User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 375 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 375

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2012
    3
    Boring, tedious, slow, long, inconsistent, gray, and again boring, tedious, slow, long, inconsistent and gray. From Taken, Liam Neeson lost his way in his career
  2. Jun 17, 2012
    3
    Awful! A Hollywood studio obviously stamped Neeson's name on this one to guarantee covering it's costs. Glad it was a red box! Unrealistic from start to finish. What a waste of money and resources. No knife edge survival of the fittest drama, just lots of very uninspiring metaphors and cliche melancholy. Come on Liam your better than this. Who are these film critics giving The Grey a 6.6 anyway??? Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    3
    When the wolves had a 'personal vendetta' against the survivors i knew this was going to be one of those movies. They should have suspended all belief and make them vampire wolves.
  4. Jan 27, 2012
    3
    This movie started out seeming like it could actually take you somewhere. That instantly turned out to not be true. This movie had absolutely not story line or plot, it was just people running away from unrealistic wolves with no real goal in mind besides to keep running. The script for this movie could easy be fit on three pages. Other issues was there was no getting to know characters and the movie had no build but with a terrible ending. Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2012
    1
    Horrible movie with no understanding of how wolves act, how planes crash, how people act, how humans live in sub zero temperatures and possibly the worst sound in the history of recorded sound. There isn't one redeeming quality to this unless maybe if it was on a screen and provided you with light in a dark room.
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    2
    I don't care that the wolves were unbelievable, but I can see how people might have wanted something more authentic given the "grounded in reality" feel from the beginning. I take issue with the time devoted to showing Nesson's poetic, self loathing suicidal inner monologues. I swear there's 20 minutes of the same shot of -him in bed, then starring at the damn suicide note, then starring at a wolf- about 4 times in the movie. The ending is letdown, I'm sure the people making the movie thought it was epic, but he's fighting against wolves, not the English Army. Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2012
    2
    The Grey was absolutely not entertaining. Someone owes me two hours of my life back....because this movie sucked. The only good part was when the guys jumped off the cliff into the trees. As I'm writing this I feel as though there's something missing.....oh, yea....a good movie....because this just wasn't it.
  8. Feb 1, 2012
    0
    Dark and depressing movie with no redemptive value. Focuses on suicide and hopelessness with no answers forthcoming. I have no idea why they made this movie. The folks in the audience where I saw the movie couldn't wait to leave when the movie ended. I never saw an audience clear out so quickly. This movie makes you want to relate to the wolves rather then the trespassing humans who argue and stumble to their grisly deaths. Only good aspect is the nice scenery... Expand
  9. Feb 5, 2012
    0
    Absolutely no credibility...in a movie that was supposed to be realistic. Everyone in the theater left stunned at the abrupt end, but happy it was over. I can't even light my fireplace, yet these arctic plane-wreck victims had ever-ready tiki torches and found perfectly cut wood for "spears" at their disposal. One jumped over a river ravine into a tree on the opposite bank to string a line for the rest to shimmy across. They're in a blizzard, and then the sun's out an all of them are fine. Liam 's drenched in a river and soon after appears dry, let alone not frozen! And, why would they ever leave the plane to walk the vast wilderness of Alaska like needles in a huge haystack. Hunker down boys, build a little hut so those wolves don't get you, pile up the bodies and eat them if need be. Seems more prudent. Remember you had all that jet fuel so easily accessible (another ridiculous moment) at the crash site to help heat, eat and keep those wolves at bay. After all, the wolves were EVERYWHERE in the end. A lot ventured, nothing gained... on the screen and for viewers. PLEASE...just ridiculous in every respect!â Expand
  10. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    This movie had absolutely no redeeming qualities. I would say the fact that the movie ended would have risen my rating to a 1. However the ending was so terrible that a point had to be negated. I debated farting in the theater and walking out, but stuck through to the end only to endure the utter disappointment.
  11. Mar 6, 2012
    2
    I will give this movie a 2/10 because I'm sure if I think hard enough I could bring to mind worse movies. There simply were no redeeming qualities to this movie. Inconceivable plot where one almost feels that the writer just gave up and went to another scene. This movie was a money making scheme. Built around a decent trailer, the whole plot was a mishmash of nonsense. Anybody who thought this was a good movie is either a philistine or they can suspend their disbelief far beyond anything I'm capable of. Expand
  12. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thought any Liam Neeson film would be a good action movie! Very depressing, They all should have been frozen to death with the light clothing they wore in the very cold climate! If you decide to go and watch all hunted and eaten by giant wolves, be sure you stay to see the secret scene after all the credits roll off the screen. Seems there could be a sequel after all, since maybe one of them actually survived the ordeal! It there is a sequel, I will certainly wait for it to hit the dollar movie or the dollar Redbox rental for fear it would be as sorry a movie as this one was! ......... You would think they would be required to provide free popcorn and drinks for all who sit through this movie so you might come close to getting your money's worth! Sorry Liam! I've seen you in some good movies but this is certainly not one of them! Expand
  13. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible. How can any filmmaker present this to an audience ? I knew after 15 seconds that this would be a sucker, the initial fight in the bar was so badly acted, you knew it could get only worse. I know nothing about wolves, but I know that wolves ALWAYS attack in packs, so the initial scene where he kills a lone wolf is absolutely ridiculous. The entire plane crash was completely out of this world: how could he just walk away without even a scratch ? In addition, do producers never learn that reflective moments should be used extremely sparse, if at all ? Because they put you asleep... Expand
  14. Feb 4, 2012
    4
    While the first fifteen minutes of this grim tale are adequate, the film quickly
    degenerates into preposterous behavior by the ensemble, resulting in a fairly dull gore-laced film.
  15. Apr 1, 2012
    4
    Rotten Tomatoes said that The Grey is an exciting tale of survival, populated with fleshed-out characters and a surprising philosophical agenda. But I don't think so or survival thing is not my agenda?
  16. Jun 9, 2012
    0
    Congratulations for creating a film which demonised an animal that is already been persecuted. Pricks...

    Wolves are reclusive animals which do not attack humans
  17. Jan 30, 2012
    0
    Extremely disappointed with this movie. Very few times do I feel the urge to write a review. There were a lot of inconsistencies with the plot. Jumping into a tree? COME ON! A lot of build up in this movie to a weak ending. I was deceived into thinking this was "Taken" with wolves. I didn't relate with any of the characters in the movie and was glad as the wolves picked them off one by one. Also I find it hard to believe that a band of rednecks couldn't find any weapons or defend themselves. Even Sarah Palin kills wolves. A movie like this does not make me shed a tear about wolf conservation. A classic survival film with a satisfying ending would be, " The Edge". Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin survive and KILL A GRIZZLY! Come on Neeson! The Grey made me want to chokeslam a wolf, but then I thought about how humans bred the wolf to make the chihuahua breed and that made me smile. Expand
  18. Jan 28, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily one of the most depressing films I have seen for a long time .Neeson does what Neeson does best-stoic and heroic - and the Wolves do what they do best .Cinematography is good(not difficult given the landscape).Wolves 1 Neeson 0. Expand
  19. Feb 2, 2012
    4
    I'm struggling with this movie. I wanted to like it, I really do, but there were so many reasons not to. I should begin with the good stuff though. Liam Neeson, like usual, is one bad ass human being. I can't think of a movie where he has failed to disappoint. It seems like he is one of the few actors in Hollywood that actually cares about acting and cares about his fans. But my love for Liam Neeson can only go so far in a movie like 'The Grey'. There were some scenes where I was gripping my seat and wanted more, but my wish never came true. The wolves were impeccable, though. You might feel a connection with the overall meaning of the film, but it simply was not enough. The movie was way too long. Two hours was definitely unnecessary for a film like this one. I was sitting in my seat wondering when it was going to be over and then when it ended, I was still upset. There were little stories within the bigger picture, but once the movie ended, you realized it was just filler and the writers couldn't think of anything else. The audio was really annoying. Yes, we get it. Just because they are walking through a blizzard, doesn't mean you can crank the wind sound. Oh and when you transition between loud noises to silence, it's best to actually transition and not cut.

    You can't go wrong with Liam Neeson, but when it comes to 'The Grey', you might have to pass. There was very little entertainment value and the gripping of my seat never lasted long. Let the wolves drag you when the DVD gets released.
    Expand
  20. Feb 13, 2012
    2
    Very boring in addition to a poorly written script were the characters make a series of incredibly stupid decisions. The atheistic underpinnings only served to further detract from the film.
  21. Feb 21, 2012
    0
    Thank God my advance screening tickets were free.. this was SUCH a stinker. Those animatronic wolves with eyelights blinking on in the darkness, slathering and snarling in anticipation of human flesh but never hanging around to eat it, and the dumb victim humans wandering off from the crash site to who-knows-where, yet with a ready supply of dry timber to burn at every pause. I would love to hear what a wolf behaviorist has to say about this film. Except for perhaps the crash sequence, probably the most unrealistic and sappiest psychological script I've experienced in a long, long time. Expand
  22. Feb 29, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An average to below average movie. Where to start, I love Liam Neeson's acting and he has been quite badass in most films he's in. The disappointing thing about The Grey is that he threatens to be badass and then quite simply isn't. sure he threatens a guy and stabs one wolf while it is trying to shred someone up but honestly disappointing. It really didn't go anywhere story wise for mine, I left thinking "this movie was pointless", the person I went with shared this thought. Don't get me started on some of the silly and sometimes totally avoidable deaths. For a movie that is supposedly about people being hunted by wolves there is too much fudging about and not enough wolves trying to kill people, in summary I thought it was quite boring and also completely pointless, the acting however was good, let down by a poor script that went nowhere. Expand
  23. Mar 5, 2012
    0
    A depressing essay about a man's Dark (grey) Night of Soul - from which he never emerges. Riddled with mind numbing inconsistencies:
    1. Wolves don't attack people - they run away. 2. Though injured and trekking through the snowy wilderness (while being attacked by wolves) none of them fashion themselves a staff or walking stick - which would aid their hike while affording some
    protection. Hello ???
    3. Our hero falls into a frigid creek and swept along. Yet when he gets out he doesn't freeze to death (???) and doesn't attempt to light a fire - then discards some of his clothing - including his mitts and touque - and treks off into the bush. I can suspend my disbelief only so much. I won't watch this again.
    Expand
  24. Mar 5, 2012
    4
    After the plane crash you can turn the movie off because besides that the movie is not at all what you expect it to be. Its more about these guys battling themselves more than the wolves or really cool winter settings. Its tries to be too clever, with dumb flashbacks and epic monologues of Liam talking about crap you could care less about. Too many night scenes and unlikeable characters outside of Liam Neison who even still grow sick of with his macho leadership skills. Definitely hoped for a great action flick in the snowy tundra but ended up with great plane crash, terrible wolves, and a movie that thought it was a deeper than it really was. Expand
  25. May 7, 2012
    3
    A rather depressing movie. More of a rant at God than anything else in my opinion. I think the message that it was trying to deliver shot itself in its foot. It portrayed a group of men, thrown into a terrible and life threatening situation, with the odds stacked against them (throw a couple of super, mutated wolves into the mix ^^). Each one of these seven plain crash survivors die horrific and brutal deaths...nature was truly unforgiving to them. The suffering these characters endured can well be related to what people experience everyday, but can be dealt with differently, and this I think is where the movie fails miserably. Liam Neeson's character comes to the conclusion that because God doesn't help him in his horrible situation, therefore God doesn't exist and life, suffering, and ultimate death is all meaningless. From humanities limited and finite understanding, this is a reasonable evaluation and mindset BUT on the other hand, very juvenile and naive as humanity does not have all the answers. In light of the latter point, selling God short as portrayed in this movie was ignorant and cheap shot in the philosophical ring. What is suffering in a finite period of time, compared to ETERNAL joy and happiness? It is but a mere flicker in time. The two cannot be compared, especially over a divine plan. Perhaps Liam Neeson's character should have pulled the trigger in the beginning. It would have saved me from watching the most depressing movie ever made. Expand
  26. May 17, 2012
    2
    Repetitive and disappointing. Predictable. Cliche'd horror-like-B-movie death of characters picked off one by one by pore CGI wolves. To boot, and most unsatisfying, it was concluded with fade-to-black anticlimactic and severely premature ending. Not worth your time.....
  27. Jun 11, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Start was good, but than- directors show that they are complete idiots, go and explore nature you **** good movie. ask hunters or people who live in farms, wolfs never do that things witch you can see in movie. i'm hunter and know that. i was disappointed. Expand
  28. Jun 13, 2012
    0
    I saw Jon Stewart interview Liam Neeson for this film, and he wisely avoided talking about this terrible film. The wolves are evil cartoons, any 14 year old would know their behavior is completely unrealistic. The dialogue is written at a grade 5 level (who could possibly write such drivel?). I kept waiting for the story I had hoped for, a Jack London yarn of Alaska in winter, or a Farley Mowatt fable of men lost in the barren lands. Instead I was served a film that seems to have had no script, no plot, and no plan, and a complete disregard for the characters and the audience. Expand
  29. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    Without a doubt the worst movie I've seen this year. In this scify epic, Liam Nesson takes on a planet infested with ultra-smart superwolves while contemplating the philosophical meaning of death. The wolves demonstrate their ability to ambush in flawless battle-line formations, make an incredible ammount of noise in the woods, repell down clifs and viciously seek human blood with historically uncharacteristic flair. A 12 year old child with acceas to Animal Planet could point out the shockingly unrealistic portrayal of wolves here. Expand
  30. Nov 21, 2013
    2
    Definitely not for young children. I saw this movie and I freaked out myself. I barely got to have my eyes open. A plane crashes in the middle of Alaska right in the middle of the gray wolf's hunting zone.one by one someone got eaten. honestly i did not understand this movie because instead of going to get out of the hunting zone they walked farther into it which is more dangerous. you never know when the wolves will come so its one of those all of the sudden someone is dead. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 1, 2012
    78
    The film is an intelligent study of the will to live. It's so strong that even a suicidal man rises to the occasion.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 31, 2012
    75
    There's an almost poetic quality to the way things develop, with characters becoming increasingly introspective.
  3. 50
    Neeson's gravity elevates the action, and there's a fine, prickly performance by an actor new to me, Frank Grillo, as the asshole of the group. But The Grey, despite moments of sublimity, is as predictable as a funeral. When Ottway angrily calls out to God, the nonanswer is sadly redundant.