User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 379 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 379

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Closer examination of this movie seems to indicate that it is an analogy. It is really about man facing his God and his fear of death in a dignified fashion...which is what Liam Nesson does. As proof I offer the 4 line poem the main character's father wrote and posted on his wall. It is repeated several times so you can't miss it...you're not supposed to. It is the last thing Liam Neeson'sCloser examination of this movie seems to indicate that it is an analogy. It is really about man facing his God and his fear of death in a dignified fashion...which is what Liam Nesson does. As proof I offer the 4 line poem the main character's father wrote and posted on his wall. It is repeated several times so you can't miss it...you're not supposed to. It is the last thing Liam Neeson's character thinks of before....well you know. The message is quite clear. Live to fight another day, die with honor, strength, bravery and above all dignity. I think the movie was beautifully done and superbly acted. Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2012
    6
    I appreciate the spare, gritty look and feel of the movie. No, the wolves didn't look 100% realistic with Jurassic Park-style CGI, but it doesn't matter. What's here is certainly convincing enough. The relationships between the men, they way each of them reacts to the crisis, and their journey have a very real texture to them. In some way that I can't specifically articulate, it reminds meI appreciate the spare, gritty look and feel of the movie. No, the wolves didn't look 100% realistic with Jurassic Park-style CGI, but it doesn't matter. What's here is certainly convincing enough. The relationships between the men, they way each of them reacts to the crisis, and their journey have a very real texture to them. In some way that I can't specifically articulate, it reminds me a bit of Meek's Cutoff (a film I don't care for), though this film is much more entertaining. The characters are a bit flat, and given the way that some of the dialogue was written, it also reminds me of more off-the-cuff, found-footage films like Blair Witch and Paranormal 3. Which worked for me - it all sounds very natural. And as Ebert suggests, you have to sit through the credits if you want to see the final shot of the film. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    THE CONS Wolves just don't LOOK or behave like that. Period. The process of suspending my disbelief was continuously interrupted by these wolves on steroids. Kept waiting to learn they were the progeny of some escaped military experiment. That would have actually been more believable. Please stop maligning our hapless wolves (the REAL ones)! Only Neeson saved this from being a sillyTHE CONS Wolves just don't LOOK or behave like that. Period. The process of suspending my disbelief was continuously interrupted by these wolves on steroids. Kept waiting to learn they were the progeny of some escaped military experiment. That would have actually been more believable. Please stop maligning our hapless wolves (the REAL ones)! Only Neeson saved this from being a silly fairy tale. I was very highly upset by the abrupt ending. I mean, we expect to be rewarded for tagging along on a perilous journey with the characters of a suspenseful story in the first place, right? THE PROS *Great performances. Neeson at his best, as usual. *Awe-inspiring visuals of misty mountain ranges. *Crash seemed horrifically realistic. Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2012
    5
    While this movie isn't as bad as I thought it would be, it still wasn't very good. The main problem with the movie is that it was unrealistic and unconvincing. The wolves were made to be much smarter and bloodthirsty than they are in reality, and for some reason they would appear and disappear at random points in the movie. If you've ever seen Frozen, you know what I mean. The randomWhile this movie isn't as bad as I thought it would be, it still wasn't very good. The main problem with the movie is that it was unrealistic and unconvincing. The wolves were made to be much smarter and bloodthirsty than they are in reality, and for some reason they would appear and disappear at random points in the movie. If you've ever seen Frozen, you know what I mean. The random disappearance/appearance lead to more than a couple plot holes as the movie went on. And then there's the fact that a man somehow jumps across a 50 foot gap.... how? The second problem is the editing. While not terrible, throughout the movie there are flashbacks that just don't seem to make sense as to where they're placed. It felt clumsy and pretty awkward. And finally, there's the ending. While it could have been worse, it still is just not good. While cliffhangers can totally be appropriate in some cases, a survival thriller is not one genre it works particularly well for. This is one ending that will more than likely make you frustrated. There are a few positive things about this movie. The acting was fine (much to my surprise), and for the most part the script wasn't bad, minus a few absolutely absurd conversations that happen throughout the film. Think of this one as Poseidon in Alaska, though this one isn't quite as bad as Poseidon. It isn't a great movie. The Grey is a pretty bland, and even laughable at a few parts. Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    I know its only a month into the new year, but The Grey is hands down the best movie of 2012 so far and its going to be VERY hard to beat. Liam Neeson needs to be recognized as one of the best actors out there. Absolute powerful performance in a very powerful movie. The Grey will grip you and toss you around for 2 terrifying, gut wrenching, and heart pounding hours. You will love and hateI know its only a month into the new year, but The Grey is hands down the best movie of 2012 so far and its going to be VERY hard to beat. Liam Neeson needs to be recognized as one of the best actors out there. Absolute powerful performance in a very powerful movie. The Grey will grip you and toss you around for 2 terrifying, gut wrenching, and heart pounding hours. You will love and hate every minute of this movie, it's that powerful. This is the most suspenseful and terrifying movie i have seen in a long time. You will grow to have a major fear of wolves after this movie, I sure did. Plus i just have to say it, it was great to hear Liam Neeson quote "I'm going to start beating the s**t out of you in about 5 seconds" Just one of the few comedic relief moments in this amazing film. Go see this movie now, its money well spent. Just a warning, it will create a fear of wolves and potential fear of flying, but don't let that shy you away because this is a VERY good movie. 10/10 Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2012
    3
    Boring, tedious, slow, long, inconsistent, gray, and again boring, tedious, slow, long, inconsistent and gray. From Taken, Liam Neeson lost his way in his career
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    It's a fun, competently shot and directed movie that makes a few missteps. First off, this is a survival movie, but NOT a nature survival movie. The wolves aren't really killing for food or survival, there's a bunch of pompous exposition about them organizing and taunting the survivors and other crap. The wolves don't even bother eating some of the kills, the characters might as well beIt's a fun, competently shot and directed movie that makes a few missteps. First off, this is a survival movie, but NOT a nature survival movie. The wolves aren't really killing for food or survival, there's a bunch of pompous exposition about them organizing and taunting the survivors and other crap. The wolves don't even bother eating some of the kills, the characters might as well be fighting the hillbillies from Deliverance, this is NOT a nature movie. Second, some really wonky physics towards the end, from improbably jump angles off of clips to improbable getting feet stuck between rocks. Good acting and decent existential statements though, worth the time it took to watch it. Expand
  8. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    Although depressing, I never got bored. Like most survival films, it has the stereotypical cast of characters, especially the annoying one that argues constantly with the others. They never seem to be the ones that die initially. The performances are solid, but the run time seems a little long for an intense movie. For me it doesn't have the repeatability factor - I have no desire toAlthough depressing, I never got bored. Like most survival films, it has the stereotypical cast of characters, especially the annoying one that argues constantly with the others. They never seem to be the ones that die initially. The performances are solid, but the run time seems a little long for an intense movie. For me it doesn't have the repeatability factor - I have no desire to ever see the film again, but it is well made. The plane crash seems realistic, the weather makes you feel chilly, and the wolves give you goose bumps. It just seemed like I've seen it all before. Expand
  9. Jun 17, 2012
    3
    Awful! A Hollywood studio obviously stamped Neeson's name on this one to guarantee covering it's costs. Glad it was a red box! Unrealistic from start to finish. What a waste of money and resources. No knife edge survival of the fittest drama, just lots of very uninspiring metaphors and cliche melancholy. Come on Liam your better than this. Who are these film critics giving The Grey a 6.6Awful! A Hollywood studio obviously stamped Neeson's name on this one to guarantee covering it's costs. Glad it was a red box! Unrealistic from start to finish. What a waste of money and resources. No knife edge survival of the fittest drama, just lots of very uninspiring metaphors and cliche melancholy. Come on Liam your better than this. Who are these film critics giving The Grey a 6.6 anyway??? Expand
  10. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    Nothwithstanding its attempts to manifest itself atypically from others before it, "The Grey" simply relies too heavily on the shallow shoulders of its "spear-carriers," whose only raison d' etre is to dispense egregiously daft and ribald prattling upon barren expressions, while the camera spotlights Neeson and mewls for support. What one experiences is a cinematographic waste ofNothwithstanding its attempts to manifest itself atypically from others before it, "The Grey" simply relies too heavily on the shallow shoulders of its "spear-carriers," whose only raison d' etre is to dispense egregiously daft and ribald prattling upon barren expressions, while the camera spotlights Neeson and mewls for support. What one experiences is a cinematographic waste of astounding, achromatic transcendental visuals, hampered by the dragging sense of directorial indecisiveness and subpar writing. Aside from Neeson's valiant efforts to egress from his enslaved character, the film enthralls with its surprisingly fresh metaphysical overtones, and adhesive tie-ins toward the latter-half. As a result, "The Grey" is a brimmingly stern philosophical survival thriller, laden with sporadic moments of jocosity and adrenaline, yet suppressed with a taste of dissatisfied chagrin. Expand
  11. Feb 14, 2012
    3
    When the wolves had a 'personal vendetta' against the survivors i knew this was going to be one of those movies. They should have suspended all belief and make them vampire wolves.
  12. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    This is by far the best film I've seen yet in 2012. The Grey is emotionally riveting, terrifying and utterly philosophical. Where a film like "The Edge" starring Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin was about man VS. Nature, The Grey is more about man accepting Nature. The performances are terrific and the cinematography makes you feel like you're there. The surround sound and big screen makeThis is by far the best film I've seen yet in 2012. The Grey is emotionally riveting, terrifying and utterly philosophical. Where a film like "The Edge" starring Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin was about man VS. Nature, The Grey is more about man accepting Nature. The performances are terrific and the cinematography makes you feel like you're there. The surround sound and big screen make a difference at the cinema. It's rare films like The Grey make it to the theatre. Do yourself a favour and go see it. Be warned; it's not for the faint of heart. AS WELL, there is an important, albeit very short scene after the credits. Expand
  13. Jan 27, 2012
    3
    This movie started out seeming like it could actually take you somewhere. That instantly turned out to not be true. This movie had absolutely not story line or plot, it was just people running away from unrealistic wolves with no real goal in mind besides to keep running. The script for this movie could easy be fit on three pages. Other issues was there was no getting to know charactersThis movie started out seeming like it could actually take you somewhere. That instantly turned out to not be true. This movie had absolutely not story line or plot, it was just people running away from unrealistic wolves with no real goal in mind besides to keep running. The script for this movie could easy be fit on three pages. Other issues was there was no getting to know characters and the movie had no build but with a terrible ending. Expand
  14. Jul 16, 2012
    1
    Horrible movie with no understanding of how wolves act, how planes crash, how people act, how humans live in sub zero temperatures and possibly the worst sound in the history of recorded sound. There isn't one redeeming quality to this unless maybe if it was on a screen and provided you with light in a dark room.
  15. Mar 11, 2012
    2
    I don't care that the wolves were unbelievable, but I can see how people might have wanted something more authentic given the "grounded in reality" feel from the beginning. I take issue with the time devoted to showing Nesson's poetic, self loathing suicidal inner monologues. I swear there's 20 minutes of the same shot of -him in bed, then starring at the damn suicide note, then starringI don't care that the wolves were unbelievable, but I can see how people might have wanted something more authentic given the "grounded in reality" feel from the beginning. I take issue with the time devoted to showing Nesson's poetic, self loathing suicidal inner monologues. I swear there's 20 minutes of the same shot of -him in bed, then starring at the damn suicide note, then starring at a wolf- about 4 times in the movie. The ending is letdown, I'm sure the people making the movie thought it was epic, but he's fighting against wolves, not the English Army. Expand
  16. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    The Grey is a very well shot, minimalist-written survivalist story where some very good actors face the Alaskan Wilderness and CGI wolves. Joe Carnahan gives the movie an existential edge, where the fierce weather serves as a back drop for some high integrity acting and metaphysical contemplation when a team of Oil Workers survive a plane crash only to face a pack of wolves. Poetic,The Grey is a very well shot, minimalist-written survivalist story where some very good actors face the Alaskan Wilderness and CGI wolves. Joe Carnahan gives the movie an existential edge, where the fierce weather serves as a back drop for some high integrity acting and metaphysical contemplation when a team of Oil Workers survive a plane crash only to face a pack of wolves. Poetic, Romantic, Contemplative - and in most sequences, a lot of fun. The weakest thing in the movie is the wolves. Expand
  17. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    I have experienced things in life that taught me to never say "can not be worse than that!" Because I know that in general a fan of horror movies knows can.Every they see. If you confuse what happens in movies like "things that never happen to me", well, you learn.

