The Hangover

The Hangover Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 900 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Two days before his wedding, Doug and his three buddies drive to Vegas for a blow-out night they'll never forget. But when the three groomsmen wake up the next morning with pounding headaches, they can't remember a thing. Their posh hotel suite is beyond trashed and the groom is nowhere toTwo days before his wedding, Doug and his three buddies drive to Vegas for a blow-out night they'll never forget. But when the three groomsmen wake up the next morning with pounding headaches, they can't remember a thing. Their posh hotel suite is beyond trashed and the groom is nowhere to be found. With no clue of what happened and little time to spare, the trio must attempt to retrace their bad decisions from the night before in order to figure out where things went wrong and hopefully get Doug back to L.A. in time for his wedding. However, the more they begin to uncover, the more they realize just how much trouble they're really in. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Calvert
    100
    This is a movie where you WANT to stick around for the credits. The beauty is that you are totally set up for it, and you don't mind one bit. That final sequence ties the movie together in an awesome fashion.
  2. 90
    The Hangover is a shaggy-dog tale that's actually, when you step back from it, perfectly shaped.
  3. 88
    The Hangover ain't art, but Phillips has shaped the hardcore hilarity into the summer party movie of all our twisted dreams.
  4. 75
    Raunchy frat comedies are as hard to pull off as any other kind because they have to keep surprising the audience, and The Hangover does with a bizarre series of uproarious situations with explanations that just about stay within the bounds of plausibility.
  5. The Hangover pushes the boundaries of good taste, good sense, and good will toward man. And you'll feel good about it all.
  6. 70
    Phillips can't bring himself to push the material into truly outré territory, or to characterize his growth-impaired guys as degenerate creeps rather than lovable scamps.
  7. 38
    The Hangover is like an infernal comedy machine. Surrender your soul to its foul mesh of cheap cleverness and vulgarity. and you howl like a delighted demon. Resist, and you feel all sense and sensibility being crushed in its cogs.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 284
  1. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Great movie! extremelly true and funny! Very funny, I would say! Will recommend! People who think this movie is not good, I think they shouldGreat movie! extremelly true and funny! Very funny, I would say! Will recommend! People who think this movie is not good, I think they should watch The Box...(Cameron Diaz). After that, they will appreciate it a lot more and realize that the money spent on making the move has not been wasted! Expand
  2. CourtneyG
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    Funniest movie I have seen in years! Worth watching again and again.
  3. JeffB.
    Jun 7, 2009
    9
    There has never been a statue made of a Critic.. and this is why..get a Real JOB and wake up from your Hangover.. how could you not find this Funny?
  4. May 25, 2011
    8
    its been along time since i seen a comedy that gave me a good laugh . the hangover turned out to be the first one in a long time to do so. itsits been along time since i seen a comedy that gave me a good laugh . the hangover turned out to be the first one in a long time to do so. its jokes can be clever , rediculas and ruanchy but pulls them off pretty well. after waching it 3 times which i dont think ive done for any commedy since the wedding crashers i can still get a few laughs out of it . its a solid commedy in years where every other one is very predictable or about as funny as waching a door close . Expand
  5. PeterJ
    Dec 29, 2009
    7
    Okay, if I had only watched in once I would have given it a 5, but it was actually funnier the 2nd time around. Still not as funny as Okay, if I had only watched in once I would have given it a 5, but it was actually funnier the 2nd time around. Still not as funny as everyone makes it out to be, and I doubt I'll watch it a 3rd time unless there is nothing else on and it's on cable somewhere. Expand
  6. TomG
    Jun 6, 2009
    5
    While funny and mostly entertaining, can't say I thought is was nearly as good as many of the others. Much of it was over the top and While funny and mostly entertaining, can't say I thought is was nearly as good as many of the others. Much of it was over the top and unbelievable. Want to see a better Vegas movie starring Heather Graham. Rent Swingers. Expand
  7. DaveTheBabe
    Jun 26, 2009
    0
    This was an absolute waste of time. The characters actions, of which we see very little, were not believable to the behaviors that they This was an absolute waste of time. The characters actions, of which we see very little, were not believable to the behaviors that they displayed the next day. There was no chemistry, the scenes felt forced and scattered as if there were a dozen frat boys trying to tell a coherent story. I don't think I laughed out loud once, each line was cliche and unoriginal. This movie was cruel and moronic and in no way clever or funny. I can't believe the amount of people who enjoyed this film, it breaks my heart that we will most likely see more films like this in the future. Expand

See all 284 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  2. This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar?

    This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar? Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/14
  3. AFI, Boston Critics, L.A. Critics Name Top Movies of 2009

    AFI, Boston Critics, L.A. Critics Name Top Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: December 13, 2009
    The awards season kicks into high gear this week, and three separate organizations have given a big boost to The Hurt Locker, while another favors Avatar.
  4. 20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder

    20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder  Image
    Published: June 16, 2016
    We pick out 20 great examples of lousy movie sequels.
  5. This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for May 20-26

    This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for May 20-26 Image
    Published: May 19, 2013
    Notable releases and premieres this week include the return of "Arrested Development," new albums from Daft Punk and The National, the final Hangover film, Richard Linklater's follow-up to "Before Sunrise" and "Before Sunset," an HBO movie from Steven Soderbergh, and much more.
  6. Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium

    Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium Image
    Published: May 2, 2013
    Get the details (and watch trailers) for all of the key films heading to cineplexes between now and the end of August, including the latest Star Trek, Superman, and Hangover films, new features from Sofia Coppola, Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Nicolas Winding Refn, and Edgar Wright, and much more.
  7. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: March 8, 2013
    Watch the latest trailers for "The Hangover Part III" and "Iron Man 3" and upcoming films from Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Sarah Polley, and M. Night Shyamalan. Plus, get a recap of this week's movie news, including details on projects from Brad Bird and Jon Stewart.