Columbia Pictures | Release Date: January 14, 2011
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 502 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
284
Mixed:
142
Negative:
76
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
xXAnthonyXxJan 15, 2011
I went to this movie with high expectations after seeing trailers all over TV. I was not disappointed. Once again, the CRITICS ARE WRONG. Geez, how many times have critics underrated movies? Anyways, the movie was great, acting was great,I went to this movie with high expectations after seeing trailers all over TV. I was not disappointed. Once again, the CRITICS ARE WRONG. Geez, how many times have critics underrated movies? Anyways, the movie was great, acting was great, action was excellent, and overall just plain badass and worth your time. Expand
17 of 24 users found this helpful177
All this user's reviews
9
sChandiJan 25, 2011
The only annoying part of the movie was wearing the bulky 3D glasses, I think the movie would have been just as entertaining and funny without the 3D. Critics do not know what they are talking about. A movie is supposed to follow the "Hero'sThe only annoying part of the movie was wearing the bulky 3D glasses, I think the movie would have been just as entertaining and funny without the 3D. Critics do not know what they are talking about. A movie is supposed to follow the "Hero's Journey" and this my friends follows the classic example of a Hero's Journey. All the way from the Call to adventure to the return, it takes a funny take with amazing acting, Seth Rogen and Jay Chou. Cameron Diaz could have done a better job. But in conclusion the movie was great, I enjoyed myself Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
back2schoolbooMay 1, 2011
There is no reason for the negative reviews for this movie. People don't understand what this movie has tried to do. When you watch, you need to realize that it is intentionally corny and quirky. The negative reviewers don't get the movie'sThere is no reason for the negative reviews for this movie. People don't understand what this movie has tried to do. When you watch, you need to realize that it is intentionally corny and quirky. The negative reviewers don't get the movie's sense of humor. It's one of the most well made action comedies of all time. It provides thorough enjoyment from start to finish. Fans of comedies will enjoy, as well as fans of action films. It's definitely worth your time, and you'll want to see repeat viewings. I highly congratulate what the film makers of this movie have done. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
origionalmerlinJan 19, 2011
ok as a friend of one who was known as Kato... i applaud this movie.. i want more..... too bad the critics never even panned the tv show or understand what Mr. Lee brought to the world.. a series will make many happy and some folksok as a friend of one who was known as Kato... i applaud this movie.. i want more..... too bad the critics never even panned the tv show or understand what Mr. Lee brought to the world.. a series will make many happy and some folks $$$.. nuff said. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
mrtuvokJan 20, 2011
To call this a travesty would be giving this movie too much credit. As a devoted fan of the Green Hornet when I watch the original series in first run on TV, I was absolutely nauseated at the bastardization of the characters. The GreenTo call this a travesty would be giving this movie too much credit. As a devoted fan of the Green Hornet when I watch the original series in first run on TV, I was absolutely nauseated at the bastardization of the characters. The Green Hornet/Britt Reid was conceived and developed as a savvy, intelligent newspaper genius. Kato, his equal partner was intelligent, resourceful and fully equal with Britt Reid, though for the sake of their partnership he played the role of a household servant. These were two men who had no preoccupation with how drunk one could get and how to or how often to climb into bed with someone. The Green Hornet was not some egotistical weakling dependent upon someone else to think for him, fight for him or to carry him through conflict. A brilliant tactian, a superb hand to hand combat artist in his own right, he an Kato where truly a team that formed a formidable nemisis to crime. This movies portrays the Green Hornet and Kato as intellectually bumbling idiots saved only by Kato's tech ability, gadgets and accidentlly pulling off the right thing at the right time. But, what was to be expected with Seth Rogan as the writer and the lead - exactly what we got; sophomoric hormone teen age party humor intermixed with gadgetry and CGI effects. I hope that this film is remade with a serious actor in the lead role, with a real script and dialogue in line with the original character. It's happened before (i.e. the idiotic TV "Batman" of the 60's redone into the the "Dark Knight" of today), we can only pray it happens again! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
hollowayJan 31, 2011
Too dull to be an action film, and too lacking in humour to be a comedy, The Green Hornet's surprisingly high body-count and moral bankruptcy mean this isn't even one for the kids. It gets one mark for its one laugh, and another for the JamesToo dull to be an action film, and too lacking in humour to be a comedy, The Green Hornet's surprisingly high body-count and moral bankruptcy mean this isn't even one for the kids. It gets one mark for its one laugh, and another for the James Franco cameo. A waste of an adaptation. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
scubasteveFeb 13, 2011
Awful movie!! Seth Rogen is so arrogant and a complete dusche. I am never going to watch another Seth Rogen again! Very few funny scenes and a complete waste of time and money.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Mar 22, 2011
On 22 January 2011, We went to pick up my Aunt in Springfield in order to take her to the movies. She went with the others to see "The King's Speech" while my brother and I went to see this(in case you understand, we haven't read the comicOn 22 January 2011, We went to pick up my Aunt in Springfield in order to take her to the movies. She went with the others to see "The King's Speech" while my brother and I went to see this(in case you understand, we haven't read the comic books that had The Green Hornet) to make sure whether its good or not. it turned out good. so, what's my opinion? um, how about this: The storyline lasted a little bit longer for a 119 minute film, but for an Action/Comedy movie, everything else is good. Seth Rogen and the rest of the cast are great, The Comedy is hilarious, The action scenes are very cool, and the visuals are very astounding.

Sorry Critics, but looks like I'm going against you. This movie is visually entertaining especially for kids and adults.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MoretoysJan 18, 2011
Good but not great Super Hero movie. Definitely would have lost nothing being in 2D. Sick of paying the extra $3 for 3D when its just a money gimmick. Campy and comedy relief are OK in my book for most Super Hero movies but this was aGood but not great Super Hero movie. Definitely would have lost nothing being in 2D. Sick of paying the extra $3 for 3D when its just a money gimmick. Campy and comedy relief are OK in my book for most Super Hero movies but this was a little to much. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Stephmeister02Jan 20, 2011
This movie isn't super original or even realistic, but if you go into this movie expecting it to be realistic, you didn't see the same trailer I did. It was a lot of action, Seth Rogen was funny enough, Jay Chou was a great Kato, and theThis movie isn't super original or even realistic, but if you go into this movie expecting it to be realistic, you didn't see the same trailer I did. It was a lot of action, Seth Rogen was funny enough, Jay Chou was a great Kato, and the action was ridiculous and exciting. In the same vein as the A-Team, it's supposed to be a fun movie, which is definitely was. I enjoyed myself. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
MoviebuffreviewJan 21, 2011
Far to cliche, average, and unbalanced to truly be a good movie. However, the action was good enough, the casting was okay, and the humor was pretty good. This movie should've been the Iron Man of superhero movies, but it wasn't. But hey, atFar to cliche, average, and unbalanced to truly be a good movie. However, the action was good enough, the casting was okay, and the humor was pretty good. This movie should've been the Iron Man of superhero movies, but it wasn't. But hey, at least it wasn't the Fantastic 4. Overall, worth a rental, but you don't need to spend 12 dollars to see at the theater. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gigicalJan 23, 2011
Once again the critics are way wrong. I just don't get it. The movie had loads of action, a decent story line and lots of humor. What more do you want. Does it deserve an oscar, hell no, but was it fun to watch.. hell yeah! The only criticismOnce again the critics are way wrong. I just don't get it. The movie had loads of action, a decent story line and lots of humor. What more do you want. Does it deserve an oscar, hell no, but was it fun to watch.. hell yeah! The only criticism would be about Christoph Waltz as the main villain didn't seem that invested in his character and therefore not very believable, but other than that me and my wife walked out of the theater wondering if the critics saw a entirely different movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
helpsosMar 27, 2011
boring.
i hate the stupid fat spoilt brat.
his acting was so fake and his character is just despicable, just pisses me off to see him.
i dont see whats so good about this movie
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
acescarterApr 5, 2011
Absolutely dreadful watch. Honestly, this doesn't even deserve the current score of 39 and I really want those minutes of my life back. This makes a mockery of the original character, the casting doesn't fit one bit and they really shouldn'tAbsolutely dreadful watch. Honestly, this doesn't even deserve the current score of 39 and I really want those minutes of my life back. This makes a mockery of the original character, the casting doesn't fit one bit and they really shouldn't have bothered making this a comedy -- the jokes were a bore. Quite the disappointment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
spicedApr 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a common complaint with it is that the main character, Britt Reid, is unrelateble,
a rather ridiculous complaint because, well, he's not meant to be.
just because someone is a main character does not mean they have to be like able.
(that idea being especially strong in comedy, Iron Man had similar themes, and it was not a notable complaint) in fact one of the major themes in the film is growing up and coming of age.
for instance,
in the beginning he is juvenile and misogynistic. a child.
later he is rebellious and angry, hating his raising and his father. a teenager by the end he is confident, he no longer despises his his father, even if he doesn't agree with him on every aspect of his upbringing, he is aware that his father was not purely evil, and actually wished to help. an adult.
really I am baffled by the critics apparent vehement dislike of the film
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
edawebdesignApr 16, 2011
Thanks SR for completely ruining any chance of me enjoying this movie. The dialogue was childish, terrible, and grating on the ears. Very few movies make me want to leave, but this one did so on multiple occasions. Only cool parts of thisThanks SR for completely ruining any chance of me enjoying this movie. The dialogue was childish, terrible, and grating on the ears. Very few movies make me want to leave, but this one did so on multiple occasions. Only cool parts of this movie were the CG fight scenes, when I did not have to listen so SR's winy voice. Do yourself a favor and just watch the CG parts. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bbjshawMay 3, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. If you are a fan of either action, comedy, or both, you will definitely have a blast watching this thrill ride. It is highly recommended.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
hugoboyMay 12, 2011
this movie is an absolute rubbish and i must commend all critics that scored it low. This movie is just like going on a fishing trip but forgot 'ur fishing hook and ended up fishing without a hook. Now isn't that silly? Well that's just howthis movie is an absolute rubbish and i must commend all critics that scored it low. This movie is just like going on a fishing trip but forgot 'ur fishing hook and ended up fishing without a hook. Now isn't that silly? Well that's just how stupid this movie is,with a useless storyline,and action scenes that focus on destruction of public properties rather than actual combat, big thumbs down must be given to all concern in producing this lifeless movie including seth rogen Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moviemonsterJul 3, 2011
There is a lot of ways to describe this film, there really are. But, what is so great about this film is that it is so good, it's indescribable. So . . . See it. End of story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
zizzoTNov 27, 2011
Over the top. Ridiculous. And too long. Though that's what made this movie fun. Dumb fun. I love dumb fun, just like I loved Seth Rogen and Kato. If you're looking for just a fun time at the movies, see "The Green Hornet."
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ZudeareNov 23, 2012
When i saw the critic score i was shocked, this is a really fun music, sure it's not very original, but it's funny and i was entertained when i was watching this movie, Don't let the critics fool you, it's great!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SamMJan 11, 2012
I watched the film having never seen the tv series. I'm surprised so many people didn't like it because I thought it was hilarious, obviously intended to be a comedy more than a typical super hero film. And that's great because I enjoyed itI watched the film having never seen the tv series. I'm surprised so many people didn't like it because I thought it was hilarious, obviously intended to be a comedy more than a typical super hero film. And that's great because I enjoyed it more than I enjoy typical superhero films. Great fun! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobSep 25, 2013
Solid acting, action, and some-what entertaining. What sort of kills is though is that it's in 3-D. The 3-D adds nothing to this film, If anything it takes away from it and is incredibly pointless to have.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ThegodfathersonDec 24, 2013
More important than the story being told here, though, is how much fun the film seems to be having in telling it. Michel Gondry is best known for whimsical arthouse fare, but tasked with directing a superhero movie, he finds a way to put hisMore important than the story being told here, though, is how much fun the film seems to be having in telling it. Michel Gondry is best known for whimsical arthouse fare, but tasked with directing a superhero movie, he finds a way to put his own stamp on an established genre without dodging the blockbuster movie style Sony’s bean counters were probably hoping for. The movie’s packed with fun gadgets and crazy visual effects, some of which are so outside the box that in another film they might seem strange. Here though, most of them work brilliantly because Gondry’s movie never takes itself too seriously. When reality gets in the way of having fun with the moment, The Green Hornet is more than happy to ignore it. Gondry’s vision is a perfect fit with the comedic tone of the script, written by Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg. Their film is as much a comedy as it is an action movie, actually it’s better than that, it’s one of the all too rare modern movies which manages to be both. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJan 24, 2015
Wow.Seth Rogen and Jay Chou's performances are just simply amazing and the action sequences are really well made.The comedy part is well made to and the movie is a total blast.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
dumbuldoreFeb 11, 2011
The Green Hornet really disappointed me. I thought it was going to be like the radio show I listened to when I was a kid. They got the name but then they just played with it. This movie is not worth your time or money.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"The Green Hornet" has so many (green) cliches, even the smartest of the smartest audiences wouldn't understand this piece of crap.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
3
RebunFeb 14, 2011
Brit, The main character is the reason for the low review. He is a bumbling fool, annoying as hell, an arrogant and unlikable character not in-character but to the audience himself. He's the kind of moron that turns up to a party thinking heBrit, The main character is the reason for the low review. He is a bumbling fool, annoying as hell, an arrogant and unlikable character not in-character but to the audience himself. He's the kind of moron that turns up to a party thinking he owns the place, puts other people down, throws insults at people and everyone wishes that he'd just go the **** away. I know that his character was designed to be like this and there have been characters such as this before (which were done so much better) but the performance in this film was utterly vulgar. The dialogue between Brit and Kato before there fight was obscene and pathetic - never so much in my life have i ever wanted the main character in a movie beat to a pulp. And yet he still won that fight. Brit was semi-likeable to start, but as the film progressed he became an eyesore. There were some redeeming qualities and characters in the film though. Kato's performance was pretty good - and Chebowski the villian was superb. I really had to stop and think why cameron diaz was in it though - her character, save one scene, was completely pointless and a waste of time. I dont know much about the previous green hornet radioshows/movies, but from what ive read it sounds like the performance he got in this film was very insultive to the series and to the Green hornet himself. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
OnearFeb 28, 2011
Based on a comic book series and television show, this film tries to bring a more lighthearted approach to the superhero boom the film industry had experienced in recent years. Since I wasn't around when the Magna Carta was signed, I have noBased on a comic book series and television show, this film tries to bring a more lighthearted approach to the superhero boom the film industry had experienced in recent years. Since I wasn't around when the Magna Carta was signed, I have no previous experience with this franchise before this film. The producers try to aggregate the world of the original with a contemporary feel, and the result is a horrendous piece of work. To keep a comedic tone, they cast Seth Rogen as the Green Hornet, whose ability to play the hero is comparable to achievement of the rest of the movie. Never at any point did it feel comfortable watching him. He brings the crude humor people know him for, which is ill timed and conceived throughout the film. The highlight of the rest of the cast was the cameo of James Franco, whose 2 minutes in the film was the best scene. Very little of the actions of the characters made sense and the flow of the story was extremely choppy. Hence, it just never feels natural. The one positive I can give it was the awesome car the Green Hornet had, "Black Beauty", which more a testament that they had good taste even back in the 40's. If the creator's of the franchise would be appalled by this rendition. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
DeepWoodsJan 16, 2011
i enjoyed this film, i really did, i thought it was funny, though uneven. the plot was a little muddled but everyone seemed like they were having a good time and didnt take their roles too seriuously. i liked the chemistry between chou andi enjoyed this film, i really did, i thought it was funny, though uneven. the plot was a little muddled but everyone seemed like they were having a good time and didnt take their roles too seriuously. i liked the chemistry between chou and rogen though at times it was hard to understand what chou was saying . hopefully this will be a good jumping off point for chou to become a big action star like jet li was, taller too, and smoother of skin! rogen was rogen, he never changes hes an amusing grumbly bear. cameron diaz is an old blond actress with nothing to offer here, no charisma onscreen, its over woman. christopher waltz is good but isnt in the movie very much, his personality is so compelling though that you want to see more of him than whats in the movie. go see this, its a good opening to summer blockbusters! kato kato! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews