User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 422 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ozy
    Apr 2, 2014
    1
    Hangover 3 simply got too serious. This was not the comedy i had been waiting for. An intervention for Christ's sake? What was the point of this 'end' to the trilogy? What were the film makers trying to say here? 'ok guys, funs over everybody go home now...' dissatisfied and disappointed with this flick. Although I loved hangover 2, its plot seemed the exact same as the first. So ill give this one a 1 for at least trying something different. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow the Original Hangover was a classic, and part 3 is not as good, but it`s not as bad as the rating. I think people people are just comparing it to the original to much. It does start off slow, but in my opinion once it gets going it turn into a fun adventure.I will say they forgot to go with the title until the end after some of the credits. Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2014
    5
    I would say, the Godfather of comedy, being sold as parts 1,2 and now 3. Wow, what a surprise with 2 sequels in the series. They're all funny and have their own enjoyment, but I feel the last 2 movies have weak story lines and could have been squeezed together. Hangover Part 3 was enjoyable for me but alike the previous film doesn't aspire but feeds inspiration of past events. It's sadly just a money grab to make sequels because all in all Hangover 3, alike the Godfather is the weakest of the three. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    6
    [REUPLOAD]
    I've always been a fan of The Hangover series, not much for the comedy itself but for the plot. It's not a complex plot, but it's a good plot for a comedy movie series and makes it easy for characters to react in a whole plethora of situations. This was clearly the least funny of The Hangover series, but I still slightly enjoyed it. It made me laugh occasionally, but I felt
    they were trying too hard to push the Alan jokes, due to his positive fan feedback from the previous films. My favorite part about this movie is that it gives good closure for the characters we've come to love in the previous films and that it makes a lot of references to the previous films as if 2009 was just yesterday. The Hangover didn't have to have to be a trilogy and frankly it shouldn't have been one, but at least they ended it right. Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2014
    5
    The Hangover Part III is the conclusion to the so called Hangover trilogy. It has more misadventures with Stu, Allan, Phil and most importantly Chow. Allan has been off his meds so Tracy and the rest of his friends bring up the suggestion of Phil, Stu, and Doug to drive him to a rehabilitation center. This of Course goes awry. You later find out that Leslie Chow stole 21 million dollars from this guy named Marshal. Marshall is quite angered by this and kidnaps the "Wolfpack". Marshal then lets Stu, Allan and Phil go, but kidnaps Doug. He gives Stu, Phil and Allan the task of bringing him Chow or they will kill Doug. I am not going to write anymore because I don't want to spoil the movie for those individuals who might find this title funny and or somewhat interesting. This movie had its funny moments but lacked plot development and character chemistry which was present in the previous two movies. Overall this movie had a weak plot and could have used a little bit more funny scenes. I will end my review with this, you should watch the end credits because there is a funny scene at the end. Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2013
    3
    Compare to the first two films, this one was an insult to those who was in love with the series from Day 1. There was no hangover and it was a total catastrophe. I should have gone to watch this with my girlfriend where a little lip action would have distracted me from going through this comedic disaster.
  7. Dec 21, 2013
    3
    Part 1 was fantastic and a truly different comedy movie, definitely and defiantly better than other comedies of a similar genre. Part 2 was decent (even though they recycled the same exact plot from Part 1), due to an impressive performance by Ken Jeong. How many times can you repeat the same exact jokes and plot? To be honest, this comedy lacked momentum and had lazy acting with somewhat poor production values. And yes, I know how hard it is to make a 'good' comedy sequel, let alone a prequel. Expand
  8. Dec 21, 2013
    6
    It should not be part of the saga, the saga ended and this is the second round and after what happened with the previous. Mala Starring Ken Jeong's. A few funny moments but achieved its purpose. Has good frame, good performances and the best 3 minutes after a few credits.
  9. Dec 20, 2013
    5
    Esta pelicula no me gusto tanto, tuvo una comedia absurda y sin sentido."The Hangover Part III" no fue igual a las dos primeras entregas, esta tuvo un tono mas oscuro y un argumento con poco sentido.De esta entrega solo me gustaron algunas escenas.
  10. Dec 13, 2013
    2
    Unfunny, left me bored and just disappointed. it seems like much of the star cast has lost their charisma over the trilogy. I went to go see it with my freands and well that usually causes laughs no matter what the film.... but i watched the whole thing in dead silence, Me and my freands resorted to throwing popcorn around which i found was a lot more entertaining.
  11. Dec 9, 2013
    8
    A funny action adventure that is weirdly endearing. People claim that is tries to be much darker or serious than the other ones, but it is still silly fun. The movie certainly redeemed itself from the 2nd one.
  12. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    I liked this movie, its note quite as enjoyable as the firts and the second, but its fun and entertaining. I recommend it, but not give it high hopes.
  13. Nov 27, 2013
    2
    This was a very funny movie but some parts were wrong lol. I was left feeling guilty for watching this afterwards. Like as if i stood by as someone drank themselves to death. Dark humor hilarious but over done not so much.
  14. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This was an absolutely amazing film, I couldn't stop laughing throughout. Full of many hilarious and awesome scenes. Definitely watch it, as well as the first 2 movies.
  15. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    the second hangover felt old and unoriginal and the third feels even
    more so but it still made me laugh more than most comedies out there.
    There were lots of memorable hilarious moments even though they were
    treading on the same common ground. Zack galifikanisiicis delivers the one liners and Chow is back with a big part and made me laugh quite a few times. Sure it feels the same and we
    all want more but as far as comedies go the point is to make you laugh and this movie achieves that more than most other comedies and for that I feel its a success. The ending actually makes you wonder what a fourth movie would be like with the addition of a new character. Expand
  16. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    Another disappointing sequel to one of the most beloved comedies of this generation.

