User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 347 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 347

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 24, 2011
    3
    Is this an action movie? A buddy comedy? A movie focused on character development and motivations and identity? Overall, there's a little bit of each of the above but not enough of each to make the movie redeeming or engaging. I was bored by the third act. And as with most 3D movies these days, the 3D adds nothing.
  2. Jan 23, 2011
    0
    I think we are starting to get annoyed with Seth Rogen, he was funny in on, maybe two movies. I feel this **** film is his last get out of jail free card.
  3. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    The Green Hornet really disappointed me. I thought it was going to be like the radio show I listened to when I was a kid. They got the name but then they just played with it. This movie is not worth your time or money.
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    "The Green Hornet" has so many (green) cliches, even the smartest of the smartest audiences wouldn't understand this piece of crap.
  5. Feb 14, 2011
    3
    Brit, The main character is the reason for the low review. He is a bumbling fool, annoying as hell, an arrogant and unlikable character not in-character but to the audience himself. He's the kind of moron that turns up to a party thinking he owns the place, puts other people down, throws insults at people and everyone wishes that he'd just go the **** away. I know that his character was designed to be like this and there have been characters such as this before (which were done so much better) but the performance in this film was utterly vulgar. The dialogue between Brit and Kato before there fight was obscene and pathetic - never so much in my life have i ever wanted the main character in a movie beat to a pulp. And yet he still won that fight. Brit was semi-likeable to start, but as the film progressed he became an eyesore. There were some redeeming qualities and characters in the film though. Kato's performance was pretty good - and Chebowski the villian was superb. I really had to stop and think why cameron diaz was in it though - her character, save one scene, was completely pointless and a waste of time. I dont know much about the previous green hornet radioshows/movies, but from what ive read it sounds like the performance he got in this film was very insultive to the series and to the Green hornet himself. Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2011
    1
    Based on a comic book series and television show, this film tries to bring a more lighthearted approach to the superhero boom the film industry had experienced in recent years. Since I wasn't around when the Magna Carta was signed, I have no previous experience with this franchise before this film. The producers try to aggregate the world of the original with a contemporary feel, and the result is a horrendous piece of work. To keep a comedic tone, they cast Seth Rogen as the Green Hornet, whose ability to play the hero is comparable to achievement of the rest of the movie. Never at any point did it feel comfortable watching him. He brings the crude humor people know him for, which is ill timed and conceived throughout the film. The highlight of the rest of the cast was the cameo of James Franco, whose 2 minutes in the film was the best scene. Very little of the actions of the characters made sense and the flow of the story was extremely choppy. Hence, it just never feels natural. The one positive I can give it was the awesome car the Green Hornet had, "Black Beauty", which more a testament that they had good taste even back in the 40's. If the creator's of the franchise would be appalled by this rendition. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2011
    4
    With all of the production and the feedback that the movie is good, it made a disappointment. Movie was entertaining but mostly dull. Completely pointless.
  8. Jan 20, 2011
    0
    To call this a travesty would be giving this movie too much credit. As a devoted fan of the Green Hornet when I watch the original series in first run on TV, I was absolutely nauseated at the bastardization of the characters. The Green Hornet/Britt Reid was conceived and developed as a savvy, intelligent newspaper genius. Kato, his equal partner was intelligent, resourceful and fully equal with Britt Reid, though for the sake of their partnership he played the role of a household servant. These were two men who had no preoccupation with how drunk one could get and how to or how often to climb into bed with someone. The Green Hornet was not some egotistical weakling dependent upon someone else to think for him, fight for him or to carry him through conflict. A brilliant tactian, a superb hand to hand combat artist in his own right, he an Kato where truly a team that formed a formidable nemisis to crime. This movies portrays the Green Hornet and Kato as intellectually bumbling idiots saved only by Kato's tech ability, gadgets and accidentlly pulling off the right thing at the right time. But, what was to be expected with Seth Rogan as the writer and the lead - exactly what we got; sophomoric hormone teen age party humor intermixed with gadgetry and CGI effects. I hope that this film is remade with a serious actor in the lead role, with a real script and dialogue in line with the original character. It's happened before (i.e. the idiotic TV "Batman" of the 60's redone into the the "Dark Knight" of today), we can only pray it happens again! Expand
  9. Jan 22, 2011
    1
    The casting for the Hornet was all wrong - the personality was all wrong - great story, that really sucked due to bad casting / persona decisions !! Kato character was great - the last 5 minutes was the movie - unfortunately
  10. Jan 31, 2011
    2
    Too dull to be an action film, and too lacking in humour to be a comedy, The Green Hornet's surprisingly high body-count and moral bankruptcy mean this isn't even one for the kids. It gets one mark for its one laugh, and another for the James Franco cameo. A waste of an adaptation.
