The Hangover

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 906 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 906

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 4, 2011
    5
    I wanted to like it, I really did.
  2. MarkL
    Jun 30, 2009
    5
    Funny with a hint of character progression, but the bro atmosphere, random events, and physical comedy, while executed well, become repetitive and boring halfway through.
  3. TomP
    Jan 10, 2010
    4
    The movie contains a lack of humor rarely found in well reviewed comedies.
  4. RyanM.
    Jan 31, 2010
    4
    Stereotypical and obvious laughs. Overrated with few laugh out loud moments. Unmemorable and predictable.
  5. EliJ.
    Jan 3, 2010
    4
    I thought this movie was bad but not horrible, Zac Galifianakis was funny as usual but everything else was..well horrible. The dentist guy's wife was the queen of bitches for some reason. I mean did they make her the seed of Hitler to draw away from the horrible plot and actors? That must be it, kind of the opposite of comic relief. Well anyway the Chinese guy made me want to throw I thought this movie was bad but not horrible, Zac Galifianakis was funny as usual but everything else was..well horrible. The dentist guy's wife was the queen of bitches for some reason. I mean did they make her the seed of Hitler to draw away from the horrible plot and actors? That must be it, kind of the opposite of comic relief. Well anyway the Chinese guy made me want to throw the remote at the screen, when he jumped out of the car and beat them up was just plain awful. I love crude humor and physical comedy as much as the next guy but taking a movie that has that kind of Big Libowski feeling to it and adding a stupid scene like that just made me want to puke. The guy pulling his own tooth out was absolutely terrible, the fact that they stole a cop car and it wasn't recovered before the next morning was completely unbelievable. Oh yeah its impossible to count cards on a multi-deck table too. After that scene i knew for sure that this movie is bent on amusing stupid teenagers and college frat boys. I laughed at Galifianikis quite a few times so he was basically the only reason i didn't give this movie a big fat zero. Thumbs down be watchable. Expand
  6. Cecil
    Nov 20, 2009
    4
    Other than Zach Galifianakis, this one had no redeeming qualities. I don't see how anyone but boys 13 to 18 could relate to this.
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    4
    After the movie, I felt drowsy.
  8. May 27, 2011
    4
    Yeah in parts it was funny but by the time I watched it all my friends had told me it was amazing and the hype was just that hype. The film was predictable and if I watched it more than once I would probably give up after about 20 minutes because I would realise how bad it was the first time round.
  9. TylerK
    Jun 10, 2009
    6
    Relying on cheap gag scenes and rarely on witty clever dialogue it gets old real quick and part of you keeps waiting for something hilarious to ensue.
  10. pg
    Jun 10, 2009
    5
    Not bad. not great either.... it's everything you'd expect after seeing the trailer. i was hoping for better since it got good reviews but it didn't wow me.... it was average entertainment with a couple laughs. it's basically like a 'dude, where's my car' redux.
  11. katrinr.
    Jun 21, 2009
    4
    I don't get it. I went to the movies expecting something as funny as Superbad. Maybe it's because I'm a girl and it's made for men, but it was boring, not funny and not surprising or original (the nerdy nice man going wild, the bored teacher learning the value of his family, the strange crazy dude, and the groom going missing). I don't get the phenomenon. Ok, it I don't get it. I went to the movies expecting something as funny as Superbad. Maybe it's because I'm a girl and it's made for men, but it was boring, not funny and not surprising or original (the nerdy nice man going wild, the bored teacher learning the value of his family, the strange crazy dude, and the groom going missing). I don't get the phenomenon. Ok, it probably wasn't so bad, but all the positive reviews just make me go "REALLY?". Expand
  12. TomG
    Jun 6, 2009
    5
    While funny and mostly entertaining, can't say I thought is was nearly as good as many of the others. Much of it was over the top and unbelievable. Want to see a better Vegas movie starring Heather Graham. Rent Swingers.
  13. JulieA
    Sep 19, 2009
    5
    I finally got a chance togo to this movie, after hearing how hilarious is was, and I must say, I was very disappointed. I enjoy ridiculous comedies as much as the next person, but this movie tried way too hard to make weird stuff funny. The Mike Tyson cameo was just plain stupid, and could they not get a better celebrity to do a cameo? Overall, certainly some funny parts, but this movie I finally got a chance togo to this movie, after hearing how hilarious is was, and I must say, I was very disappointed. I enjoy ridiculous comedies as much as the next person, but this movie tried way too hard to make weird stuff funny. The Mike Tyson cameo was just plain stupid, and could they not get a better celebrity to do a cameo? Overall, certainly some funny parts, but this movie is not all the rage that some make it out to be. Expand
  14. JenniferK.
    Dec 22, 2009
    6
    It was ok, but only a few laughs. Watch Very Bad Things....much better.
  15. JeramieC
    Jul 19, 2009
    5
    Wow, I haven't seen a movie this over hyped since...last summer! Not nearly as funny as all the bro's out there seem to think, but then again...UFC is really popular.
  16. JohnB
    Jul 7, 2009
    5
    VERY DISAPPOINTED...i came in looking forward to a good comedy after reading all these reviews and all i got were cheap one liner jokes. Laughed a couple of times, but never a laugh out loud moment...some parts were just stupid, and i feel that with the story they had they could have made this much more funnier. without zach galifinakis i would have gave this movie a 0.
  17. jimmyf
    Aug 19, 2009
    5
    This movie was obviously written for five year olds. Amusing at best. Manages to combine plain bad taste in places with weirdness in others.
  18. calebl
    Dec 25, 2009
    6
    Though the film has strong performances, there are far too many gaps in the movie that just aren't funny. Zach G. makes up for the lack of comedy with a standout role.
  19. Nov 8, 2010
    5
    The Hangover was a movie that I tried really hard to like (not a good thing), but found that it just wasn't that funny or creative to me. I don't know if I had too high expectations about how it would play out, but the "jokes" seemed to be a formula of: take a basic subject/concept and add a totally unrelated twist that makes no sense other than to be just totally random, and then youThe Hangover was a movie that I tried really hard to like (not a good thing), but found that it just wasn't that funny or creative to me. I don't know if I had too high expectations about how it would play out, but the "jokes" seemed to be a formula of: take a basic subject/concept and add a totally unrelated twist that makes no sense other than to be just totally random, and then you have comedy. The weird thing to me is that I normally like weird, strange, nonsense as well, but the Hangover just seemed like the writer was trying to imitate that style, but found mediocrity instead. I'm not going to bother commenting on the story, because it really has no bearing on the overall movie. As a comedy it just needs to make you laugh, with the story coming in a distant 2nd. Not a bad comedy, as it did have its moments, but to me it was pretty stale overall. Expand
  20. Jun 11, 2011
    6
    It's not a terrible movie, but an extremely overrated one (at least in my experience). First, I considered the cast. "Wow, Zach Galifianakis! I love his standup. It'll be cool to see how Hollywood implements his strange brand of humor. Ed Helms! He's so talented. He was great on the old version of The Daily Show and The Office." After that I had about a hundred people come to meIt's not a terrible movie, but an extremely overrated one (at least in my experience). First, I considered the cast. "Wow, Zach Galifianakis! I love his standup. It'll be cool to see how Hollywood implements his strange brand of humor. Ed Helms! He's so talented. He was great on the old version of The Daily Show and The Office." After that I had about a hundred people come to me and say it was the best comedy ever made. -- So it's probably safe to say my expectations were too high. But even considering that, there's nothing mind-blowingly funny about it. Sure, there are a few moments that had me laughing pretty loudly, but most of the movie involved long stretches of the same joke played out over and over. -- (Main characters learn something strange about the night before.) (Main characters look at each other shocked and worried.) True, the things they learn are different, but the punchline is always Ed Helms looking confused. -- Bottom line, I saw it, thought it was okay, and never cared to watch it again. Expand
  21. PeterD
    Jun 9, 2009
    6
    There are a few jokes that hit hard, but most of them are predictable. The only character that changed was Ed Helms'. And the ultimate question, where is the groom?, wasn't answered by anyone they encountered. Which made them all useless to the plot and cheap laughs. But the ending is so funny it's worth seeing anyways.
  22. raye
    Jul 21, 2009
    4
    Just not that funny at all to me and i can laugh at nearly anything i expected to die laughing throughout the film with its hype i chuckled three times maybe and mike tyson should have been paid more than the lead actors imo he was about the only good part.
  23. NerijusD.
    Jul 23, 2009
    6
    A bit funny, a bit not.
  24. SteveS.
    Aug 26, 2009
    6
    I see why people were so enthralled by this movie, but I guess the build up was to much for me. It had its funny parts, Zach and Ed Helms ere the highlights for me. I am not sure why Bradley Cooper has become such a staple in Hollywood. I get that he is a good looking guy, but really! He isn't funny, always seems pompous and hasn't made me laugh since Wet Hot American Summer. I see why people were so enthralled by this movie, but I guess the build up was to much for me. It had its funny parts, Zach and Ed Helms ere the highlights for me. I am not sure why Bradley Cooper has become such a staple in Hollywood. I get that he is a good looking guy, but really! He isn't funny, always seems pompous and hasn't made me laugh since Wet Hot American Summer. Lets hope more movies like Arrested Development (I can't wait) and Dialogue comedies rise in 2010! Expand
  25. RicO
    Dec 16, 2009
    6
    I loved what the makers of this film were trying to achieve, and in some places, it actually works, but in general it was a bit of a let-down and not as funny as it could have been.
  26. ceej
    Jun 22, 2009
    5
    It takes almost zero creative genius to make a movie like this. That being said, it takes very little to make people laugh. beyond a forfeiture of dignity. I'm not totally insulting this film. But even as a exaggerated-gross-out-comedy, it fell a bit short. I'd say about 20% of the film I was hoping it would get less repetitive. And the blow-job porn pix at the end? What the It takes almost zero creative genius to make a movie like this. That being said, it takes very little to make people laugh. beyond a forfeiture of dignity. I'm not totally insulting this film. But even as a exaggerated-gross-out-comedy, it fell a bit short. I'd say about 20% of the film I was hoping it would get less repetitive. And the blow-job porn pix at the end? What the hell was that? Expand
  27. ChadS
    Jun 25, 2009
    6
    its ok but not great. Didn't laugh once. not even a chuckle. About the best thin i can say for it is the guy with the beard was odd in a good way. Wait for DVD.
  28. JayR.
    Jun 5, 2009
    5
    Not nearly as good as the previews make it look.
  29. ChadS.
    Jun 6, 2009
    6
    [***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Peter Berg's "Very Bad Things" showed us the buzz, all too graphically, as an alcohol and coke-fueled party goes awry once Michael(Jeremy Piven) impales the stripper on a towel hook. "The Hangover" informs the 1998 black comedy in this respect: Had we only seen the aftermath, a nude dead woman sprawled across the bathroom floor, would we have given [***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Peter Berg's "Very Bad Things" showed us the buzz, all too graphically, as an alcohol and coke-fueled party goes awry once Michael(Jeremy Piven) impales the stripper on a towel hook. "The Hangover" informs the 1998 black comedy in this respect: Had we only seen the aftermath, a nude dead woman sprawled across the bathroom floor, would we have given these bachelor party attendees the benefit of the doubt? They could have blamed it on the booze and drugs. But since we saw the buzz, they're guilty, regardless of their altered states. "The Hangover" uses off-screen action to stoke our imaginations. Not a bad thing. In Euripedes' play "Medea", the titular character kills her children prior to the non-action of her monologues. Dramatize the murders and the audience may become less objective about her transgressive acts. The play's success hinges on Medea remaining sympathetic. Same goes for the bachelors in "The Hangover", who get away with behaving badly since the filmmaker kept the debauchery of the bachelor party off-screen. A much darker narrative is suggested, however, by the mere presence of rohypnol(better known as "ruffies", the date rape drug), which Alan(Zach Galifianakis) mistakenly purchases instead of ecstasy. Had he known what was in his possession, the relationship between this film and "Very Bad Things" might have been a lot closer than it already is. After all, there is a reference to the Berg film, albeit an oblique one. Although "The Hangover" treats the full frontal man in the trunk as high comedy, the moviegoer shouldn't overlook that the amnesiac men probably sentenced him to die out of greed. They almost did a very bad thing indeed. He's the Kobe Tai. But they're forgiven, because we never saw the potential crime in the making. Expand
  30. Canon
    Jul 31, 2009
    6
    The Hangover was an entertaining comedy but the film has too many cheap jokes, often relying on slapstick and poor taste humour - babies masturbating, stupid Chinese voices, etc. The ending wasn't clever - I won't give it away, but it was a big anticlimax. A few quirky characters, a cameo from Mike Tyson - that's just about all I'll remember from this film.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. A piercingly funny, twisted "whatever-happens-in-Vegas" caper.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    90
    At once raucously free-wheeling and meticulously contrived, picture satisfies as a boys-gone-wild laff riot that also clicks as a seriocomic beat-the-clock detective story.
  3. 70
    Phillips can't bring himself to push the material into truly outré territory, or to characterize his growth-impaired guys as degenerate creeps rather than lovable scamps.