The Hammer

The Hammer Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Jerry Ferro's 40th birthday has brought his life into sharp relief, and it's not a pretty picture. A once-promising amateur boxer who quit so he wouldn't risk his perfect record of underachievement, Jerry has been knocking around from one construction job to another and spinning his wheelsJerry Ferro's 40th birthday has brought his life into sharp relief, and it's not a pretty picture. A once-promising amateur boxer who quit so he wouldn't risk his perfect record of underachievement, Jerry has been knocking around from one construction job to another and spinning his wheels in an unsatisfying relationship, all the while with an eye toward eventually getting his shit together. His last connection to the fight game is the evening boxing class he teaches to middle-aged, middle-class, middle-management types at a gym in Pasadena, where he also works as a handyman. When venerable boxing coach Eddie Bell asks Jerry if he'd like to spar a couple of rounds with Malice Blake, an up-and-coming pro, Jerry reluctantly steps into the ring. Despite the butt-kicking Jerry otherwise receives, a one-punch knockdown of Blake convinces Jerry that it's time to make his return to competitive boxing. Thus ends a 20-year layoff and begins a hilarious fish-out-of-water quest for Olympic gold. (Independent Film Circuit) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. It's genuinely funny, oddly romantic and surprisingly engaging for what could easily have been an obnoxious vanity project.
  2. Nothing groundbreaking, but there's an easy charm in the movie.
  3. The Hammer benefits from Carolla's low-energy, low-impact style. He doesn't so much deliver quips as let them dribble out the side of his mouth.
  4. So many movies these days are overworked or overblown: The Hammer feels genuinely tossed-off. It isn't a great movie, or even a consistently good one. Yet it gets to elusive feelings about failure and success, hope and mortality (and reveals a quietly subversive attitude toward the boxing-movie genre).
  5. The film hardly could be credited with breaking any new ground, but it has a hangdog charm, much like its leading actor.
  6. Rambling and disorganized. At the same time, though, The Hammer also has dry wit and unforced working-class swagger, and hits some surprising emotional notes.
  7. Plays like a pilot for a situation comedy about a 40-year-old carpenter who decides to return to the boxing ring.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. DerekG
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    I went in to The Hammer expecting the worst: Two hours of Carolla's frank, dry observational humor with a tacked on story. What I got I went in to The Hammer expecting the worst: Two hours of Carolla's frank, dry observational humor with a tacked on story. What I got was a surprisingly deep and even touching story of a 40 year old never-was trying to make something of himself. The acting is all charming and well casted, the music is top notch for an independent project, and it all works very well. I was on the brink of tears when I wasn't laughing out loud. Expand
  2. VanceP.
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    SUCH a good movie, there is something in it for everyone. Must go see it.
  3. HeatherR.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    This movie was very charming and a great breakout work for Adam! Go Ace Man!
  4. Sam
    Mar 21, 2008
    9
    A rare thing. A comedy that is funny! I watched this film in a small theater in downtown Seattle with my wife and rarely did more than a few A rare thing. A comedy that is funny! I watched this film in a small theater in downtown Seattle with my wife and rarely did more than a few minutes ever go by without a big laugh. It's climax was met with utter silence... the good kind of silence. It's simple charm reminded me of Swingers, a favorite of mine. Seek out this movie and ignore the latest "the-guy-accidentally-ate-dog-feces" and "pubic-hair-got-on-the-wedding-cake" unfunny yawnfest. Expand
  5. JulieH.
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    A funny, warm story from the underdog's point of view. I don't get the R rating, but it is a movie about a boxer. I loved the A funny, warm story from the underdog's point of view. I don't get the R rating, but it is a movie about a boxer. I loved the characters (especially Ozzy!), and how good the whole story felt. Expand
  6. DouglasQ.
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    It has some very funny scenes (I like the jump rope bit), a cool story, and a very likable sidekick. It didn't challenge any film It has some very funny scenes (I like the jump rope bit), a cool story, and a very likable sidekick. It didn't challenge any film conventions, rather it used them well to drive the action forward and pace the movie just right. Expand
  7. JayH.
    Jun 21, 2008
    6
    Adam Carolla's style of humor is very endearing and quite funny. Pretty good movie, better than I was expecting. Great cast, well Adam Carolla's style of humor is very endearing and quite funny. Pretty good movie, better than I was expecting. Great cast, well written, nicely developed characters and it has an original approach. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Six Picks for the Week of May 2-8

    Six Picks for the Week of May 2-8 Image
    Published: May 1, 2011
    The summer movie season begins this week, which means it's hammer time for one Marvel superhero, while Mel Gibson's comeback begins with a puppet show. For music fans, the early word on new albums from Beastie Boys and Fleet Foxes is good, and Lady Gaga performs on HBO.
  2. iPhone/iPad Games Guide: What to Buy This Month

    iPhone/iPad Games Guide: What to Buy This Month Image
    Published: September 28, 2010
    September's best-reviewed games for the iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch include a visit to bullet heaven in "DoDonPachi Resurrection" and one of the best turn-based RPGs available on the Apple platforms in "Rimelands: Hammer of Thor."
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.