The Green Hornet

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 362 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 362
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2011
    10
    There is no reason for the negative reviews for this movie. People don't understand what this movie has tried to do. When you watch, you need to realize that it is intentionally corny and quirky. The negative reviewers don't get the movie's sense of humor. It's one of the most well made action comedies of all time. It provides thorough enjoyment from start to finish. Fans of comedies willThere is no reason for the negative reviews for this movie. People don't understand what this movie has tried to do. When you watch, you need to realize that it is intentionally corny and quirky. The negative reviewers don't get the movie's sense of humor. It's one of the most well made action comedies of all time. It provides thorough enjoyment from start to finish. Fans of comedies will enjoy, as well as fans of action films. It's definitely worth your time, and you'll want to see repeat viewings. I highly congratulate what the film makers of this movie have done. Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    I thought the green hornet was actually pretty good. The acting is good and the action sequences were awesome!

    I brought a friend of mine with me and he thought the same way he thought the movie was good.

    The 3-D was post converted, after the movie i was like it did not need to be in 3-D.
    I thought the green hornet was pretty good
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    On 22 January 2011, We went to pick up my Aunt in Springfield in order to take her to the movies. She went with the others to see "The King's Speech" while my brother and I went to see this(in case you understand, we haven't read the comic books that had The Green Hornet) to make sure whether its good or not. it turned out good. so, what's my opinion? um, how about this: The storylineOn 22 January 2011, We went to pick up my Aunt in Springfield in order to take her to the movies. She went with the others to see "The King's Speech" while my brother and I went to see this(in case you understand, we haven't read the comic books that had The Green Hornet) to make sure whether its good or not. it turned out good. so, what's my opinion? um, how about this: The storyline lasted a little bit longer for a 119 minute film, but for an Action/Comedy movie, everything else is good. Seth Rogen and the rest of the cast are great, The Comedy is hilarious, The action scenes are very cool, and the visuals are very astounding.

    Sorry Critics, but looks like I'm going against you. This movie is visually entertaining especially for kids and adults.
    Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2011
    7
    Good but not great Super Hero movie. Definitely would have lost nothing being in 2D. Sick of paying the extra $3 for 3D when its just a money gimmick. Campy and comedy relief are OK in my book for most Super Hero movies but this was a little to much.
  5. Jan 20, 2011
    7
    This movie isn't super original or even realistic, but if you go into this movie expecting it to be realistic, you didn't see the same trailer I did. It was a lot of action, Seth Rogen was funny enough, Jay Chou was a great Kato, and the action was ridiculous and exciting. In the same vein as the A-Team, it's supposed to be a fun movie, which is definitely was. I enjoyed myself.
  6. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    Once again the critics are way wrong. I just don't get it. The movie had loads of action, a decent story line and lots of humor. What more do you want. Does it deserve an oscar, hell no, but was it fun to watch.. hell yeah! The only criticism would be about Christoph Waltz as the main villain didn't seem that invested in his character and therefore not very believable, but other than thatOnce again the critics are way wrong. I just don't get it. The movie had loads of action, a decent story line and lots of humor. What more do you want. Does it deserve an oscar, hell no, but was it fun to watch.. hell yeah! The only criticism would be about Christoph Waltz as the main villain didn't seem that invested in his character and therefore not very believable, but other than that me and my wife walked out of the theater wondering if the critics saw a entirely different movie. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    The only annoying part of the movie was wearing the bulky 3D glasses, I think the movie would have been just as entertaining and funny without the 3D. Critics do not know what they are talking about. A movie is supposed to follow the "Hero's Journey" and this my friends follows the classic example of a Hero's Journey. All the way from the Call to adventure to the return, it takes a funnyThe only annoying part of the movie was wearing the bulky 3D glasses, I think the movie would have been just as entertaining and funny without the 3D. Critics do not know what they are talking about. A movie is supposed to follow the "Hero's Journey" and this my friends follows the classic example of a Hero's Journey. All the way from the Call to adventure to the return, it takes a funny take with amazing acting, Seth Rogen and Jay Chou. Cameron Diaz could have done a better job. But in conclusion the movie was great, I enjoyed myself Expand
  8. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    Over the top. Ridiculous. And too long. Though that's what made this movie fun. Dumb fun. I love dumb fun, just like I loved Seth Rogen and Kato. If you're looking for just a fun time at the movies, see "The Green Hornet."
  9. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    THE GREEN HORNET is an entertaining adaptation, that is funny and enjoyable. The only problems I had with this film is Seth Rogen and his annoying character and the film's predictability.
  10. Jan 16, 2011
    7
    i enjoyed this film, i really did, i thought it was funny, though uneven. the plot was a little muddled but everyone seemed like they were having a good time and didnt take their roles too seriuously. i liked the chemistry between chou and rogen though at times it was hard to understand what chou was saying . hopefully this will be a good jumping off point for chou to become a big actioni enjoyed this film, i really did, i thought it was funny, though uneven. the plot was a little muddled but everyone seemed like they were having a good time and didnt take their roles too seriuously. i liked the chemistry between chou and rogen though at times it was hard to understand what chou was saying . hopefully this will be a good jumping off point for chou to become a big action star like jet li was, taller too, and smoother of skin! rogen was rogen, he never changes hes an amusing grumbly bear. cameron diaz is an old blond actress with nothing to offer here, no charisma onscreen, its over woman. christopher waltz is good but isnt in the movie very much, his personality is so compelling though that you want to see more of him than whats in the movie. go see this, its a good opening to summer blockbusters! kato kato! Expand
  11. Jan 14, 2011
    7
    I liked this movie a lot. The trailers don't do it any justice because what made this movie for me was the comedy. I wasn't expecting it to be as funny as it actually is. There are some sweet-ass action moments too because Kato kicks some serious ass. The fight between Brit and Kato was probably my favorite scene, and Christoph Waltz is very good in the villain role. He's a genuineI liked this movie a lot. The trailers don't do it any justice because what made this movie for me was the comedy. I wasn't expecting it to be as funny as it actually is. There are some sweet-ass action moments too because Kato kicks some serious ass. The fight between Brit and Kato was probably my favorite scene, and Christoph Waltz is very good in the villain role. He's a genuine badass villain but he just doesn't know how to be intimidating, which gives him another dimension. I didn't bother seeing it in 3D because, well, I hate 3D and want it to go away. Besides, there's nothing very 3D-ish about it. The bottom line is, go see this movie because it's a nice surprise to start off 2011! Expand
  12. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    One of the best movies I've seen in a long time, with great acting and overall presentation. The movie is funny, well written, and well acted. The action scenes are very well made and funny, with humor being put into them well. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see a clever and funny movie. I'm getting this on DVD.
  13. Jan 17, 2011
    7
    While "The Green Hornet" is far from the perfect movie, it's exciting, fast-paced, brutal, humorous, and stylish; everything I enjoy in popcorn flicks.
  14. Jan 16, 2011
    8
    Once again critics are usless with this sitting at a 38 as I speak. Honestly the movie isn't perfect, but it is a good watch. Yes it isn't as funny as it thinks it is....but that doesn't mean its a complete failure. It's kind of hard to believe that Britt is 1. Famous and 2. seemingly incredibly rich as a newspaper owner in this day and age.....it was believable back in the 60s....but now,Once again critics are usless with this sitting at a 38 as I speak. Honestly the movie isn't perfect, but it is a good watch. Yes it isn't as funny as it thinks it is....but that doesn't mean its a complete failure. It's kind of hard to believe that Britt is 1. Famous and 2. seemingly incredibly rich as a newspaper owner in this day and age.....it was believable back in the 60s....but now, not so much. Some might not like kato vision, but its more of a visual representation of what goes through his mind, than an actual power like some make it out to be. The action good, the story is a good origin story movie, and the comedy is passable. Expand
  15. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    I went to this movie with high expectations after seeing trailers all over TV. I was not disappointed. Once again, the CRITICS ARE WRONG. Geez, how many times have critics underrated movies? Anyways, the movie was great, acting was great, action was excellent, and overall just plain badass and worth your time.
  16. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    The personality of Seth Rogen is all over this flick. (He co-wrote and plays the title role). He starts out as the wastrel son of a newspaper owner who's forced to take the reins and deal with good/evil when his father dies. Thanks to Kato, who designs cool cars/weapons and has real martial arts skills, they target crime. The dialogue is filled with irony and laughs. The slam-bang actionThe personality of Seth Rogen is all over this flick. (He co-wrote and plays the title role). He starts out as the wastrel son of a newspaper owner who's forced to take the reins and deal with good/evil when his father dies. Thanks to Kato, who designs cool cars/weapons and has real martial arts skills, they target crime. The dialogue is filled with irony and laughs. The slam-bang action sequences are full of fun stunts and smashing cartoon violence and director Michael Gondry adds his off-the-wall touches. It's a comic, contemporary spin on the superhero genre that's a blast! Expand
  17. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly, do not listen to the critics on this one because we go to the movies to be entertained. To have fun. That's the perfect way to sum up this movie fun. Seth Rogen was surprisingly good as Brit Reid/The Green Hornet. I love his comedy movies that he co-writes with his writing partner Evan Goldberg. Goldberg & Rogen perfectly add the right amount of action & comedy. Michel Gondry was the perfect choice to direct. Jay Chou shines as Kato. He steals the show with his charisma with U.S. acting debut. Christoph Waltz is good as the villian. Nice supporting cast. Good story. The action scenes were incredible. The scene with Kato vision was perfect due to Michel Gondry's genius mind. The film is perfect popcorn entertainment. The scenes with Brit & Kato are the best. Expand
  18. Ctc
    Jan 16, 2011
    10
    This is not an Oscar contender. Thank God. It is funny and entertaining. The action, the lines, the special effects are all very good. Yes, hardcore fans may be upset that Britt Reid isn't Bruce Wayne but who else cares? We had a blast. It is an enjoyable movie and we would definitely see it again.
  19. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Can I just say I love this movie? Because I freaking loved this movie!! Well, it needs to be 150 characters, so I need to say more. The action rocked, it was hilarious, the 3d was cool, and the acting was great! This is a great popcorn movie with some surprising depth that I can't wait to watch again!
  20. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Sheesh, what's with the hate critics? I actually thought this movie was hilarious! Loved every second of it, and this is coming from someone who hated Seth Rogen, that is, until watching him in this movie. And the amazing actor Christoph Waltz does it again!
  21. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    In the top 3 comic book movies of all time. Number 2 being the dark knight number 1 being the watchmen!! Seth rogen was a very likable britt reed. The 3d was great. The comedy was funny but somewhat slapstick which I liked. The action scenes were awesome. The acting was better than I thought it would be. Overall a great movie. Must see!!!
  22. Jan 17, 2011
    7
    was am ok movie. would suggest watching it on a night where their is nothing going on.. it kept me entertained but other then that i wouldn't put it in and suggest it to others...
  23. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    this movie is largely underrated. I suspect that some critics rated it poorly because they are racist towards Asians--- whenever they see an Asian starring the hero (lead role) they diss on it. They want to preserve the geeky asexual stereotypes of Asian actors in Hollywood. The fact is that this is a Jay Chou movie, not Seth Rogen's.The fact is that the dialogues are funny(way better thanthis movie is largely underrated. I suspect that some critics rated it poorly because they are racist towards Asians--- whenever they see an Asian starring the hero (lead role) they diss on it. They want to preserve the geeky asexual stereotypes of Asian actors in Hollywood. The fact is that this is a Jay Chou movie, not Seth Rogen's.The fact is that the dialogues are funny(way better than Pineapple Express) and the actions are fun to watch. Movies are supposed to be entertaining and I sure was entertained by The Green Hornet. Expand
  24. Feb 6, 2011
    7
    I went into this movie with low expectations, with my local newspaper giving it a D+ rating. Those were surpassed by the end of the film. While The Green Hornet doesn't have any particular genre for it to fit into (and doesn't master any of the ones advertised very well), it must be understood that this is not the world's worst movie, and I am once again astounded at how the critics praiseI went into this movie with low expectations, with my local newspaper giving it a D+ rating. Those were surpassed by the end of the film. While The Green Hornet doesn't have any particular genre for it to fit into (and doesn't master any of the ones advertised very well), it must be understood that this is not the world's worst movie, and I am once again astounded at how the critics praise Cameron's Sanctum but can't seem to like any other kind of movie. The 3D was interesting, but didn't add a whole lot to the movie, and could have been used to more potential. The small amount of extra perspective it did add to the action sequences, however, were made a little more exciting. The comedy was great in some parts, but obviously the critics can't take a joke. If you want a good movie to see with a buddy on a rainy day, here it is. This won't win any Oscars, but please, it is not as bad as the critics make it out to be. Expand
  25. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Ignore the critics - this movie was great. The action scenes were well done. All of the characters were enjoyable, especially Jay Chou as Kato and Christopher Waltz as the villain. It's a great movie to see with friends. You'll enjoy it more if you go in willing to have fun!
  26. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Don't kid yourself -- while Seth Rogen's acting is similar in style to his previous work (e.g. "Zack and Miri ..." and "Get Him to the Greek") and the interplay between Britt and Kato is fun -- the real stars of this film are the cars and gadgets... but they definitely shined! One of the best pure-action comedic romps in a long time.
  27. Apr 11, 2011
    7
    ok, i liked it , the movie was great and funny, i had a good time and i laughed a lot , way funnier than i thought., it was well worth it. the 3d part was , well not nessesary, and i didnt see that much help with it.
  28. Apr 30, 2011
    7
    I saw this movie after I saw the trailer and I liked it. It's not very funny like Seth Rogen's last movies (Pineapple Express) but it's still enjoyable. It had good action and Kato made the movie better. I just think they should of changed Britt Reid's character. Seth Rogen could've proved people wrong and be a bad-ass but no, he had to make Britt an idiot and an **** I understand he wasI saw this movie after I saw the trailer and I liked it. It's not very funny like Seth Rogen's last movies (Pineapple Express) but it's still enjoyable. It had good action and Kato made the movie better. I just think they should of changed Britt Reid's character. Seth Rogen could've proved people wrong and be a bad-ass but no, he had to make Britt an idiot and an **** I understand he was inexperienced but it could've worked out like Tony Stark in Iron Man. Not original but it's good storytelling. The end at The Daily Sentinel was enjoyable with Britt FINALLY kicking-ass. The very end could of been better. Anyways I still think the movie was enjoyable to watch. It's not the best movie but it had good action, Kato was awesome and it was entertaining. Expand
  29. Feb 14, 2011
    7
    "Based of the TV series .... The Green Hornet turns out to be a funny , wacky , over the top .. slapstick wild thrill ride. With Seth Rogen leading the way as the iconic mass crusader. It slips at times but makes up for it and is sure to satisfy moviegoers" .. B
  30. Feb 10, 2011
    7
    I liked this movie, despite the fact it hasn't been very well received by the critics of the world. There mightn't be much to it, it's basically about two hours of violence and driving a car but it's good entertainment. Anyone that goes to a movie like thi and expects it to have an amazing storyline are complete idiots, it's a superhero movie where no one actually has a super power. WhatI liked this movie, despite the fact it hasn't been very well received by the critics of the world. There mightn't be much to it, it's basically about two hours of violence and driving a car but it's good entertainment. Anyone that goes to a movie like thi and expects it to have an amazing storyline are complete idiots, it's a superhero movie where no one actually has a super power. What did you expect? Expand
  31. Jun 23, 2011
    7
    From what the critics said of this movie, i wasn't expecting much from Green Hornet. But surprisingly, there were some funny moments in the movie. Its a different type of comedy than we are all used to. Either you like it or you don't. Obviously the Critics hate this comedy. Don't let the Critics sway you from watching it, they almost did for me. Green Hornet is CERTAINLY WORTH WATCHING!
  32. Feb 5, 2011
    8
    Really impressive movie, especially for January. I don't understand all the negative comments about the movie, because I really enjoyed it. It's a super hero comedy movie with a good script. How boring it would be if the characters say '' You must defeat the bad guys and bring them to justice " ? Instead, Seth Rogen wrote a modern script, witch is awesome. There was some bad-ass action,Really impressive movie, especially for January. I don't understand all the negative comments about the movie, because I really enjoyed it. It's a super hero comedy movie with a good script. How boring it would be if the characters say '' You must defeat the bad guys and bring them to justice " ? Instead, Seth Rogen wrote a modern script, witch is awesome. There was some bad-ass action, well most of them were from Kato. Anyway, I loved it and you mite be as surprised as me when you will see it. Don't judge the movie from the trailer, you must see '' The Green Hornet '' for yourself. Expand
  33. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seth Rogan and Jay Chou have an almost bromance going on here as The Green Hornet and Kato. They honestly have a very nice chemistry going on, as well as some very well thought out choreography. I do love the fact that while Kato is all sorts of bad ass, poor Brett only seems to get by. Seth Rogan plays his part well and is a loveable, but still sort of a ass. 3D was very well done, and the effects were pleasing while not taking away from the actors themselves. I would have liked to see a decked out Christoph Waltz with a full villan persona, but he is delightful as the akward gang lord. This one is fun and is worth the 3D price! Expand
  34. May 30, 2011
    7
    A surprisingly hilarious movie, I found myself laughing throughout the entire thing, it's definitely not your typical super hero movie, while it's not perfect it's still highly enjoyable for fans of super hero movies.
  35. May 3, 2011
    7
    Action comedies are a dime a dozen and the great ones find a solid balance while the poorer ones don't shine on either side. I found the comedy of this movie was hilarious. A few scenes left me guffawing minutes after they were done. The action on the other hand was good but forgettable. It didn't bring anything new or exciting but still held my attention.This is a good entertaining movieAction comedies are a dime a dozen and the great ones find a solid balance while the poorer ones don't shine on either side. I found the comedy of this movie was hilarious. A few scenes left me guffawing minutes after they were done. The action on the other hand was good but forgettable. It didn't bring anything new or exciting but still held my attention.This is a good entertaining movie that won't suck two hours out your life. Expand
  36. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    I think this movie is being consistently underrated by critics. Creative car violence never gets old, and Christophe Waltz is apparently a funny guy when you need him to be. Also worthwhile: Seth Rogan wild haymakers as a theme.
  37. Jan 18, 2011
    7
    A lot of things in this movie made me laugh. It's definitely my kind of movie. But the profanity is a bit too excessive for some people, and the humor isn't universally appealing. What I enjoy most is that it's not just the same boring super-hero movie I've seen dozens of times before. The Green Hornet tackles the prospect of two guys trying to be heroes from a realistic perspective.A lot of things in this movie made me laugh. It's definitely my kind of movie. But the profanity is a bit too excessive for some people, and the humor isn't universally appealing. What I enjoy most is that it's not just the same boring super-hero movie I've seen dozens of times before. The Green Hornet tackles the prospect of two guys trying to be heroes from a realistic perspective. (Although, a lot of what they do is impossible.) Expand
  38. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    ok as a friend of one who was known as Kato... i applaud this movie.. i want more..... too bad the critics never even panned the tv show or understand what Mr. Lee brought to the world.. a series will make many happy and some folks $$$.. nuff said.
