User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 374 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 374

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Closer examination of this movie seems to indicate that it is an analogy. It is really about man facing his God and his fear of death in a dignified fashion...which is what Liam Nesson does. As proof I offer the 4 line poem the main character's father wrote and posted on his wall. It is repeated several times so you can't miss it...you're not supposed to. It is the last thing Liam Neeson's character thinks of before....well you know. The message is quite clear. Live to fight another day, die with honor, strength, bravery and above all dignity. I think the movie was beautifully done and superbly acted. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    I know its only a month into the new year, but The Grey is hands down the best movie of 2012 so far and its going to be VERY hard to beat. Liam Neeson needs to be recognized as one of the best actors out there. Absolute powerful performance in a very powerful movie. The Grey will grip you and toss you around for 2 terrifying, gut wrenching, and heart pounding hours. You will love and hate every minute of this movie, it's that powerful. This is the most suspenseful and terrifying movie i have seen in a long time. You will grow to have a major fear of wolves after this movie, I sure did. Plus i just have to say it, it was great to hear Liam Neeson quote "I'm going to start beating the s**t out of you in about 5 seconds" Just one of the few comedic relief moments in this amazing film. Go see this movie now, its money well spent. Just a warning, it will create a fear of wolves and potential fear of flying, but don't let that shy you away because this is a VERY good movie. 10/10 Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    This is by far the best film I've seen yet in 2012. The Grey is emotionally riveting, terrifying and utterly philosophical. Where a film like "The Edge" starring Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin was about man VS. Nature, The Grey is more about man accepting Nature. The performances are terrific and the cinematography makes you feel like you're there. The surround sound and big screen make a difference at the cinema. It's rare films like The Grey make it to the theatre. Do yourself a favour and go see it. Be warned; it's not for the faint of heart. AS WELL, there is an important, albeit very short scene after the credits. Expand
  4. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    I have experienced things in life that taught me to never say "can not be worse than that!" Because I know that in general a fan of horror movies knows can.Every they see. If you confuse what happens in movies like "things that never happen to me", well, you learn.

    As the gray will open in the cold, the desolation Liam Neeson appears as a man with a dream of life without lies, without
    illusions.The reasons are not obvious. There is a sniper hired to protect workers against the oil platforms to frequent attacks of wolves, and draw only when fully necessary.He aspects of enough animals to meet their human companions is much dangers.His less admiration, at least in the works. They lose the real world, they deserve to be in the difficult conditions, he chose to be in.

    On a routine flight to return to the civilization of the plane crashes, literally, in the middle nowhere.The sound editors and technicians have done a fantastic job with this film, you feel so close to everything that is possible without there.Real be representations of accident victims and the cold, cold is a character full own.That would endanger his life.

    Then, struck with the true primary fear.The most of us have forgotten in our long journey up the food chain. The line between our world and the 911 safety and mental health, and complete the paris are open, not save you, but the world is very thin.

    He learns the hard way that the plane crashed into the world of the wolf and not to be.

    Having some knowledge of animals, but not much more than he hastens to live and protect what remains of humanity in this implacable.

    The survivors try to cope as well as you or I could, and are on whenever terribly strained.

    The gray is real, raw, scary and so good to be grateful for all aspects of your life.Neeson is at his best when he attacks everything that man and fears of nature, and is a cinematic experience.
    hydronite.com
    Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    Loved this movie. It had something for everyone. Action lover? Its got that, and if u love story, and drama, its got abit of that. Unlike 80% of all movies, it is completely unpredictable. Things twist, and happen at random alot.. Also very bloody. Im sure you have heard alot of griping about the end. Forget it. But you have to watch the credits. All those who gripe didnt.... And even then, many werent satisfied with the ending. I was, and just leave an open mind about the ending. Once agian, it was great. Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Good flick. I wasn't really expecting what I got.... and I'm totally okay with that. This was a thinking man's action movie. It provided more than enough suspense and also had moments of great insight. The cinematography alone was worth price of admission (check it out on netflix). Overall, A very pleasant surprise.
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    Great movie about survival and how harsh nature really is. The lack of Liam Neeson kicking @$$ and taking names and the lack of over CGIed scenes is extremely refreshing in an industry that has been overrun with thrillers. This is not an action movie like a lot of Liam's recent films. The Grey is a somewhat survival horror movie with a lot of drama. You will be surprised and you will most likely cry at many points in this film. My only complaint about this movie is the fact that the wolves sort of act out of character from what I know about wolves, their habits might seem inconsistent to some survival experts, but that is such a minor complaint it really doesn't matter. Enjoy the film because it's really good. Expand
  8. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    A fantastic movie about man's will and fight to survive. The acting is top notch and believable, the characters are fleshed out, and the cast is fantastic. The story is grim from the very beginning, and your introduced to Neeson's character who is an extremely depressed man. Honestly that's all I want to say as I don't want to spoil anything, I do however want to recommend you watching this. I do have complaints, at times it's slightly predictable, and do to my religious views I'm not cool with the main character openly cursing God, and how the movie predicts God as not being there, but again that is just do to my religious views, and I honestly can't say that if I had been through what he had been through I wouldn't have done the exact same thing. But I still highly enjoyed the movie and do recommend. It's truly outstanding and unlike anything I've ever watched before. Expand
  9. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This was an amazing movie! Every character played their part admirably, and watching them as they struggled together and interacted with each other really made me care for these characters. Some people may complain about the lack of a plot, but what they're missing is that this movie is about survival - finding a way out of that frozen hell and escaping the wolves. I cried some serious manly tears at the end. My only complaint is that the wolves seemed somewhat fake at times, but if you can suspend your disbelief for those short periods, get ready for an amazing ride. Expand
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    One of the best films of the year! Liam Nesson, in one of his best roles to date, plays a rough, hard-nosed, scrappy, tough, kick-ass and yet subdued role in this film. He is quiet and focused exactly when he needs to be. All the performances are good and the cinematography is awe-inspiring. There is not a dull moment in this film. It exhibits truth and the harsh reality of these men coming to terms with their lives in one of the most harsh climates man has ever seen. The wolves are truly terrifying, and they are certainly an integral part of this story. Expand
  11. May 8, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The grey is a film that may have gone over the heads of most people that watched it. Particularly when you look at the completely silly reviews that refer to the wolves behavior as being "unrealistic." Well you couldn't have missed the point of the film harder if you tried. The Grey is a metaphor, how men deal with that shattering loss of others and themselves. How death is unfair, how it can come without any warning, and how even a strong willed person eventually succumbs to it no matter what they do to fight it off. The men in the story are all powerful characters who struggle to survive and live, its not about barbaric serial killer-like wolves in a frozen tundra wasteland hell hole chasing them down one by one. The wolves are symbolic. Each man faced a different death and their is some theories that suggest that they all died in the plane crash, which suggests that they were in a kind of purgatory as well. It is one of those films that really makes you wonder and even ask yourself: "Why?" Its a painful film, full of merciless deaths, some men are able to come to terms with their end, while others have their lives stolen away by the elements almost without meaning or reason. Even the main character, a man with the strongest will amongst all of them can't save the men under his command or himself from inevitable death. It is a bleak film, with wonderful cinematography, brutally violent imagery, wonderful performances, and yet a real message embedded within its ambiguous ending sequence. You can fight death with every last strength in your body, but eventually it will win. I feel that it was a film most audiences had trouble relating to, understanding, and perhaps it may have not appealed as a philosophical piece simply because of its morbid content alone. In years to come, I hope its revisited and given its proper place as one of the best films of this decade. Expand
  12. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    The grey is a powerful, gut wrenching examination of existence. If the images weren't so tantalising the themes wouldn't be so affecting. The film constantly thrills drawing you away from certain of it's flaws.
  13. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Spoilers.

