Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 695 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: The Grand Budapest Hotel recounts the adventures of M. Gustave, a legendary concierge at a famous European hotel between the wars, and Zero Moustafa, the lobby boy who becomes his most trusted friend. The story involves the theft and recovery of a priceless Renaissance painting and theThe Grand Budapest Hotel recounts the adventures of M. Gustave, a legendary concierge at a famous European hotel between the wars, and Zero Moustafa, the lobby boy who becomes his most trusted friend. The story involves the theft and recovery of a priceless Renaissance painting and the battle for an enormous family fortune—all against the back-drop of a suddenly and dramatically changing continent. [Fox Searchlight] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    100
    It is safe to say that The Grand Budapest Hotel is one of those breakthrough moments, a movie that is so beautifully realized from start to finish that I almost doubted myself on the way home. Could I really have enjoyed that film that much?
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Feb 6, 2014
    100
    It’s wonderful.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 13, 2014
    100
    That perception of Fiennes and Gustave is central to the whole enterprise. Without it, the movie just breaks off and flies away. But with it, The Grand Budapest Hotel becomes something wonderful.
  4. 88
    We should all be so lucky as to live in a world designed, peopled and manipulated by Wes Anderson. His latest film, The Grand Budapest Hotel, is a dark, daft and deft triumph of design details.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 13, 2014
    88
    From the start, it’s clear Anderson is working with a new sophistication both in the vocabulary and structure of the film’s voiceover narrations.
  6. Reviewed by: Ben Nicholson
    Jun 23, 2014
    80
    Despite being one of his most ostentatious films to date, the setting, plot, performances and authorial tone on display marry together seamlessly to simultaneously heighten and smooth his trademark style.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 4, 2014
    50
    “GBH” is a featherweight screwball comedy that, trying mightily to be cosmopolitan, feels awfully provincial, desperately touristy.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 141
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    All of which combines to make what feels like Wes Anderson’s most heartfelt film thus far. One that effortlessly straddles genres and works asAll of which combines to make what feels like Wes Anderson’s most heartfelt film thus far. One that effortlessly straddles genres and works as both a nostalgic paean to a more innocent time and an examination of the very nature of storytelling itself. But most of all, it’s a beautifully realised account of the friendship that once formed between a lowly lobby boy and the legendary concierge who took him under his wing. Grand Budapest Hotel finds director Wes Anderson at the top of his game, delivering what may be his best film yet. Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    Ralph Fiennes played such a hilarious character accompanied and I thought Adrian Brody and Willem Dafoe were funny as brothers. I alsoRalph Fiennes played such a hilarious character accompanied and I thought Adrian Brody and Willem Dafoe were funny as brothers. I also especially loved the style of the miniature sets as I loved the style. Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    With its star-studded cast, beautiful scenery, and fast-moving plot, The Grand Budapest Hotel hits all the right notes, and is one ofWith its star-studded cast, beautiful scenery, and fast-moving plot, The Grand Budapest Hotel hits all the right notes, and is one of Anderson's best films. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2015
    8
    As my first Wes Anderson movie I did not know exactly what to expect, but I certainly had high expectations for the movie following the hugeAs my first Wes Anderson movie I did not know exactly what to expect, but I certainly had high expectations for the movie following the huge wave of Oscar nods. What may seem like a complex and preposterous plot unfolds quite lovingly thanks to the wonderful performances of Ralph Fiennes and Tony Revolori. While there is an excess of characters, I think it was all part of the fun. The cinematography was unique and truly sets the stage for the comedy that is very subtle at times; you should not expect a build up of jokes that end in an eruption of laughter, but rather to find yourself smiling throughout. Overall, a very enjoyable and genuine comedy, although perhaps not worthy of all the commotion it has stirred. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2014
    7
    The first thing I knew about Grand Budapest Hotel after leaving the theater was that some moments shined over others. 60% of the film isThe first thing I knew about Grand Budapest Hotel after leaving the theater was that some moments shined over others. 60% of the film is interesting enough, but lacks a great driving mechanism or significant motive. However, chunks of it really stand out, being as funny and charming as any Wes Anderson movie I've seen. A similar trend exists with the film's actors and characters. The new and upcoming Tony Revolori, and the A-List veteran Ralph Fiennes are excellent as the film's head protagonists. Adrien Brody as Dmitri is hilarious, and Wes Anderson's other signature actors (Bill Murray, Ed Norton, Jason Schwartzman) all make small cameos. The only problem with this film is, some of the characters and situations are severely underutilized. As you can see above, plenty of major stars have a role, but many of them are either too short or too simple. Situations are sometimes built up and then let off easy. I think Anderson has tried a bit too hard to pack stars and visuals in, that the film's direction has resulted in some shortcomings. Regardless, they certainly don't detract from the film in any way, and Grand Budapest Hotel still makes for a funny adventure film that bleeds charm and whimsy, in typical Anderson style. Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2014
    6
    Wes Anderson brings creativity and style to this above average story. There were certainly funny and even exciting moments to this movie, butWes Anderson brings creativity and style to this above average story. There were certainly funny and even exciting moments to this movie, but in the end it just didn't wow me. Expand
  7. May 4, 2014
    0
    If you are the kind who thinks nothing of spending $5.50 on a latte mocafretti frappe cappuccino, reads/studies Nietzsche and still thinksIf you are the kind who thinks nothing of spending $5.50 on a latte mocafretti frappe cappuccino, reads/studies Nietzsche and still thinks it's quality time spent when watching the Kardashian's , would gladly pay scalping-prices of $200/ticket for your seven yr old daughter or granddaughter to see Katy Perry, then run to see this movie. This was a listed as an R-rated comedy? Yeh, that is a laugh. bill murray...wasted owen Wilson...wasted. harvey keitel...ditto. adrien brody....How could you? I can't recall a more forgettable bunch of worthless dialogue and disjunctive goings-on. I darn near asked for money back. total waste of time. Expand

See all 141 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2015 Oscar Nominations

    2015 Oscar Nominations Image
    Published: January 15, 2015
    Birdman, The Grand Budapest Hotel, and The Imitation Game are among the most-nominated films at the 87th Annual Academy Awards. Find a full list of nominations in all 24 categories inside.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  3. Best of 2014: Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 6, 2014
    Over the next month, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  4. Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard

    Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 1, 2014
    Find a complete list of 2014's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.
  5. The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far

    The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 2, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst movies released during the first half of 2014.
  6. Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2014
    We pick out the most noteworthy films arriving in March and April, including Veronica Mars, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and new movies from Lars von Trier, Wes Anderson, Darren Aronofsky, Jonathan Glazer, Jim Jarmusch, and Denis Villeneuve.
  7. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.