  11. Feb 13, 2011
    2
    Awful movie!! Seth Rogen is so arrogant and a complete dusche. I am never going to watch another Seth Rogen again! Very few funny scenes and a complete waste of time and money.
  12. Jan 14, 2011
    4
    Honestly, the whole time it felt as though Seth Rogan were trying, just a little too hard, to be funny. And to be fair, that is sort of what Seth Rogan does - is to push at being funny. It just felt forced, here, like a comedian stopping after every joke and going "heh? funny, right?" to the audience. The action sequences were well-done, but the contrast between these and the comedy just seemed jarring. Maybe I'm too used to the gritty superhero movies that have been coming out recently, but I didn't enjoy it - I kept expecting tension between the action, and not perpetual comic relief. In the end, it was too much comedy in my action, or too much action in my comedy. It's a fun movie to watch with friends, sure, but I wouldn't watch it twice. Expand
  13. Mar 27, 2011
    0
    boring.
    i hate the stupid fat spoilt brat.
    his acting was so fake and his character is just despicable, just pisses me off to see him.
    i dont see whats so good about this movie
  14. Apr 5, 2011
    0
    Absolutely dreadful watch. Honestly, this doesn't even deserve the current score of 39 and I really want those minutes of my life back. This makes a mockery of the original character, the casting doesn't fit one bit and they really shouldn't have bothered making this a comedy -- the jokes were a bore. Quite the disappointment.
  15. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    Thanks SR for completely ruining any chance of me enjoying this movie. The dialogue was childish, terrible, and grating on the ears. Very few movies make me want to leave, but this one did so on multiple occasions. Only cool parts of this movie were the CG fight scenes, when I did not have to listen so SR's winy voice. Do yourself a favor and just watch the CG parts.
  16. May 12, 2011
    1
    this movie is an absolute rubbish and i must commend all critics that scored it low. This movie is just like going on a fishing trip but forgot 'ur fishing hook and ended up fishing without a hook. Now isn't that silly? Well that's just how stupid this movie is,with a useless storyline,and action scenes that focus on destruction of public properties rather than actual combat, big thumbs down must be given to all concern in producing this lifeless movie including seth rogen Expand
  17. Jun 7, 2011
    2
    I feel bad rating this, as I couldn't watch more than 45 minutes... even those where painful. This flik blew clunks so hard I nearly had an azz-aneurysm. Truly awful production, Seth should cry in a corner and the bad-ass Asian dude is just plain lost here... Nothing to see, nothing good at least.... spend your $ somewhere else, this movie sucks. Oh yeah, it's 3d, wow... a crappy flik in 3d, is sooo much better than a crappy flik in 2d. OH WAIT, a crappy flik is a crappy flik--WHO KNEW?!?!

    Sad really, as they had such prod quality--no idea what morons create this steaming pile of.... refuse, but they should be drummed out of the business. No doubt, they will get a mettle and be promoted. it's the dumb-ass-american-way, isn't it?
    Expand
  18. Jan 17, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers. It's an inside joke, the green smoke that emits from the gas gun. The vapor is a drug reference, an allusion to pot, and Britt Reid, the layabout son of a powerful newspaper magnate, smokes a whole lot of it. Kato is his dealer. Disguised as a servant(actually, he's a mechanic; it's politically correct), Kato makes his employer's coffee, and in every mean cup, he imprints a leaf in the foam. It's a metaphorical leaf: a marijuana leaf. In David Gordon Green's "Pineapple Express", the Seth Rogen character's official dealer(played by James Franco) grabs a pot of coffee and whacks his attacker in the face. When they next meet, Saul is referred to as Mr. Folgers. Britt and Kato are coded stoners, in which their drug-induced highs masquerade as natural ones. It's "Pineapple Express"(also starring Rogen) all over again, with James Chou substituting for Franco, who incidentally, makes a guest appearance. Playing the role first originated by the legendary Bruce Lee, the Taiwan-born Chou gets to be the Kato that the producers of "The Green Hornet" television series denied the martial arts expert when the ABC show made its run in the mid-to-late sixties. That dynamic on-the-set of "The Green Hornet" scene from Rob Cohen's "Dragon: The Life of Bruce Lee", where the late kung fu master(played by Jason Scott Lee) takes it upon himself to write his own stage directions, and in the process, ends up upstaging his white co-star(Van Williams, as played by Forry Smith), never happened. Just like any television program of its time, there were stringent rules on what a minority could do, which includes, of course, playing one's own race, as Lee found out when David Carradine beat him out for the role of Caine in the popular "Kung Fu" series. "The Green Hornet", despite being nearly unwatchable, in which the filmmaker, an auteur, like Green("George Washington", "All the Real Girls"), a Terrence Malick disciple, takes a stab at impersonal commercial filmmaking, and whiffs, nevertheless, has made a movie that may interest those who remember a pivotal scene in "Dragon", where Lee watches Blake Edwards' "Breakfast at Tiffany's", stone-faced, amidst laughter in the packed movie-house, as Mickey Rooney's comic take on a Chinese national, makes him realize that he needs to go overseas if he wants to make it big. Kato was an insult to a man of Lee's stature, so this otherwise worthless remake, in a small way, pays homage to Lee, by rescuing this minor figure from the margins of the superhero universe. When Britt says, "Let's roll, Kato," it's less of a command that Kato should abide by the masked crusader of justice(or is that self-promotion) with the utmost subservience, than an invitation to go smoke some weed, as equals, like fratboys up to raising mayhem. High as a kite, the future crime-fighting team decapitates a statue that bears the likeness of Britt's overbearing father, and by happenstance, they witness a mugging. With the severed head in their possession, "The Green Hornet" becomes a "head" movie; head, in this context, pertains to drugs and drug paraphernalia, and the 1968 psychedelic film, starring The Monkees. Without thinking, they intervene on the accosted couple's behalf, in which Kato is front and center throughout the melee, relegating Britt Reid to the sidelines. It's not destiny, so much as the groovy thing to do at the moment, a happening. Only a pothead would say, "Let's pose as villains, but act like heroes." Even though The Green Hornet and Kato save the city from "Bloodnofsky"(even their arch-nemesis is stoned), they don't get serious about their roles as saviors until the pair sobers up, which is represented by their restoration of the statue's head to its bronzed body. Collapse
  19. BKM
    Jan 21, 2011
    4
    Why are there so many talented people involved in this stinker? Tom Wilkinson, Edward James Olmos, Cameron Diaz, Christopher Waltz, James Franco, etc. And Michale Gondry was pegged to direct for some unknown reason. Perhaps it has something to do with star and co-writer Seth Rogen's new found swagger. Despite the fact that his films are getting worse and his comic appeal is fading, he seems to have a lot of people convinced that he is still at the top of his game. The movie is little more than an overblown comic book/comedy with loads of explosions and jokes but no real laughs or entertainment value. It's easy to see why it was dumped in the middle of January. Expand
  20. Jan 19, 2011
    3
    The Green Hornet is a thoroughly unlikeable character with no redeeming qualities. If I was his employee, sidekick, or even an acquaintance, I would have left. And all the people leaving would have made a better movie.

    It's unfortunate to see these actors hamming it up in such an unpleasant, unfunny movie. Unfortunate for me and my wallet.
  21. Jan 18, 2011
    4
    Simply boring. I expected more from Seth Rogen, or did he just to this for the money?
    I'm not sure that it's political correct to have an asian actor to be a driver for a rich man in 2011.
  22. Jan 23, 2011
    4
    Everyone who votes this movie 8 or higher was blinded by the green smokescreen of special effects and 3D technology. The acting was mediocre (except for Jay Chou as Kato, the star of the movie despite the title), the action was unbelievable (in a negative sense); the only possible redemption could come from Christoph Waltz, although he was hampered by some poor dialogue choices on the part of the screenwriters. (Wait, isn't the main character one of those screenwriters?) The producers should have avoided the 3D effect which wasn't implemented in its full potential. I give it 44/100. Expand
  23. Jan 24, 2011
    4
    I was expecting The Green Hornet to be funny, fast and interesting as Kick Ass for example, but it wasn't. The first thing that made me want to fall asleep was the characters. The main character is total looser and doesn't have most of the characteristics of a main character. He relied on his sidekick for everything, and the sidekick wasn't a main character, because the movie is named after the dull person. Not to mention the worst role of Cameron Diaz.
    The action scenes are clichéd and there is too much pointless blabbering between them. The jokes are as some 12 year old wrote them.
    Only the effects deserve some positive attention, but it's IMAX, so this is expected.
    I'm pretty disappointed, may be because I had really high expectations for movies of this kind after Kick Ass.
    Expand
  24. May 8, 2011
    4
    I love Seth Rogan, so you should definitely watch this is you do as well. He delivers in his charming and witty banter, as the other characters were alright.
    I know nothing about the original Green Hornet comics so I can't really judge on whether it stayed true to that, however, I don't know if I would watch a second or third installment. It was mediocre entertainment, and found that half
    way through I was on the fence about whether or not I needed to finish in order to be satisfied. Expand
  25. Mar 3, 2011
    2
    The main character was plain irritating throughout. What little action there was has been done countless times already. Just couldn't wait for the movie to end.
  26. Mar 5, 2011
    4
    The Green Hornet has attractively glossy action sequences, but the film's use of comic relief does no favors for the superhero-comedy genre or Rogen's widely noticeable typecasting.
  27. Mar 19, 2011
    4
    Great special effects cannot carry a movie. The main character is completely unlikeable and I was utterly unable to relate to his self-indulgent attempts at comedy. Kato is a much better character; while still unrelatable he's at least someone who seems trustworthy; I wouldn't want this Green Hornet protecting my iPhone, let alone an entire city. The movie isn't without entertainment value but it could have been truly good if the Green Hornet was even a little more interested in crime-fighting than self-indulgence. It's perhaps worth a rental if you just want to eat some popcorn and watch stuff blow up, but if you plan to have your brain engaged, choose something else. Expand
  28. May 17, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Stupendously moronic and infantile. Kato action scenes and the Walz character were the only single good thing about this movie and the little rant Franco does at the beginning other wise the movie stoops as low as only a Seth Rogen script can go. Like watching 2 kids in a schoolyard donnybrook. Expand
  29. Jul 1, 2011
    3
    Personally I don't see how anyone "liked or loved" this Movie. The Plot seemed too rushed. The Character development was terrible mainly at the start where Britt and Kato " Lets start to be superheroes." This is when they are drunk, People say a lot of things when they are drunk and forget about it the day after. I know this is a comedy but honestly the Jokes fell flat. Seth Rogen Character was not funny and Cameron Diaz seemed useless in this film, she should of served a more predominant role in the whole film. The Plot failed because it was like it was missing a lot of scenes. Expand
  30. Mar 18, 2013
    3
    The Green Hornet lost my interest halfway through. I couldn't get over how obnoxious the protagonist (The Green Hornet played by a Seth Rogen who tries really hard but just can't make it happen) is and how stupid the red overlay looks during the fights that mainly involve his sidekick, who really is the brains and brawn behind the operation. The way Seth Rogen treats everyone makes it impossible to identify with him in any way and the movie probably would have been better off just focusing on the sidekick. Cameron Diaz (As Lenore Case) didn't help either as she puts up a mediocre performance, mostly pulling weird faces and pretending to be very enthousiastic. I believe this movie is why people invented the phrase "phoning it in". I could laugh about some of the jokes and some of the special effects were very good but it doesn't make up for the horrible protagonist. Expand
  31. Jul 7, 2011
    1
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Considering the cast, and the potential - There was very little actual humor (a couple chuckles) and the action sequences were uninteresting. They could have done much more with this, and obviously wanted to set up a franchise, but after watching this mind numbing snoozefest, I would have no interest in seeing a sequel. The acting felt completely forced, especially from Cameron Diaz and Seth Rogan. Run and hide from the Green Hornet... movie. Expand
  32. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    3
    No purpose or direction, The Green Hornet fails nearly fails on nearly all levels.
  33. Jul 22, 2011
    1
    I thought this movie was extremely disappointing with a very poor storyline. Seth Rogan had zero charisma in this show. Jay Chou was the only redeeming factor.
  34. Feb 27, 2013
    3
    I wasn't expecting great things from this movie, right from the start before I even saw the film it felt like Seth Rogen was miss-cast. I like Seth Rogen, I think he is a very funny comedy actor but I couldn't see him being the super hero type, and that was basically my one lingering thought for the whole movie. The character of Britt Reid as written in this movie is deeply unlikeable, he's arrogant, he's pretty much useless and he's more comic relief than hero. As a protagonist you expect Reid to have a typical character arc, he starts off spoilt and arrogant, he undergoes a personal tragedy, he becomes the Green Hornet and learns to be a better person etc. There was none of that in this film, for the whole hour and 50 odd minutes he is just an annoying moron. The special effects used are interesting but sometimes just bizarre like multiple "devil's mirror" instances which don't make sense. Cameron Diaz didn't need to be in this film, Christoph Waltz is wasted in this film and Seth Rogen shouldn't have written this film. All in all everything about this film just felt wrong, every time I come to try and give it another chance and re-watch it, I end up turning it off before getting halfway through. Expand
  35. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    The movie was a silly idea, to begin with. So they made the movie into an action/comedy and it does not work!
    The green hornet is annoying to watch, not funny. and I just wanted the main character to die! What a bad movie!!
  36. Jan 13, 2012
    4
    The concept of the movie is good but I find it a little bit boring.. It is so sloppy,lazy and flat.. a very bland comedy action.. the script is not so funny as it should be. The cast especially the main actor did his job to portray the role but there is a lacking on the execution on how it will be portray. I think there is a problem with the dialogue that cast did not shine thorugh its momentum especially if there is a scene that will be a moment in the movie but it fails short. Expand
  37. Mar 9, 2012
    2
    U might not believe it, particularly f u watched this film, but seth rogan is actually capable of being funny - but he is a comic who needs (n the worst way) 2 hv good material 2 work with. This looks & plays like a TV pilot, which is being generous. It is formulaic 2 the point of absurdity. It rapidly dives n2 negative territory on humor, talent, plot, & entertainment & stays there. Unless ur a diehard seth rogan fan, don't waste ur time w this clunker. Even my "2" seems too generous. Expand
  38. Jan 22, 2012
    1
    The day this superhero movie fad dies can't come too soon. Enough already!

    Same goes for Seth Rogen. He's right up there with Jennifer Aniston as the most overexposed Hollywood stars.
  39. Sep 25, 2013
    4
    Solid acting, action, and some-what entertaining. What sort of kills is though is that it's in 3-D. The 3-D adds nothing to this film, If anything it takes away from it and is incredibly pointless to have.
  40. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    Easily the most horrid anal-raping of source material ever put to film. Repugnant and just plain WRONG in every conceivable way. Bears no semblance to the fantastic TV and radio shows it pretends to be based upon. Written by troglodytes and acted by a gaggle of abrasive creeps with an end result on par with the very worst of the worst films in cinema history. Shameful, unfunny, repellent, shoddy and insincere buck-grabbing at its most egregious. Expand
  41. Feb 14, 2012
    2
    This film is witless and devoid of personality .The characters were wooden and neither engaging nor likeable. The least likeable person was Rogan. Christophe Waltz did his best to inject some character and humour into the film ("Am I not scary?") but "frat-boy self-indulges as pseudo super-hero to try and get girl" is about the sum of it. Kick-ass had edge and even the Green Latern had some level of nobility. This is just a dumb movie that makes no sense. Expand
  42. Mar 30, 2012
    3
    The Green Hornet is terrible, terrible and terrible. Seth Rogen is once again extremely annoying but the movie comes across and some childish adults acting like a bunch of 5 year olds except they have a car with guns on it. Did I mention it was terrible.
  43. Jul 23, 2012
    3
    Seth Rogen plays an overly talkative, trash-talking man-child by day, and an overly talkative, trash-talking vigilante by night. The man will not shut up.
  44. Aug 25, 2012
    4
    I normally love Seth Rogan and his films but this film is silly to the extreme and not very intelligent either. Still, there is enough talent in the cast and crew to prevent this film from being a total blow out. I enjoyed Cameron Diaz's role (though I may be slightly bias having seen The Mask).
  45. Sep 4, 2013
    4
    [4.2] I'm convinced that any movie with Cameron Diaz is doomed to be awful. Luckily, Seth Rogen's charm saves it from awfulness, and some mindlessly fun action. It's definitely a likable action movie, but Seth Rogen should be beyond making an obviously cilchéd, lazy and unimportant film. But at the same time it's clear that he's the type of actor who doesn't always agree to a movie because of a good script (even if he is the one writing it). Expand
  46. Jun 25, 2013
    3
    This film is bad and boring. i watched it on the dvd and i didn't even enjoy it then. It had no quality and the characters were not well done and a little boring. I like Christopher Waltz being the bad guy and that's all i assumed from that movie. A bad movie and a great bad guy.
  47. Aug 25, 2014
    4
    There was a lack of sense of the movie, a lack of direction or structure in the script. Seth Rogen was an utter dud and as much as Jay Chou was funny, he was flatter than paper. Cameron Diaz and all the other supporting cast are not worth mentioning. There are some talents I saw in there wasted on this muddled and overly-cheeky action film. When I first saw this, nothing kicked for me to be excited. Still doesn't when I rewatched it on TV. Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 12 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jan 21, 2011
    40
    The Green Hornet is what you get when someone who dropped out of high school to do standup comedy, then spent a decade in movies and television, conceives a Hollywood "passion project." [24 Jan. 2011, p. 82]
  2. 50
    At least The Green Hornet is likable, and a refreshing change from the heavy, angst-ridden superhero pictures so beloved by obnoxious fanboys.
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    70
    The mix is not nearly classic but is congenial enough to warm up a January weekend and perhaps to stoke a sequel. Call it "The Green Hornet Strikes Again?" No: "Kato II!"