User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 341 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 341

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    I went to this movie with high expectations after seeing trailers all over TV. I was not disappointed. Once again, the CRITICS ARE WRONG. Geez, how many times have critics underrated movies? Anyways, the movie was great, acting was great, action was excellent, and overall just plain badass and worth your time.
  2. Jan 24, 2011
    3
    Is this an action movie? A buddy comedy? A movie focused on character development and motivations and identity? Overall, there's a little bit of each of the above but not enough of each to make the movie redeeming or engaging. I was bored by the third act. And as with most 3D movies these days, the 3D adds nothing.
  3. Jan 23, 2011
    0
    I think we are starting to get annoyed with Seth Rogen, he was funny in on, maybe two movies. I feel this **** film is his last get out of jail free card.
  4. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    The Green Hornet really disappointed me. I thought it was going to be like the radio show I listened to when I was a kid. They got the name but then they just played with it. This movie is not worth your time or money.
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    "The Green Hornet" has so many (green) cliches, even the smartest of the smartest audiences wouldn't understand this piece of crap.
  6. Feb 14, 2011
    3
    Brit, The main character is the reason for the low review. He is a bumbling fool, annoying as hell, an arrogant and unlikable character not in-character but to the audience himself. He's the kind of moron that turns up to a party thinking he owns the place, puts other people down, throws insults at people and everyone wishes that he'd just go the **** away. I know that his character was designed to be like this and there have been characters such as this before (which were done so much better) but the performance in this film was utterly vulgar. The dialogue between Brit and Kato before there fight was obscene and pathetic - never so much in my life have i ever wanted the main character in a movie beat to a pulp. And yet he still won that fight. Brit was semi-likeable to start, but as the film progressed he became an eyesore. There were some redeeming qualities and characters in the film though. Kato's performance was pretty good - and Chebowski the villian was superb. I really had to stop and think why cameron diaz was in it though - her character, save one scene, was completely pointless and a waste of time. I dont know much about the previous green hornet radioshows/movies, but from what ive read it sounds like the performance he got in this film was very insultive to the series and to the Green hornet himself. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2011
    1
    Based on a comic book series and television show, this film tries to bring a more lighthearted approach to the superhero boom the film industry had experienced in recent years. Since I wasn't around when the Magna Carta was signed, I have no previous experience with this franchise before this film. The producers try to aggregate the world of the original with a contemporary feel, and the result is a horrendous piece of work. To keep a comedic tone, they cast Seth Rogen as the Green Hornet, whose ability to play the hero is comparable to achievement of the rest of the movie. Never at any point did it feel comfortable watching him. He brings the crude humor people know him for, which is ill timed and conceived throughout the film. The highlight of the rest of the cast was the cameo of James Franco, whose 2 minutes in the film was the best scene. Very little of the actions of the characters made sense and the flow of the story was extremely choppy. Hence, it just never feels natural. The one positive I can give it was the awesome car the Green Hornet had, "Black Beauty", which more a testament that they had good taste even back in the 40's. If the creator's of the franchise would be appalled by this rendition. Expand
  8. Jan 14, 2011
    7
    I liked this movie a lot. The trailers don't do it any justice because what made this movie for me was the comedy. I wasn't expecting it to be as funny as it actually is. There are some sweet-ass action moments too because Kato kicks some serious ass. The fight between Brit and Kato was probably my favorite scene, and Christoph Waltz is very good in the villain role. He's a genuine badass villain but he just doesn't know how to be intimidating, which gives him another dimension. I didn't bother seeing it in 3D because, well, I hate 3D and want it to go away. Besides, there's nothing very 3D-ish about it. The bottom line is, go see this movie because it's a nice surprise to start off 2011! Expand
  9. Jan 16, 2011
    8
    Once again critics are usless with this sitting at a 38 as I speak. Honestly the movie isn't perfect, but it is a good watch. Yes it isn't as funny as it thinks it is....but that doesn't mean its a complete failure. It's kind of hard to believe that Britt is 1. Famous and 2. seemingly incredibly rich as a newspaper owner in this day and age.....it was believable back in the 60s....but now, not so much. Some might not like kato vision, but its more of a visual representation of what goes through his mind, than an actual power like some make it out to be. The action good, the story is a good origin story movie, and the comedy is passable. Expand
  10. Feb 14, 2011
    4
    With all of the production and the feedback that the movie is good, it made a disappointment. Movie was entertaining but mostly dull. Completely pointless.
  11. Jan 17, 2011
    7
    While "The Green Hornet" is far from the perfect movie, it's exciting, fast-paced, brutal, humorous, and stylish; everything I enjoy in popcorn flicks.
  12. Jan 16, 2011
    7
    i enjoyed this film, i really did, i thought it was funny, though uneven. the plot was a little muddled but everyone seemed like they were having a good time and didnt take their roles too seriuously. i liked the chemistry between chou and rogen though at times it was hard to understand what chou was saying . hopefully this will be a good jumping off point for chou to become a big action star like jet li was, taller too, and smoother of skin! rogen was rogen, he never changes hes an amusing grumbly bear. cameron diaz is an old blond actress with nothing to offer here, no charisma onscreen, its over woman. christopher waltz is good but isnt in the movie very much, his personality is so compelling though that you want to see more of him than whats in the movie. go see this, its a good opening to summer blockbusters! kato kato! Expand
  13. Jan 26, 2011
    5
    "The Green Hornet" is a remake or adaptation of the 1966 TV Series and it is much different. Britt Reid (Seth Rogan), following the death of his father, teams up with his father's assistant, Kato (Jay Chou) to become crime fighters. The film also features Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds) and Cameron Diaz (Shrek, Waht Happens in Vegas). The film is pretty much pointless but very entertaining, I'll admit. It sort of reminded me of "Kick-Ass", where kids decided to become superheroes. Only this one got a PG-13 rating and it might've bin better if it were R like "Kick-Ass" , which I liked, making it a more entertaining film. Overall, this film is not very good. [PG-13] 5/10 Expand
  14. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Can I just say I love this movie? Because I freaking loved this movie!! Well, it needs to be 150 characters, so I need to say more. The action rocked, it was hilarious, the 3d was cool, and the acting was great! This is a great popcorn movie with some surprising depth that I can't wait to watch again!
