User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 333 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 333

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 24, 2013
    8
    More important than the story being told here, though, is how much fun the film seems to be having in telling it. Michel Gondry is best known for whimsical arthouse fare, but tasked with directing a superhero movie, he finds a way to put his own stamp on an established genre without dodging the blockbuster movie style Sony’s bean counters were probably hoping for. The movie’s packed with fun gadgets and crazy visual effects, some of which are so outside the box that in another film they might seem strange. Here though, most of them work brilliantly because Gondry’s movie never takes itself too seriously. When reality gets in the way of having fun with the moment, The Green Hornet is more than happy to ignore it. Gondry’s vision is a perfect fit with the comedic tone of the script, written by Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg. Their film is as much a comedy as it is an action movie, actually it’s better than that, it’s one of the all too rare modern movies which manages to be both. Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    Seth Rogen plays his usual rude, loud-mouthed, inconsiderate character, and Christopher Waltz tries playing a villain using some of his Basterds resolve in his pre-Django days. The movie doesn't completely work out, but it's diverting enough. Nothing new, just some of the old clichéd tricks.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    4
    Solid acting, action, and some-what entertaining. What sort of kills is though is that it's in 3-D. The 3-D adds nothing to this film, If anything it takes away from it and is incredibly pointless to have.
  4. Sep 11, 2013
    5
    Seth Rogan has proven before he has the talent to write convincingly for comedy, he tries his hand here at the superhero genre with his frequent collaborator Evan Goldberg, reviving The Green Hornet in blockbuster fashion, but too much comic tone spoils what had the potential to be a fun action flick, with gadgets galore and big set pieces, but they fall flat for having very little relevance to the weak plot and over abundance of characters with no part to play in the bigger picture.
    Seth Rogen is regrettably miscast as spoilt rich heir Britt Reid, who befriends his fathers mechanic and general whiz kid in seemingly everything, Kato, the two embark on an anti-hero journey where we are subject to the over-talkative Rogen who has written the wrong tone of film, Cameron Diaz is also cast as a pretty pointless character indeed, there is very little for her to do and there is simply too much dialogue and improvisation to the point of ridiculing a popular character. Their plans are to take down the biggest villain in LA, played by Christoph Waltz, who gives an unrecognisable performance compared to his powerful role in Inglorious Basterds, not really his fault considering his very menial lines of attempts at laughs which don't follow through. The emergence of a coherent villain happens to little too late, while the film pokes fun at various superhero flicks and the devices typically used in these films, The Green Hornet should really have been doing the same back at itself. We also have the uneasy 'bromance' between Britt and Kato, Jay Cho makes some very random expressions as if his character is annoyed the entire film, perhaps he was frustrated with the egotistical Rogen in the film. They bicker endlessly and the manner in which they speak always suggests there will be a showdown, which comes at a rushed and over-zealous pace. Things happen that are glossed over and not explained the way they should be, like the hate that Britt has for his father, played in a small part by Tom Wilkinson .
    There are a few moments of enjoyable fighting and some impressive gadgetry show-offs, but this reboot/revival feels bloated and batting well above its weight, with too much comedy and not enough of a coherent story and irrelevant characters which ultimately comes down to a side-step in the writing and miscast roles.
    Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    4
    [4.2] I'm convinced that any movie with Cameron Diaz is doomed to be awful. Luckily, Seth Rogen's charm saves it from awfulness, and some mindlessly fun action. It's definitely a likable action movie, but Seth Rogen should be beyond making an obviously cilchéd, lazy and unimportant film. But at the same time it's clear that he's the type of actor who doesn't always agree to a movie because of a good script (even if he is the one writing it). Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    The plot may feel too overused, but the leads of Seth Rogen and Jay Chou work together like a charm, giving hilarious performances as the crime fighting duo, not to mention enough arousing action scenes to satisfy.
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    A really fantastic film that I enjoyed immensely, and do not understand the rabid, foaming-at-the-mouth hatred for. This may be the only Rogen performance I've ever enjoyed (I don't mind him as a director, but I don't really like his acting, as a general rule); Kato was fantastic; all of the tech/machines in the movie were great. The main villain left something to be desired, mainly because the character idea was just genuinely stupid but then again, that may have been the point.

    I really, honestly do not get the flak. I see the word "pointless" used to describe this movie a lot how can you even call a movie pointless? If we can call any movie "pointless," we can call every movie pointless. No, The Green Hornet is not going to stimulate you intellectually, nor will it even be the best superhero film you see in your lifetime but it's a fun little movie that gave me a few chuckles and excited me.

    Moviegoers have become such pedantic little
    Expand
  8. Jun 25, 2013
    3
    This film is bad and boring. i watched it on the dvd and i didn't even enjoy it then. It had no quality and the characters were not well done and a little boring. I like Christopher Waltz being the bad guy and that's all i assumed from that movie. A bad movie and a great bad guy.
  9. May 20, 2013
    6
    I never really had an interest in this film from the moment I started watching 'til it finished. I don't mind Seth Rogen but I found him irritating as Britt, and while Jay Chou was quite funny I thought it was John Cho for the most part It has a big focus on cars so those that love their cars will love it, but I don't like them so 20 minutes in I pretty much lost all interest and never got it back. It has some funny moments, and Cameron is hot, but I didn't really enjoy it. Expand
  10. Apr 12, 2013
    6
    Let me be honest, I didn't expect this movie to be somewhat close to a decent superhero movie, but surpisingly, it was still enjoyable. I mean, who would have expected Seth Rogen to play an iconic superhero. But somehow, it works. But there were some problems with this movie. One, some of the martial arts sequences look really cheesy. Second, the storyline is stale. I mean, the father being framed of dying from a bee sting, I just don't understand. Third, Christoph Waltzs' portrayl as Chudnofsky. He went from being a tremendous actor in "Inglorious Basterds" to this. His portrayl just did not impress me. But on the other hand, it has some good moments. The action was amazing, their was some surprisingly good humor and Jay Chou, "Kato" kicks-butt. Overall, this superhero movie has things to love and hate at the same time, but it still tends to be enjoyable. Expand
  11. Mar 18, 2013
    3
    The Green Hornet lost my interest halfway through. I couldn't get over how obnoxious the protagonist (The Green Hornet played by a Seth Rogen who tries really hard but just can't make it happen) is and how stupid the red overlay looks during the fights that mainly involve his sidekick, who really is the brains and brawn behind the operation. The way Seth Rogen treats everyone makes it impossible to identify with him in any way and the movie probably would have been better off just focusing on the sidekick. Cameron Diaz (As Lenore Case) didn't help either as she puts up a mediocre performance, mostly pulling weird faces and pretending to be very enthousiastic. I believe this movie is why people invented the phrase "phoning it in". I could laugh about some of the jokes and some of the special effects were very good but it doesn't make up for the horrible protagonist. Expand
  12. Feb 27, 2013
    3
    I wasn't expecting great things from this movie, right from the start before I even saw the film it felt like Seth Rogen was miss-cast. I like Seth Rogen, I think he is a very funny comedy actor but I couldn't see him being the super hero type, and that was basically my one lingering thought for the whole movie. The character of Britt Reid as written in this movie is deeply unlikeable, he's arrogant, he's pretty much useless and he's more comic relief than hero. As a protagonist you expect Reid to have a typical character arc, he starts off spoilt and arrogant, he undergoes a personal tragedy, he becomes the Green Hornet and learns to be a better person etc. There was none of that in this film, for the whole hour and 50 odd minutes he is just an annoying moron. The special effects used are interesting but sometimes just bizarre like multiple "devil's mirror" instances which don't make sense. Cameron Diaz didn't need to be in this film, Christoph Waltz is wasted in this film and Seth Rogen shouldn't have written this film. All in all everything about this film just felt wrong, every time I come to try and give it another chance and re-watch it, I end up turning it off before getting halfway through. Expand
  13. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    The movie was a silly idea, to begin with. So they made the movie into an action/comedy and it does not work!
    The green hornet is annoying to watch, not funny. and I just wanted the main character to die! What a bad movie!!
  14. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    A fairly ridiculous plot is saved by an excellent cast and stunning visuals from the one and only Michel Gondry.
  15. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    When i saw the critic score i was shocked, this is a really fun music, sure it's not very original, but it's funny and i was entertained when i was watching this movie, Don't let the critics fool you, it's great!
  16. Aug 25, 2012
    4
    I normally love Seth Rogan and his films but this film is silly to the extreme and not very intelligent either. Still, there is enough talent in the cast and crew to prevent this film from being a total blow out. I enjoyed Cameron Diaz's role (though I may be slightly bias having seen The Mask).
  17. Jul 23, 2012
    3
    Seth Rogen plays an overly talkative, trash-talking man-child by day, and an overly talkative, trash-talking vigilante by night. The man will not shut up.
  18. Mar 30, 2012
    3
    The Green Hornet is terrible, terrible and terrible. Seth Rogen is once again extremely annoying but the movie comes across and some childish adults acting like a bunch of 5 year olds except they have a car with guns on it. Did I mention it was terrible.
  19. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    Easily the most horrid anal-raping of source material ever put to film. Repugnant and just plain WRONG in every conceivable way. Bears no semblance to the fantastic TV and radio shows it pretends to be based upon. Written by troglodytes and acted by a gaggle of abrasive creeps with an end result on par with the very worst of the worst films in cinema history. Shameful, unfunny, repellent, shoddy and insincere buck-grabbing at its most egregious. Expand
  20. Mar 9, 2012
    2
    U might not believe it, particularly f u watched this film, but seth rogan is actually capable of being funny - but he is a comic who needs (n the worst way) 2 hv good material 2 work with. This looks & plays like a TV pilot, which is being generous. It is formulaic 2 the point of absurdity. It rapidly dives n2 negative territory on humor, talent, plot, & entertainment & stays there. Unless ur a diehard seth rogan fan, don't waste ur time w this clunker. Even my "2" seems too generous. Expand
  21. Feb 14, 2012
    2
    This film is witless and devoid of personality .The characters were wooden and neither engaging nor likeable. The least likeable person was Rogan. Christophe Waltz did his best to inject some character and humour into the film ("Am I not scary?") but "frat-boy self-indulges as pseudo super-hero to try and get girl" is about the sum of it. Kick-ass had edge and even the Green Latern had some level of nobility. This is just a dumb movie that makes no sense. Expand
  22. Jan 22, 2012
    1
    The day this superhero movie fad dies can't come too soon. Enough already!

    Same goes for Seth Rogen. He's right up there with Jennifer Aniston as the most overexposed Hollywood stars.
  23. Jan 14, 2012
    6
    Better than I thought it was going to be, part action movie, part buddy flick. Won't set the world alight but good popcorn for the brain and worth looking at.
  24. Jan 13, 2012
    4
    The concept of the movie is good but I find it a little bit boring.. It is so sloppy,lazy and flat.. a very bland comedy action.. the script is not so funny as it should be. The cast especially the main actor did his job to portray the role but there is a lacking on the execution on how it will be portray. I think there is a problem with the dialogue that cast did not shine thorugh its momentum especially if there is a scene that will be a moment in the movie but it fails short. Expand
  25. Jan 11, 2012
    8
    I watched the film having never seen the tv series. I'm surprised so many people didn't like it because I thought it was hilarious, obviously intended to be a comedy more than a typical super hero film. And that's great because I enjoyed it more than I enjoy typical superhero films. Great fun!
  26. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I Love this movie, i bought it cheaply with high expectations and i wasn't disappointed, the mix of slapstick, action, comedy, and martial arts make this a superb blockbuster
  27. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Amir and Hassan who are best friends; Hassan was a servant of Amir Father who was loyal and was treated as a son of Amir Father. Hassan was brought up in Amir Father House as a child and they played together and kite on the streets of Kabul. Amir believes that his father blames him for the death of his mother when she was giving birth to him and also believes his father loves Hassan more than him. Expand
  28. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    It's probably easiest to rate The Green Hornet in relation to other comedy super hero movies released over the last few years. It's not an instant classic like Kick-Ass, but at least it's more accessible and more consistent in tone than Super. There are some pretty good gags, and the action scenes are creative, and more importantly, fun. Seth Rogen and Jay Chou are a good double-act - Rogen is likeable as usual as the Hornet and Chou makes a surprisingly good Kato, both able to handle the stunts and able to ground the character in (an admittedly odd) reality. Christoph Wlatz also impresses, and is starting to rack up quite an impressive list of entertaining villains. However, the film runs out of steam a little in the middle section, some sequences are a little muddy and advance the plot very little, and the wrap-up at the end is a bit sloppy. Plus Cameron Diaz appears to simply be in the film to fill out the girl-quota, and while it's nice to see Edward James-Olmos in films again, his character adds little to proceedings. So it's flawed, but Michel Gondry's Green Hornet is, for the most-part a pleasantly crazy diversion. Expand
  29. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    The Green Hornet has a perfect mix of comedy and action, with some cool moments in between. There are some twists I did not expect and everything simply made sense.
  30. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    Over the top. Ridiculous. And too long. Though that's what made this movie fun. Dumb fun. I love dumb fun, just like I loved Seth Rogen and Kato. If you're looking for just a fun time at the movies, see "The Green Hornet."
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 12 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jan 21, 2011
    40
    The Green Hornet is what you get when someone who dropped out of high school to do standup comedy, then spent a decade in movies and television, conceives a Hollywood "passion project." [24 Jan. 2011, p. 82]
  2. 50
    At least The Green Hornet is likable, and a refreshing change from the heavy, angst-ridden superhero pictures so beloved by obnoxious fanboys.
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    70
    The mix is not nearly classic but is congenial enough to warm up a January weekend and perhaps to stoke a sequel. Call it "The Green Hornet Strikes Again?" No: "Kato II!"