Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 939 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: The Grand Budapest Hotel recounts the adventures of M. Gustave, a legendary concierge at a famous European hotel between the wars, and Zero Moustafa, the lobby boy who becomes his most trusted friend. The story involves the theft and recovery of a priceless Renaissance painting and theThe Grand Budapest Hotel recounts the adventures of M. Gustave, a legendary concierge at a famous European hotel between the wars, and Zero Moustafa, the lobby boy who becomes his most trusted friend. The story involves the theft and recovery of a priceless Renaissance painting and the battle for an enormous family fortune—all against the back-drop of a suddenly and dramatically changing continent. [Fox Searchlight] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    100
    It is safe to say that The Grand Budapest Hotel is one of those breakthrough moments, a movie that is so beautifully realized from start to finish that I almost doubted myself on the way home. Could I really have enjoyed that film that much?
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Feb 6, 2014
    100
    It’s wonderful.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 13, 2014
    100
    That perception of Fiennes and Gustave is central to the whole enterprise. Without it, the movie just breaks off and flies away. But with it, The Grand Budapest Hotel becomes something wonderful.
  4. 88
    We should all be so lucky as to live in a world designed, peopled and manipulated by Wes Anderson. His latest film, The Grand Budapest Hotel, is a dark, daft and deft triumph of design details.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 13, 2014
    88
    From the start, it’s clear Anderson is working with a new sophistication both in the vocabulary and structure of the film’s voiceover narrations.
  6. Reviewed by: Ben Nicholson
    Jun 23, 2014
    80
    Despite being one of his most ostentatious films to date, the setting, plot, performances and authorial tone on display marry together seamlessly to simultaneously heighten and smooth his trademark style.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 4, 2014
    50
    “GBH” is a featherweight screwball comedy that, trying mightily to be cosmopolitan, feels awfully provincial, desperately touristy.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 167
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    All of which combines to make what feels like Wes Anderson’s most heartfelt film thus far. One that effortlessly straddles genres and works asAll of which combines to make what feels like Wes Anderson’s most heartfelt film thus far. One that effortlessly straddles genres and works as both a nostalgic paean to a more innocent time and an examination of the very nature of storytelling itself. But most of all, it’s a beautifully realised account of the friendship that once formed between a lowly lobby boy and the legendary concierge who took him under his wing. Grand Budapest Hotel finds director Wes Anderson at the top of his game, delivering what may be his best film yet. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Wonderfully visual, funny, perfectly balanced adventure that kept my eyes wide open for the entire movie.
    The backdrop was extremely well
    Wonderfully visual, funny, perfectly balanced adventure that kept my eyes wide open for the entire movie.
    The backdrop was extremely well placed and despite the layers it was easy to follow and hugely enjoyable.
    The Grand Hotel Budapest has all the ingredients to become a classic.
    Go and see it.
    Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2014
    9
    Exquisite. Fiennes gives a dazzling performance in this 'comedy; with serious undertones from the war. Stating the obvious: the hotel andExquisite. Fiennes gives a dazzling performance in this 'comedy; with serious undertones from the war. Stating the obvious: the hotel and surrounding mountains are quite simply breathtaking, gorgeous setting. The interactions between Fiennes, the hotel staff as well as his romantic dalliances all make for a very enjoyable few hours. Comparable to the Cider House Rules and Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, Anderson takes a complex plot and thrusts out delightful entertainment. Ending was pleasant if slightly clichéd. Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    Not as intriguing as usual, I think, but still a million times better than anything that has come out lately. I couldn't stop wondering howNot as intriguing as usual, I think, but still a million times better than anything that has come out lately. I couldn't stop wondering how they managed to gather so many famous actors in one film. The movie itself is kind of slow compared to what we were promised in the trailer, but the humour is great and it is genuinely Wes Anderson. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2015
    8
    What a hilariously off beat black comedy by Wes Anderson. I found myself transfixed by the amazing cinematography, characters, soundtrack andWhat a hilariously off beat black comedy by Wes Anderson. I found myself transfixed by the amazing cinematography, characters, soundtrack and sets. Ralph Fiennes shined as Gustave H and Tony Revolori as Zero Moustafa played as his straight man foil. A great first movie to kickoff my 2015. Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2015
    6
    The Grand Budapest Hotel is funny and charming, and very much what you'd expect from Wes Anderson. In fact, I don't think it's too much of aThe Grand Budapest Hotel is funny and charming, and very much what you'd expect from Wes Anderson. In fact, I don't think it's too much of a stretch to say that there's really nothing new here. Wes Anderson makes all of his movies to appeal to the audience that he already has in the palm of his hand. In some ways that's a good thing, because Anderson certainly has a very unique style that appeals to a lot of people, and in other ways it's a bad thing, because there's never any attempt to expand his audience; it's just another Wes Anderson flick. I'm low-balling this review on purpose as a warning: I actually happened to really like this movie, but then again I am a Wes Anderson fan, and if you're a Wes Anderson fan, you'll probably like this movie also. However, if you're not a Wes Anderson fan, don't even bother with this one. Definitely a good flick, but by no means Anderson's best. Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2015
    0
    una verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! una verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! una verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! una verdadera porqueriauna verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! una verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! una verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! una verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! una verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! una verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! una verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! una verdadera porqueria de pelicula !! Expand

See all 167 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2015 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show

    2015 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show Image
    Published: February 23, 2015
    Find a full list of this year's Oscar winners, a look at the accuracy of user and expert predictions, and reviews of last night's ceremony hosted by Neil Patrick Harris.
  2. How to Predict the Oscars: 2015 Edition

    How to Predict the Oscars: 2015 Edition Image
    Published: February 12, 2015
    Need help filling out your Oscar pool? We look for patterns in recent races in a variety of Academy Awards categories.
  3. 2015 Oscar Nominations

    2015 Oscar Nominations Image
    Published: January 15, 2015
    Birdman, The Grand Budapest Hotel, and The Imitation Game are among the most-nominated films at the 87th Annual Academy Awards. Find a full list of nominations in all 24 categories inside.
  4. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  5. Best of 2014: Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 6, 2014
    Over the next month, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  6. Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard

    Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 1, 2014
    Find a complete list of 2014's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.
  7. The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far

    The Best & Worst Movies of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 2, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst movies released during the first half of 2014.
  8. Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2014
    We pick out the most noteworthy films arriving in March and April, including Veronica Mars, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and new movies from Lars von Trier, Wes Anderson, Darren Aronofsky, Jonathan Glazer, Jim Jarmusch, and Denis Villeneuve.
  9. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.