User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 693 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DippyS.
    Oct 5, 2008
    0
    No more time in this world should be wasted on this film
  2. RicoR.
    Jun 14, 2008
    1
    He is a pathetic human being who (now) lacks talent and should be sued and placed in jail for defrauding hard working viewers of their $10.00. He is truly a pathetic human being and a bad person for duping us out of our money with this banal movie about nothing. I have no respect for him as a human being and won't ever mention his name or support his work again. I hope he goes He is a pathetic human being who (now) lacks talent and should be sued and placed in jail for defrauding hard working viewers of their $10.00. He is truly a pathetic human being and a bad person for duping us out of our money with this banal movie about nothing. I have no respect for him as a human being and won't ever mention his name or support his work again. I hope he goes bankrupt and his poor storytelling ends forever! Expand
  3. Charles
    Jun 14, 2008
    1
    I'm actually angry that I contributed to this weekend's box office gross for this film.
  4. Oct 13, 2014
    2
    I understand that Shyamalan can have a very particular style and specific angles he wants to define. That being said, this movie, while having interesting ideas tossed around, finished with nothing but gore and jibberish for acting. I can see that the approach is that maybe plants have the capacity to effect the human brain and its processing. So due to that it makes everyone'sI understand that Shyamalan can have a very particular style and specific angles he wants to define. That being said, this movie, while having interesting ideas tossed around, finished with nothing but gore and jibberish for acting. I can see that the approach is that maybe plants have the capacity to effect the human brain and its processing. So due to that it makes everyone's interactions with each other just odd and confusing. In that sense, the performances were not that bad. But that doesn't make it an entertaining experience. This is disappointing because I know there was a lot of wasted talent and ability here. It is an interesting idea to think the planet could get defensive against humans in that way but in the end I think Shyamalan tried too hard. There were a lot of positive elements that were in the wrong places. The genre wasn't really all that clear either. Pretty graphic and gruesome, while being light and humorously sarcastic almost...I mean what is going on? I am confident there was a well defined point in the director's mind but how it was relayed and delivered was too cryptic. Its just like, what are you trying to say here? Because whatever it is, its not getting across. There was no emotional time to connect to any of the characters and relate to them, there was no self involvement in the struggle. Whatever the struggle was exactly... Definitely a dip in Night's consistency in movie making. Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2015
    3
    M. Night is at it again bringing us a... really bad movie. However, its a great party movie that your friends and you can laugh all night at. But if you're looking for a movie to analyse, this probably isn't the one to watch.
  6. Jan 20, 2013
    1
    This is what you call a joke. Mark Wahlberg was absolutely terrible. The story was disgraceful. Bad cast, story feels long and drawn out for a 90 minute film. The Happening is just another flop from M Night
  7. Feb 22, 2015
    1
    A movie called "The Happening" in which nothing really happens. Somehow the direction made class leading actors appear totally void of talent. For once the critics seem to have scored this more appropriately than the users. The longer M. Night Shyamalan makes movies the worse he gets. Only redeeming feature is some unintentionally hilarious suicide scenes. One of the worst films I have satA movie called "The Happening" in which nothing really happens. Somehow the direction made class leading actors appear totally void of talent. For once the critics seem to have scored this more appropriately than the users. The longer M. Night Shyamalan makes movies the worse he gets. Only redeeming feature is some unintentionally hilarious suicide scenes. One of the worst films I have sat all the way through. Dreadful waste of time. Avoid at all costs Expand
  8. Nov 8, 2012
    1
    This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The plot, once you figure it out, is so stupid you will not believe that someone actually approved this to be made into a movie. The movie moves along at a droning pace, just like most M. Night Shyamalan movies. Usually, this is acceptable to me because the payoff is worth it, like The Sixth Sense. In this case I was painfully boredThis is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The plot, once you figure it out, is so stupid you will not believe that someone actually approved this to be made into a movie. The movie moves along at a droning pace, just like most M. Night Shyamalan movies. Usually, this is acceptable to me because the payoff is worth it, like The Sixth Sense. In this case I was painfully bored until I figured out the ridiculous plot twist and by that time I was ready to call it quits.

    Mark Wahlburg is generally an okay actor but in this film I think even he realizes how stupid it is and just gave up. The rest of the acting doesn't really matter because you will have lost interest long before judging it.

    The only reason I even gave this movie a 1 is because I actually endured it till the end, otherwise it would have been a 0. You will miss nothing by not seeing this movie, except for the regrets of wishing you had not wasted 2 hours of your life on it.
    Expand
  9. MitchA.
    Oct 28, 2008
    1
    Without a doubt one of the worst films i have ever seen. How M. Night Shyamalan could get something so wrong after getting other films so right is outragous. AVOID
  10. NicholasB.
    Jun 15, 2008
    2
    The happening? What actually happens? Not much. Marc Wahlberg is truly appalling- much like his cop role in Boogie Nights. This 90 minutes seemed along, long time.
