Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 299 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Set on Death Row in a Southern prison in 1935, this is the remarkable story of a prison guard who develops a poignant, unusual relationship with one inmate who possesses a magical gift that is both mysterious and miraculous. (Castle Rock Entertainment)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. So moving, so memorable, so magically produced, it's going to delight millions of movie fans and sweep the Oscars.
  2. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    80
    Darabont follows King's book fairly closely, allowing the audience to steep itself in the setting and characters slowly, like reading a good novel.
  3. Excessive, but I, like Mr. Jingles, can't resist the Christmas-season cheese.
  4. Surely a life sentence goes by quicker.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Horton
    60
    I still feel pushed around by Darabont's mysticism, and his overbearing sense of grandness; a little bit of the Mile goes a long way.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Keogh
    50
    Simply a case of severe overreaching and the illusion that an overstuffed movie is an epic movie.
  7. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    30
    A lumbering, self-important three-hour melodrama that defies credibility at every turn.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 2 out of 70
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    It makes me angry to see many low scores from critics, this is probably one of the best and most emotional movies I have ever watched.
  2. Nov 22, 2014
    10
    The Green Mile was a great movie. It didn't make my top ten (no more than ten do, so it was a hard decision), but it absolutely made my topThe Green Mile was a great movie. It didn't make my top ten (no more than ten do, so it was a hard decision), but it absolutely made my top twenty. Frank Darabont. You wouldn't think he could do a follow-up adaptation of Stephen King's media, after The Shawshank Redemption, of all things. But no, The Green Mile is just as good and better than The Shining and Stand by Me. Expand
  3. JamesM
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Anyone who says this movie is slow needs to go back to their Arnold Schwarzeneggar and Jerry Bruckheimer moves. This is an engrossing and Anyone who says this movie is slow needs to go back to their Arnold Schwarzeneggar and Jerry Bruckheimer moves. This is an engrossing and beautifully told masterpiece, if somewhat disturbing at times. Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Energetic, deep, and sad. I've never burst into tears watching any movies. It makes me upset to see bad mediocre reviews from critics. I lovedEnergetic, deep, and sad. I've never burst into tears watching any movies. It makes me upset to see bad mediocre reviews from critics. I loved this movie. It was worth the 3-hour sit through. Expand
  5. TonyB.
    Apr 17, 2008
    9
    Succeeds on all levels...give in to it.
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    A emotionally powerful, miraculously acted, exceptionally written, and unique drama. The direction is incredible. Darabont gives the film aA emotionally powerful, miraculously acted, exceptionally written, and unique drama. The direction is incredible. Darabont gives the film a vivid sense of place. You are completely absorbed when watching the Green Mile. All the actors rise to an incredible level of convincingness, and the prison feels like an actual place. The supernatural scenes also pack a punch, and some other scenes could make a robot cry. It is pretty long, and not for people with a low tolerance for graphic violence, but it's without a doubt a great movie. Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2013
    3
    This film is Pander. Period.
    Basically, it starts and ends without questioning death penalty. Death penalty is barbaric for MY culture, and
    This film is Pander. Period.
    Basically, it starts and ends without questioning death penalty. Death penalty is barbaric for MY culture, and the behavior of the characters never seems realistic to me. The horrible system behind death row is depicted in a mitigate, sweetened way. There's no room for compassion in death penalty as shown in the film, and this film is basically offensive solely for the way the characters are behaving.
    Second: nothing is believable. Clearly is a fantasy drama, but still as the stereotyped characters (bad people are bad without a reason, they are simply mad. Good people are in fact not really good, but seam dumb and ataraxic, resulting in unlovable characters). The main character is basically a scary black giant who cries all the time. Very easy way to provoke reactions in the viewer is to show him something which he's unconsciously scared off while enforcing this unconscious fear with clever direction. Incidentally this unconscious fear is based on a black stupid strong man stereotype overlapped by the boogeyman figure. I'm a caucasian european man and i find this VERY offensive.
    The whole story, in the end, is based on emotional tricks. (the *spoiler* bad death scene is traumatic and unnecessary, at least as it is shown). Giving strong emotions to people based on meaningless story or characters is a cheat.
    This film is bad. I couldn't expect this since the reviews are so high. But i found this film ruffian, manipulative and ultimately ugly.
    Expand

See all 70 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.