Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 422 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 37
  2. Negative: 19 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 22, 2013
    80
    Galifianakis, though, is the key here. Able to smash a scene to smithereens with the simplest of lines, the hirsute comic is as unpredictable as ever, yet takes director Todd Phillips’ bait to up the stakes.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 22, 2013
    60
    And so the real question isn't whether director Todd Phillips' third -- and, he insists, the final -- installment in the unabashedly crude, very R-rated comedy trilogy is funny. Of course, it is.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 22, 2013
    50
    Director Todd Phillips has delivered a film so different from the first two, one could even ask if this is even supposed to be a comedy. I'm not saying it's an unfunny comedy wannabe; I'm saying it plays more like a straightforward, real-world thriller with a few laughs than a hard-R slapstick farce.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 22, 2013
    38
    Nothing about this rote exercise feels remotely fresh. It's a re-tread of the 2009 original, sans the inspired lunacy.
  5. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jun 6, 2013
    38
    The Hangover Part III plays more like a caper film — “Alan’s Eleven,” perhaps — than a comedy. While Phillips ably handles the action sequences, he and co-screenwriter Craig Mazin can’t juggle both genres in the screenplay.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 22, 2013
    25
    If the first "Hangover" movie were this awful, there never would have been a Part Two. This is a joyless, unfunny mix of comedy and drama, a complete waste of time, with exactly one good joke in the entire movie. It comes in the first minute. After that, you can leave.
  7. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 23, 2013
    0
    Not just bad, but weirdly, fascinatingly bad.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 125
  2. Negative: 36 out of 125
  1. May 23, 2013
    10
    IGNORE THE REVIEWS. The movie is hilarious. I saw it in a packed cinema and everyone was laughing throughout! It is a different, darker approach to the trilogy and it works! Its the perfect balance of sinister/hilarious. The Hangover is usually centered around Stu but now it's Alan's movie and the change pays off. DEFINITELY WORTH YOUR MONEY, THIS METACRITIC SCORE IS AN ABOMINATION!! Expand
  2. May 25, 2013
    9
    I didn't think that The Hangover franchise could top the first two, what with the amazing Hangover, and the not as good, but still brilliant Hangover Part II, but Part III has easily topped the list for me. The Hangover Part III had all the charm of the first two, with some well-working undertones I didn't see coming. For example, I love the thriller aesthetic of the film. It really helps drive the story and tense moments forward. It almost reminds me of Taken. The story in this one is much better than the first two. As opposed to 'We got drunk so go to places and stuff and epiphany... wedding.' No this time we've got a creative, and easy to follow story. I won't spoil anything, but events of the first two are tied to the story in Part III. The soundtrack is absolutely awesome, and it helps accompany the overall atmosphere of the film, and the running comedy in the film kept me entertained for the entire film. The characters feel much better in the film, like Chow. I need to talk about Chow. Chow has been regarded as the funniest thing in the Hangover series. I agree with this, and thank Jesus he makes a comeback, and he's as entertaining as ever. I prefer the settings in this instalment too. Whilst the first two just felt like a ship in a bottle, Part III has quite a lot of varied, and much more visually beautiful. I could honestly go on or ages about what's good about the film. Seriously, it's that good. Is it cinematic perfection? Is this The Godfather of our generation? Have we discovered the best film ever made?... Well, no. Unfortunately no. But, it's still an awesome film, and I recommend it to anyone, even if you haven't seen the first two. So I must now talk about it's flaws, so here's a quick list: some of the voice acting is still a little plain, and there were a few plot holes I noticed that bugged me. Also some of the characters I wanted to see come back, like Mike Tyson. They kept teasing at him being in it, and actually promised him being in it... where was he? I'm not sure if I missed him, but either way, it's sad to see him gone. But even these few small problems which I struggled to find, don't remove from the overall feel of the film. So, the final score is a 9. Now this film is definitely a competitor for best film of the year, and it's definitely the best film this year. But the few problems with the film prevent it from getting a 10/10, because I just can't give a flawed but legendary film a perfect score. But either way, go see for yourself. I recommend a million times over. Ignore the critics, we users are here to tell the truth. Expand
  3. May 24, 2013
    7
    Better than the second, but doesn't live up to the first (though anything like that will be incredibly difficult to recreate). If you like any of The Hangover movies, you'll certainly enjoy this one. The tone definitely takes a turn, and becomes more darker and awkward with Zach Galifianakis (Alan) and Ken Jeong (Chow) leading the crew. Make sure to stay after the credits too, just a few seconds after the film's end lies the funniest moment that had my jaw dropped for a moment. The cast is all really solid, and I really was intrigued as the plot went on. There is a little bit of drag and the comedy comes to me as small laughs rather than huge gags or hilarious one liners. The critics definitely aren't fans of this film, but to me, I left the theater feeling pleased. It's a solid end to The Hangover series and Wolf Pack, and much much better than went I left after viewing it's predecessor; Hangover Part II. Expand
  4. May 26, 2013
    5
    If the movie trailers and the posters live up to their promise, this is the end for The Wolfpack as we know it. Director Todd Phillips has proclaimed The Hangover Part III as the epic finale of one of the most polarizing franchises of all time. Not disliking Part II myself, as much as everyone else, I still held reservations against Part III. Going in with low expectations, I can say that The Hangover Part III makes up for the disastrous Part II, but comes nowhere near the level of the original.

    The tone is set in a much darker place. A real life is in serious peril with Marshall threatening to kill Doug unless they bring him Chow. This plot development is a fantastic way to tie all three movies together, but it rarely finds a way to works itself in with the subplot of Alan needing mental help. Drifting away from the trouble with Alan to focus on finding Chow, there is never a feeling of urgency to anything that makes us care for Doug's safety, which ultimately lessens Alan's story.

    As Part III begins as a cry for help from Alan, we never see a progression of his change until the very end when he meets Melissa McCarthy. Her scene with Alan makes more sense as a gag than an actual instrument to influence the character. This moment is way too forced and is resolved too quickly. However, it is nice to see Phil and Stu bring a calm balance to the overly exhausted random acts of words that spew out of Alan's mouth. These actors have a great chemistry together, but nothing in this story helps grow these characters from what we know of them already.

    On the other hand, Mr. Chow is a greater force to be reckoned with this time around and you can actually tell how threatening and sly he can be. And although Jeong works well in Part III, his atrocious accent and Asian caricature is still unbearable. John Goodman is a decent commanding villain, but is never given much to do. What irritates me about his threat is that since they are in the U.S. The Wolfpack never bother to call the cops or are given an ultimatum by Marshall, which lacks tension.

    For a sequel that no one really asked for, Part III does a reasonable job at clinging on to audiences that have not lost faith in the franchise. Unfortunately it was an uphill battle from the beginning after Part II left its mark. You could, however, skip Part II and hardly miss a beat aside from one joke. Almost every element of the first film is re-introduced in the third to bring the trilogy together in a neat little package. Even little Carlos makes an appearance, and it happens to be the most genuine scene in the movie.

    The movie is visually slick, like any under Todd Phillips' belt, he uses every ounce of his budget to his advantage. With what comedy there is, the timing from every actor is just as smooth as ever. Again, Phillips makes use of a killer soundtrack and fits it well into each scene. There is a rendition of "Hurt" from Nine Inch Nails that would make the band cringe, but it is timed perfectly for this film. "Dark Fantasy" by Kanye West, "Down in Mexico" by The Coasters, and many others work in favor of the film keeping up a high energy.

    Helms, Galifianakis, and Cooper have gotten their character dynamics as The Wolfpack down to a science. As much as it hurts to see these actors fill the shoes of these characters again because it feels like they're in it for the paycheck they all do a great job running through the motions. I did have a good chuckle here and there, but most of those moments have been easily forgotten. There are some clever elements that I enjoyed, but for the most part this movie is bland and fails to elevate the franchise one inch.

    And even though the stakes are much higher this time, it never really appears like anyone cares about the safety of Doug and his kidnapping is one more annoyance they have to suffer through to find a happy ending. Doug's kidnapping is basically used as a running gag at this point to keep him out of the film. What I would have liked to see is for Todd Phillips to completely depart from this franchise, maintain the same rules, and try something daring to give us something fresh for these characters to do.

    Fans of The Hangover won't be entirely disappointed by Part III as much as they were with Part II. By no means does it reach the same caliber of the first, but it is coherent enough to work as an subpar sequel. At no point does Part III feel like an enjoyable farewell experience, and that's a shame. The actors make this film entertaining enough to get by, but The Hangover Part III never succeeds in being anything more than a way to cleanly tie up loose ends.
    Expand
  5. May 30, 2013
    5
    DO NOT leave The Hangover Part III when the credits start to roll. You’ll miss one of the funniest scenes in the whole movie. I work at a movie theater, and after every single showing of the movie I watch as impatient audience members rush for the exits only to miss the movie’s ridiculous stinger scene. Hold your pee for two more minutes (You don’t even have to wait until the credits are completely over, as the scene comes in after only about 30 seconds of credits).

    Unfortunately, for those who do make haste for the exit doors (and I can’t say I blame you for doing so) The Hangover Part III will be remembered for being…well…forgettable. It’s not a bad movie. It just isn’t a very funny one.

    Read More http://www.recomedia.net/filmtv/the-hangover-part-iii-review/
    Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    The joke has irrevocably worn out. This time around, they even forgot to make a comedy but instead they went for a thriller that has a couple of jokes (all of which you can see by watching the trailer). Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    This is a movie with people that have too much time on there hands. I think it is very unrealistic. I would warn people to not waste there money. This movie is for the people that have no life and basic losers. Expand

See all 125 User Reviews