User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 100
  2. Negative: 8 out of 100

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This is not a film of Fellini. perhaps only the Italians can understand it. is closer to a malick's film. nature is replaced by the beauty of the city and the great beauty.beauty wakes up at dawn, in the light of the sun. and the beauty is not in the decadence of fashion but in the garden with the children in the trials of a choir, in memory of a love. the beauty that is also salvation is at hand for all. this is the message, but you have to know how to get out of the cynical bunch and take it. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    This extremely beautiful film, give me a weird message, we're million of people in a world where the beauty is out of our reach and it's a thing That the generations goes on, but it's clear, the beauty does not exist and Is not the real message, the real is the reason for we are here, surrounded by people who change our lives, explores the soul, life, death and life in Rome, the life of a millionaire to be exact. As Fellini, Sorrentino gives us a masterpiece, infused with beauty, which is undoubtedly one of the best movies of this year. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    A deeply affecting film of life lived on the surface. This story could only reach fulfillment in cinematic form. A must-see film one which makes us realize why we love movies.
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    Vivacious, sexual, vibrant, and enlightening. This is the best film I have seen in years. It is a mixture of Fellini, Antonioni, and Michel Gondry. A visual masterpiece and a directorial triumph. Even better than Inside Llewyn Davis this year.
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    This is not a movie for young people because they can't understand the main character approach and point of view. Is a pure sample of mannerism and the way to tell who is inspiring you as author. Grotesque + Cynicism + Melancholy = great formula for advanced spectators. Yes, is slow, but this is the only one way you can take a breath and watch the beautiful eternal city and your life which is going to the end. Great moment of the intellectual cinema. Expand
  6. Lyn
    Mar 28, 2014
    10
    Not sure I would have understood a movie like this at age 25 ... but though I've not reached the lead character's age (65), his mix of introspection and escapism really struck a chord. His day-to-day life is populated by serious and frivolous people doing frivolous and serious things, but in the pauses between their sometimes weird events, he's thinking deeply about the decisions of his life and what it all means. It helps that the lead actor has a face you can get lost in -- not handsome, but riveting. And visually overall, it's brilliantly inventive without being too "arty." Have to say, for those who might be scared off by all the Fellini references: this is much more coherent than Fellini -- at least it was to me. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    A gorgeous non-linear poem of a movie. Obviously an update of La Dolce Vita, showing how much further into decadence and shallowness the upper classes of Italy (and the globalized world?) have descended in the last fifty years or so. But also a film about the possibility of transcendence of the whole farce of the emptiness of the lives of the rich. The final tracking shot of the gorgeous Tiber River and its bridges, accompanied by profoundly beautiful, soulful music epitomizes the capacity of the human mind to move to a very different plane from that on which the film's hero wastes most, but not all, of his time on earth. Expand
  8. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    This is in every way reminiscent of Fellini--the camera is always finding beauty in nature, in the city, in people, even in the grotesque. And its themes are equally familiar: the sweet life (la dolce vita) is also often bitter (la vita amara), and the transitory never satisfies but it is all we have. The film is beautiful and in its implications moving
  9. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Comparison with La dolce vita is obvious and rightfully so. Yet the decadence of the 60's elite was far more elegant, in a way, than our own age's, and this is shown throughout through an old man with radically cynical thoughts who's forcing himself to appear, to be in the spotlight. And among child prodigy painters, madmen, centenarian nuns, dreaming strippers and faux Communists it all unravels in the end when it is clearly shown that what truly matters is lost forever, and we had the chance to seize it, and maybe we did, but we wish we'd done it better. But the beauty of it resides right in the mystery of "what would have happened if" and the bittersweetness of never being able to find out. Expand
  10. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Yes this film is flawed in some ways (the script could be better, the sentimental bursts could be less anticipated, less Tornatore-sque, the main character could be more earth-bound etc) but the movie would not be the same then, would it? That's the beauty of the "cinema de createur": the spectator's brain is set in motion and it is compelled to draw conclusions, to admire or to dislike, to feel, to understand and sympathise with the character's (or the director's) flaws. This movie may not be a masterpiece but it is as close as it gets, and it is worth every minute of watching (multiple times included). Expand
  11. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    For me, this film goes to the absolute limits of what can be achieved in a film. Each shot, each scene is a thing of great beauty. The plot is secondary. It was a delight to watch. I might admit a bias: I am an Italophile. And this film has all things Italian: style, of course, but more than that it's the attitude that no matter how they look, they're confident in themselves. There were lots of ironic moments in the film as well: almost as if it were the Italians mocking themselves. Film centers around a main character, and Toni Sevillo is perfect. His character is memorable: he stands out like a character in a great novel. All the other actors, almost stock characters are perfect too. The film's got some ideas too: ideas about art, and life, and transcendence, but somehow one doesn't pay much attention to these too, given all this beauty. Collapse
  12. Apr 9, 2014
    9
    This is the real Euro film!! Great characters and story with a lot off glamour.Tony Servillo is one of the greatest actors in Europe, he was also great in Gomorra.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Geoff Pevere
    Jan 31, 2014
    88
    An utterly ravishing portrait of listless luxuriance, a fantasy of decadent wealth and beauty.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jan 30, 2014
    91
    The pointlessness of Jep's journey is Sorrentino's point, richly made.
  3. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Dec 13, 2013
    80
    It’s a Fellini-esque carnival of humanity on display, a more debauched phantasmagoria reminiscent of “La Dolce Vita.” But “La Dolce Vita” created the paparazzi; The Great Beauty takes place in a world where the paparazzi have existed for decades.