Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 394 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Feb 6, 2014
    100
    It’s wonderful.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 13, 2014
    100
    That perception of Fiennes and Gustave is central to the whole enterprise. Without it, the movie just breaks off and flies away. But with it, The Grand Budapest Hotel becomes something wonderful.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    100
    It is safe to say that The Grand Budapest Hotel is one of those breakthrough moments, a movie that is so beautifully realized from start to finish that I almost doubted myself on the way home. Could I really have enjoyed that film that much?
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 13, 2014
    88
    What does it add up to? What’s it all about, Wes? In a word: evanescence.
  5. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 20, 2014
    83
    Anderson leavens the lunacy with a few acts of sudden and extreme violence or avert-your-face sex, which seem as extravagant as the rest of his notions. Perhaps they’re in there to change the flavor of the humor, the way Mendl might put a bitter coffee bean in a chocolate torte to keep it from cloying us.
  6. Reviewed by: Damon Wise
    Mar 3, 2014
    80
    Another meticulously stylish and deadpan Wes Anderson movie that walks the fine line between masterpiece and folly.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 4, 2014
    50
    “GBH” is a featherweight screwball comedy that, trying mightily to be cosmopolitan, feels awfully provincial, desperately touristy.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 97
  2. Negative: 15 out of 97
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Unique visual exploration and stylish picture with unique dark humour successfully attaches my eyes and my laughter, makes "The Grand Budapest Hotel" proper to shout : "What could this film really exist?" Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    All of which combines to make what feels like Wes Anderson’s most heartfelt film thus far. One that effortlessly straddles genres and works as both a nostalgic paean to a more innocent time and an examination of the very nature of storytelling itself. But most of all, it’s a beautifully realised account of the friendship that once formed between a lowly lobby boy and the legendary concierge who took him under his wing. Grand Budapest Hotel finds director Wes Anderson at the top of his game, delivering what may be his best film yet. Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    Just when you thought Wes Anderson could not get anymore Wes Andersony he puts out his hilarious and touching "The Grand Budapest Hotel". This film honestly has everything in it comedy, romance, and a little bit of suspense. The entire cast was amazing and many of Wes' favorites are back even for very small roles. The real star of the film is Ralph Fiennes as M. Gustave, he never misses a beat in this quirky and well paced film. All of the other actors are spot on and give such great performances that pulls this piece together in a complete and wonderful film experience. Definitely Wes' best chance at getting an Academy Award nomination as well as finally being recognized for his amazing talent! Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    Best film of the year for me so far, script is witty and crisp, performances are superb all round but Ralph Fiennes, take a bow son, "That's lovely Zero but I have to stop you there as the alarm is ringing" Priceless. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    Another quirky diorama is added to the impressive collection of Wes Anderson who could be considered America's foremost auteur. And yet...

    The film is beautiful in its color and set designs. A ravishing impression of continental empirical splendor in a Slavic country prior to something like World War II. The question is, as for several of Anderson's last few films: how does it make you feel? The sight and offbeat gags are there and aplenty but can they support something that is not quite drama or comedy, and certainly not conventional storytelling.
    The last few scenes of the film redeem the previous segments as the relationship between M. Gustav H. and the Lobby Boy is cemented as a bond that finally feels genuine. And when the telescopic looking glass of the story's three time periods are finally pressed together, I did feel something close to profound melancholy for the memory of all the central characters in each age, no matter how ridiculous they were depicted.

    Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, and The Life Aquatic combined to showcase a new and unique voice in American cinema. In Rushmore, Max Fischer ambitiously pulls together a school stage play adaptation of the film Serpico. I loved that conceit then, but feel like that now IS the conceit for many of Anderson's latest films, including GBH and Moonrise Kingdom. Terrific actors reciting very serious-sounding, direct dialogue with middle school earnestness.
    Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2014
    6
    Wes Anderson brings creativity and style to this above average story. There were certainly funny and even exciting moments to this movie, but in the end it just didn't wow me. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2014
    0
    Just an awful movie. Not funny, weirdly directed, repetitive, featuring horrible florid set design, senseless celebrity cameo appearances, and some of the most boring dialogue ever. Hard for me to say how much I hated this movie. I know I'm in the minority, but I know I'm right too. Most people who say they like this movie probably secretly hated it. Expand

See all 97 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far

    The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 2, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst movies released during the first half of 2014.
  2. Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2014
    We pick out the most noteworthy films arriving in March and April, including Veronica Mars, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and new movies from Lars von Trier, Wes Anderson, Darren Aronofsky, Jonathan Glazer, Jim Jarmusch, and Denis Villeneuve.
  3. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.