Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 461 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Feb 6, 2014
    100
    It’s wonderful.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 13, 2014
    100
    That perception of Fiennes and Gustave is central to the whole enterprise. Without it, the movie just breaks off and flies away. But with it, The Grand Budapest Hotel becomes something wonderful.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    100
    It is safe to say that The Grand Budapest Hotel is one of those breakthrough moments, a movie that is so beautifully realized from start to finish that I almost doubted myself on the way home. Could I really have enjoyed that film that much?
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 13, 2014
    88
    What does it add up to? What’s it all about, Wes? In a word: evanescence.
  5. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 20, 2014
    83
    Anderson leavens the lunacy with a few acts of sudden and extreme violence or avert-your-face sex, which seem as extravagant as the rest of his notions. Perhaps they’re in there to change the flavor of the humor, the way Mendl might put a bitter coffee bean in a chocolate torte to keep it from cloying us.
  6. Reviewed by: Damon Wise
    Mar 3, 2014
    80
    Another meticulously stylish and deadpan Wes Anderson movie that walks the fine line between masterpiece and folly.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 4, 2014
    50
    “GBH” is a featherweight screwball comedy that, trying mightily to be cosmopolitan, feels awfully provincial, desperately touristy.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 110
  2. Negative: 17 out of 110
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    All of which combines to make what feels like Wes Anderson’s most heartfelt film thus far. One that effortlessly straddles genres and works as both a nostalgic paean to a more innocent time and an examination of the very nature of storytelling itself. But most of all, it’s a beautifully realised account of the friendship that once formed between a lowly lobby boy and the legendary concierge who took him under his wing. Grand Budapest Hotel finds director Wes Anderson at the top of his game, delivering what may be his best film yet. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Unique visual exploration and stylish picture with unique dark humour successfully attaches my eyes and my laughter, makes "The Grand Budapest Hotel" proper to shout : "What could this film really exist?" Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    Other than Schindler's List, this is probably Ralph Fiennes' best work. He's hysterically funny, and his supporting cast is also incredibly solid. Wes Anderson has such an amazing sense of style - his shots/locations are just beautiful. From Anderson's catalog, I would give Moonrise Kingdom a slight edge, but only slight. Definitely stay throughout the credits - the music is infectious. Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2014
    8
    Slightly too much Wes Anderson makes me rate this film just under Moonrise but it is still an extremely enjoyable film. Ralph Fiennes steals the show with a breathtaking performance, brimming with fun and comedic value, something I honestly didn't think that Fiennes had despite seeing him in In Bruges. Would definitely recommend to pretty much anybody (except for Michael Bay fans). Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    Great film by Wes Anderson. Saw it first when it was at limited release at a small theater.
    Reminded me of Moonrise Kingdom but with more
    eccentric characters.
    In summary, if you like Wes Anderson films, you'll like this one. I bought it because I like his style. Movies are an escape, an alternate reality and this movie has that atmosphere and feeling. At least worth a rental.
    Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    5
    Found this movie to be boring, and really not all that great. I didn't laugh really for this to be a comedy, and was actually confused on how it could get such great reviews. Perhaps my taste in movies is terrible but this just wasn't there. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    Aside from a few laughs early on, this movie quickly became one of the dullest films I have ever seen, despite its cute visuals and overabundance of talent who signed up to play the various roles. The characters were all quite flat, unbelievable, and the lack of depth led to a lack of any drama. Everything just felt very pat and inconsequential. The plot felt like something they were making up as they went along. The film also feels exceedingly self conscious and aware of its own cuteness, which pushed it toward the annoying end of the "indie" spectrum. Expand

See all 110 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far

    The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 2, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst movies released during the first half of 2014.
  2. Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2014
    We pick out the most noteworthy films arriving in March and April, including Veronica Mars, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and new movies from Lars von Trier, Wes Anderson, Darren Aronofsky, Jonathan Glazer, Jim Jarmusch, and Denis Villeneuve.
  3. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.