  15. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    One of the best movies I've seen in a long time, with great acting and overall presentation. The movie is funny, well written, and well acted. The action scenes are very well made and funny, with humor being put into them well. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see a clever and funny movie. I'm getting this on DVD.
  16. Jan 20, 2011
    0
    To call this a travesty would be giving this movie too much credit. As a devoted fan of the Green Hornet when I watch the original series in first run on TV, I was absolutely nauseated at the bastardization of the characters. The Green Hornet/Britt Reid was conceived and developed as a savvy, intelligent newspaper genius. Kato, his equal partner was intelligent, resourceful and fully equal with Britt Reid, though for the sake of their partnership he played the role of a household servant. These were two men who had no preoccupation with how drunk one could get and how to or how often to climb into bed with someone. The Green Hornet was not some egotistical weakling dependent upon someone else to think for him, fight for him or to carry him through conflict. A brilliant tactian, a superb hand to hand combat artist in his own right, he an Kato where truly a team that formed a formidable nemisis to crime. This movies portrays the Green Hornet and Kato as intellectually bumbling idiots saved only by Kato's tech ability, gadgets and accidentlly pulling off the right thing at the right time. But, what was to be expected with Seth Rogan as the writer and the lead - exactly what we got; sophomoric hormone teen age party humor intermixed with gadgetry and CGI effects. I hope that this film is remade with a serious actor in the lead role, with a real script and dialogue in line with the original character. It's happened before (i.e. the idiotic TV "Batman" of the 60's redone into the the "Dark Knight" of today), we can only pray it happens again! Expand
  17. Jan 22, 2011
    1
    The casting for the Hornet was all wrong - the personality was all wrong - great story, that really sucked due to bad casting / persona decisions !! Kato character was great - the last 5 minutes was the movie - unfortunately
  18. Jan 31, 2011
    2
    Too dull to be an action film, and too lacking in humour to be a comedy, The Green Hornet's surprisingly high body-count and moral bankruptcy mean this isn't even one for the kids. It gets one mark for its one laugh, and another for the James Franco cameo. A waste of an adaptation.
  19. Feb 13, 2011
    2
    Awful movie!! Seth Rogen is so arrogant and a complete dusche. I am never going to watch another Seth Rogen again! Very few funny scenes and a complete waste of time and money.
  20. May 1, 2011
    10
    There is no reason for the negative reviews for this movie. People don't understand what this movie has tried to do. When you watch, you need to realize that it is intentionally corny and quirky. The negative reviewers don't get the movie's sense of humor. It's one of the most well made action comedies of all time. It provides thorough enjoyment from start to finish. Fans of comedies will enjoy, as well as fans of action films. It's definitely worth your time, and you'll want to see repeat viewings. I highly congratulate what the film makers of this movie have done. Expand
  21. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Sheesh, what's with the hate critics? I actually thought this movie was hilarious! Loved every second of it, and this is coming from someone who hated Seth Rogen, that is, until watching him in this movie. And the amazing actor Christoph Waltz does it again!
  22. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    The personality of Seth Rogen is all over this flick. (He co-wrote and plays the title role). He starts out as the wastrel son of a newspaper owner who's forced to take the reins and deal with good/evil when his father dies. Thanks to Kato, who designs cool cars/weapons and has real martial arts skills, they target crime. The dialogue is filled with irony and laughs. The slam-bang action sequences are full of fun stunts and smashing cartoon violence and director Michael Gondry adds his off-the-wall touches. It's a comic, contemporary spin on the superhero genre that's a blast! Expand
  23. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    I thought the green hornet was actually pretty good. The acting is good and the action sequences were awesome!

    I brought a friend of mine with me and he thought the same way he thought the movie was good.

    The 3-D was post converted, after the movie i was like it did not need to be in 3-D.
    I thought the green hornet was pretty good
  24. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    On 22 January 2011, We went to pick up my Aunt in Springfield in order to take her to the movies. She went with the others to see "The King's Speech" while my brother and I went to see this(in case you understand, we haven't read the comic books that had The Green Hornet) to make sure whether its good or not. it turned out good. so, what's my opinion? um, how about this: The storyline lasted a little bit longer for a 119 minute film, but for an Action/Comedy movie, everything else is good. Seth Rogen and the rest of the cast are great, The Comedy is hilarious, The action scenes are very cool, and the visuals are very astounding.

    Sorry Critics, but looks like I'm going against you. This movie is visually entertaining especially for kids and adults.
    Expand
  25. Jan 14, 2011
    4
    Honestly, the whole time it felt as though Seth Rogan were trying, just a little too hard, to be funny. And to be fair, that is sort of what Seth Rogan does - is to push at being funny. It just felt forced, here, like a comedian stopping after every joke and going "heh? funny, right?" to the audience. The action sequences were well-done, but the contrast between these and the comedy just seemed jarring. Maybe I'm too used to the gritty superhero movies that have been coming out recently, but I didn't enjoy it - I kept expecting tension between the action, and not perpetual comic relief. In the end, it was too much comedy in my action, or too much action in my comedy. It's a fun movie to watch with friends, sure, but I wouldn't watch it twice. Expand
  26. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    In the top 3 comic book movies of all time. Number 2 being the dark knight number 1 being the watchmen!! Seth rogen was a very likable britt reed. The 3d was great. The comedy was funny but somewhat slapstick which I liked. The action scenes were awesome. The acting was better than I thought it would be. Overall a great movie. Must see!!!
