User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 774 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 774
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EddieM.
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    Oh what to say, this could be the best comedy of the year, everyone in the film is hilarious, and to top it off with mike tyson, everyone needs to check this film out, acting was superb, and the movie was just genuinely funny. Oh and make sure u stay after the credits, some of the funniest parts are in it.
  2. ByronO.
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    Although I am a huge Zach Galifianakis fan (yes there are some of those) I came into this movie with pretty low expectations. I was extremely surprised by the movie as a whole. The writing and storyline were good, but the acting by Ed Helms, and particularly Zach G. (who carried the movie) was excellent. The entire theater was laughing throughout the whole movie. This was one of the best Although I am a huge Zach Galifianakis fan (yes there are some of those) I came into this movie with pretty low expectations. I was extremely surprised by the movie as a whole. The writing and storyline were good, but the acting by Ed Helms, and particularly Zach G. (who carried the movie) was excellent. The entire theater was laughing throughout the whole movie. This was one of the best comedies I have seen in a while. Expand
  3. JordanG.
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Hilariously funny movie with a brilliant cast. Zach Galifianakis and Ed Helms were absolutely hilarious.
  4. JeffB.
    Jun 7, 2009
    9
    There has never been a statue made of a Critic.. and this is why..get a Real JOB and wake up from your Hangover.. how could you not find this Funny?
  5. Dave
    Jun 7, 2009
    8
    From start to credits, I laughed with few pauses. Where other comedies have failed, The Hangover doesn't treat the plot as a to-do list to run through after the gags are done, it keeps it fun and involved.
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    This movie is brilliant. I think one of the stupidest movie in the world, but it makes me laugh and has a great cast with actors appreciable and estimable! Great film!
  7. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Great movie! extremelly true and funny! Very funny, I would say! Will recommend! People who think this movie is not good, I think they should watch The Box...(Cameron Diaz). After that, they will appreciate it a lot more and realize that the money spent on making the move has not been wasted!
  8. Dec 25, 2010
    8
    The Hangover is one of the best "straight-out" comedies in the last decade! It is not the 'intelligent' type of comedy, such as "Lost in Translation" or "Sideways," but it's a crowd-pleaser!! The hilarious screenplay is just perfectly written and, quite frankly, though the situations are completely insane, they seem rather believable in the film. The cast is also rather good, so overall itThe Hangover is one of the best "straight-out" comedies in the last decade! It is not the 'intelligent' type of comedy, such as "Lost in Translation" or "Sideways," but it's a crowd-pleaser!! The hilarious screenplay is just perfectly written and, quite frankly, though the situations are completely insane, they seem rather believable in the film. The cast is also rather good, so overall it is a great comedy that will make you laugh harder than the vast majority of comedies out there, nowadays! Great film! Expand
  9. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    "The Hangover" is a brazenly brainless comedy that doesn't know what its doing. But guess what; that's why its funny.
  10. PeteL.
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    The trailer looked great & the film surpassed my expectations. It was non stop laughs from start to finish as we discovered what happened that fateful. A great comedy movie that isn't a "lads" film & isn't just full of purile slapstick.
  11. DaveF
    Jul 6, 2009
    8
    Obviously, a real split in opinion on this movie. I guess some people don't enjoy laughing or think a comedy must be ever so tasteful or maybe just walk around with a stick up their a$$ and it hurts too much to laugh. Personally, I thought this was one of the funniest movies I've seen in years. I laughed out loud (along with eveyone else in the theatre) enough times that I lost Obviously, a real split in opinion on this movie. I guess some people don't enjoy laughing or think a comedy must be ever so tasteful or maybe just walk around with a stick up their a$$ and it hurts too much to laugh. Personally, I thought this was one of the funniest movies I've seen in years. I laughed out loud (along with eveyone else in the theatre) enough times that I lost count. Sure it was crude, but c'mon what did you expect when you saw a tiger, Mike Tyson and a baby in sunglasses in the trailers? Galifianakis, Helm and Jeong (Mr. Chow) were simply hilarious and the reveals became funnier as the movie went on. The credits tied everything together perfectly, contrived or not. Expand
  12. May 28, 2012
    7
    'The Hangover' is one of those buddy comedy films where you have to stop asking questions, grab a bucket of buttery popcorn, sit back and enjoy the ride. Character development is virtually non-existent and not everything is correctly wrapped up and explained by the end of the movie. Regardless this is a truly funny feature. The unpredictably and random events are what I'm sure most people'The Hangover' is one of those buddy comedy films where you have to stop asking questions, grab a bucket of buttery popcorn, sit back and enjoy the ride. Character development is virtually non-existent and not everything is correctly wrapped up and explained by the end of the movie. Regardless this is a truly funny feature. The unpredictably and random events are what I'm sure most people will highly appreciate. The lack of a proper narrative is fine and although some people might be put off by the nudity I thought it was brilliantly amusing Expand
  13. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    Sadly the film lacks a huge amount of heart, but where it lacks in that category it makes up for in tons of laughs, fantastic performances, and originality. I give this movie 73%.
  14. JoelZ
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    One of the best movies i've seen in a while, no particaular scene really stands out, just brilliant from start to finish.
  15. JamesH
    Jan 19, 2010
    7
    Very funny, the writing is excellent and cleverly pieced together. The cast is terrific, especially Ed Helms. Very well edited, good score, outstanding pace. One of the better comedies of the last few years.
  16. KokoJ
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    VERY WELL DONE. The script was good. the acting was good and the entire movie was funny and thoughtout. There were no moment where youn wanted to get up and leave. This film is so worth watching.
  17. RyanS
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    This movie was hilarious. The situations were ridiculous and the characters were all crazy out of their minds on drugs. Watching the fallout of their antics is good old fashioned family entertainment.
  18. Colin
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    This movie was so hilarious! I couldn't stop laughing!
  19. ArielC
    May 20, 2010
    9
    I think this movie is one of the most hilarious of all time!
  20. mikeg
    Jun 3, 2010
    10
    This was one funny movie. As the movie progressed, each scene became funnier and funnier. By the time the Chinese mobster was let loose from the trunk and unloaded on the three guys, I was howling. Later, when he tells the guys to suck on his Chinese Nuts, forget it. I was laughing too hard. The next day I tried to describe these scenes to my wife and I couldn't stop snickering. Just This was one funny movie. As the movie progressed, each scene became funnier and funnier. By the time the Chinese mobster was let loose from the trunk and unloaded on the three guys, I was howling. Later, when he tells the guys to suck on his Chinese Nuts, forget it. I was laughing too hard. The next day I tried to describe these scenes to my wife and I couldn't stop snickering. Just the memory alone got me laughing all over again. It was contagious. My wife started laughing along with me as I tried to tell her between laughs how the guy told everyone to suck on his Chinese nuts. And that was just two scenes that were out and out hilarious. Expand
  21. EvanW.
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    What are you talking about Kenny? The film adresses cliches used in it and avoids them in some parts, making for something truly original. By the way... it's freakin highlarious!!!!!
  22. LarryK
    Jun 9, 2009
    7
    Although "Hangover" turned out not to be the 10 my wife and I had hoped for, we found ourselves howling loudly at the many hilarious scenes. We are not fans of raunchy and vulgar movies, but this one at least kept most of the raunch just on the adult side of juvenile which made it not only a little more tolerable, but actually amusing. However all the enjoyable humor of the movie Although "Hangover" turned out not to be the 10 my wife and I had hoped for, we found ourselves howling loudly at the many hilarious scenes. We are not fans of raunchy and vulgar movies, but this one at least kept most of the raunch just on the adult side of juvenile which made it not only a little more tolerable, but actually amusing. However all the enjoyable humor of the movie instantly dissolved, and every decent bone in our bodies was violated when disturbing pornographic images appeared along with the movie credits. Whether or not they liked the movie, every critic should have issued a warning about these images. Despite one critic writing, "you WANT to stick around for the credits ... and you don't mind one bit," the last thing we wanted to see was an explicit image of a woman performing oral sex. If it can be assumed that the majority of movie audiences who can tolerate some level of vulgarity, would welcome grotesque pornography, then we had better reexamine our values as a society. Expand
  23. PatrickC.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    The year's best comedy by far.
  24. FrankB.
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    I wish there was a rating above 10 so the dumb people that vote 0 wouldn't bring this movie down. It is physically impossible to be any funnier. There is a reason that this is the #1 comedy of all time on the DVD charts.
  25. JillS.
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    Hilarious movie.I must watch for Superbad and Knocked Up lovers. Zach Galifianakis has an amazing part in this movie as well as Ed and Bradley.
