The Hangover Part II

Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 25, 2011
    83
    It's deja vu all over again in The Hangover Part II, only dirtier and more dangerous, if you can imagine that.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 25, 2011
    83
    Here, as in "The Hangover," the laughs aren't just staged, they're superlatively engineered.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    May 25, 2011
    80
    The chemistry this trio has is special; the premise of the sequel seems worn, but the way they work against and with each other is what provides the pleasure.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    May 24, 2011
    80
    The unexpectedly wonderful thing about this sequel is that it actually improves on the jokes.
  5. 80
    Manages to deliver more laughs than most of the competition.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    May 26, 2011
    75
    Never as edgy as it imagines itself to be. Bangkok may swallow innocents whole, but director Todd Phillips has a lucrative franchise to protect, so the film's flirtation with the comic abyss gets compromised into something that looks more like a rock-solid mainstream comedy with a prominent dark side.
  7. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 25, 2011
    75
    It delivers what it's expected to deliver, and that's likely to make it a success with anyone who laughed his ass off two summers ago.
  8. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    May 25, 2011
    70
    It's still fun to watch, but the first one was better.
  9. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    May 27, 2011
    67
    It's not that Hangover II is a notably bad movie. It's more that nothing in it seems to justify all the effort spent to add a new but nearly identical series of episodes to the original.
  10. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 25, 2011
    63
    What seemed laugh-out-loud fresh in its unpredictable rudeness (at least intermittently) is now chuckle-to-yourself funny with about the same regularity.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 618 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 186
  2. Negative: 42 out of 186
  1. May 27, 2011
    7
    I don't care if it followed the same structure as the first one, I still think it was great. Really funny and over the top. Sure, the firstI don't care if it followed the same structure as the first one, I still think it was great. Really funny and over the top. Sure, the first one was better, but I got a lot of laughs from it. Full Review »
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    4
    It's clear this film was made simply to make a large heap of cash. If you enjoyed the first film, you shouldn't enjoy this one. Even theIt's clear this film was made simply to make a large heap of cash. If you enjoyed the first film, you shouldn't enjoy this one. Even the always great Zach Galifianakis can't save this mess. Full Review »
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    4
    I really looked forward to seeing this film, reason being that I loved the first film, but this film was darker and it was not up to standard.I really looked forward to seeing this film, reason being that I loved the first film, but this film was darker and it was not up to standard. I guess I was forced to laugh at some parts of the film, it could of been a lot better. First of all the introduction was so boring, that I questioned myself if I didn't see the first film, I would be out of there within the first twenty minutes.

    Some of these Jokes, you have to wonder where they even funny or where they that shocking you wonder whether to laugh or not. The humor was nowhere near as good. I guess this is one of those failed sequels and to be honest I am not expecting a lot from the third one.
    Full Review »