    Stupid story that doesn't quite make sense in many aspects, not much laughs, and boring action just makes me not interested at times.

    At other times, the movie got quite funny with Galafanakis stealing the show. He is the only one that really shines out of the Wolfpack still. With his one-liners and
    great acting he was easily a savior in the movie. It was a thrillride since you didn't know what was going to happen to many of your favorite characters. Much more enjoyable than three but not as good in terms of story, characters, and action.

    A fun comedy to watch if you are bored or enjoyed the previous two.
    Expand
  17. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    There's just no way around it: The Hangover could have used a third (and final, hopefully) installment, but this is NOT good enough, in any way, shape or form, to match up to the excellent original and solid sequel.

    The main issue is the plot, which feels as hashed together as I can imagine the entire film was. The performances of the main characters are still as solid as they've ever
    been, but Bradley Cooper has come a long way in between Hangovers and his presence is almost...overbearing? It's hard to pinpoint, but none of the actors (including a more involved Ken Jeong as Chow and a unnecessarily involved John Goodman as the film's antagonist) are helped by the thin and void story.

    Without spoiling it, I'll just say that the plot itself chokes the humor out of the film. Each of the previous Hangovers worked by creating situations that were, in and of themselves, hilarious, and then adding the reactions of a handful of excellent comedic actors. A bit of improv must have come into play as well, and even that feels cut off for most of Part III. The potential danger that created the tension in the first two films is diluted to the point where it doesn't work how it's supposed to work: as a platform for the humor. Nothing is better than a good laugh when you might be expecting things to go wrong...and even when they go wrong in Part III, you can't seem to find it in you to care as you once did.

    In the end, you'll most likely wonder, like myself, why any of this had to happen in the first place. I'm not talking about the film, but the story within, which is absolutely ridiculous to begin with and gets no better as it continues to unfold. There are some truly funny moments...with such an impressive cast, it was an impossibility to completely avoid that. But these are too far between a shoddy script to justify itself. A poor idea laced into a great overall idea (concluding the series with a bang) makes the entire thing...below itself as a franchise installment.
    Expand
  18. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    It's like an ignorant child trying to grab attention, it's annoying and a pain in the ass. At-least Ken Jeong made me laugh at some scenes in the movie.
    (2 for Ken Jeong)
  19. Nov 3, 2013
    4
    Outrageous and sometimes hilarious, but for the most part its a retread of the events/scenarios of the previous Hangover films with only the setting being the newest addition and biggest difference. The acting is great and I am most fond of Zach Galifianakis reprising his role as Allen who is clearly the best character of the wolfpack. This is not a very good sequel.
  20. Oct 24, 2013
    6
    This movie wasn't actually terrible. I probably liked it more because I expected it would be terrible. I actually enjoyed it and it made me laugh. It is definitely not the first Hangover but was better than a lot of recent comedies. I am a fan of Ken Jeong from Community so I enjoy his character. With watching if you've seen the other two.
  21. Oct 11, 2013
    7
    Part III of The Hangover trilogy is actually quite good, it is not better than the first or second but its as entertaining as the first two installments. Zach Galifianakis is great, as well as the other members of the wolf pack. Some familiar characters return like Chow and he is god dam hilarious. They also return to Las Vegas. This is a good sequel and is very underrated.
  22. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    I think its fun to watch.Really a great movie to watch.Alan doing a great job.excellent to watch ...i think todd doing great and should be proud of himself.
  23. Oct 7, 2013
    6
    I kinda thought they were pushing the envelope by making a second one but a third one may have been too much. While the film has its funny moments, the movie ends up being a little dark and most of the funny moments are too far and few between. While dark comedies are great, this movie just forgot to add the comedy part of the dark comedy and what follows is something that, with a few edits, could end up being a crime drama that somehow stars Zach Galifianakis...and speaking of Zach, his character of Alan is the dominate one of the story and that might be one of the film's biggest mistakes as they push Stu (Ed Helms) and Phil (Bradley Cooper) into the background and they rarely get to be funny. While Alan is funny and stole the first film, too much of him may be a bad thing. However, the film added Melissa McCarthy to the cast and John Goodman and all his god-like powers of acting shows up, so the movie redeems points there. "The Hangover Part III" may not be in the same league as the film that started it all, it was still a decent film for this trilogy to end on. Expand
  24. Oct 7, 2013
    3
    It is not even close to the previous sections, poor pointless story, but I would not call it. Except for gag couple bored of it all, it was a waste of money. Too bad for him.
  25. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Metascore don't even close to real rating for Hangover 3. It's funny, it's interesting, it's crazy and there is Zach Galifianakis! I can't prove that film really responsible for 10, but totally could say that ultimate metascore for Part 3- it's 8, and if i saw 5.6 now i need to rise score, so i put 10.

    Film not for watching repeatedly 247, but one-two times perfect.
  26. Aug 20, 2013
    2
    Hollywood really shouldn't have made more than one Hangover movie, and we shouldn't be encouraging them by watching.

    Boring, unoriginal, cringe-worthy drivel. Total garbage.
  27. Aug 8, 2013
    5
    The Wolfpack is back. Someone please tell them to go home.

    Todd Philips returns to direct The Hangover series with his last entry (hopefully). The movie follows Stu, Phil, and Alan (Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, Zach Galifianakis) once again on another crazy adventure except this time…they don’t even get hungover! What’s up with that? Instead, these guys have to track down Leslie Chow,
    their old “friend” from the first two movies, to steal a large amount of money from him to give to Marshal, a Kingpin of some sorts per say. After the plot unravels, I felt this movie had a chance but it just went straight downhill and did not come back up. The movie did not even feel like a comedy, something even The Hangover: Part II seemed to do right. Instead, this movie felt like kind of a crappy action-thriller. There were precisely two scenes I can remember from this movie that made me laugh, besides the parts already shown in the trailer. I did enjoy the few scenes where they revisited places from the original movie because that’s where all the sweet memories lie of this series, to be honest. The movie is about an hour and a half but the whole time, I really was just waiting for the movie to be over with. Todd Philips, The Hangover was brilliant. Even The Hangover: Part II had more laughs than this film…please let this series be over with. Expand
  28. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    Not as good as the first two I know. However, they had to change it up a little. This movie was mean't to end the series not leave an opening for another one (although it sort of did). I liked the new additions of John Goodman and Melissa McCarthy. I also liked seeing Black Doug again. The movie needed more lines for Stu and Phil but I understand the movie was based around Alan. Give it and shot and understand it is not as good as the first too so you may not be as disappointed. (Watch the credits for a really funny extra scene) Expand
  29. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    The acting is solid, There are bits of comedy through out but no where near as funny as the previous films (well you may get a chuckle but you won't burst out laughing). The plot is solid as well and ties in well with the previous films. The biggest disappointment by far is lack of Mike Tyson, They had a part in the film where they go into a house with a skinned Tiger rug on the couch, It would have been perfectly for a Tyson plug in there but sadly he was a no show.

    Overall, while The Hangover Part 3 doesn't do any one thing good, It does solid on all levels and it was a very fitting end to the series. Critics were far too harsh on this movie, It was far better then what they made it out to be.
    Expand
  30. Jul 17, 2013
    6
    Hated it the first time I watched it, not sure why but it was alot better the second time. So watch it twice. Regardless the ending credit were the best part of the movie and I wish they had not completely abandoned the "Hangover" formula. I think there was middle ground to be struck but unfortunately it was never found.
  31. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    Where is the comedy in this comedy? Thats the question I am still trying to answer after finishing this movie. Without comedy there is nothing to see here at all.
  32. Jul 10, 2013
    3
    The movie tries to take a different direction from the previous, but it only makes it unfunny, silly and really boring. Still, it's nice to see Galifianakis.
  33. Jul 8, 2013
    4
    Really bizarre... it didn't even focus on comedy and seemed like a caper flick. I can somewhat commend them for trying harder than they did in Part II, but The Hangover should have never been a trilogy.
  34. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    The Hangover trilogy came to an end. Sort of. The Hangover Part 3 is the newest addition to the trilogy that was the most absurd and funniest of all Todd Philips movies. Surprisingly, Philips directed all the movies in this series including this one- as well? This isn't the Philips I remember! Part 2 was the worst movie in this trilogy but part 3 is both bad and funny- have some laughs but don't expect Part 1 from this average comedy. And I wish there was an actual Hangover this time- the gag at the end is super hilarious! Stick in for that! Expand
  35. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ending to the hangover trilogy, was unexpected. It didn't have fresh jokes like the first movie, that was a problem for this movie, as well as the second one. To me it felt more of an action movie than a comedy flick. Allan was a jerk in this movie and that was a problem, because allan was a lovable idiot in the first two films and now his such a jerk to stu, while his nice to Phil, i really don't get him. Some jokes in this movie were funny and some were forced, like the part where chow shouts I love cocaine for me that was a bit forced. I still had a good time with this movie, even though it has a lot of problems, The Hangover Part III is still a good time and kn my opinion is better than part II. I am going to give The Hanhover Part III a 6/10. Expand
  36. Jul 2, 2013
    6
    It All Ends. And if Todd Phillips and co are to be believed this is the final instalment of the wolfpac. Many were disappointed with Part 2, so i'd probably be in the minority but I thoroughly enjoyed it so I was optimistic for the closing chapter. This time around however, they've changed the format. Now wedding. No hangover, well initially! The films opening sequence echoes Shawshank as Mr Chow escapes prison but it switches to Alan, much like the attention of the film. After the sudden death of his father the Wolfpac is reunited by Doug who encourages "the 3 best friends" to stage an intervention in order to help Alan. However, as to the usual formula it doesn't quite go to plan. They are ambushed by a familiar character and a new villain of the piece Marshall (John Goodman) who demand the Wolfpac bring him Lesley Chow. Form their the madness unfolds and in typical Hangover fashion nothing ever goes to plan. Thankfully this film gives Zach Galifiniakis his turn in the limelight as he delivers his best performance as Alan to date and is undoubtedly the star of the show. You can't not love Alan Garner! Galifiniakis has made him such a loved and cherished character but in Part 3 we are shown knew depths for him. There's the stereotypicsl, ingenious Alan LOL moments that we have come to expect and love and in many ways he is the cornerstone for the films as he's reliable as always but this is Alan's story this time round. Bradley Cooper is back as mr. cool, Phil Wennick. As usual he's dependable but is not often involved to a certain extent which is a shame because his relationship with Alan has always been awesome! Ed Helms was at the forefront in Part 2 and still delivers the goods as Dr. Stu Price but is often underused in the finale! He was hilarious in the second outing but those moments are few and far between. Ken Jeong is back as Mr Chow and thus time in a much larger role. Chow has always been a hit! And proves to be again. He still provides those funny moments in abundance. There's also an appearance from Bridesmaids Melissa McCarthy as the future Mrs Alan Garner. To be honest, Alan truly saves this film. It's not an abomination but it's not same Hangover we have come to love. It's a much more risky outing this time as it takes it to more darker and dangerous territory. The change in approach will divide the Hangover fans but it works. To a certain extent. The LOL moments aren't as frequent as before and at times it can be dull but Alan is the heart and soul and the decision to put him at the centre of attention enables this film to succeed. It's not the ending anticipated but it's satisfying and very appropriate. Particularly if you stay beyond the end credits. Vintage hangover!! Expand
  37. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    Really not that as bad as people are making it out to be. Better than #2 and more original the characters are still fun to watch (especially Ken Jeong!) and the plot moves quickly. Definitely was happy to see one last hurrah with these guys because i have such fond memories of the first movie. Standing alone would this movie be very good? No, but it's entertaining and made me laugh that's all i ask for in a summer flick. Expand
  38. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    People try to tell me that "Hangover III" is a good one guess what. It isn't. Odie Henderson wrote that it's more like "Alain's Eleven" and that actually nails it. Besides of that fact, it has nothing to do with a "Hangover"-movie at all.
  39. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Although this movie has nothing to do with a hangover, it was a good end top the trilogy. Chao is back. And he is funnier than ever. If you are looking for a nice action movie with hilarious scenes, this is the right movie!
  40. Jun 27, 2013
    4
    A classic example of Sequel Syndrome. The first was fantastic, The second was good but tried too hard to be like the first. The third has people realizing that the writers etc have ran out of ideas. And it has become all too stale.
  41. Jun 27, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The 3rd installment of the Hangover series, which was billed as the final, had all the hype of a prize fight and like a prize fight was a complete let down. Hangover 3: The Search for Chow was very disappointing, the worst of the series and you shouldn't waste your money to see this in the theater. This is a DVD rental at best.

    The giraffe scene was by far the funniest scene of the movie but unfortunately comes at the very beginning. The extra scene at the end was pretty hysterical too and my thought was an Alan wedding would've been funnier, especially if they had worked it backward to establish who is wife is. My issue with this movie is a lot of what has already been said. Alan was supposed to be our loveable ra-tard who is a kid in an adults body and in this episode he becomes a teenager. A self absorbed hateful person who is mean to just be mean. The heist aspect fo the movie was a good idea but executed poorly. John Goodman was not favorably cast and this would've been a lot funnier had someone like Fred Armisen been the big bad. The jokes fell flat and while the ideas were there, the movie felt like it was rushed. I would've been ok if Todd Phillips (a comedic genius) had to take 5 years to give us a quality ending to the series. Chow was never supposed to be a main character, he was a supporting one and there is entirely too much of him in this movie. My last issue with the film is the lack of cameos. It's the last movie of the series and ends in Vegas, c'mon fellas! Give us a Mike Tyson and Carrot Top and make it funny. When I start feeling that I could've written the movie better, that's when I realize I'm in a bad movie. The first movie of the series is one of my all time favorite movies and I'm aware the sequels wouldn't be as good but I really wanted more laughs to end it.
    Expand
  42. Jun 26, 2013
    5
    The Hangover Part 3 deviates from the tried and tested formula of the first that was shamelessly repeated in the second. Instead the film focuses on the wolf pack hunting down Chow. The film once again give Doug the short end of the stick as instead of developing his character he is left on the sidelines (if it isn't broken, I suppose.) The problem is the fact this film is full of Chow who i find annoying so the film quickly got on my nerves. It was also unintentionally hilarious to watch bradley cooper in this film as he seems to look annoyed with himself for doing the film which he is now clearly better than, and he seems to show that with a very irate performance of the character throughout. Whilst most would agree that the formula was old I believe that if they had done an extreme version of the premise it would have been funnier than this film which produces barely a chuckle. Conversely I felt that the focus on character growth was nice to see after literately none in prior films.
    Rating 5 out of 10
    This is clearly the hangover of the franchise
    Expand
  43. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Better than The Hangover part II but not as good as the original. My real grade for this movie is 9.5. If you really like The Hangover franchise you should really see this movie.
  44. Jun 23, 2013
    5
    The Hangover 'series' is always a cash grab, sequels that are produced because their predecessors are so successful. While I am never a fan of the series, Part 3 at least tries to be different, with great chemistry between the casts. Highlight as always is Jeong, in one of his definitive role as crazy Leslie Chow. Looking at the box office result of this installment, audiences are not as keen as before, but certainly still made this flick a worldwide hit. Expand
  45. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    Wow, I thought being a Friday night, I would sit down with my two kids, 9 and 12, and watch hangover 3, we saw the first two and thought they were funny. Who in their right mind thinks it's funny that a giraffe loses it head on the freeway. It just goes to show how sick society has become, especially in the U.S.A, where so much violence is except-able, that this can be classed as comedy.
    With no encouragement from me, my two kids did not want to continue watching the movie and I don't blame them. If there is a fourth hangover, I will not buy it and I hope I'm not the only one who feels this way.
    Expand
  46. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    This is a movie with people that have too much time on there hands. I think it is very unrealistic. I would warn people to not waste there money. This movie is for the people that have no life and basic losers.
  47. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    The joke has irrevocably worn out. This time around, they even forgot to make a comedy but instead they went for a thriller that has a couple of jokes (all of which you can see by watching the trailer).
  48. Jun 19, 2013
    3
    Very boring. At least The Hangover Part II had laughs despite the fact it was a carbon copy of the first. This film may have had 3-4 laughs at best. Of course the best ones was anything featuring Megan McCarthy. The characters don't even seem like themselves after the first two movies which could be a result of the actors not wanting to be involved with the movie which showed on the screen. The plot was half way decent I will give it that, but as soon as the gang heads to Las Vegas it becomes aware that the film makers did not feel comfortable diverting from the formula too much so they headed to a familiar location. Avoid like the plague! Expand
  49. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    An entertaining epilogue for a great trilogy. Really going to miss the Wolfpack. This film is better than the second one and a little worse than the first one. Zach is great, the best comedian these days. The film had many funny and hilarious parts and everyone should watch that trilogy. I'm going to miss them a lot and I would really like to watch them again in a film. Wait and see the post credit scene hilarious Expand
  50. Jun 19, 2013
    3
    Uggh...not a good movie. Never got the negative reviews from Hangover II as I still found it funny despite it being a "Remix" to the first Hangover. This one has a brand new plot, not recycled, however it is just not funny. Found a few laughs but overall it is easily the worst of the trilogy.
  51. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    You can get more laughs in 20 mintues watching any decent tv comedy than this movie. Worse than the 2nd movie, and obviously much worse than the 1st. There are handful of small laughs and 2 or 3 laugh-out-loud moments. The movie was being advertised as a return to Vegas, and it completely disappointed in that aspect. Love or hate Mr. Chow, you will either love or hate him even more than you did after this movie. Expand
  52. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The worst out of the trilogy, but I still enjoyed it, somewhat. The Hangover Part III takes a very different path to the first two. A much darker path might I add. The Wolfpack get caught up in Lesley Chow's criminal activities and their actions from the first two movies seem to catch up with them. They are ordered to find Chow who escapes from prison.

    There are some issues I had with the film:
    1. The pace of the movie is slow and it takes a while to get to the main plot and then it seems to be over very quickly.
    2. Alan, he is still funny in this one but it seems like they were trying too hard to make him funny which annoyed me as it made the film poorer.
    3. There is no actual hangover until the very end of the film.

    Overall, a funny film but it has it's flaws.
    Expand
  53. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This movie was so awsome!!!!!!!!!!!! And credit scene was probably the best part. Movie is hillarious and it had a lot of action!! Go see it and you wont regret. This is the best movie in triology for me!!!
  54. Jun 17, 2013
    5
    This movie is nothing like the past ones, it is way too different, it more of a thriller, it is funny but not as I expected it to be, it is not a bad movie though, but still I was way too disappointed with it, it is not satisfying, but as a com-thrill, it delivers a good time.
  55. Jun 16, 2013
    5
    Not a terrible movie, but it is a comedy that's not funny. I liked the main characters and the story played more like an action heist movie then a comedy. My main problems with the film are it is a Hangover movie and no one is Hungover and Chow gets annoying, he needs to be used in smaller doses.
  56. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Minor spoilers, very minor. Less than the trailers give away. Hangover III is much better than Hangover II, but not quite as good as the original, but the original's a classic. What do you expect? The Hangover Part III is a solid and at times hilarious sequel. I don't get all the negative reviews at all. The plot? Chow stole money from John Goodman. John Goodman knows the gang has a connection to Chow, so takes their pal (same one who went missing in the first movie) and threatens to kill them if they don't deliver Chow to him. It's funny from start to finish. Expand
  57. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    The third and Final chapter in the trilogy unfortunately falls short and doesn't match the first two films. While it was a good stand-alone film I think it had potential to be a lot better and just didn't follow the format we grew to love from the first two films (which perhaps some will like). Props to that final scene when the credits role because that made up for some of it, but overall I was disappointed being such a big fan of the series, but still it had it's moments Expand
  58. Jun 13, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is a disgrace to the franchise as there simply is no Hangover I thought that there would be another wedding for the fat guy as in the end he gets married anyways Expand
  59. Jun 12, 2013
    7
    This was much batter then i though it would be. I had some good laughs and was entertained throughout the whole movie. Would I see it again? No. Would i recommend this if you want to be entertained with some cheap laughs? yes.
  60. Jun 11, 2013
    1
    Before I watched this people told me "It's better than the second anyway." So there was born my expectation of a slightly mediocre film as the second to me, was just, a stocky attempt at rehashing the first...no more, no less... However. This was not better than the second. Not by a long shot.
  61. Jun 10, 2013
    3
    I think we all were going to see Hangover 3. No matter how good or awful it turned out to be. And thus it was created. Hopefully it stop here. Anyone expecting the comedy of the original will be sorely disappointed. The director it seems to have realized his big mistake in basically re-shooting the hangover in Bangkok and calling it a sequel. Though props go to the drug dealing monkey.

    The result is something that meanders between being a heist film and a gross out comedy. They do a good job of making the characters more human after hangover part 2. As other have said Zach Galifianakis really dominates the wolfpack in this one. Both in terms of being central to the story and screen time. Also Ken Jeong who is elevated from bit character to full on bad guy or good guy depending how you look at it.
    Due to a back story of events that barely make sense an over-serious John Goodman kidnaps Doug (no. really?) thus kicking events off. Unlike hangover 1 and 2 they aren't even drugged this time and it is unclear what past sins they have committed to deserve such punishment. Especially Doug. Poor guy gets so little screen-time for being such a big part of the plot. It could have been an interesting direction if he came along for one of their crazy adventures. He could have been the "straight" guy horrified by the things the wolfpack has become used to.

    There are laughs to be had though. And at least one pair of boobs to be seen. Though FYI you have to wait for the credits and you will regret it. Overall a low end comedy still sitting in the shadow of a much better original.
    Expand
  62. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    If you liked the previous two you'll love this one.It definitely has a unique spin from the previous too.And just when you think it over at the end just wait a bit your in for a surprise!
  63. Jun 9, 2013
    6
    It is missing The Hangover feeling, getting lost not knowing whats happening from last night, but it is still stand out as an independent follow up conclusion to The Hangover franchise which they are really good, although it is less funnier than the previous two but it is still better than the second but can't match the first Hangover movie which was a true Masterpiece.
  64. Jun 7, 2013
    4
    Comedy approach to Ocean's Eleven, so horrible they used well-written characters to themselves up so bad as if you're watching a new Family Guy episode. However, there is value in watching Alan grow and become a man.
  65. Jun 7, 2013
    6
    I've always been a fan of The Hangover series, not much for the comedy itself but for the plot. It's not a complex plot, but it's a good plot for a comedy movie series and makes it easy for characters to react in a whole plethora of situations. This was clearly the least funny of The Hangover series, but I still slightly enjoyed it. It made me laugh occasionally, but I felt they were trying too hard to push the Alan jokes, due to his positive fan feedback from the previous films. My favorite part about this movie is that it gives good closure for the characters we've come to love in the previous films and that it makes a lot of references to the previous films as if 2009 was just yesterday. The Hangover didn't have to have to be a trilogy and frankly it shouldn't have been one, but at least they ended it right. Expand
  66. Jun 7, 2013
    5
    If you know me personally then you know I have a big soft spot for comedy. I love it and I pretty well like everyone involved in the mainstream comedy game in Hollywood. I root for the underdogs the critics like to bash (I'm hoping The Internship is good, but feel the critical response will be worse than it is for this one) and I've felt I've especially had to stand up for The Hangover films since many, fans included, were disappointed in the carbon copy follow-up the second film turned out to be. I was, like most, a huge fan of the first film. I found it refreshingly funny and daring. It didn't care what anyone thought, it just wanted to be funny and that is what comedy is supposed to be. There should be no fear when putting what you think is funny on screen and that element I think is what saves the third and final part of this men behaving badly series. Director Todd Phillips and writing partner Craig Mazin (Identity Thief) listened to the audience reaction to Part II and appeased the crowds by saying, "okay, we'll do something different for the third one." Naturally, this was a smart move but as the first reactions have come in it seems people are upset that there is no trace of an actual hangover anywhere in the film and that instead of following the antics of these guys on a chase through a random city that has them putting together the pieces of the night before it has them exploring the truth about Alan's psyche and wanting to help him move on with his life. In some aspects it is a film completely devoted to character development and getting Zach Galifianakis' lovable goofball to a place where we as an audience feel content to leave him and the rest of the time it is almost a dramatic man hunt movie that has the wolfpack tracking down Mr. Chow (Ken Jeong). The Hangover Part III is certainly not what you would expect from the trilogy and compared to the others it is definitely the least funny, but that didn't make it a bad movie. In some ways it even made it more of a legitimate film.

    read the whole review at www.reviewsfromabed.com
    Expand
  67. Jun 6, 2013
    2
    A disapoitment. You just get the feeling that the filmmakers really had no idea, what to do with the third movie. Two or three scenes were funny and that was it.
  68. Jun 5, 2013
    5
    its like forcing comedy to become more serious.. just doesn't fit the puzzle.. laugh a bit, everything else was a disappointment... 1st and 2nd was much able to be enjoyed
  69. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    Not as good as the other two, but it's far from being a bad movie.
    If you like the other two movies, there is no way you won't enjoy this one. A very fair ending to the wolf pack!
  70. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    "The Hangover" was original, and "The Hangover: Part Two" was a somewhat exact, though slightly less amusing copy of the first one. "The Hangover: Part Three" is a bit of both. The first two parts get explained a bit more in depth as the wolfpack, once more of course, gets put on an unchosen quest to save their friend Dough, what, for the third time, is a bit absurd. It's not the humor that makes this movie as great as it is, however, but this movie makes you realise that you'll actually miss the Wolfpack, and will leave you with a surprisingly positive, yet emotional feeling that you wouldn't expect to have from a comedy like this. Expand
  71. Jun 5, 2013
    2
    Woah! Pump the brakes Todd Phillips! Yes, "The Hangover" was funny. That doesn't constitute making that same movie over and over again. The jokes have now been over done, and I don't know if I'll ever be able to re-watch the original without being reminded of the garbage that followed. Even "Due Date" felt like a carbon copy of "The Hangover". Try some originality my friend. Definitely #skipit
  72. Jun 5, 2013
    3
    I don't know what I expected after the worse-than-the-first-movie sequel and all the trailers to this one. Perhaps, funny jokes, more screen time devoted to Doug (Justin Bartha), and less to Zach Unpronounceablakis and the Chinese moron... Of course, all of that was quite silly of me, the series dropped the bar even lower. In fact, this isn't even a comedy any more, but an action/adventure movie with some humorous moments. The opinion of this movie is basically based on your opinion of Zach Whateverakis and his character. If you, for some awkward reason, liked him in the previous parts, this movie may very well entertain you. If you didn't, like me, and hate his utter bloody stupidity, then you'll be mostly bored with this movie. It's watchable, but I wouldn't recommend spending your hard-earned money on it. Expand
  73. Jun 5, 2013
    3
    Not very funny at all. Really its not. It just tries to be but the steam on this train ended about halfway through number 2. Watch it and try laugh and enjoy it.
  74. Jun 5, 2013
    6
    This movie is ok. What i dont like about the third part is that its not about drinking too much and have a hangover. So for me Hangover 1/2 were better because of that it was way more chaotic and "what the hell" effect. But the third part is still funny itself. Its a great comedy movie.
  75. Jun 4, 2013
    0
    Biggest disappointment I have seen lately, the title does not even fit the movie. The plot of the hangover movie is usually the guys gets drunk and have to find a missing person they have lost. This is nothing like it, the title of this movie shouldn't even be hangover it should be manhunt, because that is what the movie is about.. The movie is about the guys chasing down Chow to pay a debt to some criminal in order to save Dough. The movie was not remotely funny, it was just awkward and cheap. Expand
  76. Jun 4, 2013
    3
    "What should have been a finale instead felt like a waste. The Hangover Part III, dares to try something new and actually falls flat, with no motivation, no interests, and more importantly, no comedy. it's a lukewarm finale to our beloved wolf-pack." ..D+
  77. Jun 4, 2013
    4
    If you are looking for a movie which just makes you laugh & has no storyline then this is the perfect movie for you. However when you consider the 1st and even the 2nd Hangover movies in comparison to this movie then it is awful.

    It has tried too much to relate to the first movie which if it was done correctly would work very well. However it has not been done correctly. I would
    recommend watching this film, but more than once would be pointless. Expand
  78. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    Can't say this is hallarious or as good as the previous parts (as is the case with most sequels). It was a bit slower to develop the plot and certainly darker. It is structured almost exactly as the others, which doesn't give too many surprises or laughs. John Goodman was a good addition. Worth a watch.
  79. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    The first was a fresh concept, the second feels kinda repetitive and the third one was okay. Overall, Hangover III didn't live up to the original film but still better than its predecessor. The movie basically revisits the element of the Hangover with tweaks here and there. Some scene feels kinda off, forced and unfunny, while others are one of the hilarious scene in the trilogy. It's a decent movie and an okay finale of the Wolf Pack's adventures saga, just don't expect too much from it. Expand
  80. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    Despite the critics, this is a very good way to end the wolfpack trilogy; especially the after credits scene. I hope you enjoy it the way i did. Bye!!
  81. Jun 2, 2013
    4
    The first 40 minutes are terrible and only gets slightly better by actually becoming an action film. It carries a darker more serious tone that doesn't have the pay off as the first film but succeeds in being better than the second, if you call that an accomplishment.
  82. Jun 1, 2013
    4
    Other than Alan's Ave Maria, this END is piece of F**K! Only got here Mr. Chow's gay act and jokes like smelling Stu's butt. Thank goodness this series got a full stop.
  83. May 31, 2013
    3
    While Zach Galifianakis is on top form in this finale to The Hangover franchise, and also, the incredibly funny post-credits scene, I'm afraid nothing can stop this film from just being a stretch too far. While Todd Phillips takes a different approach to Part 3, it can't improve on the previous installment and potentially is even worse than Part 2. I'm afraid that while Warner Bros probably got it financially correct by making The Hangover into a franchise, they should have had The Hangover as a singular masterpiece in comedic film making and left the critically acclaimed film to be loved and remembered for the right reasons and not for the flops that spawned the great creation. Expand
  84. May 31, 2013
    9
    IGNOR THE REVIEWS.This movie does not deserve a 1,2 or a 3 it deserves a 9,8 or a 7.The hangover part 3 is better then the hangover part 2 absolutly.I think people hate on it beause there is no hangover till the very end for me it is good beacuse it adds a good change to the trilogy.this movie foccues on mr.Chow and Alan.This story is funny and you will have so many laughs while you watch the film.I DO NOT GET WHY THE CRITICS HATE THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!.THIS MOVIE DESEVES A 7 LIKE THE FIRST ONE NOT 33 LIKE THE LAST AIRBENDER THE MOVIE GOT 22 BUT THAT MOVIE WAS AN ABOMINATION AND PURE BUT THIS MOVIE IS ADICTIVE FUNNY AND SILLY.I DO NOT GET YOU CRITICS NO MORE YOU GIVE THE CHERNOBYL DIARIES A 32 AND THAT MOVIE IS JUST PURE EXTREME AND GIVE THIS MOVIE A 30 THAN YOU ARE JUST STUPID.TODAYS CRITICS DO NOT HAVE LOVE TO FUNNY MOVIES OR EAVEN GAMES HOW CAN YOU GIVE SAINTS ROW 2 A 72 AND SAINTS ROW 3 A 84 YOU JUST IT UP SO HARD THAT I WILL NOT LISTEN TO YOU NO MORE I AM IN RAGE MODE NOW!!!!HOW CAN YOU HATE THIS MOVIE HOW I DO NOT GET IT?????????

    TIS MOVIE IS WORTH YOUR MONEY GO AND SEE THIS MOVIE IGNORE THE RETARD CRITICS AND GO SEE IT YOU WONT REGREAT IT I GUARANTEE
    Expand
  85. May 31, 2013
    8
    The movie, as a comedy, as it should be judged as, is pretty hilarious. Not good as the first movie but found it more favorable than Part II. It's a Hangover movie. It does as a Hangover movie should and that's to make you laugh.
  86. May 31, 2013
    7
    It was funny but it wasn't the funniest hangover part.
    But the most reviews gives it a low rating but i think that isn't fair.
    So i give it a 7.
    Hangover 2 was the best part and Hangover 3 was the baddest part but also funny.
  87. May 30, 2013
    5
    DO NOT leave The Hangover Part III when the credits start to roll. You’ll miss one of the funniest scenes in the whole movie. I work at a movie theater, and after every single showing of the movie I watch as impatient audience members rush for the exits only to miss the movie’s ridiculous stinger scene. Hold your pee for two more minutes (You don’t even have to wait until the credits are completely over, as the scene comes in after only about 30 seconds of credits).

    Unfortunately, for those who do make haste for the exit doors (and I can’t say I blame you for doing so) The Hangover Part III will be remembered for being…well…forgettable. It’s not a bad movie. It just isn’t a very funny one.

    Read More http://www.recomedia.net/filmtv/the-hangover-part-iii-review/
    Expand
  88. May 30, 2013
    6
    & yet again I'm amazed with some critics(first "Hobbit", now this). "Hangover 3" takes turn toward more serious comedy, characters are well established, main story is surprisingly engaging, humor is also well placed. Yes it has problems, but not deep enough to rate this 3 out 10, that's ridiculous.
  89. May 30, 2013
    3
    The wolfpack returns for the last couple of drinks of the final trilogy of The Hangover, Part III. After the disappointment of The Hangover, Part II that the sequel wasn't that great for the audience, now there's another disappointment that the third film is getting less that wasn't that funny or even entertaining. The story is about Alan (Galifianakis) is moving away from his father's death and his three friends Phil (Cooper), Stu (Helms), and Doug (Bartha) are planning to take Alan to intervention at Arizona. Little to know that the drug dealers including Marshall (Goodman) wants revenge for the Wolfpack because Mr. Chow (Jeong) is escape from prison at Thailand and steals the gold from his men. Three men are chasing the most annoying stereotypical character at Mexico and they think will agree to work with Mr. Chow's plan. Three men are returning back to Las Vegas and do same rehash over again like the first one including Stu's old wife, Caesar's Hotel, and more that came from. The characters are awkwardly unfunny and Alan turns into a stupid selfish person since the last movie that he did all over again to make huge mistakes. The Hangover, Expand
  90. May 30, 2013
    10
    I'm going to keep this nice and short, the film compered to the first one is no where near as good but at face value just as its own film its a hilarious and entertaining. in my opinion go and watch it, just don't compare it to the first one Xbox360Critic (Alan is such a crease all the way through)
  91. May 30, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie wipes out all humor from the first two movies. By the time it ends you've come to the conclusion that Alan is a certified mental patient who should be locked away and that Chow is really an evil murdering, criminal. Even the "jokes" remind us that Stu could have AIDS but never cared enough to get tested and that Alan's selfishness led to his Father's death. Its a morbid film with very, very few laughs. Expand
  92. May 30, 2013
    5
    Zach Galifianakis is the focus of this final installment in the decreasingly funny series. His over-the-top behavior has the other Wolfpack members taking him off to rehab…until John Goodman appears and sends them on a quest to find Mr. Chow. Instead of the "how did we get here?" scenario that fueled the first two, this one comes off as a mediocre heist. While there are amusing moments (thx mostly to Zach), the whole enterprise lacks the outrageous originality of the others. Expand
  93. May 29, 2013
    8
    This film is worth seeing! Do not go in with the expectations for it to be as funny as the first film but it is still full of laughs. I went to the movie a couple days ago and laughed hysterically at parts. I do not think it is even comparable to the first hangover movie but I would still recommend going to it. Hope you enjoy!!!
  94. May 28, 2013
    7
    Some people are taking this movie for far more than it was intended to be. It wasn't terrible and funny. If you are thinking of seeing it, do it, you'll laugh and have a good time. But if you are going to be over analytically, you a not going to enjoy, so calm down, and learn to ease up.
  95. May 28, 2013
    7
    Moviegoers want sequels, that's why they are made. As fans, we want to see more and learn more about the characters we know and love, but no matter how good that sequel is, not all of the fans are going to like it. If the movie is too much like the first one, the fans say it's the same movie, but if it's too different, they say it doesn't fit the story. The only place the writers/producers are going to win is at the box office, because no matter the reviews, they know people are going to come and see it. The Hangover Part III is getting terrible reviews from fans, because it's not what they expected. It's not as funny as the first one or even the second one, in fact, this film is much more dramatic than the rest of the films in the series, but it not necessarily a bad thing. Alan may not have had a ton of funny lines and Stu's girlish screaming may have run it's course, but this was still a really good story. Using flashbacks from the original, Todd Phillips introduces us to a part of the story that we didn't even know existed until now. This time, they skip the hangover and the wolf pack needs to go on an adventure to capture Mr. Chow. Four years ago, Chow ripped off another gangster and that gangster kidnaps Doug and threatens to kill him unless the wolf pack can bring him Chow. The story was solid and included some of the comedy we love along with dramatic elements and even a couple of really exciting chase scenes. No, this film was not the hangover we've come to love and expect. The clever one-liners aren't there, there's no wedding to prepare for, and the stakes are much higher this time, but all in all the story was very solid and the performances were fantastic. This film was a great way to end the story of the wolf pack, yet many fans and critic alike insist on comparing it to the first one. This film is much different than the original, too different in the opinions of many. If you want to compare Part III to the original Hangover, than no it's nowhere near as good, but if you look at it based on it's own merits, it's a pretty solid film, albeit much different from what was expected. Expand
  96. May 28, 2013
    2
    If you love these actors looking at each other not entertaining or doing anything you may like this film. But if you expect an exciting or funny film, you will be extremely disappointed. Yes this does tie up the trilogy but in the worst way possible.
  97. May 28, 2013
    8
    This movie is a easy slide-back to the first and an ode to humor movies. Everything is bigger and faster and for some it might not work, but as a fan of both the previous movies of the series, I can say this wraps it up nicely. The hangover part three is a funny movie, you've just got to be willing to laugh, you know?
  98. May 28, 2013
    9
    Glad to see the producers take a different approach on this one. I felt hangover 1 and 2 were good but since 2 was so closely delivered as 1 that people over looked it. Hangover 3 was hilarious! I was laughing the whole movie. Galifianakis (Alan) and Jeong (Chow) kept you surprised by their adult humor. Also nice twist at the end you didn't ever think would happen coming into the movie.
  99. May 28, 2013
    6
    This film was funny, which is what it intended to be. It wrapped up the trilogy well, as you would expect. But the dialogue in some places was awful and performances from all round were average. If you find Chow funny and want a laugh, then see this. If not, then give it a miss.
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 37
  2. Negative: 19 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jun 6, 2013
    38
    The Hangover Part III plays more like a caper film — “Alan’s Eleven,” perhaps — than a comedy. While Phillips ably handles the action sequences, he and co-screenwriter Craig Mazin can’t juggle both genres in the screenplay.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Rose
    May 27, 2013
    20
    This is less a caper than a trudge; a linear adventure that proceeds in fits and starts, with few surprises and fewer laughs. There's barely even a hangover.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 23, 2013
    0
    Not just bad, but weirdly, fascinatingly bad.