    This on my top 10 movies of the year. I loved the flow of the movie and Liam Nesson is one of the best actors of all time. The ending sucked because it kept you wondering did he die or did he live.
  14. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    The Grey is a movie like nothing I've ever seen before. It's gritty and dark and the movie portrays the overall dismal tone very well through: character conversations, setting, and suspense. The movie is very well done, with only the blemish being the CGI wolves that seem to feel cheap. Other than that, the movie is great. Dialog conveys most of the story, although what is told is short and vague, it manages to give you an overarching background to the characters that is mostly complete. The movie does a really good job of pulling you in and keeping your interest until the conclusion. The characters were somewhat stereotypical, but not over-the-top. The language was controlled and wasn't overdone, and I didn't feel like their was random expletives added for laughs. The survival aspect was very cool, and Liam Neeson's character is Oscar-worthy. This movie deserves to be nominated as best movie, best character, and best sound design. Although, it wouldn't be nominated for best CGI; it wasn't the worst I have seen. Overall, a great story with spotty CGI and amazing setting. The setup to the final scene is perfect, and the way the movie ends (maybe will disappoint some), was just perfect in my opinion. First movie to WOW me in 2012.

    Story - 8/10
    CGI - 6/10
    Action - 9/10
    Acting - 10/10
    Setting - 10/10
    Achieved Realism in environment and believability in story. 9/10 Great Movie
    Expand
  15. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I believe The Grey was actually a really good film and that the critics were a little to harsh.
    Liam Neeson as per usual was on top form and the overall acting was decent. Not sure why everyone is complaining about the wolves because I thought they looked good and people saying that is not how they act, how about you stand next to their den with cubs in it and see if they will play fetch.

    The plane crash looked very good and the ending was truly memorable.
    Expand
  16. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Acting: 10- Neeson was at his best. One of the finest performances of his career. Story: 10- I was on the edge the whole movie. This movie is not a Taken. It is a methodical story about humans surviving for nothing other than just to survive. Very deep, dark, and haunting. Cinematography: 10- This movie is well shot. The plane sequence is one of the best. I honestly loved the scenes of the Alaskan wilderness. If you are a movie buff or enjoy Neeson's great acting. This is a movie to see ASAP. Expand
  17. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Angels: I know nothing about wolves. Therefore, it did not matter to me whether their behavior was realistic or not. My sweetheart and I decided not to see 'the Woman in Black' too much wasted angst, dread, & apprehension. But, as my sweetheart said we ended up seeing a horror movie with wolves! However, the angst, dread and apprehension were not wasted. (Sweetheart put her hands over her eyes when she anticipated something nasty. She had her hands over her eyes a lot. ) The wolves were like hounds of the Baskervilles-scary. I love Liam, the voice of Aslan. He has a warmth, and rugged honesty about him, and the soft, purring voice of the benign God. This may be Liam's defining role as an older actor. It may be for Liam what the Book of Eli is for Denzel. The movie was exciting. Liam owned it, but the other actors were good. I felt the bone chilling cold, the exhaustion, the hunger, the terror, the hopelessness, and the absolute inscrutability of the Almighty. Yes, there was a spiritual/existential aspect to the movie. But what was strongest to me (beside the wolf horror) was the beauty of human relationship, the sustaining warmth of memories of love and loved ones. The characters that you liked most held their loved ones ever-present in their hearts. And Liam's memories were so tender; his emotion so genuine. My sweetheart said that maybe his acting was informed by his own life. I won't say any more. Angels sing softly to me. Expand
  18. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Although the story has been told by many movie makers, this rendition is SO superbly filmed and acted, it would stand up to any that went before it. The similarity to most of its predecessors ends, however, at the richness and depth of its dialog. Great effort by the cast and crew!
  19. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Liam Neeson's Best Movie.... Cinematography is Some of the Best in Any Movie to Date.... Stay to the Very End After the Credits.... for Extra Footage.
  20. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Liam Neeson may be the oldest white actor capable of playing the tough guy without being the old tough guy. Throughout The Grey he does what he can to lead plane crash survivors through the frozen tundra of Alaska, and no one questions his age. Director Joe Carnahan takes the audience into a bleak lifestyle amid the Alaskan pipeline. Ottway (Neeson) makes it through with flashbacks of his wife and a chilling voice over. The crash is shown from within the plane and avoids many of the common theatrics. No one is clearly shown being sucked out. For that matter most of the visual effects cast a less than ideal lighting circumstance, which drives home the motif. Injuries, freezing winds, and a lack of food are enough foes for any survivors, but our heroes are being pursued by wolfs. I'm not suggesting that it's impossible, but the behavior of these creatures puts on quite the show. They've certainly seen Halloween. Credulity is also being pushed to limits when the standards line such as "who made you the leader" have to be muttered and one hothead fancies a brawl. Of course Neeson's dominance of the narrative makes him a safe bet, and his buddies a risk. As the film wears on I wanted to buy these blokes more time. Despite how simple the premise I'm sure I could have been entertained for 3 hours. Maybe if the other guys had more spotlight scenes they wouldn't feel so much like Ottway's human shields. The story is simple enough that a big reveal at the end is somehow more effective for the sake that no one was waiting for it. This isn't mystery. What The Grey manages to do with the underexplored is leave the viewer with less question and more statements. The Grey is a man's movie. Fatigue and despair translate with the same forceful impact of the physical blows the survivors endure. It's also a perfect example as to why one should wait for the monk's reward at the end of the credits. Expand
  21. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    a very dissapointing story of survival..its dissapointing to the sense that for less than 2 hours of watching it is pointless though good acting for Liam Neeson...depressing movie
  22. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This movie is brilliant. I want to get that statement out of the way because it is, quite simply, the most succinct way to say it. This film is intense, poetic, harsh, and gritty. It deals with beautiful themes in a very thoughtful and sensitive way - faith, death, despair, love. I have seen it twice and it moved me even more the second time. The soundtrack underlines the story in a heartfelt and beautiful way - kudos to Marc Streitenfeld. Liam Neeson's acting is at an all-time high. Most people appreciate the genius behind this man's acting but here he takes it to a new level. Cannot recommend this movie highly enough. Expand
  23. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    My best friend, my girlfriend, and myself all came to see this together. Luckily for us, we were in an empty theater, so we got to talk and jab at each other like the jerks that we are. While we did occasionally giggle at each other about certain silly things in the movie ("Suddenly, wolves!" chomp), I myself did actually find myself immersed in the suspense of the movie. There are, as is expected, a few jump scares here and there, but thankfully, there are also some subtle scares as well. As an example, a wolf may just jump out from off camera and make a loud noise and attack, or the the camera may slowly pan to reveal that a wolf stalking close behind a character, just before he attacks. While it is pretty plain to see that the behavior of the wolves is pretty unrealistic, I don't think it really HAS to be 100%, because at its core, that is not what the movie is about. These wolves don't act like real ones, they're more like large monsters (I am reminded of the Worgs from Lord of the Rings). These wolves act as the "slasher villain" for the movie. The movie is mostly about the death, in itself. Nearly all the characters (other than the few nameless slasher victims) do in some way have a revelation about dying, and dealing with their or their friends inevitable deaths. The movie is told from Liam Neeson's perspective, and so you feel how he is feeling the most. I really did enjoy this movie, and unlike most people I've heard from, I enjoyed the ending a lot. It's the only one that makes sense, really (unless you actually want a scene of Neeson fist fighting a wolf like it was straight out of Taken). Anything else might have come off as silly. And as a side note, Neeson's on-and-off Irish accent got a little distracting (for the first ten minutes I wondered if he even had one).

    And so, if that was all a bit too much to read, here are my thoughts. Even though some parts may come off as silly, I thought the movie as a hole was fantastic. It works as a drama, it works as a thriller, and it works as a movie. Just get ready to be depressed, but not in a bad way. I've been Mezurya, and I think you should watch this movie.

    9/10
    Expand
  24. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I thought the movie was terrible. The first scene is a bar and everyone is fighting seems to me that this crew is supposed to be full of people who know how to handle themselves. When these wolves attack no doubt they are outnumbered most of the time. BUt who walks farther into the darkness to take a pis right after seeing fifteen wolves wanting to kill you. And then when getting attacked does not even make a sound to let people know he needs some help. This movie was more disappointing the more I watched. My recommendation go see the vow. Expand
  25. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This movie is just amazing!!! I went to watch it thinking it would be a popcorn thriller, but from the beginning of the movie my perspective changed. It has beautiful photography, and a good story. It also has all the essentials of a thriller. It ends with something unexpected and makes you feel good about it.
  26. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    Okay, some action scenes make no sense and a few plot developments will leave you scratching your head. Nothing major. The rest of the film is awesome. A truly beautiful film, with an outstanding performance by Mr Neeson. Its one to watch. It can work as a great action film, or with its heart a great date film. You need to see this film for a lot of reasons, but they are better to be seen rather than written. Great job all round on this film. Must see. Expand
  27. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    The Grey is, to my mind, the best film to be released in 2012 thus far. It was incredibly forceful and had a high degree of profundity that I wasn't expecting from it. The ever-reliable Liam Neeson is fine as Ottaway, the disenchanted protagonist whom purges himself of suicidal contemplation after he and a motley group of oil workers fine themselves stranded in the Alaskan wilderness after a airplane crash. After initial worry about hypothermia and the scarcity of food pervades the group of survivors, these qualms are hastily superseded by a much more malignant force- that of a pack of marauding wolves. What follows is a suspenseful, emotional and poignant story that is essentially a mediation on mortality and the extent man will go to in order to survive against all odds. Taut direction and a highly effective score further benefit The Grey, a truly excellent film. Expand
  28. Mar 1, 2012
    9
    Fate made it so I went with my family to see The Grey and was I surprised? Yes I was. I donâ
  29. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    Impeccably acted with absolutely breathtaking cinematography, The Grey is a haunting, exhilarating and unforgettable thriller with a lot more substance than one might expect.
  30. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Now this movie was really cool. Stranded in the wilderness and trying to stay alive. The wolves thing was interesting but did take away from some of the realism on the viewer's side but it didn't really feel too over the top. Look at it as if you were in the wild alone and felt a pack of wolves was after you. You'd probably exaggerate their ferocity too. But overall great movie. See it when you get the chance on dvd or if it's still around in theaters near you. Expand
  31. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    It's hard to say something bad about this movie - so well done. From the actors, to the stunt work, it all came together so well. The plot was very well paced and had a great twist. As long as you are wanting a happy ending, this is a must see!
  32. May 24, 2012
    10
    A movie that's more about the relationship between the survivalist and the main character's spiritual problems than the means of survival. The wolves are incredibly intelligent and overwhelming. You can guess, soon the survivalist group ripped apart by the wolves (and for some, natural hazards), ultimately at the end, leaving the main character, Ottway, alone. It's the kind of movie that's not for everyone, but for some, you'll find yourselves a new poem to recite (you'll get my meaning once you watched the whole movie). Expand
  33. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film is an obvious metaphor for God's existence and whether or not these so called criminals and bad guys can get a second chance. First off it explains how this area are for only tough oil riggers, you assume that Liam Neeson's character must be one of them. Everyone else has some type of bad baggage and you are lead to think Liam Neeson must to. Then the plane crashes and the men must fight for their second chance. The wolves are the final test for these men to prove themselves worthy, in a sense. Blaintantly, it raised the question is God real? If Liam Neeson fights off these wolves, then God is real, as he gave him a second chance. If he dies, then God is not real. The movie is definite food for thought packed with action scenes and some emotionally tolling sequences. Expand
  34. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I love Liam Neeson, great movie .
  35. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    The best movie ever, I just loved it, Its great! Great work by Liam Neeson and i get scared by those wolves Just the best movie of all times
  36. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Oh man, was this movie depressing. But, it was fantastic. A movie about facing death, and how it can come at any moment. The movie teaches us to cherish one very important thing: Life itself.
  37. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    It shows exactly, exactly what is real. When Liam asked God for help, he meant that. However, nothing happened. That's exactly what happens in real. God doesn't do miracles. You have to do it yourself. That's my best part of this movie.
  38. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Much better than average. This movie is too good for anyone who gives it a low score. Get a clue of what real story, real character is about. If the wolves aren't realistic there's a reason for that, which makes everything more haunting, more freakish, more alive than in a straight action movie.

    I thought Joe Carnahan was onto something when NARC came out, and this reinforces that
    feeling. He may be a bit full of himself and on the macho side but he's got a movie to be proud of. This is the best Neeson movie since Schindler's List. Expand
  39. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This movie was great everything was great.everyone performance was great.the story was great but i didn't understood what happened in the end so i am recommending on seeing this movie
  40. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    "The Grey" is a 2012 movie directed by Joe Carnahan and starring Liam Neeson. The film is about a oil rigging team that tries to survive the harsh Alaskan wildlife after their plane crashes. Let me start off by saying that Joe Carnahan has been a hit or miss director for me. He usually specializes in high octane and stylized action flicks. Movies like "The A-Team", and "Smokin' Aces" look cool, but they fail to impress me on an intellectual level. Now, here we have "The Grey". This movie is a departure from Joe Carnahan's style. . .in a good way. This movie is toned down to a much more believable level and it has substance. A great script that has not only great dialogue and characters, but this movie's script possesses very deep philosophical and poignant moments. I walked into this film feeling that my heart strings wouldn't be threatened. This movie tugged at them up a great deal. Liam Neeson gives the best performance I've ever seen him give. I honestly thought that Neeson would be the typical badarse he's been fond of playing as of late, but his character (and all of the other as well) is so multi-dimensional, complex, and most importantly, real. The soundtrack is as touching as it is chilling. Joe Carnahan proved me wrong. This movie is a phenomenally entertaining, moving, thrilling piece of cinema. I implore everyone to go see it. Expand
  41. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    "The Grey" is an absolutely fantastic film - as beautiful and poetic as it is grim and unforgiving. Liam Neeson leads a group of survivors after their plane crashes in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, and before long they find themselves in a brutal struggle against a clan of relentless wolves. This was marketed mostly as an action survival picture, which is highly misleading - it is neither action nor survival, but rather an existential portrait. It showcases a small band of engaging and sometimes mysterious characters, and as time progresses and their numbers dwindle, the cloud of death looms ever darker above them, and they must each in their own way confront it. Their responses range from heartfelt, to tragic, to calm acceptance, and is quite the graceful psychological study. Of course, the movie's ultimate tale is of a man who goes down fighting, even though he has absolutely nothing left to fight for, and is an incredibly moving testament to how important life and existence themselves are to us, and that even in our darkest hours, there is still a darker hour before us that we might fear above all else. It's as an inspiring film as it is depressing, and a truly wonderful gem that well deserves a good long look. Expand
  42. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    The story is really interesting and the acting is really good.There is not a lot of action but the story and the characters are really interesting and that's why we can watch it without getting bored.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 1, 2012
    78
    The film is an intelligent study of the will to live. It's so strong that even a suicidal man rises to the occasion.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 31, 2012
    75
    There's an almost poetic quality to the way things develop, with characters becoming increasingly introspective.
  3. 50
    Neeson's gravity elevates the action, and there's a fine, prickly performance by an actor new to me, Frank Grillo, as the asshole of the group. But The Grey, despite moments of sublimity, is as predictable as a funeral. When Ottway angrily calls out to God, the nonanswer is sadly redundant.