  27. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly, do not listen to the critics on this one because we go to the movies to be entertained. To have fun. That's the perfect way to sum up this movie fun. Seth Rogen was surprisingly good as Brit Reid/The Green Hornet. I love his comedy movies that he co-writes with his writing partner Evan Goldberg. Goldberg & Rogen perfectly add the right amount of action & comedy. Michel Gondry was the perfect choice to direct. Jay Chou shines as Kato. He steals the show with his charisma with U.S. acting debut. Christoph Waltz is good as the villian. Nice supporting cast. Good story. The action scenes were incredible. The scene with Kato vision was perfect due to Michel Gondry's genius mind. The film is perfect popcorn entertainment. The scenes with Brit & Kato are the best. Expand
  28. Ctc
    Jan 16, 2011
    10
    This is not an Oscar contender. Thank God. It is funny and entertaining. The action, the lines, the special effects are all very good. Yes, hardcore fans may be upset that Britt Reid isn't Bruce Wayne but who else cares? We had a blast. It is an enjoyable movie and we would definitely see it again.
  29. Jan 18, 2011
    7
    Good but not great Super Hero movie. Definitely would have lost nothing being in 2D. Sick of paying the extra $3 for 3D when its just a money gimmick. Campy and comedy relief are OK in my book for most Super Hero movies but this was a little to much.
  30. Jan 20, 2011
    7
    This movie isn't super original or even realistic, but if you go into this movie expecting it to be realistic, you didn't see the same trailer I did. It was a lot of action, Seth Rogen was funny enough, Jay Chou was a great Kato, and the action was ridiculous and exciting. In the same vein as the A-Team, it's supposed to be a fun movie, which is definitely was. I enjoyed myself.
  31. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    Once again the critics are way wrong. I just don't get it. The movie had loads of action, a decent story line and lots of humor. What more do you want. Does it deserve an oscar, hell no, but was it fun to watch.. hell yeah! The only criticism would be about Christoph Waltz as the main villain didn't seem that invested in his character and therefore not very believable, but other than that me and my wife walked out of the theater wondering if the critics saw a entirely different movie. Expand
  32. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    The only annoying part of the movie was wearing the bulky 3D glasses, I think the movie would have been just as entertaining and funny without the 3D. Critics do not know what they are talking about. A movie is supposed to follow the "Hero's Journey" and this my friends follows the classic example of a Hero's Journey. All the way from the Call to adventure to the return, it takes a funny take with amazing acting, Seth Rogen and Jay Chou. Cameron Diaz could have done a better job. But in conclusion the movie was great, I enjoyed myself Expand
  33. Mar 27, 2011
    0
    boring.
    i hate the stupid fat spoilt brat.
    his acting was so fake and his character is just despicable, just pisses me off to see him.
    i dont see whats so good about this movie
  34. Apr 5, 2011
    0
    Absolutely dreadful watch. Honestly, this doesn't even deserve the current score of 39 and I really want those minutes of my life back. This makes a mockery of the original character, the casting doesn't fit one bit and they really shouldn't have bothered making this a comedy -- the jokes were a bore. Quite the disappointment.
  35. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    Thanks SR for completely ruining any chance of me enjoying this movie. The dialogue was childish, terrible, and grating on the ears. Very few movies make me want to leave, but this one did so on multiple occasions. Only cool parts of this movie were the CG fight scenes, when I did not have to listen so SR's winy voice. Do yourself a favor and just watch the CG parts.
  36. May 12, 2011
    1
    this movie is an absolute rubbish and i must commend all critics that scored it low. This movie is just like going on a fishing trip but forgot 'ur fishing hook and ended up fishing without a hook. Now isn't that silly? Well that's just how stupid this movie is,with a useless storyline,and action scenes that focus on destruction of public properties rather than actual combat, big thumbs down must be given to all concern in producing this lifeless movie including seth rogen Expand
  37. Jun 7, 2011
    2
    I feel bad rating this, as I couldn't watch more than 45 minutes... even those where painful. This flik blew clunks so hard I nearly had an azz-aneurysm. Truly awful production, Seth should cry in a corner and the bad-ass Asian dude is just plain lost here... Nothing to see, nothing good at least.... spend your $ somewhere else, this movie sucks. Oh yeah, it's 3d, wow... a crappy flik in 3d, is sooo much better than a crappy flik in 2d. OH WAIT, a crappy flik is a crappy flik--WHO KNEW?!?!

    Sad really, as they had such prod quality--no idea what morons create this steaming pile of.... refuse, but they should be drummed out of the business. No doubt, they will get a mettle and be promoted. it's the dumb-ass-american-way, isn't it?
    Expand
  38. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    Over the top. Ridiculous. And too long. Though that's what made this movie fun. Dumb fun. I love dumb fun, just like I loved Seth Rogen and Kato. If you're looking for just a fun time at the movies, see "The Green Hornet."
  39. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    THE GREEN HORNET is an entertaining adaptation, that is funny and enjoyable. The only problems I had with this film is Seth Rogen and his annoying character and the film's predictability.
  40. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Don't kid yourself -- while Seth Rogen's acting is similar in style to his previous work (e.g. "Zack and Miri ..." and "Get Him to the Greek") and the interplay between Britt and Kato is fun -- the real stars of this film are the cars and gadgets... but they definitely shined! One of the best pure-action comedic romps in a long time.
  41. Apr 11, 2011
    7
    ok, i liked it , the movie was great and funny, i had a good time and i laughed a lot , way funnier than i thought., it was well worth it. the 3d part was , well not nessesary, and i didnt see that much help with it.
  42. Jan 17, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's an inside joke, the green smoke that emits from the gas gun. The vapor is a drug reference, an allusion to pot, and Britt Reid, the layabout son of a powerful newspaper magnate, smokes a whole lot of it. Kato is his dealer. Disguised as a servant(actually, he's a mechanic; it's politically correct), Kato makes his employer's coffee, and in every mean cup, he imprints a leaf in the foam. It's a metaphorical leaf: a marijuana leaf. In David Gordon Green's "Pineapple Express", the Seth Rogen character's official dealer(played by James Franco) grabs a pot of coffee and whacks his attacker in the face. When they next meet, Saul is referred to as Mr. Folgers. Britt and Kato are coded stoners, in which their drug-induced highs masquerade as natural ones. It's "Pineapple Express"(also starring Rogen) all over again, with James Chou substituting for Franco, who incidentally, makes a guest appearance. Playing the role first originated by the legendary Bruce Lee, the Taiwan-born Chou gets to be the Kato that the producers of "The Green Hornet" television series denied the martial arts expert when the ABC show made its run in the mid-to-late sixties. That dynamic on-the-set of "The Green Hornet" scene from Rob Cohen's "Dragon: The Life of Bruce Lee", where the late kung fu master(played by Jason Scott Lee) takes it upon himself to write his own stage directions, and in the process, ends up upstaging his white co-star(Van Williams, as played by Forry Smith), never happened. Just like any television program of its time, there were stringent rules on what a minority could do, which includes, of course, playing one's own race, as Lee found out when David Carradine beat him out for the role of Caine in the popular "Kung Fu" series. "The Green Hornet", despite being nearly unwatchable, in which the filmmaker, an auteur, like Green("George Washington", "All the Real Girls"), a Terrence Malick disciple, takes a stab at impersonal commercial filmmaking, and whiffs, nevertheless, has made a movie that may interest those who remember a pivotal scene in "Dragon", where Lee watches Blake Edwards' "Breakfast at Tiffany's", stone-faced, amidst laughter in the packed movie-house, as Mickey Rooney's comic take on a Chinese national, makes him realize that he needs to go overseas if he wants to make it big. Kato was an insult to a man of Lee's stature, so this otherwise worthless remake, in a small way, pays homage to Lee, by rescuing this minor figure from the margins of the superhero universe. When Britt says, "Let's roll, Kato," it's less of a command that Kato should abide by the masked crusader of justice(or is that self-promotion) with the utmost subservience, than an invitation to go smoke some weed, as equals, like fratboys up to raising mayhem. High as a kite, the future crime-fighting team decapitates a statue that bears the likeness of Britt's overbearing father, and by happenstance, they witness a mugging. With the severed head in their possession, "The Green Hornet" becomes a "head" movie; head, in this context, pertains to drugs and drug paraphernalia, and the 1968 psychedelic film, starring The Monkees. Without thinking, they intervene on the accosted couple's behalf, in which Kato is front and center throughout the melee, relegating Britt Reid to the sidelines. It's not destiny, so much as the groovy thing to do at the moment, a happening. Only a pothead would say, "Let's pose as villains, but act like heroes." Even though The Green Hornet and Kato save the city from "Bloodnofsky"(even their arch-nemesis is stoned), they don't get serious about their roles as saviors until the pair sobers up, which is represented by their restoration of the statue's head to its bronzed body. Expand
  43. BKM
    Jan 21, 2011
    4
    Why are there so many talented people involved in this stinker? Tom Wilkinson, Edward James Olmos, Cameron Diaz, Christopher Waltz, James Franco, etc. And Michale Gondry was pegged to direct for some unknown reason. Perhaps it has something to do with star and co-writer Seth Rogen's new found swagger. Despite the fact that his films are getting worse and his comic appeal is fading, he seems to have a lot of people convinced that he is still at the top of his game. The movie is little more than an overblown comic book/comedy with loads of explosions and jokes but no real laughs or entertainment value. It's easy to see why it was dumped in the middle of January. Expand
  44. Apr 30, 2011
    7
    I saw this movie after I saw the trailer and I liked it. It's not very funny like Seth Rogen's last movies (Pineapple Express) but it's still enjoyable. It had good action and Kato made the movie better. I just think they should of changed Britt Reid's character. Seth Rogen could've proved people wrong and be a bad-ass but no, he had to make Britt an idiot and an **** I understand he was inexperienced but it could've worked out like Tony Stark in Iron Man. Not original but it's good storytelling. The end at The Daily Sentinel was enjoyable with Britt FINALLY kicking-ass. The very end could of been better. Anyways I still think the movie was enjoyable to watch. It's not the best movie but it had good action, Kato was awesome and it was entertaining. Expand
  45. Jan 17, 2011
    7
    was am ok movie. would suggest watching it on a night where their is nothing going on.. it kept me entertained but other then that i wouldn't put it in and suggest it to others...
  46. Jan 17, 2011
    5
    I had been reading for a few years of the effort to finally get The Green Hornet on screen. This is what we waited for??? While it had great action, the movie was riddled with dumb dialogue and a slow story. Seth Rogen has to stop writing movies.
  47. Feb 14, 2011
    7
    "Based of the TV series .... The Green Hornet turns out to be a funny , wacky , over the top .. slapstick wild thrill ride. With Seth Rogen leading the way as the iconic mass crusader. It slips at times but makes up for it and is sure to satisfy moviegoers" .. B
  48. Feb 10, 2011
    7
    I liked this movie, despite the fact it hasn't been very well received by the critics of the world. There mightn't be much to it, it's basically about two hours of violence and driving a car but it's good entertainment. Anyone that goes to a movie like thi and expects it to have an amazing storyline are complete idiots, it's a superhero movie where no one actually has a super power. What did you expect? Expand
  49. Jun 23, 2011
    7
    From what the critics said of this movie, i wasn't expecting much from Green Hornet. But surprisingly, there were some funny moments in the movie. Its a different type of comedy than we are all used to. Either you like it or you don't. Obviously the Critics hate this comedy. Don't let the Critics sway you from watching it, they almost did for me. Green Hornet is CERTAINLY WORTH WATCHING!
  50. Feb 5, 2011
    8
    Really impressive movie, especially for January. I don't understand all the negative comments about the movie, because I really enjoyed it. It's a super hero comedy movie with a good script. How boring it would be if the characters say '' You must defeat the bad guys and bring them to justice " ? Instead, Seth Rogen wrote a modern script, witch is awesome. There was some bad-ass action, well most of them were from Kato. Anyway, I loved it and you mite be as surprised as me when you will see it. Don't judge the movie from the trailer, you must see '' The Green Hornet '' for yourself. Expand
  51. Jan 19, 2011
    3
    The Green Hornet is a thoroughly unlikeable character with no redeeming qualities. If I was his employee, sidekick, or even an acquaintance, I would have left. And all the people leaving would have made a better movie.

    It's unfortunate to see these actors hamming it up in such an unpleasant, unfunny movie. Unfortunate for me and my wallet.
  52. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    this movie is largely underrated. I suspect that some critics rated it poorly because they are racist towards Asians--- whenever they see an Asian starring the hero (lead role) they diss on it. They want to preserve the geeky asexual stereotypes of Asian actors in Hollywood. The fact is that this is a Jay Chou movie, not Seth Rogen's.The fact is that the dialogues are funny(way better than Pineapple Express) and the actions are fun to watch. Movies are supposed to be entertaining and I sure was entertained by The Green Hornet. Expand
  53. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seth Rogan and Jay Chou have an almost bromance going on here as The Green Hornet and Kato. They honestly have a very nice chemistry going on, as well as some very well thought out choreography. I do love the fact that while Kato is all sorts of bad ass, poor Brett only seems to get by. Seth Rogan plays his part well and is a loveable, but still sort of a ass. 3D was very well done, and the effects were pleasing while not taking away from the actors themselves. I would have liked to see a decked out Christoph Waltz with a full villan persona, but he is delightful as the akward gang lord. This one is fun and is worth the 3D price! Expand
  54. May 30, 2011
    7
    A surprisingly hilarious movie, I found myself laughing throughout the entire thing, it's definitely not your typical super hero movie, while it's not perfect it's still highly enjoyable for fans of super hero movies.
  55. May 3, 2011
    7
    Action comedies are a dime a dozen and the great ones find a solid balance while the poorer ones don't shine on either side. I found the comedy of this movie was hilarious. A few scenes left me guffawing minutes after they were done. The action on the other hand was good but forgettable. It didn't bring anything new or exciting but still held my attention.This is a good entertaining movie that won't suck two hours out your life. Expand
  56. Feb 6, 2011
    7
    I went into this movie with low expectations, with my local newspaper giving it a D+ rating. Those were surpassed by the end of the film. While The Green Hornet doesn't have any particular genre for it to fit into (and doesn't master any of the ones advertised very well), it must be understood that this is not the world's worst movie, and I am once again astounded at how the critics praise Cameron's Sanctum but can't seem to like any other kind of movie. The 3D was interesting, but didn't add a whole lot to the movie, and could have been used to more potential. The small amount of extra perspective it did add to the action sequences, however, were made a little more exciting. The comedy was great in some parts, but obviously the critics can't take a joke. If you want a good movie to see with a buddy on a rainy day, here it is. This won't win any Oscars, but please, it is not as bad as the critics make it out to be. Expand
  57. Feb 22, 2011
    6
    Do you know the instrumental song FLIGHT OF THE BUMBLEBEE played by the pianist Maksim Mrvica a couple years ago? The song quietly appeared in some movies, from KILL BILL: VOL. 1 (2003) to THE KARATE KID (2010), but the most recognized when it was used by THE GREEN HORNET for its title theme since the first time the series was aired in 1930s as Radio Program. The movie directed by former Video Music Director, Michel Gondry, his most recognized work is ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND (2004), but I do not know why he turned into Comedy Director since BE KIND REWIND (2008) which is funny but standard. But the real person who is really in charged in thiz newest remake is the comedian Seth Rogen. In his vision, he tries to present a good action and hilarious moment all at once. The Green Hornet is Britt Reid, the newspaper tycoon. He was accompanied by his loyal sidekick Kato (Jay Chou). The Green Hornet is declared as an outlaw, in order to gain the trust and access to the underground criminal activities, by means of their true motive which is fighting crimes. You can see during the entire film, Britt Reid did nothing special for his fighting crime efforts. All things did by Kato himself, from Kungfu expert, gadget creator, driver and even a coffee maker for Reid. The good thing is we still can find ourself laughing by seeing their chemistry. For me, Kato figure is the savior of thiz movie, Jay Chou is definitely a scene stealer. On the other hand, I still could not figure out, why the top star like Cameron Diaz is involved in thiz film? She is truly unnecessary. The fun part for me is by seeing Christoph Waltz repeats his role (after INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS (2009)) as a cruel but funny bad guy at the same time as Chudnofsky who is prefer to be called Blood-nofsky later. There are two things that you might not notice in thiz movie. In the opening scene, Chudnofsky meets one **** mobster played by James Franco (once again, most of you certainly do not think he was James Franco, was not it?, after his famous roles in SPIDER-MAN (2002) and 127 HOURS (2010)). But what makes it most enjoyable is the cleverly funny dialogue delivered by both of them. And the second interes-thing is: do you realize there was Edward Furlong in thiz movie? (he was young John Connor in TERMINATOR 2: JUDGEMENT DAY (1991)) in thiz movie? Furlong is one of Chudnofsky crews who called Tupper. If you are expecting thiz movie to be a mature Superheroes movie like THE DARK KNIGHT (2008) or even IRON MAN (2008), you will be disappointed. There are too much cheesy scenes and you know there are also too much unreal situations, like when Bloodnofsky wants The Green Hornet to be killed, instead searching all over the town for reasonable Green Hornet figures, they end up killing all men that wear green outfit, is that ridiculous? The only way to enjoy thiz movie is do not expect it as Action movies, but expect it as a Comedy, then you will have a fun ride. And one more thing, no matter how bad and childish thiz movie has been, but when it comes to Great Car like Black Beauty and other cool gadgets, any one could be blurred with the real quality of the film. All boys will love it! Let me summarize it for you, it was a cartoonic pleasure. Lets roll, Kato!




    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  58. Feb 26, 2011
    6
    I was one that DIDNT have high expectations for this movie, its not that its terrible but its just been done before and guess found it entertaining, it had a decent amount of action, cool gadgets, cool cars and chase scene, explosions n such. Worth a watch but another movie thats easily forgettable.
  59. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Ignore the critics - this movie was great. The action scenes were well done. All of the characters were enjoyable, especially Jay Chou as Kato and Christopher Waltz as the villain. It's a great movie to see with friends. You'll enjoy it more if you go in willing to have fun!
  60. Jan 18, 2011
    5
    This movie is a mix of crap and pure genius, with unbelievable action stunts, random jokes and the 'bro' thing. It went too fast, but it was deadly enough but yet kinda lame. This movie is so bipolar its hard to even write a few sentences about it.
  61. Jan 18, 2011
    4
    Simply boring. I expected more from Seth Rogen, or did he just to this for the money?
    I'm not sure that it's political correct to have an asian actor to be a driver for a rich man in 2011.
  62. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    I think this movie is being consistently underrated by critics. Creative car violence never gets old, and Christophe Waltz is apparently a funny guy when you need him to be. Also worthwhile: Seth Rogan wild haymakers as a theme.
  63. Jan 18, 2011
    7
    A lot of things in this movie made me laugh. It's definitely my kind of movie. But the profanity is a bit too excessive for some people, and the humor isn't universally appealing. What I enjoy most is that it's not just the same boring super-hero movie I've seen dozens of times before. The Green Hornet tackles the prospect of two guys trying to be heroes from a realistic perspective. (Although, a lot of what they do is impossible.) Expand
  64. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    ok as a friend of one who was known as Kato... i applaud this movie.. i want more..... too bad the critics never even panned the tv show or understand what Mr. Lee brought to the world.. a series will make many happy and some folks $$$.. nuff said.
  65. Jan 21, 2011
    6
    Far to cliche, average, and unbalanced to truly be a good movie. However, the action was good enough, the casting was okay, and the humor was pretty good. This movie should've been the Iron Man of superhero movies, but it wasn't. But hey, at least it wasn't the Fantastic 4. Overall, worth a rental, but you don't need to spend 12 dollars to see at the theater.
  66. Jan 24, 2011
    5
    Although visually appealing the green hornet fails to deliver even with its star actors, is quarky humor and just lack of an exciting plot won't make you go to the movies to see it but just pick it up at a local redbox. A 5 out 10.
  67. Jan 23, 2011
    4
    Everyone who votes this movie 8 or higher was blinded by the green smokescreen of special effects and 3D technology. The acting was mediocre (except for Jay Chou as Kato, the star of the movie despite the title), the action was unbelievable (in a negative sense); the only possible redemption could come from Christoph Waltz, although he was hampered by some poor dialogue choices on the part of the screenwriters. (Wait, isn't the main character one of those screenwriters?) The producers should have avoided the 3D effect which wasn't implemented in its full potential. I give it 44/100. Expand
  68. Jan 24, 2011
    4
    I was expecting The Green Hornet to be funny, fast and interesting as Kick Ass for example, but it wasn't. The first thing that made me want to fall asleep was the characters. The main character is total looser and doesn't have most of the characteristics of a main character. He relied on his sidekick for everything, and the sidekick wasn't a main character, because the movie is named after the dull person. Not to mention the worst role of Cameron Diaz.
    The action scenes are clichéd and there is too much pointless blabbering between them. The jokes are as some 12 year old wrote them.
    Only the effects deserve some positive attention, but it's IMAX, so this is expected.
    I'm pretty disappointed, may be because I had really high expectations for movies of this kind after Kick Ass.
    Expand
  69. Jan 24, 2011
    9
    A good enjoyable movie with good humour, good action and most importantly a good story. I think the reason critics gave it low reviews was because they went in hoping to see a film made to the same style as the likes of iron man, the green hornet had it's own style that fitted the film perfectly. The only reason I didn't give this a 10 was because I felt the 3d didn't do anything for the movie. I'd definitely ignore the critics with this one and recommend it to everyone. Expand
  70. Jul 10, 2011
    7
    When I saw this film back in January, I didn't know what to expect. But this film was actually pretty entertaining! I watched the TV show with Bruce Lee in it and this has almost nothing to do with the show. Seth Rogen is funny as always and newcomer Jay Chou is badass as Kato! So, the performances are great, but so are the visuals and action! The story is not good or bad, but a lukewarm one. Overall, check this one out and it is available now on DVD and Blu-Ray! Expand
  71. Feb 6, 2011
    6
    Having read all the mixed reviews about this I thought I'd give it a shot.
    The plot line is inoffensive and has some comedy elements in it that were pretty funny, but I found the pace to be a little off, spending too much time on trivial things which made them feel laboured yet rushing through some of the better sections, it's also a little self indulgent, as though he'd adapted the
    character to allow him to play deadpan the way he likes to, his relationship to Kato is subtly funny in places.
    Essentially, it's just alright.

    Cinema: Nah
    DVD Rental: Yeah why not
    Expand
  72. May 8, 2011
    4
    I love Seth Rogan, so you should definitely watch this is you do as well. He delivers in his charming and witty banter, as the other characters were alright.
    I know nothing about the original Green Hornet comics so I can't really judge on whether it stayed true to that, however, I don't know if I would watch a second or third installment. It was mediocre entertainment, and found that half
    way through I was on the fence about whether or not I needed to finish in order to be satisfied. Expand
  73. Feb 18, 2011
    6
    Well is not an extraordinary film, but i can say that is funny and watchable. I have some laughs with this comedy.... ok as i said is not excellent..... but is one of those films you can watch in afternoon and have a lot of fun.
  74. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    Very funny movie. Wasn't quite as good as I was expecting seeing as the last movie those two wrote was superbad but what can you do. I feel bad for the critics having to sit through all of these movies that they hate seeing as they seem to hate most of them. If they just went in looking for a good time I feel like they'd enjoy themselves more
  75. Mar 3, 2011
    2
    The main character was plain irritating throughout. What little action there was has been done countless times already. Just couldn't wait for the movie to end.
  76. Mar 5, 2011
    4
    The Green Hornet has attractively glossy action sequences, but the film's use of comic relief does no favors for the superhero-comedy genre or Rogen's widely noticeable typecasting.
  77. Mar 19, 2011
    4
    Great special effects cannot carry a movie. The main character is completely unlikeable and I was utterly unable to relate to his self-indulgent attempts at comedy. Kato is a much better character; while still unrelatable he's at least someone who seems trustworthy; I wouldn't want this Green Hornet protecting my iPhone, let alone an entire city. The movie isn't without entertainment value but it could have been truly good if the Green Hornet was even a little more interested in crime-fighting than self-indulgence. It's perhaps worth a rental if you just want to eat some popcorn and watch stuff blow up, but if you plan to have your brain engaged, choose something else. Expand
  78. May 17, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Stupendously moronic and infantile. Kato action scenes and the Walz character were the only single good thing about this movie and the little rant Franco does at the beginning other wise the movie stoops as low as only a Seth Rogen script can go. Like watching 2 kids in a schoolyard donnybrook. Expand
  79. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a common complaint with it is that the main character, Britt Reid, is unrelateble,
    a rather ridiculous complaint because, well, he's not meant to be.
    just because someone is a main character does not mean they have to be like able.
    (that idea being especially strong in comedy, Iron Man had similar themes, and it was not a notable complaint) in fact one of the major themes in the film is growing up and coming of age.
    for instance,
    in the beginning he is juvenile and misogynistic. a child.
    later he is rebellious and angry, hating his raising and his father. a teenager by the end he is confident, he no longer despises his his father, even if he doesn't agree with him on every aspect of his upbringing, he is aware that his father was not purely evil, and actually wished to help. an adult.
    really I am baffled by the critics apparent vehement dislike of the film
    Expand
  80. Jan 14, 2012
    6
    Better than I thought it was going to be, part action movie, part buddy flick. Won't set the world alight but good popcorn for the brain and worth looking at.
  81. Apr 30, 2011
    6
    Really stupid and really fun. It's also among the cooler-looking movies so far this year. You have to have a sense of humor that includes dumb jokes, which might be why the critics didn't like it, but if you fall in that category, see it. And if you like special effects, definitely see it, but in 2D.
  82. May 3, 2011
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. If you are a fan of either action, comedy, or both, you will definitely have a blast watching this thrill ride. It is highly recommended.
  83. May 14, 2011
    7
    Terrific entertainment at the movies. Soooo much fun with this film. I was worried about Seth Rogen playing a superhero but he actually did a pretty good job. Im really looking forward to a sequel
  84. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    It's probably easiest to rate The Green Hornet in relation to other comedy super hero movies released over the last few years. It's not an instant classic like Kick-Ass, but at least it's more accessible and more consistent in tone than Super. There are some pretty good gags, and the action scenes are creative, and more importantly, fun. Seth Rogen and Jay Chou are a good double-act - Rogen is likeable as usual as the Hornet and Chou makes a surprisingly good Kato, both able to handle the stunts and able to ground the character in (an admittedly odd) reality. Christoph Wlatz also impresses, and is starting to rack up quite an impressive list of entertaining villains. However, the film runs out of steam a little in the middle section, some sequences are a little muddy and advance the plot very little, and the wrap-up at the end is a bit sloppy. Plus Cameron Diaz appears to simply be in the film to fill out the girl-quota, and while it's nice to see Edward James-Olmos in films again, his character adds little to proceedings. So it's flawed, but Michel Gondry's Green Hornet is, for the most-part a pleasantly crazy diversion. Expand
  85. May 22, 2011
    6
    This movie could have been and should have been so much better. It's like they just didn't think things through enough. I was very disappointed. Maybe they will do better next time!!
  86. Jul 4, 2011
    5
    After the sudden death of newspaper editor and owner James Reid, his only son Britt is thrown into the cooperate world without any clue of how to run a business. When Britt meets Kato, a disgruntled and mysterious employee of his father they form an odd friendship which results in Britt becoming a masked vigilante in the city of L.A known simply as the Green Hornet. With Britt now running around the city causing havoc for gangs and drug dealers, he draws the attention of the ruthless Chudnofsky, a meth dealer. The Green Hornet is a film written by comedian Seth Rogen, and right off the bat that is the biggest downfall the film has. Rogen is very talented comedian, but this film should have never been a comedy. This film could have easily been better had it taken itself seriously at times. Rogen could have thrown in some very good themes had it been a drama. There were some serious scenes, but most of them either awkward because they did not fit with the overall mood or they eventually turned into a joke. Had Rogen taken the time to sit down not as a comedian but as a writer, he may have been able to produce a good script, because the final product which he produced seemed like it was written by a 10 year old.

    Now with that being said Rogen does not even do a good job of acting out his own written material. We have seen this type of performances from Rogen many times, but this time it was just too tedious and overwhelming. The material which he performed for his character was terrible to begin with, so no matter how Rogen tried to present it for acting purposes it would have been dull and boring. Which brings up the rest of the actors, Jay Chou was expressionless as Kato and Cameron Diaz did not fit the role of Lenore, she was too upbeat and cheery the entire time for me to buy into it. There was one lone bright spot for the acting and pretty much the entire film and that was Christoph Waltz as Chudnofsky. He played the villain the way he should have been played, cold and ruthless. Waltz was brilliant; his character was insane right from the badass opening scene (featuring a very clever and downright awesome cameo from James Franco) up until the final battle scene between The Green Hornet and himself. The Green Hornet is far from an enjoyable flick, it was boring and drawn out. Rogen was certainly not the person who should have been in control of this adaptation. It should have been handled by someone who was willing to add more seriousness and take out many of the unnecessary stupid lines. For the first time really in his career thus far it seems Rogens usual over the top delivery and his crude humour did not serve him well. People have caught on to this being a regular muse for Rogen, and would like to see him try and take things seriously for once. It was obvious that Rogen was trying to bring a new spin to the superhero genre, which features many dramatic adaptations of famous heroes, but it sticking with the drama proves to be a more efficient and audience friendly way of making a superhero/vigilante flick. As far as films from 2011 go or even to clarify that even further, as far as superhero films from 2011 go there will be much better. In fact Green Hornet may be at the bottom of the all time list of Superhero films to grace the big screen. This is certainly far from one of the best films of 2011. Even if you are a huge fan of Rogen this film simply does not work. Watch it for a few laughs maybe and too see a badass Christoph Waltz, but other than that, do not expect to be wowed by this film.
    Expand
  87. Jul 1, 2011
    3
    Personally I don't see how anyone "liked or loved" this Movie. The Plot seemed too rushed. The Character development was terrible mainly at the start where Britt and Kato " Lets start to be superheroes." This is when they are drunk, People say a lot of things when they are drunk and forget about it the day after. I know this is a comedy but honestly the Jokes fell flat. Seth Rogen Character was not funny and Cameron Diaz seemed useless in this film, she should of served a more predominant role in the whole film. The Plot failed because it was like it was missing a lot of scenes. Expand
  88. Jun 17, 2011
    5
    This film was reasonably entertaining as it offered a fairly good cast portraying some very colourful characters. Judging from previous reviews, I was expecting close to an awful film but was proven otherwise. Although not anything special, it is overall a stylish and humorous action flick, which is worth seeing if you are particularly a Seth Rogen fan.
  89. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    The Green Hornet is a very good film. It has alot of funny moments in the film, the action scenes are just enjoyable to watch and the story is told very well. My only problem with this film is that some scenes can be boring and forgetable in the film. I would give this film a high matinee
  90. Mar 18, 2013
    3
    The Green Hornet lost my interest halfway through. I couldn't get over how obnoxious the protagonist (The Green Hornet played by a Seth Rogen who tries really hard but just can't make it happen) is and how stupid the red overlay looks during the fights that mainly involve his sidekick, who really is the brains and brawn behind the operation. The way Seth Rogen treats everyone makes it impossible to identify with him in any way and the movie probably would have been better off just focusing on the sidekick. Cameron Diaz (As Lenore Case) didn't help either as she puts up a mediocre performance, mostly pulling weird faces and pretending to be very enthousiastic. I believe this movie is why people invented the phrase "phoning it in". I could laugh about some of the jokes and some of the special effects were very good but it doesn't make up for the horrible protagonist. Expand
  91. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    There is a lot of ways to describe this film, there really are. But, what is so great about this film is that it is so good, it's indescribable. So . . . See it. End of story.
  92. Jul 7, 2011
    1
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Considering the cast, and the potential - There was very little actual humor (a couple chuckles) and the action sequences were uninteresting. They could have done much more with this, and obviously wanted to set up a franchise, but after watching this mind numbing snoozefest, I would have no interest in seeing a sequel. The acting felt completely forced, especially from Cameron Diaz and Seth Rogan. Run and hide from the Green Hornet... movie. Expand
  93. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    3
    No purpose or direction, The Green Hornet fails nearly fails on nearly all levels.
  94. Jul 22, 2011
    1
    I thought this movie was extremely disappointing with a very poor storyline. Seth Rogan had zero charisma in this show. Jay Chou was the only redeeming factor.
  95. Feb 27, 2013
    3
    I wasn't expecting great things from this movie, right from the start before I even saw the film it felt like Seth Rogen was miss-cast. I like Seth Rogen, I think he is a very funny comedy actor but I couldn't see him being the super hero type, and that was basically my one lingering thought for the whole movie. The character of Britt Reid as written in this movie is deeply unlikeable, he's arrogant, he's pretty much useless and he's more comic relief than hero. As a protagonist you expect Reid to have a typical character arc, he starts off spoilt and arrogant, he undergoes a personal tragedy, he becomes the Green Hornet and learns to be a better person etc. There was none of that in this film, for the whole hour and 50 odd minutes he is just an annoying moron. The special effects used are interesting but sometimes just bizarre like multiple "devil's mirror" instances which don't make sense. Cameron Diaz didn't need to be in this film, Christoph Waltz is wasted in this film and Seth Rogen shouldn't have written this film. All in all everything about this film just felt wrong, every time I come to try and give it another chance and re-watch it, I end up turning it off before getting halfway through. Expand
  96. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    The green hornet is an action packed film that wowed me when I was watching it and not many films can do that to me. I thoroughly enjoyed the film and in parts it was very funny.
  97. Aug 23, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Un film de super-héros ultra-classique qui ne vaut que pour son humour, ses acteurs (à part Cameron Diaz, totalement absente) et sa mise en scène efficace. Sinon, question scénario, c'est carrément bidon... Expand
  98. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    The movie was a silly idea, to begin with. So they made the movie into an action/comedy and it does not work!
    The green hornet is annoying to watch, not funny. and I just wanted the main character to die! What a bad movie!!
  99. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    Never heard reviews for this movie, but it came on a movie channel 1 night and I watched it. I really liked this movie! Funny, interesting, it was really entertaining! And that's what it is, entertainment. People looking for anything more will keep crying about it, but who cares. Buying this on Bluray.
  100. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    The Green Hornet has a perfect mix of comedy and action, with some cool moments in between. There are some twists I did not expect and everything simply made sense.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 12 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jan 21, 2011
    40
    The Green Hornet is what you get when someone who dropped out of high school to do standup comedy, then spent a decade in movies and television, conceives a Hollywood "passion project." [24 Jan. 2011, p. 82]
  2. 50
    At least The Green Hornet is likable, and a refreshing change from the heavy, angst-ridden superhero pictures so beloved by obnoxious fanboys.
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    70
    The mix is not nearly classic but is congenial enough to warm up a January weekend and perhaps to stoke a sequel. Call it "The Green Hornet Strikes Again?" No: "Kato II!"