Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 282 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Set on Death Row in a Southern prison in 1935, this is the remarkable story of a prison guard who develops a poignant, unusual relationship with one inmate who possesses a magical gift that is both mysterious and miraculous. (Castle Rock Entertainment)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. So moving, so memorable, so magically produced, it's going to delight millions of movie fans and sweep the Oscars.
  2. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    80
    Darabont follows King's book fairly closely, allowing the audience to steep itself in the setting and characters slowly, like reading a good novel.
  3. Has a simple but exceptionally powerful and uplifting emotional lure.
  4. Surely a life sentence goes by quicker.
  5. A loud and ghastly movie to sit through and not short on gratuitous hideousness, but Darabont has also done his best to baste it with humanity and sweetness.
  6. Three hours of overstatement and schmaltz.
  7. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    30
    A lumbering, self-important three-hour melodrama that defies credibility at every turn.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 2 out of 67
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    It makes me angry to see many low scores from critics, this is probably one of the best and most emotional movies I have ever watched.
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    The Green Mile is a milestone for Darabont. Of course the high-brow critics will think this an overly long snore-fest, but the real movieThe Green Mile is a milestone for Darabont. Of course the high-brow critics will think this an overly long snore-fest, but the real movie watchers will realize its accurate portrayal of the passage of time and what it feels like for a death row inmate. Described as his favorite movie he's made, it combines the magic of a Disney film with more adult themes and a soaring story that moves you and makes you judge your own life. Even the title is a metaphor as this film conveys complex themes about life, set in Louisiana in a death row cell block. Expand
  3. JamesM
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Anyone who says this movie is slow needs to go back to their Arnold Schwarzeneggar and Jerry Bruckheimer moves. This is an engrossing and Anyone who says this movie is slow needs to go back to their Arnold Schwarzeneggar and Jerry Bruckheimer moves. This is an engrossing and beautifully told masterpiece, if somewhat disturbing at times. Expand
  4. someonew
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    I am starting to lose the faith in metacritic's rating... this movie was one of the best I have seen since ages, and 3 hrs isnt that I am starting to lose the faith in metacritic's rating... this movie was one of the best I have seen since ages, and 3 hrs isnt that long for it. Expand
  5. RodG.
    Feb 21, 2007
    9
    Once again the users got it right.
  6. May 24, 2013
    9
    As with the fantastic Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile is based on a Stephen King story and directed by Frank Darabont and I can give noAs with the fantastic Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile is based on a Stephen King story and directed by Frank Darabont and I can give no higher praise than to say it is just as good.

    The film centres on a stretch of death row known as The Green Mile in which a giant of a man known as John Coffey, accused of murdering two young girls, has been imprisoned. King is widely known for his horror books but, while there are supernatural elements to this story, as with The Shawshank Redemption this film is all about relationships between people in difficult circumstances.

    The Green Mile may be three hours long but every minute of that is used to develop the characters and story so that by the end we really do care what happens to them. Those that dismiss Kings work as chart filler may be pleasantly surprised by what they find in this movie.
    Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2013
    3
    This film is Pander. Period.
    Basically, it starts and ends without questioning death penalty. Death penalty is barbaric for MY culture, and
    This film is Pander. Period.
    Basically, it starts and ends without questioning death penalty. Death penalty is barbaric for MY culture, and the behavior of the characters never seems realistic to me. The horrible system behind death row is depicted in a mitigate, sweetened way. There's no room for compassion in death penalty as shown in the film, and this film is basically offensive solely for the way the characters are behaving.
    Second: nothing is believable. Clearly is a fantasy drama, but still as the stereotyped characters (bad people are bad without a reason, they are simply mad. Good people are in fact not really good, but seam dumb and ataraxic, resulting in unlovable characters). The main character is basically a scary black giant who cries all the time. Very easy way to provoke reactions in the viewer is to show him something which he's unconsciously scared off while enforcing this unconscious fear with clever direction. Incidentally this unconscious fear is based on a black stupid strong man stereotype overlapped by the boogeyman figure. I'm a caucasian european man and i find this VERY offensive.
    The whole story, in the end, is based on emotional tricks. (the *spoiler* bad death scene is traumatic and unnecessary, at least as it is shown). Giving strong emotions to people based on meaningless story or characters is a cheat.
    This film is bad. I couldn't expect this since the reviews are so high. But i found this film ruffian, manipulative and ultimately ugly.
    Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.