  11. DaveP.
    Jun 16, 2008
    0
    I never take the time to rate movies bbut this one is an exception. Without a doubt this is the worst movie I have ever seen in a theatre, and possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. And yes, I saw Gigli, I saw Battlefield earth and several other awful pices of filmaking and this trumps them all. Worst plot of any movie I have ever seen. I was laughing the entire movie it I never take the time to rate movies bbut this one is an exception. Without a doubt this is the worst movie I have ever seen in a theatre, and possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. And yes, I saw Gigli, I saw Battlefield earth and several other awful pices of filmaking and this trumps them all. Worst plot of any movie I have ever seen. I was laughing the entire movie it was so bad. The acting was also just terrible. I don't know how Mark Walhber accepted to be in this. M. Night Shamalany (or howveer you spell his name) should never be aloud to make a movie again in his entire life. I feel cheated just for wasting two hours and $10 or my life. Excuse me while I go throw up. Expand
  12. IonA.
    Jun 19, 2008
    0
    Worst movie i have ever seen. I almost fell asleep.
  13. AramisG.
    Jun 21, 2008
    1
    I went in with very low expectations and every one of them was met with this boring film. This isn't a responsible time to be making puesdo science environmentalist movies.
  14. DiegoL.
    Jul 6, 2008
    3
    Really weak movie, interesting idea poorly developed with bad dialogues and bad acting. What a disappointment!
  15. ThiagoT.
    Aug 25, 2008
    3
    This movie is horrible. M. Night Shyamalan had good dreams and put it on the screen, after this one its proven how fucking luck and of course, immature he is as director. Zooey Deschanel didn't how what a hell she was doing in the entire film, that was kinda fun.
  16. SteveS
    Jan 7, 2009
    1
    Just awful. Defies logic at many turns. Wahlberg's and performance is leaden. Zooey Deschanel spends the movie staring gap mouthed at the screen. If you want to watch a bad film to laugh at, there are better bad flicks out there.
  17. Meghan
    Oct 18, 2008
    3
    The previews looked excellent and the premise appeared interesting, but the movie itself was a flop. I was severely disappointed because the idea behind the movie could have made an incredible movie; it just wasn't served to the audience in a palatable fashion. The acting was literally laughable, as well as the script- a total cheez-factory. Idiosyncratic characters, such as the The previews looked excellent and the premise appeared interesting, but the movie itself was a flop. I was severely disappointed because the idea behind the movie could have made an incredible movie; it just wasn't served to the audience in a palatable fashion. The acting was literally laughable, as well as the script- a total cheez-factory. Idiosyncratic characters, such as the military guy on the road and the old woman who housed them in the end, seemed to be "weird" for no reason at all. I was sitting there wondering what was up with them, and it turned out that their personalities/behaviors served no purpose at all. I think M. Night Shyamalan wrapped himself up too tightly in concept (style) in this movie, and therefore failed to tell the story effectively. He is lost in his own artistry, but this is nothing new for his movies. Avoid this movie, and I encourage you to rewrite it yourself--- you could definitely do much better than this guy. Expand
  18. JamieT
    Oct 31, 2008
    1
    Possibly the worst movie I haver ever seen. It replaces his previous movie, Lady in the Water. I was hoping Night was going to get back to making good movies like Sixth Sense, Signs and Unbreakable but instead this retchid movie happened. Did I feel drawn into the movie? Possibly - yes! I too had an overwhelming urge to stick something sharp into my neck while trying to digest this Possibly the worst movie I haver ever seen. It replaces his previous movie, Lady in the Water. I was hoping Night was going to get back to making good movies like Sixth Sense, Signs and Unbreakable but instead this retchid movie happened. Did I feel drawn into the movie? Possibly - yes! I too had an overwhelming urge to stick something sharp into my neck while trying to digest this absolute howler! Expand
  19. RichardR.
    Oct 31, 2008
    3
    A decent germ of an idea has been turned into a boring film with talk, talk, talk. What awful writing. Come on, Night. You know you can do better -- don't you?
  20. DanM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    1
    This has to be the worst movie I've ever seen....terrible acting, zero plot, and a god-awful storyline. The Happening = FAIL.
  21. AlexB.
    Oct 8, 2008
    1
    Laughable at best and overly pretentious. Avoid this movie at all costs.
  22. BillB
    Oct 9, 2008
    0
    I laughed so hard while watching this movie, not because it was supposed to be funny, but because it was so badly done. How can Shyamalan not realize that the dialogue, story content, and acting was absolutely terrible? Mark Wahlberg was worse than an 8th grader in a school play and Deschanel was more like a 6th grader. This movie played out like a stupid comedy, even though you could I laughed so hard while watching this movie, not because it was supposed to be funny, but because it was so badly done. How can Shyamalan not realize that the dialogue, story content, and acting was absolutely terrible? Mark Wahlberg was worse than an 8th grader in a school play and Deschanel was more like a 6th grader. This movie played out like a stupid comedy, even though you could tell that it was 100% serious. Avoid The Happening unless you are a connoisseur of offal movies or you think that M. Night Shyamalan is a good director! Expand
  23. EvanO.
    Jun 12, 2008
    0
    M. Night Shymalan's best movie since the Sixth Sense. Visually horrifying and psychologically thrilling. Will leave you thinking for a while afterwards.
  24. AaronA.
    Jun 13, 2008
    2
    Poor acting, poor writing, poor production overall.
