The Guilt Trip

Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Dec 19, 2012
    90
    The Guilt Trip surprises by avoiding the obvious. It zigs when you expect it to zag. It's perceptive and thoughtful as it swerves around potholes that easily could have broken an axle.
  2. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Dec 19, 2012
    75
    The humor is mostly gentle in nature; The Guilt Trip is clearly targeted at older audiences less than receptive to the crude jokes that made Rogen famous in movies like "Knocked Up" and "Zack and Miri Make a Porno."
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 18, 2012
    75
    There are laughs throughout, but Guilt Trip isn't joke-happy. The humor is light and well observed, as when Mom keeps playing the audiobook of "Middlesex," and the son gets uncomfortable hearing about anything sexual in front of his mother.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 18, 2012
    75
    Well, it's a masterpiece compared with 'Little Fockers,' the last movie featuring Barbra Streisand.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Dec 18, 2012
    70
    Pairing Rogen and Streisand turns out to be inspired.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Dec 19, 2012
    67
    Though intermittently bathed in a halo of golden light and desired by at least one handsome, distinguished older man with a thing for mature women with healthy appetites, Streisand in The Guilt Trip is largely devoid of her famous vanity and narcissism.
  7. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 12, 2012
    67
    The Guilt Trip is not about Rogen, bubbeleh. Streisand is her own once-in-a-lifetime trip, looking gawjuss with that divine voice and those killer fingernails, and the sight of the lady scarfing down four pounds of beef at a Texas steak joint is one a Streisand lover can now cross off her bucket list.
  8. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 20, 2012
    63
    The movie's silly, predictable, and surprisingly sweet - the sort of thing you can and probably should take your mother to.
  9. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 19, 2012
    63
    Guilt Trip is cinematic comfort food for road trip fans who aren't given indigestion by Streisand.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. dtp
    Jan 24, 2013
    10
    a very pleasant movie that for once felt very real, the acting was great and the movie was both touching and amusing, I don't reallya very pleasant movie that for once felt very real, the acting was great and the movie was both touching and amusing, I don't really understand the negative reviews for this movie, but then maybe all that people want are violence and sex and in your face slapstick. Full Review »
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    6
    The Guilt Trip is a solid movie with a few good laughs scattered throughout. I thought Rogen was pretty entertaining with his portrayal of aThe Guilt Trip is a solid movie with a few good laughs scattered throughout. I thought Rogen was pretty entertaining with his portrayal of a late 20s guy acting embarrassed with his mom around. Who among us haven't been in similar situations? I saw it with my mom so that made it even better. Do the same if you can whether in theaters or at home. Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    I don't understand what the critic-s' problems are. The movie is cute and funny. Every movie doesn't have to be Academy Award winningI don't understand what the critic-s' problems are. The movie is cute and funny. Every movie doesn't have to be Academy Award winning material. Can't we allow ourselves to enjoy something simply because it's fun? This movie was a fun road trip, probably for an audience consisting of parents who have shared similar rides. The movie was actually touching. Full Review »