  39. Jan 24, 2011
    9
    A good enjoyable movie with good humour, good action and most importantly a good story. I think the reason critics gave it low reviews was because they went in hoping to see a film made to the same style as the likes of iron man, the green hornet had it's own style that fitted the film perfectly. The only reason I didn't give this a 10 was because I felt the 3d didn't do anything for theA good enjoyable movie with good humour, good action and most importantly a good story. I think the reason critics gave it low reviews was because they went in hoping to see a film made to the same style as the likes of iron man, the green hornet had it's own style that fitted the film perfectly. The only reason I didn't give this a 10 was because I felt the 3d didn't do anything for the movie. I'd definitely ignore the critics with this one and recommend it to everyone. Expand
  40. Jul 10, 2011
    7
    When I saw this film back in January, I didn't know what to expect. But this film was actually pretty entertaining! I watched the TV show with Bruce Lee in it and this has almost nothing to do with the show. Seth Rogen is funny as always and newcomer Jay Chou is badass as Kato! So, the performances are great, but so are the visuals and action! The story is not good or bad, but a lukewarmWhen I saw this film back in January, I didn't know what to expect. But this film was actually pretty entertaining! I watched the TV show with Bruce Lee in it and this has almost nothing to do with the show. Seth Rogen is funny as always and newcomer Jay Chou is badass as Kato! So, the performances are great, but so are the visuals and action! The story is not good or bad, but a lukewarm one. Overall, check this one out and it is available now on DVD and Blu-Ray! Expand
  41. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    Very funny movie. Wasn't quite as good as I was expecting seeing as the last movie those two wrote was superbad but what can you do. I feel bad for the critics having to sit through all of these movies that they hate seeing as they seem to hate most of them. If they just went in looking for a good time I feel like they'd enjoy themselves more
  42. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a common complaint with it is that the main character, Britt Reid, is unrelateble,
    a rather ridiculous complaint because, well, he's not meant to be.
    just because someone is a main character does not mean they have to be like able.
    (that idea being especially strong in comedy, Iron Man had similar themes, and it was not a notable complaint) in fact one of the major themes in the film is growing up and coming of age.
    for instance,
    in the beginning he is juvenile and misogynistic. a child.
    later he is rebellious and angry, hating his raising and his father. a teenager by the end he is confident, he no longer despises his his father, even if he doesn't agree with him on every aspect of his upbringing, he is aware that his father was not purely evil, and actually wished to help. an adult.
    really I am baffled by the critics apparent vehement dislike of the film
    Expand
  43. May 3, 2011
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. If you are a fan of either action, comedy, or both, you will definitely have a blast watching this thrill ride. It is highly recommended.
  44. May 14, 2011
    7
    Terrific entertainment at the movies. Soooo much fun with this film. I was worried about Seth Rogen playing a superhero but he actually did a pretty good job. Im really looking forward to a sequel
  45. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    The Green Hornet is a very good film. It has alot of funny moments in the film, the action scenes are just enjoyable to watch and the story is told very well. My only problem with this film is that some scenes can be boring and forgetable in the film. I would give this film a high matinee
  46. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    There is a lot of ways to describe this film, there really are. But, what is so great about this film is that it is so good, it's indescribable. So . . . See it. End of story.
  47. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    The green hornet is an action packed film that wowed me when I was watching it and not many films can do that to me. I thoroughly enjoyed the film and in parts it was very funny.
  48. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    Never heard reviews for this movie, but it came on a movie channel 1 night and I watched it. I really liked this movie! Funny, interesting, it was really entertaining! And that's what it is, entertainment. People looking for anything more will keep crying about it, but who cares. Buying this on Bluray.
  49. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    The Green Hornet has a perfect mix of comedy and action, with some cool moments in between. There are some twists I did not expect and everything simply made sense.
  50. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Amir and Hassan who are best friends; Hassan was a servant of Amir Father who was loyal and was treated as a son of Amir Father. Hassan was brought up in Amir Father House as a child and they played together and kite on the streets of Kabul. Amir believes that his father blames him for the death of his mother when she was giving birth to him and also believes his father loves Hassan moreAmir and Hassan who are best friends; Hassan was a servant of Amir Father who was loyal and was treated as a son of Amir Father. Hassan was brought up in Amir Father House as a child and they played together and kite on the streets of Kabul. Amir believes that his father blames him for the death of his mother when she was giving birth to him and also believes his father loves Hassan more than him. Expand
  51. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I Love this movie, i bought it cheaply with high expectations and i wasn't disappointed, the mix of slapstick, action, comedy, and martial arts make this a superb blockbuster
  52. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    When i saw the critic score i was shocked, this is a really fun music, sure it's not very original, but it's funny and i was entertained when i was watching this movie, Don't let the critics fool you, it's great!
  53. Jan 11, 2012
    8
    I watched the film having never seen the tv series. I'm surprised so many people didn't like it because I thought it was hilarious, obviously intended to be a comedy more than a typical super hero film. And that's great because I enjoyed it more than I enjoy typical superhero films. Great fun!
