User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 380 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 380

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2014
    10
    The best movie I have ever seen. At first I thought that this movie was going to be your average survivor movie, I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie's engaging plot, incredible music and fantastic dialogue complete engulf you this movie. With one of my personal favorite endings this movie leaves you thinking but completely satisfied. In my opinion this is truly the best movie of all time.
  2. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    absolutely loved this painfully beautiful exposition on facing fear and death. The elemental earth of wind snow and fire. The power of human society over the individual, however the acknowledgement that we are to face death alone although fortified by the few we have loved.The music is scored wonderfully appropriately adding a foreboding to the beautifully bleak vistas of Arctic Canada.absolutely loved this painfully beautiful exposition on facing fear and death. The elemental earth of wind snow and fire. The power of human society over the individual, however the acknowledgement that we are to face death alone although fortified by the few we have loved.The music is scored wonderfully appropriately adding a foreboding to the beautifully bleak vistas of Arctic Canada. Liam Neeson has the gravitas. Brought me to tears, the heroism in this film, but not mindless, hard earned and with fear.
    Existentialism par Excellence
    Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    The story is really interesting and the acting is really good.There is not a lot of action but the story and the characters are really interesting and that's why we can watch it without getting bored.
  4. May 8, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The grey is a film that may have gone over the heads of most people that watched it. Particularly when you look at the completely silly reviews that refer to the wolves behavior as being "unrealistic." Well you couldn't have missed the point of the film harder if you tried. The Grey is a metaphor, how men deal with that shattering loss of others and themselves. How death is unfair, how it can come without any warning, and how even a strong willed person eventually succumbs to it no matter what they do to fight it off. The men in the story are all powerful characters who struggle to survive and live, its not about barbaric serial killer-like wolves in a frozen tundra wasteland hell hole chasing them down one by one. The wolves are symbolic. Each man faced a different death and their is some theories that suggest that they all died in the plane crash, which suggests that they were in a kind of purgatory as well. It is one of those films that really makes you wonder and even ask yourself: "Why?" Its a painful film, full of merciless deaths, some men are able to come to terms with their end, while others have their lives stolen away by the elements almost without meaning or reason. Even the main character, a man with the strongest will amongst all of them can't save the men under his command or himself from inevitable death. It is a bleak film, with wonderful cinematography, brutally violent imagery, wonderful performances, and yet a real message embedded within its ambiguous ending sequence. You can fight death with every last strength in your body, but eventually it will win. I feel that it was a film most audiences had trouble relating to, understanding, and perhaps it may have not appealed as a philosophical piece simply because of its morbid content alone. In years to come, I hope its revisited and given its proper place as one of the best films of this decade. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    Not how I was expecting at all. I went in assuming it was another badass Liam Neeson Taken sort of movie but it was far from that. In a lot of ways it felt close to being a horror movie which to me is not at all a complaint but got me into it more. It is very well acted and the cinematography is fantastic. I really felt as if this was actually happening and these people were really inNot how I was expecting at all. I went in assuming it was another badass Liam Neeson Taken sort of movie but it was far from that. In a lot of ways it felt close to being a horror movie which to me is not at all a complaint but got me into it more. It is very well acted and the cinematography is fantastic. I really felt as if this was actually happening and these people were really in great danger. One of Liam Neesons best performances in my books. Highly recommended. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    2
    Definitely not for young children. I saw this movie and I freaked out myself. I barely got to have my eyes open. A plane crashes in the middle of Alaska right in the middle of the gray wolf's hunting zone.one by one someone got eaten. honestly i did not understand this movie because instead of going to get out of the hunting zone they walked farther into it which is more dangerous. youDefinitely not for young children. I saw this movie and I freaked out myself. I barely got to have my eyes open. A plane crashes in the middle of Alaska right in the middle of the gray wolf's hunting zone.one by one someone got eaten. honestly i did not understand this movie because instead of going to get out of the hunting zone they walked farther into it which is more dangerous. you never know when the wolves will come so its one of those all of the sudden someone is dead. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    7
    The grey is a decently executed survival movie which initially promises the possibility of a masterpiece with early scenes but becomes too uneven along the way. Like many critics have said, the movie can be very poetic and introspective, and the cinematography is very pretty. The wolf attacks start out being pretty scary. They're brutal and fill the film with undeniable tension, butThe grey is a decently executed survival movie which initially promises the possibility of a masterpiece with early scenes but becomes too uneven along the way. Like many critics have said, the movie can be very poetic and introspective, and the cinematography is very pretty. The wolf attacks start out being pretty scary. They're brutal and fill the film with undeniable tension, but eventually they start being presented in a cleche way. The attacks become too often, and the wolves themselves are used too much like Hollywood monsters. This starts to compete with the higher, more artistic sensibilities in the movie instead of enhancing them. This is also definitely one of the bleakest films I have ever seen, with a nihilistic agenda I absolutely disagree with. However, Liam Nieson gives a great performance as always, and I can't deny that overall it's a gritty, gripping movie which is way better than most movies that come out in January. In fact, it might be one of the best January releases ever. Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Now I was going to give this movie a 7 but I realized the ending was good and every time I think of this movie I like it more and those are good movies the ones every time you think about it it gets better so watch heck buy it on blu ray
  9. May 4, 2013
    5
    Weird movie, and by weird i mean a movie that make no freaking sense at all no matter how you slice it, the wolves are completely unnatural and have superpowers
  10. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    The Grey is very very brutal, which makes this film a good white knuckle thriller. Liam Neeson is tremendously good and the plot is very thrilling as it thickens but the film does have some Cliches story wise. The story wasn't compelling to any other film, which is good but The Grey needed some help in story writing. Overall, this taunt thriller is good for a Friday night.
  11. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This movie was great everything was great.everyone performance was great.the story was great but i didn't understood what happened in the end so i am recommending on seeing this movie
  12. Feb 17, 2013
    6
    Liam Neeson's performance is decent. The plot of the movie in the long run becomes repetitive and the film loses entertainment, but a sufficient movie that shows the more sensitive side of humanity.
  13. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    The Grey was a somewhat memorable and unique movie that left me felling deflated. I found the premise (attempting to survive against all odds) and setting (a barren cold wasteland) interesting. However, the overall execution was a little underwhelming for me. I was also disappointed in the ending, even though I can understand why some people might like it. The movie succeeded in getting meThe Grey was a somewhat memorable and unique movie that left me felling deflated. I found the premise (attempting to survive against all odds) and setting (a barren cold wasteland) interesting. However, the overall execution was a little underwhelming for me. I was also disappointed in the ending, even though I can understand why some people might like it. The movie succeeded in getting me to wonder how they were going to make it out of their ordeal. However, the overall tone of their struggle left me with a negative tension throughout. Expand
  14. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Good flick. I wasn't really expecting what I got.... and I'm totally okay with that. This was a thinking man's action movie. It provided more than enough suspense and also had moments of great insight. The cinematography alone was worth price of admission (check it out on netflix). Overall, A very pleasant surprise.
  15. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    The feel bad movie of the year. While I would never dislike a movie based on it being depressing alone, I never feel like The Grey earns the emotional punches that it throws. This film is well acted and shot very well, you may actually feel cold while watching this film there is such a strong sense of atmosphere. While I understand that the wolves are meant to mirror a lot of the themes inThe feel bad movie of the year. While I would never dislike a movie based on it being depressing alone, I never feel like The Grey earns the emotional punches that it throws. This film is well acted and shot very well, you may actually feel cold while watching this film there is such a strong sense of atmosphere. While I understand that the wolves are meant to mirror a lot of the themes in this film, I ultimately feel that everything they contribute could be done by simply using the elements. The reason this matters to me is because most of the havoc that the wolves are causing ring false to me and take away from the characters who need to be fleshed out much more than they ever are. In the end I think that is what keeps this movie that is trying to say a lot about life from saying much of anything at all. Expand
  16. Dec 5, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If anyone had had tried to convince me to watch a film about a group of men fighting for survival after a plane crash in the dead of winter in Alaska while a pack of wolves were on the hunt, I would have laughed in their face. With that being said, I thought this was a really good film! Thrilling, emotional, well-written, solid performances, action, humor, tonal cinematography, The Grey delivered! Also, it was surprisingly deep and had some interesting characters. Many people will likely hate the ending, but I actually thought it was perfect. Expand
  17. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    "The Grey" is an absolutely fantastic film - as beautiful and poetic as it is grim and unforgiving. Liam Neeson leads a group of survivors after their plane crashes in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, and before long they find themselves in a brutal struggle against a clan of relentless wolves. This was marketed mostly as an action survival picture, which is highly misleading - it is"The Grey" is an absolutely fantastic film - as beautiful and poetic as it is grim and unforgiving. Liam Neeson leads a group of survivors after their plane crashes in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, and before long they find themselves in a brutal struggle against a clan of relentless wolves. This was marketed mostly as an action survival picture, which is highly misleading - it is neither action nor survival, but rather an existential portrait. It showcases a small band of engaging and sometimes mysterious characters, and as time progresses and their numbers dwindle, the cloud of death looms ever darker above them, and they must each in their own way confront it. Their responses range from heartfelt, to tragic, to calm acceptance, and is quite the graceful psychological study. Of course, the movie's ultimate tale is of a man who goes down fighting, even though he has absolutely nothing left to fight for, and is an incredibly moving testament to how important life and existence themselves are to us, and that even in our darkest hours, there is still a darker hour before us that we might fear above all else. It's as an inspiring film as it is depressing, and a truly wonderful gem that well deserves a good long look. Expand
  18. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This movie is the wolf version of Jaws. The wolves were unrealistic which is the biggest flaw in the movie but the film is so tense and feels so powerful that it was worth the watch. The acting was amazing and the cinematography was stellar as well. Overall, get ready for the most intense movie in years.
  19. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    "The Grey" is a 2012 movie directed by Joe Carnahan and starring Liam Neeson. The film is about a oil rigging team that tries to survive the harsh Alaskan wildlife after their plane crashes. Let me start off by saying that Joe Carnahan has been a hit or miss director for me. He usually specializes in high octane and stylized action flicks. Movies like "The A-Team", and "Smokin' Aces" look"The Grey" is a 2012 movie directed by Joe Carnahan and starring Liam Neeson. The film is about a oil rigging team that tries to survive the harsh Alaskan wildlife after their plane crashes. Let me start off by saying that Joe Carnahan has been a hit or miss director for me. He usually specializes in high octane and stylized action flicks. Movies like "The A-Team", and "Smokin' Aces" look cool, but they fail to impress me on an intellectual level. Now, here we have "The Grey". This movie is a departure from Joe Carnahan's style. . .in a good way. This movie is toned down to a much more believable level and it has substance. A great script that has not only great dialogue and characters, but this movie's script possesses very deep philosophical and poignant moments. I walked into this film feeling that my heart strings wouldn't be threatened. This movie tugged at them up a great deal. Liam Neeson gives the best performance I've ever seen him give. I honestly thought that Neeson would be the typical badarse he's been fond of playing as of late, but his character (and all of the other as well) is so multi-dimensional, complex, and most importantly, real. The soundtrack is as touching as it is chilling. Joe Carnahan proved me wrong. This movie is a phenomenally entertaining, moving, thrilling piece of cinema. I implore everyone to go see it. Expand
  20. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I love Liam Neeson, great movie .
  21. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    The grey is a powerful, gut wrenching examination of existence. If the images weren't so tantalising the themes wouldn't be so affecting. The film constantly thrills drawing you away from certain of it's flaws.
  22. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Much better than average. This movie is too good for anyone who gives it a low score. Get a clue of what real story, real character is about. If the wolves aren't realistic there's a reason for that, which makes everything more haunting, more freakish, more alive than in a straight action movie.

    I thought Joe Carnahan was onto something when NARC came out, and this reinforces that
    Much better than average. This movie is too good for anyone who gives it a low score. Get a clue of what real story, real character is about. If the wolves aren't realistic there's a reason for that, which makes everything more haunting, more freakish, more alive than in a straight action movie.

    I thought Joe Carnahan was onto something when NARC came out, and this reinforces that feeling. He may be a bit full of himself and on the macho side but he's got a movie to be proud of. This is the best Neeson movie since Schindler's List.
    Expand
  23. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    Awsome movie, loved it but i dont get it why the wolves didnt group up and didnt attack them right away they were like some supernatural monsters who secretly killed them one by one.
  24. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    It shows exactly, exactly what is real. When Liam asked God for help, he meant that. However, nothing happened. That's exactly what happens in real. God doesn't do miracles. You have to do it yourself. That's my best part of this movie.
  25. Jul 22, 2012
    6
    Not what i was expecting. The trailers for this movie hinted at 'Taken' or 'Unknown' in the wilderness, but this film is nothing like your general hollywood liam neeson action movie. Its slow, gritty, and has a decidedly 'indie' feel to it, almost meditative at times, but not as bad as a Terence Malick flick. The director Joe carnahan has a knack for making very human films out of wellNot what i was expecting. The trailers for this movie hinted at 'Taken' or 'Unknown' in the wilderness, but this film is nothing like your general hollywood liam neeson action movie. Its slow, gritty, and has a decidedly 'indie' feel to it, almost meditative at times, but not as bad as a Terence Malick flick. The director Joe carnahan has a knack for making very human films out of well worn territory and this is no exception. The film starts very slowly, almost dreamlike, but follows with a very real plane crash and its aftermath, neeson and co. then have to trek through the wilderness avoiding the wolves that seem to be tracking them. The film lulls slightly here but picks up in the second half and gradually draws you in, credit to carnahan for making the situation very real and believable, with a harshness that runs right through to the end. The film has a lot of minor quibbles and is definitely not a regular mainstream watch, but caught in the right mood it has some interesting things to say and says them very well indeed. Expand
  26. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Oh man, was this movie depressing. But, it was fantastic. A movie about facing death, and how it can come at any moment. The movie teaches us to cherish one very important thing: Life itself.
  27. Jul 17, 2012
    6
    While The Grey doesn't provide us with all-too-interesting characters, it does deliver filmgoers a good survival yarn filled with gripping title-referential cinematography and the chance to see Liam Neeson punch wolves. I also felt that the philosophical tones went along surprisingly well and without them The Grey wouldn't have been as distinctive (It isn't very without them, though). TheWhile The Grey doesn't provide us with all-too-interesting characters, it does deliver filmgoers a good survival yarn filled with gripping title-referential cinematography and the chance to see Liam Neeson punch wolves. I also felt that the philosophical tones went along surprisingly well and without them The Grey wouldn't have been as distinctive (It isn't very without them, though). The film has a troubling start until the wolves arrive and it suffers from a very slow middle act. It also doesn't have characters that we like, believe, or care about, but we still hope that the idea of these men as a group could make it. On the positive side, there's Neeson, dealing out effortlessly cool machismo vibes with a hint of doggedly tired age. He is worth a glance here. Plus, as I already said, he gets to punch wolves. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 1, 2012
    78
    The film is an intelligent study of the will to live. It's so strong that even a suicidal man rises to the occasion.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 31, 2012
    75
    There's an almost poetic quality to the way things develop, with characters becoming increasingly introspective.
  3. 50
    Neeson's gravity elevates the action, and there's a fine, prickly performance by an actor new to me, Frank Grillo, as the asshole of the group. But The Grey, despite moments of sublimity, is as predictable as a funeral. When Ottway angrily calls out to God, the nonanswer is sadly redundant.