Miramax Films | Release Date: August 12, 2005
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 39 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
6
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
EricSJan 7, 2006
Never (at least in my experience) have professional critics been so wrong about a movie. I watched this film late at night out of sheer boredom, expecting nothing more than another mediocre account of a well-known historical event. However, Never (at least in my experience) have professional critics been so wrong about a movie. I watched this film late at night out of sheer boredom, expecting nothing more than another mediocre account of a well-known historical event. However, this was not the case at all. "The Great Raid" rises above most other war movies because it views it is so faithful to what really happened. It isn't just an excuse to tell some sappy, typical Hollywood drama that the critics seem to love so much. It is a true account of what happened, filled with real battles and real people. The acting was superb all around (as good as he was in "Spider-Man", I didn't think James Franco could play such a serious role), thanks to the absence of any big- name, no-talent actors or filmmakers. Everyone should see this movie, especially now when so many people view Americans as the bad guys. Just because the critics can't appreciate an excellent movie that doesn't force some corny, liberal message down the audience Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneOct 9, 2005
Awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveC.Apr 23, 2006
For those who said it didn't have enough action, whether reviewers on this site or actual 'professional' reviews, I must acknowledge my pity for your ignorance. It must be unfortunate to live with that frame of mind. I guess For those who said it didn't have enough action, whether reviewers on this site or actual 'professional' reviews, I must acknowledge my pity for your ignorance. It must be unfortunate to live with that frame of mind. I guess this movie was a little too real for you. Its sad that our society is so basic that we desire the action scenes to fulfill our dull lives. Perhaps if you realized what reality is ... not the reality that Hollywood spews out, but the reality that actually exists now, and throughout history, you'd have a glimmer of understanding about what this movie was really about. Its purpose wasn't to entertain you're simple mind - it was a basis of actual events, as a lot of modern war movies are. This one seemed to be a little closer to what actually happened - not the bastardized version that Hollywood usually vomits out. The original footage was the pinnacle of this film, and its use throughout is what pulled everything together. The style of this movie brought the best of old and new war movies. But unlike "Pearl Harbour," this movie didn't try and be all things to all people. It didn't try and bring in romance as one central theme. That's not the purpose of this movie. Special effects, to the same extent, wasn't the cornerstone of this film. This was a very accurate representation of documentary style war-telling, albiet in movie format. The performances herein, whether part of the conflict or on the side, as part of the resistance were well rounded, and lacked the superficiality that I imagined would exist in a movie like this. The acknowledgement of the resistance forces, in this conflict specifically was important, but the pinnacle of a war movie to acknowledge that forces other than military were important in winning this war. I invite all those who have any level of intellect or knowledge about this war or conflict specifically to watch this movie. If its too real for you, go back to your simple-minded action flicks and leave this movie to those it was meant to affect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidZApr 1, 2007
This is one of the examples that most movie critics got it wrong. Their comments and evaluations became formulaic and predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlvinSep 13, 2005
Tremedous movie. Loved it. Ensemble cast was terrific. Definitely worth the watch. The professional critics give War of The Worlds a 74 and this movie a 48? If you ever wanted a proof that these critics are bought and paid for all you need Tremedous movie. Loved it. Ensemble cast was terrific. Definitely worth the watch. The professional critics give War of The Worlds a 74 and this movie a 48? If you ever wanted a proof that these critics are bought and paid for all you need do is have the public watch both movies. One is awful and this one is great. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
anna.Aug 24, 2005
I loved this film. It made me proud of the military leadership which is something I seldom feel these days. We have so much to learn from history and this film shows courage, comittment, and dedication to our soldiers. I would hope that all I loved this film. It made me proud of the military leadership which is something I seldom feel these days. We have so much to learn from history and this film shows courage, comittment, and dedication to our soldiers. I would hope that all our current military leadership would view this multiple times. Thank you Weinstein brothers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TreP.Aug 26, 2005
Worthwhile and necessary in this era of over-to-top Hollywood everything. I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomasAug 27, 2005
Gib you are dead wrong in your critique of this film. It is one of the better films to be turned out in many years. If you fail to see this you will be missing out on a fantastic story presented in a straight forward manor with all the warts Gib you are dead wrong in your critique of this film. It is one of the better films to be turned out in many years. If you fail to see this you will be missing out on a fantastic story presented in a straight forward manor with all the warts and fleas. Just a fantastic job in bringing this true story to the silver screen. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeslieAug 28, 2005
Simply fantastic. A movie that is richly rewarding and should not be missed. I am amazed that Hollywood did not manage to screw this one up as they usually do? One of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DetroitSep 15, 2005
Thank you Hollywood for a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 26, 2007
The fact that some critics gave this movie such harsh reviews lets me know that some people just don't know a great movie when they see it. Sure, it could have been at least 10 minutes shorter. However, despite the length, this is a The fact that some critics gave this movie such harsh reviews lets me know that some people just don't know a great movie when they see it. Sure, it could have been at least 10 minutes shorter. However, despite the length, this is a stunning, action-packed retelling of the most successful rescue operation ever attempted by a U.S. military outfit. An excellent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JerkGuySep 24, 2007
Simple truth, what do critics know? I guess all that matters is how you felt when you watched it, I heard that this film was really bad so I never bothered to go out of my way to see it, however I stumbled upon it on cable recently and I didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnitaH.Oct 21, 2005
I was so excited to see this movie since my Dad was one of the Rangers that went on the raid. I was glad the movie stuck to the facts. Can't wait to get the CD so I can play the end frame by frame and maybe see my Dad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ManuelR.Dec 16, 2005
Should have had more action. I read the book and it was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaddyDec 21, 2005
Another impeccable example of how utterly useless American critics are. Yet they'll eat up garbage like King Kong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictorSep 18, 2005
Fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Meth-dudeJun 17, 2017
Based on the real story of the Cabanatuan raid, this movie is a perfect example of what a great war drama is. It's entertaining, well acted, beautifully shot, the action was really well made, the characters were compelling and the story wasBased on the real story of the Cabanatuan raid, this movie is a perfect example of what a great war drama is. It's entertaining, well acted, beautifully shot, the action was really well made, the characters were compelling and the story was engaging. If you like war dramas, I highly suggest you watching this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31May 11, 2016
Excellent war/drama based upon true events...one of the best historical rescue films in my opinion.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1886-The-Great-Raid
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews