Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 19, 2012
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 73 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
31
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ShiiraJan 25, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As far as books on tape go, Andy couldn't have asked for a more emasculating literary experience. With mom in-tow, a long-distance business road trip, in which the 30-year-old organic chemist-cum-entrepreneur hopes to sell his eco-friendly cleaning wares to prospective clients, starts off uncomfortably when Joyce pops in the first CD of Middlesex, the 2002 award-winning novel about a hermaphrodite, an audio tome that infers something unspoken by the mother, as 17 discs of gender-bending literature plays over the car speakers. Joyce is not all that different from Beatrice, an aspiring writer forced into fifties-era domesticity in Albert Brooks' Mother, since both women unconsciously resent their sons. Growing up, John always posed a threat to the nascent artist, and even now, the middling sci-fi writer is still deemed as competition. The son finally identifies the source of their testy relationship upon discovering Beatrice's cracks at fictional prose, stored away in a lonely box. Joyce, on the other hand, despite working out her own familial kinks with Andy, seems wholly unaware of its central flaw. Moreover, The Guilt Trip itself sees equally oblivious to Joyce's latent anger, failing to see that her seemingly earnest hyper-maternal love is in fact, a programmatic endeavor to neuter her boy. Throughout Joyce's widowhood, Andy served as a painful reminder of what could have been, saddling him with an old flame's namesake. Andy's father, perhaps, held the same reactionary mindset that a woman's place is in the house. And in Mother, the film climaxes when John, finishing his mother's sentence, adjoins her, "You just," with an epiphany that Beatrice "...raised children who she hated for ruining her life and killing her chance at doing the one thing she loved." As for Joyce, consider that frog collection, which at first glance, just appears to be a middle-aged woman's love for knick-knacks. The mother, who otherwise seems proud that she raised a go-getter, quite possibly, resents his opportunities a woman in her time and place never had. On closer examination, the amphibians seem urgent and desperate, hiding a latent regret; she never became a biologist. The son mistakenly thinks his mother's love is unconditional. On Andy's first night back in Newark, while she sleeps, he glimpses an old home movie that he takes for granted as an affirmation of her devotion. "Of all the younger boys in the world, I'd choose you every time," Joyce tells her blossoming son, who, then and now, completely misses the double-edgedness of the venerating sentiment, in the sense that girls go unmentioned, an adumbration on the mother's part which manifests itself through her affectionate browbeating. By default, Andy is the pick of the litter, as boys go, but what Joyce really wanted was a daughter. For her, the Jeffrey Eugenides novel serves as wish-fulfillment. Whereas the mother(in Lucia Puenzo's XXY), who wishes Alex, an epicene teenager, that "she" remain her daughter by agreeing to surgery which would sever the gratuitous appendage, Joyce, unknowingly, never feared a potential alchemy of the sexes, naively admitting as much at a strip joint, where Andy learns how she kept a close eye on his then-purple penis. The atypical coloring would give her an excuse to transform the phallus into a vagina. Although Joyce gave up on this dream as he got older, she still performs a sort of nightly metaphoric castration on her bed, chomping down on M&Ms(read: testicles), a ritual that becomes more pointed in a motel room she shares with her adult son. Correspondently, golf balls symbolize male genitalia in Bong-Joon Ho's Madeo, where Do-Joon, a mentally-impaired young man accused of murdering a local schoolgirl, offers the testes-like equipment, a pair, with outstretched hand as payment to a barmaid. The gist being; he's virile. But his mother owns them, which is why he inscribes his name on one, emblematizing Do-Joon's deliverance from a very controlling nurturer. Andy, similarly asexual or worse, becomes the product of his mother's projections; becomes the girl Joyce wanted, when at her son's audition for the Home Shopping Network, the host quips, "...out of your secret box,"(read: vagina) while the debilitated guest unpacks "his" ingredients for the camera. As a young man, it's no wonder that Andy proposed to his high school sweetheart at a football field, the most masculine of venues. But is Joyce a Medea figure like Hye-ja, who tries to poison her then-boy with insecticide? Yes. To improve Andy's presentation, she encourages him to drink his product. Does Joyce know for sure it's safe? At the end of Madeo, the mother boards a bus, in essence, she is going on a guilt trip. Ultimately, both women find differing meridian points to alleviate their consciences. For Hye-ja, it's a spot on her thigh where she applies an acupuncture needle, and for Joyce, it's meeting Andy's surrogate. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RaygirlMay 8, 2013
Loved this movie! However, I have a Jewish mother myself and am the single mother of an only child (a son), so there were so many similarities to our life. We watched it together and laughed our heads off (son is 21). Even if you don'tLoved this movie! However, I have a Jewish mother myself and am the single mother of an only child (a son), so there were so many similarities to our life. We watched it together and laughed our heads off (son is 21). Even if you don't relate, it is still a good, touching movie that I think anyone would enjoy. The acting is very good and the story is engaging. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryDec 21, 2012
The premise is simple and full of promise: A not-too-successful son (Seth Rogen) travels across country with his domineering mother (Barbra Streisand). With two comic greats, what could go wrong? A lousy script, that's what. While theirThe premise is simple and full of promise: A not-too-successful son (Seth Rogen) travels across country with his domineering mother (Barbra Streisand). With two comic greats, what could go wrong? A lousy script, that's what. While their chemistry is good, most of the lines and situations simply don't provoke laughter. There are a few chuckles sprinkled about and plenty of energy. You just keep waiting for the hilarity to begin and it just sputters along. The predictable personality conflicts and emotional moments are predictable and pedestrian. I'm a fan of both actors, but this good-natured attempt simply never gets into full comic drive. Stay thru the credits for the outtakes, which feature some of the best lines in the film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesJan 4, 2013
This movie was worth watching just to see Barbra back in a leading comedy role again. Make no mistake, she carries this movie. The Seth Rogan character is a little annoying the first 2/3 of the film because he treats his mother so mean.This movie was worth watching just to see Barbra back in a leading comedy role again. Make no mistake, she carries this movie. The Seth Rogan character is a little annoying the first 2/3 of the film because he treats his mother so mean. Barbra gives the "Jewish Mother" character just enough believability without becoming a complete caricature. There is no big hilarious moment or scene, but a lot of little laughs throughout. Good chemistry between the two leads. Not great but worth seeing if you are a fan of Barbra Streisand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheQuietGamerJul 19, 2013
It looked promising but in the end this movie falls short. The story is about a young man going on a road trip with his mother whom he finds annoying. The humor is lacking, but what keeps you mildly interested in the film is the emotionalIt looked promising but in the end this movie falls short. The story is about a young man going on a road trip with his mother whom he finds annoying. The humor is lacking, but what keeps you mildly interested in the film is the emotional moments, but even they aren't the greatest. The movie goes through many long and dry periods before something interesting happens. When the movie does have a sweet or touching moment it makes the whole movie a little more interesting, but these moments are few and far apart. All in all The Guilt Trip ends up being about as enjoyable as a long road trip, in that there are some spectacular and great moments, but those moments are separated by long and uneventful stretches of boredom. The Guilt Trip just might not be worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ClariseSamuelsOct 3, 2013
As far as road trip movies go, it could be argued that this film is nothing special, except that it stars Barbra Streisand in almost every scene, which make is extremely special indeed. Still beautiful at 71, and having gained a little weightAs far as road trip movies go, it could be argued that this film is nothing special, except that it stars Barbra Streisand in almost every scene, which make is extremely special indeed. Still beautiful at 71, and having gained a little weight which just serves to make her more endearing, Streisand still has that translucent, ivory skin that has an almost ethereal quality to it, and she still frosts her hair to perfection. Her character is fascinating because, if I’m not mistaken, this is the closest she has come to giving her audience what may very well be a small glimpse of her real self. Although her character is certainly meant to be exaggerated and comical, which sometimes works and sometimes doesn’t, there appears to be a momentary unveiling of Streisand in the real-life roles she has played as wife, lover, and mother. Especially mother. Especially Jewish mother.

As the mother of an organic chemist (played by Seth Rogan) in his late twenties, who has invented his own non-toxic cleaning product made entirely out of edible ingredients, Streisand’s character, Joyce, displays every kind of maternal sentiment when she gets to travel with her son on an eight-day cross-country road trip. The purpose of the trip is to sell her son's product to K-Mart, Costco, and other big distributors. Sometimes Joyce's maternal impulses are in direct conflict, since she is both neurotically possessive of her son’s love and attention (the father is deceased), and at the same time deeply troubled that her son is still unmarried. She tries to play matchmaker even as she tries to convince herself that she is all her son needs.

She is overly nostalgic about the past, particularly about the days when her adult child was a little boy, and she falls asleep watching home videos. She fondly remembers when her little scientist used to do experiments in the basement wearing goggles that were four times bigger than his head. She loves to collect tchotchkes, and the ones with frog motifs are her favorite--her house is nearly overwhelmed with frogs. She frets that her son chose to leave his home with her in New Jersey to attend graduate school in California and fears that he did so to get away from her. She also has a fear of remarriage or connection with any other man because she never got over a true love who readily gave her up over thirty years earlier when she had an offer of marriage from the man who became her husband.

The road trip is a time of confrontation with all her conflicting emotions about her son, and she is forced to confront the ghosts from her past. Seth Rogan is unusually sensitive and understated in this film; it would seem that working with Streisand brings out the best in him. And there are scenes where it is possible that the two of them are ad-libbing. The most entertaining scene is when Mom enters a restaurant contest to see if she can, within an hour, eat a full meal that includes a 4.5 lb steak. The prize is that the meal is free if she succeeds. Watching Streisand’s character eat like a horse is actually very entertaining (“food is love,” she tells her son), and if Streisand is anything like that in real life, you have to bless that girl’s healthy appetite. A must for die-hard fans of Barbra Streisand.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ZilcellMay 8, 2013
The jokes are very calm spirited, meaning that you'll understand them, but they won't be that funny. The story feels very empty and lacks energy. I'd say moms are guaranteed to like it the most, however.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sicklleDec 6, 2014
A movies doesn't always have to be deep & expensive to be enjoyed,this is how i see the guilt trip as peaceful,simple,funny & entertaining movie.i believe that this movie will be remembered in 10 years as classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722May 3, 2013
This was a very good movie. Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand are great together in the respective roles of son and mother. The humor is great if you can relate to it and the plot develops well. While there isn't much excitement or anythingThis was a very good movie. Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand are great together in the respective roles of son and mother. The humor is great if you can relate to it and the plot develops well. While there isn't much excitement or anything like that, the dialogue is delivered flawlessly and the acting is superb. I understand that not everyone will enjoy this film but if you have a parent, especially a mother who you are close with then I think you'll appreciate the nuances of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JbrizzyJan 1, 2013
Im sorry but I found this movie to be just dreadful. There is no reason to care about any of the characters or their problems and the story altogether. It was very boring, and the humor is very dry. I chuckled all but once in it's entirety.Im sorry but I found this movie to be just dreadful. There is no reason to care about any of the characters or their problems and the story altogether. It was very boring, and the humor is very dry. I chuckled all but once in it's entirety. Just wait til this one hits the Red Box. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ProteusDec 20, 2012
The phrase "50% of success is just showing up" comes to mind. Seth Rogen takes this to 100% (minus the success part). Streisand is a skilled and professional comedian but her talents go utterly to waste. The movie is a dud.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 4, 2014
Probably one of the most unlikely of pairings, Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen find themselves complimenting one another quite well. The Guilt Trip is largely made out of crap; however, we do occasionally see the spark which we loved in DanProbably one of the most unlikely of pairings, Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen find themselves complimenting one another quite well. The Guilt Trip is largely made out of crap; however, we do occasionally see the spark which we loved in Dan Fogelman's previous flick, Crazy Stupid Love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
theofficeDec 22, 2012
The Guilt Trip is a solid movie with a few good laughs scattered throughout. I thought Rogen was pretty entertaining with his portrayal of a late 20s guy acting embarrassed with his mom around. Who among us haven't been in similar situations?The Guilt Trip is a solid movie with a few good laughs scattered throughout. I thought Rogen was pretty entertaining with his portrayal of a late 20s guy acting embarrassed with his mom around. Who among us haven't been in similar situations? I saw it with my mom so that made it even better. Do the same if you can whether in theaters or at home. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
GreatMartinDec 21, 2012
Full disclosure: on July 13, 1974 I sat down at a table in Lloyd
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
poetreviewerDec 20, 2012
I don't understand what the critic-s' problems are. The movie is cute and funny. Every movie doesn't have to be Academy Award winning material. Can't we allow ourselves to enjoy something simply because it's fun? This movie was a fun roadI don't understand what the critic-s' problems are. The movie is cute and funny. Every movie doesn't have to be Academy Award winning material. Can't we allow ourselves to enjoy something simply because it's fun? This movie was a fun road trip, probably for an audience consisting of parents who have shared similar rides. The movie was actually touching. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
analogkid280Jan 5, 2013
Streisand is still looking hot. I feel awkward saying that since she is the same age as my mother. I enjoyed this simple, predictable road trip movie. It does not break any new ground, but it had very little language and a kind attitude notStreisand is still looking hot. I feel awkward saying that since she is the same age as my mother. I enjoyed this simple, predictable road trip movie. It does not break any new ground, but it had very little language and a kind attitude not found in many movies made today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MispeledStalionDec 30, 2012
Absolute piece of **** I got dragged into this thing, and I gotta say, I didn't even smile. It's not funny, poorly written, Seth Rogen is miscast, and above all, it's astonishingly toothless. Despite having a decent concept, the film is wayAbsolute piece of **** I got dragged into this thing, and I gotta say, I didn't even smile. It's not funny, poorly written, Seth Rogen is miscast, and above all, it's astonishingly toothless. Despite having a decent concept, the film is way too focused on being inoffensive and 'real,' that it comes off as a soulless, lazy string of ever worst mother-child conversation ever. Skip it and see anything else in theaters right now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
OroiaelDec 19, 2012
Only a truly horrific actress like Barbara Streisand could suck all the funny out of Seth Rogen. This is less of a movie and more of a audio-visual beating. How did the screenwriter finish the script with any shred of self-respect? If youOnly a truly horrific actress like Barbara Streisand could suck all the funny out of Seth Rogen. This is less of a movie and more of a audio-visual beating. How did the screenwriter finish the script with any shred of self-respect? If you want to watch something that lacks any charm, wit, or humor then this is the movie for you. I'm running out of ways to say "terrible." Oh yeah, here's one more....if I had to chose between watching this movie and having my fingers cut off, I'd learn to type with my tongue. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Hunter1246Dec 20, 2012
Wonderful film. Streisand is adorable and the heart of the movie. Her star power is not diminished. The chemistry between Barbra and Seth is great and it left me wanting Guilt Trip 2 . Streisand looks fantastic for a 70 year old woman! Go see it
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AllyjayDec 20, 2012
I went to see a preview of "The Guilt Trip" and thought it was a terrific movie -- warm, funny and heartfelt. The performances by Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen were so realistic and truthful that I completely bought them as mother and son.I went to see a preview of "The Guilt Trip" and thought it was a terrific movie -- warm, funny and heartfelt. The performances by Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen were so realistic and truthful that I completely bought them as mother and son. Reading some of the critic reviews, however, I wondered if I had been off in my assessment. So I went back on opening day to see the movie again. Well, I stand by my initial response. I would recommend "The Guilt Trip" to my friends, family and anyone reading this site. It's rare that a movie comes around that's this touching and memorable. These days comedies are broad and over the top, with bizarre situations and characters whom you'd never want to spend a minute with, let alone 2 hours. Well, "The Guilt Trip" is not that kind of comedy. In fact, it's as much a drama about how a mother and son reconnect and help each other get out of the ruts they've been living in. Barbra Streisand was especially appealing as Joyce Brewster, a mother who was not unlike my own. Did my mom drive me nuts at times? Yep. But she was also right more often than not and I found many moments in "The Guilt Trip" that reminded me of our relationship. Streisand is not a wacky Focker mom in this film. This is a charming, subtle performance that's rich with detail. I urge you all to give "The Guilt Trip" your attention. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SuburbMommyDec 20, 2012
I was very much pleasantly surprised. Not a Barbara fan and NOT a "raunchy comedy" Seth Rogen fan. I was dragged by a girlfriend who loves Barbara. Thank goodness because I loved, loved, loved this film!!! It's funny and dramatic and real!I was very much pleasantly surprised. Not a Barbara fan and NOT a "raunchy comedy" Seth Rogen fan. I was dragged by a girlfriend who loves Barbara. Thank goodness because I loved, loved, loved this film!!! It's funny and dramatic and real! It has heart! I felt like Joyce and Andy (Barbara and Seth Rogen) really were mother and son. Seth really is a great actor. Who knew? All I had seen was his silly crap in stupid, meaningless comedies with no storylines worth watching. I'm a responsible, smart 30-something, with a family and a career. I want to see good, real movies! This is seriously one of the best movies I've seen all year. Every mother and grown child should see this (I'd say 12 and up) - especially sons. I'll be buying the DVD for sure. It's a movie I think I'll watch at least once a year, Yes, it's that good. I was crying because I was laughing so hard, and then crying for real, back an forth probably three times. A definite "must-see". Now I'm going to see about some of Barbara's other films. I thought she was just a great singer and a liberal! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JorichDec 20, 2012
The Guilt Trip is a great movie! Streisand and Rogen have great chemistry and are totally believable as mother and son. This is a movie that will stay with after you've left the theater. It's thoughtful, warm and funny. It's more than aThe Guilt Trip is a great movie! Streisand and Rogen have great chemistry and are totally believable as mother and son. This is a movie that will stay with after you've left the theater. It's thoughtful, warm and funny. It's more than a comedy it's a movie about parent-child relationships and transformations. I highly recommend seeing this movie. Americas "Funny Girl" still has it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ChristyL17Dec 20, 2012
I absolutely love this movie!! Barbra is fantastic and has some touching scenes and her comedic timing is spot on. Great movie to see around this time of year!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
gerard763Dec 23, 2012
This movie is wonderful! It only came out 5 days ago, and i've seen it twice. So glad Babs is back on screen! She and Seth Rogen are the new comedy team of the decade! So warm and so real! Seth doesnt' have to resort to his usual over theThis movie is wonderful! It only came out 5 days ago, and i've seen it twice. So glad Babs is back on screen! She and Seth Rogen are the new comedy team of the decade! So warm and so real! Seth doesnt' have to resort to his usual over the top humor, and Streisand sort of classes him up! She's so good I cried about 4 times and THIS IS A COMEDY!!! A mother son movie that is so good for the holiday season....Welcome Back Barbra!!! Some amazing dramatic scenes too where Streisand acts her head off simply by movie a facial muscle or an eyelid....class in motion Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mmaugerDec 20, 2012
I love,love this movie.it us not only funny,no it is touching.a must see for mother and sons.Barbra and Seth really have a good chemistry .But it is Barbra who makes this movie special,she is just a divine actress and i cant let my eyes fromI love,love this movie.it us not only funny,no it is touching.a must see for mother and sons.Barbra and Seth really have a good chemistry .But it is Barbra who makes this movie special,she is just a divine actress and i cant let my eyes from her face,so much to say,without words,heavenly Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
torontofilmDec 21, 2012
The Guilt Trip is a wonderful movie. It is heartfelt, funny, warm, and a lot of people can relate to it. Barbra Streisand is a treat to watch on the screen, and has great chemistry with Seth Rogen as her son. The audience I saw it withThe Guilt Trip is a wonderful movie. It is heartfelt, funny, warm, and a lot of people can relate to it. Barbra Streisand is a treat to watch on the screen, and has great chemistry with Seth Rogen as her son. The audience I saw it with laughed heartily and seemed to enjoy it. I highly recommend this movie. Take your mom! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
howardbanisterDec 21, 2012
I loved this movie! The chemistry between the two stars in so real. This movie reminds me of "The Family Stone" in tone. Barbra is wonderful. So great to have a funny, touching movie out for the holidays!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
hdbflyDec 27, 2012
Seth Rogen's character was one dimensional at best. He grunted and groaned and moped through the whole thing. The tone shifted a lot--he wanted her to come, he didn't want her to come, she was a noodge, then not a noodge. Oy. Wait forSeth Rogen's character was one dimensional at best. He grunted and groaned and moped through the whole thing. The tone shifted a lot--he wanted her to come, he didn't want her to come, she was a noodge, then not a noodge. Oy. Wait for video if you think you have to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CriticSchmiticDec 28, 2012
A good clean comedy that you can bring your kids too! This movie showed off more of Streisand's comedic side, rather than Rogen's. The humor is for all ages, which was nice because I had my mom and son with me to watch this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
natashJan 3, 2013
I never thought I would give a positive review to this movie. It is not terribly interesting idea for the movie at a first glimpse, but a lot of it I found very biographical. It is more of drama than comedy. It seems like the script meant toI never thought I would give a positive review to this movie. It is not terribly interesting idea for the movie at a first glimpse, but a lot of it I found very biographical. It is more of drama than comedy. It seems like the script meant to be funny, but it wasn't (especially the first half). Overall the movie has some charm and warmness. I enjoy Barbra Streisand acting. To my amusement, entire a fight scene in motel was such a close citation of my mom I got to call her! :) This movie put me in a good touchy mood about the routine and my family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews