User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 51
  2. Negative: 13 out of 51
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KeithC
    Aug 14, 2009
    3
    This movie had one or two mild laughs. Other than that I was thankful I saw it for free. I like Jeremy Piven's but the story of him being a mercenary hired to sell all the cars on the lot got do be boring by day 2 of the 4 days covered in the movie. I saw this movie at a drive-in and took advantage of the cool air by falling asleep during the rest of the movie (a first at the movies This movie had one or two mild laughs. Other than that I was thankful I saw it for free. I like Jeremy Piven's but the story of him being a mercenary hired to sell all the cars on the lot got do be boring by day 2 of the 4 days covered in the movie. I saw this movie at a drive-in and took advantage of the cool air by falling asleep during the rest of the movie (a first at the movies for me). Just shows how well it kept my attention. So, don't waste your money to see this movie. Its a good rental for a rainy day when you want to get some sleep and want to be mildly entertained. Expand
  2. sages
    Aug 28, 2009
    1
    This movie is terrible i walked out in the first 30 min of the movie because of stupidness nudity and overcurseing and only two mild laffs.
  3. JacobM
    Sep 6, 2009
    3
    This was the first movie I have ever walked out of. It was not funny for the most part, and was actually quite disgusting. Don't waste your money.
  4. JoeMamma
    Aug 17, 2009
    0
    0/10, was waiting a long time with all the advertisements on television to watch it. I checked the Internet a few days before release and what did I find, the nearest showing is over 60 miles from me. Between me and there is 10+ theatres, none of them could have gotten it? First time this ever happened to me tbh.
  5. sk
    Dec 5, 2009
    1
    Worst movie ive ever seen...Will Ferrell is my FAVORITE actor butwow did this movie suck. and the main character wasnt even slightly funny.
  6. AlexH.
    Aug 15, 2009
    2
    One or two mildly funny jokes kept me from walking out of this mess, but that was a mistake.
  7. C.B.
    Aug 26, 2009
    2
    I wanted to like this movie so bad, but wow did it suck. Shame on Ferrell/McKay for this turd.
  8. ElaineB
    Aug 22, 2009
    1
    Pathetic and gross, but there were a couple of younger guys in the audience laughing occasionally. Very lowbrow and totally brainless. How could Jeremy Priven sink so low and what was James Brolin doing in this thing? I saw him on "The View" promoting it and talking about how he and Barbra Streisand choose their movies carefully. Guess not, Jimbo!!
  9. Jun 23, 2012
    3
    I'm a huge fan of both Piven (Entourage) and Jeong (The Hangover), but "The Goods" were as bad as Employee of the Month or any movie that stars Dane Cook on it. They made an appearance on WWE Monday Night RAW to promote the movie. Unfortunately, they met a friendly John Cena and they'd payed the price. That's because they're were the worst guest hosts in RAW 's almost-20-year-old history.I'm a huge fan of both Piven (Entourage) and Jeong (The Hangover), but "The Goods" were as bad as Employee of the Month or any movie that stars Dane Cook on it. They made an appearance on WWE Monday Night RAW to promote the movie. Unfortunately, they met a friendly John Cena and they'd payed the price. That's because they're were the worst guest hosts in RAW 's almost-20-year-old history. After the film was released in August 2009, the film was a flop at the box office. So I suggest they can't make an appearance on the 1000th episode of RAW next month. Expand
  10. May 20, 2013
    1
    Don Ready does have potential. He does see that his life is devoid of love and meaning. He does see that things in his world must change. And he even tries to make those changes. But his changes are 180 degrees away from what would truly help him. And that's really what makes The Goods tragic. Not in a Shakespearian sense by any means, but in an irreverent, dumbed-down, 21st centuryDon Ready does have potential. He does see that his life is devoid of love and meaning. He does see that things in his world must change. And he even tries to make those changes. But his changes are 180 degrees away from what would truly help him. And that's really what makes The Goods tragic. Not in a Shakespearian sense by any means, but in an irreverent, dumbed-down, 21st century Hollywood sense. Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    70
    The Goods motors along choking out enough lowbrow laughs to make for an agreeably nutty late summer ride.
  2. A comedy without a shred of obvious filmmaking and an endless stream of good, bad, sometimes terrible, often absurd jokes.
  3. Reviewed by: Stan Hall
    67
    In many places it's genuinely, absurdly funny--crass, sleazy and morally questionable, yes, but still funny.