  26. RobbR.
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies EVER!!!! I can't wait till it comes out on DVD, after seeing it in the theater.
  27. Kyle
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Outstanding! I didn't know what i was getting myself into. My brother said it was good, to me it looked like any other Vegas drunk comedy. I was very glad to find out it was anything but ordinary. I couldn't stop laughing. I had to watch it again, the jokes keep coming so steady that i laughed so hard i missed a lot of the movie. It sucks to be that guy that hated it, this movie Outstanding! I didn't know what i was getting myself into. My brother said it was good, to me it looked like any other Vegas drunk comedy. I was very glad to find out it was anything but ordinary. I couldn't stop laughing. I had to watch it again, the jokes keep coming so steady that i laughed so hard i missed a lot of the movie. It sucks to be that guy that hated it, this movie is GENIUS! Expand
  28. DominicL
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    The movie was about 4 guys going to Las Vages for a barchler party one ends up getting lost This movie was like no other,it was outrageously funny must see movie, they didn't waste time with off topic things This movie left you wanting more,it wasn't slow and boring,it was fun and out going film all the way threw I think this movie was amazing and a must see film.
  29. JacobL
    Jun 12, 2010
    8
    R rated movies have always felt a little too dirty for me. With all the adult content I sometimes wonder whether I can handle an R rated movie. Up until today the only really good R rated movie I saw was Super Bad. However, the Hangover knocks that movie out of the ballpark. The plot of the film is essential these four guys have decided to have a bachelor party in Vegas. So they go out R rated movies have always felt a little too dirty for me. With all the adult content I sometimes wonder whether I can handle an R rated movie. Up until today the only really good R rated movie I saw was Super Bad. However, the Hangover knocks that movie out of the ballpark. The plot of the film is essential these four guys have decided to have a bachelor party in Vegas. So they go out and have a good time. Come next morning though the bachelor is nowhere to be found and three guys can't remember anything from the night before. So begins their hilarious quest to find Doug, the bachelor. Most of the humor in this movie revolves around these guys finding out what it was they did the other night. Without giving anything away all I'm going to say is that these guys did some serious s-word. The core of this comedy is these guys finding out what they did through the consequences of their actions. Throughout a good portion of that part of the film I was laughing my head off. However, the jokes began to dry out after the trunk incident. Nonetheless when this water is boiling it makes the kettle whistle. For any parents reading this let me assure that the Hangover isn't the most adult movie in the world. Most of the R rated content comes in the form of the language used. In fact there was nothing really that disturbing in this movie. Nonetheless, this movie is still for the more mature audience. The Hangover is the comedy. It will make you laugh so hard that you'll either throw your head back clap your hands, or both. However, the humor fails to endure for the entire film . Nonetheless, the movie is hilarious long enough for me to give it an 85/100. However, since Metacritic doesn't do decimals I'm stuck giving my secondary opinion. Bottom line go watch this movie for what it's worth, this movie is a freaking good time. Expand
  30. MickeyR.
    Nov 27, 2009
    9
    Pure comedy. Loved it from the first to the last, the direction was in some ways unique, but not the only one of its kind. It was worth the wait to watch this movie, the trio couldn't have been more perfect.
  31. PeterJ
    Dec 29, 2009
    7
    Okay, if I had only watched in once I would have given it a 5, but it was actually funnier the 2nd time around. Still not as funny as everyone makes it out to be, and I doubt I'll watch it a 3rd time unless there is nothing else on and it's on cable somewhere.
  32. WillK.
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    One of the best comedies I have ever seen, really enjoyable to watch with a great story and cast.
  33. jamesb
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    Just saw it 2nd time and it still was funny. i haven't laughed this hard @ a comedy in ages. maybe some of the jokes are cheap but they come in such good acting you don't care. the plot is brilliant, it keeps you guessing what's next. its refreshing for the comedy genre to have a main plot that actually intrigues. for a comedy flick, it doesn't get much better than this.
  34. May 25, 2011
    8
    its been along time since i seen a comedy that gave me a good laugh . the hangover turned out to be the first one in a long time to do so. its jokes can be clever , rediculas and ruanchy but pulls them off pretty well. after waching it 3 times which i dont think ive done for any commedy since the wedding crashers i can still get a few laughs out of it . its a solid commedy in years whereits been along time since i seen a comedy that gave me a good laugh . the hangover turned out to be the first one in a long time to do so. its jokes can be clever , rediculas and ruanchy but pulls them off pretty well. after waching it 3 times which i dont think ive done for any commedy since the wedding crashers i can still get a few laughs out of it . its a solid commedy in years where every other one is very predictable or about as funny as waching a door close . Expand
  35. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    Are you kidding me?How can you not like this movie.Every part of this movie is amazing and funny.I have been waiting for a movie like this to come out for years.This is the kind of movie you can watch over and over again and relate to it in one way or another.I hope they make a sequel cause it's set up were it can have a great sequel.Great movie!
  36. Aug 27, 2010
    8
    There are plenty of great moments in this raunchy comedy and it's definitely the funniest movie of the 2009, combining abdsurdity and vulgarity like I have never seen before.Still, I also feel like it relies too heavily on shock value to induce a response from the audience rather than actual substance (though I'll feel that way about any movie that feels the need to show an old man's assThere are plenty of great moments in this raunchy comedy and it's definitely the funniest movie of the 2009, combining abdsurdity and vulgarity like I have never seen before.Still, I also feel like it relies too heavily on shock value to induce a response from the audience rather than actual substance (though I'll feel that way about any movie that feels the need to show an old man's ass crack for no reason). It's not brilliant but it definitely gets the job done, and then some. Expand
  37. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    I agree with my sweet heart husband, This movie was and still very deep, If you talk about real this movie real than real, trust this word and believe it.Just watch with more focus because every part relate the other and never never change your mined to watch it, watch this movie over and over because very grate movie. I give this movie 10
  38. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    One of my favorite comedies of all time. Purely for entertainment. Not a kids movie whatsoever.

    Pretty much every scene generates laughter. The entire theater roared for most of the flick.

    Definitely one to watch.
  39. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    LOVED IT!!!! Can't wait for the 2nd one to come out because I enjoyed the whole story and 'Alan' is a hoot!! I watch this movie again and again. Hope the 2nd is just as good OR better!!!
  40. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    This was one of those movies I had little expectation walking into. It turned out to be hilarious. Now I have this urge to go to Las Vegas. The second part to hangover just sucked so this first installment really gets its thumbs up!
  41. Sep 9, 2010
    7
    It's a good movie, there's no denying that, but it just didn't meet the expectations set by my friends and some of the reviews I read. I'm not the kind of guy who is too critical on comedy movies, but I just didn't find this THAT funny. Some jokes were forced, and some plot elements were just stupid and unfunny. However, the movie did have a lot of extremely memorable and hilarious quotes,It's a good movie, there's no denying that, but it just didn't meet the expectations set by my friends and some of the reviews I read. I'm not the kind of guy who is too critical on comedy movies, but I just didn't find this THAT funny. Some jokes were forced, and some plot elements were just stupid and unfunny. However, the movie did have a lot of extremely memorable and hilarious quotes, and Alan is a hilarious character. The plot is kinda dumb, but obviously it isn't meant to be taken seriously, so who cares? I'd recommend seeing it with friends, and it's definitely worth watching. Expand
  42. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    Quite Frankly one of funniest movies since Knocked Up. And newcomer Zach Galifianakis Steals the show. Though it has its flaws the movie simply cant be missed.
  43. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    This is a great "Vegas" movie. It has its share of laughs and very well-done sequences, with a bit of humor for everyone, though it specializes in the vulgar. The main reason I truly like this movie is because it is a comedy that doesn't sacrifice the plot for cheap jokes. The story is well-done and well-presented, and makes the viewer care, or at least wonder, about how it is going toThis is a great "Vegas" movie. It has its share of laughs and very well-done sequences, with a bit of humor for everyone, though it specializes in the vulgar. The main reason I truly like this movie is because it is a comedy that doesn't sacrifice the plot for cheap jokes. The story is well-done and well-presented, and makes the viewer care, or at least wonder, about how it is going to end. Unless you have a very dirty sense of humor, it won't be hysterical by any stretch of the imagination, but the quality acting and script delivers both laughs and a story. Expand
  44. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    The Hangover is a story about...Do I really need to tell you the plot to this film? I'm sure you could work it out from the title, as well as from this review The Hangover is probably the funniest movie to come out during the 2009 movie season. The laughs flow out naturally, be it from the main four cast members, from characters who appear one time (the cops especially) or just from aThe Hangover is a story about...Do I really need to tell you the plot to this film? I'm sure you could work it out from the title, as well as from this review The Hangover is probably the funniest movie to come out during the 2009 movie season. The laughs flow out naturally, be it from the main four cast members, from characters who appear one time (the cops especially) or just from a random reveal (wait for the valet to return, and wait for them to open the trunk) Not everything is revealed (Where did the chicken come from?) and some suspension of disbelief is required (Mike Tyson has no guards to stop three men taking his tiger?) but trust me, this film leaves you in stitches so many times and is so fun, you won't care. Oh, and once you've finished watching this movie, stick around during the credits where you'll get a montage of pictures showing a number of things the characters did back in their forgotten night A film you won't want to forget Expand
  45. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Very funny movie. It has alot of funny moments, hardly a time where the laughing stops, the actors do an amazing job and you want to stick around for the credits.....trust me.
  46. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    HIlarious film. While not every part was good, The majority of the film was hilarious and it featured quite a few priceless moments. I really enjoyed it.
  47. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA. That is really all I have to say about this movie. Superb laughs, and a solid storyline. There aren't many comedies that achieve this.
  48. Jan 30, 2011
    9
    I am not going to review this film because it is a) shallow in tone and b) hilarious in its shallowness... but we all knew this anyway...instead I will leave you with these words: "Any film that makes you want to watch the credits is worth as much as you are prepared to pay..." 94/100
  49. May 22, 2011
    9
    This is a hilarious movie that I highly recommend, the cast works together wonderfully, and the script is hilarious, it's packed with crazy twists and turns throughout, I just wish there had been less nudity, but this is still a great movie.
  50. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    the best comedy movie ever
  51. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    Director Todd Phillips has a knack for making some of the best buddy comedies. Road Trip, Old Scool, Starsky & Hutch, and the upcoming Due Date starring Robert Downey Jr. and Zach Galifianakis. I didn't care for most of the previous titles, except Old School. It took me a long time to see Old School, but when I did I was thoroughly satisfied. It wasn's the movie itself that I fell in loveDirector Todd Phillips has a knack for making some of the best buddy comedies. Road Trip, Old Scool, Starsky & Hutch, and the upcoming Due Date starring Robert Downey Jr. and Zach Galifianakis. I didn't care for most of the previous titles, except Old School. It took me a long time to see Old School, but when I did I was thoroughly satisfied. It wasn's the movie itself that I fell in love with, as much as the genuine feeling of comradery and friendship between Mitch (Luke Wilson), Frank the Tank (Will Ferrell) and Beanie (Vince Vaughn). That is the very same feeling I get when I watch The Hangover. The actors all have a chemistry that makes you believe what's happening to them, no matter how outrageous it is. Zach Galifiankis was the best. What a great way to break onto the movie scene, after a decade of extra roles, and tv spots. The slogan, "Some guys just can't handle Vegas" is perfect. Without saying, if you saw the trailer you alreay know that the premise of the story is a bit extreme, but I never got the feeling that events from the film were beyond the realm of reality. Another great thing about this movie was the cameos. I'm always a sucker for good cameos, and The Hangover doesn't disappoint. I loved the appearances of Ken Jeong as the gay Chinese gangster Mr. Chow, Rob Riggle as the over-caffinated cop, and Mike Epps as black Doug. Oh yeah, and that other Mike too. Although, they probally shouldn't have spoiled that one in the preview. With so much going on in the story, this film could have easily had a few unfilled plot holes, but I'm happy to say that it didn't. The only question that went unanswered was how that chicken got in the hotel room. The Hangover was one of my favorite films of the summer. That's saying alot because there were quite a few great movies that came out in the summer of 2009. Todd Phillips may use the same basic buddy comedy palette for each of his movies, but why shouldn't he? It works. I can't wait for Due Date. And if theres any truth to this, we should be expecting a sequal to The Hangover. My fingers are crossed for that one. Expand
  52. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    One of the funniest films you will ever see. Simple as that. This film has some of the most hilarious and memorable quotes and scenes ever and Zach Galifianakis! This film focuses upon a Wolf-pac, four hungry wolves, running around the desert in Las Vegas looking for strippers and cocaine... Well not quite! It's about four men who go to Vegas for a bachelor party only to wake up the nextOne of the funniest films you will ever see. Simple as that. This film has some of the most hilarious and memorable quotes and scenes ever and Zach Galifianakis! This film focuses upon a Wolf-pac, four hungry wolves, running around the desert in Las Vegas looking for strippers and cocaine... Well not quite! It's about four men who go to Vegas for a bachelor party only to wake up the next morning and remember nothing from the night before and to top it all off the groom is missing! From then on in its just a laugh-out-loud, hilarious, just incredibly funny comedy featuring a cameo from Mike Tyson. One of the best comedies ever made, unmissable!!! Expand
  53. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Truly one of the best comedy's of the decade. This movie was non-stop hilarious with a great cast. The situation they were in was just comical the entire time. Zach Galifianakis was the best part of this movie. The movie needed him to make this movie be able to get the phrase, best comedy movie ever!
  54. Jul 1, 2011
    7
    One of the best comedies of recent years and one most people can relate to (although not on such a grand scale) of memory gaps or complete blanks after a good drinking session. The gags are predictable but still make you laugh and the cast is perfectly suited to the roles.
  55. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Brilliant! This film did what many comedies fail to do......make you laugh! Casting was perfect and the performances are top-notch, with Galifianakis stealing the show immediately! This is also a film that oddly enough has some pretty darn good cinematography with Vegas as a backdrop. This one will be remembered for a long time!
  56. May 15, 2011
    9
    funny as hell................................................................................................................... good comedy movie. the casting was excellent.
  57. May 17, 2011
    10
    This is one of the funniest films I have ever seen! In every single scene there is comedy. Everyone I know loves this film. I know some people who have laughed so much throughout the film that they have made themselves cry from laughter. I do not know a single person who does not like this film. I cannot wait for The Hangover part 2
  58. May 31, 2011
    10
    An AMAZING movie! One of the funniest movies ever created! Everyone who watches it laughs, everyone single one of them! A truly amazing film with a simple but hilarious plot and awesome acting! You really have to see this one!
  59. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    "The Hangover" - One Line Review!

    "Here's your car, officers." Movie was great, really funny - Heather Graham is still really hot. Check this out when you can, 4 out of 5 stars.
  60. j30
    Oct 7, 2011
    8
    A sidesplitting raunchy comedy from the director of Old School. I was a little skeptical going into this one because some of my friends that recommended it to me don't have the best taste in the world. This movie was all about the shock factor. The second viewing is not nearly as funny, but it's still entertaining.
  61. CRL
    Aug 9, 2011
    7
    Undeniably a bit overrated and over-hyped, The Hangover is still a moderately funny movie about a Vegas night gone wrong. Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, and Zack Galifianakis all fit into their roles perfectly, though I wish Justin Bartha had gotten a little more air time. Really, as long as its particular brand of humor appeals to you, this movie is a fun way to spend an hour and a half.
  62. Aug 9, 2011
    9
    Simply, it's one of the funniest, most original comedies of the 00's. Every single actor putting on a perfect comedic performance, Galifianakis especially (not to mention perhaps the best cameo of all time from Mike Tyson).
  63. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    This is a fun, all be it overrated, adventure comedy. Zach Galifinakis provides most of the hilarity, and Ken Jeong is amusing but sometimes cringeworthy. The plot is clever, the writing is sharp, and the characters are loveable. It's a fun ride.
  64. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    While there are quite a few priceless moments in this film, It can get a little boring at times and it does lose its interest quite a bit by the end of the film. Still a solid comedy none the less.
  65. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    Like Batman:Arkham Asylum, this is WAY better than any promotional material would lead you to believe. Genuinely funny moments throughout, and brings laughs to all age (but you should keep it away from the younger kids, as there are hookers and roofies and a good amount of swearing) groups while sticking with the story and not getting carried away. There is an unfortunate under utilizationLike Batman:Arkham Asylum, this is WAY better than any promotional material would lead you to believe. Genuinely funny moments throughout, and brings laughs to all age (but you should keep it away from the younger kids, as there are hookers and roofies and a good amount of swearing) groups while sticking with the story and not getting carried away. There is an unfortunate under utilization of Justin Bartha, but the rest of the cast (including a hysterical and beautifully played EP, if you will, of a role from Mike Tyson. (too big to be a cameo, but too small to be a starring role.)) more than make up for it, especially Ken Jeong. Get it on Blu Ray. Its good to have on hand when your buddies come over and you can't find anything to watch. Expand
  66. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    I really liked the movie and its easily one of the best comedies you will ever see. A lot of over the top hilarious moments and the cast does a great job at playing their part.
  67. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    The Hangover is the funniest movie of the year. It brings with it a different style of comedy. Everybody has memorbable lines. It starts off with a bang and leaves you laughing until you can't breath.
  68. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    First off, I would give hangover a 9.5 out of 10. It's freakin hilarious. Acting is amazing. Everyone is hilarious and shows that everyone is having a great time. Score is pretty good, and the story is good. Overall, this is a hilarious comedy that everyone old enough should go and see. This is highly recomended.
  69. May 8, 2012
    10
    let me just start by saying that this is not just one of my favourite comedies, it is also one my favourite movies. It is absoluteley hilarious and I loved it. This is definitley a must see! if you are looking for a great comedy than you have found your movie. definitley check it out. I highly reccomend it!
  70. ArthurC.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    The funniest movie of the year by far. All I can say to America is that if you get this movie to make $150 million, then you will be forgiven for Paul Blart: Mall Cop.
  71. ColinG.
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    Really funny movie, I saw it twice in a 21 hour period and laughed throughout both times.
  72. GreggU.
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    i thought this movie was absolutely hilarious, best comedy since old school
  73. JoeM
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    I loved this film -- clever, cool, vile, just plain wrong, but always funny -- saw it with my wife and she and I both loved it -- we want to see it again.
  74. CarolynM
    Jul 24, 2009
    8
    I'm a retired English professor and it's crazy, but I loved it! I used to tell my creative writing students to push their imaginations a bit further, and the scriptwriter of Hangover certainly did that. It's way beyond "R," but I have put this in my list of Guilty Pleasures.
  75. jeffs
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    Pretty funny.
  76. ElizabethA
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    The funniest comedy I've seen in a very very long time!! I was laughing through the whole thing! Definitely worth your money.
  77. RGarcia
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    Very funny. Vegas visitors that blackout due to alcohol will love this movie.
  78. JoeB
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    This was the funniest movie thats come around in a long time. Finely cafted and superbly acted. It may not reinvent the genre but it firmly establishes itself as one of the funniest movies in the last 20 years.
  79. JoshB
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Instant classic. I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard or so much in a movie (I know that sounds like a stupid critic's blurb, but it also happens to be true). Def worth seeing in a crowded theater. And in a unusual twist for a Hollywood comedy,it seems to have been written by someone with more than half a brain.
  80. Ryan
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    This was one of the funniest movies I have seen in a while. The end has a great twist that ties the whole movie together. There were very few parts that we kind of boring but the result was always an hysterical laugh!
  81. GilC
    Jun 14, 2009
    7
    not as great as the reviews would have you believe. its ok, funny in spots, but poorly constructed...more like a series of theme-related sketches than an actual story...2/3 of the second act could have been excised and the story would still have made sense. end credit sequence was a laff riot tho.
  82. SarahM
    Jun 10, 2009
    7
    This movie made me laugh out loud a handful of times and was entertaining with party music and big budget production value but did not live up to the hype. I went with two friends, who both thought it was hilarious, but most of the jokes were over the top or taken from similar movies of this kind. The acting seemed a bit over done; however, Bradley Cooper in a black suit and aviators did This movie made me laugh out loud a handful of times and was entertaining with party music and big budget production value but did not live up to the hype. I went with two friends, who both thought it was hilarious, but most of the jokes were over the top or taken from similar movies of this kind. The acting seemed a bit over done; however, Bradley Cooper in a black suit and aviators did not disappoint. Overall, I would say wait until the movie comes out on DVD, don't bother spending the $15 to see it in theaters. Expand
  83. BillyS.
    Jun 5, 2009
    8
    I'm still laughing!! The Hangover is the funniest movie I have seen in years, and not just what you see in the commercials like most comedies, but from beginning to end. You laugh until it hurts and then the end credits deliver the knock-out hilarious punch that will either make you pee your pants or give you laugh cramps. I can't wait to see it again to catch the stuff I missed I'm still laughing!! The Hangover is the funniest movie I have seen in years, and not just what you see in the commercials like most comedies, but from beginning to end. You laugh until it hurts and then the end credits deliver the knock-out hilarious punch that will either make you pee your pants or give you laugh cramps. I can't wait to see it again to catch the stuff I missed laughing so hard!! Expand
  84. Ben
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    Pure hilarity from start to finish. It never tries to be anything beyond that, and it succeeds in its goal flawlessly. The critics who don't like this movie have no souls.
  85. SeanC.
    Jun 7, 2009
    9
    Excellent Comedy. Funny all the way thru unlike so many Will Ferrell & Adam Sandler coutless blah films. Well written, funny, excellent casting as well. Location is everything. Anyone giving below a 8 was in a foul mood going in, or just doesn't get what is good and what isn't.
  86. JeffA
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    This movie is unrelentingly funny. If you didn't like it you are a truly dull individual. Nowadays it's very difficult to top what has already been done and Hangover does just that. The bar has been pushed.
  87. JerryB
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    The funniest movie I have ever seen. It took no time for this movie to take off get up with a group of buddies and go see this movie.
  88. TyW
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    This is the funniest movie I've seen since Superbad. Funny throughout, even into the credits. I just have one thing to say. If you go to a movie by the guy who directed Old School, then don't expect "emotional payoff" or "character development". Its a friggin comedy. Have a good time.
  89. SethD
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    this movie was funny as hell, the end montage a perfect capstone to the heaping mountain of hilarity that is The Hangover.
  90. KevinC
    Jul 17, 2009
    8
    It's easily the funniest movie of the summer.
  91. RileyS
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    The best comedy i have seen in years. I did not stop laughing until i reached my car. even the credits were funny! i recomend it from ages 14-40 because of the maturity level of the movie.
  92. RodrigoT
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    All the low ratings you see are most likely from geeks that don't understand comedy. This movie is funny from beginning to end. Like others have said, this is one of the funniest movies in years. This is like Old School part 2 especially with the Dan Band making an appearance. Go watch it if you wanna laugh out loud.
  93. PaoloF
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    This movie made me laugh from the beginning to the end and I just don't understand how could it possibly have bad reviews, I just can't stop watchin it over and over and it didn't happen to me since "Fear&Loathin In LasVegas" wich was a bunch of years ago. Totally suggested.
  94. ChristianS
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    Great movie with a hilarious plot, I just hope the idea of waking up from a hangover isn't overused...
  95. AntonisZ
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    An already classic comedy film. Marvelous fun!
  96. ZsomborB
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    I wanted to watch this movie since I've first saw the trailer. After I went to the cinema, I got right exactly what I was looking for. Absolute fun. The setup of "everything can happen in Vegas" opens almost endless possibilities, and this movie did it right. It was surprising, that while the movie kept up the constant fun, the plot was well-written, as it also kept you interested as I wanted to watch this movie since I've first saw the trailer. After I went to the cinema, I got right exactly what I was looking for. Absolute fun. The setup of "everything can happen in Vegas" opens almost endless possibilities, and this movie did it right. It was surprising, that while the movie kept up the constant fun, the plot was well-written, as it also kept you interested as the team tried to figure out what they did in an almost detective-mystery fashion, and the conclusion is crazy. I can highly recommend this movie, as it will make you want to have a party in Vegas. Expand
  97. Luis
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This movie rocks! Is very funny and as a viewer it makes you interested in the events that are gonna happen next. There is always something funny happening.
  98. JimR
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    One of the funniest comedies in the last 20 years. Don't listen to all the people who rated it a 0, they have no idea what "funny" is and are probably really uptight. I couldn't stop laughing throughout the entire film.
  99. ryanm
    Dec 16, 2009
    7
    Hit and Miss comedy has a few moments that made me laugh out loud but for the most part it was pretty cringe worthy. Zach Galifianakis was definitely the saving grace though.
  100. BlairM
    Jun 11, 2009
    8
    Overall a good movie, started off slow but sure gets going near the end. The credits iare the best part of the film. You wonder the entire time what happened in Vegas and you get the best part for last.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. A piercingly funny, twisted "whatever-happens-in-Vegas" caper.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    90
    At once raucously free-wheeling and meticulously contrived, picture satisfies as a boys-gone-wild laff riot that also clicks as a seriocomic beat-the-clock detective story.
  3. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    70
    Phillips can't bring himself to push the material into truly outré territory, or to characterize his growth-impaired guys as degenerate creeps rather than lovable scamps.