Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 5, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 935 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
742
Mixed:
103
Negative:
90
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
beingryanjudeSep 28, 2014
The Hangover is a fun caper which takes "what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas" to the next level. Still, I will admit to being slightly let down overall. Good, not great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingJan 15, 2016
The Hangover is a relatively funny and raunchy comedy that delivers the laughs without re-inventing the genre with any originality. A fun time-pass film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 16, 2013
The Hangover is long and loose.
The story is poor, the dialogue is good, and the pace is slow. The only real positive is that its just entertaining enough to keep going.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeFeb 15, 2013
A film that does not personally favor. Sometimes it makes you boring. The scored with 5 argument is good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SummersausageJan 6, 2013
It was a crazy funny adventure that you end up following closely to figure out what the hells happening. Zach Galifinakis has a breakthrough performance that will jump-start his comedy career. Funny but it gets so ridiculous that I don't careIt was a crazy funny adventure that you end up following closely to figure out what the hells happening. Zach Galifinakis has a breakthrough performance that will jump-start his comedy career. Funny but it gets so ridiculous that I don't care after a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
Everyone was saying this was hilarious, so I watched it. I wouldn't go so far as to say the laughs are non-stop, but there are some and the cast is good enough to pull them off. Nothing too special.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheGorillaOct 7, 2011
After the movie, I felt drowsy.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Boosemo12Jun 4, 2011
I wanted to like it, I really did.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
zombiehampsterNov 8, 2010
The Hangover was a movie that I tried really hard to like (not a good thing), but found that it just wasn't that funny or creative to me. I don't know if I had too high expectations about how it would play out, but the "jokes" seemed to be aThe Hangover was a movie that I tried really hard to like (not a good thing), but found that it just wasn't that funny or creative to me. I don't know if I had too high expectations about how it would play out, but the "jokes" seemed to be a formula of: take a basic subject/concept and add a totally unrelated twist that makes no sense other than to be just totally random, and then you have comedy. The weird thing to me is that I normally like weird, strange, nonsense as well, but the Hangover just seemed like the writer was trying to imitate that style, but found mediocrity instead. I'm not going to bother commenting on the story, because it really has no bearing on the overall movie. As a comedy it just needs to make you laugh, with the story coming in a distant 2nd. Not a bad comedy, as it did have its moments, but to me it was pretty stale overall. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
PetrovitaAug 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A decent movie. Had alot of humour in, no doubt about that. Characters were interesting and funny. Acting was very good. Only one part (spoiler) is when they actually find their friend, turns out he was on the roof all along. Only reason why he couldn't get down was because the door was locked from the outside. Why didn't he go yelling around on the roof for the people down below? He even threw a madrass on a tower spike of the building, yet he didn't go to the workers that went up with a crane to remove and yell for help? Why not throw things down onto the streets below to get peoples attention? That was the most retarded thing I've ever seen in a movie in a long while. What was the director thinking? Other than that really stupid thing it was a decent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviemayhemApr 28, 2015
Some of the most memorable images in The Hangover come before the action even begins. The credits roll over forbidding shots of Las Vegas at dusk that suggest menace lurking just beneath the party-friendly surface. What happens there staysSome of the most memorable images in The Hangover come before the action even begins. The credits roll over forbidding shots of Las Vegas at dusk that suggest menace lurking just beneath the party-friendly surface. What happens there stays there, we’re frequently told, but what about the untold stories that end badly? The Hangover doesn’t really run with that idea. In fact, once it establishes its promising premise, Todd Phillips’ film doesn’t really run anywhere so much as amble. It’s an agreeably unambitious comedy that might be called a romp, if that word didn’t imply a little too much energy.

Groom-to-be Justin Bartha sets off for Vegas, towing two of his best friends—uptight dentist Ed Helms and smooth-talking schoolteacher Bradley Cooper—and his odd future-brother-in-law, Zach Galifianakis. After a rooftop toast, the group hits the strip, then wakes up the next day unable to recall the events of the night before, adventures that left Helms missing a tooth; dropped a chicken, a tiger, and a baby in their suite; and took Bartha out of the picture entirely. In order to find their friend and return him to L.A. in time for the wedding, they set out to piece together what the hell happened.

It’s a neat idea used as little more than a clothesline on which to hang some pretty soggy comic bits. The Taser gags that crop up when the gang gets arrested might be inevitable, but do they have to go on for what feels like half the film’s running time? Cooper is all Vince Vaughn smarm with no Vince Vaughn vulnerability; Galifianakis at least brings some welcome unpredictability to the proceedings, although that has as much to do with his reliably unnerving presence as anything he’s given to do. Helms’ henpecked rage recalls some of the male anxiety on display in Phillips’ much better Old School, but the screenplay by Jon Lucas and Scott Moore (Ghosts Of Girlfriends Past, etc.) keeps getting in the way of any spontaneity or depth. The moment the film threatens to let the cast—who barely seem like acquaintances, much less friends—play off each other too much, or attempts to turn into a comedy about anything rather than a bunch of incidents, it’s on to the next round of mild amusement. It’s a film about forgetting that seems designed to be forgotten.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Toby023May 27, 2011
Yeah in parts it was funny but by the time I watched it all my friends had told me it was amazing and the hype was just that hype. The film was predictable and if I watched it more than once I would probably give up after about 20 minutesYeah in parts it was funny but by the time I watched it all my friends had told me it was amazing and the hype was just that hype. The film was predictable and if I watched it more than once I would probably give up after about 20 minutes because I would realise how bad it was the first time round. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
TomPJan 10, 2010
The movie contains a lack of humor rarely found in well reviewed comedies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
PeterDJun 9, 2009
There are a few jokes that hit hard, but most of them are predictable. The only character that changed was Ed Helms'. And the ultimate question, where is the groom?, wasn't answered by anyone they encountered. Which made them all There are a few jokes that hit hard, but most of them are predictable. The only character that changed was Ed Helms'. And the ultimate question, where is the groom?, wasn't answered by anyone they encountered. Which made them all useless to the plot and cheap laughs. But the ending is so funny it's worth seeing anyways. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TylerKJun 10, 2009
Relying on cheap gag scenes and rarely on witty clever dialogue it gets old real quick and part of you keeps waiting for something hilarious to ensue.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MarkLJun 30, 2009
Funny with a hint of character progression, but the bro atmosphere, random events, and physical comedy, while executed well, become repetitive and boring halfway through.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
pgJun 10, 2009
Not bad. not great either.... it's everything you'd expect after seeing the trailer. i was hoping for better since it got good reviews but it didn't wow me.... it was average entertainment with a couple laughs. it's Not bad. not great either.... it's everything you'd expect after seeing the trailer. i was hoping for better since it got good reviews but it didn't wow me.... it was average entertainment with a couple laughs. it's basically like a 'dude, where's my car' redux. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
katrinr.Jun 21, 2009
I don't get it. I went to the movies expecting something as funny as Superbad. Maybe it's because I'm a girl and it's made for men, but it was boring, not funny and not surprising or original (the nerdy nice man going I don't get it. I went to the movies expecting something as funny as Superbad. Maybe it's because I'm a girl and it's made for men, but it was boring, not funny and not surprising or original (the nerdy nice man going wild, the bored teacher learning the value of his family, the strange crazy dude, and the groom going missing). I don't get the phenomenon. Ok, it probably wasn't so bad, but all the positive reviews just make me go "REALLY?". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TomGJun 6, 2009
While funny and mostly entertaining, can't say I thought is was nearly as good as many of the others. Much of it was over the top and unbelievable. Want to see a better Vegas movie starring Heather Graham. Rent Swingers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
rayeJul 21, 2009
Just not that funny at all to me and i can laugh at nearly anything i expected to die laughing throughout the film with its hype i chuckled three times maybe and mike tyson should have been paid more than the lead actors imo he was about the Just not that funny at all to me and i can laugh at nearly anything i expected to die laughing throughout the film with its hype i chuckled three times maybe and mike tyson should have been paid more than the lead actors imo he was about the only good part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NerijusD.Jul 23, 2009
A bit funny, a bit not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveS.Aug 26, 2009
I see why people were so enthralled by this movie, but I guess the build up was to much for me. It had its funny parts, Zach and Ed Helms ere the highlights for me. I am not sure why Bradley Cooper has become such a staple in Hollywood. I I see why people were so enthralled by this movie, but I guess the build up was to much for me. It had its funny parts, Zach and Ed Helms ere the highlights for me. I am not sure why Bradley Cooper has become such a staple in Hollywood. I get that he is a good looking guy, but really! He isn't funny, always seems pompous and hasn't made me laugh since Wet Hot American Summer. Lets hope more movies like Arrested Development (I can't wait) and Dialogue comedies rise in 2010! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JulieASep 19, 2009
I finally got a chance togo to this movie, after hearing how hilarious is was, and I must say, I was very disappointed. I enjoy ridiculous comedies as much as the next person, but this movie tried way too hard to make weird stuff funny. The I finally got a chance togo to this movie, after hearing how hilarious is was, and I must say, I was very disappointed. I enjoy ridiculous comedies as much as the next person, but this movie tried way too hard to make weird stuff funny. The Mike Tyson cameo was just plain stupid, and could they not get a better celebrity to do a cameo? Overall, certainly some funny parts, but this movie is not all the rage that some make it out to be. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RyanM.Jan 31, 2010
Stereotypical and obvious laughs. Overrated with few laugh out loud moments. Unmemorable and predictable.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
EliJ.Jan 3, 2010
I thought this movie was bad but not horrible, Zac Galifianakis was funny as usual but everything else was..well horrible. The dentist guy's wife was the queen of bitches for some reason. I mean did they make her the seed of Hitler to I thought this movie was bad but not horrible, Zac Galifianakis was funny as usual but everything else was..well horrible. The dentist guy's wife was the queen of bitches for some reason. I mean did they make her the seed of Hitler to draw away from the horrible plot and actors? That must be it, kind of the opposite of comic relief. Well anyway the Chinese guy made me want to throw the remote at the screen, when he jumped out of the car and beat them up was just plain awful. I love crude humor and physical comedy as much as the next guy but taking a movie that has that kind of Big Libowski feeling to it and adding a stupid scene like that just made me want to puke. The guy pulling his own tooth out was absolutely terrible, the fact that they stole a cop car and it wasn't recovered before the next morning was completely unbelievable. Oh yeah its impossible to count cards on a multi-deck table too. After that scene i knew for sure that this movie is bent on amusing stupid teenagers and college frat boys. I laughed at Galifianikis quite a few times so he was basically the only reason i didn't give this movie a big fat zero. Thumbs down be watchable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
CecilNov 20, 2009
Other than Zach Galifianakis, this one had no redeeming qualities. I don't see how anyone but boys 13 to 18 could relate to this.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
RicODec 16, 2009
I loved what the makers of this film were trying to achieve, and in some places, it actually works, but in general it was a bit of a let-down and not as funny as it could have been.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JenniferK.Dec 22, 2009
It was ok, but only a few laughs. Watch Very Bad Things....much better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ceejJun 22, 2009
It takes almost zero creative genius to make a movie like this. That being said, it takes very little to make people laugh. beyond a forfeiture of dignity. I'm not totally insulting this film. But even as a exaggerated-gross-out-comedy, It takes almost zero creative genius to make a movie like this. That being said, it takes very little to make people laugh. beyond a forfeiture of dignity. I'm not totally insulting this film. But even as a exaggerated-gross-out-comedy, it fell a bit short. I'd say about 20% of the film I was hoping it would get less repetitive. And the blow-job porn pix at the end? What the hell was that? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadSJun 25, 2009
its ok but not great. Didn't laugh once. not even a chuckle. About the best thin i can say for it is the guy with the beard was odd in a good way. Wait for DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful