The Green Mile

The Green Mile Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 376 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Set on Death Row in a Southern prison in 1935, this is the remarkable story of a prison guard who develops a poignant, unusual relationship with one inmate who possesses a magical gift that is both mysterious and miraculous. (Castle Rock Entertainment)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. TNT RoughCut
    Reviewed by: Christopher Brandon
    100
    So moving, so memorable, so magically produced, it's going to delight millions of movie fans and sweep the Oscars.
  2. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    80
    Darabont follows King's book fairly closely, allowing the audience to steep itself in the setting and characters slowly, like reading a good novel.
  3. Excessive, but I, like Mr. Jingles, can't resist the Christmas-season cheese.
  4. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    63
    Surely a life sentence goes by quicker.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Horton
    60
    I still feel pushed around by Darabont's mysticism, and his overbearing sense of grandness; a little bit of the Mile goes a long way.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Keogh
    50
    Simply a case of severe overreaching and the illusion that an overstuffed movie is an epic movie.
  7. Newsweek
    Reviewed by: David Ansen
    30
    A lumbering, self-important three-hour melodrama that defies credibility at every turn.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 77
  2. Negative: 2 out of 77
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    It makes me angry to see many low scores from critics, this is probably one of the best and most emotional movies I have ever watched.
  2. May 28, 2015
    10
    this movie is awesome ... the first movie made me cry ... i hate when i see low ratings on this grate movie ... it deserve to spend 3h ...this movie is awesome ... the first movie made me cry ... i hate when i see low ratings on this grate movie ... it deserve to spend 3h ... Michael Duncan was brilliant .. RIP Expand
  3. NickA.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    It takes something exceptional to come close to Frank Darabonts Shawshank Redemption but the director manages to bring another multilayered It takes something exceptional to come close to Frank Darabonts Shawshank Redemption but the director manages to bring another multilayered tale to life. We cross themes of spirituality, humanity, good versus evil and also some fantasy which all work brilliantly together to bring a deeply moving film with excellent performances from the entire cast. Some have complained that the movie is far too long but for me the time flew because every scene is worthwhile, the film draws you in from the outset and doesn't let go with little sub themes and a rich multi-layered story that is rich and beautiful but also terribly sad at times. If you don't like this film then in my view you don't know what being human is all about. An astonishing beautiful film that will stay with you for a long time. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Critics gave this movie red or yellow rank must be clinically insane for sure. This is one of the best movies I ever saw, one of the bestCritics gave this movie red or yellow rank must be clinically insane for sure. This is one of the best movies I ever saw, one of the best melodrama movie. You know, I'm not young man, I dont cry when I get kicked, when I feel pain, but this movie made me cry. Not just a single tear, but I cried like a river. Just watch this, you will never forget The Green Mile. Expand
  5. GaryA.
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    Those so called movie reviewers who slated this movie are not representative of the ordinary guy on the street who enjoyed the film. As shown Those so called movie reviewers who slated this movie are not representative of the ordinary guy on the street who enjoyed the film. As shown by the average score of 9. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    This movie is one of the best films on history.It never does not duplicate.To my surprise, the overall score of this masterpiece of a total ofThis movie is one of the best films on history.It never does not duplicate.To my surprise, the overall score of this masterpiece of a total of 61.I'm really sorry for the the critics of these sites Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2013
    3
    This film is Pander. Period.
    Basically, it starts and ends without questioning death penalty. Death penalty is barbaric for MY culture, and
    This film is Pander. Period.
    Basically, it starts and ends without questioning death penalty. Death penalty is barbaric for MY culture, and the behavior of the characters never seems realistic to me. The horrible system behind death row is depicted in a mitigate, sweetened way. There's no room for compassion in death penalty as shown in the film, and this film is basically offensive solely for the way the characters are behaving.
    Second: nothing is believable. Clearly is a fantasy drama, but still as the stereotyped characters (bad people are bad without a reason, they are simply mad. Good people are in fact not really good, but seam dumb and ataraxic, resulting in unlovable characters). The main character is basically a scary black giant who cries all the time. Very easy way to provoke reactions in the viewer is to show him something which he's unconsciously scared off while enforcing this unconscious fear with clever direction. Incidentally this unconscious fear is based on a black stupid strong man stereotype overlapped by the boogeyman figure. I'm a caucasian european man and i find this VERY offensive.
    The whole story, in the end, is based on emotional tricks. (the *spoiler* bad death scene is traumatic and unnecessary, at least as it is shown). Giving strong emotions to people based on meaningless story or characters is a cheat.
    This film is bad. I couldn't expect this since the reviews are so high. But i found this film ruffian, manipulative and ultimately ugly.
    Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.
  2. The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far

    The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far Image
    Published: July 1, 2016
    We reveal the 50 best-reviewed films of 2016 so far ... as well as the 10 worst.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  5. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.