Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 5, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 942 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
749
Mixed:
103
Negative:
90
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
badbrushJul 30, 2011
I sometimes wonder if i just watched the same movie as everyone else...it was quite possibly the worst film i have seen in years. dumbed down jokes, repeated scenes, terrible acting and poor storyline. I'm guessing it appeals to people whoI sometimes wonder if i just watched the same movie as everyone else...it was quite possibly the worst film i have seen in years. dumbed down jokes, repeated scenes, terrible acting and poor storyline. I'm guessing it appeals to people who have been in this situation...... Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
JackHJun 17, 2009
This movie was stupid...not stupid funny, just stupid. After 45 minutes, my girlfriend and i both looked at one another and completely agreed that this was a waste of time. If you enjoyed movies like Pineapple Express or Strange Wilderness This movie was stupid...not stupid funny, just stupid. After 45 minutes, my girlfriend and i both looked at one another and completely agreed that this was a waste of time. If you enjoyed movies like Pineapple Express or Strange Wilderness and found them entertaining and clever...then yeah, you'd probably enjoy this movie. If you value well written movies or genuinely good comedy, pass on this POS. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful
0
CazatuzDec 16, 2010
This is the most overrated mess known to man. Someone seriously needs to explain the Hype cause I dont get it. Its Stupid, Not funny at all. over rated to the fullest.
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
2
zig16Nov 26, 2010
It shows how bad the movies are for THE HANGOVER to get this score. This movie sucks so bad I shut if off in the middle. I couldn't take it anymore. What were you all smoking when you went to see it? Crack?
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
1
Leinad177Oct 22, 2010
Take the movie Dude Where's My Car, remove the plot, cast and humor.
Then add hire some idiots with no acting experience to play the main cast.
Add a common prescription drug which people hardly know anything about. And then you get The
Take the movie Dude Where's My Car, remove the plot, cast and humor.
Then add hire some idiots with no acting experience to play the main cast.
Add a common prescription drug which people hardly know anything about.
And then you get The Hangover...

A bunch of guys completely forgot what happened last night and spent the entire movie trying to figure it out. Extremely dull and unoriginal.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
7dogguyFeb 15, 2012
This movie barley ever made me laugh. The plot line was terrible, all the humor was childish and the characters were annoying. If you like movie plots were people get drunk wake up in the morning not remembering anything with stupid obviousThis movie barley ever made me laugh. The plot line was terrible, all the humor was childish and the characters were annoying. If you like movie plots were people get drunk wake up in the morning not remembering anything with stupid obvious humor though out be my guest. This movie is an example of why all the other countries hate us. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
LeahRJan 9, 2010
Devoid of wit or ingenuity. Relies completely on vulgarity and cruelty to be funny. I find vulgar and cruel jokes funny in doses, but an entire movie predicated upon them is just tedious. The fact that most of America seems to disagree with Devoid of wit or ingenuity. Relies completely on vulgarity and cruelty to be funny. I find vulgar and cruel jokes funny in doses, but an entire movie predicated upon them is just tedious. The fact that most of America seems to disagree with me on this point is depressing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DesBJan 5, 2010
Absolute garbage. The movie tried way too hard and never made any sense. I thought the plot would make for an interesting movie but the amounts of random garbage thrown at the viewer(way way random than one would expect at Vegas).. just felt Absolute garbage. The movie tried way too hard and never made any sense. I thought the plot would make for an interesting movie but the amounts of random garbage thrown at the viewer(way way random than one would expect at Vegas).. just felt over the top. I cannot possibly understand how people enjoyed this. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JulienF.Jan 21, 2010
Watched half of it, couldn't stand a minute more, just dreadful, vulgar and nothing funny about it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KimCMar 21, 2010
I wish I had that 2 hours of my life back. Heard all year about how fantastic it was, finally rented it, and I agree with all the other posters here: vastly overrated, not the slightest bit funny, with unbelievably crude and ludicrous I wish I had that 2 hours of my life back. Heard all year about how fantastic it was, finally rented it, and I agree with all the other posters here: vastly overrated, not the slightest bit funny, with unbelievably crude and ludicrous situations. I can find humor in raunchy movies like 40 Year Old Virgin or Superbad or Tropic Thunder, but this travesty has none of the charm or plot or character development of those films. One of the worst I've ever seen, and the closing credits will make you want to take a shower. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
KaseyJan 14, 2010
Such a dumb movie... Scenes that are supposed to be funny but aren't, bad acting, lame script. It was a good idea for a movie but they didn't even come close to pulling it off, for me at least. There was only one part that made me Such a dumb movie... Scenes that are supposed to be funny but aren't, bad acting, lame script. It was a good idea for a movie but they didn't even come close to pulling it off, for me at least. There was only one part that made me laugh, couple others made me smile slightly. Very surprised it's even rated this high. 2 stars for the one line that made me laugh in the alter lol... The movie was worth it for that one line. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
grantApr 17, 2010
First off, I heard everybody saying how awesome this movie was, so I decided to watch it on New Years with some friends on my Xbox. Crap. That's all it was--I laughed maybe twice. The huge amounts of acclaim for this movie makes me First off, I heard everybody saying how awesome this movie was, so I decided to watch it on New Years with some friends on my Xbox. Crap. That's all it was--I laughed maybe twice. The huge amounts of acclaim for this movie makes me thing, more than ever, that I don't belong in this society. Large amounts of Alcohol can't make this movie good. My only explanation is that everybody must've been high--and even then I can't see so many falling for it. I don't understand this country. I'll give it a 2 for 2 Laughs which is generous. I should rate it based on the number of laughs it was obviously trying to get and failing...the score would've been way way worse. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
CarolynBMay 15, 2010
Never laughed once. I haven't been into adolescent humor since, well, I was and adolescent. I guess I do not find movies funny that focus on the gross, irresponsible, idiotic and implausible. This is 2 hours of my life I will never get back.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KentOct 13, 2009
Through the entirety of this film I giggled (Note: giggled, not laughed) maybe twice, three times if I'm feeling really generous. Call me humourless but seeing people hurt themselves in many "wild and whacky ways" is hardly what I Through the entirety of this film I giggled (Note: giggled, not laughed) maybe twice, three times if I'm feeling really generous. Call me humourless but seeing people hurt themselves in many "wild and whacky ways" is hardly what I consider to be humour. I mean come on. I could have written all the "funny" elements of this film when I was five (but God forbid I was EVER that stupid). Great, the guys constantly hurt themselves, whoopee. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
KennyNov 4, 2009
It is a comedy as superficial as unoriginal. Movie with moral that can be seen approaching from a distance, you learn without seeing her. In the U.S. has been a surprise box office, becoming one of the great comedies of the summer, but the It is a comedy as superficial as unoriginal. Movie with moral that can be seen approaching from a distance, you learn without seeing her. In the U.S. has been a surprise box office, becoming one of the great comedies of the summer, but the truth is that the phrase: 'What Happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas', could be trouble in this movie' What happens in the film stays in the trailer '. "The Hangover" is a trap for those who hoped for a refreshing comedy. A very heavy and boring pace, where you surprised at any time in the light of crap that happen to the three protagonists. To be more clear, and spared the nonsense and verbiage without foundation, saying it is a comedy that has nothing new to offer, and offer entertainment offers neither. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LilithCDec 29, 2009
Spot on review. A vile movie. Due to my work schedule I wasn't able to see it in the theater. I couldn't wait for it to come out on DVD. I love a raunchy comedy as much as the next person as long as it's funny. The Hangover Spot on review. A vile movie. Due to my work schedule I wasn't able to see it in the theater. I couldn't wait for it to come out on DVD. I love a raunchy comedy as much as the next person as long as it's funny. The Hangover wasn't funny at all. I found the references to pedophila frankly disturbing and any parent who would allow their baby to be in a film to do a mock masterbation scene should be locked away for good. Anyone who finds pedophilia to be worth a laugh needs to do a shot of hemlock for the greater good and gene pool cleansing. If this is what passes for humor in America - especially among the American male, we're doomed. Sign of the times as to how stupid we Americans are. We're becoming an Idiocracy. There's a film the inbreds who loved the Hangover should check out but I fear it's message would be lost on them. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JoelleGNov 23, 2009
Sigh...more vulgar than funny. There were a few laughable moments but it falls in line with all the other supposedly slpastick but mostly dirty humored films.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MikeXNov 29, 2009
Awful. Just Awful. I have no idea why this movie received such good reviews. Its the most predictable and cliched "comedy" I've ever seen. Didn't crack a smile even once during this 100 minute torture test.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
BrandyFDec 26, 2009
No comedy value whatsoever...i had heard it was clever so was very disappointed. It is totally stupid and not funny at all...I gave it a "1" for the baby being such a good sport.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
jbobbyjonNov 22, 2011
if you saw the previews, you saw the movie. it's obvious the guy who wrote it had a few funny ideas about all the funny things that can happen when your drunk and decided to make it into a movie. the movie is basically getting from funnyif you saw the previews, you saw the movie. it's obvious the guy who wrote it had a few funny ideas about all the funny things that can happen when your drunk and decided to make it into a movie. the movie is basically getting from funny moment A to funny moment B. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
savannahrummelDec 31, 2011
I just didn't get it. Everyone kept telling me The Hangover is the funniest movie of the decade so I expected the funniest movie of the decade. I didn't get it. The movie had it's funny moments and it certainly is a quote-able movie, but II just didn't get it. Everyone kept telling me The Hangover is the funniest movie of the decade so I expected the funniest movie of the decade. I didn't get it. The movie had it's funny moments and it certainly is a quote-able movie, but I didn't think it was anything remarkable. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
Psyco6Mar 11, 2012
This movie is just bad. The jokes are simple and cheesy, the whole "plot" of this movie is about friends who go to Vegas (just like everyone else has for the longest time). after a night they cant remember the guy who is getting married isThis movie is just bad. The jokes are simple and cheesy, the whole "plot" of this movie is about friends who go to Vegas (just like everyone else has for the longest time). after a night they cant remember the guy who is getting married is lost and the rest of the movie is spent trying to find him. If you like simple stupid movies like those who have will ferrel in them then you'll like this movie. If not then skip it and see something alot better. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
BergensGJan 5, 2010
I believe comedy is mostly about the performance, and the theori that is behind the performance. If you want those laughs where your brain tickles anyway (only comedy that does it for me). In this film I wasn't bored, and sometimes I I believe comedy is mostly about the performance, and the theori that is behind the performance. If you want those laughs where your brain tickles anyway (only comedy that does it for me). In this film I wasn't bored, and sometimes I even smiled of the comedy they presentet for me, but not once did my brain tickle. For me that is the art of comedy, too create moments where I actually laugh even if i try to resist. I don't give this low rating because I think the story is boring or the acting doesn't convince me. It simply didnt make me laugh. The movie could possible even have been funny on paper, but the result isn't. To be a little more spesific: the awkward moments arnt awkward, and the bizzarity isn't bizzar. Once again, I dont think this movie was broken already in the manuscript fase (maybe it was, maybe it wasnt), it might look like the performance from the actors and the directing is the blame for this not working. (excuse my bad English grammar, working on it). Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
averyDec 6, 2009
Not funny. I wish it were. But I like 'Wedding Crashers' humor, which is crude and clever. The humor in 'The Hangover' isn't clever. It's all reactive. Even a good line like "you're dressed like a Cholo on Not funny. I wish it were. But I like 'Wedding Crashers' humor, which is crude and clever. The humor in 'The Hangover' isn't clever. It's all reactive. Even a good line like "you're dressed like a Cholo on Easter" from 'Knocked Up' is way way funnier than anything in 'The Hangover'. Nobody will ever quote this film, because none of the lines are funny. Mostly sight gags, situational mishpas, and pissing in public jokes. Don't get me wrong. I like crude, so long as it's clever. Galafinkis (whatever his name is) isn't funny. But being unfunny is his schtick, right? I mean he's intentionally not funny. This is SNL/'Hot Rod' grade humor. And there's barely any t and a in it. Also, the pacing is leaden. Poor Cooper is burdened with a lot of lame straight man lines that state the obvious. It's just not funny. Maybe you have to be in college. I don't know. I had high hopes. I'll go watch Wedding Crashers and Mr and Mrs Smith for the sixth time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MiKEDec 23, 2009
This movie had sooo much potential!!! I was getting ready for the movie to be laugh out loud funny, but it never got there.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
ScraperMay 27, 2011
I like JoelZ's response below "no particaular scene really stands out, just brilliant from start to finish." Usually when something is **** brilliant, you can at least pick one stand out scene, my man. One long cliche for the McDonalds public. Enjoy!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroApr 8, 2011
This is the first comedy I watched where I did not laugh once. Not once, I am serious. What is the problem with this movie ? First of all, it is very obvious that these guys are not friends, but just actors working together. There is not theThis is the first comedy I watched where I did not laugh once. Not once, I am serious. What is the problem with this movie ? First of all, it is very obvious that these guys are not friends, but just actors working together. There is not the slighest feel of a real bond between these guys. They never act like friends, they never talk like friends. Then, each one of the main characters is a cliche, at its worst. The nerd, the fat guy, the handsome guy, and the reliable dreamgroom.
The jokes are not funny, and always out of place. Why was this movie made ? Each and every idea has been exploited before, and much, much better...
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
3
DominicEApr 18, 2010
An over rated, over anticipated movie. I didn't find this movie funny at all.
3 of 11 users found this helpful
3
dr.strangeloveAug 16, 2009
standards are LOW ....

the 'dumbing down' is almost complete ...... do NOT believe what the 'critics' say about this one ....... it is pretty HORRIBLE ...... the only half amusing thing in this film are the still
standards are LOW ....

the 'dumbing down' is almost complete ......

do NOT believe what the 'critics' say about this one ....... it is pretty HORRIBLE ......

the only half amusing thing in this film are the still photos that come up during the end credits .......

3 out of 10
where i'd give 'pineapple express' 7 and harold and kumar 8.5 and something like 'dr.strangelove' a 10
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
BarryZOct 2, 2009
A few lines and sight gags that made you smile but this thing got old and predictable quickly. It seemed like a bunch of cliche ideas that were haphazadly stung together. Probably what you wind up with if you smoked a couple bowls, wrote A few lines and sight gags that made you smile but this thing got old and predictable quickly. It seemed like a bunch of cliche ideas that were haphazadly stung together. Probably what you wind up with if you smoked a couple bowls, wrote down your unrelated thoughts, and tried to tie them together with a lame plot. If you must, wait until it rents and being 'high' when watching it could only improve it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful