The Grey

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 399 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 399
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 28, 2012
    6
    I appreciate the spare, gritty look and feel of the movie. No, the wolves didn't look 100% realistic with Jurassic Park-style CGI, but it doesn't matter. What's here is certainly convincing enough. The relationships between the men, they way each of them reacts to the crisis, and their journey have a very real texture to them. In some way that I can't specifically articulate, it reminds meI appreciate the spare, gritty look and feel of the movie. No, the wolves didn't look 100% realistic with Jurassic Park-style CGI, but it doesn't matter. What's here is certainly convincing enough. The relationships between the men, they way each of them reacts to the crisis, and their journey have a very real texture to them. In some way that I can't specifically articulate, it reminds me a bit of Meek's Cutoff (a film I don't care for), though this film is much more entertaining. The characters are a bit flat, and given the way that some of the dialogue was written, it also reminds me of more off-the-cuff, found-footage films like Blair Witch and Paranormal 3. Which worked for me - it all sounds very natural. And as Ebert suggests, you have to sit through the credits if you want to see the final shot of the film. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    Although depressing, I never got bored. Like most survival films, it has the stereotypical cast of characters, especially the annoying one that argues constantly with the others. They never seem to be the ones that die initially. The performances are solid, but the run time seems a little long for an intense movie. For me it doesn't have the repeatability factor - I have no desire toAlthough depressing, I never got bored. Like most survival films, it has the stereotypical cast of characters, especially the annoying one that argues constantly with the others. They never seem to be the ones that die initially. The performances are solid, but the run time seems a little long for an intense movie. For me it doesn't have the repeatability factor - I have no desire to ever see the film again, but it is well made. The plane crash seems realistic, the weather makes you feel chilly, and the wolves give you goose bumps. It just seemed like I've seen it all before. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    THE CONS Wolves just don't LOOK or behave like that. Period. The process of suspending my disbelief was continuously interrupted by these wolves on steroids. Kept waiting to learn they were the progeny of some escaped military experiment. That would have actually been more believable. Please stop maligning our hapless wolves (the REAL ones)! Only Neeson saved this from being a sillyTHE CONS Wolves just don't LOOK or behave like that. Period. The process of suspending my disbelief was continuously interrupted by these wolves on steroids. Kept waiting to learn they were the progeny of some escaped military experiment. That would have actually been more believable. Please stop maligning our hapless wolves (the REAL ones)! Only Neeson saved this from being a silly fairy tale. I was very highly upset by the abrupt ending. I mean, we expect to be rewarded for tagging along on a perilous journey with the characters of a suspenseful story in the first place, right? THE PROS *Great performances. Neeson at his best, as usual. *Awe-inspiring visuals of misty mountain ranges. *Crash seemed horrifically realistic. Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2012
    5
    While this movie isn't as bad as I thought it would be, it still wasn't very good. The main problem with the movie is that it was unrealistic and unconvincing. The wolves were made to be much smarter and bloodthirsty than they are in reality, and for some reason they would appear and disappear at random points in the movie. If you've ever seen Frozen, you know what I mean. The randomWhile this movie isn't as bad as I thought it would be, it still wasn't very good. The main problem with the movie is that it was unrealistic and unconvincing. The wolves were made to be much smarter and bloodthirsty than they are in reality, and for some reason they would appear and disappear at random points in the movie. If you've ever seen Frozen, you know what I mean. The random disappearance/appearance lead to more than a couple plot holes as the movie went on. And then there's the fact that a man somehow jumps across a 50 foot gap.... how? The second problem is the editing. While not terrible, throughout the movie there are flashbacks that just don't seem to make sense as to where they're placed. It felt clumsy and pretty awkward. And finally, there's the ending. While it could have been worse, it still is just not good. While cliffhangers can totally be appropriate in some cases, a survival thriller is not one genre it works particularly well for. This is one ending that will more than likely make you frustrated. There are a few positive things about this movie. The acting was fine (much to my surprise), and for the most part the script wasn't bad, minus a few absolutely absurd conversations that happen throughout the film. Think of this one as Poseidon in Alaska, though this one isn't quite as bad as Poseidon. It isn't a great movie. The Grey is a pretty bland, and even laughable at a few parts. Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    Nothwithstanding its attempts to manifest itself atypically from others before it, "The Grey" simply relies too heavily on the shallow shoulders of its "spear-carriers," whose only raison d' etre is to dispense egregiously daft and ribald prattling upon barren expressions, while the camera spotlights Neeson and mewls for support. What one experiences is a cinematographic waste ofNothwithstanding its attempts to manifest itself atypically from others before it, "The Grey" simply relies too heavily on the shallow shoulders of its "spear-carriers," whose only raison d' etre is to dispense egregiously daft and ribald prattling upon barren expressions, while the camera spotlights Neeson and mewls for support. What one experiences is a cinematographic waste of astounding, achromatic transcendental visuals, hampered by the dragging sense of directorial indecisiveness and subpar writing. Aside from Neeson's valiant efforts to egress from his enslaved character, the film enthralls with its surprisingly fresh metaphysical overtones, and adhesive tie-ins toward the latter-half. As a result, "The Grey" is a brimmingly stern philosophical survival thriller, laden with sporadic moments of jocosity and adrenaline, yet suppressed with a taste of dissatisfied chagrin. Expand
  6. May 4, 2013
    5
    Weird movie, and by weird i mean a movie that make no freaking sense at all no matter how you slice it, the wolves are completely unnatural and have superpowers
  7. Mar 9, 2012
    6
    People trying to escape from a pack of wolves through extreme weather conditions are great ingredients for a nailbiting thriller and produce surpisingly beautiful cinematography. 117 minutes of people being chased by a pack of wolves in extreme difficult weather conditions give plenty of time for the suspense to wear off and become fed up with the cinematography.
