The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 753 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: An adaptation of F. Scott Fitzgerald's Long Island-set novel, where Midwesterner Nick Carraway is lured into the lavish world of his neighbor, Jay Gatsby. Soon enough, however, Carraway will see through the cracks of Gatsby's nouveau riche existence, where obsession, madness, and tragedy await.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. 88
    It’s a terrific adaptation that succeeds not only as a work of cinema but also, wonderfully, as proof of the novel’s greatness. In short, the picture rebukes the revisionists even while entertaining them.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 8, 2013
    83
    As a purely sensory experience at the movies you're hard-pressed to find anything more dazzling than the first 90 minutes of The Great Gatsby, when Luhrmann's riotous amusements make anything possible.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    May 9, 2013
    70
    The actors emote up a summer storm. Maguire’s otherworldly coolness suits the observer drawn into a story he might prefer only to watch. DiCaprio is persuasive as the little boy lost impersonating a tough guy, and Mulligan finds ways to express Daisy’s magnetism and weakness.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    May 6, 2013
    60
    More often, Gatsby feels like a well-rehearsed classic in which the actors say their lines ably, but with no discernible feeling behind them.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    May 9, 2013
    50
    There are so many things wrong with Luhrmann's Great Gatsby - the filmmaker's attention-deficit-disorder approach, the anachronistic convergence of hip-hop and swing, the choppy elision of Fitzgerald's plot, the jarring collision of Jazz Age cool and Millennial cluelessness. But at the crux of things, the problem is that it's impossible to care.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 9, 2013
    50
    So much effort seems to have gone into the eye-popping production design, swooping camera work and anachronistic musical score that the result is hyper-active cacophony rather than enthralling entertainment.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    May 7, 2013
    25
    I love the publicity quotes by Baz Luhrmann stating that his intention was to make an epic romantic vision that is enormous. Also: overwrought, asinine, exaggerated and boring. But in the end, about as romantic as a pet rock.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 200
  1. May 10, 2013
    10
    Saw this when it opened. Had low expectations because of movie critics who obviously grew up in the wrong era. The quality of the book isSaw this when it opened. Had low expectations because of movie critics who obviously grew up in the wrong era. The quality of the book is revived perfectly; It's a period peace, but transcends period with its subtle hints of modern music and style. Every actor was perfectly cast. It's heavy use of Art Deco (my favorite architectural style) fills the screen with beauty that reaches for the heavens, however unattainable they were and still are.
    Gatsby looks to the past not with nostalgia, but with regret of what was and what will never be.

    p.s. I am usually very anti-3d but this movies 3d really pulls you into the grandness of it all.
    Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    I don't ever give scores like these. But, this is indeed an exception.
    It's not a movie for everybody, but nonetheless, everybody should see
    I don't ever give scores like these. But, this is indeed an exception.
    It's not a movie for everybody, but nonetheless, everybody should see it at least once. It is a great movie, period.
    Just go watch it and don't loose any more time, it's just Unique, and when you'll leave the seat, i guarantee that you'll get out of there with your heart full.
    Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2015
    9
    "Will you still love me, when I'm no longer young..." are the words to the chorus of The Great Gatsby's theme song. That fact of the matter is"Will you still love me, when I'm no longer young..." are the words to the chorus of The Great Gatsby's theme song. That fact of the matter is that I will absolutely still love this film when its no longer young. Sure, some may criticize its lack of subtlety and tender pace that were characteristic of The Great Gatsby novel, but few can deny this film's masterful portrayal of key characters and the orgastic yet sickly vibe of the so-called "Roaring Twenties." Heart-shattering the plot, amazing the visuals, and skilled are the cast in this ambitious interpretation of Fitzgerald's book. Make sure to read the book before seeing The Great Gatsby, as it does speed by some important ideas at the pace of a motion picture. Expand
  4. May 29, 2013
    7
    So, could Baz Luhrmann, with Jay-Z at his side, deliver a modern adaptation of the the Great American Novel that would be well received bySo, could Baz Luhrmann, with Jay-Z at his side, deliver a modern adaptation of the the Great American Novel that would be well received by all? I think the answer from the offset was always going to be no. Instead, Luhrmann delivers a visual feast of a film, one that tries to balance Luhrman's big number style with an authenticity to the source material but one that relies too heavily on narration, some cheap visual effects and ends up failing to fully flesh out the key relationship central to the story.

    I don't have any specific problem with Baz Luhrmann's style, I liked his take on Romeo & Juliet and have managed to avoid Moulin Rouge so far. I thought he would be a good match for the glitz, glamour and decadence of the period and I thought this side of the film worked out well. The style factor was never going to be in doubt. The use of music in the film has been the subject of some debate and I'm going to side with the positive. It worked fairly well for me, hip hop goes hand in hand with excess and the modern songs fitted well with the music video style of Gatsby's parties. Lana Del Rey's song Young & Beautiful is mesmerisingly haunting and is the perfect accompaniment for the film's troubled lovers. Having not read the book and therefore not being aware of the literary themes in place this may be an unfair comment, especially if fans of the book appreciated the inclusion, but I felt the direction was slightly heavy handed in places, I certainly felt the references to the all-seeing eyes and green light were more than driven home.

    Leonardo DiCaprio gives a mature, refined performance befitting the great nature of the man. Carey Mulligan is also excellent as Daisy, giving what I call a 'bambi' type performance complete with beautifully innocent doe eyes. She is let down by the direction/narrative, wherever you want to lay the blame, which doesn't do enough to make you understand the passion of Gatsby for the girl, especially given the choices she ultimately makes. Tobey Maguire is suited to the role of Carraway, though his key role in the film as narrator, really limited my enjoyment. The guy always seems to come off so square, disapproving and lame.

    I enjoyed The Great Gatsby but I'm sure it won't suit all tastes.
    Collapse
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    6
    This is a film that takes a while to get into the story although the visuals are constant like all of Baz Lurhmann's work. I do wish thereThis is a film that takes a while to get into the story although the visuals are constant like all of Baz Lurhmann's work. I do wish there was more character development and the film was a little shorter, but overall a solid effort. B Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2016
    5
    This isn't the first time that F. Scott Fitzgerald's acclaimed book from 1925 was adapted into feature length film. The novel was firstThis isn't the first time that F. Scott Fitzgerald's acclaimed book from 1925 was adapted into feature length film. The novel was first adapted in 1926 as a silent film starring Warner Baxter and Lois Wilson, then again in 1949 with Alan Ladd and Betty Field in the lead roles. Then, once again in 1974 starring Robert Redford and Mia Farrow. But this one, in 2013 had something to deliver...it had Baz Luhrmann in the director's chair, the famous director best known for his more modern take on "Romeo and Juliet" in 1996, and he directed the elaborate and eccentric musical that is 'Moulin Rouge' (2001).

    Not only that, but it had the iconic Leonardo DiCaprio in the title role, from 'Romeo + Juliet' (1996) and 'Titanic' (1997), you'd think this is a match made in heaven. We could get a true adaptation of the widely acclaimed novel after all.

    Not quite here. Baz Luhrmann's 'The Great Gatsby' is a visually lush and sweeping experience of a movie, one could get lost in all those colorful fireworks, and slow-motion water fountains. Alas, an experience to behold if you're looking for a romantic movie to watch with your date.

    But behind all those great colors and eccentric parties lies almost nothing...this movie is lacking something very important and that is some further character development. The movie is told mostly in flashback as we meet a man named Nick Carraway (Tobey Maguire) who tells the story of when he met the iconic and eccentric, yet mysterious Jay Gatsby.

    He met him at a party, it turns out the two only live next door to each other, but Gatsby wants Carraway to do him a favor. Carraway is the solution to getting Gatsby closer to his cousin, Daisy (Carey Mulligan) who appears to be married to another wealthy man named Tom Buchanan (Joel Edgerton). It seems that Gatsby and Daisy were once in love before, but he went away to war, and has been absent for five years leaving Daisy to wonder where he was, and ultimately lost hope.

    She still has feelings for Gatsby, and he never gave up as he always hosted eccentric parties hoping that she would just turn up eventually...but nothing worked until Gatsby met Nick.

    We don't meet DiCaprio as the title character for some 20 - 25 minutes of the film, this was an effective technique as it shows that this man, "The Great Jay Gastby" was a mystery... endless stories about him have been told countless times, and nobody else had met him... he was almost like a myth, a man with so much wealth, and so much life...it seemed too good to be true.

    It goes without saying that Baz Luhrmann is the right directing choice for this story, he had the right visual look for this movie and it fits well to accommodate the story. But the story is lacking so much substance, so much so, I couldn't find myself caring for the characters enough, and instead I marvel at the visuals, the parties, the gathering of so many people, and the popping and fizzing of the champagne as they poured into those clear, shiny flute glasses.

    I admired this movie, as it did have some emotional heft put into it, but I just couldn't love it. It's almost as if I was trying so hard to get invested and trying to love this movie, that this movie just pushes me further and further away...

    The acting is also inspired, DiCaprio is the right man to be playing such an iconic, wealthy and heart-throbbing role like he has done in the past. But Carey Mulligan, a fine actress that she is, is almost too petite as Daisy...and sometimes bland. I ask myself, why is Gatsby so interested and so in love with Daisy, when she seems to blend in with the rest of the crowd? To me, she didn't stand out.

    It isn't a failed effort, it's a rather remarkable one...the visuals were a gimmick for the sake of the 3D release which is unusual for a romantic drama genre. Your eyes will be in awe...but not your brain.
    Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    0
    Here's my review: i am not going to see this even if it comes out on a $2 DVD sale at BigW. It reminds me of the movie Australia, overlong,Here's my review: i am not going to see this even if it comes out on a $2 DVD sale at BigW. It reminds me of the movie Australia, overlong, boring and self indulgent, it assumes its own importance will draw me in. I haven't seen Australia either. Expand

See all 200 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium

    Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium Image
    Published: May 2, 2013
    Get the details (and watch trailers) for all of the key films heading to cineplexes between now and the end of August, including the latest Star Trek, Superman, and Hangover films, new features from Sofia Coppola, Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Nicolas Winding Refn, and Edgar Wright, and much more.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: April 5, 2013
    Our weekly roundup includes new looks at "The Great Gatsby," "The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones," "This Is the End," "Only God Forgives," "2 Guns," "Carrie," and much more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  6. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  7. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.