  54. May 30, 2014
    9
    I don't get the negativity in this, the action, acting, editing, all great. People spend years and millions of dollars just to make an over an hour movie and this is what they get? Try filling their shoes for a day, at least give them heart for working hard.
  55. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    A fairly ridiculous plot is saved by an excellent cast and stunning visuals from the one and only Michel Gondry.
  56. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    A really fantastic film that I enjoyed immensely, and do not understand the rabid, foaming-at-the-mouth hatred for. This may be the only Rogen performance I've ever enjoyed (I don't mind him as a director, but I don't really like his acting, as a general rule); Kato was fantastic; all of the tech/machines in the movie were great. The main villain left something to be desired, mainlyA really fantastic film that I enjoyed immensely, and do not understand the rabid, foaming-at-the-mouth hatred for. This may be the only Rogen performance I've ever enjoyed (I don't mind him as a director, but I don't really like his acting, as a general rule); Kato was fantastic; all of the tech/machines in the movie were great. The main villain left something to be desired, mainly because the character idea was just genuinely stupid but then again, that may have been the point.

    I really, honestly do not get the flak. I see the word "pointless" used to describe this movie a lot how can you even call a movie pointless? If we can call any movie "pointless," we can call every movie pointless. No, The Green Hornet is not going to stimulate you intellectually, nor will it even be the best superhero film you see in your lifetime but it's a fun little movie that gave me a few chuckles and excited me.

    Moviegoers have become such pedantic little
    Expand
  57. Dec 24, 2013
    8
    More important than the story being told here, though, is how much fun the film seems to be having in telling it. Michel Gondry is best known for whimsical arthouse fare, but tasked with directing a superhero movie, he finds a way to put his own stamp on an established genre without dodging the blockbuster movie style Sony’s bean counters were probably hoping for. The movie’s packed withMore important than the story being told here, though, is how much fun the film seems to be having in telling it. Michel Gondry is best known for whimsical arthouse fare, but tasked with directing a superhero movie, he finds a way to put his own stamp on an established genre without dodging the blockbuster movie style Sony’s bean counters were probably hoping for. The movie’s packed with fun gadgets and crazy visual effects, some of which are so outside the box that in another film they might seem strange. Here though, most of them work brilliantly because Gondry’s movie never takes itself too seriously. When reality gets in the way of having fun with the moment, The Green Hornet is more than happy to ignore it. Gondry’s vision is a perfect fit with the comedic tone of the script, written by Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg. Their film is as much a comedy as it is an action movie, actually it’s better than that, it’s one of the all too rare modern movies which manages to be both. Expand
  58. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    The plot may feel too overused, but the leads of Seth Rogen and Jay Chou work together like a charm, giving hilarious performances as the crime fighting duo, not to mention enough arousing action scenes to satisfy.
  59. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    Seth Rogen plays his usual rude, loud-mouthed, inconsiderate character, and Christopher Waltz tries playing a villain using some of his Basterds resolve in his pre-Django days. The movie doesn't completely work out, but it's diverting enough. Nothing new, just some of the old clichéd tricks.
  60. Dec 9, 2014
    7
    The Green Hornet is a movie which features plenty of action and has an interesting plot. This movie is nice and it would be recommended to watch it if you like action movies. Unlike most crime movies which are dark, this movie is bright-themed and some of the scenes were quite funny. Overall, this is a good film.
  61. Jan 24, 2015
    8
    Wow.Seth Rogen and Jay Chou's performances are just simply amazing and the action sequences are really well made.The comedy part is well made to and the movie is a total blast.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 12 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jan 21, 2011
    40
    The Green Hornet is what you get when someone who dropped out of high school to do standup comedy, then spent a decade in movies and television, conceives a Hollywood "passion project." [24 Jan. 2011, p. 82]
  2. 50
    At least The Green Hornet is likable, and a refreshing change from the heavy, angst-ridden superhero pictures so beloved by obnoxious fanboys.
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    70
    The mix is not nearly classic but is congenial enough to warm up a January weekend and perhaps to stoke a sequel. Call it "The Green Hornet Strikes Again?" No: "Kato II!"