User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 463 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 463

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    All of which combines to make what feels like Wes Anderson’s most heartfelt film thus far. One that effortlessly straddles genres and works as both a nostalgic paean to a more innocent time and an examination of the very nature of storytelling itself. But most of all, it’s a beautifully realised account of the friendship that once formed between a lowly lobby boy and the legendary concierge who took him under his wing. Grand Budapest Hotel finds director Wes Anderson at the top of his game, delivering what may be his best film yet. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    0
    I am not the type that needs comedies to make me laugh out loud, but this movie didn't even prompt a smile or snicker. I have never seen a greater discrepancy between critics reviews and my enjoyment of a movie. First movie in many years I have walked out of, and my wife felt the same.
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    4
    Wow. What a waste of money and time. This is a very highly stylized movie. I really didn't like it because: (a) it is not believable on any level, (b) I couldn't empathize with the characters at all, and (c) it lacks drama... half-way through the movie I was still waiting for something significant to happen. Throw in significant over-acting and you have a movie that I don't think I would even watch on my TV at home. Yes, it is visually stunning. That's about the only positive aspect it has. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    3
    I'm sorry this movie was grossly over-hyped. I found it to be mildly entertaining and not nearly as good as
    'The royal Tananbaums.' Ididn't find it funny at all - it was trying to be slapstick at times
    and screwball at others - but failed miserably. Again, it's a tepid adventure, not worth the hype or the positive reviews.
  5. Apr 23, 2014
    3
    Best for the smug. The "too-loud laughter of the art-house patron" is a review that would work on this film. There's an audience for this that wants to think they're in on the joke and the rest of us rabble don't have the emotional intelligence to see the forest. But the joke's on them.

    This is a beautiful-looking, highly-styled, clever but EMPTY film. These are Wes Anderson characters
    in Wes Anderson settings. The dialogue is cute, but gets old by the end ... there's no arc, no development ... just odd, quirky characters who are odd and quirky for the sake of it.

    Rushmore and Moonlight Kingdom worked because the characters were great, lonely people. There are no great characters in GBH ... and the story is thin ... but it does look nice.
    Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Anderson's found his rhythm in film making, his previous faults - weak pacing, mirky story telling, cold characters - have faded with each film and TGDH signals his finest, tightest and strongest feature yet. Strong, funny and charming - a brilliant film.
  7. May 4, 2014
    0
    If you are the kind who thinks nothing of spending $5.50 on a latte mocafretti frappe cappuccino, reads/studies Nietzsche and still thinks it's quality time spent when watching the Kardashian's , would gladly pay scalping-prices of $200/ticket for your seven yr old daughter or granddaughter to see Katy Perry, then run to see this movie. This was a listed as an R-rated comedy? Yeh, that is a laugh. bill murray...wasted owen Wilson...wasted. harvey keitel...ditto. adrien brody....How could you? I can't recall a more forgettable bunch of worthless dialogue and disjunctive goings-on. I darn near asked for money back. total waste of time. Expand
  8. Apr 2, 2014
    5
    Meh, the film is interesting, and it's fun to see so many stars in one film. But it falls short in the laughs department. It's silly, and cute, and oh so clever, but left me a bit bored. I have a feeling some of the high reviews are from folks who are pleased with hollywood taking them a little more seriously. However, for me it was a bit dull.
  9. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    Wes Anderson movies are like a lovingly-stocked curio cabinet: engaging to look at and fascinating to marvel about. Ralph Fiennes heads up the cast of zany eccentrics as the concierge of the titular establishment. He includes the new Lobby Boy on his escapades, which include stealing a painting, escaping from prison and eluding the invading forces. Visually, this is a symmetrical delight: the locations are gorgeous and the detail is exquisite. The deadpan dialogue and comical staging keeps the pacing on its toes. If you enjoy cinema that's more about form than content, you'll find this hotel a lovely place to visit. Stay thru the credits to enjoy an animated man dancing to a delightful song. Expand
  10. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    If at any point you ever doubted director/writer Wes Anderson’s visual poetic skill, The Grand Budapest Hotel should slap some sense right back into you. Anderson’s newest film is as absurdist as it is serious, as artistic as it is comical, and as real as it is unreal. Instead of using the illusion of film to emulate realistic circumstances, Anderson uses reality to write poetry and turn it into something of a fantasy, a stylish nursery rhyme for adults. His efforts are beyond respectable – even beyond laudable – and although it’s early to say, I doubt any comedy this year will usurp Anderson’s throne.
    Some may argue that Anderson’s cinematographic style – ridiculously symmetric frames, angular pans, and a severely limited color palate, for starters – has become more of a shtick by now, a self-mockery of sorts. However, The Grand Budapest retorts that Anderson is not banking on these techniques to carry his film. Rather, they have become the backdrop to his stage, his hour-and-thirty-minute signature all over the film. Looking beyond that, the viewer discovers how much Anderson has truly matured in his narrative, writing, and directing skills. Behind the Anderson façade is a truly significant and beautifully crafted film, rife with guiltless humor, dramatic progression, and plenty of gasp-inducing moments (some from sheer admiration, and some from severed fingers).
    With The Grand Budapest, Anderson is not looking to write a film; he wants to tell a story. Principally evident in the multilayered frame narrative, he wants the audience to feel like they’re being told a story passed down among generations, re-imagined in fanciful colors and whimsical set pieces. The structure and timing of the storyline is absolutely flawless – the film never skips a beat. Neither over-edited nor under-edited, the story expresses capricious originality while maintaining gravity and poise. Like many of Anderson’s films, the writing is laced with subtle sociopolitical themes – however, with the turmoil of war and aristocratic corruption running concurrently with the plot, these themes tend to remain in the foreground of the narrative. Which isn’t a problem, because instead of detracting from the film’s hilarity, they instead add to its reputation.
    The Grand Budapest is gifted with a strong cast, lead by an impeccable performance from Ralph Fiennes. You would not have instantly pictured Fiennes as the ideal actor to play M. Gustave, the charming, fruity, and unashamedly frank concierge of the legendary Grand Budapest Hotel. However, once you see him in his prime, you can’t imagine anyone else better suited for the role. Just about everyone in the Anderson ensemble makes an appearance, Tony Revolori makes a stellar big-screen debut as the wide-eyed lobby boy/companion to M. Gustave, and Willem Dafoe plays an uproariously threatening and stylishly scary assassin, just to name some standouts. Anderson proves, for the umpteenth time, he is just as great a director as he is a writer, orchestrating many of the action/chase scenes with skillful awareness and a definite vision. Barney Pilling and Anderson work together to produce arguably the most appropriate editing I’ve ever seen in an Anderson film. The quick, sharp, and angular cuts sustain the storytelling vibe while preventing the boisterous colors and set pieces from becoming a strain on the eyes. In summary, The Grand Budapest Hotel is a powerfully designed, painstakingly acute, drop-dead fashionable, and laudably jocular comedy-drama that represents Wes Anderson’s skill set in his prime. We can only hope that he continues to create films that shine with such ingenuity and technical finesse.

    FINAL SCORE: 95 (almost perfect ----------o---------- perfect)
    Expand
  11. Mar 18, 2014
    3
    Wes Anderson has great style and wit but THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL is one more effort from Anderson that is totally satisfied with being nothing more than cute. The film looks great, quite amazing in fact, but really is this trite exercise all that this talented filmmaker and cast can really accomplish? A little soul, na inkling of depth or insight would be nice. Ralph Fiennes totally scores though in a wonderful central role. But once he leaves the screen, I just got bored. Expand
  12. Apr 5, 2014
    3
    I went in expecting to love the movie based on the high Metacritic score and boy was I disappointed. There weren't specific things to hate but there was very little to love. I found two things positive: 1) the acting was solid, 2) the directing and cinematography seemed well done to me, although not my style. However, the script was so uninteresting I would have walked out had I not been with friends. The few laughs I had were small chuckles, and the humor was little more than a character getting frustrated and screaming curse-words. I had absolutely zero attachment to any of the characters or the plot. The movie wasn't much more than an adult cartoon. They may as well have been dropping anvils on each other. Expand
  13. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    This movie was a waste of time and a hit in the wallet for no reason. If you are going to watch this, go on a cheap night. I am still sitting here wondering what it is that I had just watched. The random poetry and hipster-esque movie that is known as "The Grand Budapest Hotel" is poorly rated on this website. Do not be lulled in with a false sense of security. You have been warned. I literally made this account just to rate this movie poorly because that's how bad it was. Think Spring Breakers but hipster. Expand
  14. Apr 4, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OK, bottom line--would I recommend people go see this? Sure, with some reservations. It was silly and fun with great pacing, lots of enjoyable cameos and fascinating production values, location and interior shots (real or CGI). And the relationship between the lobby boy and his girlfriend (and to a lesser extent between the lobby boy and the Ralph Fiennes character) demonstrated some depth of feeling, but that said, and since two of those three characters were dead at the telling, I found the movie essentially "soul-less"--very clever and sophisticated but fairly empty and dark at its core. Expand
  15. Apr 2, 2014
    5
    Okay so the trailer for this movie was great - it zinged along and promised a fast-paced film but the reality is that the feature itself is surprisingly slow by comparison. The marketing men lied to us! I was expecting a rollicking farce but this was more drawn out. It wasn't bad per se, just not very good. Nothing new. Seen it all before. I much preferred Life Aquatic and Moonrise Kingdom in terms of originality. And like that last film, Bill Murray is again wasted in this. Expand
  16. Apr 1, 2014
    5
    A very visually appealing movie that has many subtle elements. Such as the deserts they eat at the end in the future not having the pristine appeal that the ones in the past where made. Plot wise well, uh ok. I did like looking around the hotel at the different times and comparing them in my mind. The story just was a little weak.
  17. Jun 18, 2014
    3
    well, that was an hour and a half i could've spent watching something else. i love only two anderson films (the royal tanenbaums and darjeeling limited). they were stylized, but not to the point where the actors were props. the stories of both were touching. this film should've been much better. it could've revolved around the society of concierges and been delightful. too many A list actors with very little to do. the centering of virtually every shot drove me a little crazy. it was watching a series of still life tableaus. i kept thinking, "this is so hipsterish, why am i watching this?" Expand
  18. Apr 7, 2014
    2
    Seems to appeal to the Wes Anderson Die hards. I haven't seen all his movies. Rushmore was decent, but not as great as people make it out to be. Some fans calling this his best...well if that's not an endorsement for seeing more of his work.

    I found it dull and boring (and it really takes a lot to bore me at a movie..though Gravity was boring too). There were no laughs whatsoever.
    Too much "style", no substance. Didn't care about the characters at all and the ones I might have, were hardly on screen. Dull, repetitive, silly, stuipid, over the top, over hyped, tired. I couldn't wait for it to end. Tries to be serious, political, funny, silly, artful, homage and fails on all accounts. Ok it looked ok, the makeup and wardrobe was very good, but that's about it. Ralph Fines was good, but not his best work. People giving this 10's are hipsters or out of their minds. Expand
  19. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    This movie was near perfect for what it was. It was funny when it needed to be and serious when it needed to be. The set design was a work of art in itself. On top of that, the characters, plot, and presentation were more than enough to keep any viewer interested throughout the entire film. The only flaw I found was that they didn't develop some of the minor characters quite enough, making the story hard to follow at on instance. This is such a minor flaw, as that line of the film contributed nothing to the overall story. In the end, definitely worth you going to see. Expand
  20. Mar 21, 2014
    5
    There is a difference between having a style, and copying the style of The Royal Tenenbaums. Unfortunately this film is more of a copy, filled with cameos and fake characters. I almost wouldn't have been surprised to see a muppet to pop up at one point. The best Anderson films are the creative, inspired ones with characters you care about, which is basically all of them up until The Grand Budapest Hotel. Expand
  21. Mar 20, 2014
    5
    You can either love or hate Wes Anderson, or you can love and hate him at the same time. Unfortunately, The Grand Budapest Hotel has torn me apart. It is undeniably perfect Anderson: obsessive and strict design, colour palettes, composition, framing and blocking. However, it is essentially missing something; my emotions traversed from sheer boredom to stifled laughter to disorderly admiration. My conclusion is that Anderson has become too overworked; I dislike him for this, yet at the same time a part of me admires the man for his precise ingenious.

    The film starts and immediately you taste Anderson’s stop-motion style with precise camera panning and boxed framing. The film then jumps through three prologues of time, with the familiar Anderson narration and expose of shots, until we land ourselves at The Grand Budapest Hotel between the wars in a fictional state of Europe. What follows is a story of chapters with crimes, chases, mischief, rivalry, envy and even slapstick comedy. It is all tightly wound and then released like a chasm, the chapters seem somewhat disjointed, the acts become emotionally sterile and ultimately there isn’t a chance for the story to coerce.

    We are presented with the same Anderson, but also a new Anderson. He presses on his comedic roots and concentrates on the physicality of funny. M. Gustave (Ralph Fiennes) is the prime consent for this, and Fiennes is brilliantly on key creating a few treasurable notes of laughter. On occasion, this isn’t just through material act, but also sharp, witty and almost obscene dialogue. In one scene, he utters to the new lobby boy (whose elder self is predominantly narrating the story – F. Murray Abraham). “When you’re young it’s all fillet steak, but as you get older, you have to move onto the cheaper cuts.” If you like Anderson for his melancholic charm and grounded representations of struggling individuals in a fantastical yet realistic world (think Moonrise Kingdom and The Royal Tenenbaums), then don’t have high expectations for this, you won’t get what you came for.

    This film is being highly applauded (a reason for my great expectations), yet for all the same reasons, the obvious stylistic reasons. I haven’t seen a single review commenting on how they related to the story on a personal or cultivating note. Are we focusing on a cinematic story here, or what appears to be a theatrical and all-too whimsically clever telling of one?

    Lastly, I will mention what is palpable and largely unsettling: the ensemble cast of great name actors all battling for a screen spot. A great cast list can give a film much admirable credit, however Anderson has gone a bit overboard here, with Harvey Keitel, Bill Murray and Owen Wilson popping up for five or so minutes, the story becomes even more fictitious and preposterous. I won’t list the rest of the cast, simply search it on IMDB or watch the film, but it is certainly remarkable yet somewhat heedless.

    It was a muddled evening, and to be honest I am still rather mystified amidst my contemplations on the film. Frankly, I was disappointed and the film is no more than what Anderson’s lavish style makes it. One might say you are better off trying to watch it inside out.
    Expand
  22. Apr 19, 2014
    1
    HORRIBLE!! Very disappointing show....!! Would not recommend it to anyone. Would have suggested we leave the theatre except that it would have been disruptive to others... do not waste your money!!
  23. Apr 29, 2014
    5
    Found this movie to be boring, and really not all that great. I didn't laugh really for this to be a comedy, and was actually confused on how it could get such great reviews. Perhaps my taste in movies is terrible but this just wasn't there.
  24. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    Other than Schindler's List, this is probably Ralph Fiennes' best work. He's hysterically funny, and his supporting cast is also incredibly solid. Wes Anderson has such an amazing sense of style - his shots/locations are just beautiful. From Anderson's catalog, I would give Moonrise Kingdom a slight edge, but only slight. Definitely stay throughout the credits - the music is infectious.
  25. May 3, 2014
    10
    If you're in the mood for something really eccentric? You'll love it. If you were trying to choose between this and, say, Captain America? Wait until you're in the mood for quirky.
  26. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    Aside from a few laughs early on, this movie quickly became one of the dullest films I have ever seen, despite its cute visuals and overabundance of talent who signed up to play the various roles. The characters were all quite flat, unbelievable, and the lack of depth led to a lack of any drama. Everything just felt very pat and inconsequential. The plot felt like something they were making up as they went along. The film also feels exceedingly self conscious and aware of its own cuteness, which pushed it toward the annoying end of the "indie" spectrum. Expand
  27. Jul 21, 2014
    0
    Just an awful movie. Not funny, weirdly directed, repetitive, featuring horrible florid set design, senseless celebrity cameo appearances, and some of the most boring dialogue ever. Hard for me to say how much I hated this movie. I know I'm in the minority, but I know I'm right too. Most people who say they like this movie probably secretly hated it.
  28. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    Hallelujah! I have finally seen a Wes Anderson film that I like. The mind bogglingly clever screenplay tips its hat to past eras of film making, but is very much a piece of writing that has Anderson's signature all over it. This, for once, is a good thing. The design of the film, as in a lot of Anderson's work, is just beautiful and many effects are visually striking. A positive roster of character actors contribute to the fun (Saoirse Ronan's lack lustre turn aside) with Tllda Swinton and Willem Dafoe standing out. Everything is elevated, however, by the absolutely brilliant performance of Ralph Fiennes which is second only to his Amon Goeth in Schindler's List. I may still have reservations about Anderson and to a lesser extent this film, but if Fiennes isn't nominated for an Oscar next year for this deliciously sublime portrayal then that will be more of a farce than the film itself. Expand
  29. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    “You see, there are still faint glimmers of civilization left in this barbaric slaughter house that was once known as humanity”. If there was ever a quote to sum up the films of Wes Anderson, this would be high on the list. Highly inventive, absurd, and at times, narratively incoherent, Anderson’s eighth feature film is a grand, accommodating feature whose self is probably not as grand as the cast it has rounded out.

    From Ralph Fiennes, Harvey Kietel, Bob Balaban, Saoirse Ronan, Lea Seydoux, to regulars Tilda Swinton, Adrien Brody, Jason Schwartzman and of course Bill Muarry, The Grand Budapest Hotel is a formidably full house of A-list actors who happily lend their skills to the highly inventive and immensely visual Anderson. Aside from the wholly impressive cast, is the quirky and unmistakably unique vision of Anderson himself.

    If you haven’t been fortunate enough to experience a Wes Anderson film yet, you are surely missing out on one of the most elaborate, detailed, and symmetrical styles of film-making ever known. Anderson’s style, renown and admired by many, may very well be the American indie art-house King and The Grand Budapest Hotel may very well be his grandest and most admirable spectacle yet–although it may not be his most engaging or beloved.

    The Grand Budapest Hotel is an empirical picture, in every sense of the word. Throughout his career as a writer/director, Anderson has defined and refined his vision to the point that every heist; every adventure; or every group of individuals, can easily be distinguishable, as if their existence could only be understood within an Anderson film. The essence of the characters within The Grand Budapest, as well as his overall vision, is creatively maintained thanks to the purity of the scenarios and wackiness of the characters Anderson houses, in whatever setting it may be. For decades now, Anderson has bequeathed to film-lovers everywhere and audiences’ alike, a signature style unlike any other.

    There are countless films where the characters have come secondary only to the immense and elaborate setting they are placed in. For example, in many films urban settings; New York City has played a pivotal role (see: Shame and Annie Hall), The Wild West (see: The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada, Unforgiven), and exotic locales within Europe set the landscape for timeless stories of intrigue, lust, love and tragedy (see: Vicky Cristina Barcelona and The Bicycle Thief.). In Anderson’s world, although many of his settings are within the very real world we live in today, sublets of his world are envisioned within our world, and in essence, these locales become the greatest character of them all, housing very small, intricate tales of the people whose stories are shared in its presence. The setting this time, is none other than the Grand Budapest. A hotel, that houses the highly empathetic new lobby boy Zero (Tony Revolori) and his journey to becoming the irreplaceable sidekick to the one and only infamous concierge M. Gustave H (Ralph Fiennes). Among the many other patrons of the hotel and each of their individual secrets, tall tales, and life memories, Anderson centres the film around a priceless painting, now put in the hands of Gustave thanks to death of M. Gustave’s latest deceased romance, the mysteriously elder Madame D (an unrecognizable Tilda Swinton). What transpires, is an array of fantastical plot schemes and recanted storytelling that may only make sense when mentioning the name of Wes Anderson.

    Like any other Anderson film, the stories are only secondary to their execution. Anderson’s films are the closet things to mathematical proofs, where the process of plot-making comes first before the final, usually predictable and happy outcome. Anderson may have come off one of his most cherished screenplays with his last film Moonrise Kingdom, and The Grand Budapest Hotel may in no way trump it, but thankfully, it never tries. Instead, after exploring the unfathomable bond between young lovers, Anderson penetrates deep and long the affections of friendship and the importance of patronage within the industry of service and hospitality. Surprisingly this is a theme that he has yet to encounter, especially after his beloved muse and frequent collaborator Kumar Pallana passed and served as nothing less than a staple to the Anderson cannon. Think of The Grand Budapest Hotel as a large and completely dysfunctional family taking care of you, much like Anderson’s earlier work The Royal Tenenbaums, only this time, imagine them slotted at the other end of a hotel reception desk.
    Expand
  30. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    I gave up on Wes Anderson a few years ago since I thought he had become too self-absorbed and not funny, so this film was a complete surprise. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was constantly inventive, delightful visually, and often laugh-out-loud funny. And the parade of excellent acting was amazing -- everyone had a fun character to play and everyone played his part to the hilt, yet knew just how far to go. Actually I wished some of the actors who made such a great impression in a few seconds had more to do. My only criticism is that I thought the final chase went on too long and the film lagged a bit, and I think it was because Anderson did not quite catch the tone he was looking for, but after such a fun film (for a change), I was willing to forgive him a slight misstep. Ralph Fiennes was wonderful -- could anyone else today play this role with just the right mix of gravity and lightness? The actor who played Zero was wonderful too. Will anyone remember this terrific film next year when the Academy Awards come around? Best comedy I've seen since Mel Brooks' The Producers -- that's how long it's been since I have seen a really good comedy. Expand
  31. Jul 7, 2014
    1
    Wes Anderson again reduces skilled actors to lifeless puppets. This is not a comedy; it is an interminable mood piece, the mood being arch, artificial, contrived and soulless. Imagine a failed SNL skit extended to 1:40, in particular, where the "humor" is based on being extremely stupid, or crude or inept. Yes, it is distinctive and engrossed in its own style. You might instead consider staring at an Andy Warhol self-portrait for 1:40. Expand
  32. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    Wes Anderson's film is decently paced, written moderately well, and contains a bevy of talented actors who all conspire to do their part, but falls just short of consistently capturing attention and drawing laughs with its comedic intention. It's just too eccentric for its own good. Far too many times were the laughs forced, as if the few members of the audience were laughing out of a desire to show themselves they "got the joke".

    By no means was it a bad film, however. The filming style was fairly straightforward but well done. Shots were pleasingly spaced and different ratios chosen for different time periods, effectively separating the periods without any intrusion or confusion for the audience. The set design and chosen locations fit the tone and general "feel" of the plot. The actors played each character off of one another to create some creatively comedic moments as well as others filled with tension. With a few exceptions - Edward Norton's peculiar character - the dialogue was performed well; Ralph Fiennes in particular did a wonderful job.

    Despite these positives, the unneccsariy eccentricity of the film combined with its wholly uninteresting plot made the film rather tedious to sit through. Although it was, perhaps, not technically a comedy, The Grand Budapest Hotel certainly tried to appear like one but did little to capitalize on the actors it was given. The comedy fell short of being funny in nearly all cases, save for a few here and there. The moments were obvious and some juvenile in their humor.

    The film did have a novel or bookish feel to it - its plot seemed better suited to a written medium, but it was effectively conveyed on film.

    Though it did succeed in some areas, The Grand Budapest Hotel failed to consistently produce an interesting narrative and tried to hard to be a comedy combined with an odd plot. It was an above average film, but only just so, and with a veteran director in Wes Anderson with a talented cast in did not rise to the occasion and meet expectations.
    Expand
  33. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    "There are still faint glimmers of civilization left in this barbaric slaughterhouse that was once known as humanity..."

    The Grand Budapest Hotel is pure brilliancy and with out a doubt the best Wes Anderson film to date. I think it's rather amazing that Wes can make one exceptional film after another as there are only a few directors nowadays that can be held on the same level as him.
    Of course If you have not seen any Wes Anderson Film before this than you might not be able to appreciate all the fine details he is able to incorporate into this. I was thinking only a few movies had the chance of being my favorite movie of the year and this was nowhere near it yet surprisingly now after watching this i have it as my top movie of the year beating out Captain America: The Winter Soldier by quite a few points.

    The films narration is beautiful done and tells the wonderful story of Gustave (Ralph Fiennes) the lead concierge at The Grand Budapest Hotel in the fictional country of Zubrowka and the hotels new lobby boy Zero (Tony Revolori). After Madame D. (Tilda Swinton) one of Gustave's lovers pasts away he and Zero immediately head to her wake upon arriving they stumble upon the reading of her will in which Gustave finds out that she has left him "Boy with Apple" which happens to be a very valuable painting. This makes Madame's son Dmitri (Adrien Brody) very angry and he tries to get Gustave thrown out of his house despite him not being the actual owner of it yet. After showing Zero the painting Gustave and Zero steal the painting and hastaly leave the area set to sell it off and lay low for awhile although before they can do this Gustave is accused of murdering Madame D. and is thrown in prison.

    What ensues from here is one hell of a marvelous thrill ride set to entertain all who watch it. The film has a great balance of humor just like all Wes Anderson films yet i found myself laughing a lot more this time around and i absolutely lost it when Willem Dafoe's character Jopling threw Jeff Goldblum's characters cat out of the window especially when Goldblum looks out the window to see what has happened to it. Wes is the kind of director that like to work with the same actors over and over again if you have seen any of his other films it would be hard not to see a familiar face in this. Seeing so many movies nowadays with a all-star cast that end up being rather underwhelming its nice to see that a director can still put together such a masterful cast and make everyone brilliant it in.

    Overall i give it a 9.5 It's going to be hard to beat out this movie as my favorite yet i thought the same thing with "12 Years A Slave" and now i have that as my fourth or fifth favorite film of the year so far. Still though i thoroughly enjoyed this movie more so than any other film this year and im seeing only two movies left with a chance to overtake it.
    Expand
  34. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    With its star-studded cast, beautiful scenery, and fast-moving plot, The Grand Budapest Hotel hits all the right notes, and is one of Anderson's best films.
  35. Jun 8, 2014
    1
    The trailers presented this movie as a comedy. It is not a comedy. There are a few amusing spots but that includes Fiennes exclaiming **** . So if its not a comedy, what is it? A sort of farce with a lot of well-known actors. But a not very interesting or original farce. The basic plot has been used many times before.
  36. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    Another quirky diorama is added to the impressive collection of Wes Anderson who could be considered America's foremost auteur. And yet...

    The film is beautiful in its color and set designs. A ravishing impression of continental empirical splendor in a Slavic country prior to something like World War II. The question is, as for several of Anderson's last few films: how does it make you
    feel? The sight and offbeat gags are there and aplenty but can they support something that is not quite drama or comedy, and certainly not conventional storytelling.
    The last few scenes of the film redeem the previous segments as the relationship between M. Gustav H. and the Lobby Boy is cemented as a bond that finally feels genuine. And when the telescopic looking glass of the story's three time periods are finally pressed together, I did feel something close to profound melancholy for the memory of all the central characters in each age, no matter how ridiculous they were depicted.

    Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, and The Life Aquatic combined to showcase a new and unique voice in American cinema. In Rushmore, Max Fischer ambitiously pulls together a school stage play adaptation of the film Serpico. I loved that conceit then, but feel like that now IS the conceit for many of Anderson's latest films, including GBH and Moonrise Kingdom. Terrific actors reciting very serious-sounding, direct dialogue with middle school earnestness.
    Expand
  37. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    Fantastic Mister Anderson...

    Another example of pure story-telling and immersing cinematography in a great movie by Wes Anderson.
    Absolute must see!
  38. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    This film between symmetry, beautiful lines, and themes of love, loyalty and what defines true character was masterfully concieved and excecuted, a truly excellent experience.
  39. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Wonderfully visual, funny, perfectly balanced adventure that kept my eyes wide open for the entire movie.
    The backdrop was extremely well placed and despite the layers it was easy to follow and hugely enjoyable.
    The Grand Hotel Budapest has all the ingredients to become a classic.
    Go and see it.
  40. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    I have never seen a Wes Anderson movie before and I was quite pleased with this one. It Is defiantly a different movie with many weird scenes/ dialogue but that is what makes this movie really funny and memorable. The actors were all casted really well. With some well known actors having small but very well done roles. A surprisingly well done movie.
  41. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    I can't believe it got 18 negative reviews. This film is a chef d'oeuvre of modern cinema. All the personnages are wonderfully built interact in a Wes Anderson universe full of optimism, humanism and humor.
  42. Jun 24, 2014
    1
    I missed this movie when it was in theaters and really looked forward to watching it when it was released to On Demand, boy was I disappointed. Every good scene was shown in the commercials, it was so long and drawn out, I could not wait for it to end. I kept waiting to be pulled into a magical story and it never happened. I do not understand how anyone could rate this a 6 let alone a 10, it was horrible! Expand
  43. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie feels like that rare occasion where you find something real good in a market for a very cheap price, it's that one of a kind thing that leaves a very good taste and just makes you wanting more, the care for the color, shots and details in all the movie is highly perceptible, the character development were just 10 out of 10, i could see Wes Anderson's mark everywhere, but yet it is Wes kind of movie end, the movie feels a little unfinished. The critics about 19º Century Nobility life and ways where pretty visible, differently from the II War ones, that even slight as they were, can be seen as pretty deep if better observed.

    95/100 Movie, will buy a copy.
    Expand
  44. Jun 8, 2014
    4
    I was disappointed with this movie. There was raving reviews which the movie could never live up to, but even without considering these reviews the movie is average and watchable. There are a few moments where you'll **** but the majority is very unfunny and overacted. It is more a light-hearted movie than an out-and-out comedy.

    It is watchable, but slow at times and does not at all
    deserve the critical acclaim. I believe there is an element of snobbery behind the reviews that rave about this movie. Had it been an unknown foreign movie without the big name actors, it would be rightly called average. Expand
  45. May 12, 2014
    9
    Wonderful and delightful and funny and inspired. Made with Wes Anderson's normal fastidious attention to detail, with careful compositions and eccentrically droll characters (with the exception of the inspired M. Gustave played by Ralph Fiennes, a mannered sophisticate with just the right amount of rapscallion that instead of quirky tics, he's a man of desires and decency, an almost real human being).

    The Grand Budapest Hotel operates on a more plot-centric level than any of Anderson's previous films, and yet retains all his charms and idiosyncrasies, yet by not flaunting his mannerisms as character development or deepness of thought, he actually winds up saying more about everyone and everything by letting them speak for themselves. The melancholy passing of the old world is captured in the sheer joy and exuberance of the scenes taking place there, so that when we are lurched back to the present and the film slows down and hits the notes of normal Anderson faire, it carries with it a sense of loss and sorrow.

    The juxtaposition of the looming war, with its brutality and chaos, also inspires the scenes in the past as they are full of atypical for Anderson indecency. From the dropping of F-bombs to the explicit, yet not grotesque, gore. These seeming anachronisms, that work on two different levels, are both funny and deep and since they don't just have to be deep they actually work perfectly.

    The movie plays out in three different aspect ratios, a fun little treat for cinema fans who notice. Although it should be said that the majority of the film takes place in the past and as such uses a near full screen ratio (a relic of old European films), which is a little disappointing considering how gorgeous the filmmaking is. It could have been bigger and better.
    Expand
  46. Lyn
    May 21, 2014
    7
    Enjoyed "The Grand Budapest Hotel," though it won't be anywhere near the top of my "best of Wes Anderson" list. Visually, it's totally delightful, and Ralph Fiennes amps up his character nicely. But the slapstick bits go on and on ... and most of the "big name" actors have little more than cameos. Unlike "Royal Tenenbaums," you don't look at someone like a Gwyneth Paltrow or a Ben Stiller and say, "Wow, I've never seen that person quite like this before." And it doesn't create the quirky magic of "Moonrise Kingdom," which was probably my favorite film that year. Still, a fun time. Expand
  47. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    We are not even halfway through the year yet and I have may have just seen the best movie of 2014. Wes Anderson has once again delivered another excellent film that is a must watch. Film buffs and Wes Anderson fans will adore it immediately like I did and if you have never seen a Wes Anderson film before take it from me that you are in for a treat. However, far away the nearest theater showing this film is from your house it is worth it as this is an excellent film and I rarely say that when reviewing a film. Watching this film makes me want to watch the rest of Wes Andersons movies because I really hope that they are all as outstanding as the two I’ve already seen. This film also has me excited about whatever Wes Anderson is doing next. IF it isn’t clear already this is an amazing movie that needs to be seen by everyone (although maybe not the kiddies). Oh and one more thing make sure you stick around during the credits. Trust me. Expand
  48. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    First, and foremost I can't even begin to delve into this miraculous piece of filmmaking without first, thinking it's director. While my sheer words, simply can't due the film any justice whatsoever. Wes Anderson, the creative mind behind the classics such as; "The Royal Tenenbaums", "Rushmore", "The Life Aquatic: With Steve Zissou" and last years amazing "Moonrise Kingdom. Anderson also directed the great kid flick "The Fantastic Mr. Fox". All of Wes Anderson films feature a zany, wacky, and fun energetic appeal, that not only make them insanely hilarious; but, unforgettable. His latest, "The Grand Budapest Hotel" is quite possibly his greatest achievement. The writing is simply put, terrific. There is of course the grand ole Anderson appeal, however, this film is more sharp and on target every step of the way. The success can also be attributed in part to the incredible cast of characters. Ralph Fiennes undoubtedly steals the show portraying Monsieur Gustave H, a loyal concierge of the "Grand Budapest". But I also have a feeling that audiences will be shocked by the real and authentic performance, that is turned in by newcomer Tony Revolori. This day and age in cinema were not usually graced with the pleasure of originality, in fact it's rather come and gone. Thanks to Anderson, and his creative ingenuity, chances are you're not just going to be laughing hysterically (and trust me, when I say, YOU will) but feel a sympathetic story of love, jealousy, rage, and betrayal. "The Grand Budapest Hotel" basically has something, for everyone.

    The story (written by sir, Wes Anderson himself) takes place across the span of a few different time periods, split up into several parts. In the present the audience meets Zero Moustfa (F. Murray Abraham) the new owner of the Grand Budapest, who recalls his life as an infamous lobby boy, under the strict direction of notorious concierge, Monsieur Gustave H. Rewinding back to 1932, Gustave (Ralph Fiennes) is a gigalo, known for his endeavours with older women. After his most personal client, Madame D (Tilda Swinton) mysterious dies at the age of 84. Thus, in her will, leaving a priceless painting known only as "Boy With Apple" to sir Gustave H himself. Causing a spiral of events, framing the innocent man. However, with the help of his loyal sidekick, Zero. Will prove his innocence, once and for all.

    Speaking on behalf of the film's set design earlier. There is so much little, attention to detail, down to the last wall fixture. Chances are, moviegoers will not see a set like this one. Taking into account Wes Anderson's, corky cinematography, at the same time it has the look, and feel of an old fashion murder mystery caper. However, Anderson still leaves his watermark, in his inclusive character development, and vigorous storytelling capability. In other words, the film is not as spectacular without it's extremely talented band of actors. Ralph Fiennes, idealistically steals almost every scene, of every line. The comedic timing, and his rapid fire of lines, is nothing short of perfection. He is extremely funny when he needs to be, but also, emotional when the story line demands it. Newcomer, Tony Revolori, get's his first shot at Hollywood, starring in his first film. I must say, after this performance, he has a bright career ahead of him. The list itself, goes on and on. All of your regular Anderson favorites make their appearances such as; Owen Wilson, Bill Murray, Jason Schwartzman, Edward Norton, and Willem Dafoe. Who each have their great moments, and will leave a huge smile on your face.

    When it boils down, and the film reaches it's conclusion and climax. The deepest intentions of the film's plot may skew over the head of most mainstream moviegoers. Anderson's whimsical natures is still in tact, for most of the duration. However, he does deteriorate a tad, and makes this film more relatable with his characters. "The Grand Budapest Hotel" is like a well oiled machine. An assembly line, making the perfect movie. Everything is exactly in place, as it should be. Not to mention, extremely funny. In a new age, where sequels, reboots and adaptations are being jammed down audience's throats. There is a silver lining, and his name is Wes Anderson. Most people seem to be afraid to venture to their local cineplexes, as they should, paying upwards of $11 a ticket. The Grand Budapest, is one of possibly three movies a year, that is cinematic in all its aspects, and just amazing. Something that is extremely thought-provoking, serious, and has a message. I, myself was deeply moved by the inner connections with our characters. This simply goes without saying, "Grand Budapest Hotel" is easily the best film I have so far, seen this year.

    A+

    By: Nate Adams

    Directed By: Wes Anderson
    Rated: R
    Run-Time: 100 mins
    Release Date: March 28th (Wide)
    Studio: Fox Searchlight
    Thanks For Stopping Buy.
    Expand
  49. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Wes Anderson seems to have a style of film-making (quirky) that you either love or hate. This film felt more like his animated "The Fantastic Mr. Fox" than any other of his films. It was like watching a live cartoon. I really like the fact that he cares about every scene he films and attempts to film it in a way we have not seen before. I would rank Wes Anderson up with the Coen Brothers for his craft. I thought all the actors in the film were terrific and I had a grin on my face the entire time I watched it. I was sorry when it ended, unlike many films I where I look at my watch several times wondering when it would end. Expand
  50. Jun 23, 2014
    8
    Solidly good movie. Not for kids. Very mature content. It was surprisingly laugh out loud funny for being a very seriously themed movie! The acting was excellent, the writing was decent to good, and it is an interesting movie in terms of the ideas it presents on both modern and Europe past.
  51. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    The style and quality of this movie is just incredible. Such eye for details throughout the movie, be it characters and their costumes, the sets, and last but not least of course the conversations. This movie thrills, manages to shock just a little bit and the absurdity is fantastic. Need I say more? Go and enjoy this movie!
  52. Apr 14, 2014
    7
    This movie is claimed to be a comedy-drama. I would characterize it as a mixture of a theater-of-absurd and a fantasy movie with a few funny twists. The director is Wes Anderson who is quite known. Many famous actors play small roles in the movie and they do not disappoint. The movie is based on works of Stefan Zweig. It is a story of Mr. Gustave, a head concierge of a famous hotel and his protege in training Zero. Their adventures take place in a fictional Republic of Zubrowka while Europe is changing so swiftly between two world wars. Nostalgia for "sweet old times" is obvious.
    If you are in for a realistic movie, this one is not for you.
    Expand
  53. Aug 19, 2014
    2
    Years ago, I was impressed with the quirky, down-home feel of Rushmore, I got a few laughs out of Bottle Rocket... but every other Anderson film just gets worse. Because there are bright colors and wide-angle, symmetric compositions in almost every shot... maybe people think this is great cinema. But the clumsy acting trying to bring superficial scripts alive just gets tiring after a while. This time, we are shown a sometimes serious, elaborate historical drama... but it's just pretext.... it isn't credible. Every shot has an arranged feel and appears in a way that betrays realism... so you find yourself at an emotional distance from all the events that are supposed to make you feel the drama. There's a constant, snarky absurdity lingering beneath the surface... but that isn't really sufficient as a storyline. More writing, less artistic contrivance. Expand
  54. Jul 6, 2014
    5
    Overall I like Wes Anderson movies, but with this one. It reminded me, of all recycled things I already seen in his other movies. Worse of all, the story or the atmosphere didn't catch my attention. Overall it was a 5 out of 10 for me
  55. Jul 29, 2014
    5
    The Grand Budapest Hotel is more remarkable for its similarity to previous work by Wes Anderson than it is for its basis in the works of Stefan Zweig. Anderson makes much of this literary inspiration but the movie is not based on any particular Zweigian tome—Anderson claims it is a conglomeration of two works by Stefan Zweig. First, Ungeduld des Herzens, literally The Impatience of the Heart. However, as a someone who holds a PhD in German literature, I would translate it as “The Restless Heart” (sorry, there are no italics in the Metacritic text box!), whereas the English edition is in fact called Beware of Pity. The second work cited by Anderson is Rausch der Verwandlung, literally translated as The Intoxication of Transformation, but again, I would translate it as “The Ecstasy of Change”—the English title is actually The Post Office Girl. In addition to merging influences from these two works, Anderson has put Zweig himself in the movie, thus incorporating biographical elements as well. It is such a mishmash that it appears the most Zweigian element in the movie is Tom Wilkinson's portrayal of the aged author. Wilkinson bears a strong resemblance to Zweig.

    I was more struck by the resemblance of the film to Moonrise Kingdom. The cinematography has the same eerie lighting that gives it a fairy-tale aspect, and the subject matter is treated in the same Andersonian style—a lot of eccentric characters merging together in unconventional ways. And the script has a very Andersonian bearing with no relationship whatsoever to the style of Stefan Zweig. Like Moonrise Kingdom, sentences are short and declarative. Characters express themselves rather tersely and bluntly, but in a heartfelt way, which is charming and extremely American, even perhaps Californian. Only Ralph Fiennes as Gustave has a European flavor to his personality, but despite his British accent, he is too exaggerated (as are many of the characters) and has no real connection to a Zweigian mode of expression.

    Another noteworthy resemblance to Moonrise Kingdom is the cast—we see Edward Norton, Tilda Swinton, Bill Murray, and Harvey Keitel making a comeback. And there are surprises, such as Ron Goldblum and Owen Wilson. A bit like the post-office girl of Zweig's novel, a young lobby boy who is escaping the devastation and overwhelming poverty of war finds himself in an opulent and extravagant hotel that gives him privy to the lives of the preposterously rich. It both changes him and forces him to take refuge in his real self, however humble. The film tells the story of how this grand old hotel of the Austro-Hungarian Empire changed and evolved over the years, becoming more sterile and functional with modernity, but more specifically the film recounts how the lobby boy eventually became the sole owner of the hotel. That is the essence of the Zweigian influence, in addition to the fact that the story is being told to the young Stefan Zweig (Jude Law), who later recounts the tale in his writings as the elder Stefan Zweig (Tom Wilkinson).

    Unfortunately, Grand Budapest Hotel is not quite as charming as Moonrise Kingdom, and by the end of the film, the endless train of eccentric behaviors and character quirks starts to daze the viewer's mind. Additionally, the film neglects to capture the essence of the German spirit, much like Eyes Wide Shut tried to convey the essence of Arthur Schnitzler's Traumnovelle but failed because it was just too American. Perhaps it is just a fact that Hollywood directors find it difficult to comprehend the shadowy depths and the tortured substance of modern German literature.
    Expand
  56. Jul 4, 2014
    9
    The Grand Budapest Hotel is a hilarious, highly-entertaining yet intelligent comedy that, although sometimes crowded both narratively and visually, is a constant joy to view. With an amazing performance by Ralph Fiennes - the film is yet another success for the brilliant Wes Anderson and will surely please fans of his works.
  57. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    An exquisite entertaining ride driven by the artistic and originating classy-toned style of it all. The editing is crisply foreboding through the vision of Wes Anderson's comical cinematic direction. He brings together yet another star-studded cast into his fantasy world and focuses on real morals in the manner alike a loony tunes episode. The Grand Budepest Hotel is a near perfect rare film I have always imagined, and has now finally been put on screen. Expand
  58. Jul 1, 2014
    8
    Wes Anderson has been steadfastly honing his finesse since the outset of his career starting from BOTTLE ROCKET (1996) when he was only 27, from then, this wunderkind’s filmography has flourished healthily, presently he is among the most successful auteur in US indie ground and internationally his fame also balloons with his audience, his eighth feature THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL, this year Berlin International Film Festival’s opening film (and Grand Jury Prize winner) and a genuine box-office triumph, indicates he is not slowing down in any aspect.
    read rest of my review on my blog: google cinema omnivore, thanks
    Expand
  59. Jul 27, 2014
    5
    For Wes Anderson "The Grand Budapest Hotel" is a masterpiece, but that doesn't mean it was all that great. What made it better than his other films was its fast paced, incorporated humor and had some better acting. In the end though it was am average film.
  60. Jul 20, 2014
    6
    Wes Anderson brings creativity and style to this above average story. There were certainly funny and even exciting moments to this movie, but in the end it just didn't wow me.
  61. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Charming, ironic, funny, sad and nostalgic story. Beautiful art direction, meticulously crafted characters and dialogues.

    One of the best movies of the decade for sure.
  62. Jun 10, 2014
    8
    Average story but good storytelling with great pictures. I like the spattering of other major actors in the film. However it isn't the story nor these actors but rather Wes' vision for this film that brings it to like with great colors and some imagination. His first such success in some time I'd say. Although without supreme, laugh out loud moments, well worth the watch.
  63. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    This one managed to completely live up to my hopes. First off, like all Wes Anderson films, it has a very distinctive look, which is endlessly gorgeous, but I think this one is the most beautiful of his works for me. Every set piece, every costume, every shot, every everything, was absolutely breathtaking. I would be hard-pressed to find a shot that is not beautiful. The amount of symmetry in practically every shot was also very impressive and shows you how much work was put into this one. One thing that differentiaties this one from other works of his that I have seen is how the exterior shots of buildings (such as the hotel) look almost animated from a distance even though they are obviously not. It was a very odd, yet awesome touch. On top of the beauty of the film, it is absolutely hilarious. Ralph Fiennes makes for a hilarious main character (not really the lead) and there were so many scenes with him that were absolutely hilarious. I honestly never expected to laugh as much as I did, but this was easily the funniest Anderson film I have seen yet. On top of these positives, the story was incredibly engrossing and never really caused me to lose any interest, as there was no real lull in the film. Overall, The Grand Budapest Hotel is a great film that is probably my favorite Anderson film to date and will likely wind up being one of my favorites of 2014. Expand
  64. Jul 24, 2014
    8
    Slightly too much Wes Anderson makes me rate this film just under Moonrise but it is still an extremely enjoyable film. Ralph Fiennes steals the show with a breathtaking performance, brimming with fun and comedic value, something I honestly didn't think that Fiennes had despite seeing him in In Bruges. Would definitely recommend to pretty much anybody (except for Michael Bay fans).
  65. May 3, 2014
    10
    Holy hell! What an Astonishing film, easily the funniest film/best film I've seen in years, delightful splendid and heart driving to the brink of collapse, my lungs felt as if they were to burst. Wes Andreston is a poet, artist and this truly has to be one of his finniest accomplishments in cinematography, never have i seen a film completely leaving me absolutely speechless due to the bizarre and unreal, yet somehow believable events that take place throughout the film. Simply enough the film is about a lonely Lobby boy and the man that decided to take him under his wing this creating a spectacular relationship of friendship and the odd occurrences that were to come.

    The Grand Budapest Hotel is a solid 10/10.
    Expand
  66. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    Su di un film come questo, o ti limiti a ‘è una meraviglia da vedere assolutamente’ o ci scrivi una tesi di laurea. Qualsiasi soluzione intermedia finisce per risultare incompleta già mentre la si compone, ma, visto che la prima alternativa è un po’ sbrigativa e non c’è il tempo per la seconda, vedrò di arrampicarmi sugli specchi, mettendo innanzitutto le mani avanti: non ho letto nulla delle opere di Stefan Zweig a cui la pellicola è ispirata. L’ultimo lavoro di Wes Anderson mette in mostra una leggerezza e una godibilità rare, regalando al pubblico poco meno di cento minuti di sorridente divertimento sorretto da un invidiabile senso del ritmo e da una capacità di costruire e sbrogliare situazioni che rievoca a pieno titolo il tocco alla Lubitsch. Le caratteristiche peculiari del regista statunitense raggiungono qui un livello davvero sopraffino, si tratti dell’evidente artificiosità, del muoversi accelerato dei personaggi nei momenti cruciali oppure dell’attenta costruzione delle inquadrature come piccoli quadri o, meglio ancora, vignette di fumetto (ma non da meno sono i campi lunghi, come quello della hall dell’hotel ripresa a mezz’altezza in cui, all’improvviso, spunta in basso a destra la testa di Henckels/Edward Norton che guarda in macchina). In più, c’è un efficace uso dell’animazione a passo uno, in un crescendo che va dalla fantasiosa cremagliera che raggiunge l’hotel alle infantili funivie che fanno salire sui picchi i personaggi che poi ne scendono con un omaggio ai giochi invernali che viaggia a velocità da vecchia comica. Eppure, dietro a tutto questo, c’è una struttura estremamente complessa dal punto di vista narrativo oltre che da quello puramente tecnico. Anche se scivolano inavvertiti l’uno nell’altro, sono quattro i piani temporali che costituiscono la storia – il formato dello schermo varia di conseguenza - con importanza crescente man mano che si torna indietro nel tempo, ma, soprattutto e a dispetto dei molti sorrisi che dispensa, il racconto è permeato da un senso di decadenza e di morte (alto in modo inatteso è il numero di trapassi giovani e violenti) che lascia un inconfondibile retrogusto amaro. Del resto, il film si apre sul muro sbrecciato di un vecchio cimitero, prosegue nella casa dello Scrittore da Vecchio (Tom Wilkinson) che sembra un set lasciato a metà e si avvia davvero nel morituro Grand Budapest degli anni Sessanta, albergo dal pesante decoro di ispirazione sovietica in cui vagano pochi clienti solitari. Qui, lo Scrittore da Giovane (Jude Law) incontra il proprietario, signor Moustafa (F. Murray Abraham) che gli racconta di quando, con il nome di Zero, era l’ultimo dei fattorini ed era stato accolto sotto l’ala protettiva di quello che era il concierge principe agli inizi degli anni Trenta, quando l’aspetto e la vitalità dell’hotel erno ben altri. Questo M. Gustave (uno strepitoso Ralph Fiennes davvero a suo agio) è il vero signore dell’albergo, rispettato dai colleghi e amato dalla clientela – e, in particolar modo, dalle clienti, specie se anziane e danarose. Quando una di queste (ennesima prova da fachiro al trucco per Tilda Swinton) viene assassinata, Gustave è il primo dei sospettati anche perchè il testamento della nobildonna lo favorisce assai donandogli un quadro di inestimabile valore (ed è geniale la sostituzione dello stesso con un dipinto nello stile di Egon Schiele che raffigura un amore lesbico di cui per un mucchio di tempo nessuno si accorge): il nostro finisce perfino in galera, da cui evade appoggiandosi al gruppo di Ludwig (Harvey Keitel), ma, con l’assai fattivo aiuto di Zero (l’esordiente Tony Revolori) e fidanzata (Saoirse Ronan) riesce a evitare gli agguati del truce Jopling (Willem Defoe) e ad averla vinta in un lieto fine reso meno lieto dai flash-forward – se così li possiamo definire. Il tutto sullo sfondo di un mondo che cambia. Gustave e gli altri, in fondo, ballano sul Titanic del piccolo Stato di Zubrowska che viene invaso dal potente e nazisteggiante vicino sul cui treno salta subito Dmitri (Adrien Brody), l’erede della defunta baronessa che cerca di mettere le mani sulla di lei fortuna: pare inevitabile che la maggior parte dei personaggi non riesca a sopravvivere nella nuova era. Come si sarà potuto notare, il cast è di altissimo livello, eppure nessuno dà l’impressione di essere stato appiccicato lì per caso o per fare il lustrino, inclusi coloro che hanno solo poche battute come i fedelissimi del regista Bill Murray e Bob Balaban, i francesi Mathieu Amalric e Léa Seydoux o un irriconoscibile Owen Wilson: più spazio ha invece il redivivo (per me) Jeff Goldblum nei panni dell’avvocato Kovacs. Una volta giunti alla fine, vien voglia di ricominciare perché, poco ma sicuro, qualcosa che sfugge c’è: meditando su questo, si seguono con soddisfazione anche i titoli di coda, non tanto per il comunque travolgente concerto di balalaike quanto per il cosacco animato che danza in un angolo con performances segnate da un crescendo di entusiasmo. Expand
  67. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    Great film by Wes Anderson. Saw it first when it was at limited release at a small theater.
    Reminded me of Moonrise Kingdom but with more eccentric characters.
    In summary, if you like Wes Anderson films, you'll like this one. I bought it because I like his style. Movies are an escape, an alternate reality and this movie has that atmosphere and feeling. At least worth a rental.
  68. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    Wes Anderson's "The Grand Budapest Hotel" is a riotously funny and shockingly poignant opus with brilliant camerawork, satisfyingly characteristic production design, and some really adorable performances.
  69. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    One of the director I always look forward to his movie release is that Wes Anderson. Well, who don't like his movies if they are aware of his masterworks. He's one of the unique filmmakers with extraordinary ideas. I always love his screenplay, especially his miniature cinema sets. He believes in those technics and presents on the screen awesomely than completely done with computer graphics. In this movie as well he used them very nicely and gives pleasure to watch it.

    As usual this movie too a comedy with director's traditional actors in it. A comedy that set in the backdrop of a hotel theme and their employees. This hotel is called 'The Grand Budapest Hotel' located on the edge of the Alp mountain in a fictional EU country Zubrowska. The story proceeds with the two layers of flashback to the years 1968 and 1932. It unfolds the life story of Gustave, prestigious hotel's caretaker and his pupil Zero, a lobby boy. Theirs struggle over the accusation of a crime and the other side world war is on a verge to invade the nation. Whether they successful to defend against the charges or not is the remaining story speaks.

    Nice story and performances with eye catching visuals. Easily one of the best of this year. It looks very ordinary if it was a usual style movie, but Wes Anderson's touch made all the differences. The adventures are the highlights in all of his movies and so in this movie. Lots of whites and pinks you can see on the screen which is kind of trademark of this movie. In this humour movie violence partially attached, but safely avoided all the cruelties. With the lend of Saoirse Ronan character the story exploits a little bit youthful romance side. The introduction of other characters in the middle of the storytelling made more venturesome in the later parts.

    I kind of doubt to suggest it if you are unfamiliar with Wes Anderson's earlier works. You should better start with them before committing this movie. There's a reason, because you may not indulge it like my friend who saw this with me who never hear the director. Otherwise, it is..., of course it is another masterwork by Wes. Anyway, I loved it and waiting for his new project announcement.
    Expand
  70. Jul 18, 2014
    7
    It's a fun little movie, and for the most part I enjoyed it. Anderson's style is unique, and the characters are likeable, even if they are lacking somewhat in depth. It's not as great as most critics are claiming it to be though. It's uneven, and I found the first 20 minutes or so to be gratingly pretentious. It also has a couple of moralistic failings. I did think it was better than Moonrise Kingdom though. It doesn't put children into deplorable situations, and it felt more weighty to me. By that I mean it feels like it can stick with you longer, and that the whole plot was less pointless. I also liked the cast. Saoirse Ronan did feel a little underused to me though. Overall it's amusing, but only certain people of very specific tastes will truly love it. I merely liked it. Expand
  71. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    Not as intriguing as usual, I think, but still a million times better than anything that has come out lately. I couldn't stop wondering how they managed to gather so many famous actors in one film. The movie itself is kind of slow compared to what we were promised in the trailer, but the humour is great and it is genuinely Wes Anderson.
  72. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    This is truly one of the first comedies this year I've seen that not only made me laugh hysterically (for the most part), but made me appreciate the art of film making. Surprisingly enough, the humor is very vulgar and sometimes even dark, but it's funny never the less. But it wouldn't be the way it is without the help of its wonderful script, stylistic film-making, and amazing characters! It's a wonderfully funny and stylistic film you shouldn't miss. But honestly you can skip the first and last minute or two. Other than that, still watch it. I give it an A! Expand
  73. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    A really enjoyable family ,good value film for all ages.excellent screenplay make us engaged from the beginning to end,beautiful stylish narration is very much interesting,a lot of characters , each and every actors n actress done fine job especially zero character. Above all wes anderson's superb direction make this film to a grand level of entertainment.
  74. Aug 15, 2014
    5
    I liked the Moonrise Kingdom more than this movie, Although there are huge similarities between the overall framing of the movies and also i can reconcile many scenes as similarly crafted but this time it lack the smoothness.
  75. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    As a frequent movie goes, I'm always at the movies. I'm watching whatever comes out that week. Whatever comes out, I'm always there. As this week came around, there really wasn't anything coming out. Rio was quite a joke and the second one seemed worse. Oculus looked like a joke of a movie and didn't interest me. So I went to see this strange movie by Wes Anderson. Wes in my eyes is a hot and cold director. I've only seen two of his movies. Royal Tennebaums (good) and Moonrise Kingdom (bad) were the only two I've seen. It did get my attention because of the RT score and I did like RT. I wasn't disappointed, as this movie is one of my favorite comedies of all time.

    It follows the adventures of M. Gustave and his lobby boy as he is framed from murder. The very crass and vulgar movie is saved by this very weird stylish film. Everything (and I mean everything) fits together and the superstar cast doesn't disappoint. I could go on and on about this litter wonderful movie, but I could talk for hours on it. If you like Anderson, I would recommend it. If you don't then I might stay away. Though I know a lot of people who doesn't like him actually liked him. Overall 2014 is saved no matter what happens after this. If Godzilla fails and everything else just fails...it doesn't matter. This year was saved with the top 3 comedy movie ever. 9.5/10
    Expand
  76. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    A jumpy, exciting, and stylish comedy with enough ridiculous comedy to make you piss yourself. The ensemble does well with the quirkiness of the script, especially this newcomer Tony Revolori, who I daresay was more enjoyable than anyone other than Ralph Fiennes, who is perfect for this role. All in all, it might be a practice for style rather than story, but its over-the-top feel makes it all the more enjoyable. Expand
  77. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is awesome in everything. Your actors are very funny and great, howeber is stil most imporant the argument . In my opinion this movie have an amazing original soundtrack which transform in a emblem of your type Expand
  78. Jul 14, 2014
    8
    Bolstered by a fantastic cast, great premise, first class acting, and a funny script, The Grand Budapest Hotel ranks as Wes Anderson's best work to date.
  79. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    Wes Anderson is at it again with his style and antics that we've all come to know and love. With this being his biggest film yet, a huge all-star cast guides the film along rather smoothly. Ralph Fiennes is delightfully funny in the lead role of the film. Obviously there's way too many other cast members for me to go over so I'll just keep it short by saying that everyone does a marvelous job in the film. There are no wasted actors or appearances in the film. Everyone served a purpose in one way or another. Despite a somewhat anticlimactic final act, it's still yet another solid addition to Wes Anderson's great line of films. Fans of His previous work will almost certainly love it. Non-fans might still appreciate it for its zaniness and the great cast. Overall, definitely worth a view. Expand
  80. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Unique visual exploration and stylish picture with unique dark humour successfully attaches my eyes and my laughter, makes "The Grand Budapest Hotel" proper to shout : "What could this film really exist?"
  81. Jun 18, 2014
    7
    Despite its slow pace and overabundance of characters, Wes Anderson's The Grand Budapest Hotel is quirky, acted flawlessly and shot in typical Wes Anderson fashion.
  82. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    Wes Anderson's quirky "Grand Budapest Hotel" straddles the line between comedy and drama effortlessly, producing a film that is comical, heartfelt, thoughtfully realized, supremely entertaining and deeply rewarding. And the cast...Ralph FIennes makes the film. His energetic lead performance is infused with a crackling wit, yet is also quite moving. The supporting players on show are also quite good: Adrien Brody, Willem Dafoe, Tilda Swinton and newcomer Tony Revolori stand out to me. Pure entertainment. I loved "The Grand Budapest Hotel" and cannot wait to see it again. Expand
  83. Jul 23, 2014
    1
    I promised I'd never see one of his dreadfully made things again. But again the reviews convinced me it would be a watchable thing for a broad viewership that I needed. Again: never again. Puerile and pretty much pathetic in that every decision Anderson makes is terrible and the film ends up as a series of little fun but cheap turns. Exudes mediocrity at every gesture.
  84. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    A few years back, I considered watching Wes Anderson's Moonrise Kingdom, but unfortunately, I stocked this movie in my watch list and until this day I didn't watch it. We have a familiar stocking case of The Grand Budapest Hotel, but I was more intrigued by the colorful cast of Ralph Fiennes, Adrien Brody and especially the lovely most talented Tilda Swinton (Only Lovers Left Alive, Snowpiercer) and a bunch of huge talented people in this film. The Grand Budapest Hotel carries the misadventures of M. Gustave H., his Lobby Boy and the accusation of murder. Wes Anderson has a unique style of filmmaking, starting of the the top notch performances, especially the cinematography and the very weird visual effects the deprives the movie from the real world into a fantastic sort of magical world. Every single frame in this film is collected and masterfully crafted into the picture, keeping the film from A to Z neat, mesmerizing and very intriguing. The Grand Budapest Hotel is surprisingly violent, crude and most wonderfully entertaining and heartwarming. This kind of filmmaking does not suit all kinds of people, however the movie overall is unique, original one of a kind masterpiece with outstanding performances, mesmerizing cinematography and a very intelligent, fun screenplay. The Grand Budapest Hotel is magical! Expand
  85. Mar 31, 2014
    7
    This is the best 'Wes Anderson film' to date, but not Wes Anderson's best film to date. It's large cast ensemble, sporadic punchlines and use of enframing lend itself to be very entertaining and tightly crafted from beginning to end, but also lend itself to be much of the same. Nevertheless, if you're a fan of Wes Anderson's catalog - or a casual moviegoer - this is certainly another work that should be enjoyed by all. Expand
  86. May 10, 2014
    10
    What else can we ask for? It's got Wes Anderson as director, a smart, funny and unexpected screenplay, with an amazing top notch cast that delivered awesome performances. It is a one of a kind journey. Anderson, once again, has been able to amaze us with an original masterpiece with a unique style and storytelling.
  87. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    The Grand Budapest Hotel es una de esas película de comedia que no les importa las irregularidades que tiene el film, y que por lo tanto la convierte en una buena película debido a un buen encaje de esas irregularidades.
  88. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    9
    The Grand Budapest Hotel was quite an entertaining film with excellent actors, a very imaginative story, and was very believable with the direction of Wes Anderson.
  89. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    Just when you thought Wes Anderson could not get anymore Wes Andersony he puts out his hilarious and touching "The Grand Budapest Hotel". This film honestly has everything in it comedy, romance, and a little bit of suspense. The entire cast was amazing and many of Wes' favorites are back even for very small roles. The real star of the film is Ralph Fiennes as M. Gustave, he never misses a beat in this quirky and well paced film. All of the other actors are spot on and give such great performances that pulls this piece together in a complete and wonderful film experience. Definitely Wes' best chance at getting an Academy Award nomination as well as finally being recognized for his amazing talent! Expand
  90. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    Una película con toques sutiles de comedia, artística y técnicamente una obra maestra, con muy buena dirección y un magnifico guión, que dice presente en las listas de premios de las siguiente temporada.
  91. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    Going into this film I had no idea what it was about or what I was in for. The Grand Budapest Hotel is classified under the genre of drama and comedy, so I was expecting something much like Silver Linings Playbook; I was way off. This film is by far the most bizarre thing I have ever seen, weirdly creative dialogue and simple cinematography kept me entertained the whole runtime. After recently finishing a collage photography class, one thing that really popped out was the simple yet so creative framing of the scenes. Every shot in the film held lines, whether it was the straight ledge that formed a line on the side of a building or the many paintings shown throughout, all shots captured lines of some sort. Camera work was very impressive and held the pacing and style of the movie perfectly. Editing knocked it out of the park with smart and creative scenes that played out into chapters which was how the movie was organized. The script was uniquely written with creative inflection that keeps you wondering what the next sentence will bring. My only concern with the film is that it was almost too abstract, and this took away from the scenes that followed because your mind was still stuck on the last one, trying to figure it out. All in all it’s a great film that executed a change of style and pacing, perfectly. The Grand Budapest Hotel is a must-see as long as you can stay awake and open your mind. In my opinion, the less you know about this movie, going in to it, the better. If the film settles well with critics, it will be one to keep an eye on when the Oscars roll around.  For me, personally, due to the abstract scene changes mentioned above, I'm going to need to watch it again, to pick up on what I may have missed…that's not a bad thing but speaks of how cerebral the story line was.  At this time, I've not watched all the 2014 releases, but of the ones I have seen, this ranks atop the list. Expand
  92. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    An incredibly enjoyable movie, The Grand Budapest Hotel combines wonky eccentricity with excellent acting and just plain charm. It's a lot of fun from start to finish.
  93. May 9, 2014
    7
    This is an odd one... I don't really know if it's a good movie or not... I love Wes Anderson, but this isn't anything like any of the previous ones... That's a bad thing. I miss the "innocent" Wes Anderson of Rushmore and The Life Aquatic. In conclusion: It's a good movie, but I wouldn't call it a Wes Anderson movie.
  94. May 21, 2014
    10
    I have watched film called “The Grand Budapest Hotel”. Film director Wes Anderson creates his own world, full of colourful characters and nicely warm atmosphere. Every little detail and every set made me speechless. From lead character Gustave H.'s purple jacket to the title of the newspaper announcing the war. Anderson has given thought and attention to everything.
    The plot is not very
    important, because it is merely a vehicle for the stunning visuals, the dark humour and the rapid-fire dialogue. It's all about a hotel concierge, Gustave H., who is being chased by various villains for stealing a painting. Some of the scenes are very funny, but there is always a darker tone because of the war. Anderson doesn't shy away from extreme violence, but he shows it almost comical manner.
    Ralph Fiennes is acting as the Gustave H., who never despairs, even in the most unfavourable circumstances. He is supported by a large number of star actors, who are sometimes almost unrecognizable. Tilda Swinton gets rather little screen time, as does Harvey Keitel. Although, film director`s choice of actors is fantastic and even side scenes are played very well.
    The plot is not always very easy to follow, and the dialogue is fast. There are the great camera angles and the wonderful detailed sets to pay attention to. I think by seeing the film a second time you can discover lots of things you didn't notice the first time. Both camera and sound operators did a great job, that is why it catches attention of audience.
    I would recommend this film for those who are searching for the film, that could change their world-view and make them laugh at the same time. It is fulfilled with irony and colour. It must be watched.
    Expand
  95. Jun 8, 2014
    8
    I can attest to this being one of the most visually interesting movies of all time. Every shot feels like a work of art, and a lot of time and effort was put into casting, cinematography, editing, and costume/set design. It's a perfectly realized world. With that being said, I didn't want the movie to end. At the same time, I wasn't riveted at what I was experiencing. It was the visual style that pulled me in, but not much else. The script is sharp and eloquently written, but it feels a tad overly classy. It's hard to say why I don't think this is perfect because it is (cinematically speaking). Perhaps a second viewing is in order. Whatever the case is, I recommend this to film buffs exclusively as one can appreciate the care and detail that went into each second of runtime. I don't know how casual watchers would interpret the film. It's something to see for yourself and be the judge of. Expand
  96. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    It is safe to say that the Grand Budapst hotel is one of those breakthrough moments, a movie that is so beautiful realized from start to finish, that I almost doubted myself on the way home. could I really enjoyed that film that much?
  97. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    As a general rule I love quirky, odd films and The Grand Budapest Hotel certainly delivers on that front.

    The story will keep you involved and wanting to know more throughout the film, the style of filming also adds to the general positive atmosphere. With some strong acting and equally strong odd ball characters you are sure to enjoy this film.

    There are plenty of twists and turns
    and several cameo roles by some famous actors. But unfortunately this is where the positives end for me. The film feels like it is trying so very hard to look like a quirky independent production, but sadly missing the spot somewhat.

    It seems with every character in this film, talking role or not they just have to be odd or doing something odd in the background which detracts from the great story. Also some of the "comic book" style scenes really do not work in this film.

    Sadly this is a little bit of a miss for me, yes it does have a strong story and great atmosphere but struggles to hit the sweet spot. Certainly worth a rent for a family film with plenty of odd ball action and I would certainly sit down and watch it again sometime.
    Expand
  98. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    This movie is a beautiful mental travel, the decorations are sumptuous, childish, magic, splendid. A scenario which is authorized all, without fearing to exacerbate the feelings. Impression that this director takes its dreams with serious, and that made an insane good.
  99. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Prior to watching this: I haven't seen any of the director's film, except for The Fantastic Mr Fox, and even then, only partially.
    Review:
    Pros: Fast pace, quirky, very funny and a very attractive story. Great acting from ensemble cast, especially Fiennes.
    Cons: Can't think of one.
    4.5/5 - Good enough to spend money to watch it in the cinema and perhaps buy the DVD.
  100. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    Rich in both storytelling and visual style, The Grand Budapest Hotel is in an engaging, must see film. Ralph Fiennes is simply brilliant in his performance alongside his diverse and very well cast co-stars. My only complaint was that it did take a little while to settle into the film, but once settled, you are certainly in for quite an exciting ride.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Ben Nicholson
    Jun 23, 2014
    80
    Despite being one of his most ostentatious films to date, the setting, plot, performances and authorial tone on display marry together seamlessly to simultaneously heighten and smooth his trademark style.
  2. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    100
    It is safe to say that The Grand Budapest Hotel is one of those breakthrough moments, a movie that is so beautifully realized from start to finish that I almost doubted myself on the way home. Could I really have enjoyed that film that much?
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 27, 2014
    100
    The Grand Budapest Hotel is as artistically manicured as any of his seven previous movies, and richer comically and emotionally than most.