  8. Feb 4, 2012
    4
    While the first fifteen minutes of this grim tale are adequate, the film quickly
    degenerates into preposterous behavior by the ensemble, resulting in a fairly dull gore-laced film.
  9. Apr 1, 2012
    4
    Rotten Tomatoes said that The Grey is an exciting tale of survival, populated with fleshed-out characters and a surprising philosophical agenda. But I don't think so or survival thing is not my agenda?
  10. Feb 17, 2013
    6
    Liam Neeson's performance is decent. The plot of the movie in the long run becomes repetitive and the film loses entertainment, but a sufficient movie that shows the more sensitive side of humanity.
  11. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    A great performance from Liam Neeson. However that isn't enough to make up for a lot of loose ends and pitfalls in the film. I love the story idea and in many parts it really got your heart pumping. There are parts where it seems the effects department was under a strict budget and had to make cut backs. Parts also left you thinking why didn't they/he do something else. Finally to theA great performance from Liam Neeson. However that isn't enough to make up for a lot of loose ends and pitfalls in the film. I love the story idea and in many parts it really got your heart pumping. There are parts where it seems the effects department was under a strict budget and had to make cut backs. Parts also left you thinking why didn't they/he do something else. Finally to the ending which i personally saw happening early on but didn't want to happen. I got to the last fight then just ended before anything happened. I understand why they ended it there and it wasn't a bad choice but i would have preferred to see the final fight and what ever happened then this ending. Expand
  12. Feb 2, 2012
    4
    I'm struggling with this movie. I wanted to like it, I really do, but there were so many reasons not to. I should begin with the good stuff though. Liam Neeson, like usual, is one bad ass human being. I can't think of a movie where he has failed to disappoint. It seems like he is one of the few actors in Hollywood that actually cares about acting and cares about his fans. But my love forI'm struggling with this movie. I wanted to like it, I really do, but there were so many reasons not to. I should begin with the good stuff though. Liam Neeson, like usual, is one bad ass human being. I can't think of a movie where he has failed to disappoint. It seems like he is one of the few actors in Hollywood that actually cares about acting and cares about his fans. But my love for Liam Neeson can only go so far in a movie like 'The Grey'. There were some scenes where I was gripping my seat and wanted more, but my wish never came true. The wolves were impeccable, though. You might feel a connection with the overall meaning of the film, but it simply was not enough. The movie was way too long. Two hours was definitely unnecessary for a film like this one. I was sitting in my seat wondering when it was going to be over and then when it ended, I was still upset. There were little stories within the bigger picture, but once the movie ended, you realized it was just filler and the writers couldn't think of anything else. The audio was really annoying. Yes, we get it. Just because they are walking through a blizzard, doesn't mean you can crank the wind sound. Oh and when you transition between loud noises to silence, it's best to actually transition and not cut.

    You can't go wrong with Liam Neeson, but when it comes to 'The Grey', you might have to pass. There was very little entertainment value and the gripping of my seat never lasted long. Let the wolves drag you when the DVD gets released.
    Expand
  13. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    It wasnt bad but its wasnt good either. It was pretty bland. And if you actually notice, most movies that liam neeson acts in are normally consist a simple plot and he ends up dead. although he is quite an admirable actor, and he does fairly well here, its not enough to save this movie. the ending was wayward disappointing as it was building up to the climax very well. i expected more fromIt wasnt bad but its wasnt good either. It was pretty bland. And if you actually notice, most movies that liam neeson acts in are normally consist a simple plot and he ends up dead. although he is quite an admirable actor, and he does fairly well here, its not enough to save this movie. the ending was wayward disappointing as it was building up to the climax very well. i expected more from it and somehow it falls short. Expand
  14. Feb 29, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An average to below average movie. Where to start, I love Liam Neeson's acting and he has been quite badass in most films he's in. The disappointing thing about The Grey is that he threatens to be badass and then quite simply isn't. sure he threatens a guy and stabs one wolf while it is trying to shred someone up but honestly disappointing. It really didn't go anywhere story wise for mine, I left thinking "this movie was pointless", the person I went with shared this thought. Don't get me started on some of the silly and sometimes totally avoidable deaths. For a movie that is supposedly about people being hunted by wolves there is too much fudging about and not enough wolves trying to kill people, in summary I thought it was quite boring and also completely pointless, the acting however was good, let down by a poor script that went nowhere. Expand
  15. Mar 10, 2012
    6
    This is not the best work of Liam Neeson, i was expecting more of this one. It taste like cliche to me, but the fight between the characters and the wolfs is very impressive.
  16. Mar 5, 2012
    4
    After the plane crash you can turn the movie off because besides that the movie is not at all what you expect it to be. Its more about these guys battling themselves more than the wolves or really cool winter settings. Its tries to be too clever, with dumb flashbacks and epic monologues of Liam talking about crap you could care less about. Too many night scenes and unlikeable charactersAfter the plane crash you can turn the movie off because besides that the movie is not at all what you expect it to be. Its more about these guys battling themselves more than the wolves or really cool winter settings. Its tries to be too clever, with dumb flashbacks and epic monologues of Liam talking about crap you could care less about. Too many night scenes and unlikeable characters outside of Liam Neison who even still grow sick of with his macho leadership skills. Definitely hoped for a great action flick in the snowy tundra but ended up with great plane crash, terrible wolves, and a movie that thought it was a deeper than it really was. Expand
  17. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My opinion on it is mixed. on the one hand Liam Neeson played, well, Liam Neeson. And he was just as brilliant as ever. It depressing, but lets face it that was the point, and it did do it well. The harrowing struggle came across and easily left an emotional impact. In saying that though the deeper level of Neeson's battle with faith and the pseudo-psychological importance of the poems felt a bit tacked on and could have perhaps been integrated a bit better. The wolves appearance was a bit weak, but I felt that that was forgiveable. I wasn't sold on the ending, it was the only real ending that they could have had I suppose, but that wasn't enough for me to like it. I choose to remember the ending differently, the only other possible ending for it - Obama parachutes in armed with a flame-thrower and missile launcher, deals with the wolves and hi-fives with Neeson, all done to the theme of team america and saves the day. That's how I chose to remember it. Expand
  18. Jun 4, 2012
    6
    The trailer for this movie lies. If you expect an action movie that involves Liam Neeson with broken glass on his hands fighting wolves, boy will you be pissed. Set all that aside, and you might actually enjoy this patient, paced, thoughtful movie. It is a drama, not action, and a reasonably enjoyable one.
  19. May 19, 2012
    6
    Bit too obvious outcome. The ending was revealed like 15 min into the film. Only thing that makes this movie watchable is Liam Neason. Everything that guy touches turns to gold. So it could have been allot better if the story line wasn't given in the beginning.
  20. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    The feel bad movie of the year. While I would never dislike a movie based on it being depressing alone, I never feel like The Grey earns the emotional punches that it throws. This film is well acted and shot very well, you may actually feel cold while watching this film there is such a strong sense of atmosphere. While I understand that the wolves are meant to mirror a lot of the themes inThe feel bad movie of the year. While I would never dislike a movie based on it being depressing alone, I never feel like The Grey earns the emotional punches that it throws. This film is well acted and shot very well, you may actually feel cold while watching this film there is such a strong sense of atmosphere. While I understand that the wolves are meant to mirror a lot of the themes in this film, I ultimately feel that everything they contribute could be done by simply using the elements. The reason this matters to me is because most of the havoc that the wolves are causing ring false to me and take away from the characters who need to be fleshed out much more than they ever are. In the end I think that is what keeps this movie that is trying to say a lot about life from saying much of anything at all. Expand
  21. Jun 11, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Start was good, but than- directors show that they are complete idiots, go and explore nature you **** good movie. ask hunters or people who live in farms, wolfs never do that things witch you can see in movie. i'm hunter and know that. i was disappointed. Expand
  22. Jun 29, 2012
    5
    I expect a lot when I hear see Liam Neeson's name in a film but this film was very slow-paced and boring at some points. It couldn't gather my attention nor there were any horrifying moments when it comes to survival thrillers. Main theme was very good, like the plane crashing and being stuck in the middle of nowhere, but this film could not generate that charm.
  23. Jul 17, 2012
    6
    While The Grey doesn't provide us with all-too-interesting characters, it does deliver filmgoers a good survival yarn filled with gripping title-referential cinematography and the chance to see Liam Neeson punch wolves. I also felt that the philosophical tones went along surprisingly well and without them The Grey wouldn't have been as distinctive (It isn't very without them, though). TheWhile The Grey doesn't provide us with all-too-interesting characters, it does deliver filmgoers a good survival yarn filled with gripping title-referential cinematography and the chance to see Liam Neeson punch wolves. I also felt that the philosophical tones went along surprisingly well and without them The Grey wouldn't have been as distinctive (It isn't very without them, though). The film has a troubling start until the wolves arrive and it suffers from a very slow middle act. It also doesn't have characters that we like, believe, or care about, but we still hope that the idea of these men as a group could make it. On the positive side, there's Neeson, dealing out effortlessly cool machismo vibes with a hint of doggedly tired age. He is worth a glance here. Plus, as I already said, he gets to punch wolves. Expand
  24. May 22, 2015
    5
    Personally, I did not really notice nor care for what I did notice when it came to the "philosophical" element of this one. Truth be told, it felt like they were reaching to try and make what is a pretty typical survival drama hit home and be more profound than it truly is. Any claims to the contrary can be supported because, well, it's a survival drama. I see some reviews commenting onPersonally, I did not really notice nor care for what I did notice when it came to the "philosophical" element of this one. Truth be told, it felt like they were reaching to try and make what is a pretty typical survival drama hit home and be more profound than it truly is. Any claims to the contrary can be supported because, well, it's a survival drama. I see some reviews commenting on how this one is a study of the will to live, which to me is nonsense and is not a topic that needs to be discussed in film, if this is truly what this film is going for. No duh people want to survive, there is nothing profound to be in that topic. Hell, *SPOILER* one guy just gives up. How is that evident of the will to live? *END SPOILER* Ultimately, Liam Neeson and the rest of the cast are quite strong, the film is well shot, and well told. Throughout, it is very compelling and is a very good survival film. Sadly, the forced in "profound" moments that are anything but that try to hint at the film being more symbolic than it really is, do ruin the movie to an extent. Luckily, the film's intensity and well developed characters make up for it. Expand
  25. Jul 22, 2012
    6
    Not what i was expecting. The trailers for this movie hinted at 'Taken' or 'Unknown' in the wilderness, but this film is nothing like your general hollywood liam neeson action movie. Its slow, gritty, and has a decidedly 'indie' feel to it, almost meditative at times, but not as bad as a Terence Malick flick. The director Joe carnahan has a knack for making very human films out of wellNot what i was expecting. The trailers for this movie hinted at 'Taken' or 'Unknown' in the wilderness, but this film is nothing like your general hollywood liam neeson action movie. Its slow, gritty, and has a decidedly 'indie' feel to it, almost meditative at times, but not as bad as a Terence Malick flick. The director Joe carnahan has a knack for making very human films out of well worn territory and this is no exception. The film starts very slowly, almost dreamlike, but follows with a very real plane crash and its aftermath, neeson and co. then have to trek through the wilderness avoiding the wolves that seem to be tracking them. The film lulls slightly here but picks up in the second half and gradually draws you in, credit to carnahan for making the situation very real and believable, with a harshness that runs right through to the end. The film has a lot of minor quibbles and is definitely not a regular mainstream watch, but caught in the right mood it has some interesting things to say and says them very well indeed. Expand
  26. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    The Grey was a somewhat memorable and unique movie that left me felling deflated. I found the premise (attempting to survive against all odds) and setting (a barren cold wasteland) interesting. However, the overall execution was a little underwhelming for me. I was also disappointed in the ending, even though I can understand why some people might like it. The movie succeeded in getting meThe Grey was a somewhat memorable and unique movie that left me felling deflated. I found the premise (attempting to survive against all odds) and setting (a barren cold wasteland) interesting. However, the overall execution was a little underwhelming for me. I was also disappointed in the ending, even though I can understand why some people might like it. The movie succeeded in getting me to wonder how they were going to make it out of their ordeal. However, the overall tone of their struggle left me with a negative tension throughout. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 1, 2012
    78
    The film is an intelligent study of the will to live. It's so strong that even a suicidal man rises to the occasion.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 31, 2012
    75
    There's an almost poetic quality to the way things develop, with characters becoming increasingly introspective.
  3. 50
    Neeson's gravity elevates the action, and there's a fine, prickly performance by an actor new to me, Frank Grillo, as the asshole of the group. But The Grey, despite moments of sublimity, is as predictable as a funeral. When Ottway angrily calls out to God, the nonanswer is sadly redundant.