Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 445 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 37
  2. Negative: 19 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 22, 2013
    80
    Galifianakis, though, is the key here. Able to smash a scene to smithereens with the simplest of lines, the hirsute comic is as unpredictable as ever, yet takes director Todd Phillips’ bait to up the stakes.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 22, 2013
    60
    And so the real question isn't whether director Todd Phillips' third -- and, he insists, the final -- installment in the unabashedly crude, very R-rated comedy trilogy is funny. Of course, it is.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 22, 2013
    50
    Director Todd Phillips has delivered a film so different from the first two, one could even ask if this is even supposed to be a comedy. I'm not saying it's an unfunny comedy wannabe; I'm saying it plays more like a straightforward, real-world thriller with a few laughs than a hard-R slapstick farce.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 22, 2013
    38
    Nothing about this rote exercise feels remotely fresh. It's a re-tread of the 2009 original, sans the inspired lunacy.
  5. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jun 6, 2013
    38
    The Hangover Part III plays more like a caper film — “Alan’s Eleven,” perhaps — than a comedy. While Phillips ably handles the action sequences, he and co-screenwriter Craig Mazin can’t juggle both genres in the screenplay.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 22, 2013
    25
    If the first "Hangover" movie were this awful, there never would have been a Part Two. This is a joyless, unfunny mix of comedy and drama, a complete waste of time, with exactly one good joke in the entire movie. It comes in the first minute. After that, you can leave.
  7. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 23, 2013
    0
    Not just bad, but weirdly, fascinatingly bad.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 130
  2. Negative: 38 out of 130
  1. May 23, 2013
    10
    IGNORE THE REVIEWS. The movie is hilarious. I saw it in a packed cinema and everyone was laughing throughout! It is a different, darker approach to the trilogy and it works! Its the perfect balance of sinister/hilarious. The Hangover is usually centered around Stu but now it's Alan's movie and the change pays off. DEFINITELY WORTH YOUR MONEY, THIS METACRITIC SCORE IS AN ABOMINATION!! Expand
  2. May 24, 2013
    8
    Not as funny as one. But still better than two. This was a good end to a good trilogy. Pacing was kinda slow at times and they still showed to much in the previews. But not enough to where all the jokes were told. Only real complaint is no ending pictures. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2014
    7
    It's completely different than the previous ones but no way it's as bad as everyone says. It's a good movie, I didn't had high expectations and it's a solid thing Expand
  4. May 30, 2013
    5
    Zach Galifianakis is the focus of this final installment in the decreasingly funny series. His over-the-top behavior has the other Wolfpack members taking him off to rehab…until John Goodman appears and sends them on a quest to find Mr. Chow. Instead of the "how did we get here?" scenario that fueled the first two, this one comes off as a mediocre heist. While there are amusing moments (thx mostly to Zach), the whole enterprise lacks the outrageous originality of the others. Expand
  5. Jun 6, 2014
    4
    so the Hangover trilogy closes with "The Hangover Part III". i loved the first "Hangover" movie, it was hilarious! "Part II" was okay, but it wasn't as good as the first movie and it was just a rehash of the first one. so now, in 2013 they gave us "The Hangover Part III" where Alan's the main character this time. and Phil, Stu and Doug are taking him to get some help cause he's turning into an **** now, then they run into a gangster played by John Goodman who takes Doug and he's like "Find me Chow or Doug's dead!" and that's premise of "The Hangover Part III". what i liked about this movie, it's that they had the balls to take a different direction with this one, instead of rehashing it (like the second movie did). but, you'd think they'd put in better jokes to make it funnier, right? unfortunately, it's not really funny this time. it just feels like a dark heist movie of just them trying to find Chow. sure, it does have jokes and i did chuckle a few times in the movie, but the problem is that the jokes in this one fall completely flat and it's not really funny anymore. also, Alan used to be the lovable idiot in the first 2 movies, but in this one, he's a complete **** i get that they were trying to have a subplot of Alan growing as a person, but when you change his character for a different subplot in the movie, that doesn't fit and now Alan's an unlikable douche bag. and Chow used to be my favorite character in the first 2 movies. he was a hilarious Asian baddie that always had me dying in laughter (especially in the first movie). but the problem is that here he's an idiot like Alan and he's not really that funny anymore. and they kept hammering in the fact that Chow's outta his mind. okay, we get it! Chow's crazy, we get it! please, stop shoving that down our throats! as a whole, "The Hangover Part III" was a let down cause i was actually expecting a improvement over "Part II". but apparently, it's not. and i gotta say, i laughed more in the second movie than i did here. Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2013
    3
    I think we all were going to see Hangover 3. No matter how good or awful it turned out to be. And thus it was created. Hopefully it stop here. Anyone expecting the comedy of the original will be sorely disappointed. The director it seems to have realized his big mistake in basically re-shooting the hangover in Bangkok and calling it a sequel. Though props go to the drug dealing monkey.

    The result is something that meanders between being a heist film and a gross out comedy. They do a good job of making the characters more human after hangover part 2. As other have said Zach Galifianakis really dominates the wolfpack in this one. Both in terms of being central to the story and screen time. Also Ken Jeong who is elevated from bit character to full on bad guy or good guy depending how you look at it.
    Due to a back story of events that barely make sense an over-serious John Goodman kidnaps Doug (no. really?) thus kicking events off. Unlike hangover 1 and 2 they aren't even drugged this time and it is unclear what past sins they have committed to deserve such punishment. Especially Doug. Poor guy gets so little screen-time for being such a big part of the plot. It could have been an interesting direction if he came along for one of their crazy adventures. He could have been the "straight" guy horrified by the things the wolfpack has become used to.

    There are laughs to be had though. And at least one pair of boobs to be seen. Though FYI you have to wait for the credits and you will regret it. Overall a low end comedy still sitting in the shadow of a much better original.
    Collapse
  7. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    This is a movie with people that have too much time on there hands. I think it is very unrealistic. I would warn people to not waste there money. This movie is for the people that have no life and basic losers. Expand

See all 130 User Reviews