  25. ChadS.
    Jun 14, 2008
    3
    Say what you will about "The Village" and "The Lady in the Water", the former- an allegory about the scare tactics of Homeland Security, and the latter- a contemporary fairy tale set in the city, as being dippy, pedantic, and somewhat sanctimonious; neither film, however, could be accused of being uninspired. The filmmaker took chances. Critics and audiences alike, ridiculed him for it. Say what you will about "The Village" and "The Lady in the Water", the former- an allegory about the scare tactics of Homeland Security, and the latter- a contemporary fairy tale set in the city, as being dippy, pedantic, and somewhat sanctimonious; neither film, however, could be accused of being uninspired. The filmmaker took chances. Critics and audiences alike, ridiculed him for it. Now comes "The Happening", a film so shockingly formulaic, one is tempted to call this melding of "Attack of the Killer Tomatoes" and the Sparks' song "Don't Turn Your Back on Mother Earth"(made popular by Depeche Mode), a piece of confrontational art. For the first time, the filmmaker acknowledges, in a very cynical fashion, that the American moviegoing public have reduced attention spans with a preference for spectacle over narrative. The filmmaker purposely made a dumb movie because he thinks that movie audiences were too ignorant to get his last two pictures. That's why the dialogue is worse than perfunctory, it's practically post-literate. "The Happening" plays like an episode of "The Twilight Zone" directed by Ed Wood. Mark Wahlberg is off his game. Zooey Deschanel is off her game. There's very little indication that either actor received much instruction from their director. Wahlberg, in particular, is terrible; his character, sort of imbecilic. Elliot doesn't want to be alone, but being with Alma(Deschanel) means risking exposure to the aerial spores(or whatever), therefore killing her. A child is with them. Maybe the filmmaker is going for the child-killing trifecta. Expand
  26. IzzyN.
    Jun 15, 2008
    1
    Greatly disappointed in the manner of how a seemingly talented M. Night turned an entertainment film into a scare mongering, fear driven story about how WE AS PEOPLE are ruining the earth. If you see this movie, and fail to grasp this inherent concept behind the plot, it is either because M. Night presented it in a backhanded fearful manner meant to scare you OR you just fall right into Greatly disappointed in the manner of how a seemingly talented M. Night turned an entertainment film into a scare mongering, fear driven story about how WE AS PEOPLE are ruining the earth. If you see this movie, and fail to grasp this inherent concept behind the plot, it is either because M. Night presented it in a backhanded fearful manner meant to scare you OR you just fall right into the group of people who believe exactly what is preached to you by the "all-knowing" environmentalists that think they have the right to give you guilt trips and, in the process, control your life. The message in the plot - and the plot in general, for that matter - was poorly executed. But maybe it was done like that on purpose - because you are so immensely inundated with horrific images and growing fear that the main characters' lives are coming to an end. Yet amid all of these dramatizations (many of which are very "corny") is a definitive message about why these people are dying. On the surface, it appears that they are dying because "nature is unpredictable" and it will do the craziest things - INCLUDING to KILL human beings. Don't fall for this mediocre conclusion. REALIZE that this movie was just made by another HOLLYWOOD LIBERAL looking to influence your emotions and fears. M. Night crafted NATURE to kill all of these people because it is as if nature was getting back at them for all the evil things he believes we are doing to the planet. [If you are just another kooky lib watching this movie, loving it and completely agreeing with it, then I pity your lack of judgment to discern when you are being scammed. Just continue thinking that your stance is never wrong.] The film is injected with LIBERAL talking points, some of which only last for a second - but when compiled together, a very naive and unknowing person will continue to take the talking points in as truths, and just walk away thinking only that they wasted $10 of their money and close to 2 hours of their life. People - Educate yourselves about the ways in which this GLOBAL WARMING scare is just meant to scare you, make you feel guilty and then tell you how to live your life --- AND THIS IS ALL FROM [AN APPARENTLY DWINDLING] HOLLYWOOD FILM DIRECTOR THAT'S ABUSING THEIR ARTISTIC RESOURCES TO MAKE YOU DEPRESSED AND SCARED. Movies have continued and will continue to go down the drain - AND THIS MOVIE IS AN EXAMPLE OF WHY. We as people are not destroying the earth in the way it is implied. And for M. Night to equate a terrorism threat with the global warming scam, is pathetic (even from an artistic stance, it lacks any and all sense of creativity or entertainment that people seek when paying to see a movie). Do NOT pay to see this movie. Don't even pay to rent it when it comes out. And if by some lapse of rational judgment you decide to see it, do not be confused or scared - realize the movie for what it is. Move on with your life, Be happy & NEVER change anything about your life just because failing directors and environmentalists like this one tell you to. Expand
  27. BMiller
    Jun 15, 2008
    2
    There was once a time that "Directed by M Night Shyamalan" got me excited. Not now. Love him or hate him, he had a unique style and some impressive success early on. Namely:
  28. ZackW.
    Jun 15, 2008
    2
    This was an terrible film. Not only was the entire audience laughing for half of the "horror" film, but it was booed at the ending. This was a late attempt for the writer/director to jump on the environmental bandwagon. This film was horrible. It left me with a feeling of.... hmm.... oh yeah, I want my money back!
  29. NigelN.
    Jun 16, 2008
    2
    M Night Shaymalan needs to go back to basics. His name has been sullied in Hollywood with a series of egotistical moves. This has made audiences and critics alike scrutinize his movies even more. A much better effort than Lady in the Water but the main problem with this movie - WHO CARES?
  30. MatthewH.
    Jun 16, 2008
    0
    The worst movie I've ever seen in the theater. Terrible acting. Atrocious writing. Horrible plot. The only funny thing about the movie was one of the character's lazy eye...seriously. The foreshadowing was so obvious. I felt like M. Night and a class of kindergartenerds not only formed the plot between snack and nap time, but also wrote the script.
  31. EddieB.
    Jun 17, 2008
    2
    Nature breaks wind in The Happening, the latest stinker from M. Night Shylamayan. Hey, I'm rooting for the guy, I really am, but it's tough when I have to sit through 90 minutes of laughably bad dialogue and acting, an unconvincing plot, and boring characters. As in his last two films, M. Night finds an interesting idea that ultimately fails to deliver on its promise--sort of Nature breaks wind in The Happening, the latest stinker from M. Night Shylamayan. Hey, I'm rooting for the guy, I really am, but it's tough when I have to sit through 90 minutes of laughably bad dialogue and acting, an unconvincing plot, and boring characters. As in his last two films, M. Night finds an interesting idea that ultimately fails to deliver on its promise--sort of like writing a 10-page term paper only to realize halfway through that your thesis statement is weak. Note to Mr. S.: Bustling leaves, open windows, and swaying trees can be scary with the right film ingredients ... or an audience of allergy-sufferers. Expand
  32. SteveK.
    Jun 19, 2008
    0
    One of the worst films I've ever seen, It was a great concept that failed on all levels. Poor script, poor acting, poorly executed.
  33. JacobR.
    Jun 23, 2008
    2
    The only thing I enjoyed about the movie was how hilariously quotable all the one-liners were from the lack-luster acting. The plot holes were plain as day, there was little action or suspense when there should've been, and there was little there to constitute all the hype about it being Mr. Shyamalan's "first R-rated movie". Also, wind doesn't work like that. It can't The only thing I enjoyed about the movie was how hilariously quotable all the one-liners were from the lack-luster acting. The plot holes were plain as day, there was little action or suspense when there should've been, and there was little there to constitute all the hype about it being Mr. Shyamalan's "first R-rated movie". Also, wind doesn't work like that. It can't chase people, and I found that hilarious in the movie. Also, what's the big deal about the female lead having dessert with a co worker? The whole script and execution was poor. Expand
  34. Jefframone
    Jun 24, 2008
    2
    An oh man, how many crappy movies does M. Night Shyamalan before I stop seeing his stuff? The mysterious premise sucked me. And honestly, the first like 15 minutes of the film was scary, weird, exciting, effective and roped me in immediately. And then Marky Mark opened his mouth. Let me save you the time, trouble and $10: some really angry plants are responsible for the events of The An oh man, how many crappy movies does M. Night Shyamalan before I stop seeing his stuff? The mysterious premise sucked me. And honestly, the first like 15 minutes of the film was scary, weird, exciting, effective and roped me in immediately. And then Marky Mark opened his mouth. Let me save you the time, trouble and $10: some really angry plants are responsible for the events of The Happening. There was an opportunity to do something interesting, but instead Shyamalan wrote the point of the whole movie on a large polo mallet and continuously whacked moviegoers over the head again and again and again. The point: Mother Earth is pissed at us. Plants and trees are adapting to these foreign invaders (humans) and spreading a toxic across the Northeast presumably to purge the planet of humankind. The End. Yet another Hollywood missed opportunity. Shame on me for getting suckered into one of his films -- AGAIN! Expand
  35. ArianaM.
    Jun 30, 2008
    0
    All you have to do is read the illiterate comments of the people who liked this to know that this movie isn't worth the dirt they stood on to film it.
  36. AlecB.
    Jun 30, 2008
    3
    Are you people serious giving this movie 10's? This was by far the most pointless movie of the year. Expected something good since the movie was directed by the same guy who made the 6th sense. Also why would Mark Walhberg want to star in this crap. Terrible view at your own risk.
  37. TravisS.
    Jul 8, 2008
    3
    It took a long time to get into the action and when it got there it was short. I came very hopeful and left disappointed!
  38. BlakeO.
    Sep 23, 2008
    0
    The story had no direction or ending. Where do I go to get last 2 hours of my life back?
  39. DominickO
    Dec 10, 2009
    1
    I hate when people gives films 0 and 1 on this site because normally they are taking it too far. But I make an exception in this case. The worst acting, worst directing and worst script I have ever seen in a "blockbuster" film - bar none. A good premise and exciting first five minutes followed by 90 minutes of the worst cinema I've ever witnessed. 5 people around us got up and left I hate when people gives films 0 and 1 on this site because normally they are taking it too far. But I make an exception in this case. The worst acting, worst directing and worst script I have ever seen in a "blockbuster" film - bar none. A good premise and exciting first five minutes followed by 90 minutes of the worst cinema I've ever witnessed. 5 people around us got up and left the cinema. Expand
  40. JamesN
    Jul 21, 2009
    0
    Quite possibly the worst film I've ever seen. Wahlberg's acting blends in well with the trees and blows much harder than the deadly breeze he runs from.
  41. SimonP
    Jul 29, 2009
    1
    Perhaps we just have to face the fact that this guy had only one good film in him. I remember seeing the trailer for this and thinking it looked worth seeing. I was wrong. It fails on numerous levels, not least by drawing some really bad performances from some reasonably good actors. Wahlberg and Deschanel are painful to watch. The plot's full of holes and there simply isn't Perhaps we just have to face the fact that this guy had only one good film in him. I remember seeing the trailer for this and thinking it looked worth seeing. I was wrong. It fails on numerous levels, not least by drawing some really bad performances from some reasonably good actors. Wahlberg and Deschanel are painful to watch. The plot's full of holes and there simply isn't anything shocking, scary of moving about the whole thing. Imagine taking a generic zombie film but removing the threat posed by the zombies by having them kill only themselves. Scary? Fun? Nope. It might just be redeemable if it conveyed its message about Man's destruction of the environment in a meaningful or thought provoking way, but it doesn't; it's crass and patronising to anyone with half an ounce of intelligence. It would have been so much better to have donated the millions that went into producing this compost heap of a film to an environmental charity. Expand
  42. CM
    Nov 10, 2008
    3
    Simply horrible, in every respect. What a complete waste of a rental.
  43. ToddF.
    Oct 16, 2008
    3
    The acting was terrible, the script was worse, but there were some entertaining bits to this movie.
  44. DavidC
    Nov 8, 2008
    0
    I swore I would never see another M. Night Shyamalan movie after The Village...I should have known better because this was one of the WORST movies I've seen in the last 15 years, tied with Battlefied Earth. It's good for laughts, but not with the movie --- at it. Once again Mark Wahlberg has proven that he is a terrible lead actor, although he is a great supporting actor (e.g., I swore I would never see another M. Night Shyamalan movie after The Village...I should have known better because this was one of the WORST movies I've seen in the last 15 years, tied with Battlefied Earth. It's good for laughts, but not with the movie --- at it. Once again Mark Wahlberg has proven that he is a terrible lead actor, although he is a great supporting actor (e.g., The Departed). Expand
  45. LarryL
    Dec 1, 2008
    3
    A horrible movie...unless it was meant as a comedy/parody. The acting and the lines were so bad you wish everybody in the movie kills themselves. Including the film crew.
  46. JonK.
    Oct 31, 2008
    0
    Absolutely one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I liked pretty much all of the other movies by this director, but this was horrible. Don't waste your time or money!
  47. JimO
    Jun 11, 2008
    3
    bad cast, story feels long and drawn out for a 90minute film. The Happening is just another flop from M Night.
  48. ATree
    Jun 13, 2008
    3
    If M. Night Shyamalan had any residual star power remaining from The Sixth Sense and Signs after a series of flops, whatever was left has been depleted by The Happening. I thought perhaps Mr. Shyamalan was a good filmmaker with a few bad movies, now I realize that he is a bad filmmaker with a few good movies. It
  49. PhilD.
    Jun 13, 2008
    0
    I don't know if it was a dark comedy or they were trying to make a real horror movie... but it was a real horror movie that it was make in the first place and people paid to see it...
  50. T.Jones
    Jun 13, 2008
    1
    This movie is going to give me nightmares for weeks dreaming about what I could have spent my money on instead. Warning Spoiler: If I had been told that the protagonists would be primarily running from the breeze for fear of death by plant farts I would have never believed it.
  51. KimB.
    Jun 14, 2008
    0
    Horrible, horrible, horrible. I'm assuming boom mikes are now members of The Screen Actors Guild, or at least they should be with so many appearances in this disaster!
  52. SimonM.
    Jun 14, 2008
    0
    The only thing I'll give this film is that it isn't as bad as Lady in the Water >:P Over all it was just boring.
  53. Blackpanther
    Jun 14, 2008
    0
    This movie sucks. Do not go see this movie you will be bored to death. This is one of the worst movies ever made. Do not go see this movie!
  54. NickT.
    Jun 14, 2008
    1
    By far, one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The acting was horrible and the plot was never fully developed! I would honestly recommend that people not waste their money to go see it.
  55. CharlesB
    Jun 14, 2008
    3
    Very funny movie, I had a great time and laughed almost throughout the whole movie, if this was a comedy I would've given it a 7 or 8.
  56. LeeS.
    Jun 14, 2008
    1
    One of the worse movies I've ever had to sit through. Pure garbage! How this got green lit is the mystery here.
  57. KevinR.
    Jun 14, 2008
    1
    One of those movies that ham-fistedly projects all it's plot points. The minute you see Marky Mark put on that mood ring, you know it's going to figure in the story. Unfortunately, there's not much of a story here, and the multitudinous shots of bushes and trees blowing in the breeze do nothing but emphasize how hard M. Night is trying to make something out of nothing. All One of those movies that ham-fistedly projects all it's plot points. The minute you see Marky Mark put on that mood ring, you know it's going to figure in the story. Unfortunately, there's not much of a story here, and the multitudinous shots of bushes and trees blowing in the breeze do nothing but emphasize how hard M. Night is trying to make something out of nothing. All in all this movie suffers the worst possible fate that can befall a suspense movie...we start to laugh at moments that are supposed to be scary because they are carried off in such an obvious and amateurish way. Expand
  58. DanW.
    Jun 15, 2008
    1
    Terrible acting, laughable dialogue, and an awful storyline - there is nothing scary, thought-provoking, or even the slightest bit interesting about this movie. Did I mention that the acting is terrible?
  59. ErickM.
    Jun 15, 2008
    3
    BOO!!!!! This movie had great potential but didn't deliver on many fronts. The writing, acting, and story were all terrible. I really wanted to like this movie but left very disappointed....there were even boos from the audience at the end. What happened M. Night?
  60. SteveS.
    Jun 15, 2008
    2
    This gets a 2 out of 10. If nothing else because the first ten min are well acted, even if they are just extras and they do a better job than the stars of the film. After that it doesn't even go down hill. It's just already there.
  61. LarryH
    Jun 16, 2008
    1
    I'm a HUGE fan of M. Night. I loved Signs, The Village and Unbreakable. I even thought critics were too harsh about The Lady In The Water, which I thought was a beautiful adult fairy tail. But The Happening is just plain terrible. There is no suspense, horrible plot, horrible script and the acting was sub-par. Don't waste your money on seeing this summer bummer.
  62. JustinH.
    Jun 16, 2008
    1
    Bad acting, bad script, bad plot, bad movie.
  63. BenH.
    Jun 16, 2008
    1
    No redeeming value at all. I would've given this movie a zero but it starts "happening" in what looks like France so that bumped it to a one. This movie made me want to burn an entire forest down. In fact, "The Crappening," would be a better title.
  64. joec.
    Jun 17, 2008
    3
    M. Night Shyamalan has to just come up with ideas and had the script and directing off to someone, go on as a sub-co-writer/directer or whatever. im sorry to say, but i hate that good ideas like this are making great actors look like fools
  65. SammyP.
    Jun 17, 2008
    3
    Don't go waste your money on this movie. In fact don't go waste your money on renting the DVD either. It's that bad.
  66. MikeM
    Jun 17, 2008
    2
    I think the movie would have been better if it let the audience guessing what the "happening" was. I think it was the absolute worst idea that they "hot dog guy" pretty much gave away what it was like 30min into the movie. It's like some guy in the theater i was in just stood up and gave away the ending. How could a movie give away its own ending??!!!?!?! NO plot twist, crappy acting I think the movie would have been better if it let the audience guessing what the "happening" was. I think it was the absolute worst idea that they "hot dog guy" pretty much gave away what it was like 30min into the movie. It's like some guy in the theater i was in just stood up and gave away the ending. How could a movie give away its own ending??!!!?!?! NO plot twist, crappy acting the one little girl was crying due to a traumatic experience and she was looking around while doing it almost like to get acceptance of appropriate crying technique, stupid acting like if this epidemic was airborne why wouldn't cover their mouth with their cloths to try to filter it out, and HUGE plot holes as to why its only happening in north east America besides the bullshit reasoning of "it's a act of nature and we'll never fully understand it". Waste of money, gas, time, electricity, and anything else i can think of. I still recommend seeing it just as a control of what a really shitty movie is, but for god sakes DON'T pay for it. Expand
  67. MatthewT.
    Jun 17, 2008
    0
    Garbage. Hot garbage.
  68. BenS.
    Jun 21, 2008
    3
    Not great. kept wondering if some of the dialogue was going to turn out to be satire, but no. I actually liked the premise, but nothing interesting was done with it.
  69. JesseC.
    Jun 21, 2008
    0
    I am actually seeking out movie review sites where I can post zeros for this movie. It is Gigli bad. I have emailed all of my friends and warned them. Gone are all of the tension and pacing found in Shyamalan's previous efforts. Gone are any semblance of entertaining story. In place is some gratuitous gore that seems to be added only to assist in product-placement and garner an "R" I am actually seeking out movie review sites where I can post zeros for this movie. It is Gigli bad. I have emailed all of my friends and warned them. Gone are all of the tension and pacing found in Shyamalan's previous efforts. Gone are any semblance of entertaining story. In place is some gratuitous gore that seems to be added only to assist in product-placement and garner an "R" rating. Avoid this movie at all costs. I shudder to think if it is ever shown in-flight. It will be a tragedy because people will walk out. Expand
  70. ScottJ.
    Jun 22, 2008
    1
    Quite possibly the worst movie I have ever seen.
  71. JimG
    Jun 22, 2008
    2
    M. Night is now officially Lucy Van Pelt and I am officially Charlie Brown. He has never achieved anything close to the brilliance of the sixth sense, and with this useless confused core-less waste of film, I now doubt he ever will...
  72. MitchC.
    Jun 24, 2008
    1
    I want my money back. I am an average upper middle class american guy and I say it sucked. No Plot unfolding, no good acting, no answers.....sucked - I was robbed at the ticket office.
  73. EricP.
    Jun 24, 2008
    0
    This is the funniest horror movie I've seen since Stir of Echoes, yes I said FUNNIEST! It's so horrible it's funny, please, trees killing us. Come on, that's one of the stupidest ideas I've ever heard. The acting was just awful and it wasn't scary at all. I had the ending guessed 15 minutes into the movie, which was faster than The Village. Basically, This is the funniest horror movie I've seen since Stir of Echoes, yes I said FUNNIEST! It's so horrible it's funny, please, trees killing us. Come on, that's one of the stupidest ideas I've ever heard. The acting was just awful and it wasn't scary at all. I had the ending guessed 15 minutes into the movie, which was faster than The Village. Basically, don't waste your time. Expand
  74. BárbaraE.
    Jun 28, 2008
    1
    This "suspense" movie made my friends and I laugh more than many "comedies" have. That's the only reason it gets a 1 and not a 0.
  75. StephaneR.
    Jun 28, 2008
    1
    Worst movie I ever seen..bad acting,script etc... Making a love story with non-sense... also. 3 microphone appear during the movie, How can a suppose professional teams like 20th Century Fox .did not remove or cut this act before final delivery???
  76. DiegoH.
    Jun 30, 2008
    3
    The movie is entertaining but not scaring.. Night is without ideas.. he made the sixth sense and that was all.. he must retire instead of making one more time a ridiculous film like "signals".. that's all.
  77. PaulL.
    Jul 21, 2008
    0
    M night Shymalan should know how to improve himself since the sixth sense. This is got to be the worst movie of 2008.
  78. CarlosS.
    Jul 23, 2008
    0
    Awful unrealistic dialogue. No scientific sound grounds at all. Awful camera movement. Doubly awful acting by Wahlberg and and the little girl. A perfect blend of a B 60's horror movie, with comics, with you-name-it. Everything is predictable, nothing holds interest. From an aesthetic and cinematographic point of view; this is unacceptable!:
  79. EricM.
    Jul 27, 2008
    2
    This movie is as bad as the critics say. If you saw the previews, you saw all the good parts. And all the interesting moments happen right in the beginning of the film, the first ten minutes. The rest of the movie is the characters aimlessly wandering around. It doesn't get much more boring than this.
  80. BobF
    Jul 3, 2008
    3
    The only good parts to this movie were the parts you could laugh at. How can they take themselves seriously when they are force-feeding morales to the audience. All I can say is "I see you eyeing my lemon drink."
  81. TomB.
    Jul 7, 2008
    1
    Goofy dialog, uninspired performances, lame attempts at humor and a lifeless love story injected as a subplot...oh, and characters with so little personality (or chemistry) that we could care less about what happens to them... Now that's MY idea of a good time at the cinema!
  82. GirenI.
    Aug 10, 2008
    2
    It's like Shyamalan was trying too hard to gives the movie a B rated but cool ambiance. It was the worst of his films. Just horrible. This is the kind of movie who proves how the director could bring the disaster to any element of the movie.
  83. ALL242
    Aug 26, 2008
    0
    This is the worst movie I have ever seen. Unfortunately, I paid full price in the theaters to see the movie. The acting is sub-par, which is the best part of the entire movie. I fail to understand why wind moving through a field toward a group of people running away would get a rise out of anyone. Save yourself the time and money and watch ice melt in the sink, it's much more enjoyable.
  84. SeanG
    Jun 14, 2009
    3
    I can't believe that a well-respected director like M. Night Shyamalan would make something this incredibly bad. You know that Shyamalan is intending the movie to be a horror/thriller type of movie, and that is what you would expect, but that is not the case in this film. As many others have stated, the acting truly is laughable, at points similar to acting in movies such as Scary I can't believe that a well-respected director like M. Night Shyamalan would make something this incredibly bad. You know that Shyamalan is intending the movie to be a horror/thriller type of movie, and that is what you would expect, but that is not the case in this film. As many others have stated, the acting truly is laughable, at points similar to acting in movies such as Scary Movie and other parody films. What makes it even more funny is the lines that are used which always seemed like the most obvious lines you could think of. The only thing that came close to keeping me on the edge of my seat was the camera shots throughout the movie that built suspense for me multiple times. Other than that, and overall, the acting was bad, the script was bad, the storyline didn't go anywhere throughout the movie, and the ending didn't give off any second thoughts or any additional thinking (as I saw Shyamalan's Sixth Sense). When it's over, all it seems to be is an unrealistic movie with a plot that never went anywhere and parody-like acting. Expand
  85. GrahamD.
    Nov 12, 2008
    2
    Horrible writing and bad acting take away from the horror elements.
  86. Zack
    Nov 6, 2008
    3
    This movie was bad. The acting was laughable and the dialogue awful. The overall concept wasn't bad as the exposition to a much larger film. However, the second half to this great epic (what happens to mankind after this) never happens. It just ends abruptly and anticlimatically. If you were to cut this down to the couple good scenes and add a new ending (which shows more aftermath) This movie was bad. The acting was laughable and the dialogue awful. The overall concept wasn't bad as the exposition to a much larger film. However, the second half to this great epic (what happens to mankind after this) never happens. It just ends abruptly and anticlimatically. If you were to cut this down to the couple good scenes and add a new ending (which shows more aftermath) and have the actors give better performances (most of these guys are better then that). This could have been pulled off beautifully. Expand
  87. MayQ
    Oct 16, 2008
    3
    I am a very big fan of M. Night Shyamalan. I feel he is a very creative writer and creates movies that are not your traditional slasher-type, shoot-guns-at-everything kind of movies. I have enjoyed all of his movies... up until I saw The Happening. I liked the concept. I liked the storyline. Again, good job with the creativity. My BIGGEST problem with this whole movie was that the acting I am a very big fan of M. Night Shyamalan. I feel he is a very creative writer and creates movies that are not your traditional slasher-type, shoot-guns-at-everything kind of movies. I have enjoyed all of his movies... up until I saw The Happening. I liked the concept. I liked the storyline. Again, good job with the creativity. My BIGGEST problem with this whole movie was that the acting was absolutely horrid. I like Wahlberg and Leguizamo, but the acting was... horrible. Completely horrible. I don't understand how the dialogue and the acting could have gone so wrong. Didn't they see they could not play their parts well? Wahlberg is IMO an awesome actor, but I guess he can't do drama. Hell, no one in the movie played dramatic well. If the acting and dialogue were made better, then I think this movie would have been a little better. Rate a 3 for the story. 0 for acting. Expand
  88. JenniferK.
    Oct 19, 2008
    1
    This movie was terrible. I kept watching thinking something was going to happen......nothing. The acting was awful and the dialogue was retarded. I only gave it a one because some of the death scenes were worth watching.
  89. MarkF
    Jun 13, 2008
    2
    This is the absolute WORST movie I have seen in the last 10 years, and that includes all of M. Night Shayamalan's previous features. Terrible story, terrible acting but great concept. I only wish he did not try to be a one-man-band. This poor excuse for a feature film needed a re-write of the script and a better director. I am no longer a fan.
  90. AlexY.
    Jun 13, 2008
    1
    Possibly one of the worst films I've ever seen. Some advice if your considering paying money to see it... don't.
  91. RandyS.
    Jun 13, 2008
    1
    Absolute pathetic attempt to respect green theorist. I want my money+ back.
  92. CharlesG
    Jun 13, 2008
    1
    I'm officially through with Shyamalan. I liked Sixth Sense, Signs, and even Unbreakable. But after The Village, Lady in the Water, and now The Happening, Shyamalan has used up the reputation he earned from his good movies. The Happening suffered from terrible dialogue and an idiotic plot. The dialogue made Wahlberg and Leguizamo's characters seem like simpletons.[****SPOILER***] I'm officially through with Shyamalan. I liked Sixth Sense, Signs, and even Unbreakable. But after The Village, Lady in the Water, and now The Happening, Shyamalan has used up the reputation he earned from his good movies. The Happening suffered from terrible dialogue and an idiotic plot. The dialogue made Wahlberg and Leguizamo's characters seem like simpletons.[****SPOILER***] I felt sorry for Wahlberg for having such aweful lines. His performance came across as weak - but this was due to the weakness of the character he played and the silliness of the big villain of the movie - neurotoxin-producing trees! So everyone in the movie is running away from trees that make them kill themselves. Toward the end of the movie, you are more afraid of a cranky old woman who lets Wahlberg and company stay at her house than the killer trees. Forget the trees, just sitting through this movie will make people want to kill themselves. Expand
  93. JamesE
    Jun 13, 2008
    1
    The Happening makes The Village look like Citizen Kane. There is no 'twist,' just an idiotic premise. From the moment that hot dogs are mentioned, I wanted to jump up off a skyscraper. Don't waste your time or money! Why is this guy allowed to make movies still? After Signs, I tuned out, and I think I go to them now for a so-bad-it's-good MS3TK mockery experience :)
  94. RyanP.
    Jun 13, 2008
    1
    Haha. What is wrong with M. Night Shyamalan? I guess you could say this is the funniest movie of the year for all the wrong reasons!
  95. EricL.
    Jun 13, 2008
    2
    I loved the Sixth Sense and Signs, enjoyed The Lady in the Water. This movie should have been called "Waiting for Something to Happen" cause this movie is so dull!
  96. BrianA
    Jun 13, 2008
    2
    Really bad movie. Let's see here, what's horrible in this film? Dialog, acting, story, plot, direction. Check all of those. The only thing good about this movie is that it's so terrible, you can laugh at it like a comedy. Not recommended at all.
  97. HeidihidzW.
    Jun 13, 2008
    2
    Absolute worst film i have watched. Acting awful and no horor it was a comedy. the cinema was in stitches laughing do not recommend anyone wasting there money!
  98. BrandonK.
    Jun 13, 2008
    1
    The most disappointing movie ever. The only plot twist is that some members of the audience may kill themselves like the characters in the movie...only they're doing it because they wasted their money, not because the plants made them.
  99. PeteS.
    Jun 13, 2008
    0
    This was the worst movie I've ever seen. Based on the trailers I thought I might be genuinely scared. The pulse never raced and I actually chuckled a few times. The emotion I felt most during the movie must've been boredom. This movie was awful!
  100. FranklinD.
    Jun 14, 2008
    0
    M. Night Shyamalan should stop making movies. This movie is laughable at best. His next movie should be a documentary of the people who want their money back from the Village, Lady in the water, and this shameless excuse for a movie.
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 38
  2. Negative: 18 out of 38
  1. The movie seems more like a '50s science fiction film of extreme paranoia or an episode of "The Twilight Zone" that even at a swiftly paced 90 minutes feels padded.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    50
    In short, this is a Shyamalan movie minus the bravado, the swagger; there are no audacious attempts to pull out the rug from under the audience, no ham-fisted lessons about the importance of religious belief or the power of storytelling.
  3. 50
    What a bunch of nonsense--effective nonsense, chilling nonsense, occasionally wrenching nonsense, but nonsense nonetheless.