The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 731 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: An adaptation of F. Scott Fitzgerald's Long Island-set novel, where Midwesterner Nick Carraway is lured into the lavish world of his neighbor, Jay Gatsby. Soon enough, however, Carraway will see through the cracks of Gatsby's nouveau riche existence, where obsession, madness, and tragedy await.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. 88
    It’s a terrific adaptation that succeeds not only as a work of cinema but also, wonderfully, as proof of the novel’s greatness. In short, the picture rebukes the revisionists even while entertaining them.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 8, 2013
    83
    As a purely sensory experience at the movies you're hard-pressed to find anything more dazzling than the first 90 minutes of The Great Gatsby, when Luhrmann's riotous amusements make anything possible.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    May 9, 2013
    70
    The actors emote up a summer storm. Maguire’s otherworldly coolness suits the observer drawn into a story he might prefer only to watch. DiCaprio is persuasive as the little boy lost impersonating a tough guy, and Mulligan finds ways to express Daisy’s magnetism and weakness.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    May 6, 2013
    60
    More often, Gatsby feels like a well-rehearsed classic in which the actors say their lines ably, but with no discernible feeling behind them.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    May 9, 2013
    50
    There are so many things wrong with Luhrmann's Great Gatsby - the filmmaker's attention-deficit-disorder approach, the anachronistic convergence of hip-hop and swing, the choppy elision of Fitzgerald's plot, the jarring collision of Jazz Age cool and Millennial cluelessness. But at the crux of things, the problem is that it's impossible to care.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 9, 2013
    50
    So much effort seems to have gone into the eye-popping production design, swooping camera work and anachronistic musical score that the result is hyper-active cacophony rather than enthralling entertainment.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    May 7, 2013
    25
    I love the publicity quotes by Baz Luhrmann stating that his intention was to make an epic romantic vision that is enormous. Also: overwrought, asinine, exaggerated and boring. But in the end, about as romantic as a pet rock.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 194
  1. May 10, 2013
    10
    Saw this when it opened. Had low expectations because of movie critics who obviously grew up in the wrong era. The quality of the book isSaw this when it opened. Had low expectations because of movie critics who obviously grew up in the wrong era. The quality of the book is revived perfectly; It's a period peace, but transcends period with its subtle hints of modern music and style. Every actor was perfectly cast. It's heavy use of Art Deco (my favorite architectural style) fills the screen with beauty that reaches for the heavens, however unattainable they were and still are.
    Gatsby looks to the past not with nostalgia, but with regret of what was and what will never be.

    p.s. I am usually very anti-3d but this movies 3d really pulls you into the grandness of it all.
    Expand
  2. May 25, 2013
    10
    The adaptation of the story which I don't actually know. Excellent soundtrack and scenery of America of the early 20th century. The effect ofThe adaptation of the story which I don't actually know. Excellent soundtrack and scenery of America of the early 20th century. The effect of that movie is in a while after watching. Collapse
  3. Oct 20, 2015
    9
    "Will you still love me, when I'm no longer young..." are the words to the chorus of The Great Gatsby's theme song. That fact of the matter is"Will you still love me, when I'm no longer young..." are the words to the chorus of The Great Gatsby's theme song. That fact of the matter is that I will absolutely still love this film when its no longer young. Sure, some may criticize its lack of subtlety and tender pace that were characteristic of The Great Gatsby novel, but few can deny this film's masterful portrayal of key characters and the orgastic yet sickly vibe of the so-called "Roaring Twenties." Heart-shattering the plot, amazing the visuals, and skilled are the cast in this ambitious interpretation of Fitzgerald's book. Make sure to read the book before seeing The Great Gatsby, as it does speed by some important ideas at the pace of a motion picture. Expand
  4. May 13, 2013
    8
    The movie was just great, it had a great story and depicted the Roaring 20's wonderfully. Great Gatsby veterans might not prefer this versionThe movie was just great, it had a great story and depicted the Roaring 20's wonderfully. Great Gatsby veterans might not prefer this version over Robert's back in the 70's but it's really entertaining and worth watching. The only problem I had was some of the soundtrack, and by some, I mean Jay-Z. You read right, Jay-Z. I would of preffered jazz to depict the 20's alot better but the soundtrack didn't kill the movie so there's nothing to worry about it. Expand
  5. May 14, 2013
    7
    Absolutely a beautifully shot movie. Each frame of the film looks almost like a painting. This film is drenched with color and has brilliantAbsolutely a beautifully shot movie. Each frame of the film looks almost like a painting. This film is drenched with color and has brilliant filming The largest problems in this film is that it features a soundtrack that is contemporary music mixed with music that is more to the time period of the film. Surprisingly the contemporary music works in most instances however there is one or two times where the much more modern contemporary music seems out of place. The other major flaw is that so much time was spent in this movie on it's stylistic looks which as i said earlier were flawless but so much time and effort was spent on these that it seems to have taken away from the character development side of the film. While there are many scenes that are pretty I wish they would have sacrificed some of those to develop characters other than Gatsby and Carraway. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2013
    5
    To much party scenes, 3D traveling shots and not enough dialogue and dept in each character. And every time they seem to be getting to theTo much party scenes, 3D traveling shots and not enough dialogue and dept in each character. And every time they seem to be getting to the core of some meaningful revelation, the voice over appears to take you far away from the scene and its climate. I wouldn't call it bad storytelling, but the entire movie seems to slip through your fingers and splash in a thousand colorful 3d-camera movements on to the ground. I had high expectations, and there were only a few moments in which this were matched. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    0
    Here's my review: i am not going to see this even if it comes out on a $2 DVD sale at BigW. It reminds me of the movie Australia, overlong,Here's my review: i am not going to see this even if it comes out on a $2 DVD sale at BigW. It reminds me of the movie Australia, overlong, boring and self indulgent, it assumes its own importance will draw me in. I haven't seen Australia either. Expand

See all 194 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium

    Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium Image
    Published: May 2, 2013
    Get the details (and watch trailers) for all of the key films heading to cineplexes between now and the end of August, including the latest Star Trek, Superman, and Hangover films, new features from Sofia Coppola, Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Nicolas Winding Refn, and Edgar Wright, and much more.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.