The Guilt Trip

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 72
  2. Negative: 7 out of 72

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I was very much pleasantly surprised. Not a Barbara fan and NOT a "raunchy comedy" Seth Rogen fan. I was dragged by a girlfriend who loves Barbara. Thank goodness because I loved, loved, loved this film!!! It's funny and dramatic and real! It has heart! I felt like Joyce and Andy (Barbara and Seth Rogen) really were mother and son. Seth really is a great actor. Who knew? All I had seenI was very much pleasantly surprised. Not a Barbara fan and NOT a "raunchy comedy" Seth Rogen fan. I was dragged by a girlfriend who loves Barbara. Thank goodness because I loved, loved, loved this film!!! It's funny and dramatic and real! It has heart! I felt like Joyce and Andy (Barbara and Seth Rogen) really were mother and son. Seth really is a great actor. Who knew? All I had seen was his silly crap in stupid, meaningless comedies with no storylines worth watching. I'm a responsible, smart 30-something, with a family and a career. I want to see good, real movies! This is seriously one of the best movies I've seen all year. Every mother and grown child should see this (I'd say 12 and up) - especially sons. I'll be buying the DVD for sure. It's a movie I think I'll watch at least once a year, Yes, it's that good. I was crying because I was laughing so hard, and then crying for real, back an forth probably three times. A definite "must-see". Now I'm going to see about some of Barbara's other films. I thought she was just a great singer and a liberal! Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    The Guilt Trip is a great movie! Streisand and Rogen have great chemistry and are totally believable as mother and son. This is a movie that will stay with after you've left the theater. It's thoughtful, warm and funny. It's more than a comedy it's a movie about parent-child relationships and transformations. I highly recommend seeing this movie. Americas "Funny Girl" still has it!
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this movie!! Barbra is fantastic and has some touching scenes and her comedic timing is spot on. Great movie to see around this time of year!!
  4. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This movie is wonderful! It only came out 5 days ago, and i've seen it twice. So glad Babs is back on screen! She and Seth Rogen are the new comedy team of the decade! So warm and so real! Seth doesnt' have to resort to his usual over the top humor, and Streisand sort of classes him up! She's so good I cried about 4 times and THIS IS A COMEDY!!! A mother son movie that is so good for theThis movie is wonderful! It only came out 5 days ago, and i've seen it twice. So glad Babs is back on screen! She and Seth Rogen are the new comedy team of the decade! So warm and so real! Seth doesnt' have to resort to his usual over the top humor, and Streisand sort of classes him up! She's so good I cried about 4 times and THIS IS A COMEDY!!! A mother son movie that is so good for the holiday season....Welcome Back Barbra!!! Some amazing dramatic scenes too where Streisand acts her head off simply by movie a facial muscle or an eyelid....class in motion Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I love,love this movie.it us not only funny,no it is touching.a must see for mother and sons.Barbra and Seth really have a good chemistry .But it is Barbra who makes this movie special,she is just a divine actress and i cant let my eyes from her face,so much to say,without words,heavenly
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie! The chemistry between the two stars in so real. This movie reminds me of "The Family Stone" in tone. Barbra is wonderful. So great to have a funny, touching movie out for the holidays!
  7. dtp
    Jan 24, 2013
    10
    a very pleasant movie that for once felt very real, the acting was great and the movie was both touching and amusing, I don't really understand the negative reviews for this movie, but then maybe all that people want are violence and sex and in your face slapstick.
  8. May 8, 2013
    9
    Loved this movie! However, I have a Jewish mother myself and am the single mother of an only child (a son), so there were so many similarities to our life. We watched it together and laughed our heads off (son is 21). Even if you don't relate, it is still a good, touching movie that I think anyone would enjoy. The acting is very good and the story is engaging.
  9. Dec 6, 2014
    9
    A movies doesn't always have to be deep & expensive to be enjoyed,this is how i see the guilt trip as peaceful,simple,funny & entertaining movie.i believe that this movie will be remembered in 10 years as classic.
  10. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    I don't understand what the critic-s' problems are. The movie is cute and funny. Every movie doesn't have to be Academy Award winning material. Can't we allow ourselves to enjoy something simply because it's fun? This movie was a fun road trip, probably for an audience consisting of parents who have shared similar rides. The movie was actually touching.
  11. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Streisand is still looking hot. I feel awkward saying that since she is the same age as my mother. I enjoyed this simple, predictable road trip movie. It does not break any new ground, but it had very little language and a kind attitude not found in many movies made today.
  12. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    I went to see a preview of "The Guilt Trip" and thought it was a terrific movie -- warm, funny and heartfelt. The performances by Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen were so realistic and truthful that I completely bought them as mother and son. Reading some of the critic reviews, however, I wondered if I had been off in my assessment. So I went back on opening day to see the movie again.I went to see a preview of "The Guilt Trip" and thought it was a terrific movie -- warm, funny and heartfelt. The performances by Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen were so realistic and truthful that I completely bought them as mother and son. Reading some of the critic reviews, however, I wondered if I had been off in my assessment. So I went back on opening day to see the movie again. Well, I stand by my initial response. I would recommend "The Guilt Trip" to my friends, family and anyone reading this site. It's rare that a movie comes around that's this touching and memorable. These days comedies are broad and over the top, with bizarre situations and characters whom you'd never want to spend a minute with, let alone 2 hours. Well, "The Guilt Trip" is not that kind of comedy. In fact, it's as much a drama about how a mother and son reconnect and help each other get out of the ruts they've been living in. Barbra Streisand was especially appealing as Joyce Brewster, a mother who was not unlike my own. Did my mom drive me nuts at times? Yep. But she was also right more often than not and I found many moments in "The Guilt Trip" that reminded me of our relationship. Streisand is not a wacky Focker mom in this film. This is a charming, subtle performance that's rich with detail. I urge you all to give "The Guilt Trip" your attention. Expand
  13. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    The Guilt Trip is a wonderful movie. It is heartfelt, funny, warm, and a lot of people can relate to it. Barbra Streisand is a treat to watch on the screen, and has great chemistry with Seth Rogen as her son. The audience I saw it with laughed heartily and seemed to enjoy it. I highly recommend this movie. Take your mom!
  14. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    I'll be honest, I went into this movie with very low expectations. My thoughts on the matter changed very quickly. This movie has an incredible feeling of sincerity, and feels about as real as a movie can get. Seth Rogen and Barbara Streisand were phenomenal, and genuinely funny throughout the whole movie. A heartwarming finale really rounded off one of my favorite movies of the year in aI'll be honest, I went into this movie with very low expectations. My thoughts on the matter changed very quickly. This movie has an incredible feeling of sincerity, and feels about as real as a movie can get. Seth Rogen and Barbara Streisand were phenomenal, and genuinely funny throughout the whole movie. A heartwarming finale really rounded off one of my favorite movies of the year in a year of really bad movies. 9.5/10 Expand
  15. May 3, 2013
    8
    This was a very good movie. Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand are great together in the respective roles of son and mother. The humor is great if you can relate to it and the plot develops well. While there isn't much excitement or anything like that, the dialogue is delivered flawlessly and the acting is superb. I understand that not everyone will enjoy this film but if you have a parent,This was a very good movie. Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand are great together in the respective roles of son and mother. The humor is great if you can relate to it and the plot develops well. While there isn't much excitement or anything like that, the dialogue is delivered flawlessly and the acting is superb. I understand that not everyone will enjoy this film but if you have a parent, especially a mother who you are close with then I think you'll appreciate the nuances of the movie. Expand
  16. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    Wonderful film. Streisand is adorable and the heart of the movie. Her star power is not diminished. The chemistry between Barbra and Seth is great and it left me wanting Guilt Trip 2 . Streisand looks fantastic for a 70 year old woman! Go see it
  17. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    I never thought I would give a positive review to this movie. It is not terribly interesting idea for the movie at a first glimpse, but a lot of it I found very biographical. It is more of drama than comedy. It seems like the script meant to be funny, but it wasn't (especially the first half). Overall the movie has some charm and warmness. I enjoy Barbra Streisand acting. To my amusement,I never thought I would give a positive review to this movie. It is not terribly interesting idea for the movie at a first glimpse, but a lot of it I found very biographical. It is more of drama than comedy. It seems like the script meant to be funny, but it wasn't (especially the first half). Overall the movie has some charm and warmness. I enjoy Barbra Streisand acting. To my amusement, entire a fight scene in motel was such a close citation of my mom I got to call her! :) This movie put me in a good touchy mood about the routine and my family. Expand
  18. Jan 10, 2016
    8
    Streisand has lost little of her gawky, pesky touch in comedy, while Rogen knows just how to be the charmingly daft slob.

    Watch this here online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29cbb2-The-Guilt-Trip-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
  19. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    This movie was worth watching just to see Barbra back in a leading comedy role again. Make no mistake, she carries this movie. The Seth Rogan character is a little annoying the first 2/3 of the film because he treats his mother so mean. Barbra gives the "Jewish Mother" character just enough believability without becoming a complete caricature. There is no big hilarious moment or scene, butThis movie was worth watching just to see Barbra back in a leading comedy role again. Make no mistake, she carries this movie. The Seth Rogan character is a little annoying the first 2/3 of the film because he treats his mother so mean. Barbra gives the "Jewish Mother" character just enough believability without becoming a complete caricature. There is no big hilarious moment or scene, but a lot of little laughs throughout. Good chemistry between the two leads. Not great but worth seeing if you are a fan of Barbra Streisand. Expand
  20. May 19, 2013
    7
    Barbra Streisand has made it very clear in the past decade or so that she doesn’t need to work in Hollywood unless she wants to, and this elite paradigm insists that there’s something to The Guilt Trip, believe it or not. The movie was advertised as a Hangover-style comedy for the “Memories” crowd, but even if Anne Fletcher’s film defaults to comedy cliché more often than it should, oneBarbra Streisand has made it very clear in the past decade or so that she doesn’t need to work in Hollywood unless she wants to, and this elite paradigm insists that there’s something to The Guilt Trip, believe it or not. The movie was advertised as a Hangover-style comedy for the “Memories” crowd, but even if Anne Fletcher’s film defaults to comedy cliché more often than it should, one can’t deny that there’s a legitimate, endearing beating heart underneath the veneer of the movie. Babs’ on-screen partnership with Seth Rogen is what sells the movie (unsurprisingly). Rogen may not be Hollywood’s most reliable comic leading man, but when the guy shares the screen with Streisand who’s still got her acting chops, by the way he frequently rises to the occasion. And when the two of them find themselves in awkward and trying scenarios (this happens often in The Guilt Trip), there’s a legitimate verve and excitement to the chemistry at hand. The Guilt Trip is a slight film, almost a paper-thin one, but it’s short, to-the-point, and surprisingly watchable. There are no extreme fireworks or examples of embarrassment nudity to shock its audience: the movie quietly and preciously unfolds with steady cuteness. It’s not the best comedy to hit screens in 2012, but I’d wager big money that you’ll watch the thing and say that it’s way better than you thought it would be. Expand
  21. Apr 18, 2013
    7
    This is a sweet and endearing comedy, though not a blockbuster or a roll in the aisle it is perfect for anyone who wants to laugh and be entertained. Barbara Streisand steals the show delivering a great performance with memorable and emotional dialogue. Seth Rogen plays the role of the nerdy, somewhat socially awkward son who cares about his mother deeply, but fails to express it in aThis is a sweet and endearing comedy, though not a blockbuster or a roll in the aisle it is perfect for anyone who wants to laugh and be entertained. Barbara Streisand steals the show delivering a great performance with memorable and emotional dialogue. Seth Rogen plays the role of the nerdy, somewhat socially awkward son who cares about his mother deeply, but fails to express it in a meaningful way. It delivers laughs and a few sentimental moments without taking itself seriously or being too sappy. Expand
  22. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    The premise is simple and full of promise: A not-too-successful son (Seth Rogen) travels across country with his domineering mother (Barbra Streisand). With two comic greats, what could go wrong? A lousy script, that's what. While their chemistry is good, most of the lines and situations simply don't provoke laughter. There are a few chuckles sprinkled about and plenty of energy. You justThe premise is simple and full of promise: A not-too-successful son (Seth Rogen) travels across country with his domineering mother (Barbra Streisand). With two comic greats, what could go wrong? A lousy script, that's what. While their chemistry is good, most of the lines and situations simply don't provoke laughter. There are a few chuckles sprinkled about and plenty of energy. You just keep waiting for the hilarity to begin and it just sputters along. The predictable personality conflicts and emotional moments are predictable and pedestrian. I'm a fan of both actors, but this good-natured attempt simply never gets into full comic drive. Stay thru the credits for the outtakes, which feature some of the best lines in the film. Expand
  23. Oct 3, 2013
    6
    As far as road trip movies go, it could be argued that this film is nothing special, except that it stars Barbra Streisand in almost every scene, which make is extremely special indeed. Still beautiful at 71, and having gained a little weight which just serves to make her more endearing, Streisand still has that translucent, ivory skin that has an almost ethereal quality to it, and sheAs far as road trip movies go, it could be argued that this film is nothing special, except that it stars Barbra Streisand in almost every scene, which make is extremely special indeed. Still beautiful at 71, and having gained a little weight which just serves to make her more endearing, Streisand still has that translucent, ivory skin that has an almost ethereal quality to it, and she still frosts her hair to perfection. Her character is fascinating because, if I’m not mistaken, this is the closest she has come to giving her audience what may very well be a small glimpse of her real self. Although her character is certainly meant to be exaggerated and comical, which sometimes works and sometimes doesn’t, there appears to be a momentary unveiling of Streisand in the real-life roles she has played as wife, lover, and mother. Especially mother. Especially Jewish mother.

    As the mother of an organic chemist (played by Seth Rogan) in his late twenties, who has invented his own non-toxic cleaning product made entirely out of edible ingredients, Streisand’s character, Joyce, displays every kind of maternal sentiment when she gets to travel with her son on an eight-day cross-country road trip. The purpose of the trip is to sell her son's product to K-Mart, Costco, and other big distributors. Sometimes Joyce's maternal impulses are in direct conflict, since she is both neurotically possessive of her son’s love and attention (the father is deceased), and at the same time deeply troubled that her son is still unmarried. She tries to play matchmaker even as she tries to convince herself that she is all her son needs.

    She is overly nostalgic about the past, particularly about the days when her adult child was a little boy, and she falls asleep watching home videos. She fondly remembers when her little scientist used to do experiments in the basement wearing goggles that were four times bigger than his head. She loves to collect tchotchkes, and the ones with frog motifs are her favorite--her house is nearly overwhelmed with frogs. She frets that her son chose to leave his home with her in New Jersey to attend graduate school in California and fears that he did so to get away from her. She also has a fear of remarriage or connection with any other man because she never got over a true love who readily gave her up over thirty years earlier when she had an offer of marriage from the man who became her husband.

    The road trip is a time of confrontation with all her conflicting emotions about her son, and she is forced to confront the ghosts from her past. Seth Rogan is unusually sensitive and understated in this film; it would seem that working with Streisand brings out the best in him. And there are scenes where it is possible that the two of them are ad-libbing. The most entertaining scene is when Mom enters a restaurant contest to see if she can, within an hour, eat a full meal that includes a 4.5 lb steak. The prize is that the meal is free if she succeeds. Watching Streisand’s character eat like a horse is actually very entertaining (“food is love,” she tells her son), and if Streisand is anything like that in real life, you have to bless that girl’s healthy appetite. A must for die-hard fans of Barbra Streisand.
    Expand
  24. Dec 22, 2012
    6
    The Guilt Trip is a solid movie with a few good laughs scattered throughout. I thought Rogen was pretty entertaining with his portrayal of a late 20s guy acting embarrassed with his mom around. Who among us haven't been in similar situations? I saw it with my mom so that made it even better. Do the same if you can whether in theaters or at home.
  25. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    Full disclosure: on July 13, 1974 I sat down at a table in Lloyd
  26. Dec 28, 2012
    6
    A good clean comedy that you can bring your kids too! This movie showed off more of Streisand's comedic side, rather than Rogen's. The humor is for all ages, which was nice because I had my mom and son with me to watch this one.
  27. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    It is way too better than what most people say, the good acting makes it so real and touching, but some scenes may bore, some scenes are sweet, but overall it is good, but not even near to a must watch, on the other hand, it is a good time, with some solid laughs.
  28. Jul 31, 2014
    6
    The movie was very enjoyable and funny, the perfomance from Barbra and Seth. You must have had a moment just as Seth's character Andy were your mother has embarressed you in public. This movie portrays that well and manages to make it rather funny. It wasn't the funniest movie I have ever seen though I had a couple of laughs throughout. I also got surprised that I recently got to know thatThe movie was very enjoyable and funny, the perfomance from Barbra and Seth. You must have had a moment just as Seth's character Andy were your mother has embarressed you in public. This movie portrays that well and manages to make it rather funny. It wasn't the funniest movie I have ever seen though I had a couple of laughs throughout. I also got surprised that I recently got to know that Barbra was 70 and as well as that I believe she was a perfect fit for this role, she did a incredible job with it if you ask me. Expand
  29. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    As an adult, being forced to spend an extended period of time with your mother can be a bit of an ordeal at the best of times. The Guilt Trip taps into this and transposes it into a road movie that survives the low points through the great chemistry between Streisand and Rogen, but falls just shy of being worth a second look.

    There's a lot to like about this film, in particular the way
    As an adult, being forced to spend an extended period of time with your mother can be a bit of an ordeal at the best of times. The Guilt Trip taps into this and transposes it into a road movie that survives the low points through the great chemistry between Streisand and Rogen, but falls just shy of being worth a second look.

    There's a lot to like about this film, in particular the way in which the two main characters interact with each other. Very rarely do the scenes feel rehearsed in any way, which gives it the tangible feel of a genuine relationship between mother and son. This goes a long way in helping to identify with the situations that arise and giving a sense of investment in the outcome. On top of this, it pushes the more comedic elements to the fore, showcasing the observational humour, which is very on point much of the time. It's rarely enough to inspire raucous laughter, but will frequently leave you with a knowing smile as the experiences of Rogen's Andy strike a chord of recognition. However, at some points these experiences can seem a little too familiar, interspersing the more engaging sections with a hollow disappointment.

    It's worth noting that Streisand puts in an impressive performance and is primarily responsible for the disarming honesty that some of the more dramatic scenes possess, but the movie treads a fine line between emotional content and cheesy sentimentality with varying degrees of success. On the whole, when it gets it right, it does so very well, but when it fails, it's very noticeable indeed. The soundtrack is the biggest culprit in this respect, giving some moments a much more contrived feel than they would otherwise have had. It's clear what the aim was in these instances, but it's piled on a little thick for my taste, and there were a few points that inspired a cringe. This is the major fault that drags the picture down as a whole.

    The plot is simplistic, but no worse off for it. There's nothing spectacular, but it's functional, and has just enough substance to serve as the backdrop for the two protagonists to play off each other. The film also comes across as fairly low budget, which is fine, but there are one or two glaringly obvious uses of green screen that are conspicuous in their low quality. It doesn't ruin the flick, but I found it somewhat distracting when they put in an appearance.
    Expand
  30. Oct 8, 2013
    6
    Amusing, but a little bit obvious at some parts. It is heartfelt and composed at places, but sometimes it tends to "veer off the road", to make a relevant reference. Streisand's performance is okay, and Rogen is his usual inconsiderate self, but you'll find yourself smiling at some point.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Braund
    Mar 4, 2013
    40
    Crazy, Stupid, Love writer Dan Fogelman can't rebottle lightning with a humdrum comedy that doesn't play to its stars strengths.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Feb 9, 2013
    40
    Bickering turns to bonding over the course of a predictable affair that only comes to life during a Texan steak-eating contest that has Babs ingest a mountain of meat.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Dec 23, 2012
    42
    Overall, there is a fundamental lack of excitement or energy; it's a 95-minute movie that feels twice as long as "The Hobbit."