New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 7, 2007
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 355 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
182
Mixed:
76
Negative:
97
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
steve104Dec 9, 2007
Big, beautiful, and boring. Kidman is totally miscast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MickD.Dec 9, 2007
As an adaptation of the brilliant novels it's not very good, but it's a great kids fantasy film nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevODec 9, 2007
I liked it, the acting was good but I wish it was longer. That's just a limitation of the medium used though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JB.Dec 9, 2007
Terrible, terrible, terrible. I went to see No Country for Old Men, but apparently you have to be 18 to get into R-rated movies now, which is why I saw this. This is not the next CoN or LoTR...for god's sake stay away!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JustinP.Dec 9, 2007
I don´t know if The Golden Compass will go down as one of the biggest bombs in cinematic history, but it certainly deserves to. Seldom has so much effort and money been invested in creating a movie so thoroughly unengaging. It seems I don´t know if The Golden Compass will go down as one of the biggest bombs in cinematic history, but it certainly deserves to. Seldom has so much effort and money been invested in creating a movie so thoroughly unengaging. It seems the entire movie should be plastered with little notes on the screen saying "Courtesy of Lord of the Rings" or "Inspired by Harry Potter" and the list goes on. Its desperate reaching to cash in on the success of those series is pathetic. The question one asks throughout the film is "OK, and why is that interesting, and why should I care?" None of the characters are intriguing or likable. The plot is fragmented and episodic and lacks any tension. The effects are impressive, but seem sadly wasted on a movie that, above all, is just really, really boring. And the end is the most shameless plea (which should be denied) for a sequel(s) in movie history. Please, spare us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BoomerDec 9, 2007
Had all the ingredients to make a great film, sadly, the chef was an idiot and the great performances and killer storyline get left behind in a mad rush. Hopefully they will put a more talented helmer in charge for the next one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TroyKDec 8, 2007
Worth seeing at the big screen, but only for the visuals. I have never read the books and had no trouble following the story, but was constantly saying "WHAT?" throughout the movie. Huge plot holes, so many things that didn't make sense Worth seeing at the big screen, but only for the visuals. I have never read the books and had no trouble following the story, but was constantly saying "WHAT?" throughout the movie. Huge plot holes, so many things that didn't make sense that I will just stop here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
kalliDec 8, 2007
Read the Roger Ebert review -- he captures what my experience was of the movie. I'm really surprised it's receiving so many so-so reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JosephC.Dec 8, 2007
Movie was quite excellent. However, as everyone mentioned previously, the plot indeed felt a bit rushed. Numerous scenes from the book were left out, but then again, it's only natural for a film to do that, due to the limited time frame Movie was quite excellent. However, as everyone mentioned previously, the plot indeed felt a bit rushed. Numerous scenes from the book were left out, but then again, it's only natural for a film to do that, due to the limited time frame a movie can hold. What I found the most amusing is the complaints of numerous parents who bring their children (5-11 years old) to watch the movie. From what I can see on their faces, they were appalled at many of the scenes which they redeemed as "inappropriate (ex: bears lower muzzle gets ripped off)." However, just as John P. states, this movie is rather for teenagers and adults, and not for kids. Overall, the movie was satisfactory, but only probably due to the fact that I re-read the book to refresh my memory. My friend who never read the book often needed explanations on what was going on... So before watching the movie, people should remember some things: 1. It's not really kid-friendly 2. It's only the first part of a trilogy, so don't be disappointed at the cliff-hanger ending 3. Best to read the book before watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesW.Dec 8, 2007
Special effects without a coherent plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MannyR.Dec 8, 2007
I was completely disappointed. They left so much background information from the book out-- I don't even know where to begin. And the ending... what the heck?!?! What about Asriel (not saying more for those who haven't read the I was completely disappointed. They left so much background information from the book out-- I don't even know where to begin. And the ending... what the heck?!?! What about Asriel (not saying more for those who haven't read the book)? I feel that the movie was rushed-- 180 million bucks doesn't buy much anymore, I guess. Two shinning stars in all this: Nicole Kidman did a phenomenal job as Mrs. Coulter. I totally ate up every scene she was in. And the part of Lyra was also very well done by that adorable little girl. I was really cheering this movie on, especially with the recent backlash by Christian fundamentalists calling the movie "atheism marketing for kids." But now that I've seen it, I worry that the movie will fail, not because of the ridiculous "boycott," but because it sucked in its own right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyS.Dec 8, 2007
Loved every second, didn't want it to end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AldenL.Dec 8, 2007
Solid movie, with weak parts saved by Kidman and spectacular visuals. Story is streamlined from book, but mostly with success. Magisterium is a perfect 'alternative' to the Church; it's clear to any educated person what Solid movie, with weak parts saved by Kidman and spectacular visuals. Story is streamlined from book, but mostly with success. Magisterium is a perfect 'alternative' to the Church; it's clear to any educated person what it's referring to and drives the plot nicely. Major downfall of movie, if there is one: the ending is completely botched, and without a reason for doing so. The story is already violent and tragic, so why do away with that last pivotal scene. Who are they protecting? Either way, strong film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantH.Dec 8, 2007
Terrific entertainment. Hugely enjoyable. Brilliant young lead. Astounding special effects. What more can i say. Just go and see it!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BenO.Dec 8, 2007
If you have read the book do NOT go and watch the film you will be disappointed they have broken the story up and do not develop the characters at all. They keep the skeleton of the story but then rip out the guts and fill it with classic If you have read the book do NOT go and watch the film you will be disappointed they have broken the story up and do not develop the characters at all. They keep the skeleton of the story but then rip out the guts and fill it with classic Disney rubbish. As a final insult they cut the story short leaving a happy ending so as not to upset anyone, in all a sham. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElinaDec 8, 2007
A brave and mostly successful attempt at adapting a challenging and intellectual fantasy book for the screen. The film has pacing problems, but the visuals and acting are great -- Dakota Blue Richards as Lyra is marvelous. Well worth seeing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArtyS.Dec 8, 2007
Great film. Excellent. A superb adaptation. Performances are really good. The bad thing is that New Line has rushed the film, all goes too fast, but it's really a great film, deep and really fun. Go and watch this, you will be very pleased.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherG.Dec 7, 2007
Amazing! Simply amazing! This is one of the best movie adaptations of anything ever in the fantasy genre. I was hesitant to see this movie at first because of the mixed reviews, but I'm so glad I did. The world depicted in the film is Amazing! Simply amazing! This is one of the best movie adaptations of anything ever in the fantasy genre. I was hesitant to see this movie at first because of the mixed reviews, but I'm so glad I did. The world depicted in the film is captivating and shines on the screen with life, depth, and adventure. It is a family movie that would be surprisingly enjoyable for most adults, at worst (depending on the individual) still quite tolerable, and also a lot of fun for kids. The kids in the movie are cute and precocious but not nauseatingly so like in most family movies - this is coming from a 22 year old adult male mind you. Even though there is violence in the film, none of it is graphic with the exception of 1 short part of a scene which just lasts a few seconds - just as a warning though parents should tell their younger children to cover their eyes towards the end of the bear-fight-bear scene. Some issues are still up in the air at the end of the movie, but at least one major issue is resolved before the credits roll. Personally, the bit of a cliff-hanger at the end just left me excited for the next 2 movies coming out rather than disappointed at some sort of lack of resolution - I guess this varies depending on the viewer though. If you haven't seen this movie yet and are a bit put off by the mixed reviews, don't be - at worst you might walk out of the movie thinking it was somewhat mediocre, at best you might absolutely love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerD.Dec 7, 2007
A fantastic movie. Wonderful execution, great acting, and breathtaking visuals (seriously, the polar bears look insane.) The ending, however, lacked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SophieMDec 7, 2007
This was a good start to the trilogy and should not be a serious disappointment to any fans of Pullman's trilogy. The last 3 chapters of the book were not included in this first of the three movies but will be at the start of the next This was a good start to the trilogy and should not be a serious disappointment to any fans of Pullman's trilogy. The last 3 chapters of the book were not included in this first of the three movies but will be at the start of the next one. A bit of a shock to anyone who knows the story, but hopefully it will be worth the wait until The Subtle Knife comes out in a couple of years! Dakota Blue Richards does a great job as Lyra- in fact, most of the characters are really well cast. I recommend seeing the movie and, even more so, reading the books! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RyanK.Dec 7, 2007
Having seen this movie without reading the source first, I can say that the book must be a terrifically interesting read. It was obvious that the director thought so too; it seemed he tried to incorporate as many elements from the source as Having seen this movie without reading the source first, I can say that the book must be a terrifically interesting read. It was obvious that the director thought so too; it seemed he tried to incorporate as many elements from the source as possible. Unfortunately that made for a story that jumped from place to place without lingering on the interesting part, the connections between the events. The Victorian world of steeples and airships was sufficiently interesting that I wanted to be immersed in it, but this movie did not let me do so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarcDDec 7, 2007
A tremendous disappointment which does not warrant the time to elaborate on it's plentiful flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KentLDec 7, 2007
Graphics and acting were well done. Story was solid. But, I was so unhappy when I got to the end when I was slammed in the face with credits before the story ended. Yep, it's part 1 of who-knows how many parts. I wouldn't have gone Graphics and acting were well done. Story was solid. But, I was so unhappy when I got to the end when I was slammed in the face with credits before the story ended. Yep, it's part 1 of who-knows how many parts. I wouldn't have gone if I had known that. Harry potter encapsulates a full story in it - this just left me hanging. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnP.Dec 7, 2007
Phenomenal movie. A great teenage coming of age movie. Obviously parents that cannot read should not attempt to take little children to the movie (as suggested by Liz T)..... it's rated PG-13.... not G, not even PG . Whats with US Phenomenal movie. A great teenage coming of age movie. Obviously parents that cannot read should not attempt to take little children to the movie (as suggested by Liz T)..... it's rated PG-13.... not G, not even PG . Whats with US parents not getting it.... PG-13 means Parental Guidance under age 13 or in countries like the UK which use real movie ratings... such movies are rated 12 or 15 and above. So quit the bitching about movie marketing and demand that movies are rated appropriately in the US i.e. abolish the useless Pg, PG-13 and R rated system and go to the U, 12A, 15 and 18 ratings. On another note this is a perfect movie for any teenager or adult (other than those lost in a religious delirium with thoughts of the second coming as a daily obsession). Hope the following books make it into production with less of the message of enlightenment removed for fear of a Christian intifada or crusade against the movie company. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenP.Dec 7, 2007
Excellent film. Surprisingly little was cut, and one of the most faithful book-movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyS.Dec 7, 2007
All razzle, no dazzle. Absolutely nothing about the story builds enough interest to warrant a trilogy out of this. Special effects do not a movie make.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillA.Dec 7, 2007
Wild and fun, these dummy users are just rating this movie from its trailer, and I think the critics are too. Its like rating Lord of the ratings 5 or 4 out of 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeC.Dec 7, 2007
I loved, the audience loved it, my family loved it, everyone said it was good as everyone trudged out of the theatre thinking wow look at me, i just saw a really awesome movie. Never heard any bad remarks, I thought it was really good, I I loved, the audience loved it, my family loved it, everyone said it was good as everyone trudged out of the theatre thinking wow look at me, i just saw a really awesome movie. Never heard any bad remarks, I thought it was really good, I don't know where any of these negative reviews are personally coming from. As far as I'm concerned this may be the next lord of the rings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryC.Dec 7, 2007
Ultimately there is no complex concepts to this, users say its a boring clunky execution, I say wrong, this is nearly perfect, the effects are astounding, the sound is stunning, it is an entertaining and totally great family fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EricC.Dec 7, 2007
I'm genuinely surprised that this movie is getting as much praise as it is. I really can't stand it. I wanted to walk out of the theater, but stayed because for some reason I couldn't bring myself to leave a sneak preview. The I'm genuinely surprised that this movie is getting as much praise as it is. I really can't stand it. I wanted to walk out of the theater, but stayed because for some reason I couldn't bring myself to leave a sneak preview. The acting is atrocious, except for Craig, who is only in it for less than 10 minutes. I normally defend Kidman, but this time I just have to shake my head. She's terrible in this. The script doesn't help, either. There are some lines in this movie where I actually laughed, they were so bad ("War is the sea in which I swim". How is that not funny?). The pacing is also some of the worst I've ever witnessed. You're rushed through events, not told why people go from loving to hating each other in a heartbeat. They leave no room for any character development whatsoever, so by the big battle scene, you could care less about whether these soulless people live or die. It's really too bad, since the books are already considered classics, and the subject matter could have been really substantial and thought provoking. The worst part, though, is how this movie, like Eragon before it, tries to be like other fantasy epics, but it can't decide which one it wants to be most. Some scenes seem stolen from Harry Potter, others from LotR. I'll blame this on direction, since the books are mostly original. In the end, Golden Compass is just a mess led by a poor director using a poor script, and it's a mess that not even a thrilling battle scene can save. So just wait for that and the part where the bear gets his jaw knocked off to pop up on the internet, so then you can save your money and see everything worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gDec 7, 2007
Very enjoyable, even though there were changes from the book. Great SFX, good acting, compelling story. Favorite movie of this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinMDec 7, 2007
I believe that the director never read the book, opting instead to read the Cliff Notes while crossing off all the themes and replacing them with things like "generic friendship theme" and "generic courage theme". If you never read the I believe that the director never read the book, opting instead to read the Cliff Notes while crossing off all the themes and replacing them with things like "generic friendship theme" and "generic courage theme". If you never read the books, it's a solid movie. If you wanted a more accurate transferal from book to screen, you will be thoroughly disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulF.Dec 7, 2007
It's strange the twists life can take. I intended to see the movie "Awake" but the Golden Compass one was playing in its place. My friends quickly influenced me to see this one in its stead. Another surprise quickly followed. I thought It's strange the twists life can take. I intended to see the movie "Awake" but the Golden Compass one was playing in its place. My friends quickly influenced me to see this one in its stead. Another surprise quickly followed. I thought this must be some sequel to the Lion Witch and the Wardrome and spent the first 15 minutes of the movie in confusion. Once I figured this out I came to some conclusions about this movie. First, the special effects were first rate. The acting was actually decent but nothing earth shattering. The lead who played the little girl, Blue Richards, was my favorite. Nicole Kidman, another surprise, was pretty good too. But actually I really liked the animated warrior bear. I don't know how they achieved showing the emotion that they did but it was a good job worth mentioning. What else I can say but that if I were in my early teens I would have really loved this movie and maybe even given it a 9 or 10. Since then after seeing a gizzilion fantasy and Sci-Fi movies I have become a bit more discriminating or maybe just plan old jaded. It's really hard to top the Lord of the Rings trilogy. So in conclusion depending on your age and experience the Golden Compass will in the least entertain to possibly excite the imagination. The story line, acting, and special effects are all there for this potential. Some movies just have that shen or spirit and this one has at least has the glimmerings of one. ***Warning Potential Spoiler*** Be aware that this movie ends unexpectedly. The whole theater about groaned. The Golden Compass is definitely set up to be a series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
[Anonymous]Dec 7, 2007
Dumbed down beyond belief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnR.Dec 7, 2007
It really isn't that bad, but the movie was too hollywoodized. If you read the books this can be a frustrating movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaneDec 7, 2007
Thought it was aesthetically in keeping with the book. Beautiful at moments. Hardly "shockingly violent" -- there's no blood at any point whatsoever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamieJamieDec 7, 2007
Cuts a lot out of the books, but is generally very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JasonM.Dec 7, 2007
Awful not at all representative of the source material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoeU.Dec 7, 2007
I give it 3 points for superb production values. However, as it too often happens in Hollywood movies, the writing is missing in action. Utterly bad and uninteresting story, in my opinion. Worst, it is boring. I entertained myself during the I give it 3 points for superb production values. However, as it too often happens in Hollywood movies, the writing is missing in action. Utterly bad and uninteresting story, in my opinion. Worst, it is boring. I entertained myself during the movie watching the great special effects, and beautiful cinematography. Which sort of confirms my opinion that Hollywood has plenty of talent for the film craft, but truly innovative and creative writing is as difficult to find in real life nowadays as the witches in this movie, and as nonsensical. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GwilymD.Dec 7, 2007
A dull and perfunctory adaptation of one of the greatest books of our time. Feels flat, should have been half an hour longer to let scenes grow and characters breathe. MASSIVE mistake in cutting the ending and changing the running of the A dull and perfunctory adaptation of one of the greatest books of our time. Feels flat, should have been half an hour longer to let scenes grow and characters breathe. MASSIVE mistake in cutting the ending and changing the running of the plot (to create several unfathomable strands) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CaseyHDec 6, 2007
As a huge fan of the books, I was disappointed. The character development was nonexistent, the plot line was weak, and (surprise, surprise) they changed many things around that would have been better left untouched. This film should have As a huge fan of the books, I was disappointed. The character development was nonexistent, the plot line was weak, and (surprise, surprise) they changed many things around that would have been better left untouched. This film should have been made longer in order to keep in important information. I can guarantee that if you have not read the books, you will not understand most of what is happening. The filmmakers succeeded only in creating a shallow, unfeeling, empty world with meaningless characters populating it... my advice? Pick up the novels, leave the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HardyC.Dec 6, 2007
A fun time at the movies, with all the works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonB.Dec 6, 2007
Stunning visuals, great bears, and fascinating ideas. Marred only by the unnecessary exposition at the beginning, the watered-down dialogue, and the early ending (compared with the book).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoyceC.Dec 6, 2007
The Golden Compass is a clunky and flawless concept, through a Christian perspective this film is not worth it, the threequel of this "trilogy" is about killing God, and the first few develop to get to that. I wouldn't see this for that The Golden Compass is a clunky and flawless concept, through a Christian perspective this film is not worth it, the threequel of this "trilogy" is about killing God, and the first few develop to get to that. I wouldn't see this for that purpose, but from a movie going perspective I would love to see a big-budget popular fantasy movie that is nothing but entertainment like this. I for sure loved this movie, the script is surprisingly not clunky or flawless, it is a perfect fantasy design. A great story, thorough, and a perfect length, all performances play a great performance for each scene their in. I'm so happy it didn't suck like "Eragon". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MeganP.Dec 4, 2007
Due to spot-on casting and stunning visual effects, this is one extremely satisfied fan of the books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WashereDec 4, 2007
Saw a preview of it. Very good film and as close an adaptation as one can get with such a dense and complicated fantasy novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GregB.Dec 4, 2007
The book was dull. The movie is duller. It's no Lord of the Rings. It's no Blades of Glory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarcN.Dec 3, 2007
The Golden Compass was one of the most anticipated films of the year. With a budget well north of $150 million and a best seller as source material, expectations were high. Despite all of the debate about the His Dark Materials books, the The Golden Compass was one of the most anticipated films of the year. With a budget well north of $150 million and a best seller as source material, expectations were high. Despite all of the debate about the His Dark Materials books, the trailers made this film look like an awesome adventure fantasy. All I can say is ----- yawn. Yes, some of the visuals work, but most look like set pieces. The integration level for many effects is low. Despite similar budgets, LOTR blows this film out of the water on every level. Compare any battle scene in LOTR with any battle scene in The Golden Compass and you will see what I mean. I never felt that Lyra was ever truly in peril. The worst problem is the storyline. Screenwriter Chris Weitz significantly deviates from Pullman's book -- stopping very short of the dramatic conclusion of the first book in Pullman's series. I know that he was ordered to tone down the anti-Christian content of the novels, but instead of merely sanitizing the screenplay, he leaves out the climax. The scenes feel disjointed and you never get a chance to really care about any of the characters. There are a lot of transition/traveling scenes and director Chris Weitz (yes, he bears double blame for this disaster) commits the ultimate cinema sin -- he spends too much time telling and not enough time showing. Even the scenes with the alethiometer become repetitive and tiresome. Dakota Blue Richards does a creditable job as Lyra Bellaqua, but those expecting Daniel Craig (as Lord Asriel) to have much screen time will be horribly disappointed. He barely appears. Christian groups will not have to do any picketing to make this film tank. I cannot imagine anyone wanting to sit through it twice. Once was more than enough for me. Don't waste the money -- certainly not full price. If you want to see a truly magical film this holiday season, see Enchanted instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahC.Dec 3, 2007
Not as good as The Lord of the Rings, but who would think it could win 11 Oscars like Rings, but this was almost as good. So close. Okay, I loved them as much as the Rings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranB.Dec 3, 2007
This movie should have no problem in breaking box office records. If there is any justice, this should be the highest grossing movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesicaE.Dec 3, 2007
My favorite fantasy movie ever. I loved the Potters to death, but this sits on them forever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClareC.Dec 3, 2007
I loved this movie! Fantastic. Funny. Touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeH.Dec 3, 2007
Best movie of the year. I cannot wait for the sequels. Wow. What a movie. The special effects should be the frontrunner this February at the Oscars!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelA.Dec 3, 2007
Break out the popcorn and prepare to be blown away. The Golden Compass is the most pulse- pounding fantasy movie of all time. Nicole Kidman and Dakota Blue Richards were amazing. Kidman was Academy Award Worthy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieR.Dec 3, 2007
What a movie! This is how the medium seduced us originally.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanL.Dec 3, 2007
Here is the jaw-dropping, eye-popping, heart-stopping movie epic we've been waiting for all year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Dec 3, 2007
One of the wonders of the holiday season.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Dec 3, 2007
A wonderful Family movie, but it might not be good for under 10, but it's the best fantasy film of the year! Wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoannaK.Dec 3, 2007
Nicole Kidman at her best! It was smart and funny and the special effects were amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinRobertsonDec 3, 2007
A poignant film that is fantastic. Explosive non-stop action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshF.Dec 3, 2007
A generally good film throughout, but unfortunately fell a little short of my expectations which I looked at and thought were very high. Nonetheless, a good start to a promising series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PauW.Dec 3, 2007
GC is my favorite fantasy film of all time! Kidman should win awards with this performance. And I can't wait for the Other 2! Oscars for FX.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArmonMichaeliilliDec 3, 2007
The Golden Compass is possibly the best fantasy film of all time. There is no sign or language what so ever of atheism!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkivaL.Dec 3, 2007
Fantastic. The most engaging and entertaining film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonR.Dec 3, 2007
My favorite of the year. After reading the book, I couldn't wait to see how the movie would turn out. The action was amazing and the acting was incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamP.Dec 3, 2007
Slow at first but picks up speed and leaves you really thinking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BijanN.Dec 3, 2007
Nicole Kidman's best performance in years. Oscar worthy. Really it was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErikaF.Dec 3, 2007
Loved this movie because it was not only smart and great, but it wasn't like 3 hours. Short and quick was the best way to go!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelK.Dec 3, 2007
The special effects were amazing. One of the best movies of the year, if not that best. The direction and writing was magnificent! Kidman for the Oscar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahP.Dec 3, 2007
Nicole was amazing and Blue Richards was a find. Best of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LizT.Dec 3, 2007
I can't believe this is being marketed as a kids' movie. It's grim and depressing and shockingly violent (the fight between the bears in particular is sickeningly graphic). Ugh. Parents, take your kids to see Enchanted instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveSDec 3, 2007
Worth seeing but a lot was cut out from the books. See it if you didn't read it or did, its good either way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful