The Green Mile

The Green Mile Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 387 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Set on Death Row in a Southern prison in 1935, this is the remarkable story of a prison guard who develops a poignant, unusual relationship with one inmate who possesses a magical gift that is both mysterious and miraculous. (Castle Rock Entertainment)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. TNT RoughCut
    Reviewed by: Christopher Brandon
    100
    So moving, so memorable, so magically produced, it's going to delight millions of movie fans and sweep the Oscars.
  2. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    80
    Darabont follows King's book fairly closely, allowing the audience to steep itself in the setting and characters slowly, like reading a good novel.
  3. Excessive, but I, like Mr. Jingles, can't resist the Christmas-season cheese.
  4. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    63
    Surely a life sentence goes by quicker.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Horton
    60
    I still feel pushed around by Darabont's mysticism, and his overbearing sense of grandness; a little bit of the Mile goes a long way.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Keogh
    50
    Simply a case of severe overreaching and the illusion that an overstuffed movie is an epic movie.
  7. Newsweek
    Reviewed by: David Ansen
    30
    A lumbering, self-important three-hour melodrama that defies credibility at every turn.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 78
  2. Negative: 2 out of 78
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    It makes me angry to see many low scores from critics, this is probably one of the best and most emotional movies I have ever watched.
  2. Nov 13, 2015
    10
    This movie is an absolute masterpiece. Not even The Shawshank Redemption is as good as this movie (in my opinion). I have never seen a movieThis movie is an absolute masterpiece. Not even The Shawshank Redemption is as good as this movie (in my opinion). I have never seen a movie made with skill such as what can be found in The Green Mile. Most of this movie is just tuning in on these prison guards lives at their jobs and it is never at any point boring throughout the 3hour runtime. Stephen King wrote this book brilliantly and Frank Darabont brought it to the big screen brilliantly. Every single character in this movie is memorable and amazing. You will never hate someone as much as you will hate Percy, my personal favorite character form the movie. He was done so perfectly that it makes me feel bad for the actor because I might accidentally hit him if I ever see him in real life purely by instinct. *semi spoiler (but not really)* The other antagonist is also highly hateable. All the protagonist are very likable. The story is beautiful but might be difficult to swallow for people with certain religious beliefs. This is a must see, just don't watch it when you are sad and need a happy tale or comedy because this movie is full of tragedy. Expand
  3. StanB.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Best adaptation of a Stephen King novel.
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    It's incredible seeing so many low scores from critics for probably one of the three best movies ever. Its intensity and brilliance isIt's incredible seeing so many low scores from critics for probably one of the three best movies ever. Its intensity and brilliance is something just amazing. There are no movies of this level nowadays. Three hours of emotions Expand
  5. TonyB.
    Apr 17, 2008
    9
    Succeeds on all levels...give in to it.
  6. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    An amazing movie by Stephen King! I highly recommend it to almost everyone (don't watch it if you're getting bored too easy, because thisAn amazing movie by Stephen King! I highly recommend it to almost everyone (don't watch it if you're getting bored too easy, because this movie is 3 hours long). 8.5/10 but i'll give a 9/10 because of the ending! Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2013
    3
    This film is Pander. Period.
    Basically, it starts and ends without questioning death penalty. Death penalty is barbaric for MY culture, and
    This film is Pander. Period.
    Basically, it starts and ends without questioning death penalty. Death penalty is barbaric for MY culture, and the behavior of the characters never seems realistic to me. The horrible system behind death row is depicted in a mitigate, sweetened way. There's no room for compassion in death penalty as shown in the film, and this film is basically offensive solely for the way the characters are behaving.
    Second: nothing is believable. Clearly is a fantasy drama, but still as the stereotyped characters (bad people are bad without a reason, they are simply mad. Good people are in fact not really good, but seam dumb and ataraxic, resulting in unlovable characters). The main character is basically a scary black giant who cries all the time. Very easy way to provoke reactions in the viewer is to show him something which he's unconsciously scared off while enforcing this unconscious fear with clever direction. Incidentally this unconscious fear is based on a black stupid strong man stereotype overlapped by the boogeyman figure. I'm a caucasian european man and i find this VERY offensive.
    The whole story, in the end, is based on emotional tricks. (the *spoiler* bad death scene is traumatic and unnecessary, at least as it is shown). Giving strong emotions to people based on meaningless story or characters is a cheat.
    This film is bad. I couldn't expect this since the reviews are so high. But i found this film ruffian, manipulative and ultimately ugly.
    Expand

See all 78 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.