Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 5, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 935 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
742
Mixed:
103
Negative:
90
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
PeterDJun 9, 2009
There are a few jokes that hit hard, but most of them are predictable. The only character that changed was Ed Helms'. And the ultimate question, where is the groom?, wasn't answered by anyone they encountered. Which made them all There are a few jokes that hit hard, but most of them are predictable. The only character that changed was Ed Helms'. And the ultimate question, where is the groom?, wasn't answered by anyone they encountered. Which made them all useless to the plot and cheap laughs. But the ending is so funny it's worth seeing anyways. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TylerKJun 10, 2009
Relying on cheap gag scenes and rarely on witty clever dialogue it gets old real quick and part of you keeps waiting for something hilarious to ensue.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NerijusD.Jul 23, 2009
A bit funny, a bit not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveS.Aug 26, 2009
I see why people were so enthralled by this movie, but I guess the build up was to much for me. It had its funny parts, Zach and Ed Helms ere the highlights for me. I am not sure why Bradley Cooper has become such a staple in Hollywood. I I see why people were so enthralled by this movie, but I guess the build up was to much for me. It had its funny parts, Zach and Ed Helms ere the highlights for me. I am not sure why Bradley Cooper has become such a staple in Hollywood. I get that he is a good looking guy, but really! He isn't funny, always seems pompous and hasn't made me laugh since Wet Hot American Summer. Lets hope more movies like Arrested Development (I can't wait) and Dialogue comedies rise in 2010! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RicODec 16, 2009
I loved what the makers of this film were trying to achieve, and in some places, it actually works, but in general it was a bit of a let-down and not as funny as it could have been.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JenniferK.Dec 22, 2009
It was ok, but only a few laughs. Watch Very Bad Things....much better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ChadSJun 25, 2009
its ok but not great. Didn't laugh once. not even a chuckle. About the best thin i can say for it is the guy with the beard was odd in a good way. Wait for DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Jun 6, 2009
[***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Peter Berg's "Very Bad Things" showed us the buzz, all too graphically, as an alcohol and coke-fueled party goes awry once Michael(Jeremy Piven) impales the stripper on a towel hook. "The Hangover" [***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Peter Berg's "Very Bad Things" showed us the buzz, all too graphically, as an alcohol and coke-fueled party goes awry once Michael(Jeremy Piven) impales the stripper on a towel hook. "The Hangover" informs the 1998 black comedy in this respect: Had we only seen the aftermath, a nude dead woman sprawled across the bathroom floor, would we have given these bachelor party attendees the benefit of the doubt? They could have blamed it on the booze and drugs. But since we saw the buzz, they're guilty, regardless of their altered states. "The Hangover" uses off-screen action to stoke our imaginations. Not a bad thing. In Euripedes' play "Medea", the titular character kills her children prior to the non-action of her monologues. Dramatize the murders and the audience may become less objective about her transgressive acts. The play's success hinges on Medea remaining sympathetic. Same goes for the bachelors in "The Hangover", who get away with behaving badly since the filmmaker kept the debauchery of the bachelor party off-screen. A much darker narrative is suggested, however, by the mere presence of rohypnol(better known as "ruffies", the date rape drug), which Alan(Zach Galifianakis) mistakenly purchases instead of ecstasy. Had he known what was in his possession, the relationship between this film and "Very Bad Things" might have been a lot closer than it already is. After all, there is a reference to the Berg film, albeit an oblique one. Although "The Hangover" treats the full frontal man in the trunk as high comedy, the moviegoer shouldn't overlook that the amnesiac men probably sentenced him to die out of greed. They almost did a very bad thing indeed. He's the Kobe Tai. But they're forgiven, because we never saw the potential crime in the making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CanonJul 31, 2009
The Hangover was an entertaining comedy but the film has too many cheap jokes, often relying on slapstick and poor taste humour - babies masturbating, stupid Chinese voices, etc. The ending wasn't clever - I won't give it away, but The Hangover was an entertaining comedy but the film has too many cheap jokes, often relying on slapstick and poor taste humour - babies masturbating, stupid Chinese voices, etc. The ending wasn't clever - I won't give it away, but it was a big anticlimax. A few quirky characters, a cameo from Mike Tyson - that's just about all I'll remember from this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
caleblDec 25, 2009
Though the film has strong performances, there are far too many gaps in the movie that just aren't funny. Zach G. makes up for the lack of comedy with a standout role.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RaughtJun 11, 2011
It's not a terrible movie, but an extremely overrated one (at least in my experience). First, I considered the cast. "Wow, Zach Galifianakis! I love his standup. It'll be cool to see how Hollywood implements his strange brand of humor.It's not a terrible movie, but an extremely overrated one (at least in my experience). First, I considered the cast. "Wow, Zach Galifianakis! I love his standup. It'll be cool to see how Hollywood implements his strange brand of humor. Ed Helms! He's so talented. He was great on the old version of The Daily Show and The Office." After that I had about a hundred people come to me and say it was the best comedy ever made. -- So it's probably safe to say my expectations were too high. But even considering that, there's nothing mind-blowingly funny about it. Sure, there are a few moments that had me laughing pretty loudly, but most of the movie involved long stretches of the same joke played out over and over. -- (Main characters learn something strange about the night before.) (Main characters look at each other shocked and worried.) True, the things they learn are different, but the punchline is always Ed Helms looking confused. -- Bottom line, I saw it, thought it was okay, and never cared to watch it again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
SummersausageJan 6, 2013
It was a crazy funny adventure that you end up following closely to figure out what the hells happening. Zach Galifinakis has a breakthrough performance that will jump-start his comedy career. Funny but it gets so ridiculous that I don't careIt was a crazy funny adventure that you end up following closely to figure out what the hells happening. Zach Galifinakis has a breakthrough performance that will jump-start his comedy career. Funny but it gets so ridiculous that I don't care after a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 16, 2013
The Hangover is long and loose.
The story is poor, the dialogue is good, and the pace is slow. The only real positive is that its just entertaining enough to keep going.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingJan 15, 2016
The Hangover is a relatively funny and raunchy comedy that delivers the laughs without re-inventing the genre with any originality. A fun time-pass film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviemayhemApr 28, 2015
Some of the most memorable images in The Hangover come before the action even begins. The credits roll over forbidding shots of Las Vegas at dusk that suggest menace lurking just beneath the party-friendly surface. What happens there staysSome of the most memorable images in The Hangover come before the action even begins. The credits roll over forbidding shots of Las Vegas at dusk that suggest menace lurking just beneath the party-friendly surface. What happens there stays there, we’re frequently told, but what about the untold stories that end badly? The Hangover doesn’t really run with that idea. In fact, once it establishes its promising premise, Todd Phillips’ film doesn’t really run anywhere so much as amble. It’s an agreeably unambitious comedy that might be called a romp, if that word didn’t imply a little too much energy.

Groom-to-be Justin Bartha sets off for Vegas, towing two of his best friends—uptight dentist Ed Helms and smooth-talking schoolteacher Bradley Cooper—and his odd future-brother-in-law, Zach Galifianakis. After a rooftop toast, the group hits the strip, then wakes up the next day unable to recall the events of the night before, adventures that left Helms missing a tooth; dropped a chicken, a tiger, and a baby in their suite; and took Bartha out of the picture entirely. In order to find their friend and return him to L.A. in time for the wedding, they set out to piece together what the hell happened.

It’s a neat idea used as little more than a clothesline on which to hang some pretty soggy comic bits. The Taser gags that crop up when the gang gets arrested might be inevitable, but do they have to go on for what feels like half the film’s running time? Cooper is all Vince Vaughn smarm with no Vince Vaughn vulnerability; Galifianakis at least brings some welcome unpredictability to the proceedings, although that has as much to do with his reliably unnerving presence as anything he’s given to do. Helms’ henpecked rage recalls some of the male anxiety on display in Phillips’ much better Old School, but the screenplay by Jon Lucas and Scott Moore (Ghosts Of Girlfriends Past, etc.) keeps getting in the way of any spontaneity or depth. The moment the film threatens to let the cast—who barely seem like acquaintances, much less friends—play off each other too much, or attempts to turn into a comedy about anything rather than a bunch of incidents, it’s on to the next round of mild amusement. It’s a film about forgetting that seems designed to be forgotten.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MarkLJun 30, 2009
Funny with a hint of character progression, but the bro atmosphere, random events, and physical comedy, while executed well, become repetitive and boring halfway through.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
pgJun 10, 2009
Not bad. not great either.... it's everything you'd expect after seeing the trailer. i was hoping for better since it got good reviews but it didn't wow me.... it was average entertainment with a couple laughs. it's Not bad. not great either.... it's everything you'd expect after seeing the trailer. i was hoping for better since it got good reviews but it didn't wow me.... it was average entertainment with a couple laughs. it's basically like a 'dude, where's my car' redux. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TomGJun 6, 2009
While funny and mostly entertaining, can't say I thought is was nearly as good as many of the others. Much of it was over the top and unbelievable. Want to see a better Vegas movie starring Heather Graham. Rent Swingers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JulieASep 19, 2009
I finally got a chance togo to this movie, after hearing how hilarious is was, and I must say, I was very disappointed. I enjoy ridiculous comedies as much as the next person, but this movie tried way too hard to make weird stuff funny. The I finally got a chance togo to this movie, after hearing how hilarious is was, and I must say, I was very disappointed. I enjoy ridiculous comedies as much as the next person, but this movie tried way too hard to make weird stuff funny. The Mike Tyson cameo was just plain stupid, and could they not get a better celebrity to do a cameo? Overall, certainly some funny parts, but this movie is not all the rage that some make it out to be. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ceejJun 22, 2009
It takes almost zero creative genius to make a movie like this. That being said, it takes very little to make people laugh. beyond a forfeiture of dignity. I'm not totally insulting this film. But even as a exaggerated-gross-out-comedy, It takes almost zero creative genius to make a movie like this. That being said, it takes very little to make people laugh. beyond a forfeiture of dignity. I'm not totally insulting this film. But even as a exaggerated-gross-out-comedy, it fell a bit short. I'd say about 20% of the film I was hoping it would get less repetitive. And the blow-job porn pix at the end? What the hell was that? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayR.Jun 5, 2009
Not nearly as good as the previews make it look.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeramieCJul 19, 2009
Wow, I haven't seen a movie this over hyped since...last summer! Not nearly as funny as all the bro's out there seem to think, but then again...UFC is really popular.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JohnBJul 7, 2009
VERY DISAPPOINTED...i came in looking forward to a good comedy after reading all these reviews and all i got were cheap one liner jokes. Laughed a couple of times, but never a laugh out loud moment...some parts were just stupid, and i feel VERY DISAPPOINTED...i came in looking forward to a good comedy after reading all these reviews and all i got were cheap one liner jokes. Laughed a couple of times, but never a laugh out loud moment...some parts were just stupid, and i feel that with the story they had they could have made this much more funnier. without zach galifinakis i would have gave this movie a 0. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
jimmyfAug 19, 2009
This movie was obviously written for five year olds. Amusing at best. Manages to combine plain bad taste in places with weirdness in others.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
zombiehampsterNov 8, 2010
The Hangover was a movie that I tried really hard to like (not a good thing), but found that it just wasn't that funny or creative to me. I don't know if I had too high expectations about how it would play out, but the "jokes" seemed to be aThe Hangover was a movie that I tried really hard to like (not a good thing), but found that it just wasn't that funny or creative to me. I don't know if I had too high expectations about how it would play out, but the "jokes" seemed to be a formula of: take a basic subject/concept and add a totally unrelated twist that makes no sense other than to be just totally random, and then you have comedy. The weird thing to me is that I normally like weird, strange, nonsense as well, but the Hangover just seemed like the writer was trying to imitate that style, but found mediocrity instead. I'm not going to bother commenting on the story, because it really has no bearing on the overall movie. As a comedy it just needs to make you laugh, with the story coming in a distant 2nd. Not a bad comedy, as it did have its moments, but to me it was pretty stale overall. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
PetrovitaAug 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A decent movie. Had alot of humour in, no doubt about that. Characters were interesting and funny. Acting was very good. Only one part (spoiler) is when they actually find their friend, turns out he was on the roof all along. Only reason why he couldn't get down was because the door was locked from the outside. Why didn't he go yelling around on the roof for the people down below? He even threw a madrass on a tower spike of the building, yet he didn't go to the workers that went up with a crane to remove and yell for help? Why not throw things down onto the streets below to get peoples attention? That was the most retarded thing I've ever seen in a movie in a long while. What was the director thinking? Other than that really stupid thing it was a decent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Boosemo12Jun 4, 2011
I wanted to like it, I really did.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 28, 2014
The Hangover is a fun caper which takes "what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas" to the next level. Still, I will admit to being slightly let down overall. Good, not great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeFeb 15, 2013
A film that does not personally favor. Sometimes it makes you boring. The scored with 5 argument is good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
Everyone was saying this was hilarious, so I watched it. I wouldn't go so far as to say the laughs are non-stop, but there are some and the cast is good enough to pull them off. Nothing too special.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews