User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 393 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 393
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    After a harrowing plane crash a group of men (lead by Liam Neeson) is stranded in the middle of a frozen wasteland. They struggle to survive against extreme weather, physical injuries and a pack of wolves. The action is swift and jarring, without being too graphic. Unlike what you'd expect, the tension actually slows as the film progresses. Too much time is spent creating sympatheticAfter a harrowing plane crash a group of men (lead by Liam Neeson) is stranded in the middle of a frozen wasteland. They struggle to survive against extreme weather, physical injuries and a pack of wolves. The action is swift and jarring, without being too graphic. Unlike what you'd expect, the tension actually slows as the film progresses. Too much time is spent creating sympathetic characters, when all we care about is who's next to die and how. Still, it's thoroughly involving and damn suspenseful. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    The Grey is very very brutal, which makes this film a good white knuckle thriller. Liam Neeson is tremendously good and the plot is very thrilling as it thickens but the film does have some Cliches story wise. The story wasn't compelling to any other film, which is good but The Grey needed some help in story writing. Overall, this taunt thriller is good for a Friday night.
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    A fantastic movie about man's will and fight to survive. The acting is top notch and believable, the characters are fleshed out, and the cast is fantastic. The story is grim from the very beginning, and your introduced to Neeson's character who is an extremely depressed man. Honestly that's all I want to say as I don't want to spoil anything, I do however want to recommend you watchingA fantastic movie about man's will and fight to survive. The acting is top notch and believable, the characters are fleshed out, and the cast is fantastic. The story is grim from the very beginning, and your introduced to Neeson's character who is an extremely depressed man. Honestly that's all I want to say as I don't want to spoil anything, I do however want to recommend you watching this. I do have complaints, at times it's slightly predictable, and do to my religious views I'm not cool with the main character openly cursing God, and how the movie predicts God as not being there, but again that is just do to my religious views, and I honestly can't say that if I had been through what he had been through I wouldn't have done the exact same thing. But I still highly enjoyed the movie and do recommend. It's truly outstanding and unlike anything I've ever watched before. Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    "The Grey" is a 2012 movie directed by Joe Carnahan and starring Liam Neeson. The film is about a oil rigging team that tries to survive the harsh Alaskan wildlife after their plane crashes. Let me start off by saying that Joe Carnahan has been a hit or miss director for me. He usually specializes in high octane and stylized action flicks. Movies like "The A-Team", and "Smokin' Aces" look"The Grey" is a 2012 movie directed by Joe Carnahan and starring Liam Neeson. The film is about a oil rigging team that tries to survive the harsh Alaskan wildlife after their plane crashes. Let me start off by saying that Joe Carnahan has been a hit or miss director for me. He usually specializes in high octane and stylized action flicks. Movies like "The A-Team", and "Smokin' Aces" look cool, but they fail to impress me on an intellectual level. Now, here we have "The Grey". This movie is a departure from Joe Carnahan's style. . .in a good way. This movie is toned down to a much more believable level and it has substance. A great script that has not only great dialogue and characters, but this movie's script possesses very deep philosophical and poignant moments. I walked into this film feeling that my heart strings wouldn't be threatened. This movie tugged at them up a great deal. Liam Neeson gives the best performance I've ever seen him give. I honestly thought that Neeson would be the typical badarse he's been fond of playing as of late, but his character (and all of the other as well) is so multi-dimensional, complex, and most importantly, real. The soundtrack is as touching as it is chilling. Joe Carnahan proved me wrong. This movie is a phenomenally entertaining, moving, thrilling piece of cinema. I implore everyone to go see it. Expand
  5. May 22, 2015
    5
    Personally, I did not really notice nor care for what I did notice when it came to the "philosophical" element of this one. Truth be told, it felt like they were reaching to try and make what is a pretty typical survival drama hit home and be more profound than it truly is. Any claims to the contrary can be supported because, well, it's a survival drama. I see some reviews commenting onPersonally, I did not really notice nor care for what I did notice when it came to the "philosophical" element of this one. Truth be told, it felt like they were reaching to try and make what is a pretty typical survival drama hit home and be more profound than it truly is. Any claims to the contrary can be supported because, well, it's a survival drama. I see some reviews commenting on how this one is a study of the will to live, which to me is nonsense and is not a topic that needs to be discussed in film, if this is truly what this film is going for. No duh people want to survive, there is nothing profound to be in that topic. Hell, *SPOILER* one guy just gives up. How is that evident of the will to live? *END SPOILER* Ultimately, Liam Neeson and the rest of the cast are quite strong, the film is well shot, and well told. Throughout, it is very compelling and is a very good survival film. Sadly, the forced in "profound" moments that are anything but that try to hint at the film being more symbolic than it really is, do ruin the movie to an extent. Luckily, the film's intensity and well developed characters make up for it. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2015
    8
    The Grey is an interesting survival film about a group of oil drillers crash landing in the mountains. People familiar with Alien, The Descent or The Edge will know how situations play out. Lian Neeson is great as always and there is extra kudos for a more tangible emotional feel than most 'monster' movies. But that ending... Talk about leaving unsatisfied!
  7. Jan 28, 2012
    6
    I appreciate the spare, gritty look and feel of the movie. No, the wolves didn't look 100% realistic with Jurassic Park-style CGI, but it doesn't matter. What's here is certainly convincing enough. The relationships between the men, they way each of them reacts to the crisis, and their journey have a very real texture to them. In some way that I can't specifically articulate, it reminds meI appreciate the spare, gritty look and feel of the movie. No, the wolves didn't look 100% realistic with Jurassic Park-style CGI, but it doesn't matter. What's here is certainly convincing enough. The relationships between the men, they way each of them reacts to the crisis, and their journey have a very real texture to them. In some way that I can't specifically articulate, it reminds me a bit of Meek's Cutoff (a film I don't care for), though this film is much more entertaining. The characters are a bit flat, and given the way that some of the dialogue was written, it also reminds me of more off-the-cuff, found-footage films like Blair Witch and Paranormal 3. Which worked for me - it all sounds very natural. And as Ebert suggests, you have to sit through the credits if you want to see the final shot of the film. Expand
  8. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    My very first film of 2012 starts with this snow wilderness wolf-grapple thriller in the local multiplex, which stars the career-rebooting matinée action idol Liam Neeson (who has established a singularly bankable esteem in the genre which used to be Harrison Fordâ
  9. Dec 5, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If anyone had had tried to convince me to watch a film about a group of men fighting for survival after a plane crash in the dead of winter in Alaska while a pack of wolves were on the hunt, I would have laughed in their face. With that being said, I thought this was a really good film! Thrilling, emotional, well-written, solid performances, action, humor, tonal cinematography, The Grey delivered! Also, it was surprisingly deep and had some interesting characters. Many people will likely hate the ending, but I actually thought it was perfect. Expand
  10. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This movie is the wolf version of Jaws. The wolves were unrealistic which is the biggest flaw in the movie but the film is so tense and feels so powerful that it was worth the watch. The acting was amazing and the cinematography was stellar as well. Overall, get ready for the most intense movie in years.
  11. Mar 9, 2012
    6
    People trying to escape from a pack of wolves through extreme weather conditions are great ingredients for a nailbiting thriller and produce surpisingly beautiful cinematography. 117 minutes of people being chased by a pack of wolves in extreme difficult weather conditions give plenty of time for the suspense to wear off and become fed up with the cinematography.
  12. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    Although depressing, I never got bored. Like most survival films, it has the stereotypical cast of characters, especially the annoying one that argues constantly with the others. They never seem to be the ones that die initially. The performances are solid, but the run time seems a little long for an intense movie. For me it doesn't have the repeatability factor - I have no desire toAlthough depressing, I never got bored. Like most survival films, it has the stereotypical cast of characters, especially the annoying one that argues constantly with the others. They never seem to be the ones that die initially. The performances are solid, but the run time seems a little long for an intense movie. For me it doesn't have the repeatability factor - I have no desire to ever see the film again, but it is well made. The plane crash seems realistic, the weather makes you feel chilly, and the wolves give you goose bumps. It just seemed like I've seen it all before. Expand
  13. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    The story is really interesting and the acting is really good.There is not a lot of action but the story and the characters are really interesting and that's why we can watch it without getting bored.
  14. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    The grey is a powerful, gut wrenching examination of existence. If the images weren't so tantalising the themes wouldn't be so affecting. The film constantly thrills drawing you away from certain of it's flaws.
  15. Aug 9, 2013
    7
    The grey is a decently executed survival movie which initially promises the possibility of a masterpiece with early scenes but becomes too uneven along the way. Like many critics have said, the movie can be very poetic and introspective, and the cinematography is very pretty. The wolf attacks start out being pretty scary. They're brutal and fill the film with undeniable tension, butThe grey is a decently executed survival movie which initially promises the possibility of a masterpiece with early scenes but becomes too uneven along the way. Like many critics have said, the movie can be very poetic and introspective, and the cinematography is very pretty. The wolf attacks start out being pretty scary. They're brutal and fill the film with undeniable tension, but eventually they start being presented in a cleche way. The attacks become too often, and the wolves themselves are used too much like Hollywood monsters. This starts to compete with the higher, more artistic sensibilities in the movie instead of enhancing them. This is also definitely one of the bleakest films I have ever seen, with a nihilistic agenda I absolutely disagree with. However, Liam Nieson gives a great performance as always, and I can't deny that overall it's a gritty, gripping movie which is way better than most movies that come out in January. In fact, it might be one of the best January releases ever. Expand
  16. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    I know its only a month into the new year, but The Grey is hands down the best movie of 2012 so far and its going to be VERY hard to beat. Liam Neeson needs to be recognized as one of the best actors out there. Absolute powerful performance in a very powerful movie. The Grey will grip you and toss you around for 2 terrifying, gut wrenching, and heart pounding hours. You will love and hateI know its only a month into the new year, but The Grey is hands down the best movie of 2012 so far and its going to be VERY hard to beat. Liam Neeson needs to be recognized as one of the best actors out there. Absolute powerful performance in a very powerful movie. The Grey will grip you and toss you around for 2 terrifying, gut wrenching, and heart pounding hours. You will love and hate every minute of this movie, it's that powerful. This is the most suspenseful and terrifying movie i have seen in a long time. You will grow to have a major fear of wolves after this movie, I sure did. Plus i just have to say it, it was great to hear Liam Neeson quote "I'm going to start beating the s**t out of you in about 5 seconds" Just one of the few comedic relief moments in this amazing film. Go see this movie now, its money well spent. Just a warning, it will create a fear of wolves and potential fear of flying, but don't let that shy you away because this is a VERY good movie. 10/10 Expand
  17. Apr 1, 2012
    4
    Rotten Tomatoes said that The Grey is an exciting tale of survival, populated with fleshed-out characters and a surprising philosophical agenda. But I don't think so or survival thing is not my agenda?
  18. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    Slightly different than his usual role of delivering much pain to random dudes, Liam Neeson's portrayal of Bear Grllys on Winter Man vs Wild is awkwardly commendable. Creating improvised armaments and battling harsh terrain without resorting to consume his own bodily fluid prove to be quite a challenge even for the seasoned veteran. Yes, this is a joke, I just need something to keep youSlightly different than his usual role of delivering much pain to random dudes, Liam Neeson's portrayal of Bear Grllys on Winter Man vs Wild is awkwardly commendable. Creating improvised armaments and battling harsh terrain without resorting to consume his own bodily fluid prove to be quite a challenge even for the seasoned veteran. Yes, this is a joke, I just need something to keep you interested. The Grey is actually a story about plane crash survivor trying to escape cruel whip of mother nature.



    Graphic-wise it looks exceptional, much that is thank to clarity of the shots. When you think of a movie in the cold wilderness, it's not hard to imagine falling snow or tall trees obscuring the view, but The Grey has a sense of focus to it. Its vistas, despite almost all set in Alaska, still differentiate themselves after each scene, making a clear progress as the characters trudge through the bitterness. The shots are clean and neat without much exaggeration, unlike the directors' previous work, A-Team.

    Liam Neeson (Ottway) provides a deep role as a resilient man, albeit slightly plagued with self-pity. With the cast of all men, this might be off putting for some of you. Yes, there are no "Hug for body warm" scenes with girls, tough break, moving on. Most of the movie, Ottway will be narrating in cynically depressed fashion. After all, the plane is full of gruff men and manual laborers with dubious backgrounds. With his occupation as sniper-for-hire, he has the necessary knowledge to survive in Alaska and is unwillingly unspokenly appointed to be the leader.

    Some of the scenes are adequately brutal and disturbing, but without being overly ridiculous. The director cleverly used abrupt transitions to surprise the audience, it works well in most parts. Surprisingly it focuses on more psychological damage rather than gory and bloody kills. The characters benefit from more fleshed-out personalities, each responds uniquely to their forced participation of survival. On few occasions, it even goes to more philosophical banters between the survivors. Some long for their loved ones, some just accept it apathetically.



    However it also riddled with literal "Oh god, why?" moments which made me believe this also serves a hidden propaganda, just a warning for religious people (at least those who are more than me). It's a good survival movie with more depth than most. The actors give solid performance, sequences are suspenseful and it does more than killing them in the most absurd way. Its heavy philosophical approach, while cleverly done, might be boring for some though. 7,5/10
    Expand
  19. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    One of the best films of the year! Liam Nesson, in one of his best roles to date, plays a rough, hard-nosed, scrappy, tough, kick-ass and yet subdued role in this film. He is quiet and focused exactly when he needs to be. All the performances are good and the cinematography is awe-inspiring. There is not a dull moment in this film. It exhibits truth and the harsh reality of these menOne of the best films of the year! Liam Nesson, in one of his best roles to date, plays a rough, hard-nosed, scrappy, tough, kick-ass and yet subdued role in this film. He is quiet and focused exactly when he needs to be. All the performances are good and the cinematography is awe-inspiring. There is not a dull moment in this film. It exhibits truth and the harsh reality of these men coming to terms with their lives in one of the most harsh climates man has ever seen. The wolves are truly terrifying, and they are certainly an integral part of this story. Expand
  20. Feb 2, 2012
    7
    This is a darkly told and darkly shot story about the fate of survivors of an air crash in Alsaka hunted by wolves. Only one of them is an expert at wolves and hunting (LIam Neeson, of course) so he becomes the alpha male, after putting down all challenges. Yep it's a metaphor, and it predicts the ending. He's suicidal and depressed, and recently widowered, but the survival trek gives himThis is a darkly told and darkly shot story about the fate of survivors of an air crash in Alsaka hunted by wolves. Only one of them is an expert at wolves and hunting (LIam Neeson, of course) so he becomes the alpha male, after putting down all challenges. Yep it's a metaphor, and it predicts the ending. He's suicidal and depressed, and recently widowered, but the survival trek gives him a goal. The wolf attacks are often lighning fast and full of ear splitting growling and snarling which serve to keep the audience awake. The director teases by making the attacks occur randomly and unpredicably, and for a change the ending is unpredictable (although I did predict accurately the 2 last survivors, I couldn't rest on my laurels). If you want to enjoy the movie don't ask yourself if the wolves behavior is accurate. Expand
  21. Jul 17, 2012
    6
    While The Grey doesn't provide us with all-too-interesting characters, it does deliver filmgoers a good survival yarn filled with gripping title-referential cinematography and the chance to see Liam Neeson punch wolves. I also felt that the philosophical tones went along surprisingly well and without them The Grey wouldn't have been as distinctive (It isn't very without them, though). TheWhile The Grey doesn't provide us with all-too-interesting characters, it does deliver filmgoers a good survival yarn filled with gripping title-referential cinematography and the chance to see Liam Neeson punch wolves. I also felt that the philosophical tones went along surprisingly well and without them The Grey wouldn't have been as distinctive (It isn't very without them, though). The film has a troubling start until the wolves arrive and it suffers from a very slow middle act. It also doesn't have characters that we like, believe, or care about, but we still hope that the idea of these men as a group could make it. On the positive side, there's Neeson, dealing out effortlessly cool machismo vibes with a hint of doggedly tired age. He is worth a glance here. Plus, as I already said, he gets to punch wolves. Expand
  22. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible. How can any filmmaker present this to an audience ? I knew after 15 seconds that this would be a sucker, the initial fight in the bar was so badly acted, you knew it could get only worse. I know nothing about wolves, but I know that wolves ALWAYS attack in packs, so the initial scene where he kills a lone wolf is absolutely ridiculous. The entire plane crash was completely out of this world: how could he just walk away without even a scratch ? In addition, do producers never learn that reflective moments should be used extremely sparse, if at all ? Because they put you asleep... Expand
  23. Jun 29, 2012
    5
    I expect a lot when I hear see Liam Neeson's name in a film but this film was very slow-paced and boring at some points. It couldn't gather my attention nor there were any horrifying moments when it comes to survival thrillers. Main theme was very good, like the plane crashing and being stuck in the middle of nowhere, but this film could not generate that charm.
  24. Feb 14, 2012
    3
    When the wolves had a 'personal vendetta' against the survivors i knew this was going to be one of those movies. They should have suspended all belief and make them vampire wolves.
  25. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    The feel bad movie of the year. While I would never dislike a movie based on it being depressing alone, I never feel like The Grey earns the emotional punches that it throws. This film is well acted and shot very well, you may actually feel cold while watching this film there is such a strong sense of atmosphere. While I understand that the wolves are meant to mirror a lot of the themes inThe feel bad movie of the year. While I would never dislike a movie based on it being depressing alone, I never feel like The Grey earns the emotional punches that it throws. This film is well acted and shot very well, you may actually feel cold while watching this film there is such a strong sense of atmosphere. While I understand that the wolves are meant to mirror a lot of the themes in this film, I ultimately feel that everything they contribute could be done by simply using the elements. The reason this matters to me is because most of the havoc that the wolves are causing ring false to me and take away from the characters who need to be fleshed out much more than they ever are. In the end I think that is what keeps this movie that is trying to say a lot about life from saying much of anything at all. Expand
  26. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Now this movie was really cool. Stranded in the wilderness and trying to stay alive. The wolves thing was interesting but did take away from some of the realism on the viewer's side but it didn't really feel too over the top. Look at it as if you were in the wild alone and felt a pack of wolves was after you. You'd probably exaggerate their ferocity too. But overall great movie. See itNow this movie was really cool. Stranded in the wilderness and trying to stay alive. The wolves thing was interesting but did take away from some of the realism on the viewer's side but it didn't really feel too over the top. Look at it as if you were in the wild alone and felt a pack of wolves was after you. You'd probably exaggerate their ferocity too. But overall great movie. See it when you get the chance on dvd or if it's still around in theaters near you. Expand
  27. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    Nothwithstanding its attempts to manifest itself atypically from others before it, "The Grey" simply relies too heavily on the shallow shoulders of its "spear-carriers," whose only raison d' etre is to dispense egregiously daft and ribald prattling upon barren expressions, while the camera spotlights Neeson and mewls for support. What one experiences is a cinematographic waste ofNothwithstanding its attempts to manifest itself atypically from others before it, "The Grey" simply relies too heavily on the shallow shoulders of its "spear-carriers," whose only raison d' etre is to dispense egregiously daft and ribald prattling upon barren expressions, while the camera spotlights Neeson and mewls for support. What one experiences is a cinematographic waste of astounding, achromatic transcendental visuals, hampered by the dragging sense of directorial indecisiveness and subpar writing. Aside from Neeson's valiant efforts to egress from his enslaved character, the film enthralls with its surprisingly fresh metaphysical overtones, and adhesive tie-ins toward the latter-half. As a result, "The Grey" is a brimmingly stern philosophical survival thriller, laden with sporadic moments of jocosity and adrenaline, yet suppressed with a taste of dissatisfied chagrin. Expand
  28. Feb 17, 2013
    6
    Liam Neeson's performance is decent. The plot of the movie in the long run becomes repetitive and the film loses entertainment, but a sufficient movie that shows the more sensitive side of humanity.
  29. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    "The Grey" is an absolutely fantastic film - as beautiful and poetic as it is grim and unforgiving. Liam Neeson leads a group of survivors after their plane crashes in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, and before long they find themselves in a brutal struggle against a clan of relentless wolves. This was marketed mostly as an action survival picture, which is highly misleading - it is"The Grey" is an absolutely fantastic film - as beautiful and poetic as it is grim and unforgiving. Liam Neeson leads a group of survivors after their plane crashes in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, and before long they find themselves in a brutal struggle against a clan of relentless wolves. This was marketed mostly as an action survival picture, which is highly misleading - it is neither action nor survival, but rather an existential portrait. It showcases a small band of engaging and sometimes mysterious characters, and as time progresses and their numbers dwindle, the cloud of death looms ever darker above them, and they must each in their own way confront it. Their responses range from heartfelt, to tragic, to calm acceptance, and is quite the graceful psychological study. Of course, the movie's ultimate tale is of a man who goes down fighting, even though he has absolutely nothing left to fight for, and is an incredibly moving testament to how important life and existence themselves are to us, and that even in our darkest hours, there is still a darker hour before us that we might fear above all else. It's as an inspiring film as it is depressing, and a truly wonderful gem that well deserves a good long look. Expand
  30. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    This is true alpha male wolf pack film...Testosterone adrenaline all over the place. About survival of fittest. Liam Nesson takes control and is in control as the leading man as usual. This has Mens Only Club sign.
  31. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    Great survival movie and Liam Neeson gives brilliant performance. Gritty and tough to watch in places but has a great message about what drives people to survive in bad situations. About keeping memories of those we love with us no matter what. However if you don't want to read too much into the movie there are lots of tense scenes to keep you entertained.
  32. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    The Grey may have only been an average movie if it weren't for the amazing performance of Liam Neeson. This was probably his best role since Schindler's List, it was that good. Overall the movie has good intensity, and it lets the viewer connect with the other characters. Technically, the movie has some great editing, sound effects, and cinematography. My biggest complaint is theThe Grey may have only been an average movie if it weren't for the amazing performance of Liam Neeson. This was probably his best role since Schindler's List, it was that good. Overall the movie has good intensity, and it lets the viewer connect with the other characters. Technically, the movie has some great editing, sound effects, and cinematography. My biggest complaint is the design of the wolves, which looked pretty fake and way to big. But overall, Liam Neeson carries this movie and he does it in a good way. Expand
  33. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    This movie was really good. The story was good and Niam Neeson is still awesome. Wolfs are not as bloodthirsty or as smart as real life wolfs. If your looking for a movie to buy, buy The Grey. The Grey 7.6/10
  34. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    If this plane had crashed in Finland, they'd have had five bars on every cell phone, and been surrounded by reindeer. It's all about location, location, location! Liam's his charming/gritty/quiet tough guy self leading a batch of plane crash survivors onward... The "keep moving" philosophy always seems like a good idea even if it doesn't play out that way. Scary wolves. BeautifulIf this plane had crashed in Finland, they'd have had five bars on every cell phone, and been surrounded by reindeer. It's all about location, location, location! Liam's his charming/gritty/quiet tough guy self leading a batch of plane crash survivors onward... The "keep moving" philosophy always seems like a good idea even if it doesn't play out that way. Scary wolves. Beautiful scenery. And enough substance to fuel a variety of post movie conversations about what you would do in similar circumstances. Expand
  35. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    This is by far the best film I've seen yet in 2012. The Grey is emotionally riveting, terrifying and utterly philosophical. Where a film like "The Edge" starring Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin was about man VS. Nature, The Grey is more about man accepting Nature. The performances are terrific and the cinematography makes you feel like you're there. The surround sound and big screen makeThis is by far the best film I've seen yet in 2012. The Grey is emotionally riveting, terrifying and utterly philosophical. Where a film like "The Edge" starring Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin was about man VS. Nature, The Grey is more about man accepting Nature. The performances are terrific and the cinematography makes you feel like you're there. The surround sound and big screen make a difference at the cinema. It's rare films like The Grey make it to the theatre. Do yourself a favour and go see it. Be warned; it's not for the faint of heart. AS WELL, there is an important, albeit very short scene after the credits. Collapse
  36. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    Not how I was expecting at all. I went in assuming it was another badass Liam Neeson Taken sort of movie but it was far from that. In a lot of ways it felt close to being a horror movie which to me is not at all a complaint but got me into it more. It is very well acted and the cinematography is fantastic. I really felt as if this was actually happening and these people were really inNot how I was expecting at all. I went in assuming it was another badass Liam Neeson Taken sort of movie but it was far from that. In a lot of ways it felt close to being a horror movie which to me is not at all a complaint but got me into it more. It is very well acted and the cinematography is fantastic. I really felt as if this was actually happening and these people were really in great danger. One of Liam Neesons best performances in my books. Highly recommended. Expand
  37. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    The Grey is a very well shot, minimalist-written survivalist story where some very good actors face the Alaskan Wilderness and CGI wolves. Joe Carnahan gives the movie an existential edge, where the fierce weather serves as a back drop for some high integrity acting and metaphysical contemplation when a team of Oil Workers survive a plane crash only to face a pack of wolves. Poetic,The Grey is a very well shot, minimalist-written survivalist story where some very good actors face the Alaskan Wilderness and CGI wolves. Joe Carnahan gives the movie an existential edge, where the fierce weather serves as a back drop for some high integrity acting and metaphysical contemplation when a team of Oil Workers survive a plane crash only to face a pack of wolves. Poetic, Romantic, Contemplative - and in most sequences, a lot of fun. The weakest thing in the movie is the wolves. Expand
  38. May 17, 2012
    8
    I have to praise Ian Mackenzie Jeffers and Joe Carnahan for a terrific script as well as the latter for a fine piece of directing. I like much of his work and have seen most of what he's written and or directed in recent years; he is versatile and happily, in this movie, he has shown us he can do excellent character development work. I can hardly think of anyone better than Liam Neeson forI have to praise Ian Mackenzie Jeffers and Joe Carnahan for a terrific script as well as the latter for a fine piece of directing. I like much of his work and have seen most of what he's written and or directed in recent years; he is versatile and happily, in this movie, he has shown us he can do excellent character development work. I can hardly think of anyone better than Liam Neeson for the lead role. The premise of the movie is rather straightforward: A sharpshooter, Neeson, hired to protect roughnecks working at an oil facility in Alaska, from local wildlife, boards with them on a plane as they set off for their periodic break; a storm hits the plane hard and it crashes, killing most aboard. The remaining group of survivors attempt to make out of the tundra, with wolves at their heels.

    Not since the 2010 movie "The Way Back" have I seen a survival movie with as good cinematography, outstanding soundtrack and deep character development. Neeson plays a character both haunted and sooth by the memory of his wife through flashbacks he has when he tries to mentally escape their predicament, a back-story that keeps us intrigued; wolves are the dominant specie of that wasteland and the movie makes us feel that intensely. Nature is the other foe in this drama. Both the plane crash scenes and the shots of the tundra, and later the Alaska wilderness are done with a flair for realism. The movie caps off as it finally lets us in on the story of Neeson's wife, so we can understand the earlier passages of his melancholia; then the very last shots are a truly poetic finale. The movie deserves all the good critics and rating it has received so far.
    Expand
  39. Feb 4, 2012
    5
    While this movie isn't as bad as I thought it would be, it still wasn't very good. The main problem with the movie is that it was unrealistic and unconvincing. The wolves were made to be much smarter and bloodthirsty than they are in reality, and for some reason they would appear and disappear at random points in the movie. If you've ever seen Frozen, you know what I mean. The randomWhile this movie isn't as bad as I thought it would be, it still wasn't very good. The main problem with the movie is that it was unrealistic and unconvincing. The wolves were made to be much smarter and bloodthirsty than they are in reality, and for some reason they would appear and disappear at random points in the movie. If you've ever seen Frozen, you know what I mean. The random disappearance/appearance lead to more than a couple plot holes as the movie went on. And then there's the fact that a man somehow jumps across a 50 foot gap.... how? The second problem is the editing. While not terrible, throughout the movie there are flashbacks that just don't seem to make sense as to where they're placed. It felt clumsy and pretty awkward. And finally, there's the ending. While it could have been worse, it still is just not good. While cliffhangers can totally be appropriate in some cases, a survival thriller is not one genre it works particularly well for. This is one ending that will more than likely make you frustrated. There are a few positive things about this movie. The acting was fine (much to my surprise), and for the most part the script wasn't bad, minus a few absolutely absurd conversations that happen throughout the film. Think of this one as Poseidon in Alaska, though this one isn't quite as bad as Poseidon. It isn't a great movie. The Grey is a pretty bland, and even laughable at a few parts. Expand
  40. Feb 22, 2012
    7
    This is a movie worth watching ... but don't spend the time and money at the movies. Once it is out for home consumption, and you haven't got anything else driving you crazy to watch, then this will be worth your time. The story is good, although a little disappointing at the very end. It is in some ways a fatalistic movie, but manages to inspire you as well. See it, but when the time is right.
  41. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    This movie was fantastic. The actors all portrayed their respective characters quite well, and although a tad bit predictable at times, there were enough surprises and thrills to push you to the edge of your seat and care if the characters lived or died. It was a bit heavy on the existential angst that was sometimes out of place, but overall it just helped develop the characters and give aThis movie was fantastic. The actors all portrayed their respective characters quite well, and although a tad bit predictable at times, there were enough surprises and thrills to push you to the edge of your seat and care if the characters lived or died. It was a bit heavy on the existential angst that was sometimes out of place, but overall it just helped develop the characters and give a meaningful back story in between the action packed escape scenes through the tundra. The wolves, though unrealistically vicious, were necessarily so, in order to provide more danger and excitement. Overall, an action-packed thriller with sufficient character development and surprises to keep you interested. Expand
  42. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Angels: I know nothing about wolves. Therefore, it did not matter to me whether their behavior was realistic or not. My sweetheart and I decided not to see 'the Woman in Black' too much wasted angst, dread, & apprehension. But, as my sweetheart said we ended up seeing a horror movie with wolves! However, the angst, dread and apprehension were not wasted. (Sweetheart put her hands overAngels: I know nothing about wolves. Therefore, it did not matter to me whether their behavior was realistic or not. My sweetheart and I decided not to see 'the Woman in Black' too much wasted angst, dread, & apprehension. But, as my sweetheart said we ended up seeing a horror movie with wolves! However, the angst, dread and apprehension were not wasted. (Sweetheart put her hands over her eyes when she anticipated something nasty. She had her hands over her eyes a lot. ) The wolves were like hounds of the Baskervilles-scary. I love Liam, the voice of Aslan. He has a warmth, and rugged honesty about him, and the soft, purring voice of the benign God. This may be Liam's defining role as an older actor. It may be for Liam what the Book of Eli is for Denzel. The movie was exciting. Liam owned it, but the other actors were good. I felt the bone chilling cold, the exhaustion, the hunger, the terror, the hopelessness, and the absolute inscrutability of the Almighty. Yes, there was a spiritual/existential aspect to the movie. But what was strongest to me (beside the wolf horror) was the beauty of human relationship, the sustaining warmth of memories of love and loved ones. The characters that you liked most held their loved ones ever-present in their hearts. And Liam's memories were so tender; his emotion so genuine. My sweetheart said that maybe his acting was informed by his own life. I won't say any more. Angels sing softly to me. Expand
  43. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    Good movie, the wolves created a good deal of suspense. A real survival story that borders on the super-natural. I would of stayed with the plane though. The could of forged weapons from the debris of the plane.
  44. Feb 4, 2012
    4
    While the first fifteen minutes of this grim tale are adequate, the film quickly
    degenerates into preposterous behavior by the ensemble, resulting in a fairly dull gore-laced film.
  45. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Spoilers.

    This on my top 10 movies of the year. I loved the flow of the movie and Liam Nesson is one of the best actors of all time. The ending sucked because it kept you wondering did he die or did he live.
  46. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    The best movie ever, I just loved it, Its great! Great work by Liam Neeson and i get scared by those wolves Just the best movie of all times
  47. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Grey is directed by Joe Carnahan with style. This is one of the best survival films I Expand
  48. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Oh man, was this movie depressing. But, it was fantastic. A movie about facing death, and how it can come at any moment. The movie teaches us to cherish one very important thing: Life itself.
  49. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Now I was going to give this movie a 7 but I realized the ending was good and every time I think of this movie I like it more and those are good movies the ones every time you think about it it gets better so watch heck buy it on blu ray
  50. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    It's a fun, competently shot and directed movie that makes a few missteps. First off, this is a survival movie, but NOT a nature survival movie. The wolves aren't really killing for food or survival, there's a bunch of pompous exposition about them organizing and taunting the survivors and other crap. The wolves don't even bother eating some of the kills, the characters might as well beIt's a fun, competently shot and directed movie that makes a few missteps. First off, this is a survival movie, but NOT a nature survival movie. The wolves aren't really killing for food or survival, there's a bunch of pompous exposition about them organizing and taunting the survivors and other crap. The wolves don't even bother eating some of the kills, the characters might as well be fighting the hillbillies from Deliverance, this is NOT a nature movie. Second, some really wonky physics towards the end, from improbably jump angles off of clips to improbable getting feet stuck between rocks. Good acting and decent existential statements though, worth the time it took to watch it. Expand
  51. Jul 16, 2012
    1
    Horrible movie with no understanding of how wolves act, how planes crash, how people act, how humans live in sub zero temperatures and possibly the worst sound in the history of recorded sound. There isn't one redeeming quality to this unless maybe if it was on a screen and provided you with light in a dark room.
  52. Mar 10, 2012
    6
    This is not the best work of Liam Neeson, i was expecting more of this one. It taste like cliche to me, but the fight between the characters and the wolfs is very impressive.
  53. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I love Liam Neeson, great movie .
  54. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    rolled my eyes a few times. it actually hurt, i rolled them really hard. started talking about god and stuff. ehh....no real deep powerful insights on that front. i'd prefer if the dialogue hadn't ventured into its shallow metaphysical depths. lots of cliches.

    the best thing the movie has going for it is the horror-genre like killings. they are almost all pop-outs, but still give
    rolled my eyes a few times. it actually hurt, i rolled them really hard. started talking about god and stuff. ehh....no real deep powerful insights on that front. i'd prefer if the dialogue hadn't ventured into its shallow metaphysical depths. lots of cliches.

    the best thing the movie has going for it is the horror-genre like killings. they are almost all pop-outs, but still give you the rush that you pay for at the ticket counter. as a pure shock based thriller, you could do much worse than The Grey. but The Grey hopes to be more than that, and it slides by as an above average shock-thriller. but not above average. i could have used more wolf chases and bumps in the night. they should just gone full horror. note to self: if ever stuck in a forest surrounded by wolves just start a **** fire! wolves can't stand fire. doesn't matter how many of them there are, or how few of you....or that they were chasing you all the way into the woods to kill you and your friends. as long as you can quickly start a fire, you're good.
    Expand
  55. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    Intense and thrilling, The Grey rounds out to be one of the more surprising films. Portrayed as a straight up man vs. wild survival epic, it turns to a more thoughtful and philosophical film unto showing how people face the closeness of death at every moment. Fits to be a good movie to see if you want to think and be thrilled at the same time.
  56. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    Loved this movie. It had something for everyone. Action lover? Its got that, and if u love story, and drama, its got abit of that. Unlike 80% of all movies, it is completely unpredictable. Things twist, and happen at random alot.. Also very bloody. Im sure you have heard alot of griping about the end. Forget it. But you have to watch the credits. All those who gripe didnt.... And evenLoved this movie. It had something for everyone. Action lover? Its got that, and if u love story, and drama, its got abit of that. Unlike 80% of all movies, it is completely unpredictable. Things twist, and happen at random alot.. Also very bloody. Im sure you have heard alot of griping about the end. Forget it. But you have to watch the credits. All those who gripe didnt.... And even then, many werent satisfied with the ending. I was, and just leave an open mind about the ending. Once agian, it was great. Expand
  57. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This movie was great everything was great.everyone performance was great.the story was great but i didn't understood what happened in the end so i am recommending on seeing this movie
  58. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    It's hard to say something bad about this movie - so well done. From the actors, to the stunt work, it all came together so well. The plot was very well paced and had a great twist. As long as you are wanting a happy ending, this is a must see!
  59. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    absolutely loved this painfully beautiful exposition on facing fear and death. The elemental earth of wind snow and fire. The power of human society over the individual, however the acknowledgement that we are to face death alone although fortified by the few we have loved.The music is scored wonderfully appropriately adding a foreboding to the beautifully bleak vistas of Arctic Canada.absolutely loved this painfully beautiful exposition on facing fear and death. The elemental earth of wind snow and fire. The power of human society over the individual, however the acknowledgement that we are to face death alone although fortified by the few we have loved.The music is scored wonderfully appropriately adding a foreboding to the beautifully bleak vistas of Arctic Canada. Liam Neeson has the gravitas. Brought me to tears, the heroism in this film, but not mindless, hard earned and with fear.
    Existentialism par Excellence
    Expand
  60. Jul 22, 2012
    6
    Not what i was expecting. The trailers for this movie hinted at 'Taken' or 'Unknown' in the wilderness, but this film is nothing like your general hollywood liam neeson action movie. Its slow, gritty, and has a decidedly 'indie' feel to it, almost meditative at times, but not as bad as a Terence Malick flick. The director Joe carnahan has a knack for making very human films out of wellNot what i was expecting. The trailers for this movie hinted at 'Taken' or 'Unknown' in the wilderness, but this film is nothing like your general hollywood liam neeson action movie. Its slow, gritty, and has a decidedly 'indie' feel to it, almost meditative at times, but not as bad as a Terence Malick flick. The director Joe carnahan has a knack for making very human films out of well worn territory and this is no exception. The film starts very slowly, almost dreamlike, but follows with a very real plane crash and its aftermath, neeson and co. then have to trek through the wilderness avoiding the wolves that seem to be tracking them. The film lulls slightly here but picks up in the second half and gradually draws you in, credit to carnahan for making the situation very real and believable, with a harshness that runs right through to the end. The film has a lot of minor quibbles and is definitely not a regular mainstream watch, but caught in the right mood it has some interesting things to say and says them very well indeed. Expand
  61. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    This was a very entertaining movie. One of my favorites so far this year. Great story, cinematography, and just enough violence to keep your juices flowing...
  62. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    It wasnt bad but its wasnt good either. It was pretty bland. And if you actually notice, most movies that liam neeson acts in are normally consist a simple plot and he ends up dead. although he is quite an admirable actor, and he does fairly well here, its not enough to save this movie. the ending was wayward disappointing as it was building up to the climax very well. i expected more fromIt wasnt bad but its wasnt good either. It was pretty bland. And if you actually notice, most movies that liam neeson acts in are normally consist a simple plot and he ends up dead. although he is quite an admirable actor, and he does fairly well here, its not enough to save this movie. the ending was wayward disappointing as it was building up to the climax very well. i expected more from it and somehow it falls short. Expand
  63. Jun 4, 2012
    6
    The trailer for this movie lies. If you expect an action movie that involves Liam Neeson with broken glass on his hands fighting wolves, boy will you be pissed. Set all that aside, and you might actually enjoy this patient, paced, thoughtful movie. It is a drama, not action, and a reasonably enjoyable one.
  64. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    The Grey is a movie like nothing I've ever seen before. It's gritty and dark and the movie portrays the overall dismal tone very well through: character conversations, setting, and suspense. The movie is very well done, with only the blemish being the CGI wolves that seem to feel cheap. Other than that, the movie is great. Dialog conveys most of the story, although what is told isThe Grey is a movie like nothing I've ever seen before. It's gritty and dark and the movie portrays the overall dismal tone very well through: character conversations, setting, and suspense. The movie is very well done, with only the blemish being the CGI wolves that seem to feel cheap. Other than that, the movie is great. Dialog conveys most of the story, although what is told is short and vague, it manages to give you an overarching background to the characters that is mostly complete. The movie does a really good job of pulling you in and keeping your interest until the conclusion. The characters were somewhat stereotypical, but not over-the-top. The language was controlled and wasn't overdone, and I didn't feel like their was random expletives added for laughs. The survival aspect was very cool, and Liam Neeson's character is Oscar-worthy. This movie deserves to be nominated as best movie, best character, and best sound design. Although, it wouldn't be nominated for best CGI; it wasn't the worst I have seen. Overall, a great story with spotty CGI and amazing setting. The setup to the final scene is perfect, and the way the movie ends (maybe will disappoint some), was just perfect in my opinion. First movie to WOW me in 2012.

    Story - 8/10
    CGI - 6/10
    Action - 9/10
    Acting - 10/10
    Setting - 10/10
    Achieved Realism in environment and believability in story. 9/10 Great Movie
    Expand
  65. Jan 29, 2012
    7
    Intense and sad. A dog gets eaten. Liam Neeson is great, as usual, and, like most movies nowadays, he's in it. Joe Carnahan's best film since "The A-Team."
  66. Jan 31, 2012
    8
    I'm curious why the wolf "experts" went to see this movie in the first place. Hadn't they seen the trailer in which Neeson is shown taping a knife and small broken bottles to his hands in preparation for hand-to-paw combat with a wolf? Wasn't that enough of a clue to indicate that, er, it's a movie? You know, the type of mass media where entertainment usually takes precedent over fact? NotI'm curious why the wolf "experts" went to see this movie in the first place. Hadn't they seen the trailer in which Neeson is shown taping a knife and small broken bottles to his hands in preparation for hand-to-paw combat with a wolf? Wasn't that enough of a clue to indicate that, er, it's a movie? You know, the type of mass media where entertainment usually takes precedent over fact? Not for a minute did I believe what I was seeing was an accurate representation of wolf behavior, nor did I leave the theater hating wolves. On the contrary, I left the theater feeling highly entertained, and with a heightened curiosity about natural wolf behavior. Subsequently I learned that although there are recorded incidents of wolves attacking humans, they are negligible. Wolves are naturally shy of humans. But I didn't go to the theater thinking I was about to see a National Geographic special either. Neeson was terrific playing a very sympathetic character trying to deal with the great sadness in his life. The slow unraveling of the truth behind his deep sadness is one of the strengths of the movie. But what I loved best about this movie was the fact that it did not turn out to be the kind of macho guys' movie the trailer led you to believe. There are some very moving scenes in the movie. Neeson helping a victim of the plane crash deal with the inevitable result of his horrific injuries was for me was quite moving. And the plane crash itself was all too realistic. Yeah, it was pretty riveting. And you'll be surprised to learn of the significance of the scene in which Neeson faces off with the wolf. Finally, don't stay for the extra scene you get after the credits roll. That extra scene, which lasts only several-seconds, is an unnecessary smear on a perfectly finished movie canvas. Expand
  67. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    Okay, some action scenes make no sense and a few plot developments will leave you scratching your head. Nothing major. The rest of the film is awesome. A truly beautiful film, with an outstanding performance by Mr Neeson. Its one to watch. It can work as a great action film, or with its heart a great date film. You need to see this film for a lot of reasons, but they are better to be seenOkay, some action scenes make no sense and a few plot developments will leave you scratching your head. Nothing major. The rest of the film is awesome. A truly beautiful film, with an outstanding performance by Mr Neeson. Its one to watch. It can work as a great action film, or with its heart a great date film. You need to see this film for a lot of reasons, but they are better to be seen rather than written. Great job all round on this film. Must see. Expand
  68. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I believe The Grey was actually a really good film and that the critics were a little to harsh.
    Liam Neeson as per usual was on top form and the overall acting was decent. Not sure why everyone is complaining about the wolves because I thought they looked good and people saying that is not how they act, how about you stand next to their den with cubs in it and see if they will play fetch.
    I believe The Grey was actually a really good film and that the critics were a little to harsh.
    Liam Neeson as per usual was on top form and the overall acting was decent. Not sure why everyone is complaining about the wolves because I thought they looked good and people saying that is not how they act, how about you stand next to their den with cubs in it and see if they will play fetch.
    The plane crash looked very good and the ending was truly memorable.
    Expand
  69. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    The Grey is, to my mind, the best film to be released in 2012 thus far. It was incredibly forceful and had a high degree of profundity that I wasn't expecting from it. The ever-reliable Liam Neeson is fine as Ottaway, the disenchanted protagonist whom purges himself of suicidal contemplation after he and a motley group of oil workers fine themselves stranded in the Alaskan wilderness afterThe Grey is, to my mind, the best film to be released in 2012 thus far. It was incredibly forceful and had a high degree of profundity that I wasn't expecting from it. The ever-reliable Liam Neeson is fine as Ottaway, the disenchanted protagonist whom purges himself of suicidal contemplation after he and a motley group of oil workers fine themselves stranded in the Alaskan wilderness after a airplane crash. After initial worry about hypothermia and the scarcity of food pervades the group of survivors, these qualms are hastily superseded by a much more malignant force- that of a pack of marauding wolves. What follows is a suspenseful, emotional and poignant story that is essentially a mediation on mortality and the extent man will go to in order to survive against all odds. Taut direction and a highly effective score further benefit The Grey, a truly excellent film. Expand
  70. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    No one wants to die, well I suppose there are those few, but most do not. Even more than that, there are those few ways that most would not wish to die from. These ways would include death by fire, or by a pool of acid, slow intricate torture, but one in particular is death by slow painful ripping and tearing of your own flesh and bones. The fear of this is what fuels the fears and theNo one wants to die, well I suppose there are those few, but most do not. Even more than that, there are those few ways that most would not wish to die from. These ways would include death by fire, or by a pool of acid, slow intricate torture, but one in particular is death by slow painful ripping and tearing of your own flesh and bones. The fear of this is what fuels the fears and the suspense of stories about zombies, or sharks, or in The Grey's case, wolves. I wouldn't say the film is one of those niche fear films that targets those with particular phobias regarding wolves, but if you have such a phobia, good luck! I came into watching this film with average to poor expectations of the movie and left feeling quite good about it. I think both the story and the acting were well done. One thing I will note regarding the CGI, or visual effects, used to make the wolves is I think in a few years they will look rather funny and off. While watching, they already seemed overly soft and dark. They had an almost blurred look to them at times. Certain movies like, Jurassic Park, or The Thing(the original) may not look fantastic these days, but still look pretty darn good compared to the aging of computer special effects. But hey! Maybe I will be wrong, luckily either way, the CGI is not what made this film. In all, I would recommend this film to family and friends who haven't seen it yet, and I hope anyone who reads this may go out and watch it as well. For my full review, visit http://visuallyimpairedreviews.blogspot.com/2012/03/grey.html Expand
  71. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    Awsome movie, loved it but i dont get it why the wolves didnt group up and didnt attack them right away they were like some supernatural monsters who secretly killed them one by one.
  72. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    It shows exactly, exactly what is real. When Liam asked God for help, he meant that. However, nothing happened. That's exactly what happens in real. God doesn't do miracles. You have to do it yourself. That's my best part of this movie.
  73. Feb 4, 2012
    8
    From the trailer, this movie puts itself out there as a man vs. beast thriller. However, when watching this movie at least to me, it felt like it was a strict character study of men and the challenges that a man faces not only against something natural, but mainly emotional. Liam Neeson does a fantastic job but I felt like he was trying for his Will Smith "I am Legend" moment. I mean youFrom the trailer, this movie puts itself out there as a man vs. beast thriller. However, when watching this movie at least to me, it felt like it was a strict character study of men and the challenges that a man faces not only against something natural, but mainly emotional. Liam Neeson does a fantastic job but I felt like he was trying for his Will Smith "I am Legend" moment. I mean you were Qui-Gon Ginn and in Schindler's, a little less acting and more raw emotion would have sufficed. With that being said, the visuals and sets were great. Actions sequences were well done and at points you almost forgot how you were sitting in a theater. Expand
  74. May 24, 2012
    10
    A movie that's more about the relationship between the survivalist and the main character's spiritual problems than the means of survival. The wolves are incredibly intelligent and overwhelming. You can guess, soon the survivalist group ripped apart by the wolves (and for some, natural hazards), ultimately at the end, leaving the main character, Ottway, alone. It's the kind of movie that'sA movie that's more about the relationship between the survivalist and the main character's spiritual problems than the means of survival. The wolves are incredibly intelligent and overwhelming. You can guess, soon the survivalist group ripped apart by the wolves (and for some, natural hazards), ultimately at the end, leaving the main character, Ottway, alone. It's the kind of movie that's not for everyone, but for some, you'll find yourselves a new poem to recite (you'll get my meaning once you watched the whole movie). Expand
  75. May 24, 2012
    7
    If you are looking for an epic Liam Neeson film, I don't recommend this one. I chose to give this film a 7, because it's the first time that I have seen Liam Neeson portray such a deep character (besides in Schindler's List, ofcorse). I personally enjoy Neeson's films where he plays these kinds of rolls..where we can actually see him act. Don't get me wrong, Star Wars and Taken were greatIf you are looking for an epic Liam Neeson film, I don't recommend this one. I chose to give this film a 7, because it's the first time that I have seen Liam Neeson portray such a deep character (besides in Schindler's List, ofcorse). I personally enjoy Neeson's films where he plays these kinds of rolls..where we can actually see him act. Don't get me wrong, Star Wars and Taken were great movies, but in this film you get to witness Neeson taking on every day life issues that many of us face: fear of death. Neeson is tested in his strength, knowledge, and faith as he battles the bitter freezing cold in Alaska after his plane crashes. I would watch it again, but I would not pay for it again. Great movie to see if you truly love Liam Neeson. Expand
  76. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Good flick. I wasn't really expecting what I got.... and I'm totally okay with that. This was a thinking man's action movie. It provided more than enough suspense and also had moments of great insight. The cinematography alone was worth price of admission (check it out on netflix). Overall, A very pleasant surprise.
  77. Mar 5, 2012
    4
    After the plane crash you can turn the movie off because besides that the movie is not at all what you expect it to be. Its more about these guys battling themselves more than the wolves or really cool winter settings. Its tries to be too clever, with dumb flashbacks and epic monologues of Liam talking about crap you could care less about. Too many night scenes and unlikeable charactersAfter the plane crash you can turn the movie off because besides that the movie is not at all what you expect it to be. Its more about these guys battling themselves more than the wolves or really cool winter settings. Its tries to be too clever, with dumb flashbacks and epic monologues of Liam talking about crap you could care less about. Too many night scenes and unlikeable characters outside of Liam Neison who even still grow sick of with his macho leadership skills. Definitely hoped for a great action flick in the snowy tundra but ended up with great plane crash, terrible wolves, and a movie that thought it was a deeper than it really was. Expand
  78. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    The Grey was a somewhat memorable and unique movie that left me felling deflated. I found the premise (attempting to survive against all odds) and setting (a barren cold wasteland) interesting. However, the overall execution was a little underwhelming for me. I was also disappointed in the ending, even though I can understand why some people might like it. The movie succeeded in getting meThe Grey was a somewhat memorable and unique movie that left me felling deflated. I found the premise (attempting to survive against all odds) and setting (a barren cold wasteland) interesting. However, the overall execution was a little underwhelming for me. I was also disappointed in the ending, even though I can understand why some people might like it. The movie succeeded in getting me to wonder how they were going to make it out of their ordeal. However, the overall tone of their struggle left me with a negative tension throughout. Expand
  79. Feb 2, 2012
    4
    I'm struggling with this movie. I wanted to like it, I really do, but there were so many reasons not to. I should begin with the good stuff though. Liam Neeson, like usual, is one bad ass human being. I can't think of a movie where he has failed to disappoint. It seems like he is one of the few actors in Hollywood that actually cares about acting and cares about his fans. But my love forI'm struggling with this movie. I wanted to like it, I really do, but there were so many reasons not to. I should begin with the good stuff though. Liam Neeson, like usual, is one bad ass human being. I can't think of a movie where he has failed to disappoint. It seems like he is one of the few actors in Hollywood that actually cares about acting and cares about his fans. But my love for Liam Neeson can only go so far in a movie like 'The Grey'. There were some scenes where I was gripping my seat and wanted more, but my wish never came true. The wolves were impeccable, though. You might feel a connection with the overall meaning of the film, but it simply was not enough. The movie was way too long. Two hours was definitely unnecessary for a film like this one. I was sitting in my seat wondering when it was going to be over and then when it ended, I was still upset. There were little stories within the bigger picture, but once the movie ended, you realized it was just filler and the writers couldn't think of anything else. The audio was really annoying. Yes, we get it. Just because they are walking through a blizzard, doesn't mean you can crank the wind sound. Oh and when you transition between loud noises to silence, it's best to actually transition and not cut.

    You can't go wrong with Liam Neeson, but when it comes to 'The Grey', you might have to pass. There was very little entertainment value and the gripping of my seat never lasted long. Let the wolves drag you when the DVD gets released.
    Expand
  80. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    Ottway (Liam Neeson) lingers in the frozen wilderness that are the oil fields of Northern Alaska. He protects the workers from the dangers that present themselves. Beneath the solid exterior of Ottway's demeanor lies a man that is lost: his wife is no longer in his life, he sees no good in what he does for the world, he sees no purpose left. He has only a day left until he flies back toOttway (Liam Neeson) lingers in the frozen wilderness that are the oil fields of Northern Alaska. He protects the workers from the dangers that present themselves. Beneath the solid exterior of Ottway's demeanor lies a man that is lost: his wife is no longer in his life, he sees no good in what he does for the world, he sees no purpose left. He has only a day left until he flies back to Anchorage.

    The plane ride is nothing more than normal, brief bouts of turbulence offset by the testosterone-laden chatter about what the workers will do with their paychecks, girlfriends, wives, etc.Turbulence becomes more noticeable than usual and the chatter teeters out; the men are scared.

    The unabashed desire to live finds itself in Ottway. He straps himself into the seat and holds on for dear life as pieces of the plane start coming off around them. Now, faced with the unlikely prospect of being discovered, Ottway and the six remaining members of the flight are tasked with leaving the wreckage and trying to stay alive. To make matters worse, these seven men are in the company of wolves. Nature is to be feared. Man has progressed from the elements, but we never conquered them. They have a choice: be taken out one-by-one, or fight the bastards.

    Liam Neeson has made a career resurgence of sorts lately for playing a veritable medley of tough guys, but Ottway is a different breed. He has no qualms telling the few survivors left in the woods that he is terrified. Action films of late have suffered because the characters in them are so out of touch that audiences flinch rather than feel when presented with them. Neeson makes a point of portraying Ottway as a flawed man, but one who has found a purpose in this good fight.

    Joe Carnahan abandons the escapist fun that he and Neeson sought for The A-Team. Violence is not used here for big-budget awes, instead he aims for the gritty horrors of fighting for life at any cost. The Grey excels at making these horrors more real than any film before it. But what makes the film even more notable is that it reflects that human desire for life, even in unjust circumstances. Human beings are resilient. We have fears and periods of darkness, but when the time comes and we face some insurmountable hostility, the fangs come out.
    Expand
  81. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    Survival of fittest and just flat out doing what you need to do to survive considering the circumstances. Who not better to lead you acroos the arctic other than Liam Niessen. His rugged and gritty personality and fine faith for something better in ths world kept him alive until the end.........or did it............
  82. May 19, 2012
    6
    Bit too obvious outcome. The ending was revealed like 15 min into the film. Only thing that makes this movie watchable is Liam Neason. Everything that guy touches turns to gold. So it could have been allot better if the story line wasn't given in the beginning.
  83. May 4, 2013
    5
    Weird movie, and by weird i mean a movie that make no freaking sense at all no matter how you slice it, the wolves are completely unnatural and have superpowers
  84. Jan 30, 2012
    0
    Extremely disappointed with this movie. Very few times do I feel the urge to write a review. There were a lot of inconsistencies with the plot. Jumping into a tree? COME ON! A lot of build up in this movie to a weak ending. I was deceived into thinking this was "Taken" with wolves. I didn't relate with any of the characters in the movie and was glad as the wolves picked them off one byExtremely disappointed with this movie. Very few times do I feel the urge to write a review. There were a lot of inconsistencies with the plot. Jumping into a tree? COME ON! A lot of build up in this movie to a weak ending. I was deceived into thinking this was "Taken" with wolves. I didn't relate with any of the characters in the movie and was glad as the wolves picked them off one by one. Also I find it hard to believe that a band of rednecks couldn't find any weapons or defend themselves. Even Sarah Palin kills wolves. A movie like this does not make me shed a tear about wolf conservation. A classic survival film with a satisfying ending would be, " The Edge". Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin survive and KILL A GRIZZLY! Come on Neeson! The Grey made me want to chokeslam a wolf, but then I thought about how humans bred the wolf to make the chihuahua breed and that made me smile. Expand
  85. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    I have experienced things in life that taught me to never say "can not be worse than that!" Because I know that in general a fan of horror movies knows can.Every they see. If you confuse what happens in movies like "things that never happen to me", well, you learn.

    As the gray will open in the cold, the desolation Liam Neeson appears as a man with a dream of life without lies, without
    I have experienced things in life that taught me to never say "can not be worse than that!" Because I know that in general a fan of horror movies knows can.Every they see. If you confuse what happens in movies like "things that never happen to me", well, you learn.

    As the gray will open in the cold, the desolation Liam Neeson appears as a man with a dream of life without lies, without illusions.The reasons are not obvious. There is a sniper hired to protect workers against the oil platforms to frequent attacks of wolves, and draw only when fully necessary.He aspects of enough animals to meet their human companions is much dangers.His less admiration, at least in the works. They lose the real world, they deserve to be in the difficult conditions, he chose to be in.

    On a routine flight to return to the civilization of the plane crashes, literally, in the middle nowhere.The sound editors and technicians have done a fantastic job with this film, you feel so close to everything that is possible without there.Real be representations of accident victims and the cold, cold is a character full own.That would endanger his life.

    Then, struck with the true primary fear.The most of us have forgotten in our long journey up the food chain. The line between our world and the 911 safety and mental health, and complete the paris are open, not save you, but the world is very thin.

    He learns the hard way that the plane crashed into the world of the wolf and not to be.

    Having some knowledge of animals, but not much more than he hastens to live and protect what remains of humanity in this implacable.

    The survivors try to cope as well as you or I could, and are on whenever terribly strained.

    The gray is real, raw, scary and so good to be grateful for all aspects of your life.Neeson is at his best when he attacks everything that man and fears of nature, and is a cinematic experience.
    hydronite.com
    Expand
  86. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    A great performance from Liam Neeson. However that isn't enough to make up for a lot of loose ends and pitfalls in the film. I love the story idea and in many parts it really got your heart pumping. There are parts where it seems the effects department was under a strict budget and had to make cut backs. Parts also left you thinking why didn't they/he do something else. Finally to theA great performance from Liam Neeson. However that isn't enough to make up for a lot of loose ends and pitfalls in the film. I love the story idea and in many parts it really got your heart pumping. There are parts where it seems the effects department was under a strict budget and had to make cut backs. Parts also left you thinking why didn't they/he do something else. Finally to the ending which i personally saw happening early on but didn't want to happen. I got to the last fight then just ended before anything happened. I understand why they ended it there and it wasn't a bad choice but i would have preferred to see the final fight and what ever happened then this ending. Expand
  87. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My opinion on it is mixed. on the one hand Liam Neeson played, well, Liam Neeson. And he was just as brilliant as ever. It depressing, but lets face it that was the point, and it did do it well. The harrowing struggle came across and easily left an emotional impact. In saying that though the deeper level of Neeson's battle with faith and the pseudo-psychological importance of the poems felt a bit tacked on and could have perhaps been integrated a bit better. The wolves appearance was a bit weak, but I felt that that was forgiveable. I wasn't sold on the ending, it was the only real ending that they could have had I suppose, but that wasn't enough for me to like it. I choose to remember the ending differently, the only other possible ending for it - Obama parachutes in armed with a flame-thrower and missile launcher, deals with the wolves and hi-fives with Neeson, all done to the theme of team america and saves the day. That's how I chose to remember it. Expand
  88. Jun 17, 2012
    3
    Awful! A Hollywood studio obviously stamped Neeson's name on this one to guarantee covering it's costs. Glad it was a red box! Unrealistic from start to finish. What a waste of money and resources. No knife edge survival of the fittest drama, just lots of very uninspiring metaphors and cliche melancholy. Come on Liam your better than this. Who are these film critics giving The Grey a 6.6Awful! A Hollywood studio obviously stamped Neeson's name on this one to guarantee covering it's costs. Glad it was a red box! Unrealistic from start to finish. What a waste of money and resources. No knife edge survival of the fittest drama, just lots of very uninspiring metaphors and cliche melancholy. Come on Liam your better than this. Who are these film critics giving The Grey a 6.6 anyway??? Expand
  89. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    Without a doubt the worst movie I've seen this year. In this scify epic, Liam Nesson takes on a planet infested with ultra-smart superwolves while contemplating the philosophical meaning of death. The wolves demonstrate their ability to ambush in flawless battle-line formations, make an incredible ammount of noise in the woods, repell down clifs and viciously seek human blood withWithout a doubt the worst movie I've seen this year. In this scify epic, Liam Nesson takes on a planet infested with ultra-smart superwolves while contemplating the philosophical meaning of death. The wolves demonstrate their ability to ambush in flawless battle-line formations, make an incredible ammount of noise in the woods, repell down clifs and viciously seek human blood with historically uncharacteristic flair. A 12 year old child with acceas to Animal Planet could point out the shockingly unrealistic portrayal of wolves here. Expand
  90. Jun 9, 2012
    0
    Congratulations for creating a film which demonised an animal that is already been persecuted. Pricks...

    Wolves are reclusive animals which do not attack humans
  91. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This was an amazing movie! Every character played their part admirably, and watching them as they struggled together and interacted with each other really made me care for these characters. Some people may complain about the lack of a plot, but what they're missing is that this movie is about survival - finding a way out of that frozen hell and escaping the wolves. I cried some seriousThis was an amazing movie! Every character played their part admirably, and watching them as they struggled together and interacted with each other really made me care for these characters. Some people may complain about the lack of a plot, but what they're missing is that this movie is about survival - finding a way out of that frozen hell and escaping the wolves. I cried some serious manly tears at the end. My only complaint is that the wolves seemed somewhat fake at times, but if you can suspend your disbelief for those short periods, get ready for an amazing ride. Expand
  92. Apr 29, 2012
    3
    Boring, tedious, slow, long, inconsistent, gray, and again boring, tedious, slow, long, inconsistent and gray. From Taken, Liam Neeson lost his way in his career
  93. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Acting: 10- Neeson was at his best. One of the finest performances of his career. Story: 10- I was on the edge the whole movie. This movie is not a Taken. It is a methodical story about humans surviving for nothing other than just to survive. Very deep, dark, and haunting. Cinematography: 10- This movie is well shot. The plane sequence is one of the best. I honestly loved the scenes of theActing: 10- Neeson was at his best. One of the finest performances of his career. Story: 10- I was on the edge the whole movie. This movie is not a Taken. It is a methodical story about humans surviving for nothing other than just to survive. Very deep, dark, and haunting. Cinematography: 10- This movie is well shot. The plane sequence is one of the best. I honestly loved the scenes of the Alaskan wilderness. If you are a movie buff or enjoy Neeson's great acting. This is a movie to see ASAP. Expand
  94. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Although the story has been told by many movie makers, this rendition is SO superbly filmed and acted, it would stand up to any that went before it. The similarity to most of its predecessors ends, however, at the richness and depth of its dialog. Great effort by the cast and crew!
  95. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Liam Neeson may be the oldest white actor capable of playing the tough guy without being the old tough guy. Throughout The Grey he does what he can to lead plane crash survivors through the frozen tundra of Alaska, and no one questions his age. Director Joe Carnahan takes the audience into a bleak lifestyle amid the Alaskan pipeline. Ottway (Neeson) makes it through with flashbacks of hisLiam Neeson may be the oldest white actor capable of playing the tough guy without being the old tough guy. Throughout The Grey he does what he can to lead plane crash survivors through the frozen tundra of Alaska, and no one questions his age. Director Joe Carnahan takes the audience into a bleak lifestyle amid the Alaskan pipeline. Ottway (Neeson) makes it through with flashbacks of his wife and a chilling voice over. The crash is shown from within the plane and avoids many of the common theatrics. No one is clearly shown being sucked out. For that matter most of the visual effects cast a less than ideal lighting circumstance, which drives home the motif. Injuries, freezing winds, and a lack of food are enough foes for any survivors, but our heroes are being pursued by wolfs. I'm not suggesting that it's impossible, but the behavior of these creatures puts on quite the show. They've certainly seen Halloween. Credulity is also being pushed to limits when the standards line such as "who made you the leader" have to be muttered and one hothead fancies a brawl. Of course Neeson's dominance of the narrative makes him a safe bet, and his buddies a risk. As the film wears on I wanted to buy these blokes more time. Despite how simple the premise I'm sure I could have been entertained for 3 hours. Maybe if the other guys had more spotlight scenes they wouldn't feel so much like Ottway's human shields. The story is simple enough that a big reveal at the end is somehow more effective for the sake that no one was waiting for it. This isn't mystery. What The Grey manages to do with the underexplored is leave the viewer with less question and more statements. The Grey is a man's movie. Fatigue and despair translate with the same forceful impact of the physical blows the survivors endure. It's also a perfect example as to why one should wait for the monk's reward at the end of the credits. Expand
  96. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    a very dissapointing story of survival..its dissapointing to the sense that for less than 2 hours of watching it is pointless though good acting for Liam Neeson...depressing movie
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 1, 2012
    78
    The film is an intelligent study of the will to live. It's so strong that even a suicidal man rises to the occasion.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 31, 2012
    75
    There's an almost poetic quality to the way things develop, with characters becoming increasingly introspective.
  3. 50
    Neeson's gravity elevates the action, and there's a fine, prickly performance by an actor new to me, Frank Grillo, as the asshole of the group. But The Grey, despite moments of sublimity, is as predictable as a funeral. When Ottway angrily calls out to God, the nonanswer is sadly redundant.