and unboring movies.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KarlK.Jul 2, 2003
Best movie ever!
3 of 6 users found this helpful
10
KyleF.Jan 2, 2006
Great Movie
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
RexG.May 13, 2006
Thanks to Marlon Brando who made this movie the best of all times up to date. It keeps getting better the more often you watch it.
4 of 8 users found this helpful
10
BrettCJul 6, 2006
I can't believe i've I never had seen the entire movie before the other day it is amazing. I got the set of dvds and all of them are good, but the first is the best. It now is up ther with Revenge of the Sith, King Kong, Lord of I can't believe i've I never had seen the entire movie before the other day it is amazing. I got the set of dvds and all of them are good, but the first is the best. It now is up ther with Revenge of the Sith, King Kong, Lord of the Rings, War of the Worlds, aving Private Ryan and many others it is amazing see all three. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RirenMar 4, 2007
If this movie seems slow to you, you've probably been watching too much contemporary television. This is how movies ought to be paced - organically, and earning their progress. When The Godfather is slow, it's because it's If this movie seems slow to you, you've probably been watching too much contemporary television. This is how movies ought to be paced - organically, and earning their progress. When The Godfather is slow, it's because it's trying to share something with us, either a nuance, or a bit of great acting that deserves a few more seconds of screen time. The cast is amazing. The score is famous for a reason. Its scenes became cliche for a reason. It won't make you feel better about the world, but damn is this a great example of storytelling. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
NestorT.Apr 30, 2008
this movie is perfect just for the LOOSERS that do not not understand a msterpice go ahead and see some homo intented film like the lord of the rings
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
EnzoP.Jul 6, 2009
The Godfather is incredible Francis Ford Coppola has made a one of a kind movie. All actors score big on the screen.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CaseyK.Jan 22, 2010
I can not see what is wrong with this, but i can see what is brilliant about it!! fabulous acting with rich enduring story telling. how it tells you about the mafia with the Michael the son (Al Pacino) wanting a life for himself really gets I can not see what is wrong with this, but i can see what is brilliant about it!! fabulous acting with rich enduring story telling. how it tells you about the mafia with the Michael the son (Al Pacino) wanting a life for himself really gets you into heart with the idea of loosing family in the dangerous business of crime operations. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
lamyaaA.Feb 1, 2010
You talk about the realness, here you find it, honesly i can't say more because this movie more than more.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamWFeb 16, 2010
Greatest movie of all time. To those who believe the Metascore is off, should probably read how scores are calculated. They are WEIGHTED, as in Variety (the irrelevant little publication) doesn't count for much. Definitely deserves the 100.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
5002LMfromgamespotOct 29, 2005
A masterpiece. a fantastic cast, with the possible exclusion of Kay Adams. a very memorable performance by Marlon Brando. as Brando once said "it is the audience really that is doing the acting."
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GlennM.Sep 1, 2005
Yeah deff the second best movie ever made.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TomDec 29, 2006
This film is a work of art.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
C.J.O.May 8, 2006
The Godfather is the best moive of all time! Respect, Power and Money.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DerekE.Jun 4, 2006
This is cliche, but it really is "the perfect movie."
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidK.Aug 15, 2006
This is easily the best movie of all time, then would be part two, but I can't stand watching part 3, it, just like far too many other movies, ruined the trilogy.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KellyB.Aug 10, 2006
The people who gave this movie a "0" are either trying to be subversive, or are completely moronic. My guess is that they are trying to be the former. Whether you like The Godfather, or thought that it was overrated, it certainly The people who gave this movie a "0" are either trying to be subversive, or are completely moronic. My guess is that they are trying to be the former. Whether you like The Godfather, or thought that it was overrated, it certainly doesn't warrant a "0". There are far worse movies out there than this wonderfully acted epic. As for the voter who said that Scarface was a better movie...now that's moronic. While The Godfather is a true classic, Scarface is a poor man's Godfather. It is, at best, an overblown, long-winded film, chock-full of a mugging Al Pacino (has Brian DePalma EVER made a subtle movie?). Even then, I still give it a "5". But Godfather gets a "10". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnW.Oct 1, 2007
If you gave this a 0 you are the ones that love movies like Baby Geniuses 1 and 2. This movie was great and you have bad taste.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MichaelRDec 30, 2007
Its a slow and very long movie but patience is a virtue.This is not a movie for the impatient people.This is an instant classic movie that has a great moral story and all Italians will love this movie.Marlon Brando was perfect for the role Its a slow and very long movie but patience is a virtue.This is not a movie for the impatient people.This is an instant classic movie that has a great moral story and all Italians will love this movie.Marlon Brando was perfect for the role of the Don.The acting,dialog and action was brilliant.Its the second best movie ever made after Scarface. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LuisJan 20, 2007
The first time I saw this movie, when it first came out 33 years ago, I left the theater after one hour or so, I was bored and confused, perhaps I was too young for this film. Today I consider the Godfather to be the best movie ever, The first time I saw this movie, when it first came out 33 years ago, I left the theater after one hour or so, I was bored and confused, perhaps I was too young for this film. Today I consider the Godfather to be the best movie ever, I'm a fan of the film and I know every character and detail. Of course I seen it a hundreds times, in fact it Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JoshuaM.Jan 9, 2007
Two reasons I don't give it 10: the book is so good (especially leading up to Michael's leaving for Sicily), that it is unfair to give sole credit to the film. Having watched the film after a few years, I now find the pacing a bit Two reasons I don't give it 10: the book is so good (especially leading up to Michael's leaving for Sicily), that it is unfair to give sole credit to the film. Having watched the film after a few years, I now find the pacing a bit slow (yes, perhaps due to the kinetic pace of many films today). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaxR.Mar 3, 2007
Perfect.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
HaroldB.May 3, 2007
Coppola's playfulness is given full reign in several imaginatively retro montage sequences. Newspaper headlines pass over shots of hands passing the spaghetti bowl at one of those impromptu feasts that nourished the underworld. Equally Coppola's playfulness is given full reign in several imaginatively retro montage sequences. Newspaper headlines pass over shots of hands passing the spaghetti bowl at one of those impromptu feasts that nourished the underworld. Equally potent is the quick cutting between images of Michael, at the baptism of a godchild, promising a priest that he will renounce Satan at the same time that his enemies are being gorily gunned down all over town. Coppola knew how to create monsters - Michael and his father - and make us gleefully root for their triumph. Michael, especially monstrous because with his education and early vow to stay clear of the family business, his slow evolution into cold-blooded killer seems more unforgivable. The collaboration between director and actor here is magical. We actually see Michael's face go deader as the movie progresses, and his eyes seem to narrow as if Michael can no longer bear what he sees around him and himself. If you've only viewed "The Godfather" on television, you owe it to yourself to go out and see it on the big screen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DouglasM.Jul 20, 2007
It is one of the greatest movies ever.All aspects of this movie are brilliant. Almost every scene is a masterpiece. Al Pacino's acting in Godfather Part 1 and 2 has to be among the best in the history of movies. In particular, he is so It is one of the greatest movies ever.All aspects of this movie are brilliant. Almost every scene is a masterpiece. Al Pacino's acting in Godfather Part 1 and 2 has to be among the best in the history of movies. In particular, he is so real and believable in the scene at the restaurant in the Bronx. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KrisP.Jul 20, 2007
This film is one of my all time favorites, and this film has Marlon Brando in, in my opinion, one of his best roles. A must see for any one who can watch it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ArtIAug 1, 2007
I will give it a nine because nothings perfect! But it is a great movie, people who put 0's and 1's are retarded... sure there are better movies out there, but who's comparing? someone even brought up Scarface as being the I will give it a nine because nothings perfect! But it is a great movie, people who put 0's and 1's are retarded... sure there are better movies out there, but who's comparing? someone even brought up Scarface as being the better movie... please... that was garbage compared to this. Overall the story and characters were perfect, yeah it's long and has a lot of story to it... but thats what I loved about it. I don't agree w/ the 100 rating on metacritic, because its almost impossible to get a perfect score on here. But it is a great movie! better than the stuff the industry is pushing now. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SukuS.Sep 25, 2007
The Best Film ever without a doubt. If you haven't watched it you cannot function in popular culture.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EddieM.Sep 26, 2007
Greatest American epic ever! Quite simply American cinema's finest moment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BenjyxFeb 2, 2008
It has to be said that not everyone will agree on a film and critics do tend to overrate films like this. I have to say though this film is something else.... Im only 17, not part of the baby boomer generation and this film was just It has to be said that not everyone will agree on a film and critics do tend to overrate films like this. I have to say though this film is something else.... Im only 17, not part of the baby boomer generation and this film was just something else. It's not perfect but it's definately one orf the greatest films ever made, and the tension and shocks in some of the scenes are incredible. Last point; anyone who considers the characters unlikeable, did you skip scenes? Al Pacino's slow descent into a life that he doesn't wants, Marlon Brando's performance as a mob leader who uses logic and politics rather than murder, plus his last scene with his grandson... wow. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillM.Feb 3, 2008
I finally got to see this movie yesterday and it was great. Even after all the cliches it caused.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JohnnyC.Feb 3, 2008
THE most overrated movie ever! Ya it has a nice story,and a nice set of actors. But it's way to long. Some of you are saying that if others dont agree this is the greatest movie ever there a moron? Lol. This movie is not all that. THE most overrated movie ever! Ya it has a nice story,and a nice set of actors. But it's way to long. Some of you are saying that if others dont agree this is the greatest movie ever there a moron? Lol. This movie is not all that. Scarface is better. More action,a good story,long,but not to long. The only reason people are saying this is the greatest ever,is because there trying to follow the crowd. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RD.Apr 7, 2008
Superb movie. Not bored for even a second. Marlon Brando, Al Pacino and James Caan as also Robert Duvall all were superb. immortal classic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StephenC.May 8, 2008
While perhaps not the greatest movie of all time, despite it's rank as such among many, it is in the top 5. Marlon Brando plays the almost sympathetic character very well. My biggest qualm is I just felt the turn of Al Pacino was a While perhaps not the greatest movie of all time, despite it's rank as such among many, it is in the top 5. Marlon Brando plays the almost sympathetic character very well. My biggest qualm is I just felt the turn of Al Pacino was a little quick to happen. It seems to me he went from nice kid to sociopath, way more unhinged than his dad, almost overnight. Still an incredible movie and cinematic experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShawnA.Jun 21, 2008
Brilliant.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
T.G.Aug 6, 2008
Simply put, awesome movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LiamG.Aug 8, 2008
The greatest and most influential mob movie ever. Even after 36 years, nothing, bar its sequel and Scorsese's 'Goodfellas', have come close to matching its absolute perfection.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StabsM.Sep 4, 2008
What's there to say? A perfect movie that I was accustomed to watching on VHS or cable, both of which had the color washed out. The DVD release has the color beautifully restored; the color, alone, allows you to rediscover The Godfather What's there to say? A perfect movie that I was accustomed to watching on VHS or cable, both of which had the color washed out. The DVD release has the color beautifully restored; the color, alone, allows you to rediscover The Godfather again. The special features are fantastic. Coppola walks you through the movie, slowly and expertly. The deleted scenes are wonderfully shot. What's not to love? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MackJan 6, 2009
This has to be among the greatest movies ever made. I don't think any of the sequels even come close although I hear many prefer part II. Every scene is memorable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VladislavKAug 13, 2009
Really one of the greatest films of all time I don't need to add more
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarlCAug 14, 2009
I think the grammar inaccuracies, lack of spelling prowess, and vapid intellectual acumen of those who gave this film a bad rating prove just how good it is, simply the best film ever made. I admit "Return of the King" is a close second, but.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JSAug 31, 2009
The greatest movie ever made. The only blockbuster ever produced for thinking adults. All the performances are outstanding and the direction is peerless. Manages to turn a good summer novel into a dark, brooding masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ZackM.Jan 3, 2010
While it is long i would consider it a classic. while it is brutal and violent and almost sadistic it has a well written story and amazing acting amplify a timeless crime drama
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ParkerO.Oct 11, 2005
I have always loved all the Godfather movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JamesMNov 19, 2005
Certainly overrated but a fine film nonetheless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SamD.Oct 16, 2005
It is an excellent movie, but there are point in it where the acting could have used an extra oomph, like the scene where al pacino and his would be wife are walking down the sidewalk in the park, iwasn't impressed with the lack of It is an excellent movie, but there are point in it where the acting could have used an extra oomph, like the scene where al pacino and his would be wife are walking down the sidewalk in the park, iwasn't impressed with the lack of intensity nor the lack of emotion from the actress. also, if you do the math, the score for this movie should be a 99 since 1380(the total) divided by 14 (the amount of reviews) is 98.57 a.k.a. a 99. I'd like a recount here! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
FrancoSOct 12, 2006
BEST MOVIE EVER!! It had its flaws (too much diaglouge) I can see this movie over and over again. Plus I'm part Sicillian! Marlon Brando stole the first one though, excellent performance and Al Pacino wasn't bad himself. If you BEST MOVIE EVER!! It had its flaws (too much diaglouge) I can see this movie over and over again. Plus I'm part Sicillian! Marlon Brando stole the first one though, excellent performance and Al Pacino wasn't bad himself. If you havent seen it, buy it. A must-have for your movie collection! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EricR.Mar 17, 2006
I ruge anyone who doesn't like this or found it lacluster to watch it again. I didn't much care for it the first time, that's because I didn't understand the plot or characters, so I could't be emotionally involved, I ruge anyone who doesn't like this or found it lacluster to watch it again. I didn't much care for it the first time, that's because I didn't understand the plot or characters, so I could't be emotionally involved, regardless of how great the directing, acting and cinemetography was. The more you watch it, the more you uncover, and the more you can appreciate it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Mr.HankeyMar 22, 2006
A masterpiece that is in my opinion the best movie ever made. It is a violent movie but shows the bruatlity of the mob and how violent and vicious some of them were. It is a beautiful and tragic movie that shows how a son who originally A masterpiece that is in my opinion the best movie ever made. It is a violent movie but shows the bruatlity of the mob and how violent and vicious some of them were. It is a beautiful and tragic movie that shows how a son who originally would have hated to be in the family buisness came to the family buisness. We should be all thanking Mario Puzo for the amazing story that generated thousands screaming when the horse was in the the bed and Francis Ford Coppola who in great detail showed the personalities of the characters in such great shape. Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan and Robert Duvall have great strength as actors and each has a different trait that is either hard or soft. The Movie will remain one of the best ever made forever and if you can top this then you have to be pretty damn good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanR.Mar 9, 2006
There's no question this film will be considered a classic a century from now. One can only hope that an actor is born that will surpass Marlon Brando as the Godfather, or that a film that equally captures the American spirit will be There's no question this film will be considered a classic a century from now. One can only hope that an actor is born that will surpass Marlon Brando as the Godfather, or that a film that equally captures the American spirit will be made over the next 100 years. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyneM.Jul 10, 2006
The most perfect American film ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TrevorAug 3, 2006
All three films taken as a whole proves to be the greatest achievement in cinema history.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Sep 14, 2006
11 out of 10
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KellyA.Sep 19, 2006
Is there really anything better?
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JamesEOct 15, 2007
This is the best movie i have ever seen in my life. People knew that back in the 70's and still today it is unmatched in quality and realism. The length of the movie was perfectly acceptable otherwise we would never get the whole story. This is the best movie i have ever seen in my life. People knew that back in the 70's and still today it is unmatched in quality and realism. The length of the movie was perfectly acceptable otherwise we would never get the whole story. Anyone (and i mean anyone) who gives this movie lower than 5 should be watching bio-dome and should be banned from any movie rating sites. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HeathQ.Jan 24, 2007
This is a perfect score movie for a reason, it is the best movie that has ever been concieved. The score of 80 is not counted as it is an uncerdited and therefore and not from any professional critic, it should be put amongst the user This is a perfect score movie for a reason, it is the best movie that has ever been concieved. The score of 80 is not counted as it is an uncerdited and therefore and not from any professional critic, it should be put amongst the user reviews. As for people giving this film a 0/10 I am quite sure that you are pathetic little people that live their lives on the net and hang shit on any movie with any substance or critical acclaim. The impact of this movie, considering it was made in 1972 still has great affect. My sister watched this movie for the first time just a couple of weeks ago and for someone who thinks Legally Blonde is a good movie to say this is one of the best films she has ever seen just proves it is excellent. Coppolla is a legendary filmmaker, many should take a leaf from his book. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WillP.Mar 23, 2007
My absolute FAVORITE movie ever. Anyone with even a little bit of patience and an IQ over room temperature will recognize that this is an absolutely incredible movie. I honestly cannot think of any flaws, even minor ones.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkS.May 21, 2007
Excellent movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LonChaneyMay 3, 2007
This movie is the best ever, and it shows its cinematic screenplay brilliance as well as its incredible, dynamic script, a great, amazingly-told storytelling, and a remarkable cast. Marlon Brando and Al Pacino star in this four-star crime drama.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnDawkinsMay 3, 2007
Absolutely unmatched in its immersiveness. The opening wedding sequence is possibly the finest exposition of any film I've ever seen. This is a film that needs to be shown on the big screen every couple of years.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KendallG.May 3, 2007
Puzo, he forged an epic tragedy about America, capitalism, family, greed, treachery and love. He showed us
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndreJun 28, 2007
One of the greatest of the best films of all time, a true masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PotatoHeadJul 31, 2007
Ryan J, if Godfather is a "0," how would you rate Bio-Dome? I bet you're real proud of yourself giving the highest rated movie on Metacritic a zero rating.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottW.Aug 25, 2007
I first saw this movie when I was 18 a few years ago in 2003 and I loved it. This is a movie that will never get old. Everything in this movie is at its best. From the acting and music to the story it's self. This gangster story is the I first saw this movie when I was 18 a few years ago in 2003 and I loved it. This is a movie that will never get old. Everything in this movie is at its best. From the acting and music to the story it's self. This gangster story is the best of the best and is also one of the all time greatest movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BraeH.Dec 17, 2008
A great set of movies.The new blu-ray version's are worth picking up.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
christianw.Jan 8, 2008
What a movie, what a cast. I love this flick so much, it blows me away every time I watch it. James Caan at the toll booth is one hell of a scene. Best movie ever made anywhere. It even pips Kubricks 2001, no mean feat.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JakeMay 11, 2008
I like the film, but I still think it's overrated. In my opinion it's a great gangster movie with excelent actors and a cool story. However I don't think that this is the best movie ever as some parts of it are simply too I like the film, but I still think it's overrated. In my opinion it's a great gangster movie with excelent actors and a cool story. However I don't think that this is the best movie ever as some parts of it are simply too long. I like it but it doesn't blow my mind. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DevonC.May 29, 2008
It
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeanetteA.Jul 18, 2008
I saw this movie when it first came out and it's been my favorite movie of all time. The key to the story line is how the family loves each other even though the business they are in is violent. The story line is the best part. No other I saw this movie when it first came out and it's been my favorite movie of all time. The key to the story line is how the family loves each other even though the business they are in is violent. The story line is the best part. No other movie has come close to having all that this one has to offer. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Aug 7, 2008
Goodness gracious me, it is not the best movie ever made. Sure, it's on the top 10 list, but not the number 1 greatest, at least for me. The Godfather was a brilliant and outstanding setup for Part II, and for that It was good. There Goodness gracious me, it is not the best movie ever made. Sure, it's on the top 10 list, but not the number 1 greatest, at least for me. The Godfather was a brilliant and outstanding setup for Part II, and for that It was good. There really was no big storyline to it though. Part II there were many thing happening. But The Godfather just had Marlon Brando walkin' around saying random things with his, somewhat annoying, but kick ass voice. It was just family problems. Oh no Michael was sent to prison, Johnny was murdered, and Michael took over the family business. In a nutshell, that's all it really was. But it sure was a good movie. A beautiful, amazing setup for Part II. It's worth watching, but you have to be In the mood, and when you are, you'll find the picture breathtaking. Sometime you wonder if they even made it in '72, thinking they did it sometime in the '90s. But the film was very well done. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertW.Nov 29, 2009
By far the best movie of all-time and every other film in the genre tries to live up to the standard of this movie... they all fall short.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
nicktJan 21, 2009
I think this the best movie ever made. Ths is the #1 in gangster films. #1 in movies all around. THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
HugoM.Feb 8, 2009
One of the best of the 1970's after Taxi Driver, Mean Streets, McCabe & Mrs. Miller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IgorMMar 17, 2009
Plague on the houses of those who claims The Godfather is NOT the best movie of all time!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimNMay 9, 2009
Greatest movie ever. Al Pacino and Marlon Brando were excellent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
adityam.Jun 22, 2009
I am an aspiring Director and my works are all fresh until one day I watched this Film and after that I needed to clearly define my approach to the Films to stop imitating 'The Godfather'. This Film has set huge standards in film I am an aspiring Director and my works are all fresh until one day I watched this Film and after that I needed to clearly define my approach to the Films to stop imitating 'The Godfather'. This Film has set huge standards in film making. A very Influential Movie on all dimensions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IsaiahG.Jul 22, 2009
This is literally the perfect film, there is no other way someone logical can put it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottNJul 24, 2009
This movie is a classic and the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. Coppola creates not only some of the greatest moments in film history, but also creates characters that have amazing depth only surpassed by literary works. Despite This movie is a classic and the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. Coppola creates not only some of the greatest moments in film history, but also creates characters that have amazing depth only surpassed by literary works. Despite being long, not a single piece of dialogue is wasted. It is a masterpiece of art, not just film. To the negative reviews....just rate it on it's merits, not some feeling it's overrated. As to the Metascore, read their rating system. They weight specific reviews and then normalize. With their system it's gets a 100. This is one of the few films ever made that deserve such a rating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ElM.Aug 13, 2009
Although not my favorite movie of all time, I acknowledge it as being, perhaps, the best movie of all time. The acting is spectacular, Marlon Brando giving an excellent performance and Al Pacino (before he becomes the boss) is outstanding as Although not my favorite movie of all time, I acknowledge it as being, perhaps, the best movie of all time. The acting is spectacular, Marlon Brando giving an excellent performance and Al Pacino (before he becomes the boss) is outstanding as well. At around 175 minutes, it is a very long movie and at some points does drag on a little unnecessarily, but these moments are very rare and all of this comes together to form probably the best movie of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MirkoC.Aug 18, 2009
I think it is a good learning experience reading user comments for movies. It shows that there will never be a unanimous consensus on greatness. Some will always disagree. However most of those who disliked the movie are clearly very young. I think it is a good learning experience reading user comments for movies. It shows that there will never be a unanimous consensus on greatness. Some will always disagree. However most of those who disliked the movie are clearly very young. If you say a movie like Donnie Brasco or untouchable or Scarface is better you fail to realize that these movies owe there inspiration to the Godfather. Sooo many movie makers were influenced byu the Godfather that if you see the movie too late in your movie watching life maybe you just can't get it. I saw the movie growing up and have watched it many many times and am still mesmerized by its greatness. believe me I was watching it long before it was apparently "trendy' to like it. Me and my high school buddies would have Godfather movie nights well over 20 years ago and loved them with no preconceived notions other than we loved them. As a teenager I liked Scarface, it was amusing, but even then i knew it is no where near the movie that Godfather is. I guess I am just fascinated by the diversity of human opinions. Rarely will everyone agree when it comes to personal taste. However if you can't see the effort, thought and artistic care put into the Godfather I suppose it is one's loss. Thankfully there are endless movies out there to be enjoyed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottAug 30, 2009
The greatest movie of ALL time, hands down! those who dislike, know nothing about cinema.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArchanSSep 19, 2009
The greatest movie I have ever seen. Strong realistic character development, complex plot, analytical evaluation of human nature, twists, classical depiction of mafia characteristics with great casting (including one of the greatest The greatest movie I have ever seen. Strong realistic character development, complex plot, analytical evaluation of human nature, twists, classical depiction of mafia characteristics with great casting (including one of the greatest performance in world history by Marlon Brando and career making performance by Al Pacino) and directed by one of the greatest visionary director Francis Ford Coppola makes this film not only the greatest gangster movie of all time but also the greatest movie of all time. Reading the comments of other users I have found that some people rated it very poorly (even some gave the movie 0). They think giving the movie 10 rating makes it overrated. But for them I want to say that either they haven't understood the movie or haven't actually watched the movie. Considering public rights it can be said that anyone can give any rating in their accordance but giving this movie 0 rating is a social insult in my opinion. Many people think Scarface and Goodfellas are better than this film. But I strongly believe that Scarface has neither strong character development nor any good story. Yes it has some cheesy lines and some eye-candy violence which makes it a "notable" gangster (also a reason is that it is based on a true character) film but definitely not a "great" film. And yes Goodfellas is a great film the characters of the film are all villainous in nature. They don't appeal the sympathy of mass. Along with it neither have the classical approach as The Godfather has nor had any complicated story which the viewer will go on thinking long after the movie as The Godfather. So I think rating this movie 10 is just. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
H.G.Mar 26, 2004
Really good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelHAug 18, 2004
One word for this movie, Unbelievable, deserves the 100.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnAug 28, 2005
Beautifully haunting. perfection on screen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BruceRNov 7, 2006
The single finest achievement in American film making. Perhaps, Ryan N. should have a nap.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AprilM.Feb 28, 2006
A very dramatic film. All I have to say is that I loved it! A succesful movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonydannieJun 14, 2006
Unlike a certain comment made by one of tv's favorite charecters. The Godfather is a masterpiece!! This is one of those movies that eventhough you own a copy wether it be on VHS or DVD . As soon as you find a tv station showing it Unlike a certain comment made by one of tv's favorite charecters. The Godfather is a masterpiece!! This is one of those movies that eventhough you own a copy wether it be on VHS or DVD . As soon as you find a tv station showing it during your usual channel surfing, you can't help but to watch to the point where you are even putting up with commercials. You have it on your shelf but yet you dont want to get up to pop in in your player.. when the commercials come up you use that time to go to the bath room instead of reaching for your copy. That is in my opinion the essence of a great film. Great acting. great writing. The film stand out as the best in american cinema. After Citizen kane of course. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
smithyOct 14, 2007
Ultimatest movie ever, if you don't think so your a moron.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisS.Dec 14, 2007
Any ratings of below 8 are ridiculous(i.e little kids giving it a 0/10. Morons). This movie is an instant classic, with a riveting storyline and plenty of action. If you don't like the atmosphere of the movie like many of the reviews I Any ratings of below 8 are ridiculous(i.e little kids giving it a 0/10. Morons). This movie is an instant classic, with a riveting storyline and plenty of action. If you don't like the atmosphere of the movie like many of the reviews I have read here, please go and watch Grease. Or just go away. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DAOct 29, 2007
It's disappointing that some kids want to be rebellious and give it a 0, because as the last reviewer said, nothing's perfect, so nothing is so bad its 0. I do not believe this is the best movie I've seen, i enjoyed goodfellas It's disappointing that some kids want to be rebellious and give it a 0, because as the last reviewer said, nothing's perfect, so nothing is so bad its 0. I do not believe this is the best movie I've seen, i enjoyed goodfellas more along with a few others (Saw, Old School), but this is the classic and will always live on. So if you're in a rebellious mood, please do not review, it's a waste of time for you and any person who reads it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattD.Feb 21, 2007
One of the best movies ever along with Godfather II, and other classics...Marlon Brando shows off his range and acting versatility by transforming from being a '50s American actor to a convincingly Italian mafia man. I first thought he One of the best movies ever along with Godfather II, and other classics...Marlon Brando shows off his range and acting versatility by transforming from being a '50s American actor to a convincingly Italian mafia man. I first thought he was Italian, and I was surprised how un-italian he was prior to his role. So good, that he would adopt this speech into his everyday talk for the rest of his life. That man was a legend. Pair him up of Al Pacino, who was a budding star, and now legend (though he has plateaued ever since Scent of a Woman, when he won an Oscar for saying Huah!, when it really should've been for this role, or as Tony Montana in Scarface, in Dog Day Afternoon, in Carlito's Way, or other). Pacino is startling brilliant as a seemingly normal young man who reluctantly joins the mafia, but then takes over the family business and runs it like his own after it was passed down from Brando. James Cahn was absolutely phenomenal as the hotheaded Sonny Corleone, and Jon Cazale as the weak-minded brother Fredo. This movie changed the gangsta movie landscape giving a third dimension to previous cop-bad guy, go kill movies, and really gives an insight of what they are about, that being loyalty, trust, bonding, and later turns into power, corruption, greed, and eventually the downfall of Michael Corleone. None of them are the typical good guy, but all of them are interesting as characters and it engages you wholly into the film and thrusts you into the dialogue, making you never want to take a bathroom break. This is what makes a classic, and if you don't understand the concept of this, than you don't know movies. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
HopeMar 17, 2007
This movie is possibly the best movie off all time. It has all of the element of a great timeless classic. It has big stars/soon to become big stars, a great director and an amazing plot! It rightly deserves to be number one!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BobW.Mar 19, 2007
Truly a dark masterpiece with so many famous scenes and lines it passed directly into screen legend status. Created a genre of movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JonC.Jun 26, 2007
Not what every critic hypes it up to be, but it's still well done as far as acting and writing. By the way, in response to a random comment by Mike C., "global warming" and fox news have nothing to do with movies...and global Not what every critic hypes it up to be, but it's still well done as far as acting and writing. By the way, in response to a random comment by Mike C., "global warming" and fox news have nothing to do with movies...and global warming's been proven to be fake by many scientists, they just can't go too public with it or people like you threaten to kill them (not making that up, it's actually happened to a guy). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DavidKJul 16, 2007
I've only ever seen bits of it and its ok but i read a comment from James K who said "Did not care for it. It insists upon itself" and had to say is that not from family guy when they are in a panic room like setting and peter says that I've only ever seen bits of it and its ok but i read a comment from James K who said "Did not care for it. It insists upon itself" and had to say is that not from family guy when they are in a panic room like setting and peter says that about the godfather? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Kneelb.Jul 21, 2007
Someone please kill ryan j... You deserve to be stabbed repeatedly in the eyeball with a rusty soldering iron. The godfather is the classic perfect movie, period. It stands with the best movies such as pulp fiction, goodfellas, ect. So ryan, Someone please kill ryan j... You deserve to be stabbed repeatedly in the eyeball with a rusty soldering iron. The godfather is the classic perfect movie, period. It stands with the best movies such as pulp fiction, goodfellas, ect. So ryan, think b4 you give a movie a 0 u stupid retard. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WHDelNidoMar 27, 2008
One of the best films ever made. You dont need to like the genre to acknowledge its one of the best.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LeonardoP.Apr 11, 2008
It's a very good movie.It is perfect the acting of Marlon Brando, Robert Duvall, James Caan etc. I love this movie, but I don't now why it's one of the better movies of all time. I recommend it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful