New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 7, 2007
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 350 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
180
Mixed:
73
Negative:
97
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
Iky009Nov 29, 2016
Even with its great visual effects, an exemplary art direction, The Golden Compass is nothing more than just a medium movie, bad characters and a very weak plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bdgbenFeb 14, 2016
This is a great movie based on even better books. Unfortunately, Christians only like freedom of speech when they agree with it. When they do not agree they whine like young children and demand censure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CubJan 17, 2016
Not the best movie in the world, but still reasonably good. Just because the protagonist is a child doesn't mean it's some kiddie movie about going off to beat the bad guys. The story is actually a lot more complicated than that. InterestingNot the best movie in the world, but still reasonably good. Just because the protagonist is a child doesn't mean it's some kiddie movie about going off to beat the bad guys. The story is actually a lot more complicated than that. Interesting context, quite realistic, but quite a lot missed out from the book, a bit of an oversimplification. Also, it makes me cringe every time someone says something stupid in the script (not just this, almost ALL films have a few annoying lines). Other than that, it's not that bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AramorthHSDec 25, 2015
Really liked the movie and bumped out that there's no sequel made, or atleast it's plans are still "on hold".
I don't quite get the bad reviews either, as everyone's just trying to compare it to "Lord Of The Rings".
It's not even meant to
Really liked the movie and bumped out that there's no sequel made, or atleast it's plans are still "on hold".
I don't quite get the bad reviews either, as everyone's just trying to compare it to "Lord Of The Rings".
It's not even meant to be anything like a 'next Lord of The Rings".
Man, wish there was a sequel :)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JacobAug 10, 2015
The Golden Compass’ grand and epic scale and spectacular visuals don’t make up for the weak presentation. Fans of the books can rest assured that the story is left mostly intact but non-book readers will be confused. The characters areThe Golden Compass’ grand and epic scale and spectacular visuals don’t make up for the weak presentation. Fans of the books can rest assured that the story is left mostly intact but non-book readers will be confused. The characters are underdeveloped as all they do is explain what their role is and what’s going on while the story moves so quickly that various scenes and elements are not explained well. The film both over and under explains its characters and world at the same time making it hard to connect to anything in the film. When its all over The Golden Compass mostly works as an adaptation, minus a questionable decision in regards to the ending, but as a film it’s a bit of a mess that will baffle anyone unfamiliar with the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaJan 3, 2015
I have not read the books this story is based on, which means I am reviewing this film completely based on the story I saw on screen. Let's put it this way: I had been reading so much negative feedback about this film that I was positivelyI have not read the books this story is based on, which means I am reviewing this film completely based on the story I saw on screen. Let's put it this way: I had been reading so much negative feedback about this film that I was positively surprised after watching it. The movie looked good, sounded good, and all in all, it was pretty great! The plot, the story; actors and acting. Even Lyra, the "little girl who will change the course of the world forever" (yes, we have seen those before...) was annoyingly realistic with her immaturity. But as with every movie, there were some things that just didn't click, and therefore I won't give this four stars: as good as the plot of the movie was, it left me feeling as if everything wasn't told, explained, or shown well enough. Once again, perhaps those who have read the books know some facts in advance. To me, it was a bit frustrating at points. Confusing, even. And once again in a vast battlefield it is amazingly easy to launch a "surprise" attack on your enemies... wow. That never ceases to amaze me. ;) Also, Serafina Pekkala (and her daemon Kaisa) make me crack up every time! Finnish names in an otherwise English film? Not good. Not good at all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FranzHcriticAug 8, 2014
I remember the end of the movie. I remember the credits rolling. And I specifically remember saying; "That's it?" The movie is one slow ride with no resolution, continuity, or congruity. I have never read the book. But doubtless all thoseI remember the end of the movie. I remember the credits rolling. And I specifically remember saying; "That's it?" The movie is one slow ride with no resolution, continuity, or congruity. I have never read the book. But doubtless all those book critics couldn't be that off. The movie is only amazing in one aspect; the special effects. And the cinematography. The acting is dull, as is story. And all the animal-human bondage I just found to be unpleasant and incoherent. So slow and faulty it'll break down midway and you'll be stuck until the end. Unless you want to jump out. That's a pretty good decision. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
arsheeshJul 14, 2014
a very disappointing adaptation. the last time i felt dejected halfway into the movie was with tim burton's PLANET OF THE APES, before which this film feels like a total abomination. despite Dakota Blue Richards' Lyra and Nicole Kidman's Mrs.a very disappointing adaptation. the last time i felt dejected halfway into the movie was with tim burton's PLANET OF THE APES, before which this film feels like a total abomination. despite Dakota Blue Richards' Lyra and Nicole Kidman's Mrs. Coulter, and the visual effects, this film really is nothing. probably the fact that i read the book first and loved it made all the difference and in fact, i suggest you all do the same. avoid this film if you can and read the book. the book has a proper narrative with exemplary character development and plotline, all of which this film lacks. the only thing keeping this film together is the visual effects and nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CriticakJan 31, 2014
This movie was breathtaking and beautiful. It was supposed to be a trilogy but unfortunately due to the economic crisis in 2008, the sequel was eventually cancelled. Moreover, the church went against the movie for an invalid reason. Overall,This movie was breathtaking and beautiful. It was supposed to be a trilogy but unfortunately due to the economic crisis in 2008, the sequel was eventually cancelled. Moreover, the church went against the movie for an invalid reason. Overall, it was a good movie no matter what you haters claim... just go look at its Box Office rate. Us, the fans, are gloating over the haters because this movie was such a success financially. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AlienSpaceBatsOct 1, 2013
As children's escapist fantasy goes, the film is not terrible, but does have an unfinished air about it. Also suffers from occupying similar ground as the Narnia, Potter and Rings films (over saturated), extra marks for bagging Kate Bush toAs children's escapist fantasy goes, the film is not terrible, but does have an unfinished air about it. Also suffers from occupying similar ground as the Narnia, Potter and Rings films (over saturated), extra marks for bagging Kate Bush to sing on the credits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Aug 24, 2013
The movie itself is quite impressive. However, the story is way too bizarre and complicated for a child even an adult to follow. it tries to be the next huge movie series, but doesn't fill the excitement with good characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
While it is not perfect, it is still a fun filled fantasy that boasts of grand visuals, a cool and interesting story, awesome music (Alexandre Desplat, again he is amazing) and great direction. I enjoyed this film, and oh, it is notWhile it is not perfect, it is still a fun filled fantasy that boasts of grand visuals, a cool and interesting story, awesome music (Alexandre Desplat, again he is amazing) and great direction. I enjoyed this film, and oh, it is not anit-Christ. If the novel was, this film is not. It is a pretty and interestingly great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FlippySuperApr 25, 2013
Besides the horrible acting,the lazy writing and the stupid plot twist, the thing that bothered me most about this movie was the ending.Im not going to spoil it but its really lazy. They literally ended it saying "We are going to make aBesides the horrible acting,the lazy writing and the stupid plot twist, the thing that bothered me most about this movie was the ending.Im not going to spoil it but its really lazy. They literally ended it saying "We are going to make a trilogy and not conclude this movie right now because we are SOOOO sure it wil be succesfull!" Well thanks God it wasn´t because this movie deserves to die in silence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
csw12Mar 2, 2013
The Golden Compass is pure nonsense. The movie is a pathetic piece of trash that makes no sense because of all the meaningless jargon spewing out of everyone's mouth. A laughable film from the poor acting of the girl to the idea that kidsThe Golden Compass is pure nonsense. The movie is a pathetic piece of trash that makes no sense because of all the meaningless jargon spewing out of everyone's mouth. A laughable film from the poor acting of the girl to the idea that kids would enjoy this. The movie is nearly impossible to sit through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SwatiFeb 11, 2013
What a pathetic adaptation. The casting was good though. The bear looked ridiculous. The fight scenes were censored and the whole narrative was turned on its head. Even the ending was changed to suit children.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
tallanxDec 2, 2012
boring crap that makes no sense. With scenes that probably should've been there to explain things simply not existing. The whole thing feels a bit disjointed like somebody shot a movie that was supposed to be 4 hours long, but then cut likeboring crap that makes no sense. With scenes that probably should've been there to explain things simply not existing. The whole thing feels a bit disjointed like somebody shot a movie that was supposed to be 4 hours long, but then cut like half of it. Pointless scenes of Daniel Craig that has no effect on anything else etc. This is 5 years too late, but I still want my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
smijatovJun 10, 2012
I have never read the book or was any sort of a fan before I watched the film, I it certainly did not inspire me to want to read the books. In any case, "The Golden Compass" puts up a good fight trying to be a good fantasy epic, but it doesI have never read the book or was any sort of a fan before I watched the film, I it certainly did not inspire me to want to read the books. In any case, "The Golden Compass" puts up a good fight trying to be a good fantasy epic, but it does not quite achieve that level or recognition. Some aspects of the film are very good, namely most of the technical aspects. Excellent production and costume design, along with a decent score and great visual effects provide for some of the films highlights. Unfortunately, the cinematography was totally off. It had this strange, airy quality to it, that made me feel as if I were watching a documentary or something. I cannot quite articulate it, but it definitely blocked me from being able to ever fully immerse myself into the story. It did not help how annoying the portrayal of the main character was by Dakota Blue Richards. Such an annoying kid. I've been told that she's supposed to be like that in the books too, but I just do not understand why. Who would want to read/watch such a miserable character. On the other hand, Nicole Kidman gave an amazingly appropriate, cold performance as Mrs.Coulter, which was another highlights of the film. But other than that, the film never quite tickled my interest to engage it fully, or be sad about the fact that the sequels have been cancelled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
WinebloodApr 13, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A terrible film. The main actress is just terrible, she's clearly just reading lines and it makes her very unlikeable. The film is too short for the contents of the book, a few big scenes are missing and the rest is rushed. Last of all the good ending of the book is omitted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ALFAug 28, 2011
Amazing! Roger Ebert and I agree for a change. If a film inspires people to go out and read the books (His Dark Materials) then it is has done its job. I am currently reading the books again because thanks to a group of silly devolvedAmazing! Roger Ebert and I agree for a change. If a film inspires people to go out and read the books (His Dark Materials) then it is has done its job. I am currently reading the books again because thanks to a group of silly devolved organizations based in the USA, the rest of the story will not be made into film despite the Golden Compass doubling its money at the box office. There is always going to be the book versus the film arguments "oh, the film is not like the book." Perhaps people who say things like that should read a single chapter out loud and time themselves. When they figure out an average chapter will take around 10 - 15 minutes to read properly, then perhaps they will understand a scriptwriters job better. Yes, the film is not like the book, but it has taken the essence of the story and made the Golden Compass into something different from the usual film fare. I very much hope the cowardly filmmakers in Hollywood lift a suitable digit at the silly organizations attempting to censor what the masses can see and hear. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jul 6, 2011
Prepare to enter another world of the fantasy genre as New Line Cinema (the producer of The Lord of the Rings Trilogy) presents Chris Wietz's "The Golden Compass". It revolves around Lyra Belaqua, a young girl living among scholars inPrepare to enter another world of the fantasy genre as New Line Cinema (the producer of The Lord of the Rings Trilogy) presents Chris Wietz's "The Golden Compass". It revolves around Lyra Belaqua, a young girl living among scholars in Oxford's Jordan College. Her world may seem diverse, from physical embodiments of souls that take the shape of an animal, but similar with people around you to become friends and enemies. She is thrown into a perilous adventure when she overhears a conversation of an extraordinary microscopic particle, Dust. This particle is said to unite different worlds, and is feared by many who want to destroy it forever. As Lyra is flung into the middle of this horrible struggle, she meets wondrous creatures both big and small, and villains who are not what they seem. Gobblers, that kidnap children, will turn out in the most unexpected places. And a magical compass of gold that will answer any question if one is skilled enough to read it. Lyra's adventure continues throughout these three books, and the first is about to be told. The only problem that I had with this movie was the Anti-Christian overtones of the Magisterium during the film. I'm not with the Catholic Church, but I agree that the word "Heresy" was the only reason why the second and third movies would not be adapted into screen. That's it for my problem. The casting was great and the actors were very decent. Daniel Craig was solid as Lord Asriel despite the fact that he wasn't given enough screentime. Nicole Kidman was decent as Mrs. Coulter, but her hair is very different from the book counterpart as it describes her hair as blond. Ian Mckellen was amazing as the great armoured ice bear (also known as a Pansjorborne) Iorek Byrnison, and Dakota Blue Richards was very convincing and compelling as Lyra when it comes to actresses in movie adaptations and the rest of the actors turned out good. The sets were very creative, but at most times, they were quite dark due to the Svalbard place. The CGI on the animals are very damn impressive. The daemons (just like in the book despite the fact that it was mispronounced) were very visualized and the polar bears are also visualized. The action scenes were very epic and the direction from Chris Wietz was well-paced. The Golden Compass lacks in any depth, but it is a darker, deeper, and fantastic adaptation of Phillip Pullman's greatest fantasy series. 8/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
PaxsterSep 19, 2010
How do you destroy a book franchise with universal acclaim? How do you dissapoint readers by changing the books name for the film? How do you cast bad actors for important roles? You film the golden compass. The book is brilliant but the filmHow do you destroy a book franchise with universal acclaim? How do you dissapoint readers by changing the books name for the film? How do you cast bad actors for important roles? You film the golden compass. The book is brilliant but the film is terrible. The kid playing Lyra is terrible,switching between cockney and posh! Make your mind up. The director goes as far as to mix the story up with a shocking polt change. Yes,the graphics are impressive and Ian Mckellen as Iorek is a good move but please,don't bother with the movie,just read the book (And the other 2 books in the trilogy!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LorriW.May 2, 2009
I love watching this movie with my 6 year old, she's just as amazed by it each time, it's wonderful to watch her reaction's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MorganFJul 20, 2008
A great visual experience, but it failed to convey Pullmans sense of mystery. The ending was also at the wrong time, and you could tell they were rushing in some parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DominicKJun 13, 2008
The secenary and the whole movie is done perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
nigelmJun 10, 2008
Too childish for adults, too complex for kids. Average CGI and wooden performances throughout. Yawn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CourtneyWJun 3, 2008
I really liked this movie. Visually, it was stunning. The effects were wonderful and I loved watching all the animals! The only problem I had was that, not having read the books, I didn't realize it ended kind of in the middle of the I really liked this movie. Visually, it was stunning. The effects were wonderful and I loved watching all the animals! The only problem I had was that, not having read the books, I didn't realize it ended kind of in the middle of the story, a la Lord of the Rings. But very good movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SamJMay 26, 2008
In case anyone doesnt know, phillip pullman (writer of THE NORTHERN LIGHTS!!!) {did they really need to change the name?} hates god, and this is evident in his books, as god dies in them!! but all of this has been cut out of the movie! i In case anyone doesnt know, phillip pullman (writer of THE NORTHERN LIGHTS!!!) {did they really need to change the name?} hates god, and this is evident in his books, as god dies in them!! but all of this has been cut out of the movie! i think the directors need to have the guts to deal with a bit of 'controversy' if theyre gonna pull off a multi-million dollar flick! Cinema is an art form, not a media and art is by no means always politically correct!!!!! i give it a 3 because some scenes in the move were in fact done quite well. but generally i didnt like it. read the books but id advise against the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeyKMay 25, 2008
Decent. The visuals were great, across the board. The acting was solid. The message was good. The problem is, the movie watches like a detailed synopsis of the book, not a new portrayal of it. During the translation, they failed to turn the Decent. The visuals were great, across the board. The acting was solid. The message was good. The problem is, the movie watches like a detailed synopsis of the book, not a new portrayal of it. During the translation, they failed to turn the book into something cinematically functional. Overall, the movie is decent, regardless, but it certainly feels like an ad for a much better book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregAMay 25, 2008
Not realising this was part of a trilogy I was disappointed to see it end so abruptly, but at least it was plainly obvious that another installment is coming. I thought the concepts of this movie were bizarre but it made me interested and I Not realising this was part of a trilogy I was disappointed to see it end so abruptly, but at least it was plainly obvious that another installment is coming. I thought the concepts of this movie were bizarre but it made me interested and I am keen to watch the upcoming movies and see what the big deal about "dust" is all about! However it is not a tidy movie and there is too much information and stuff happening that leaves you disconnected from the film and sort of wondering what the hell was that all about? Worth a DVD look, it has interest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonKMay 11, 2008
I personally think Kidman was perfectly cast as Ms. Coulter. The show went by quickly and was very enjoyable. I liked that the goal was to get to the truth and how knowing it changes the situation. My wife and 10-year-old also enjoyed it a I personally think Kidman was perfectly cast as Ms. Coulter. The show went by quickly and was very enjoyable. I liked that the goal was to get to the truth and how knowing it changes the situation. My wife and 10-year-old also enjoyed it a lot. And, sound on the DVD was in 6.1 DTS, very good. The massive amounts of CGI slipped here and there and the dialogue did seem forced a bit but I really liked it and want to see more of it as well as read the books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful