Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 569 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the follow-up to the record-breaking hit comedy "The Hangover," Phil, Stu, Alan and Doug travel to exotic Thailand for Stu's wedding. After the unforgettable bachelor party in Las Vegas, Stu is taking no chances and has opted for a safe, subdued pre-wedding brunch. However, things don'tIn the follow-up to the record-breaking hit comedy "The Hangover," Phil, Stu, Alan and Doug travel to exotic Thailand for Stu's wedding. After the unforgettable bachelor party in Las Vegas, Stu is taking no chances and has opted for a safe, subdued pre-wedding brunch. However, things don't always go as planned. What happens in Vegas may stay in Vegas, but what happens in Bangkok can't even be imagined. (Warner Bros. Pictures/Legendary Pictures)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 25, 2011
    83
    It's deja vu all over again in The Hangover Part II, only dirtier and more dangerous, if you can imagine that.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    May 26, 2011
    75
    Never as edgy as it imagines itself to be. Bangkok may swallow innocents whole, but director Todd Phillips has a lucrative franchise to protect, so the film's flirtation with the comic abyss gets compromised into something that looks more like a rock-solid mainstream comedy with a prominent dark side.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    May 27, 2011
    60
    That minute and a half of still photos packs in more dense, economical laughs than all the laborious gross-outs and chase sequences that came before. Maybe The Hangover Part III should consider restricting itself to the slide-show format.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    May 23, 2011
    50
    The rote professionalism on display verges on cynicism, and despite some occasional sparks, this ranks as a considerable disappointment.
  5. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    May 25, 2011
    50
    This isn't even really a sequel to the hilarious 2009 comedy smash set in Las Vegas. It's virtually the same movie, just transferred to another continent and with the raunch wildly amped up.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    May 25, 2011
    40
    The funniest, most reckless moments in The Hangover Part II, the largely mirthless sequel to the 2009 hit "The Hangover," take place in the final credits.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 26, 2011
    10
    It's a dumb, ugly and, most of all, painfully unfunny movie.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 177
  2. Negative: 41 out of 177
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Don't even read what those idiotic critics have to say. I hate movie critics. How come they ever criticize a Hangover sequel? I know the jokesDon't even read what those idiotic critics have to say. I hate movie critics. How come they ever criticize a Hangover sequel? I know the jokes a re a little bit just the same as the first, but I think they changed it to a brand new look and if you haven't seen The Hangover Part II, Go rent it or buy it or save it in your wishlist! This is the best Hangover movie since the first and can't wait for the sequel in 2013. Expand
  2. May 28, 2011
    8
    The plot is exactly the same as the first one and the jokes aren't quite as funny as before. However, if you enjoyed the original, there isThe plot is exactly the same as the first one and the jokes aren't quite as funny as before. However, if you enjoyed the original, there is plenty to enjoy here. It is not as good as the first film, but it was never going to be able to top that. If you are willing to ignore the identical plot, and just embrace the humour of the film, you will enjoy the Hangover Part 2 immensely, but don't expect it to be as good as the first. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    Nothing new here, just bits and pieces of the original. But maybe that's not such a bad thing, considering how funny the original was. ThisNothing new here, just bits and pieces of the original. But maybe that's not such a bad thing, considering how funny the original was. This movie is just a couple of steps below it, and definitely worth a watch. Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2011
    6
    Very entertaining and hilarious...but very similar to the first movie. It was as if they made the script from the first movie into a Mad Lib,Very entertaining and hilarious...but very similar to the first movie. It was as if they made the script from the first movie into a Mad Lib, and just replaced a few words to write the script for Part II. All you have to do is replace tiger with monkey, missing tooth with tattoo, Vegas with Thailand, roof with....well, I don't want to give the whole thing away. I wish the script was more innovative and more of a twist on the original, rather than copying it, but it was still funny and entertaining nonetheless. I'm still glad I saw it. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2011
    5
    To say that The Hangover Part II is anywhere close to being as good as the original should be a crime. The original Hangover is a masterpieceTo say that The Hangover Part II is anywhere close to being as good as the original should be a crime. The original Hangover is a masterpiece when it comes to vulgar jaw dropping comedies, in my opinion it is one of the best comedies in years, but part II failed to measure up to it's previous story. It is what it looks like, a less funny, carbon copy of the first film. Maybe Part III can win back my love for Todd Phillips. Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2011
    4
    I didn't expect Part II to be anywhere as good as the original, but it was disappointing nonetheless. I wouldn't have minded the fact that itI didn't expect Part II to be anywhere as good as the original, but it was disappointing nonetheless. I wouldn't have minded the fact that it was basically the same movie, if it had at least been a little bit funny. I was mildly laughing for the first 20 minutes, but after that, when all the hilarity was supposed to start, the film just became boring and hard to watch. The plot stopped making sense, and got really confusing. Too many things were happening, and there wasn't enough comedy to keep me interested. The first movie will forever be one of my favorite comedies, but I'm really hoping to just forget that the second part exists. I didn't rate this too low, because, as I've mentioned before, I found the first 20 minutes funny. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    0
    I know I'm late to the party here, but redbox threw me a couple free rentals and everybody makes mistakes, okay? Good god, what was this? II know I'm late to the party here, but redbox threw me a couple free rentals and everybody makes mistakes, okay? Good god, what was this? I know the first flick is propped up because it was the only thing in a barren wasteland of comedy movies, but was it good enough to be done TWICE? With less jokes? Folks, I promise you, Zach Galifanakis is actually pretty funny. Please don't blame the man; blame the material. And what is up with this Bradley Cooper guy? He's absolutely WORTHLESS. Running around acting like a complete jerk does not a compelling (let alone likeable) character make. All people want from these movies is fatty and glasses; why do they even bother with the other two milquetoasts? Expand

See all 177 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).