    As the gray will open in the cold, the desolation Liam Neeson appears as a man with a dream of life without lies, without
    I have experienced things in life that taught me to never say "can not be worse than that!" Because I know that in general a fan of horror movies knows can.Every they see. If you confuse what happens in movies like "things that never happen to me", well, you learn.

    As the gray will open in the cold, the desolation Liam Neeson appears as a man with a dream of life without lies, without illusions.The reasons are not obvious. There is a sniper hired to protect workers against the oil platforms to frequent attacks of wolves, and draw only when fully necessary.He aspects of enough animals to meet their human companions is much dangers.His less admiration, at least in the works. They lose the real world, they deserve to be in the difficult conditions, he chose to be in.

    On a routine flight to return to the civilization of the plane crashes, literally, in the middle nowhere.The sound editors and technicians have done a fantastic job with this film, you feel so close to everything that is possible without there.Real be representations of accident victims and the cold, cold is a character full own.That would endanger his life.

    Then, struck with the true primary fear.The most of us have forgotten in our long journey up the food chain. The line between our world and the 911 safety and mental health, and complete the paris are open, not save you, but the world is very thin.

    He learns the hard way that the plane crashed into the world of the wolf and not to be.

    Having some knowledge of animals, but not much more than he hastens to live and protect what remains of humanity in this implacable.

    The survivors try to cope as well as you or I could, and are on whenever terribly strained.

    The gray is real, raw, scary and so good to be grateful for all aspects of your life.Neeson is at his best when he attacks everything that man and fears of nature, and is a cinematic experience.
    hydronite.com
    Expand
  18. Jan 28, 2012
    2
    The Grey was absolutely not entertaining. Someone owes me two hours of my life back....because this movie sucked. The only good part was when the guys jumped off the cliff into the trees. As I'm writing this I feel as though there's something missing.....oh, yea....a good movie....because this just wasn't it.
  19. Feb 1, 2012
    0
    Dark and depressing movie with no redemptive value. Focuses on suicide and hopelessness with no answers forthcoming. I have no idea why they made this movie. The folks in the audience where I saw the movie couldn't wait to leave when the movie ended. I never saw an audience clear out so quickly. This movie makes you want to relate to the wolves rather then the trespassing humans who argueDark and depressing movie with no redemptive value. Focuses on suicide and hopelessness with no answers forthcoming. I have no idea why they made this movie. The folks in the audience where I saw the movie couldn't wait to leave when the movie ended. I never saw an audience clear out so quickly. This movie makes you want to relate to the wolves rather then the trespassing humans who argue and stumble to their grisly deaths. Only good aspect is the nice scenery... Expand
  20. Feb 5, 2012
    0
    Absolutely no credibility...in a movie that was supposed to be realistic. Everyone in the theater left stunned at the abrupt end, but happy it was over. I can't even light my fireplace, yet these arctic plane-wreck victims had ever-ready tiki torches and found perfectly cut wood for "spears" at their disposal. One jumped over a river ravine into a tree on the opposite bank to string a lineAbsolutely no credibility...in a movie that was supposed to be realistic. Everyone in the theater left stunned at the abrupt end, but happy it was over. I can't even light my fireplace, yet these arctic plane-wreck victims had ever-ready tiki torches and found perfectly cut wood for "spears" at their disposal. One jumped over a river ravine into a tree on the opposite bank to string a line for the rest to shimmy across. They're in a blizzard, and then the sun's out an all of them are fine. Liam 's drenched in a river and soon after appears dry, let alone not frozen! And, why would they ever leave the plane to walk the vast wilderness of Alaska like needles in a huge haystack. Hunker down boys, build a little hut so those wolves don't get you, pile up the bodies and eat them if need be. Seems more prudent. Remember you had all that jet fuel so easily accessible (another ridiculous moment) at the crash site to help heat, eat and keep those wolves at bay. After all, the wolves were EVERYWHERE in the end. A lot ventured, nothing gained... on the screen and for viewers. PLEASE...just ridiculous in every respect!â Expand
  21. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    This movie had absolutely no redeeming qualities. I would say the fact that the movie ended would have risen my rating to a 1. However the ending was so terrible that a point had to be negated. I debated farting in the theater and walking out, but stuck through to the end only to endure the utter disappointment.
  22. Mar 6, 2012
    2
    I will give this movie a 2/10 because I'm sure if I think hard enough I could bring to mind worse movies. There simply were no redeeming qualities to this movie. Inconceivable plot where one almost feels that the writer just gave up and went to another scene. This movie was a money making scheme. Built around a decent trailer, the whole plot was a mishmash of nonsense. Anybody who thoughtI will give this movie a 2/10 because I'm sure if I think hard enough I could bring to mind worse movies. There simply were no redeeming qualities to this movie. Inconceivable plot where one almost feels that the writer just gave up and went to another scene. This movie was a money making scheme. Built around a decent trailer, the whole plot was a mishmash of nonsense. Anybody who thought this was a good movie is either a philistine or they can suspend their disbelief far beyond anything I'm capable of. Expand
  23. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thought any Liam Neeson film would be a good action movie! Very depressing, They all should have been frozen to death with the light clothing they wore in the very cold climate! If you decide to go and watch all hunted and eaten by giant wolves, be sure you stay to see the secret scene after all the credits roll off the screen. Seems there could be a sequel after all, since maybe one of them actually survived the ordeal! It there is a sequel, I will certainly wait for it to hit the dollar movie or the dollar Redbox rental for fear it would be as sorry a movie as this one was! ......... You would think they would be required to provide free popcorn and drinks for all who sit through this movie so you might come close to getting your money's worth! Sorry Liam! I've seen you in some good movies but this is certainly not one of them! Expand
  24. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    Loved this movie. It had something for everyone. Action lover? Its got that, and if u love story, and drama, its got abit of that. Unlike 80% of all movies, it is completely unpredictable. Things twist, and happen at random alot.. Also very bloody. Im sure you have heard alot of griping about the end. Forget it. But you have to watch the credits. All those who gripe didnt.... And evenLoved this movie. It had something for everyone. Action lover? Its got that, and if u love story, and drama, its got abit of that. Unlike 80% of all movies, it is completely unpredictable. Things twist, and happen at random alot.. Also very bloody. Im sure you have heard alot of griping about the end. Forget it. But you have to watch the credits. All those who gripe didnt.... And even then, many werent satisfied with the ending. I was, and just leave an open mind about the ending. Once agian, it was great. Expand
  25. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Good flick. I wasn't really expecting what I got.... and I'm totally okay with that. This was a thinking man's action movie. It provided more than enough suspense and also had moments of great insight. The cinematography alone was worth price of admission (check it out on netflix). Overall, A very pleasant surprise.
  26. Feb 2, 2012
    7
    This is a darkly told and darkly shot story about the fate of survivors of an air crash in Alsaka hunted by wolves. Only one of them is an expert at wolves and hunting (LIam Neeson, of course) so he becomes the alpha male, after putting down all challenges. Yep it's a metaphor, and it predicts the ending. He's suicidal and depressed, and recently widowered, but the survival trek gives himThis is a darkly told and darkly shot story about the fate of survivors of an air crash in Alsaka hunted by wolves. Only one of them is an expert at wolves and hunting (LIam Neeson, of course) so he becomes the alpha male, after putting down all challenges. Yep it's a metaphor, and it predicts the ending. He's suicidal and depressed, and recently widowered, but the survival trek gives him a goal. The wolf attacks are often lighning fast and full of ear splitting growling and snarling which serve to keep the audience awake. The director teases by making the attacks occur randomly and unpredicably, and for a change the ending is unpredictable (although I did predict accurately the 2 last survivors, I couldn't rest on my laurels). If you want to enjoy the movie don't ask yourself if the wolves behavior is accurate. Expand
  27. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    This was a very entertaining movie. One of my favorites so far this year. Great story, cinematography, and just enough violence to keep your juices flowing...
  28. Mar 9, 2012
    6
    People trying to escape from a pack of wolves through extreme weather conditions are great ingredients for a nailbiting thriller and produce surpisingly beautiful cinematography. 117 minutes of people being chased by a pack of wolves in extreme difficult weather conditions give plenty of time for the suspense to wear off and become fed up with the cinematography.
  29. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    Good movie, the wolves created a good deal of suspense. A real survival story that borders on the super-natural. I would of stayed with the plane though. The could of forged weapons from the debris of the plane.
  30. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    After a harrowing plane crash a group of men (lead by Liam Neeson) is stranded in the middle of a frozen wasteland. They struggle to survive against extreme weather, physical injuries and a pack of wolves. The action is swift and jarring, without being too graphic. Unlike what you'd expect, the tension actually slows as the film progresses. Too much time is spent creating sympatheticAfter a harrowing plane crash a group of men (lead by Liam Neeson) is stranded in the middle of a frozen wasteland. They struggle to survive against extreme weather, physical injuries and a pack of wolves. The action is swift and jarring, without being too graphic. Unlike what you'd expect, the tension actually slows as the film progresses. Too much time is spent creating sympathetic characters, when all we care about is who's next to die and how. Still, it's thoroughly involving and damn suspenseful. Expand
  31. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    Great movie about survival and how harsh nature really is. The lack of Liam Neeson kicking @$$ and taking names and the lack of over CGIed scenes is extremely refreshing in an industry that has been overrun with thrillers. This is not an action movie like a lot of Liam's recent films. The Grey is a somewhat survival horror movie with a lot of drama. You will be surprised and you will mostGreat movie about survival and how harsh nature really is. The lack of Liam Neeson kicking @$$ and taking names and the lack of over CGIed scenes is extremely refreshing in an industry that has been overrun with thrillers. This is not an action movie like a lot of Liam's recent films. The Grey is a somewhat survival horror movie with a lot of drama. You will be surprised and you will most likely cry at many points in this film. My only complaint about this movie is the fact that the wolves sort of act out of character from what I know about wolves, their habits might seem inconsistent to some survival experts, but that is such a minor complaint it really doesn't matter. Enjoy the film because it's really good. Expand
  32. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible. How can any filmmaker present this to an audience ? I knew after 15 seconds that this would be a sucker, the initial fight in the bar was so badly acted, you knew it could get only worse. I know nothing about wolves, but I know that wolves ALWAYS attack in packs, so the initial scene where he kills a lone wolf is absolutely ridiculous. The entire plane crash was completely out of this world: how could he just walk away without even a scratch ? In addition, do producers never learn that reflective moments should be used extremely sparse, if at all ? Because they put you asleep... Expand
  33. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    A fantastic movie about man's will and fight to survive. The acting is top notch and believable, the characters are fleshed out, and the cast is fantastic. The story is grim from the very beginning, and your introduced to Neeson's character who is an extremely depressed man. Honestly that's all I want to say as I don't want to spoil anything, I do however want to recommend you watchingA fantastic movie about man's will and fight to survive. The acting is top notch and believable, the characters are fleshed out, and the cast is fantastic. The story is grim from the very beginning, and your introduced to Neeson's character who is an extremely depressed man. Honestly that's all I want to say as I don't want to spoil anything, I do however want to recommend you watching this. I do have complaints, at times it's slightly predictable, and do to my religious views I'm not cool with the main character openly cursing God, and how the movie predicts God as not being there, but again that is just do to my religious views, and I honestly can't say that if I had been through what he had been through I wouldn't have done the exact same thing. But I still highly enjoyed the movie and do recommend. It's truly outstanding and unlike anything I've ever watched before. Expand
  34. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    Great survival movie and Liam Neeson gives brilliant performance. Gritty and tough to watch in places but has a great message about what drives people to survive in bad situations. About keeping memories of those we love with us no matter what. However if you don't want to read too much into the movie there are lots of tense scenes to keep you entertained.
  35. Feb 4, 2012
    4
    While the first fifteen minutes of this grim tale are adequate, the film quickly
    degenerates into preposterous behavior by the ensemble, resulting in a fairly dull gore-laced film.
  36. Apr 1, 2012
    4
    Rotten Tomatoes said that The Grey is an exciting tale of survival, populated with fleshed-out characters and a surprising philosophical agenda. But I don't think so or survival thing is not my agenda?
  37. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    If this plane had crashed in Finland, they'd have had five bars on every cell phone, and been surrounded by reindeer. It's all about location, location, location! Liam's his charming/gritty/quiet tough guy self leading a batch of plane crash survivors onward... The "keep moving" philosophy always seems like a good idea even if it doesn't play out that way. Scary wolves. BeautifulIf this plane had crashed in Finland, they'd have had five bars on every cell phone, and been surrounded by reindeer. It's all about location, location, location! Liam's his charming/gritty/quiet tough guy self leading a batch of plane crash survivors onward... The "keep moving" philosophy always seems like a good idea even if it doesn't play out that way. Scary wolves. Beautiful scenery. And enough substance to fuel a variety of post movie conversations about what you would do in similar circumstances. Expand
  38. Jun 9, 2012
    0
    Congratulations for creating a film which demonised an animal that is already been persecuted. Pricks...

    Wolves are reclusive animals which do not attack humans
  39. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This was an amazing movie! Every character played their part admirably, and watching them as they struggled together and interacted with each other really made me care for these characters. Some people may complain about the lack of a plot, but what they're missing is that this movie is about survival - finding a way out of that frozen hell and escaping the wolves. I cried some seriousThis was an amazing movie! Every character played their part admirably, and watching them as they struggled together and interacted with each other really made me care for these characters. Some people may complain about the lack of a plot, but what they're missing is that this movie is about survival - finding a way out of that frozen hell and escaping the wolves. I cried some serious manly tears at the end. My only complaint is that the wolves seemed somewhat fake at times, but if you can suspend your disbelief for those short periods, get ready for an amazing ride. Expand
  40. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    rolled my eyes a few times. it actually hurt, i rolled them really hard. started talking about god and stuff. ehh....no real deep powerful insights on that front. i'd prefer if the dialogue hadn't ventured into its shallow metaphysical depths. lots of cliches.

    the best thing the movie has going for it is the horror-genre like killings. they are almost all pop-outs, but still give
    rolled my eyes a few times. it actually hurt, i rolled them really hard. started talking about god and stuff. ehh....no real deep powerful insights on that front. i'd prefer if the dialogue hadn't ventured into its shallow metaphysical depths. lots of cliches.

    the best thing the movie has going for it is the horror-genre like killings. they are almost all pop-outs, but still give you the rush that you pay for at the ticket counter. as a pure shock based thriller, you could do much worse than The Grey. but The Grey hopes to be more than that, and it slides by as an above average shock-thriller. but not above average. i could have used more wolf chases and bumps in the night. they should just gone full horror. note to self: if ever stuck in a forest surrounded by wolves just start a **** fire! wolves can't stand fire. doesn't matter how many of them there are, or how few of you....or that they were chasing you all the way into the woods to kill you and your friends. as long as you can quickly start a fire, you're good.
    Expand
  41. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    One of the best films of the year! Liam Nesson, in one of his best roles to date, plays a rough, hard-nosed, scrappy, tough, kick-ass and yet subdued role in this film. He is quiet and focused exactly when he needs to be. All the performances are good and the cinematography is awe-inspiring. There is not a dull moment in this film. It exhibits truth and the harsh reality of these menOne of the best films of the year! Liam Nesson, in one of his best roles to date, plays a rough, hard-nosed, scrappy, tough, kick-ass and yet subdued role in this film. He is quiet and focused exactly when he needs to be. All the performances are good and the cinematography is awe-inspiring. There is not a dull moment in this film. It exhibits truth and the harsh reality of these men coming to terms with their lives in one of the most harsh climates man has ever seen. The wolves are truly terrifying, and they are certainly an integral part of this story. Expand
  42. May 8, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The grey is a film that may have gone over the heads of most people that watched it. Particularly when you look at the completely silly reviews that refer to the wolves behavior as being "unrealistic." Well you couldn't have missed the point of the film harder if you tried. The Grey is a metaphor, how men deal with that shattering loss of others and themselves. How death is unfair, how it can come without any warning, and how even a strong willed person eventually succumbs to it no matter what they do to fight it off. The men in the story are all powerful characters who struggle to survive and live, its not about barbaric serial killer-like wolves in a frozen tundra wasteland hell hole chasing them down one by one. The wolves are symbolic. Each man faced a different death and their is some theories that suggest that they all died in the plane crash, which suggests that they were in a kind of purgatory as well. It is one of those films that really makes you wonder and even ask yourself: "Why?" Its a painful film, full of merciless deaths, some men are able to come to terms with their end, while others have their lives stolen away by the elements almost without meaning or reason. Even the main character, a man with the strongest will amongst all of them can't save the men under his command or himself from inevitable death. It is a bleak film, with wonderful cinematography, brutally violent imagery, wonderful performances, and yet a real message embedded within its ambiguous ending sequence. You can fight death with every last strength in your body, but eventually it will win. I feel that it was a film most audiences had trouble relating to, understanding, and perhaps it may have not appealed as a philosophical piece simply because of its morbid content alone. In years to come, I hope its revisited and given its proper place as one of the best films of this decade. Expand
  43. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    The grey is a powerful, gut wrenching examination of existence. If the images weren't so tantalising the themes wouldn't be so affecting. The film constantly thrills drawing you away from certain of it's flaws.
  44. Feb 22, 2012
    7
    This is a movie worth watching ... but don't spend the time and money at the movies. Once it is out for home consumption, and you haven't got anything else driving you crazy to watch, then this will be worth your time. The story is good, although a little disappointing at the very end. It is in some ways a fatalistic movie, but manages to inspire you as well. See it, but when the time is right.
  45. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    This movie was fantastic. The actors all portrayed their respective characters quite well, and although a tad bit predictable at times, there were enough surprises and thrills to push you to the edge of your seat and care if the characters lived or died. It was a bit heavy on the existential angst that was sometimes out of place, but overall it just helped develop the characters and give aThis movie was fantastic. The actors all portrayed their respective characters quite well, and although a tad bit predictable at times, there were enough surprises and thrills to push you to the edge of your seat and care if the characters lived or died. It was a bit heavy on the existential angst that was sometimes out of place, but overall it just helped develop the characters and give a meaningful back story in between the action packed escape scenes through the tundra. The wolves, though unrealistically vicious, were necessarily so, in order to provide more danger and excitement. Overall, an action-packed thriller with sufficient character development and surprises to keep you interested. Collapse
  46. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Spoilers.

    This on my top 10 movies of the year. I loved the flow of the movie and Liam Nesson is one of the best actors of all time. The ending sucked because it kept you wondering did he die or did he live.
  47. Jan 30, 2012
    0
    Extremely disappointed with this movie. Very few times do I feel the urge to write a review. There were a lot of inconsistencies with the plot. Jumping into a tree? COME ON! A lot of build up in this movie to a weak ending. I was deceived into thinking this was "Taken" with wolves. I didn't relate with any of the characters in the movie and was glad as the wolves picked them off one byExtremely disappointed with this movie. Very few times do I feel the urge to write a review. There were a lot of inconsistencies with the plot. Jumping into a tree? COME ON! A lot of build up in this movie to a weak ending. I was deceived into thinking this was "Taken" with wolves. I didn't relate with any of the characters in the movie and was glad as the wolves picked them off one by one. Also I find it hard to believe that a band of rednecks couldn't find any weapons or defend themselves. Even Sarah Palin kills wolves. A movie like this does not make me shed a tear about wolf conservation. A classic survival film with a satisfying ending would be, " The Edge". Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin survive and KILL A GRIZZLY! Come on Neeson! The Grey made me want to chokeslam a wolf, but then I thought about how humans bred the wolf to make the chihuahua breed and that made me smile. Expand
  48. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    The Grey is a movie like nothing I've ever seen before. It's gritty and dark and the movie portrays the overall dismal tone very well through: character conversations, setting, and suspense. The movie is very well done, with only the blemish being the CGI wolves that seem to feel cheap. Other than that, the movie is great. Dialog conveys most of the story, although what is told isThe Grey is a movie like nothing I've ever seen before. It's gritty and dark and the movie portrays the overall dismal tone very well through: character conversations, setting, and suspense. The movie is very well done, with only the blemish being the CGI wolves that seem to feel cheap. Other than that, the movie is great. Dialog conveys most of the story, although what is told is short and vague, it manages to give you an overarching background to the characters that is mostly complete. The movie does a really good job of pulling you in and keeping your interest until the conclusion. The characters were somewhat stereotypical, but not over-the-top. The language was controlled and wasn't overdone, and I didn't feel like their was random expletives added for laughs. The survival aspect was very cool, and Liam Neeson's character is Oscar-worthy. This movie deserves to be nominated as best movie, best character, and best sound design. Although, it wouldn't be nominated for best CGI; it wasn't the worst I have seen. Overall, a great story with spotty CGI and amazing setting. The setup to the final scene is perfect, and the way the movie ends (maybe will disappoint some), was just perfect in my opinion. First movie to WOW me in 2012.

    Story - 8/10
    CGI - 6/10
    Action - 9/10
    Acting - 10/10
    Setting - 10/10
    Achieved Realism in environment and believability in story. 9/10 Great Movie
    Expand
  49. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I believe The Grey was actually a really good film and that the critics were a little to harsh.
    Liam Neeson as per usual was on top form and the overall acting was decent. Not sure why everyone is complaining about the wolves because I thought they looked good and people saying that is not how they act, how about you stand next to their den with cubs in it and see if they will play fetch.
    I believe The Grey was actually a really good film and that the critics were a little to harsh.
    Liam Neeson as per usual was on top form and the overall acting was decent. Not sure why everyone is complaining about the wolves because I thought they looked good and people saying that is not how they act, how about you stand next to their den with cubs in it and see if they will play fetch.
    The plane crash looked very good and the ending was truly memorable.
    Expand
  50. Feb 17, 2013
    6
    Liam Neeson's performance is decent. The plot of the movie in the long run becomes repetitive and the film loses entertainment, but a sufficient movie that shows the more sensitive side of humanity.
  51. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Acting: 10- Neeson was at his best. One of the finest performances of his career. Story: 10- I was on the edge the whole movie. This movie is not a Taken. It is a methodical story about humans surviving for nothing other than just to survive. Very deep, dark, and haunting. Cinematography: 10- This movie is well shot. The plane sequence is one of the best. I honestly loved the scenes of theActing: 10- Neeson was at his best. One of the finest performances of his career. Story: 10- I was on the edge the whole movie. This movie is not a Taken. It is a methodical story about humans surviving for nothing other than just to survive. Very deep, dark, and haunting. Cinematography: 10- This movie is well shot. The plane sequence is one of the best. I honestly loved the scenes of the Alaskan wilderness. If you are a movie buff or enjoy Neeson's great acting. This is a movie to see ASAP. Expand
  52. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    Slightly different than his usual role of delivering much pain to random dudes, Liam Neeson's portrayal of Bear Grllys on Winter Man vs Wild is awkwardly commendable. Creating improvised armaments and battling harsh terrain without resorting to consume his own bodily fluid prove to be quite a challenge even for the seasoned veteran. Yes, this is a joke, I just need something to keep youSlightly different than his usual role of delivering much pain to random dudes, Liam Neeson's portrayal of Bear Grllys on Winter Man vs Wild is awkwardly commendable. Creating improvised armaments and battling harsh terrain without resorting to consume his own bodily fluid prove to be quite a challenge even for the seasoned veteran. Yes, this is a joke, I just need something to keep you interested. The Grey is actually a story about plane crash survivor trying to escape cruel whip of mother nature.



    Graphic-wise it looks exceptional, much that is thank to clarity of the shots. When you think of a movie in the cold wilderness, it's not hard to imagine falling snow or tall trees obscuring the view, but The Grey has a sense of focus to it. Its vistas, despite almost all set in Alaska, still differentiate themselves after each scene, making a clear progress as the characters trudge through the bitterness. The shots are clean and neat without much exaggeration, unlike the directors' previous work, A-Team.

    Liam Neeson (Ottway) provides a deep role as a resilient man, albeit slightly plagued with self-pity. With the cast of all men, this might be off putting for some of you. Yes, there are no "Hug for body warm" scenes with girls, tough break, moving on. Most of the movie, Ottway will be narrating in cynically depressed fashion. After all, the plane is full of gruff men and manual laborers with dubious backgrounds. With his occupation as sniper-for-hire, he has the necessary knowledge to survive in Alaska and is unwillingly unspokenly appointed to be the leader.

    Some of the scenes are adequately brutal and disturbing, but without being overly ridiculous. The director cleverly used abrupt transitions to surprise the audience, it works well in most parts. Surprisingly it focuses on more psychological damage rather than gory and bloody kills. The characters benefit from more fleshed-out personalities, each responds uniquely to their forced participation of survival. On few occasions, it even goes to more philosophical banters between the survivors. Some long for their loved ones, some just accept it apathetically.



    However it also riddled with literal "Oh god, why?" moments which made me believe this also serves a hidden propaganda, just a warning for religious people (at least those who are more than me). It's a good survival movie with more depth than most. The actors give solid performance, sequences are suspenseful and it does more than killing them in the most absurd way. Its heavy philosophical approach, while cleverly done, might be boring for some though. 7,5/10
    Expand
  53. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    The Grey may have only been an average movie if it weren't for the amazing performance of Liam Neeson. This was probably his best role since Schindler's List, it was that good. Overall the movie has good intensity, and it lets the viewer connect with the other characters. Technically, the movie has some great editing, sound effects, and cinematography. My biggest complaint is theThe Grey may have only been an average movie if it weren't for the amazing performance of Liam Neeson. This was probably his best role since Schindler's List, it was that good. Overall the movie has good intensity, and it lets the viewer connect with the other characters. Technically, the movie has some great editing, sound effects, and cinematography. My biggest complaint is the design of the wolves, which looked pretty fake and way to big. But overall, Liam Neeson carries this movie and he does it in a good way. Expand
  54. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This movie is the wolf version of Jaws. The wolves were unrealistic which is the biggest flaw in the movie but the film is so tense and feels so powerful that it was worth the watch. The acting was amazing and the cinematography was stellar as well. Overall, get ready for the most intense movie in years.
  55. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    This is true alpha male wolf pack film...Testosterone adrenaline all over the place. About survival of fittest. Liam Nesson takes control and is in control as the leading man as usual. This has Mens Only Club sign.
  56. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    My very first film of 2012 starts with this snow wilderness wolf-grapple thriller in the local multiplex, which stars the career-rebooting matinée action idol Liam Neeson (who has established a singularly bankable esteem in the genre which used to be Harrison Fordâ
  57. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Angels: I know nothing about wolves. Therefore, it did not matter to me whether their behavior was realistic or not. My sweetheart and I decided not to see 'the Woman in Black' too much wasted angst, dread, & apprehension. But, as my sweetheart said we ended up seeing a horror movie with wolves! However, the angst, dread and apprehension were not wasted. (Sweetheart put her hands overAngels: I know nothing about wolves. Therefore, it did not matter to me whether their behavior was realistic or not. My sweetheart and I decided not to see 'the Woman in Black' too much wasted angst, dread, & apprehension. But, as my sweetheart said we ended up seeing a horror movie with wolves! However, the angst, dread and apprehension were not wasted. (Sweetheart put her hands over her eyes when she anticipated something nasty. She had her hands over her eyes a lot. ) The wolves were like hounds of the Baskervilles-scary. I love Liam, the voice of Aslan. He has a warmth, and rugged honesty about him, and the soft, purring voice of the benign God. This may be Liam's defining role as an older actor. It may be for Liam what the Book of Eli is for Denzel. The movie was exciting. Liam owned it, but the other actors were good. I felt the bone chilling cold, the exhaustion, the hunger, the terror, the hopelessness, and the absolute inscrutability of the Almighty. Yes, there was a spiritual/existential aspect to the movie. But what was strongest to me (beside the wolf horror) was the beauty of human relationship, the sustaining warmth of memories of love and loved ones. The characters that you liked most held their loved ones ever-present in their hearts. And Liam's memories were so tender; his emotion so genuine. My sweetheart said that maybe his acting was informed by his own life. I won't say any more. Angels sing softly to me. Expand
  58. Feb 4, 2012
    8
    From the trailer, this movie puts itself out there as a man vs. beast thriller. However, when watching this movie at least to me, it felt like it was a strict character study of men and the challenges that a man faces not only against something natural, but mainly emotional. Liam Neeson does a fantastic job but I felt like he was trying for his Will Smith "I am Legend" moment. I mean youFrom the trailer, this movie puts itself out there as a man vs. beast thriller. However, when watching this movie at least to me, it felt like it was a strict character study of men and the challenges that a man faces not only against something natural, but mainly emotional. Liam Neeson does a fantastic job but I felt like he was trying for his Will Smith "I am Legend" moment. I mean you were Qui-Gon Ginn and in Schindler's, a little less acting and more raw emotion would have sufficed. With that being said, the visuals and sets were great. Actions sequences were well done and at points you almost forgot how you were sitting in a theater. Expand
  59. Jan 28, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily one of the most depressing films I have seen for a long time .Neeson does what Neeson does best-stoic and heroic - and the Wolves do what they do best .Cinematography is good(not difficult given the landscape).Wolves 1 Neeson 0. Expand
  60. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    A lot of potential to be better, but a solid movie overall. Great Performance by Liam Neeson. The plot & dramatic scenes definitely pull at the heart. My only criticism was the movie did seem to drag on a little longer and the unnatural feeling of the wolves, took away from how good this movie could have been.
  61. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    A great performance from Liam Neeson. However that isn't enough to make up for a lot of loose ends and pitfalls in the film. I love the story idea and in many parts it really got your heart pumping. There are parts where it seems the effects department was under a strict budget and had to make cut backs. Parts also left you thinking why didn't they/he do something else. Finally to theA great performance from Liam Neeson. However that isn't enough to make up for a lot of loose ends and pitfalls in the film. I love the story idea and in many parts it really got your heart pumping. There are parts where it seems the effects department was under a strict budget and had to make cut backs. Parts also left you thinking why didn't they/he do something else. Finally to the ending which i personally saw happening early on but didn't want to happen. I got to the last fight then just ended before anything happened. I understand why they ended it there and it wasn't a bad choice but i would have preferred to see the final fight and what ever happened then this ending. Expand
  62. Jan 29, 2012
    7
    Intense and sad. A dog gets eaten. Liam Neeson is great, as usual, and, like most movies nowadays, he's in it. Joe Carnahan's best film since "The A-Team."
  63. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Although the story has been told by many movie makers, this rendition is SO superbly filmed and acted, it would stand up to any that went before it. The similarity to most of its predecessors ends, however, at the richness and depth of its dialog. Great effort by the cast and crew!
  64. Jan 31, 2012
    8
    I'm curious why the wolf "experts" went to see this movie in the first place. Hadn't they seen the trailer in which Neeson is shown taping a knife and small broken bottles to his hands in preparation for hand-to-paw combat with a wolf? Wasn't that enough of a clue to indicate that, er, it's a movie? You know, the type of mass media where entertainment usually takes precedent over fact? NotI'm curious why the wolf "experts" went to see this movie in the first place. Hadn't they seen the trailer in which Neeson is shown taping a knife and small broken bottles to his hands in preparation for hand-to-paw combat with a wolf? Wasn't that enough of a clue to indicate that, er, it's a movie? You know, the type of mass media where entertainment usually takes precedent over fact? Not for a minute did I believe what I was seeing was an accurate representation of wolf behavior, nor did I leave the theater hating wolves. On the contrary, I left the theater feeling highly entertained, and with a heightened curiosity about natural wolf behavior. Subsequently I learned that although there are recorded incidents of wolves attacking humans, they are negligible. Wolves are naturally shy of humans. But I didn't go to the theater thinking I was about to see a National Geographic special either. Neeson was terrific playing a very sympathetic character trying to deal with the great sadness in his life. The slow unraveling of the truth behind his deep sadness is one of the strengths of the movie. But what I loved best about this movie was the fact that it did not turn out to be the kind of macho guys' movie the trailer led you to believe. There are some very moving scenes in the movie. Neeson helping a victim of the plane crash deal with the inevitable result of his horrific injuries was for me was quite moving. And the plane crash itself was all too realistic. Yeah, it was pretty riveting. And you'll be surprised to learn of the significance of the scene in which Neeson faces off with the wolf. Finally, don't stay for the extra scene you get after the credits roll. That extra scene, which lasts only several-seconds, is an unnecessary smear on a perfectly finished movie canvas. Expand
  65. Jan 30, 2012
    8
    A movie where you feel completely entertained the whole time and actually feel for the characters sounds like a pretty good one to me. the landscape shots and tenseness you feel throughout made it worth the price of admission.
  66. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Liam Neeson's Best Movie.... Cinematography is Some of the Best in Any Movie to Date.... Stay to the Very End After the Credits.... for Extra Footage.
  67. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Liam Neeson may be the oldest white actor capable of playing the tough guy without being the old tough guy. Throughout The Grey he does what he can to lead plane crash survivors through the frozen tundra of Alaska, and no one questions his age. Director Joe Carnahan takes the audience into a bleak lifestyle amid the Alaskan pipeline. Ottway (Neeson) makes it through with flashbacks of hisLiam Neeson may be the oldest white actor capable of playing the tough guy without being the old tough guy. Throughout The Grey he does what he can to lead plane crash survivors through the frozen tundra of Alaska, and no one questions his age. Director Joe Carnahan takes the audience into a bleak lifestyle amid the Alaskan pipeline. Ottway (Neeson) makes it through with flashbacks of his wife and a chilling voice over. The crash is shown from within the plane and avoids many of the common theatrics. No one is clearly shown being sucked out. For that matter most of the visual effects cast a less than ideal lighting circumstance, which drives home the motif. Injuries, freezing winds, and a lack of food are enough foes for any survivors, but our heroes are being pursued by wolfs. I'm not suggesting that it's impossible, but the behavior of these creatures puts on quite the show. They've certainly seen Halloween. Credulity is also being pushed to limits when the standards line such as "who made you the leader" have to be muttered and one hothead fancies a brawl. Of course Neeson's dominance of the narrative makes him a safe bet, and his buddies a risk. As the film wears on I wanted to buy these blokes more time. Despite how simple the premise I'm sure I could have been entertained for 3 hours. Maybe if the other guys had more spotlight scenes they wouldn't feel so much like Ottway's human shields. The story is simple enough that a big reveal at the end is somehow more effective for the sake that no one was waiting for it. This isn't mystery. What The Grey manages to do with the underexplored is leave the viewer with less question and more statements. The Grey is a man's movie. Fatigue and despair translate with the same forceful impact of the physical blows the survivors endure. It's also a perfect example as to why one should wait for the monk's reward at the end of the credits. Expand
  68. Feb 2, 2012
    4
    I'm struggling with this movie. I wanted to like it, I really do, but there were so many reasons not to. I should begin with the good stuff though. Liam Neeson, like usual, is one bad ass human being. I can't think of a movie where he has failed to disappoint. It seems like he is one of the few actors in Hollywood that actually cares about acting and cares about his fans. But my love forI'm struggling with this movie. I wanted to like it, I really do, but there were so many reasons not to. I should begin with the good stuff though. Liam Neeson, like usual, is one bad ass human being. I can't think of a movie where he has failed to disappoint. It seems like he is one of the few actors in Hollywood that actually cares about acting and cares about his fans. But my love for Liam Neeson can only go so far in a movie like 'The Grey'. There were some scenes where I was gripping my seat and wanted more, but my wish never came true. The wolves were impeccable, though. You might feel a connection with the overall meaning of the film, but it simply was not enough. The movie was way too long. Two hours was definitely unnecessary for a film like this one. I was sitting in my seat wondering when it was going to be over and then when it ended, I was still upset. There were little stories within the bigger picture, but once the movie ended, you realized it was just filler and the writers couldn't think of anything else. The audio was really annoying. Yes, we get it. Just because they are walking through a blizzard, doesn't mean you can crank the wind sound. Oh and when you transition between loud noises to silence, it's best to actually transition and not cut.

    You can't go wrong with Liam Neeson, but when it comes to 'The Grey', you might have to pass. There was very little entertainment value and the gripping of my seat never lasted long. Let the wolves drag you when the DVD gets released.
    Expand
  69. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    a very dissapointing story of survival..its dissapointing to the sense that for less than 2 hours of watching it is pointless though good acting for Liam Neeson...depressing movie
  70. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This movie is brilliant. I want to get that statement out of the way because it is, quite simply, the most succinct way to say it. This film is intense, poetic, harsh, and gritty. It deals with beautiful themes in a very thoughtful and sensitive way - faith, death, despair, love. I have seen it twice and it moved me even more the second time. The soundtrack underlines the story in aThis movie is brilliant. I want to get that statement out of the way because it is, quite simply, the most succinct way to say it. This film is intense, poetic, harsh, and gritty. It deals with beautiful themes in a very thoughtful and sensitive way - faith, death, despair, love. I have seen it twice and it moved me even more the second time. The soundtrack underlines the story in a heartfelt and beautiful way - kudos to Marc Streitenfeld. Liam Neeson's acting is at an all-time high. Most people appreciate the genius behind this man's acting but here he takes it to a new level. Cannot recommend this movie highly enough. Expand
  71. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    My best friend, my girlfriend, and myself all came to see this together. Luckily for us, we were in an empty theater, so we got to talk and jab at each other like the jerks that we are. While we did occasionally giggle at each other about certain silly things in the movie ("Suddenly, wolves!" chomp), I myself did actually find myself immersed in the suspense of the movie. There are, asMy best friend, my girlfriend, and myself all came to see this together. Luckily for us, we were in an empty theater, so we got to talk and jab at each other like the jerks that we are. While we did occasionally giggle at each other about certain silly things in the movie ("Suddenly, wolves!" chomp), I myself did actually find myself immersed in the suspense of the movie. There are, as is expected, a few jump scares here and there, but thankfully, there are also some subtle scares as well. As an example, a wolf may just jump out from off camera and make a loud noise and attack, or the the camera may slowly pan to reveal that a wolf stalking close behind a character, just before he attacks. While it is pretty plain to see that the behavior of the wolves is pretty unrealistic, I don't think it really HAS to be 100%, because at its core, that is not what the movie is about. These wolves don't act like real ones, they're more like large monsters (I am reminded of the Worgs from Lord of the Rings). These wolves act as the "slasher villain" for the movie. The movie is mostly about the death, in itself. Nearly all the characters (other than the few nameless slasher victims) do in some way have a revelation about dying, and dealing with their or their friends inevitable deaths. The movie is told from Liam Neeson's perspective, and so you feel how he is feeling the most. I really did enjoy this movie, and unlike most people I've heard from, I enjoyed the ending a lot. It's the only one that makes sense, really (unless you actually want a scene of Neeson fist fighting a wolf like it was straight out of Taken). Anything else might have come off as silly. And as a side note, Neeson's on-and-off Irish accent got a little distracting (for the first ten minutes I wondered if he even had one).

    And so, if that was all a bit too much to read, here are my thoughts. Even though some parts may come off as silly, I thought the movie as a hole was fantastic. It works as a drama, it works as a thriller, and it works as a movie. Just get ready to be depressed, but not in a bad way. I've been Mezurya, and I think you should watch this movie.

    9/10
    Expand
  72. Feb 13, 2012
    2
    Very boring in addition to a poorly written script were the characters make a series of incredibly stupid decisions. The atheistic underpinnings only served to further detract from the film.
  73. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    I thought the movie was terrible. The first scene is a bar and everyone is fighting seems to me that this crew is supposed to be full of people who know how to handle themselves. When these wolves attack no doubt they are outnumbered most of the time. BUt who walks farther into the darkness to take a pis right after seeing fifteen wolves wanting to kill you. And then when getting attackedI thought the movie was terrible. The first scene is a bar and everyone is fighting seems to me that this crew is supposed to be full of people who know how to handle themselves. When these wolves attack no doubt they are outnumbered most of the time. BUt who walks farther into the darkness to take a pis right after seeing fifteen wolves wanting to kill you. And then when getting attacked does not even make a sound to let people know he needs some help. This movie was more disappointing the more I watched. My recommendation go see the vow. Expand
  74. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    Ottway (Liam Neeson) lingers in the frozen wilderness that are the oil fields of Northern Alaska. He protects the workers from the dangers that present themselves. Beneath the solid exterior of Ottway's demeanor lies a man that is lost: his wife is no longer in his life, he sees no good in what he does for the world, he sees no purpose left. He has only a day left until he flies back toOttway (Liam Neeson) lingers in the frozen wilderness that are the oil fields of Northern Alaska. He protects the workers from the dangers that present themselves. Beneath the solid exterior of Ottway's demeanor lies a man that is lost: his wife is no longer in his life, he sees no good in what he does for the world, he sees no purpose left. He has only a day left until he flies back to Anchorage.

    The plane ride is nothing more than normal, brief bouts of turbulence offset by the testosterone-laden chatter about what the workers will do with their paychecks, girlfriends, wives, etc.Turbulence becomes more noticeable than usual and the chatter teeters out; the men are scared.

    The unabashed desire to live finds itself in Ottway. He straps himself into the seat and holds on for dear life as pieces of the plane start coming off around them. Now, faced with the unlikely prospect of being discovered, Ottway and the six remaining members of the flight are tasked with leaving the wreckage and trying to stay alive. To make matters worse, these seven men are in the company of wolves. Nature is to be feared. Man has progressed from the elements, but we never conquered them. They have a choice: be taken out one-by-one, or fight the bastards.

    Liam Neeson has made a career resurgence of sorts lately for playing a veritable medley of tough guys, but Ottway is a different breed. He has no qualms telling the few survivors left in the woods that he is terrified. Action films of late have suffered because the characters in them are so out of touch that audiences flinch rather than feel when presented with them. Neeson makes a point of portraying Ottway as a flawed man, but one who has found a purpose in this good fight.

    Joe Carnahan abandons the escapist fun that he and Neeson sought for The A-Team. Violence is not used here for big-budget awes, instead he aims for the gritty horrors of fighting for life at any cost. The Grey excels at making these horrors more real than any film before it. But what makes the film even more notable is that it reflects that human desire for life, even in unjust circumstances. Human beings are resilient. We have fears and periods of darkness, but when the time comes and we face some insurmountable hostility, the fangs come out.
    Expand
  75. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    It wasnt bad but its wasnt good either. It was pretty bland. And if you actually notice, most movies that liam neeson acts in are normally consist a simple plot and he ends up dead. although he is quite an admirable actor, and he does fairly well here, its not enough to save this movie. the ending was wayward disappointing as it was building up to the climax very well. i expected more fromIt wasnt bad but its wasnt good either. It was pretty bland. And if you actually notice, most movies that liam neeson acts in are normally consist a simple plot and he ends up dead. although he is quite an admirable actor, and he does fairly well here, its not enough to save this movie. the ending was wayward disappointing as it was building up to the climax very well. i expected more from it and somehow it falls short. Expand
  76. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This movie is just amazing!!! I went to watch it thinking it would be a popcorn thriller, but from the beginning of the movie my perspective changed. It has beautiful photography, and a good story. It also has all the essentials of a thriller. It ends with something unexpected and makes you feel good about it.
  77. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    Okay, some action scenes make no sense and a few plot developments will leave you scratching your head. Nothing major. The rest of the film is awesome. A truly beautiful film, with an outstanding performance by Mr Neeson. Its one to watch. It can work as a great action film, or with its heart a great date film. You need to see this film for a lot of reasons, but they are better to be seenOkay, some action scenes make no sense and a few plot developments will leave you scratching your head. Nothing major. The rest of the film is awesome. A truly beautiful film, with an outstanding performance by Mr Neeson. Its one to watch. It can work as a great action film, or with its heart a great date film. You need to see this film for a lot of reasons, but they are better to be seen rather than written. Great job all round on this film. Must see. Expand
  78. Feb 21, 2012
    0
    Thank God my advance screening tickets were free.. this was SUCH a stinker. Those animatronic wolves with eyelights blinking on in the darkness, slathering and snarling in anticipation of human flesh but never hanging around to eat it, and the dumb victim humans wandering off from the crash site to who-knows-where, yet with a ready supply of dry timber to burn at every pause. I would loveThank God my advance screening tickets were free.. this was SUCH a stinker. Those animatronic wolves with eyelights blinking on in the darkness, slathering and snarling in anticipation of human flesh but never hanging around to eat it, and the dumb victim humans wandering off from the crash site to who-knows-where, yet with a ready supply of dry timber to burn at every pause. I would love to hear what a wolf behaviorist has to say about this film. Except for perhaps the crash sequence, probably the most unrealistic and sappiest psychological script I've experienced in a long, long time. Expand
  79. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    First off, I see Liam Neeson as a total badass. Taken and Unknown really hit it off for him as an actor if you ask me. After hearing that he'd be fighting wolves with broken glass bottles, I was definitely on board. I sat down in the theater and was prepared to see this action take place. So it starts off with him in his character as John Ottway, his job? Killing wolves with a high poweredFirst off, I see Liam Neeson as a total badass. Taken and Unknown really hit it off for him as an actor if you ask me. After hearing that he'd be fighting wolves with broken glass bottles, I was definitely on board. I sat down in the theater and was prepared to see this action take place. So it starts off with him in his character as John Ottway, his job? Killing wolves with a high powered rifle to protect the workers of an oil drilling team. Some self narration involved I was taken, shushing my friends in order to pay attention. After a short while, it shows him penning a note to his wife and then shortly after putting his rifle to his mouth and almost pulls the trigger then hears a wolf howl in the background. I guess this was the jump start he needed that stops him. Upon completion of his job, him and another crew are packing up on a little plane to go home. As most could guess, this flight can't withstand the weather and goes down, leaving John and a small group of men stranded in the middle of nowhere, Alaska. As they regroup, what seems like the longest time they spend near the plane's remnants, making fires and collecting the dead's wallets as memorials to bring home if they ever made it to society. As the embark on their journey, they start to die one by one, some more honorable and sad than others as the wolves pick them off. Finally we get down to the nitty gritty of the movie and we wonder what could possibly happen, well...that's what the movie leaves you off with, even a little scene that takes place after the credits just leaves you with a bunch of thoughts of what could've happened. A great movie for topic choice, and plenty that left me wondering if Bear Grylls would've done the same, they just forgot to drink their own piss. Plenty of action and drama to be called a Liam Neeson film. An 8 out of 10. Expand
  80. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    This movie is quite misunderstood i believe. The producer sent a message in yhe movie which wasn't neccesarily what viewers were looking for. The movie overall was fantastic and kept me on the edge of my seat jumping constantly. One of my favorite things of the movie is the wolfpack. People complain they were unrealistic however i read before watching this that they were based on a legendThis movie is quite misunderstood i believe. The producer sent a message in yhe movie which wasn't neccesarily what viewers were looking for. The movie overall was fantastic and kept me on the edge of my seat jumping constantly. One of my favorite things of the movie is the wolfpack. People complain they were unrealistic however i read before watching this that they were based on a legend of a siberian superpack. You have to stay till the ends of the credits or you will be furious with the end. This movie wasn't perfect but it was still amazing! Expand
  81. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    The Grey is, to my mind, the best film to be released in 2012 thus far. It was incredibly forceful and had a high degree of profundity that I wasn't expecting from it. The ever-reliable Liam Neeson is fine as Ottaway, the disenchanted protagonist whom purges himself of suicidal contemplation after he and a motley group of oil workers fine themselves stranded in the Alaskan wilderness afterThe Grey is, to my mind, the best film to be released in 2012 thus far. It was incredibly forceful and had a high degree of profundity that I wasn't expecting from it. The ever-reliable Liam Neeson is fine as Ottaway, the disenchanted protagonist whom purges himself of suicidal contemplation after he and a motley group of oil workers fine themselves stranded in the Alaskan wilderness after a airplane crash. After initial worry about hypothermia and the scarcity of food pervades the group of survivors, these qualms are hastily superseded by a much more malignant force- that of a pack of marauding wolves. What follows is a suspenseful, emotional and poignant story that is essentially a mediation on mortality and the extent man will go to in order to survive against all odds. Taut direction and a highly effective score further benefit The Grey, a truly excellent film. Expand
  82. Feb 29, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An average to below average movie. Where to start, I love Liam Neeson's acting and he has been quite badass in most films he's in. The disappointing thing about The Grey is that he threatens to be badass and then quite simply isn't. sure he threatens a guy and stabs one wolf while it is trying to shred someone up but honestly disappointing. It really didn't go anywhere story wise for mine, I left thinking "this movie was pointless", the person I went with shared this thought. Don't get me started on some of the silly and sometimes totally avoidable deaths. For a movie that is supposedly about people being hunted by wolves there is too much fudging about and not enough wolves trying to kill people, in summary I thought it was quite boring and also completely pointless, the acting however was good, let down by a poor script that went nowhere. Expand
  83. Mar 1, 2012
    9
    Fate made it so I went with my family to see The Grey and was I surprised? Yes I was. I donâ
  84. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    Impeccably acted with absolutely breathtaking cinematography, The Grey is a haunting, exhilarating and unforgettable thriller with a lot more substance than one might expect.
  85. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    Intense and thrilling, The Grey rounds out to be one of the more surprising films. Portrayed as a straight up man vs. wild survival epic, it turns to a more thoughtful and philosophical film unto showing how people face the closeness of death at every moment. Fits to be a good movie to see if you want to think and be thrilled at the same time.
  86. Mar 10, 2012
    6
    This is not the best work of Liam Neeson, i was expecting more of this one. It taste like cliche to me, but the fight between the characters and the wolfs is very impressive.
  87. Mar 5, 2012
    0
    A depressing essay about a man's Dark (grey) Night of Soul - from which he never emerges. Riddled with mind numbing inconsistencies:
    1. Wolves don't attack people - they run away. 2. Though injured and trekking through the snowy wilderness (while being attacked by wolves) none of them fashion themselves a staff or walking stick - which would aid their hike while affording some
    A depressing essay about a man's Dark (grey) Night of Soul - from which he never emerges. Riddled with mind numbing inconsistencies:
    1. Wolves don't attack people - they run away. 2. Though injured and trekking through the snowy wilderness (while being attacked by wolves) none of them fashion themselves a staff or walking stick - which would aid their hike while affording some protection. Hello ???
    3. Our hero falls into a frigid creek and swept along. Yet when he gets out he doesn't freeze to death (???) and doesn't attempt to light a fire - then discards some of his clothing - including his mitts and touque - and treks off into the bush. I can suspend my disbelief only so much. I won't watch this again.
    Expand
  88. Mar 5, 2012
    4
    After the plane crash you can turn the movie off because besides that the movie is not at all what you expect it to be. Its more about these guys battling themselves more than the wolves or really cool winter settings. Its tries to be too clever, with dumb flashbacks and epic monologues of Liam talking about crap you could care less about. Too many night scenes and unlikeable charactersAfter the plane crash you can turn the movie off because besides that the movie is not at all what you expect it to be. Its more about these guys battling themselves more than the wolves or really cool winter settings. Its tries to be too clever, with dumb flashbacks and epic monologues of Liam talking about crap you could care less about. Too many night scenes and unlikeable characters outside of Liam Neison who even still grow sick of with his macho leadership skills. Definitely hoped for a great action flick in the snowy tundra but ended up with great plane crash, terrible wolves, and a movie that thought it was a deeper than it really was. Expand
  89. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    It's an entertaining and thoughtful movie. Not great but certainly interesting enough to see. There are some quibbles: i found the wolf attacks to be too quick: their shockingness because of the surprise vs emphasizing the actual terror of something biting into you...which i think would have been a stronger choice; the cinematography is good but the blurriness, and grainy quality got inIt's an entertaining and thoughtful movie. Not great but certainly interesting enough to see. There are some quibbles: i found the wolf attacks to be too quick: their shockingness because of the surprise vs emphasizing the actual terror of something biting into you...which i think would have been a stronger choice; the cinematography is good but the blurriness, and grainy quality got in the way of the movie. I suspect budget may have forced their hand on these... Neesson carries the movie and the other roles are well done; the conclusion nicely ties the narrative arc with the repeated references of his wife, his Dad's poem and his own desires/fears...that made me find this to be a very powerful experience. Expand
  90. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    No one wants to die, well I suppose there are those few, but most do not. Even more than that, there are those few ways that most would not wish to die from. These ways would include death by fire, or by a pool of acid, slow intricate torture, but one in particular is death by slow painful ripping and tearing of your own flesh and bones. The fear of this is what fuels the fears and theNo one wants to die, well I suppose there are those few, but most do not. Even more than that, there are those few ways that most would not wish to die from. These ways would include death by fire, or by a pool of acid, slow intricate torture, but one in particular is death by slow painful ripping and tearing of your own flesh and bones. The fear of this is what fuels the fears and the suspense of stories about zombies, or sharks, or in The Grey's case, wolves. I wouldn't say the film is one of those niche fear films that targets those with particular phobias regarding wolves, but if you have such a phobia, good luck! I came into watching this film with average to poor expectations of the movie and left feeling quite good about it. I think both the story and the acting were well done. One thing I will note regarding the CGI, or visual effects, used to make the wolves is I think in a few years they will look rather funny and off. While watching, they already seemed overly soft and dark. They had an almost blurred look to them at times. Certain movies like, Jurassic Park, or The Thing(the original) may not look fantastic these days, but still look pretty darn good compared to the aging of computer special effects. But hey! Maybe I will be wrong, luckily either way, the CGI is not what made this film. In all, I would recommend this film to family and friends who haven't seen it yet, and I hope anyone who reads this may go out and watch it as well. For my full review, visit http://visuallyimpairedreviews.blogspot.com/2012/03/grey.html Expand
  91. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My opinion on it is mixed. on the one hand Liam Neeson played, well, Liam Neeson. And he was just as brilliant as ever. It depressing, but lets face it that was the point, and it did do it well. The harrowing struggle came across and easily left an emotional impact. In saying that though the deeper level of Neeson's battle with faith and the pseudo-psychological importance of the poems felt a bit tacked on and could have perhaps been integrated a bit better. The wolves appearance was a bit weak, but I felt that that was forgiveable. I wasn't sold on the ending, it was the only real ending that they could have had I suppose, but that wasn't enough for me to like it. I choose to remember the ending differently, the only other possible ending for it - Obama parachutes in armed with a flame-thrower and missile launcher, deals with the wolves and hi-fives with Neeson, all done to the theme of team america and saves the day. That's how I chose to remember it. Expand
  92. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Now this movie was really cool. Stranded in the wilderness and trying to stay alive. The wolves thing was interesting but did take away from some of the realism on the viewer's side but it didn't really feel too over the top. Look at it as if you were in the wild alone and felt a pack of wolves was after you. You'd probably exaggerate their ferocity too. But overall great movie. See itNow this movie was really cool. Stranded in the wilderness and trying to stay alive. The wolves thing was interesting but did take away from some of the realism on the viewer's side but it didn't really feel too over the top. Look at it as if you were in the wild alone and felt a pack of wolves was after you. You'd probably exaggerate their ferocity too. But overall great movie. See it when you get the chance on dvd or if it's still around in theaters near you. Expand
  93. Jun 4, 2012
    6
    The trailer for this movie lies. If you expect an action movie that involves Liam Neeson with broken glass on his hands fighting wolves, boy will you be pissed. Set all that aside, and you might actually enjoy this patient, paced, thoughtful movie. It is a drama, not action, and a reasonably enjoyable one.
  94. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    It's hard to say something bad about this movie - so well done. From the actors, to the stunt work, it all came together so well. The plot was very well paced and had a great twist. As long as you are wanting a happy ending, this is a must see!
  95. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    This movie was really good. The story was good and Niam Neeson is still awesome. Wolfs are not as bloodthirsty or as smart as real life wolfs. If your looking for a movie to buy, buy The Grey. The Grey 7.6/10
  96. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    Crude oil workers in Alaska are heading home for a 2-week vacation, after working grueling shifts. On their way home, they encounter a vicious storm that brings their plane crashing down in the Alaskan tundra. 8 survivors must find their way to civilization. They are hampered by mysterious wolves. http://www.gruesomehertzoggpodcast.org/2012/04/grey-2011.html
  97. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    Survival of fittest and just flat out doing what you need to do to survive considering the circumstances. Who not better to lead you acroos the arctic other than Liam Niessen. His rugged and gritty personality and fine faith for something better in ths world kept him alive until the end.........or did it............
  98. May 17, 2012
    8
    I have to praise Ian Mackenzie Jeffers and Joe Carnahan for a terrific script as well as the latter for a fine piece of directing. I like much of his work and have seen most of what he's written and or directed in recent years; he is versatile and happily, in this movie, he has shown us he can do excellent character development work. I can hardly think of anyone better than Liam Neeson forI have to praise Ian Mackenzie Jeffers and Joe Carnahan for a terrific script as well as the latter for a fine piece of directing. I like much of his work and have seen most of what he's written and or directed in recent years; he is versatile and happily, in this movie, he has shown us he can do excellent character development work. I can hardly think of anyone better than Liam Neeson for the lead role. The premise of the movie is rather straightforward: A sharpshooter, Neeson, hired to protect roughnecks working at an oil facility in Alaska, from local wildlife, boards with them on a plane as they set off for their periodic break; a storm hits the plane hard and it crashes, killing most aboard. The remaining group of survivors attempt to make out of the tundra, with wolves at their heels.

    Not since the 2010 movie "The Way Back" have I seen a survival movie with as good cinematography, outstanding soundtrack and deep character development. Neeson plays a character both haunted and sooth by the memory of his wife through flashbacks he has when he tries to mentally escape their predicament, a back-story that keeps us intrigued; wolves are the dominant specie of that wasteland and the movie makes us feel that intensely. Nature is the other foe in this drama. Both the plane crash scenes and the shots of the tundra, and later the Alaska wilderness are done with a flair for realism. The movie caps off as it finally lets us in on the story of Neeson's wife, so we can understand the earlier passages of his melancholia; then the very last shots are a truly poetic finale. The movie deserves all the good critics and rating it has received so far.
    Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 1, 2012
    78
    The film is an intelligent study of the will to live. It's so strong that even a suicidal man rises to the occasion.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 31, 2012
    75
    There's an almost poetic quality to the way things develop, with characters becoming increasingly introspective.
  3. 50
    Neeson's gravity elevates the action, and there's a fine, prickly performance by an actor new to me, Frank Grillo, as the asshole of the group. But The Grey, despite moments of sublimity, is as predictable as a funeral. When Ottway angrily calls out to God, the nonanswer is sadly redundant.