Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Dec 19, 2012
    90
    The Guilt Trip surprises by avoiding the obvious. It zigs when you expect it to zag. It's perceptive and thoughtful as it swerves around potholes that easily could have broken an axle.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 18, 2012
    75
    Well, it's a masterpiece compared with 'Little Fockers,' the last movie featuring Barbra Streisand.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 12, 2012
    67
    The Guilt Trip is not about Rogen, bubbeleh. Streisand is her own once-in-a-lifetime trip, looking gawjuss with that divine voice and those killer fingernails, and the sight of the lady scarfing down four pounds of beef at a Texas steak joint is one a Streisand lover can now cross off her bucket list.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Dec 18, 2012
    50
    A timid, modestly pleasant time-passer distinguished mostly by its unexplored potential.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 19, 2012
    50
    It's a one-joke movie, if "Jewish mothers are annoying" is a joke. But just as a film about boredom should not actually be boring, no movie should credibly simulate the experience of being stuck in a car with Barbra Streisand for eight days.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 21, 2012
    42
    The jokes mostly fall flat and the dramatic scenes fall even flatter.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 18, 2012
    38
    Audiences deserve a resounding "mea culpa" for the embarrassing dreck, masquerading as comedy, in The Guilt Trip.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. dtp
    Jan 24, 2013
    10
    a very pleasant movie that for once felt very real, the acting was great and the movie was both touching and amusing, I don't really understand the negative reviews for this movie, but then maybe all that people want are violence and sex and in your face slapstick. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I was very much pleasantly surprised. Not a Barbara fan and NOT a "raunchy comedy" Seth Rogen fan. I was dragged by a girlfriend who loves Barbara. Thank goodness because I loved, loved, loved this film!!! It's funny and dramatic and real! It has heart! I felt like Joyce and Andy (Barbara and Seth Rogen) really were mother and son. Seth really is a great actor. Who knew? All I had seen was his silly crap in stupid, meaningless comedies with no storylines worth watching. I'm a responsible, smart 30-something, with a family and a career. I want to see good, real movies! This is seriously one of the best movies I've seen all year. Every mother and grown child should see this (I'd say 12 and up) - especially sons. I'll be buying the DVD for sure. It's a movie I think I'll watch at least once a year, Yes, it's that good. I was crying because I was laughing so hard, and then crying for real, back an forth probably three times. A definite "must-see". Now I'm going to see about some of Barbara's other films. I thought she was just a great singer and a liberal! Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Streisand is still looking hot. I feel awkward saying that since she is the same age as my mother. I enjoyed this simple, predictable road trip movie. It does not break any new ground, but it had very little language and a kind attitude not found in many movies made today. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    As an adult, being forced to spend an extended period of time with your mother can be a bit of an ordeal at the best of times. The Guilt Trip taps into this and transposes it into a road movie that survives the low points through the great chemistry between Streisand and Rogen, but falls just shy of being worth a second look.

    There's a lot to like about this film, in particular the way in which the two main characters interact with each other. Very rarely do the scenes feel rehearsed in any way, which gives it the tangible feel of a genuine relationship between mother and son. This goes a long way in helping to identify with the situations that arise and giving a sense of investment in the outcome. On top of this, it pushes the more comedic elements to the fore, showcasing the observational humour, which is very on point much of the time. It's rarely enough to inspire raucous laughter, but will frequently leave you with a knowing smile as the experiences of Rogen's Andy strike a chord of recognition. However, at some points these experiences can seem a little too familiar, interspersing the more engaging sections with a hollow disappointment.

    It's worth noting that Streisand puts in an impressive performance and is primarily responsible for the disarming honesty that some of the more dramatic scenes possess, but the movie treads a fine line between emotional content and cheesy sentimentality with varying degrees of success. On the whole, when it gets it right, it does so very well, but when it fails, it's very noticeable indeed. The soundtrack is the biggest culprit in this respect, giving some moments a much more contrived feel than they would otherwise have had. It's clear what the aim was in these instances, but it's piled on a little thick for my taste, and there were a few points that inspired a cringe. This is the major fault that drags the picture down as a whole.

    The plot is simplistic, but no worse off for it. There's nothing spectacular, but it's functional, and has just enough substance to serve as the backdrop for the two protagonists to play off each other. The film also comes across as fairly low budget, which is fine, but there are one or two glaringly obvious uses of green screen that are conspicuous in their low quality. It doesn't ruin the flick, but I found it somewhat distracting when they put in an appearance.
    Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    The premise is simple and full of promise: A not-too-successful son (Seth Rogen) travels across country with his domineering mother (Barbra Streisand). With two comic greats, what could go wrong? A lousy script, that's what. While their chemistry is good, most of the lines and situations simply don't provoke laughter. There are a few chuckles sprinkled about and plenty of energy. You just keep waiting for the hilarity to begin and it just sputters along. The predictable personality conflicts and emotional moments are predictable and pedestrian. I'm a fan of both actors, but this good-natured attempt simply never gets into full comic drive. Stay thru the credits for the outtakes, which feature some of the best lines in the film. Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2014
    5
    Probably one of the most unlikely of pairings, Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen find themselves complimenting one another quite well. The Guilt Trip is largely made out of crap; however, we do occasionally see the spark which we loved in Dan Fogelman's previous flick, Crazy Stupid Love. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Only a truly horrific actress like Barbara Streisand could suck all the funny out of Seth Rogen. This is less of a movie and more of a audio-visual beating. How did the screenwriter finish the script with any shred of self-respect? If you want to watch something that lacks any charm, wit, or humor then this is the movie for you. I'm running out of ways to say "terrible." Oh yeah, here's one more....if I had to chose between watching this movie and having my fingers cut off, I'd learn to type with my tongue. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers