New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 7, 2007
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 355 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
182
Mixed:
76
Negative:
97
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
csw12Mar 2, 2013
The Golden Compass is pure nonsense. The movie is a pathetic piece of trash that makes no sense because of all the meaningless jargon spewing out of everyone's mouth. A laughable film from the poor acting of the girl to the idea that kidsThe Golden Compass is pure nonsense. The movie is a pathetic piece of trash that makes no sense because of all the meaningless jargon spewing out of everyone's mouth. A laughable film from the poor acting of the girl to the idea that kids would enjoy this. The movie is nearly impossible to sit through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Aug 24, 2013
The movie itself is quite impressive. However, the story is way too bizarre and complicated for a child even an adult to follow. it tries to be the next huge movie series, but doesn't fill the excitement with good characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FranzHcriticAug 8, 2014
I remember the end of the movie. I remember the credits rolling. And I specifically remember saying; "That's it?" The movie is one slow ride with no resolution, continuity, or congruity. I have never read the book. But doubtless all thoseI remember the end of the movie. I remember the credits rolling. And I specifically remember saying; "That's it?" The movie is one slow ride with no resolution, continuity, or congruity. I have never read the book. But doubtless all those book critics couldn't be that off. The movie is only amazing in one aspect; the special effects. And the cinematography. The acting is dull, as is story. And all the animal-human bondage I just found to be unpleasant and incoherent. So slow and faulty it'll break down midway and you'll be stuck until the end. Unless you want to jump out. That's a pretty good decision. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JacobAug 10, 2015
The Golden Compass’ grand and epic scale and spectacular visuals don’t make up for the weak presentation. Fans of the books can rest assured that the story is left mostly intact but non-book readers will be confused. The characters areThe Golden Compass’ grand and epic scale and spectacular visuals don’t make up for the weak presentation. Fans of the books can rest assured that the story is left mostly intact but non-book readers will be confused. The characters are underdeveloped as all they do is explain what their role is and what’s going on while the story moves so quickly that various scenes and elements are not explained well. The film both over and under explains its characters and world at the same time making it hard to connect to anything in the film. When its all over The Golden Compass mostly works as an adaptation, minus a questionable decision in regards to the ending, but as a film it’s a bit of a mess that will baffle anyone unfamiliar with the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaJan 3, 2015
I have not read the books this story is based on, which means I am reviewing this film completely based on the story I saw on screen. Let's put it this way: I had been reading so much negative feedback about this film that I was positivelyI have not read the books this story is based on, which means I am reviewing this film completely based on the story I saw on screen. Let's put it this way: I had been reading so much negative feedback about this film that I was positively surprised after watching it. The movie looked good, sounded good, and all in all, it was pretty great! The plot, the story; actors and acting. Even Lyra, the "little girl who will change the course of the world forever" (yes, we have seen those before...) was annoyingly realistic with her immaturity. But as with every movie, there were some things that just didn't click, and therefore I won't give this four stars: as good as the plot of the movie was, it left me feeling as if everything wasn't told, explained, or shown well enough. Once again, perhaps those who have read the books know some facts in advance. To me, it was a bit frustrating at points. Confusing, even. And once again in a vast battlefield it is amazingly easy to launch a "surprise" attack on your enemies... wow. That never ceases to amaze me. ;) Also, Serafina Pekkala (and her daemon Kaisa) make me crack up every time! Finnish names in an otherwise English film? Not good. Not good at all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jul 6, 2011
Prepare to enter another world of the fantasy genre as New Line Cinema (the producer of The Lord of the Rings Trilogy) presents Chris Wietz's "The Golden Compass". It revolves around Lyra Belaqua, a young girl living among scholars inPrepare to enter another world of the fantasy genre as New Line Cinema (the producer of The Lord of the Rings Trilogy) presents Chris Wietz's "The Golden Compass". It revolves around Lyra Belaqua, a young girl living among scholars in Oxford's Jordan College. Her world may seem diverse, from physical embodiments of souls that take the shape of an animal, but similar with people around you to become friends and enemies. She is thrown into a perilous adventure when she overhears a conversation of an extraordinary microscopic particle, Dust. This particle is said to unite different worlds, and is feared by many who want to destroy it forever. As Lyra is flung into the middle of this horrible struggle, she meets wondrous creatures both big and small, and villains who are not what they seem. Gobblers, that kidnap children, will turn out in the most unexpected places. And a magical compass of gold that will answer any question if one is skilled enough to read it. Lyra's adventure continues throughout these three books, and the first is about to be told. The only problem that I had with this movie was the Anti-Christian overtones of the Magisterium during the film. I'm not with the Catholic Church, but I agree that the word "Heresy" was the only reason why the second and third movies would not be adapted into screen. That's it for my problem. The casting was great and the actors were very decent. Daniel Craig was solid as Lord Asriel despite the fact that he wasn't given enough screentime. Nicole Kidman was decent as Mrs. Coulter, but her hair is very different from the book counterpart as it describes her hair as blond. Ian Mckellen was amazing as the great armoured ice bear (also known as a Pansjorborne) Iorek Byrnison, and Dakota Blue Richards was very convincing and compelling as Lyra when it comes to actresses in movie adaptations and the rest of the actors turned out good. The sets were very creative, but at most times, they were quite dark due to the Svalbard place. The CGI on the animals are very damn impressive. The daemons (just like in the book despite the fact that it was mispronounced) were very visualized and the polar bears are also visualized. The action scenes were very epic and the direction from Chris Wietz was well-paced. The Golden Compass lacks in any depth, but it is a darker, deeper, and fantastic adaptation of Phillip Pullman's greatest fantasy series. 8/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Iky009Nov 29, 2016
Even with its great visual effects, an exemplary art direction, The Golden Compass is nothing more than just a medium movie, bad characters and a very weak plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SwatiFeb 11, 2013
What a pathetic adaptation. The casting was good though. The bear looked ridiculous. The fight scenes were censored and the whole narrative was turned on its head. Even the ending was changed to suit children.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
smijatovJun 10, 2012
I have never read the book or was any sort of a fan before I watched the film, I it certainly did not inspire me to want to read the books. In any case, "The Golden Compass" puts up a good fight trying to be a good fantasy epic, but it doesI have never read the book or was any sort of a fan before I watched the film, I it certainly did not inspire me to want to read the books. In any case, "The Golden Compass" puts up a good fight trying to be a good fantasy epic, but it does not quite achieve that level or recognition. Some aspects of the film are very good, namely most of the technical aspects. Excellent production and costume design, along with a decent score and great visual effects provide for some of the films highlights. Unfortunately, the cinematography was totally off. It had this strange, airy quality to it, that made me feel as if I were watching a documentary or something. I cannot quite articulate it, but it definitely blocked me from being able to ever fully immerse myself into the story. It did not help how annoying the portrayal of the main character was by Dakota Blue Richards. Such an annoying kid. I've been told that she's supposed to be like that in the books too, but I just do not understand why. Who would want to read/watch such a miserable character. On the other hand, Nicole Kidman gave an amazingly appropriate, cold performance as Mrs.Coulter, which was another highlights of the film. But other than that, the film never quite tickled my interest to engage it fully, or be sad about the fact that the sequels have been cancelled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
PaxsterSep 19, 2010
How do you destroy a book franchise with universal acclaim? How do you dissapoint readers by changing the books name for the film? How do you cast bad actors for important roles? You film the golden compass. The book is brilliant but the filmHow do you destroy a book franchise with universal acclaim? How do you dissapoint readers by changing the books name for the film? How do you cast bad actors for important roles? You film the golden compass. The book is brilliant but the film is terrible. The kid playing Lyra is terrible,switching between cockney and posh! Make your mind up. The director goes as far as to mix the story up with a shocking polt change. Yes,the graphics are impressive and Ian Mckellen as Iorek is a good move but please,don't bother with the movie,just read the book (And the other 2 books in the trilogy!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
While it is not perfect, it is still a fun filled fantasy that boasts of grand visuals, a cool and interesting story, awesome music (Alexandre Desplat, again he is amazing) and great direction. I enjoyed this film, and oh, it is notWhile it is not perfect, it is still a fun filled fantasy that boasts of grand visuals, a cool and interesting story, awesome music (Alexandre Desplat, again he is amazing) and great direction. I enjoyed this film, and oh, it is not anit-Christ. If the novel was, this film is not. It is a pretty and interestingly great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AlienSpaceBatsOct 1, 2013
As children's escapist fantasy goes, the film is not terrible, but does have an unfinished air about it. Also suffers from occupying similar ground as the Narnia, Potter and Rings films (over saturated), extra marks for bagging Kate Bush toAs children's escapist fantasy goes, the film is not terrible, but does have an unfinished air about it. Also suffers from occupying similar ground as the Narnia, Potter and Rings films (over saturated), extra marks for bagging Kate Bush to sing on the credits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CriticakJan 31, 2014
This movie was breathtaking and beautiful. It was supposed to be a trilogy but unfortunately due to the economic crisis in 2008, the sequel was eventually cancelled. Moreover, the church went against the movie for an invalid reason. Overall,This movie was breathtaking and beautiful. It was supposed to be a trilogy but unfortunately due to the economic crisis in 2008, the sequel was eventually cancelled. Moreover, the church went against the movie for an invalid reason. Overall, it was a good movie no matter what you haters claim... just go look at its Box Office rate. Us, the fans, are gloating over the haters because this movie was such a success financially. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ALFAug 28, 2011
Amazing! Roger Ebert and I agree for a change. If a film inspires people to go out and read the books (His Dark Materials) then it is has done its job. I am currently reading the books again because thanks to a group of silly devolvedAmazing! Roger Ebert and I agree for a change. If a film inspires people to go out and read the books (His Dark Materials) then it is has done its job. I am currently reading the books again because thanks to a group of silly devolved organizations based in the USA, the rest of the story will not be made into film despite the Golden Compass doubling its money at the box office. There is always going to be the book versus the film arguments "oh, the film is not like the book." Perhaps people who say things like that should read a single chapter out loud and time themselves. When they figure out an average chapter will take around 10 - 15 minutes to read properly, then perhaps they will understand a scriptwriters job better. Yes, the film is not like the book, but it has taken the essence of the story and made the Golden Compass into something different from the usual film fare. I very much hope the cowardly filmmakers in Hollywood lift a suitable digit at the silly organizations attempting to censor what the masses can see and hear. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
arsheeshJul 14, 2014
a very disappointing adaptation. the last time i felt dejected halfway into the movie was with tim burton's PLANET OF THE APES, before which this film feels like a total abomination. despite Dakota Blue Richards' Lyra and Nicole Kidman's Mrs.a very disappointing adaptation. the last time i felt dejected halfway into the movie was with tim burton's PLANET OF THE APES, before which this film feels like a total abomination. despite Dakota Blue Richards' Lyra and Nicole Kidman's Mrs. Coulter, and the visual effects, this film really is nothing. probably the fact that i read the book first and loved it made all the difference and in fact, i suggest you all do the same. avoid this film if you can and read the book. the book has a proper narrative with exemplary character development and plotline, all of which this film lacks. the only thing keeping this film together is the visual effects and nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FlippySuperApr 25, 2013
Besides the horrible acting,the lazy writing and the stupid plot twist, the thing that bothered me most about this movie was the ending.Im not going to spoil it but its really lazy. They literally ended it saying "We are going to make aBesides the horrible acting,the lazy writing and the stupid plot twist, the thing that bothered me most about this movie was the ending.Im not going to spoil it but its really lazy. They literally ended it saying "We are going to make a trilogy and not conclude this movie right now because we are SOOOO sure it wil be succesfull!" Well thanks God it wasn´t because this movie deserves to die in silence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
tallanxDec 2, 2012
boring crap that makes no sense. With scenes that probably should've been there to explain things simply not existing. The whole thing feels a bit disjointed like somebody shot a movie that was supposed to be 4 hours long, but then cut likeboring crap that makes no sense. With scenes that probably should've been there to explain things simply not existing. The whole thing feels a bit disjointed like somebody shot a movie that was supposed to be 4 hours long, but then cut like half of it. Pointless scenes of Daniel Craig that has no effect on anything else etc. This is 5 years too late, but I still want my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MaxW.Jan 3, 2008
A visually beautiful film, that unfortunately tried to do too much in too short a space of time. Obviously elements of the book had to be left out, otherwise the film would be too long, but the director failed to capture the suspense in the A visually beautiful film, that unfortunately tried to do too much in too short a space of time. Obviously elements of the book had to be left out, otherwise the film would be too long, but the director failed to capture the suspense in the book. This left the brilliant actors very little to work with and develop their characters, despite many strong performances on their part. The ending was typical Hollywood, in that the sad ending in the book is completely missing. An enjoyable film, but could've have been great. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
CourtneyWJun 3, 2008
I really liked this movie. Visually, it was stunning. The effects were wonderful and I loved watching all the animals! The only problem I had was that, not having read the books, I didn't realize it ended kind of in the middle of the I really liked this movie. Visually, it was stunning. The effects were wonderful and I loved watching all the animals! The only problem I had was that, not having read the books, I didn't realize it ended kind of in the middle of the story, a la Lord of the Rings. But very good movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LeslieWDec 10, 2007
horrible movie. my son and i almost fell asleep. it is so dark, not a sequel I want to see. seems like the movie was a let down unless you like dark, gloomy, boring films. the best thing about this movie were the end credits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SophieMDec 7, 2007
This was a good start to the trilogy and should not be a serious disappointment to any fans of Pullman's trilogy. The last 3 chapters of the book were not included in this first of the three movies but will be at the start of the next This was a good start to the trilogy and should not be a serious disappointment to any fans of Pullman's trilogy. The last 3 chapters of the book were not included in this first of the three movies but will be at the start of the next one. A bit of a shock to anyone who knows the story, but hopefully it will be worth the wait until The Subtle Knife comes out in a couple of years! Dakota Blue Richards does a great job as Lyra- in fact, most of the characters are really well cast. I recommend seeing the movie and, even more so, reading the books! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GwilymD.Dec 7, 2007
A dull and perfunctory adaptation of one of the greatest books of our time. Feels flat, should have been half an hour longer to let scenes grow and characters breathe. MASSIVE mistake in cutting the ending and changing the running of the A dull and perfunctory adaptation of one of the greatest books of our time. Feels flat, should have been half an hour longer to let scenes grow and characters breathe. MASSIVE mistake in cutting the ending and changing the running of the plot (to create several unfathomable strands) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DanielS.Jan 8, 2008
I can only assume the people who made this movie were so mesmerized by the source material and the computer generated graphics that they didn't feel any need to craft an entertaining movie. Read the book. Skip the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
nigelmJun 10, 2008
Too childish for adults, too complex for kids. Average CGI and wooden performances throughout. Yawn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KevinR.Dec 10, 2007
I haven't read the books, but could still feel that some significant things must be missing from the original story. All bad fantasies lack one essential quality--immersiveness. The world that they create has to seem real and completely I haven't read the books, but could still feel that some significant things must be missing from the original story. All bad fantasies lack one essential quality--immersiveness. The world that they create has to seem real and completely whole. LOTR accomplished this. This movie does not. The fantasy elements just seem silly and contrived (except for the daemon thing) and are pulled out of the sack whenever it's convenient. Need a deus ex machina--how about an armored bear that suddenly appears out of nowhere? Or a convenient flock of rescue witches? Like the worst of the Harry Potter movies, where a hastily-remembered spell saves the day, resolutions here are never really struggled for. ALSO--what the hell is Sam Eliot doing in this movie with his absurd cowboy twang (has there ever been a more one-trick pony than this guy)? I found myself predicting his lines before he said them, and, again, I never read the books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeDec 30, 2007
Nothing special. Another movie for kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonR.Dec 3, 2007
My favorite of the year. After reading the book, I couldn't wait to see how the movie would turn out. The action was amazing and the acting was incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Dec 3, 2007
A wonderful Family movie, but it might not be good for under 10, but it's the best fantasy film of the year! Wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenP.Dec 7, 2007
Excellent film. Surprisingly little was cut, and one of the most faithful book-movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerD.Dec 7, 2007
A fantastic movie. Wonderful execution, great acting, and breathtaking visuals (seriously, the polar bears look insane.) The ending, however, lacked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JasonM.Dec 7, 2007
Awful not at all representative of the source material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BenO.Dec 8, 2007
If you have read the book do NOT go and watch the film you will be disappointed they have broken the story up and do not develop the characters at all. They keep the skeleton of the story but then rip out the guts and fill it with classic If you have read the book do NOT go and watch the film you will be disappointed they have broken the story up and do not develop the characters at all. They keep the skeleton of the story but then rip out the guts and fill it with classic Disney rubbish. As a final insult they cut the story short leaving a happy ending so as not to upset anyone, in all a sham. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesW.Dec 8, 2007
Special effects without a coherent plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JosephC.Dec 8, 2007
Movie was quite excellent. However, as everyone mentioned previously, the plot indeed felt a bit rushed. Numerous scenes from the book were left out, but then again, it's only natural for a film to do that, due to the limited time frame Movie was quite excellent. However, as everyone mentioned previously, the plot indeed felt a bit rushed. Numerous scenes from the book were left out, but then again, it's only natural for a film to do that, due to the limited time frame a movie can hold. What I found the most amusing is the complaints of numerous parents who bring their children (5-11 years old) to watch the movie. From what I can see on their faces, they were appalled at many of the scenes which they redeemed as "inappropriate (ex: bears lower muzzle gets ripped off)." However, just as John P. states, this movie is rather for teenagers and adults, and not for kids. Overall, the movie was satisfactory, but only probably due to the fact that I re-read the book to refresh my memory. My friend who never read the book often needed explanations on what was going on... So before watching the movie, people should remember some things: 1. It's not really kid-friendly 2. It's only the first part of a trilogy, so don't be disappointed at the cliff-hanger ending 3. Best to read the book before watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArtyS.Dec 8, 2007
Great film. Excellent. A superb adaptation. Performances are really good. The bad thing is that New Line has rushed the film, all goes too fast, but it's really a great film, deep and really fun. Go and watch this, you will be very pleased.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElinaDec 8, 2007
A brave and mostly successful attempt at adapting a challenging and intellectual fantasy book for the screen. The film has pacing problems, but the visuals and acting are great -- Dakota Blue Richards as Lyra is marvelous. Well worth seeing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JustinP.Dec 9, 2007
I don´t know if The Golden Compass will go down as one of the biggest bombs in cinematic history, but it certainly deserves to. Seldom has so much effort and money been invested in creating a movie so thoroughly unengaging. It seems I don´t know if The Golden Compass will go down as one of the biggest bombs in cinematic history, but it certainly deserves to. Seldom has so much effort and money been invested in creating a movie so thoroughly unengaging. It seems the entire movie should be plastered with little notes on the screen saying "Courtesy of Lord of the Rings" or "Inspired by Harry Potter" and the list goes on. Its desperate reaching to cash in on the success of those series is pathetic. The question one asks throughout the film is "OK, and why is that interesting, and why should I care?" None of the characters are intriguing or likable. The plot is fragmented and episodic and lacks any tension. The effects are impressive, but seem sadly wasted on a movie that, above all, is just really, really boring. And the end is the most shameless plea (which should be denied) for a sequel(s) in movie history. Please, spare us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JB.Dec 9, 2007
Terrible, terrible, terrible. I went to see No Country for Old Men, but apparently you have to be 18 to get into R-rated movies now, which is why I saw this. This is not the next CoN or LoTR...for god's sake stay away!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MickD.Dec 9, 2007
As an adaptation of the brilliant novels it's not very good, but it's a great kids fantasy film nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BoomerDec 9, 2007
Had all the ingredients to make a great film, sadly, the chef was an idiot and the great performances and killer storyline get left behind in a mad rush. Hopefully they will put a more talented helmer in charge for the next one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
steve104Dec 9, 2007
Big, beautiful, and boring. Kidman is totally miscast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DTDec 9, 2007
I think this is a movie with a lot of potential but sadly, New Line was afraid of controversy and thus you have instead a flick that bounces around from subject to subject with no explanation. I would very much be interested in seeing an I think this is a movie with a lot of potential but sadly, New Line was afraid of controversy and thus you have instead a flick that bounces around from subject to subject with no explanation. I would very much be interested in seeing an unedited version of this movie should one come out on the market. As this is now, however, it's a lot of misused acting and good CG and not enough exposition to tie it all together. A shame really, as I would love to get excited for another fantasy epic in theatres....but this won't be it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MattPDec 9, 2007
Good acting. Good CGI. Good Source Material. Complete lack of quality scripting or any notable direction. 30 seconds scenes where various characters just tell you what has happened/is happening/ is soon to happen. Descends into a series of Good acting. Good CGI. Good Source Material. Complete lack of quality scripting or any notable direction. 30 seconds scenes where various characters just tell you what has happened/is happening/ is soon to happen. Descends into a series of set-up scenes followed immediately by their respective conclusion scenes. No ending to speak of, just a muddle of confusing answers to questions no-one asked. Succeeds only in leaving the viewer asking WHAT anyone is doing, let alone why they might be doing it. Poor movie for a good book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LasseS.Dec 9, 2007
How Chris Weitz managed to bring dramatic tension and build-up to such a short movie is beyond me. But I loved every minute of it, save for at few scenes that were just a bit too short. I will be seeing this in the cinemas for the third time too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TomP.Dec 9, 2007
Terrible. Boring in parts - generic action sequences, relies heavily on CGI and impressive soundtrack to cover up the weak acting.Many changes made to book, character development sacrificed to CGI.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Jan 10, 2008
Here is a paradox for you. Arguably, we want to learn more about the dust from one of these parallel universes Lord Asriel(Daniel Craig) prattles on about, but sitting through two more installments of this upstart trilogy(billed as the Here is a paradox for you. Arguably, we want to learn more about the dust from one of these parallel universes Lord Asriel(Daniel Craig) prattles on about, but sitting through two more installments of this upstart trilogy(billed as the thinking man's "Harry Potter"), methinks is a taxing proposition, because "The Golden Compass" lays an egg, and it certainly isn't golden. For starters, a disproportionate amount of time is spent at the university, in which the exposition is laid out to us; at one point, in seminar-like fashion from a lectern. Lyra(Dakota Blue Richards), eventually, like Bilbo Baggins, leaves behind her sheltered existence and accompanies Marisa(Nicole Kidman) to the north as her assistant. That's when "The Golden Compass" starts to pay the price for its needless dawdling. Kidman is cheated out of precious screen time as Marisa, or rather Marisa's spirit, makes us wonder what it would be like if Joan Crawford had a monkey(what makes Marisa angry reminded me of the wire hanger scene in "Mommie Dearest"). This is where the film loses its footing. There's evidence of heavy editing here. "The Golden Compass" should've established Marisa as Lyra's mentor before the girl learns the truth about her duplicitous nature. The movie never truly recovers. This filmmaker is a novice at staging action scenes, and it shows. Kidman is upstaged by a talking polar bear. That's some bear, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenT.Jan 1, 2008
A wonderful film. Where did these low scores come from? Is the Bible Belt trying to suppress dissenting views?
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WarrenE.Jan 4, 2008
I think the reason for low US gross is number one it stars a GIRL (Most male reviewers panned it and female reviewers loved it) and it requires you to think which is something of a lost art here (we keep electing crooks who are stealing us I think the reason for low US gross is number one it stars a GIRL (Most male reviewers panned it and female reviewers loved it) and it requires you to think which is something of a lost art here (we keep electing crooks who are stealing us blind). I do not think the Christian Nazis are the problem as they do not go to Hollywood movies anyway. The only reason I went to see it was that the Pope said that I should not. Until then I thought that it was just another mind numbing fantasy for children like Lord (Bored) of the Ring. I fell asleep during the first LOFR movie and have not watched any of the sequels. GC was two hours long but only seemed like an hour. I have gone back and seem it twice more. Once to catch the details I missed the first time and again to analyze the story. I hope the sequels will not have to be dumbed down even more for the US audience just to get a higher box office. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
TheECarrotJan 5, 2008
This movie was a complete waste of my time. I have not read the books and if the movie is anything to go by I do not want to. One of the more stupidly memorable quotes was " I am an armored bear, I lift heavy things" (Iorek Byrnison). The This movie was a complete waste of my time. I have not read the books and if the movie is anything to go by I do not want to. One of the more stupidly memorable quotes was " I am an armored bear, I lift heavy things" (Iorek Byrnison). The kid who played Lyra was a sub standard actress who switched accents often during lines. Don't get me started about the poor casting of Kidman. Although this movie is supposed to be serious and thought provoking I spent most of it laughing at the bad acting and terrible script. The superman style flying of the witches summarizes the terrible special effects which I expected to be okay due to the technology available these days. Lastly the final battle was ridiculous with not one main good character being injured, yet every one of the bad guys was annihilated. Don't bother to see this at the movies, don't even bother hiring it on DVD. I want my money and time back! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KelvinLJan 9, 2008
My 10 year old nephew loved it but I wasn't so blown away. Whilst the sets were impressive and the cast gave the film some gravitas I couldn't help feeling disappointed at the ending. Indeed I didn't actually expect the film My 10 year old nephew loved it but I wasn't so blown away. Whilst the sets were impressive and the cast gave the film some gravitas I couldn't help feeling disappointed at the ending. Indeed I didn't actually expect the film to end when it did, I was expecting another showdown at least. I suppose the unresolved story lines were designed to open the way for a sequel, only I don't get a sense of completion of the first film. Can I really wait till 2009 at the earliest to see the next installment? Well the film needed to be much more rounded for me but having said that no doubt I'll be viewing the sequel whenever it may come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberSMay 3, 2008
This movie was incredible. Although it was made family-friendly it was still unexpected when the jaw went flying off of the enemy ice bear. Nicole Kidman was fantastic and I would recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DominicKJun 13, 2008
The secenary and the whole movie is done perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LorriW.May 2, 2009
I love watching this movie with my 6 year old, she's just as amazed by it each time, it's wonderful to watch her reaction's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Dec 10, 2007
I've read the trilogy and granted, it's difficult for most film adaptations to equal or even surpass the source novel, but this movie adaptation is NOT BAD as many critics and viewers are making it out to be. Granted it's been I've read the trilogy and granted, it's difficult for most film adaptations to equal or even surpass the source novel, but this movie adaptation is NOT BAD as many critics and viewers are making it out to be. Granted it's been awhile since I've read the golden compass, so i can't remember the "cliffhanger" that everyone was upset about not seeing on the screen...and it may feel rushed in places, but i thought the character development was really good...and the point about Daniel Craig not being in the movie "more than 10 minutes" is silly because he's a supporting character throughout the series and his role becomes more substantial in the last two books. I just hope the box office take is able to justify having the next two films made, because that is where the meat of the story lies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KristenT.Dec 12, 2007
Very disappointing film. The characters, the larger themes of the books are all sacrificed for plot and special effects. The editing is poor, the score is bad. What would this film have been like with a great director like Peter Jackson? Very disappointing film. The characters, the larger themes of the books are all sacrificed for plot and special effects. The editing is poor, the score is bad. What would this film have been like with a great director like Peter Jackson? Read the books which are better than Narnia or Harry Potter. Pullman created a world fascinating for children and adults. Wouldn't you love to read the screen adaptation that Tom Stoppard wrote for this? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SeanRDec 12, 2007
New Line fumbled by choosing a novice instead of an expert to fill in the director's chair. This is especially true given the depth and complexity of the source material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BenBDec 12, 2007
DJ Im's point about religious backlash is quite obviously a knee jerk to the fact he likes a film that everyone else does not. How stupid is it to call Rolling Stone and Empire's view as religious backlash? I see very little in the DJ Im's point about religious backlash is quite obviously a knee jerk to the fact he likes a film that everyone else does not. How stupid is it to call Rolling Stone and Empire's view as religious backlash? I see very little in the way of religious content in either publication.Simply put, this film blows, botched with cheesy effects and less flow than k-fed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TimW.Dec 12, 2007
It is a children's film but so is Monsters Inc and I loved that. Slow moving with to many morals pushed into the story line, eg. the poor alcoholic bear fighting etc. etc. My directors kids loved it but I'm the one writing the It is a children's film but so is Monsters Inc and I loved that. Slow moving with to many morals pushed into the story line, eg. the poor alcoholic bear fighting etc. etc. My directors kids loved it but I'm the one writing the review so it's a 3.5 which rounds up to a 4 since it's nearly Christmas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanD.Dec 13, 2007
I thought was pretty good, it didn't follow the story very well, but it's a movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
GCDec 10, 2007
Utter trash, honestly this film is probably one of the worst teenage/kids Christmas movies of all time, fair enough its based on a book, so may have had limitations in regards to adding on of more exciting elements, but its just plain and Utter trash, honestly this film is probably one of the worst teenage/kids Christmas movies of all time, fair enough its based on a book, so may have had limitations in regards to adding on of more exciting elements, but its just plain and simply sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
L.E.Dec 13, 2007
Very boring movie, but better than the book, which is the biggest crap, I've ever read.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DanH.Dec 13, 2007
Unfortunately this film starts with a massive handicap: trying to live up to people's expectation. The book was brilliant, probably the best of the trilogy and very dark for a "children's" book. People expected the film to follow Unfortunately this film starts with a massive handicap: trying to live up to people's expectation. The book was brilliant, probably the best of the trilogy and very dark for a "children's" book. People expected the film to follow suit and follow Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings with it's careful character development and deliberately slow pacing. People expected a dark fable with a 12a rating that asked as many questions as the book did about religion, life, death and everything in between. What we have is film which seems to have achieved the impossible, to actually be entertaining universally. As a parent these types of films are like goldust, I have fallen asleep through so many disney/dreamworks productions recently and been ripped off by their merchandise. My 5 yr old daughter loved it and I thought even without the appropriate amount of character development and rushed scenes it encapsulated enough of the book's magic to make it one of the finest fantasy films in recent years. Ignore the critics who are all in their mid-40s, single and voice a demographic rather than a universal opinion. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
JaredMDec 10, 2007
For those that have read the books, this movie tries too hard to encompass everything and thusly spends no time on creating character bonds. The story is there but the progression of the story is lacking. Too busy, not enough time spent on For those that have read the books, this movie tries too hard to encompass everything and thusly spends no time on creating character bonds. The story is there but the progression of the story is lacking. Too busy, not enough time spent on making me care. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RogerLDec 10, 2007
Cheese, cheese, and more cheese. No story, special effects not special. Don't waste your $10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamP.Dec 3, 2007
Slow at first but picks up speed and leaves you really thinking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArmonMichaeliilliDec 3, 2007
The Golden Compass is possibly the best fantasy film of all time. There is no sign or language what so ever of atheism!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshF.Dec 3, 2007
A generally good film throughout, but unfortunately fell a little short of my expectations which I looked at and thought were very high. Nonetheless, a good start to a promising series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeH.Dec 3, 2007
Best movie of the year. I cannot wait for the sequels. Wow. What a movie. The special effects should be the frontrunner this February at the Oscars!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClareC.Dec 3, 2007
I loved this movie! Fantastic. Funny. Touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoannaK.Dec 3, 2007
Nicole Kidman at her best! It was smart and funny and the special effects were amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Dec 3, 2007
One of the wonders of the holiday season.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanL.Dec 3, 2007
Here is the jaw-dropping, eye-popping, heart-stopping movie epic we've been waiting for all year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieR.Dec 3, 2007
What a movie! This is how the medium seduced us originally.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelA.Dec 3, 2007
Break out the popcorn and prepare to be blown away. The Golden Compass is the most pulse- pounding fantasy movie of all time. Nicole Kidman and Dakota Blue Richards were amazing. Kidman was Academy Award Worthy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WashereDec 4, 2007
Saw a preview of it. Very good film and as close an adaptation as one can get with such a dense and complicated fantasy novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GregB.Dec 4, 2007
The book was dull. The movie is duller. It's no Lord of the Rings. It's no Blades of Glory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoyceC.Dec 6, 2007
The Golden Compass is a clunky and flawless concept, through a Christian perspective this film is not worth it, the threequel of this "trilogy" is about killing God, and the first few develop to get to that. I wouldn't see this for that The Golden Compass is a clunky and flawless concept, through a Christian perspective this film is not worth it, the threequel of this "trilogy" is about killing God, and the first few develop to get to that. I wouldn't see this for that purpose, but from a movie going perspective I would love to see a big-budget popular fantasy movie that is nothing but entertainment like this. I for sure loved this movie, the script is surprisingly not clunky or flawless, it is a perfect fantasy design. A great story, thorough, and a perfect length, all performances play a great performance for each scene their in. I'm so happy it didn't suck like "Eragon". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnR.Dec 7, 2007
It really isn't that bad, but the movie was too hollywoodized. If you read the books this can be a frustrating movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamieJamieDec 7, 2007
Cuts a lot out of the books, but is generally very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EricC.Dec 7, 2007
I'm genuinely surprised that this movie is getting as much praise as it is. I really can't stand it. I wanted to walk out of the theater, but stayed because for some reason I couldn't bring myself to leave a sneak preview. The I'm genuinely surprised that this movie is getting as much praise as it is. I really can't stand it. I wanted to walk out of the theater, but stayed because for some reason I couldn't bring myself to leave a sneak preview. The acting is atrocious, except for Craig, who is only in it for less than 10 minutes. I normally defend Kidman, but this time I just have to shake my head. She's terrible in this. The script doesn't help, either. There are some lines in this movie where I actually laughed, they were so bad ("War is the sea in which I swim". How is that not funny?). The pacing is also some of the worst I've ever witnessed. You're rushed through events, not told why people go from loving to hating each other in a heartbeat. They leave no room for any character development whatsoever, so by the big battle scene, you could care less about whether these soulless people live or die. It's really too bad, since the books are already considered classics, and the subject matter could have been really substantial and thought provoking. The worst part, though, is how this movie, like Eragon before it, tries to be like other fantasy epics, but it can't decide which one it wants to be most. Some scenes seem stolen from Harry Potter, others from LotR. I'll blame this on direction, since the books are mostly original. In the end, Golden Compass is just a mess led by a poor director using a poor script, and it's a mess that not even a thrilling battle scene can save. So just wait for that and the part where the bear gets his jaw knocked off to pop up on the internet, so then you can save your money and see everything worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryC.Dec 7, 2007
Ultimately there is no complex concepts to this, users say its a boring clunky execution, I say wrong, this is nearly perfect, the effects are astounding, the sound is stunning, it is an entertaining and totally great family fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeC.Dec 7, 2007
I loved, the audience loved it, my family loved it, everyone said it was good as everyone trudged out of the theatre thinking wow look at me, i just saw a really awesome movie. Never heard any bad remarks, I thought it was really good, I I loved, the audience loved it, my family loved it, everyone said it was good as everyone trudged out of the theatre thinking wow look at me, i just saw a really awesome movie. Never heard any bad remarks, I thought it was really good, I don't know where any of these negative reviews are personally coming from. As far as I'm concerned this may be the next lord of the rings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillA.Dec 7, 2007
Wild and fun, these dummy users are just rating this movie from its trailer, and I think the critics are too. Its like rating Lord of the ratings 5 or 4 out of 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KentLDec 7, 2007
Graphics and acting were well done. Story was solid. But, I was so unhappy when I got to the end when I was slammed in the face with credits before the story ended. Yep, it's part 1 of who-knows how many parts. I wouldn't have gone Graphics and acting were well done. Story was solid. But, I was so unhappy when I got to the end when I was slammed in the face with credits before the story ended. Yep, it's part 1 of who-knows how many parts. I wouldn't have gone if I had known that. Harry potter encapsulates a full story in it - this just left me hanging. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherG.Dec 7, 2007
Amazing! Simply amazing! This is one of the best movie adaptations of anything ever in the fantasy genre. I was hesitant to see this movie at first because of the mixed reviews, but I'm so glad I did. The world depicted in the film is Amazing! Simply amazing! This is one of the best movie adaptations of anything ever in the fantasy genre. I was hesitant to see this movie at first because of the mixed reviews, but I'm so glad I did. The world depicted in the film is captivating and shines on the screen with life, depth, and adventure. It is a family movie that would be surprisingly enjoyable for most adults, at worst (depending on the individual) still quite tolerable, and also a lot of fun for kids. The kids in the movie are cute and precocious but not nauseatingly so like in most family movies - this is coming from a 22 year old adult male mind you. Even though there is violence in the film, none of it is graphic with the exception of 1 short part of a scene which just lasts a few seconds - just as a warning though parents should tell their younger children to cover their eyes towards the end of the bear-fight-bear scene. Some issues are still up in the air at the end of the movie, but at least one major issue is resolved before the credits roll. Personally, the bit of a cliff-hanger at the end just left me excited for the next 2 movies coming out rather than disappointed at some sort of lack of resolution - I guess this varies depending on the viewer though. If you haven't seen this movie yet and are a bit put off by the mixed reviews, don't be - at worst you might walk out of the movie thinking it was somewhat mediocre, at best you might absolutely love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoeU.Dec 7, 2007
I give it 3 points for superb production values. However, as it too often happens in Hollywood movies, the writing is missing in action. Utterly bad and uninteresting story, in my opinion. Worst, it is boring. I entertained myself during the I give it 3 points for superb production values. However, as it too often happens in Hollywood movies, the writing is missing in action. Utterly bad and uninteresting story, in my opinion. Worst, it is boring. I entertained myself during the movie watching the great special effects, and beautiful cinematography. Which sort of confirms my opinion that Hollywood has plenty of talent for the film craft, but truly innovative and creative writing is as difficult to find in real life nowadays as the witches in this movie, and as nonsensical. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyS.Dec 8, 2007
Loved every second, didn't want it to end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SuzannaW.Dec 9, 2007
I loved this movie. I think some critics as well as the public are missing the adventurous plot and courage of a young girl seeking the "truth" and saving the children. It has all the parts of great plot with hero's, talking animals, I loved this movie. I think some critics as well as the public are missing the adventurous plot and courage of a young girl seeking the "truth" and saving the children. It has all the parts of great plot with hero's, talking animals, beautiful destinations, superb acting and an ending leaving you wanting more. The film drew me in and I hope there will be a sequel. I certainly want to see more! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Dec 9, 2007
The storyline is rushed, which is typical with films made from books, but it still a great story. This is the type of film that Hollywood needs to make more of, it is intelligent and challenging. I wouldn't call it a "kid's movie" The storyline is rushed, which is typical with films made from books, but it still a great story. This is the type of film that Hollywood needs to make more of, it is intelligent and challenging. I wouldn't call it a "kid's movie" or a "family movie" though, which is how it is billed. Marketing mistake IMO. If you want to see an intelligent and thought provoking allegorical tale, with good actors and special effects, then this is a movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevODec 9, 2007
I liked it, the acting was good but I wish it was longer. That's just a limitation of the medium used though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
equality7-2521Dec 9, 2007
I loved it. The cast was first rate. I was nervous about the director on this film, but he did a fantastic job. I hope he was signed for the sequels. This movie will probably make a total of $100 million domestically. The media will try to I loved it. The cast was first rate. I was nervous about the director on this film, but he did a fantastic job. I hope he was signed for the sequels. This movie will probably make a total of $100 million domestically. The media will try to say it was a disappointment (considering the film's budget). BUT it will more than make up for it in foreign receipts and big time on DVD where it will gain in popularity by word of mouth. There WILL be a sequel. This film was awesome. I bought the novel and will read it this week.... Then I'll watch the movie again in a couple weeks. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FrancineBDec 9, 2007
I kind of liked the bears. Felt really cheated by the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffSDec 9, 2007
I have been waiting for this movie to come out since the moment I saw the first teaser. I was not disappointed. With my children at my side we, watched, and enjoyed. This was one of the first movies I have seen that the children erupted in I have been waiting for this movie to come out since the moment I saw the first teaser. I was not disappointed. With my children at my side we, watched, and enjoyed. This was one of the first movies I have seen that the children erupted in applause as the credits came to roll. Not the adults, not the Harry Potter or Star Wars geeks that stand in line for days, the CHILDREN! The story touched them. I was not aware of the books before I saw the title in the credits, and was only slightly aware that the Christian Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HerbKDec 9, 2007
Utter trash. Everything about the movie felt tacked on and laborious. I was just plain bored as I was watching it. The books were such a rich statement about free-will, and the nature of authority, and could easily have been read and enjoyed Utter trash. Everything about the movie felt tacked on and laborious. I was just plain bored as I was watching it. The books were such a rich statement about free-will, and the nature of authority, and could easily have been read and enjoyed as adults. This movie has none of that power. Everything felt watered, down and over-simplified. They don't mention the Church, or God, or Original Sin a single time in the entire film. Everything is reduced to "Authority" or "Magisterium." It is a poor adaptation of an excellent story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertT.Dec 9, 2007
An awesome depiction of an alternate steampunk universe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CocoaF.Jan 5, 2008
I loved the Golden Compass, it was action filled in every scene, I loved the Golden Compass.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
KevinD.Feb 16, 2008
While Kidman has yet to entirely dissapoint me, she came pretty darn cose in this travesty of a flim. Not so much for her acting, but her sheer involvement. It was an utter travesty in terms of dialogue, made no sense whatsoever. I've While Kidman has yet to entirely dissapoint me, she came pretty darn cose in this travesty of a flim. Not so much for her acting, but her sheer involvement. It was an utter travesty in terms of dialogue, made no sense whatsoever. I've never experienced physical pain while watching a film, but I felt like I had just been attacked by a rapid bull after watching "The Golden Compass." Who to look out for:Dakota Blue Richards, Nicole Kidman, without these two i would've given this film a zero. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Apr 24, 2008
Too complex for it's own good, rather than to flow steadily, it comes off more muddled than anything else. However, the art direction and sets are wonderful, and even though the special effects are computer generated, I thought they Too complex for it's own good, rather than to flow steadily, it comes off more muddled than anything else. However, the art direction and sets are wonderful, and even though the special effects are computer generated, I thought they were terrific and imaginative. Family film? I can't see most kids sitting through the whole film. It sure is pretty to look at though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonBMay 2, 2008
A spectacular rendering of Philip Pullman's magnificent world(s); this is the closest that a movie has been able to match the imagery that the author's words created in my mind. The graphics and special effects were absolutely A spectacular rendering of Philip Pullman's magnificent world(s); this is the closest that a movie has been able to match the imagery that the author's words created in my mind. The graphics and special effects were absolutely spectacular, to say the least, and the casting was perfect. Sadly though, the main meaning of the book was stripped down to it's bare minimum and the complex story was chopped up and dumbed down. I give it 5 out of 5 stars simply for the experience of seeing what I imagined on the silver screen. I recommend this to any one who enjoys a good piece of eye candy every now and again but I must compel anyone who seriously wants the intellectual experience of this tale to READ THE BOOK FIRST. I simply can not wait for the Subtle Knife... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregAMay 25, 2008
Not realising this was part of a trilogy I was disappointed to see it end so abruptly, but at least it was plainly obvious that another installment is coming. I thought the concepts of this movie were bizarre but it made me interested and I Not realising this was part of a trilogy I was disappointed to see it end so abruptly, but at least it was plainly obvious that another installment is coming. I thought the concepts of this movie were bizarre but it made me interested and I am keen to watch the upcoming movies and see what the big deal about "dust" is all about! However it is not a tidy movie and there is too much information and stuff happening that leaves you disconnected from the film and sort of wondering what the hell was that all about? Worth a DVD look, it has interest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful