The Grey

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 400 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 400
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Closer examination of this movie seems to indicate that it is an analogy. It is really about man facing his God and his fear of death in a dignified fashion...which is what Liam Nesson does. As proof I offer the 4 line poem the main character's father wrote and posted on his wall. It is repeated several times so you can't miss it...you're not supposed to. It is the last thing Liam Neeson'sCloser examination of this movie seems to indicate that it is an analogy. It is really about man facing his God and his fear of death in a dignified fashion...which is what Liam Nesson does. As proof I offer the 4 line poem the main character's father wrote and posted on his wall. It is repeated several times so you can't miss it...you're not supposed to. It is the last thing Liam Neeson's character thinks of before....well you know. The message is quite clear. Live to fight another day, die with honor, strength, bravery and above all dignity. I think the movie was beautifully done and superbly acted. Expand
  2. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    It's a fun, competently shot and directed movie that makes a few missteps. First off, this is a survival movie, but NOT a nature survival movie. The wolves aren't really killing for food or survival, there's a bunch of pompous exposition about them organizing and taunting the survivors and other crap. The wolves don't even bother eating some of the kills, the characters might as well beIt's a fun, competently shot and directed movie that makes a few missteps. First off, this is a survival movie, but NOT a nature survival movie. The wolves aren't really killing for food or survival, there's a bunch of pompous exposition about them organizing and taunting the survivors and other crap. The wolves don't even bother eating some of the kills, the characters might as well be fighting the hillbillies from Deliverance, this is NOT a nature movie. Second, some really wonky physics towards the end, from improbably jump angles off of clips to improbable getting feet stuck between rocks. Good acting and decent existential statements though, worth the time it took to watch it. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    Loved this movie. It had something for everyone. Action lover? Its got that, and if u love story, and drama, its got abit of that. Unlike 80% of all movies, it is completely unpredictable. Things twist, and happen at random alot.. Also very bloody. Im sure you have heard alot of griping about the end. Forget it. But you have to watch the credits. All those who gripe didnt.... And evenLoved this movie. It had something for everyone. Action lover? Its got that, and if u love story, and drama, its got abit of that. Unlike 80% of all movies, it is completely unpredictable. Things twist, and happen at random alot.. Also very bloody. Im sure you have heard alot of griping about the end. Forget it. But you have to watch the credits. All those who gripe didnt.... And even then, many werent satisfied with the ending. I was, and just leave an open mind about the ending. Once agian, it was great. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    I know its only a month into the new year, but The Grey is hands down the best movie of 2012 so far and its going to be VERY hard to beat. Liam Neeson needs to be recognized as one of the best actors out there. Absolute powerful performance in a very powerful movie. The Grey will grip you and toss you around for 2 terrifying, gut wrenching, and heart pounding hours. You will love and hateI know its only a month into the new year, but The Grey is hands down the best movie of 2012 so far and its going to be VERY hard to beat. Liam Neeson needs to be recognized as one of the best actors out there. Absolute powerful performance in a very powerful movie. The Grey will grip you and toss you around for 2 terrifying, gut wrenching, and heart pounding hours. You will love and hate every minute of this movie, it's that powerful. This is the most suspenseful and terrifying movie i have seen in a long time. You will grow to have a major fear of wolves after this movie, I sure did. Plus i just have to say it, it was great to hear Liam Neeson quote "I'm going to start beating the s**t out of you in about 5 seconds" Just one of the few comedic relief moments in this amazing film. Go see this movie now, its money well spent. Just a warning, it will create a fear of wolves and potential fear of flying, but don't let that shy you away because this is a VERY good movie. 10/10 Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    This is by far the best film I've seen yet in 2012. The Grey is emotionally riveting, terrifying and utterly philosophical. Where a film like "The Edge" starring Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin was about man VS. Nature, The Grey is more about man accepting Nature. The performances are terrific and the cinematography makes you feel like you're there. The surround sound and big screen makeThis is by far the best film I've seen yet in 2012. The Grey is emotionally riveting, terrifying and utterly philosophical. Where a film like "The Edge" starring Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin was about man VS. Nature, The Grey is more about man accepting Nature. The performances are terrific and the cinematography makes you feel like you're there. The surround sound and big screen make a difference at the cinema. It's rare films like The Grey make it to the theatre. Do yourself a favour and go see it. Be warned; it's not for the faint of heart. AS WELL, there is an important, albeit very short scene after the credits. Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    I have experienced things in life that taught me to never say "can not be worse than that!" Because I know that in general a fan of horror movies knows can.Every they see. If you confuse what happens in movies like "things that never happen to me", well, you learn.

    As the gray will open in the cold, the desolation Liam Neeson appears as a man with a dream of life without lies, without
    I have experienced things in life that taught me to never say "can not be worse than that!" Because I know that in general a fan of horror movies knows can.Every they see. If you confuse what happens in movies like "things that never happen to me", well, you learn.

    As the gray will open in the cold, the desolation Liam Neeson appears as a man with a dream of life without lies, without illusions.The reasons are not obvious. There is a sniper hired to protect workers against the oil platforms to frequent attacks of wolves, and draw only when fully necessary.He aspects of enough animals to meet their human companions is much dangers.His less admiration, at least in the works. They lose the real world, they deserve to be in the difficult conditions, he chose to be in.

    On a routine flight to return to the civilization of the plane crashes, literally, in the middle nowhere.The sound editors and technicians have done a fantastic job with this film, you feel so close to everything that is possible without there.Real be representations of accident victims and the cold, cold is a character full own.That would endanger his life.

    Then, struck with the true primary fear.The most of us have forgotten in our long journey up the food chain. The line between our world and the 911 safety and mental health, and complete the paris are open, not save you, but the world is very thin.

    He learns the hard way that the plane crashed into the world of the wolf and not to be.

    Having some knowledge of animals, but not much more than he hastens to live and protect what remains of humanity in this implacable.

    The survivors try to cope as well as you or I could, and are on whenever terribly strained.

    The gray is real, raw, scary and so good to be grateful for all aspects of your life.Neeson is at his best when he attacks everything that man and fears of nature, and is a cinematic experience.
    hydronite.com
    Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    After a harrowing plane crash a group of men (lead by Liam Neeson) is stranded in the middle of a frozen wasteland. They struggle to survive against extreme weather, physical injuries and a pack of wolves. The action is swift and jarring, without being too graphic. Unlike what you'd expect, the tension actually slows as the film progresses. Too much time is spent creating sympatheticAfter a harrowing plane crash a group of men (lead by Liam Neeson) is stranded in the middle of a frozen wasteland. They struggle to survive against extreme weather, physical injuries and a pack of wolves. The action is swift and jarring, without being too graphic. Unlike what you'd expect, the tension actually slows as the film progresses. Too much time is spent creating sympathetic characters, when all we care about is who's next to die and how. Still, it's thoroughly involving and damn suspenseful. Expand
  8. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    The Grey is a very well shot, minimalist-written survivalist story where some very good actors face the Alaskan Wilderness and CGI wolves. Joe Carnahan gives the movie an existential edge, where the fierce weather serves as a back drop for some high integrity acting and metaphysical contemplation when a team of Oil Workers survive a plane crash only to face a pack of wolves. Poetic,The Grey is a very well shot, minimalist-written survivalist story where some very good actors face the Alaskan Wilderness and CGI wolves. Joe Carnahan gives the movie an existential edge, where the fierce weather serves as a back drop for some high integrity acting and metaphysical contemplation when a team of Oil Workers survive a plane crash only to face a pack of wolves. Poetic, Romantic, Contemplative - and in most sequences, a lot of fun. The weakest thing in the movie is the wolves. Expand
  9. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    This was a very entertaining movie. One of my favorites so far this year. Great story, cinematography, and just enough violence to keep your juices flowing...
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    One of the best films of the year! Liam Nesson, in one of his best roles to date, plays a rough, hard-nosed, scrappy, tough, kick-ass and yet subdued role in this film. He is quiet and focused exactly when he needs to be. All the performances are good and the cinematography is awe-inspiring. There is not a dull moment in this film. It exhibits truth and the harsh reality of these menOne of the best films of the year! Liam Nesson, in one of his best roles to date, plays a rough, hard-nosed, scrappy, tough, kick-ass and yet subdued role in this film. He is quiet and focused exactly when he needs to be. All the performances are good and the cinematography is awe-inspiring. There is not a dull moment in this film. It exhibits truth and the harsh reality of these men coming to terms with their lives in one of the most harsh climates man has ever seen. The wolves are truly terrifying, and they are certainly an integral part of this story. Expand
  11. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    Great movie about survival and how harsh nature really is. The lack of Liam Neeson kicking @$$ and taking names and the lack of over CGIed scenes is extremely refreshing in an industry that has been overrun with thrillers. This is not an action movie like a lot of Liam's recent films. The Grey is a somewhat survival horror movie with a lot of drama. You will be surprised and you will mostGreat movie about survival and how harsh nature really is. The lack of Liam Neeson kicking @$$ and taking names and the lack of over CGIed scenes is extremely refreshing in an industry that has been overrun with thrillers. This is not an action movie like a lot of Liam's recent films. The Grey is a somewhat survival horror movie with a lot of drama. You will be surprised and you will most likely cry at many points in this film. My only complaint about this movie is the fact that the wolves sort of act out of character from what I know about wolves, their habits might seem inconsistent to some survival experts, but that is such a minor complaint it really doesn't matter. Enjoy the film because it's really good. Expand
  12. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    Great survival movie and Liam Neeson gives brilliant performance. Gritty and tough to watch in places but has a great message about what drives people to survive in bad situations. About keeping memories of those we love with us no matter what. However if you don't want to read too much into the movie there are lots of tense scenes to keep you entertained.
  13. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This was an amazing movie! Every character played their part admirably, and watching them as they struggled together and interacted with each other really made me care for these characters. Some people may complain about the lack of a plot, but what they're missing is that this movie is about survival - finding a way out of that frozen hell and escaping the wolves. I cried some seriousThis was an amazing movie! Every character played their part admirably, and watching them as they struggled together and interacted with each other really made me care for these characters. Some people may complain about the lack of a plot, but what they're missing is that this movie is about survival - finding a way out of that frozen hell and escaping the wolves. I cried some serious manly tears at the end. My only complaint is that the wolves seemed somewhat fake at times, but if you can suspend your disbelief for those short periods, get ready for an amazing ride. Expand
  14. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    The Grey is a movie like nothing I've ever seen before. It's gritty and dark and the movie portrays the overall dismal tone very well through: character conversations, setting, and suspense. The movie is very well done, with only the blemish being the CGI wolves that seem to feel cheap. Other than that, the movie is great. Dialog conveys most of the story, although what is told isThe Grey is a movie like nothing I've ever seen before. It's gritty and dark and the movie portrays the overall dismal tone very well through: character conversations, setting, and suspense. The movie is very well done, with only the blemish being the CGI wolves that seem to feel cheap. Other than that, the movie is great. Dialog conveys most of the story, although what is told is short and vague, it manages to give you an overarching background to the characters that is mostly complete. The movie does a really good job of pulling you in and keeping your interest until the conclusion. The characters were somewhat stereotypical, but not over-the-top. The language was controlled and wasn't overdone, and I didn't feel like their was random expletives added for laughs. The survival aspect was very cool, and Liam Neeson's character is Oscar-worthy. This movie deserves to be nominated as best movie, best character, and best sound design. Although, it wouldn't be nominated for best CGI; it wasn't the worst I have seen. Overall, a great story with spotty CGI and amazing setting. The setup to the final scene is perfect, and the way the movie ends (maybe will disappoint some), was just perfect in my opinion. First movie to WOW me in 2012.

    Story - 8/10
    CGI - 6/10
    Action - 9/10
    Acting - 10/10
    Setting - 10/10
    Achieved Realism in environment and believability in story. 9/10 Great Movie
    Expand
  15. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Acting: 10- Neeson was at his best. One of the finest performances of his career. Story: 10- I was on the edge the whole movie. This movie is not a Taken. It is a methodical story about humans surviving for nothing other than just to survive. Very deep, dark, and haunting. Cinematography: 10- This movie is well shot. The plane sequence is one of the best. I honestly loved the scenes of theActing: 10- Neeson was at his best. One of the finest performances of his career. Story: 10- I was on the edge the whole movie. This movie is not a Taken. It is a methodical story about humans surviving for nothing other than just to survive. Very deep, dark, and haunting. Cinematography: 10- This movie is well shot. The plane sequence is one of the best. I honestly loved the scenes of the Alaskan wilderness. If you are a movie buff or enjoy Neeson's great acting. This is a movie to see ASAP. Expand
  16. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This movie is the wolf version of Jaws. The wolves were unrealistic which is the biggest flaw in the movie but the film is so tense and feels so powerful that it was worth the watch. The acting was amazing and the cinematography was stellar as well. Overall, get ready for the most intense movie in years.
  17. Feb 4, 2012
    8
    From the trailer, this movie puts itself out there as a man vs. beast thriller. However, when watching this movie at least to me, it felt like it was a strict character study of men and the challenges that a man faces not only against something natural, but mainly emotional. Liam Neeson does a fantastic job but I felt like he was trying for his Will Smith "I am Legend" moment. I mean youFrom the trailer, this movie puts itself out there as a man vs. beast thriller. However, when watching this movie at least to me, it felt like it was a strict character study of men and the challenges that a man faces not only against something natural, but mainly emotional. Liam Neeson does a fantastic job but I felt like he was trying for his Will Smith "I am Legend" moment. I mean you were Qui-Gon Ginn and in Schindler's, a little less acting and more raw emotion would have sufficed. With that being said, the visuals and sets were great. Actions sequences were well done and at points you almost forgot how you were sitting in a theater. Expand
  18. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    A lot of potential to be better, but a solid movie overall. Great Performance by Liam Neeson. The plot & dramatic scenes definitely pull at the heart. My only criticism was the movie did seem to drag on a little longer and the unnatural feeling of the wolves, took away from how good this movie could have been.
  19. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Although the story has been told by many movie makers, this rendition is SO superbly filmed and acted, it would stand up to any that went before it. The similarity to most of its predecessors ends, however, at the richness and depth of its dialog. Great effort by the cast and crew!
  20. Jan 31, 2012
    8
    I'm curious why the wolf "experts" went to see this movie in the first place. Hadn't they seen the trailer in which Neeson is shown taping a knife and small broken bottles to his hands in preparation for hand-to-paw combat with a wolf? Wasn't that enough of a clue to indicate that, er, it's a movie? You know, the type of mass media where entertainment usually takes precedent over fact? NotI'm curious why the wolf "experts" went to see this movie in the first place. Hadn't they seen the trailer in which Neeson is shown taping a knife and small broken bottles to his hands in preparation for hand-to-paw combat with a wolf? Wasn't that enough of a clue to indicate that, er, it's a movie? You know, the type of mass media where entertainment usually takes precedent over fact? Not for a minute did I believe what I was seeing was an accurate representation of wolf behavior, nor did I leave the theater hating wolves. On the contrary, I left the theater feeling highly entertained, and with a heightened curiosity about natural wolf behavior. Subsequently I learned that although there are recorded incidents of wolves attacking humans, they are negligible. Wolves are naturally shy of humans. But I didn't go to the theater thinking I was about to see a National Geographic special either. Neeson was terrific playing a very sympathetic character trying to deal with the great sadness in his life. The slow unraveling of the truth behind his deep sadness is one of the strengths of the movie. But what I loved best about this movie was the fact that it did not turn out to be the kind of macho guys' movie the trailer led you to believe. There are some very moving scenes in the movie. Neeson helping a victim of the plane crash deal with the inevitable result of his horrific injuries was for me was quite moving. And the plane crash itself was all too realistic. Yeah, it was pretty riveting. And you'll be surprised to learn of the significance of the scene in which Neeson faces off with the wolf. Finally, don't stay for the extra scene you get after the credits roll. That extra scene, which lasts only several-seconds, is an unnecessary smear on a perfectly finished movie canvas. Expand
  21. Jan 30, 2012
    8
    A movie where you feel completely entertained the whole time and actually feel for the characters sounds like a pretty good one to me. the landscape shots and tenseness you feel throughout made it worth the price of admission.
  22. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Liam Neeson's Best Movie.... Cinematography is Some of the Best in Any Movie to Date.... Stay to the Very End After the Credits.... for Extra Footage.
  23. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Liam Neeson may be the oldest white actor capable of playing the tough guy without being the old tough guy. Throughout The Grey he does what he can to lead plane crash survivors through the frozen tundra of Alaska, and no one questions his age. Director Joe Carnahan takes the audience into a bleak lifestyle amid the Alaskan pipeline. Ottway (Neeson) makes it through with flashbacks of hisLiam Neeson may be the oldest white actor capable of playing the tough guy without being the old tough guy. Throughout The Grey he does what he can to lead plane crash survivors through the frozen tundra of Alaska, and no one questions his age. Director Joe Carnahan takes the audience into a bleak lifestyle amid the Alaskan pipeline. Ottway (Neeson) makes it through with flashbacks of his wife and a chilling voice over. The crash is shown from within the plane and avoids many of the common theatrics. No one is clearly shown being sucked out. For that matter most of the visual effects cast a less than ideal lighting circumstance, which drives home the motif. Injuries, freezing winds, and a lack of food are enough foes for any survivors, but our heroes are being pursued by wolfs. I'm not suggesting that it's impossible, but the behavior of these creatures puts on quite the show. They've certainly seen Halloween. Credulity is also being pushed to limits when the standards line such as "who made you the leader" have to be muttered and one hothead fancies a brawl. Of course Neeson's dominance of the narrative makes him a safe bet, and his buddies a risk. As the film wears on I wanted to buy these blokes more time. Despite how simple the premise I'm sure I could have been entertained for 3 hours. Maybe if the other guys had more spotlight scenes they wouldn't feel so much like Ottway's human shields. The story is simple enough that a big reveal at the end is somehow more effective for the sake that no one was waiting for it. This isn't mystery. What The Grey manages to do with the underexplored is leave the viewer with less question and more statements. The Grey is a man's movie. Fatigue and despair translate with the same forceful impact of the physical blows the survivors endure. It's also a perfect example as to why one should wait for the monk's reward at the end of the credits. Expand
  24. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    a very dissapointing story of survival..its dissapointing to the sense that for less than 2 hours of watching it is pointless though good acting for Liam Neeson...depressing movie
  25. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This movie is brilliant. I want to get that statement out of the way because it is, quite simply, the most succinct way to say it. This film is intense, poetic, harsh, and gritty. It deals with beautiful themes in a very thoughtful and sensitive way - faith, death, despair, love. I have seen it twice and it moved me even more the second time. The soundtrack underlines the story in aThis movie is brilliant. I want to get that statement out of the way because it is, quite simply, the most succinct way to say it. This film is intense, poetic, harsh, and gritty. It deals with beautiful themes in a very thoughtful and sensitive way - faith, death, despair, love. I have seen it twice and it moved me even more the second time. The soundtrack underlines the story in a heartfelt and beautiful way - kudos to Marc Streitenfeld. Liam Neeson's acting is at an all-time high. Most people appreciate the genius behind this man's acting but here he takes it to a new level. Cannot recommend this movie highly enough. Expand
  26. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    My best friend, my girlfriend, and myself all came to see this together. Luckily for us, we were in an empty theater, so we got to talk and jab at each other like the jerks that we are. While we did occasionally giggle at each other about certain silly things in the movie ("Suddenly, wolves!" chomp), I myself did actually find myself immersed in the suspense of the movie. There are, asMy best friend, my girlfriend, and myself all came to see this together. Luckily for us, we were in an empty theater, so we got to talk and jab at each other like the jerks that we are. While we did occasionally giggle at each other about certain silly things in the movie ("Suddenly, wolves!" chomp), I myself did actually find myself immersed in the suspense of the movie. There are, as is expected, a few jump scares here and there, but thankfully, there are also some subtle scares as well. As an example, a wolf may just jump out from off camera and make a loud noise and attack, or the the camera may slowly pan to reveal that a wolf stalking close behind a character, just before he attacks. While it is pretty plain to see that the behavior of the wolves is pretty unrealistic, I don't think it really HAS to be 100%, because at its core, that is not what the movie is about. These wolves don't act like real ones, they're more like large monsters (I am reminded of the Worgs from Lord of the Rings). These wolves act as the "slasher villain" for the movie. The movie is mostly about the death, in itself. Nearly all the characters (other than the few nameless slasher victims) do in some way have a revelation about dying, and dealing with their or their friends inevitable deaths. The movie is told from Liam Neeson's perspective, and so you feel how he is feeling the most. I really did enjoy this movie, and unlike most people I've heard from, I enjoyed the ending a lot. It's the only one that makes sense, really (unless you actually want a scene of Neeson fist fighting a wolf like it was straight out of Taken). Anything else might have come off as silly. And as a side note, Neeson's on-and-off Irish accent got a little distracting (for the first ten minutes I wondered if he even had one).

    And so, if that was all a bit too much to read, here are my thoughts. Even though some parts may come off as silly, I thought the movie as a hole was fantastic. It works as a drama, it works as a thriller, and it works as a movie. Just get ready to be depressed, but not in a bad way. I've been Mezurya, and I think you should watch this movie.

    9/10
    Expand
  27. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I thought the movie was terrible. The first scene is a bar and everyone is fighting seems to me that this crew is supposed to be full of people who know how to handle themselves. When these wolves attack no doubt they are outnumbered most of the time. BUt who walks farther into the darkness to take a pis right after seeing fifteen wolves wanting to kill you. And then when getting attackedI thought the movie was terrible. The first scene is a bar and everyone is fighting seems to me that this crew is supposed to be full of people who know how to handle themselves. When these wolves attack no doubt they are outnumbered most of the time. BUt who walks farther into the darkness to take a pis right after seeing fifteen wolves wanting to kill you. And then when getting attacked does not even make a sound to let people know he needs some help. This movie was more disappointing the more I watched. My recommendation go see the vow. Expand
  28. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    Ottway (Liam Neeson) lingers in the frozen wilderness that are the oil fields of Northern Alaska. He protects the workers from the dangers that present themselves. Beneath the solid exterior of Ottway's demeanor lies a man that is lost: his wife is no longer in his life, he sees no good in what he does for the world, he sees no purpose left. He has only a day left until he flies back toOttway (Liam Neeson) lingers in the frozen wilderness that are the oil fields of Northern Alaska. He protects the workers from the dangers that present themselves. Beneath the solid exterior of Ottway's demeanor lies a man that is lost: his wife is no longer in his life, he sees no good in what he does for the world, he sees no purpose left. He has only a day left until he flies back to Anchorage.

    The plane ride is nothing more than normal, brief bouts of turbulence offset by the testosterone-laden chatter about what the workers will do with their paychecks, girlfriends, wives, etc.Turbulence becomes more noticeable than usual and the chatter teeters out; the men are scared.

    The unabashed desire to live finds itself in Ottway. He straps himself into the seat and holds on for dear life as pieces of the plane start coming off around them. Now, faced with the unlikely prospect of being discovered, Ottway and the six remaining members of the flight are tasked with leaving the wreckage and trying to stay alive. To make matters worse, these seven men are in the company of wolves. Nature is to be feared. Man has progressed from the elements, but we never conquered them. They have a choice: be taken out one-by-one, or fight the bastards.

    Liam Neeson has made a career resurgence of sorts lately for playing a veritable medley of tough guys, but Ottway is a different breed. He has no qualms telling the few survivors left in the woods that he is terrified. Action films of late have suffered because the characters in them are so out of touch that audiences flinch rather than feel when presented with them. Neeson makes a point of portraying Ottway as a flawed man, but one who has found a purpose in this good fight.

    Joe Carnahan abandons the escapist fun that he and Neeson sought for The A-Team. Violence is not used here for big-budget awes, instead he aims for the gritty horrors of fighting for life at any cost. The Grey excels at making these horrors more real than any film before it. But what makes the film even more notable is that it reflects that human desire for life, even in unjust circumstances. Human beings are resilient. We have fears and periods of darkness, but when the time comes and we face some insurmountable hostility, the fangs come out.
    Expand
  29. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This movie is just amazing!!! I went to watch it thinking it would be a popcorn thriller, but from the beginning of the movie my perspective changed. It has beautiful photography, and a good story. It also has all the essentials of a thriller. It ends with something unexpected and makes you feel good about it.
  30. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    First off, I see Liam Neeson as a total badass. Taken and Unknown really hit it off for him as an actor if you ask me. After hearing that he'd be fighting wolves with broken glass bottles, I was definitely on board. I sat down in the theater and was prepared to see this action take place. So it starts off with him in his character as John Ottway, his job? Killing wolves with a high poweredFirst off, I see Liam Neeson as a total badass. Taken and Unknown really hit it off for him as an actor if you ask me. After hearing that he'd be fighting wolves with broken glass bottles, I was definitely on board. I sat down in the theater and was prepared to see this action take place. So it starts off with him in his character as John Ottway, his job? Killing wolves with a high powered rifle to protect the workers of an oil drilling team. Some self narration involved I was taken, shushing my friends in order to pay attention. After a short while, it shows him penning a note to his wife and then shortly after putting his rifle to his mouth and almost pulls the trigger then hears a wolf howl in the background. I guess this was the jump start he needed that stops him. Upon completion of his job, him and another crew are packing up on a little plane to go home. As most could guess, this flight can't withstand the weather and goes down, leaving John and a small group of men stranded in the middle of nowhere, Alaska. As they regroup, what seems like the longest time they spend near the plane's remnants, making fires and collecting the dead's wallets as memorials to bring home if they ever made it to society. As the embark on their journey, they start to die one by one, some more honorable and sad than others as the wolves pick them off. Finally we get down to the nitty gritty of the movie and we wonder what could possibly happen, well...that's what the movie leaves you off with, even a little scene that takes place after the credits just leaves you with a bunch of thoughts of what could've happened. A great movie for topic choice, and plenty that left me wondering if Bear Grylls would've done the same, they just forgot to drink their own piss. Plenty of action and drama to be called a Liam Neeson film. An 8 out of 10. Expand
  31. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Now this movie was really cool. Stranded in the wilderness and trying to stay alive. The wolves thing was interesting but did take away from some of the realism on the viewer's side but it didn't really feel too over the top. Look at it as if you were in the wild alone and felt a pack of wolves was after you. You'd probably exaggerate their ferocity too. But overall great movie. See itNow this movie was really cool. Stranded in the wilderness and trying to stay alive. The wolves thing was interesting but did take away from some of the realism on the viewer's side but it didn't really feel too over the top. Look at it as if you were in the wild alone and felt a pack of wolves was after you. You'd probably exaggerate their ferocity too. But overall great movie. See it when you get the chance on dvd or if it's still around in theaters near you. Expand
  32. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Good flick. I wasn't really expecting what I got.... and I'm totally okay with that. This was a thinking man's action movie. It provided more than enough suspense and also had moments of great insight. The cinematography alone was worth price of admission (check it out on netflix). Overall, A very pleasant surprise.
  33. Feb 2, 2012
    7
    This is a darkly told and darkly shot story about the fate of survivors of an air crash in Alsaka hunted by wolves. Only one of them is an expert at wolves and hunting (LIam Neeson, of course) so he becomes the alpha male, after putting down all challenges. Yep it's a metaphor, and it predicts the ending. He's suicidal and depressed, and recently widowered, but the survival trek gives himThis is a darkly told and darkly shot story about the fate of survivors of an air crash in Alsaka hunted by wolves. Only one of them is an expert at wolves and hunting (LIam Neeson, of course) so he becomes the alpha male, after putting down all challenges. Yep it's a metaphor, and it predicts the ending. He's suicidal and depressed, and recently widowered, but the survival trek gives him a goal. The wolf attacks are often lighning fast and full of ear splitting growling and snarling which serve to keep the audience awake. The director teases by making the attacks occur randomly and unpredicably, and for a change the ending is unpredictable (although I did predict accurately the 2 last survivors, I couldn't rest on my laurels). If you want to enjoy the movie don't ask yourself if the wolves behavior is accurate. Expand
  34. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    Good movie, the wolves created a good deal of suspense. A real survival story that borders on the super-natural. I would of stayed with the plane though. The could of forged weapons from the debris of the plane.
  35. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    A fantastic movie about man's will and fight to survive. The acting is top notch and believable, the characters are fleshed out, and the cast is fantastic. The story is grim from the very beginning, and your introduced to Neeson's character who is an extremely depressed man. Honestly that's all I want to say as I don't want to spoil anything, I do however want to recommend you watchingA fantastic movie about man's will and fight to survive. The acting is top notch and believable, the characters are fleshed out, and the cast is fantastic. The story is grim from the very beginning, and your introduced to Neeson's character who is an extremely depressed man. Honestly that's all I want to say as I don't want to spoil anything, I do however want to recommend you watching this. I do have complaints, at times it's slightly predictable, and do to my religious views I'm not cool with the main character openly cursing God, and how the movie predicts God as not being there, but again that is just do to my religious views, and I honestly can't say that if I had been through what he had been through I wouldn't have done the exact same thing. But I still highly enjoyed the movie and do recommend. It's truly outstanding and unlike anything I've ever watched before. Expand
  36. Jan 5, 2015
    8
    The Grey is an interesting survival film about a group of oil drillers crash landing in the mountains. People familiar with Alien, The Descent or The Edge will know how situations play out. Lian Neeson is great as always and there is extra kudos for a more tangible emotional feel than most 'monster' movies. But that ending... Talk about leaving unsatisfied!
  37. Jul 9, 2015
    7
    While the plot development and dialogue can be cheesy at times, Liam Neeson does the best acting I've ever seen out of it. I don't have any preference with Neeson; I've liked him in some movies and....well Taken 3 exists, guys. Come on now.

    Anyways, while the movie has various small flaws throughout, it does give rise to some interesting thoughts and covers some interesting issues.
    While the plot development and dialogue can be cheesy at times, Liam Neeson does the best acting I've ever seen out of it. I don't have any preference with Neeson; I've liked him in some movies and....well Taken 3 exists, guys. Come on now.

    Anyways, while the movie has various small flaws throughout, it does give rise to some interesting thoughts and covers some interesting issues. Of course, it would be nice if certain plot devices were more believable, if you want a drama movie and you don't mind the multiple hiccups along the way, I'd say it's definitively worth watching. Until I saw some of his acting later on, I was actually going to give this movie a 4 or a 5 and changed my mind after finishing the movie, so unless you hate the movie from the start, I'd recommend sticking with it until the credits roll.
    Expand
  38. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    If this plane had crashed in Finland, they'd have had five bars on every cell phone, and been surrounded by reindeer. It's all about location, location, location! Liam's his charming/gritty/quiet tough guy self leading a batch of plane crash survivors onward... The "keep moving" philosophy always seems like a good idea even if it doesn't play out that way. Scary wolves. BeautifulIf this plane had crashed in Finland, they'd have had five bars on every cell phone, and been surrounded by reindeer. It's all about location, location, location! Liam's his charming/gritty/quiet tough guy self leading a batch of plane crash survivors onward... The "keep moving" philosophy always seems like a good idea even if it doesn't play out that way. Scary wolves. Beautiful scenery. And enough substance to fuel a variety of post movie conversations about what you would do in similar circumstances. Expand
  39. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    rolled my eyes a few times. it actually hurt, i rolled them really hard. started talking about god and stuff. ehh....no real deep powerful insights on that front. i'd prefer if the dialogue hadn't ventured into its shallow metaphysical depths. lots of cliches.

    the best thing the movie has going for it is the horror-genre like killings. they are almost all pop-outs, but still give
    rolled my eyes a few times. it actually hurt, i rolled them really hard. started talking about god and stuff. ehh....no real deep powerful insights on that front. i'd prefer if the dialogue hadn't ventured into its shallow metaphysical depths. lots of cliches.

    the best thing the movie has going for it is the horror-genre like killings. they are almost all pop-outs, but still give you the rush that you pay for at the ticket counter. as a pure shock based thriller, you could do much worse than The Grey. but The Grey hopes to be more than that, and it slides by as an above average shock-thriller. but not above average. i could have used more wolf chases and bumps in the night. they should just gone full horror. note to self: if ever stuck in a forest surrounded by wolves just start a **** fire! wolves can't stand fire. doesn't matter how many of them there are, or how few of you....or that they were chasing you all the way into the woods to kill you and your friends. as long as you can quickly start a fire, you're good.
    Expand
  40. May 8, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The grey is a film that may have gone over the heads of most people that watched it. Particularly when you look at the completely silly reviews that refer to the wolves behavior as being "unrealistic." Well you couldn't have missed the point of the film harder if you tried. The Grey is a metaphor, how men deal with that shattering loss of others and themselves. How death is unfair, how it can come without any warning, and how even a strong willed person eventually succumbs to it no matter what they do to fight it off. The men in the story are all powerful characters who struggle to survive and live, its not about barbaric serial killer-like wolves in a frozen tundra wasteland hell hole chasing them down one by one. The wolves are symbolic. Each man faced a different death and their is some theories that suggest that they all died in the plane crash, which suggests that they were in a kind of purgatory as well. It is one of those films that really makes you wonder and even ask yourself: "Why?" Its a painful film, full of merciless deaths, some men are able to come to terms with their end, while others have their lives stolen away by the elements almost without meaning or reason. Even the main character, a man with the strongest will amongst all of them can't save the men under his command or himself from inevitable death. It is a bleak film, with wonderful cinematography, brutally violent imagery, wonderful performances, and yet a real message embedded within its ambiguous ending sequence. You can fight death with every last strength in your body, but eventually it will win. I feel that it was a film most audiences had trouble relating to, understanding, and perhaps it may have not appealed as a philosophical piece simply because of its morbid content alone. In years to come, I hope its revisited and given its proper place as one of the best films of this decade. Expand
  41. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    The grey is a powerful, gut wrenching examination of existence. If the images weren't so tantalising the themes wouldn't be so affecting. The film constantly thrills drawing you away from certain of it's flaws.
  42. Feb 22, 2012
    7
    This is a movie worth watching ... but don't spend the time and money at the movies. Once it is out for home consumption, and you haven't got anything else driving you crazy to watch, then this will be worth your time. The story is good, although a little disappointing at the very end. It is in some ways a fatalistic movie, but manages to inspire you as well. See it, but when the time is right.
  43. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    This movie was fantastic. The actors all portrayed their respective characters quite well, and although a tad bit predictable at times, there were enough surprises and thrills to push you to the edge of your seat and care if the characters lived or died. It was a bit heavy on the existential angst that was sometimes out of place, but overall it just helped develop the characters and give aThis movie was fantastic. The actors all portrayed their respective characters quite well, and although a tad bit predictable at times, there were enough surprises and thrills to push you to the edge of your seat and care if the characters lived or died. It was a bit heavy on the existential angst that was sometimes out of place, but overall it just helped develop the characters and give a meaningful back story in between the action packed escape scenes through the tundra. The wolves, though unrealistically vicious, were necessarily so, in order to provide more danger and excitement. Overall, an action-packed thriller with sufficient character development and surprises to keep you interested. Expand
  44. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Spoilers.

    This on my top 10 movies of the year. I loved the flow of the movie and Liam Nesson is one of the best actors of all time. The ending sucked because it kept you wondering did he die or did he live.
  45. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I believe The Grey was actually a really good film and that the critics were a little to harsh.
    Liam Neeson as per usual was on top form and the overall acting was decent. Not sure why everyone is complaining about the wolves because I thought they looked good and people saying that is not how they act, how about you stand next to their den with cubs in it and see if they will play fetch.
    I believe The Grey was actually a really good film and that the critics were a little to harsh.
    Liam Neeson as per usual was on top form and the overall acting was decent. Not sure why everyone is complaining about the wolves because I thought they looked good and people saying that is not how they act, how about you stand next to their den with cubs in it and see if they will play fetch.
    The plane crash looked very good and the ending was truly memorable.
    Expand
  46. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    Slightly different than his usual role of delivering much pain to random dudes, Liam Neeson's portrayal of Bear Grllys on Winter Man vs Wild is awkwardly commendable. Creating improvised armaments and battling harsh terrain without resorting to consume his own bodily fluid prove to be quite a challenge even for the seasoned veteran. Yes, this is a joke, I just need something to keep youSlightly different than his usual role of delivering much pain to random dudes, Liam Neeson's portrayal of Bear Grllys on Winter Man vs Wild is awkwardly commendable. Creating improvised armaments and battling harsh terrain without resorting to consume his own bodily fluid prove to be quite a challenge even for the seasoned veteran. Yes, this is a joke, I just need something to keep you interested. The Grey is actually a story about plane crash survivor trying to escape cruel whip of mother nature.



    Graphic-wise it looks exceptional, much that is thank to clarity of the shots. When you think of a movie in the cold wilderness, it's not hard to imagine falling snow or tall trees obscuring the view, but The Grey has a sense of focus to it. Its vistas, despite almost all set in Alaska, still differentiate themselves after each scene, making a clear progress as the characters trudge through the bitterness. The shots are clean and neat without much exaggeration, unlike the directors' previous work, A-Team.

    Liam Neeson (Ottway) provides a deep role as a resilient man, albeit slightly plagued with self-pity. With the cast of all men, this might be off putting for some of you. Yes, there are no "Hug for body warm" scenes with girls, tough break, moving on. Most of the movie, Ottway will be narrating in cynically depressed fashion. After all, the plane is full of gruff men and manual laborers with dubious backgrounds. With his occupation as sniper-for-hire, he has the necessary knowledge to survive in Alaska and is unwillingly unspokenly appointed to be the leader.

    Some of the scenes are adequately brutal and disturbing, but without being overly ridiculous. The director cleverly used abrupt transitions to surprise the audience, it works well in most parts. Surprisingly it focuses on more psychological damage rather than gory and bloody kills. The characters benefit from more fleshed-out personalities, each responds uniquely to their forced participation of survival. On few occasions, it even goes to more philosophical banters between the survivors. Some long for their loved ones, some just accept it apathetically.



    However it also riddled with literal "Oh god, why?" moments which made me believe this also serves a hidden propaganda, just a warning for religious people (at least those who are more than me). It's a good survival movie with more depth than most. The actors give solid performance, sequences are suspenseful and it does more than killing them in the most absurd way. Its heavy philosophical approach, while cleverly done, might be boring for some though. 7,5/10
    Expand
  47. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    The Grey may have only been an average movie if it weren't for the amazing performance of Liam Neeson. This was probably his best role since Schindler's List, it was that good. Overall the movie has good intensity, and it lets the viewer connect with the other characters. Technically, the movie has some great editing, sound effects, and cinematography. My biggest complaint is theThe Grey may have only been an average movie if it weren't for the amazing performance of Liam Neeson. This was probably his best role since Schindler's List, it was that good. Overall the movie has good intensity, and it lets the viewer connect with the other characters. Technically, the movie has some great editing, sound effects, and cinematography. My biggest complaint is the design of the wolves, which looked pretty fake and way to big. But overall, Liam Neeson carries this movie and he does it in a good way. Expand
  48. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    This is true alpha male wolf pack film...Testosterone adrenaline all over the place. About survival of fittest. Liam Nesson takes control and is in control as the leading man as usual. This has Mens Only Club sign.
  49. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    My very first film of 2012 starts with this snow wilderness wolf-grapple thriller in the local multiplex, which stars the career-rebooting matinée action idol Liam Neeson (who has established a singularly bankable esteem in the genre which used to be Harrison Fordâ
  50. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Angels: I know nothing about wolves. Therefore, it did not matter to me whether their behavior was realistic or not. My sweetheart and I decided not to see 'the Woman in Black' too much wasted angst, dread, & apprehension. But, as my sweetheart said we ended up seeing a horror movie with wolves! However, the angst, dread and apprehension were not wasted. (Sweetheart put her hands overAngels: I know nothing about wolves. Therefore, it did not matter to me whether their behavior was realistic or not. My sweetheart and I decided not to see 'the Woman in Black' too much wasted angst, dread, & apprehension. But, as my sweetheart said we ended up seeing a horror movie with wolves! However, the angst, dread and apprehension were not wasted. (Sweetheart put her hands over her eyes when she anticipated something nasty. She had her hands over her eyes a lot. ) The wolves were like hounds of the Baskervilles-scary. I love Liam, the voice of Aslan. He has a warmth, and rugged honesty about him, and the soft, purring voice of the benign God. This may be Liam's defining role as an older actor. It may be for Liam what the Book of Eli is for Denzel. The movie was exciting. Liam owned it, but the other actors were good. I felt the bone chilling cold, the exhaustion, the hunger, the terror, the hopelessness, and the absolute inscrutability of the Almighty. Yes, there was a spiritual/existential aspect to the movie. But what was strongest to me (beside the wolf horror) was the beauty of human relationship, the sustaining warmth of memories of love and loved ones. The characters that you liked most held their loved ones ever-present in their hearts. And Liam's memories were so tender; his emotion so genuine. My sweetheart said that maybe his acting was informed by his own life. I won't say any more. Angels sing softly to me. Expand
  51. Jan 29, 2012
    7
    Intense and sad. A dog gets eaten. Liam Neeson is great, as usual, and, like most movies nowadays, he's in it. Joe Carnahan's best film since "The A-Team."
  52. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    Okay, some action scenes make no sense and a few plot developments will leave you scratching your head. Nothing major. The rest of the film is awesome. A truly beautiful film, with an outstanding performance by Mr Neeson. Its one to watch. It can work as a great action film, or with its heart a great date film. You need to see this film for a lot of reasons, but they are better to be seenOkay, some action scenes make no sense and a few plot developments will leave you scratching your head. Nothing major. The rest of the film is awesome. A truly beautiful film, with an outstanding performance by Mr Neeson. Its one to watch. It can work as a great action film, or with its heart a great date film. You need to see this film for a lot of reasons, but they are better to be seen rather than written. Great job all round on this film. Must see. Expand
  53. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    This movie is quite misunderstood i believe. The producer sent a message in yhe movie which wasn't neccesarily what viewers were looking for. The movie overall was fantastic and kept me on the edge of my seat jumping constantly. One of my favorite things of the movie is the wolfpack. People complain they were unrealistic however i read before watching this that they were based on a legendThis movie is quite misunderstood i believe. The producer sent a message in yhe movie which wasn't neccesarily what viewers were looking for. The movie overall was fantastic and kept me on the edge of my seat jumping constantly. One of my favorite things of the movie is the wolfpack. People complain they were unrealistic however i read before watching this that they were based on a legend of a siberian superpack. You have to stay till the ends of the credits or you will be furious with the end. This movie wasn't perfect but it was still amazing! Expand
  54. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    The Grey is, to my mind, the best film to be released in 2012 thus far. It was incredibly forceful and had a high degree of profundity that I wasn't expecting from it. The ever-reliable Liam Neeson is fine as Ottaway, the disenchanted protagonist whom purges himself of suicidal contemplation after he and a motley group of oil workers fine themselves stranded in the Alaskan wilderness afterThe Grey is, to my mind, the best film to be released in 2012 thus far. It was incredibly forceful and had a high degree of profundity that I wasn't expecting from it. The ever-reliable Liam Neeson is fine as Ottaway, the disenchanted protagonist whom purges himself of suicidal contemplation after he and a motley group of oil workers fine themselves stranded in the Alaskan wilderness after a airplane crash. After initial worry about hypothermia and the scarcity of food pervades the group of survivors, these qualms are hastily superseded by a much more malignant force- that of a pack of marauding wolves. What follows is a suspenseful, emotional and poignant story that is essentially a mediation on mortality and the extent man will go to in order to survive against all odds. Taut direction and a highly effective score further benefit The Grey, a truly excellent film. Expand
  55. Mar 1, 2012
    9
    Fate made it so I went with my family to see The Grey and was I surprised? Yes I was. I donâ
  56. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    Impeccably acted with absolutely breathtaking cinematography, The Grey is a haunting, exhilarating and unforgettable thriller with a lot more substance than one might expect.
  57. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    Intense and thrilling, The Grey rounds out to be one of the more surprising films. Portrayed as a straight up man vs. wild survival epic, it turns to a more thoughtful and philosophical film unto showing how people face the closeness of death at every moment. Fits to be a good movie to see if you want to think and be thrilled at the same time.
  58. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    It's an entertaining and thoughtful movie. Not great but certainly interesting enough to see. There are some quibbles: i found the wolf attacks to be too quick: their shockingness because of the surprise vs emphasizing the actual terror of something biting into you...which i think would have been a stronger choice; the cinematography is good but the blurriness, and grainy quality got inIt's an entertaining and thoughtful movie. Not great but certainly interesting enough to see. There are some quibbles: i found the wolf attacks to be too quick: their shockingness because of the surprise vs emphasizing the actual terror of something biting into you...which i think would have been a stronger choice; the cinematography is good but the blurriness, and grainy quality got in the way of the movie. I suspect budget may have forced their hand on these... Neesson carries the movie and the other roles are well done; the conclusion nicely ties the narrative arc with the repeated references of his wife, his Dad's poem and his own desires/fears...that made me find this to be a very powerful experience. Expand
  59. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    No one wants to die, well I suppose there are those few, but most do not. Even more than that, there are those few ways that most would not wish to die from. These ways would include death by fire, or by a pool of acid, slow intricate torture, but one in particular is death by slow painful ripping and tearing of your own flesh and bones. The fear of this is what fuels the fears and theNo one wants to die, well I suppose there are those few, but most do not. Even more than that, there are those few ways that most would not wish to die from. These ways would include death by fire, or by a pool of acid, slow intricate torture, but one in particular is death by slow painful ripping and tearing of your own flesh and bones. The fear of this is what fuels the fears and the suspense of stories about zombies, or sharks, or in The Grey's case, wolves. I wouldn't say the film is one of those niche fear films that targets those with particular phobias regarding wolves, but if you have such a phobia, good luck! I came into watching this film with average to poor expectations of the movie and left feeling quite good about it. I think both the story and the acting were well done. One thing I will note regarding the CGI, or visual effects, used to make the wolves is I think in a few years they will look rather funny and off. While watching, they already seemed overly soft and dark. They had an almost blurred look to them at times. Certain movies like, Jurassic Park, or The Thing(the original) may not look fantastic these days, but still look pretty darn good compared to the aging of computer special effects. But hey! Maybe I will be wrong, luckily either way, the CGI is not what made this film. In all, I would recommend this film to family and friends who haven't seen it yet, and I hope anyone who reads this may go out and watch it as well. For my full review, visit http://visuallyimpairedreviews.blogspot.com/2012/03/grey.html Expand
  60. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    It's hard to say something bad about this movie - so well done. From the actors, to the stunt work, it all came together so well. The plot was very well paced and had a great twist. As long as you are wanting a happy ending, this is a must see!
  61. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    This movie was really good. The story was good and Niam Neeson is still awesome. Wolfs are not as bloodthirsty or as smart as real life wolfs. If your looking for a movie to buy, buy The Grey. The Grey 7.6/10
  62. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    Crude oil workers in Alaska are heading home for a 2-week vacation, after working grueling shifts. On their way home, they encounter a vicious storm that brings their plane crashing down in the Alaskan tundra. 8 survivors must find their way to civilization. They are hampered by mysterious wolves. http://www.gruesomehertzoggpodcast.org/2012/04/grey-2011.html
  63. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    Survival of fittest and just flat out doing what you need to do to survive considering the circumstances. Who not better to lead you acroos the arctic other than Liam Niessen. His rugged and gritty personality and fine faith for something better in ths world kept him alive until the end.........or did it............
  64. May 17, 2012
    8
    I have to praise Ian Mackenzie Jeffers and Joe Carnahan for a terrific script as well as the latter for a fine piece of directing. I like much of his work and have seen most of what he's written and or directed in recent years; he is versatile and happily, in this movie, he has shown us he can do excellent character development work. I can hardly think of anyone better than Liam Neeson forI have to praise Ian Mackenzie Jeffers and Joe Carnahan for a terrific script as well as the latter for a fine piece of directing. I like much of his work and have seen most of what he's written and or directed in recent years; he is versatile and happily, in this movie, he has shown us he can do excellent character development work. I can hardly think of anyone better than Liam Neeson for the lead role. The premise of the movie is rather straightforward: A sharpshooter, Neeson, hired to protect roughnecks working at an oil facility in Alaska, from local wildlife, boards with them on a plane as they set off for their periodic break; a storm hits the plane hard and it crashes, killing most aboard. The remaining group of survivors attempt to make out of the tundra, with wolves at their heels.

    Not since the 2010 movie "The Way Back" have I seen a survival movie with as good cinematography, outstanding soundtrack and deep character development. Neeson plays a character both haunted and sooth by the memory of his wife through flashbacks he has when he tries to mentally escape their predicament, a back-story that keeps us intrigued; wolves are the dominant specie of that wasteland and the movie makes us feel that intensely. Nature is the other foe in this drama. Both the plane crash scenes and the shots of the tundra, and later the Alaska wilderness are done with a flair for realism. The movie caps off as it finally lets us in on the story of Neeson's wife, so we can understand the earlier passages of his melancholia; then the very last shots are a truly poetic finale. The movie deserves all the good critics and rating it has received so far.
    Expand
  65. May 24, 2012
    10
    A movie that's more about the relationship between the survivalist and the main character's spiritual problems than the means of survival. The wolves are incredibly intelligent and overwhelming. You can guess, soon the survivalist group ripped apart by the wolves (and for some, natural hazards), ultimately at the end, leaving the main character, Ottway, alone. It's the kind of movie that'sA movie that's more about the relationship between the survivalist and the main character's spiritual problems than the means of survival. The wolves are incredibly intelligent and overwhelming. You can guess, soon the survivalist group ripped apart by the wolves (and for some, natural hazards), ultimately at the end, leaving the main character, Ottway, alone. It's the kind of movie that's not for everyone, but for some, you'll find yourselves a new poem to recite (you'll get my meaning once you watched the whole movie). Expand
  66. May 24, 2012
    7
    If you are looking for an epic Liam Neeson film, I don't recommend this one. I chose to give this film a 7, because it's the first time that I have seen Liam Neeson portray such a deep character (besides in Schindler's List, ofcorse). I personally enjoy Neeson's films where he plays these kinds of rolls..where we can actually see him act. Don't get me wrong, Star Wars and Taken were greatIf you are looking for an epic Liam Neeson film, I don't recommend this one. I chose to give this film a 7, because it's the first time that I have seen Liam Neeson portray such a deep character (besides in Schindler's List, ofcorse). I personally enjoy Neeson's films where he plays these kinds of rolls..where we can actually see him act. Don't get me wrong, Star Wars and Taken were great movies, but in this film you get to witness Neeson taking on every day life issues that many of us face: fear of death. Neeson is tested in his strength, knowledge, and faith as he battles the bitter freezing cold in Alaska after his plane crashes. I would watch it again, but I would not pay for it again. Great movie to see if you truly love Liam Neeson. Expand
  67. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film is an obvious metaphor for God's existence and whether or not these so called criminals and bad guys can get a second chance. First off it explains how this area are for only tough oil riggers, you assume that Liam Neeson's character must be one of them. Everyone else has some type of bad baggage and you are lead to think Liam Neeson must to. Then the plane crashes and the men must fight for their second chance. The wolves are the final test for these men to prove themselves worthy, in a sense. Blaintantly, it raised the question is God real? If Liam Neeson fights off these wolves, then God is real, as he gave him a second chance. If he dies, then God is not real. The movie is definite food for thought packed with action scenes and some emotionally tolling sequences. Expand
  68. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I love Liam Neeson, great movie .
  69. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    The best movie ever, I just loved it, Its great! Great work by Liam Neeson and i get scared by those wolves Just the best movie of all times
  70. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Grey is directed by Joe Carnahan with style. This is one of the best survival films I Expand
  71. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Oh man, was this movie depressing. But, it was fantastic. A movie about facing death, and how it can come at any moment. The movie teaches us to cherish one very important thing: Life itself.
  72. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    Awsome movie, loved it but i dont get it why the wolves didnt group up and didnt attack them right away they were like some supernatural monsters who secretly killed them one by one.
  73. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    It shows exactly, exactly what is real. When Liam asked God for help, he meant that. However, nothing happened. That's exactly what happens in real. God doesn't do miracles. You have to do it yourself. That's my best part of this movie.
  74. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Much better than average. This movie is too good for anyone who gives it a low score. Get a clue of what real story, real character is about. If the wolves aren't realistic there's a reason for that, which makes everything more haunting, more freakish, more alive than in a straight action movie.

    I thought Joe Carnahan was onto something when NARC came out, and this reinforces that
    Much better than average. This movie is too good for anyone who gives it a low score. Get a clue of what real story, real character is about. If the wolves aren't realistic there's a reason for that, which makes everything more haunting, more freakish, more alive than in a straight action movie.

    I thought Joe Carnahan was onto something when NARC came out, and this reinforces that feeling. He may be a bit full of himself and on the macho side but he's got a movie to be proud of. This is the best Neeson movie since Schindler's List.
    Expand
  75. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This movie was great everything was great.everyone performance was great.the story was great but i didn't understood what happened in the end so i am recommending on seeing this movie
  76. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    "The Grey" is a 2012 movie directed by Joe Carnahan and starring Liam Neeson. The film is about a oil rigging team that tries to survive the harsh Alaskan wildlife after their plane crashes. Let me start off by saying that Joe Carnahan has been a hit or miss director for me. He usually specializes in high octane and stylized action flicks. Movies like "The A-Team", and "Smokin' Aces" look"The Grey" is a 2012 movie directed by Joe Carnahan and starring Liam Neeson. The film is about a oil rigging team that tries to survive the harsh Alaskan wildlife after their plane crashes. Let me start off by saying that Joe Carnahan has been a hit or miss director for me. He usually specializes in high octane and stylized action flicks. Movies like "The A-Team", and "Smokin' Aces" look cool, but they fail to impress me on an intellectual level. Now, here we have "The Grey". This movie is a departure from Joe Carnahan's style. . .in a good way. This movie is toned down to a much more believable level and it has substance. A great script that has not only great dialogue and characters, but this movie's script possesses very deep philosophical and poignant moments. I walked into this film feeling that my heart strings wouldn't be threatened. This movie tugged at them up a great deal. Liam Neeson gives the best performance I've ever seen him give. I honestly thought that Neeson would be the typical badarse he's been fond of playing as of late, but his character (and all of the other as well) is so multi-dimensional, complex, and most importantly, real. The soundtrack is as touching as it is chilling. Joe Carnahan proved me wrong. This movie is a phenomenally entertaining, moving, thrilling piece of cinema. I implore everyone to go see it. Expand
  77. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    "The Grey" is an absolutely fantastic film - as beautiful and poetic as it is grim and unforgiving. Liam Neeson leads a group of survivors after their plane crashes in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, and before long they find themselves in a brutal struggle against a clan of relentless wolves. This was marketed mostly as an action survival picture, which is highly misleading - it is"The Grey" is an absolutely fantastic film - as beautiful and poetic as it is grim and unforgiving. Liam Neeson leads a group of survivors after their plane crashes in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, and before long they find themselves in a brutal struggle against a clan of relentless wolves. This was marketed mostly as an action survival picture, which is highly misleading - it is neither action nor survival, but rather an existential portrait. It showcases a small band of engaging and sometimes mysterious characters, and as time progresses and their numbers dwindle, the cloud of death looms ever darker above them, and they must each in their own way confront it. Their responses range from heartfelt, to tragic, to calm acceptance, and is quite the graceful psychological study. Of course, the movie's ultimate tale is of a man who goes down fighting, even though he has absolutely nothing left to fight for, and is an incredibly moving testament to how important life and existence themselves are to us, and that even in our darkest hours, there is still a darker hour before us that we might fear above all else. It's as an inspiring film as it is depressing, and a truly wonderful gem that well deserves a good long look. Expand
  78. Dec 5, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If anyone had had tried to convince me to watch a film about a group of men fighting for survival after a plane crash in the dead of winter in Alaska while a pack of wolves were on the hunt, I would have laughed in their face. With that being said, I thought this was a really good film! Thrilling, emotional, well-written, solid performances, action, humor, tonal cinematography, The Grey delivered! Also, it was surprisingly deep and had some interesting characters. Many people will likely hate the ending, but I actually thought it was perfect. Expand
  79. Aug 9, 2013
    7
    The grey is a decently executed survival movie which initially promises the possibility of a masterpiece with early scenes but becomes too uneven along the way. Like many critics have said, the movie can be very poetic and introspective, and the cinematography is very pretty. The wolf attacks start out being pretty scary. They're brutal and fill the film with undeniable tension, butThe grey is a decently executed survival movie which initially promises the possibility of a masterpiece with early scenes but becomes too uneven along the way. Like many critics have said, the movie can be very poetic and introspective, and the cinematography is very pretty. The wolf attacks start out being pretty scary. They're brutal and fill the film with undeniable tension, but eventually they start being presented in a cleche way. The attacks become too often, and the wolves themselves are used too much like Hollywood monsters. This starts to compete with the higher, more artistic sensibilities in the movie instead of enhancing them. This is also definitely one of the bleakest films I have ever seen, with a nihilistic agenda I absolutely disagree with. However, Liam Nieson gives a great performance as always, and I can't deny that overall it's a gritty, gripping movie which is way better than most movies that come out in January. In fact, it might be one of the best January releases ever. Expand
  80. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    The Grey is very very brutal, which makes this film a good white knuckle thriller. Liam Neeson is tremendously good and the plot is very thrilling as it thickens but the film does have some Cliches story wise. The story wasn't compelling to any other film, which is good but The Grey needed some help in story writing. Overall, this taunt thriller is good for a Friday night.
  81. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Now I was going to give this movie a 7 but I realized the ending was good and every time I think of this movie I like it more and those are good movies the ones every time you think about it it gets better so watch heck buy it on blu ray
  82. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    absolutely loved this painfully beautiful exposition on facing fear and death. The elemental earth of wind snow and fire. The power of human society over the individual, however the acknowledgement that we are to face death alone although fortified by the few we have loved.The music is scored wonderfully appropriately adding a foreboding to the beautifully bleak vistas of Arctic Canada.absolutely loved this painfully beautiful exposition on facing fear and death. The elemental earth of wind snow and fire. The power of human society over the individual, however the acknowledgement that we are to face death alone although fortified by the few we have loved.The music is scored wonderfully appropriately adding a foreboding to the beautifully bleak vistas of Arctic Canada. Liam Neeson has the gravitas. Brought me to tears, the heroism in this film, but not mindless, hard earned and with fear.
    Existentialism par Excellence
    Expand
  83. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    Not how I was expecting at all. I went in assuming it was another badass Liam Neeson Taken sort of movie but it was far from that. In a lot of ways it felt close to being a horror movie which to me is not at all a complaint but got me into it more. It is very well acted and the cinematography is fantastic. I really felt as if this was actually happening and these people were really inNot how I was expecting at all. I went in assuming it was another badass Liam Neeson Taken sort of movie but it was far from that. In a lot of ways it felt close to being a horror movie which to me is not at all a complaint but got me into it more. It is very well acted and the cinematography is fantastic. I really felt as if this was actually happening and these people were really in great danger. One of Liam Neesons best performances in my books. Highly recommended. Expand
  84. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    The story is really interesting and the acting is really good.There is not a lot of action but the story and the characters are really interesting and that's why we can watch it without getting bored.
  85. Nov 17, 2014
    10
    The best movie I have ever seen. At first I thought that this movie was going to be your average survivor movie, I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie's engaging plot, incredible music and fantastic dialogue complete engulf you this movie. With one of my personal favorite endings this movie leaves you thinking but completely satisfied. In my opinion this is truly the best movie of all time.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 1, 2012
    78
    The film is an intelligent study of the will to live. It's so strong that even a suicidal man rises to the occasion.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 31, 2012
    75
    There's an almost poetic quality to the way things develop, with characters becoming increasingly introspective.
  3. 50
    Neeson's gravity elevates the action, and there's a fine, prickly performance by an actor new to me, Frank Grillo, as the asshole of the group. But The Grey, despite moments of sublimity, is as predictable as a funeral. When Ottway angrily calls out to God, the nonanswer is sadly redundant.