Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 13, 2008
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 706 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
351
Mixed:
92
Negative:
263
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
MitchA.Oct 28, 2008
Without a doubt one of the worst films i have ever seen. How M. Night Shyamalan could get something so wrong after getting other films so right is outragous. AVOID
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EricJ.Jun 20, 2008
It's not so horrible that you'll run out of the theater, but you'll at least consider walking about half-way through. It's main weakness seems to be Mr. Wahlberg, who seems to only have one mood throughout the entire It's not so horrible that you'll run out of the theater, but you'll at least consider walking about half-way through. It's main weakness seems to be Mr. Wahlberg, who seems to only have one mood throughout the entire film. Otherwise, it's just a chase movie between running people and inanimate objects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DamianB.B.Jul 7, 2008
I like movies like this, specially for being created by one man's mind. It has a message but only if you have an open mind you'll catch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DippyS.Oct 5, 2008
No more time in this world should be wasted on this film
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RicoR.Jun 14, 2008
He is a pathetic human being who (now) lacks talent and should be sued and placed in jail for defrauding hard working viewers of their $10.00. He is truly a pathetic human being and a bad person for duping us out of our money with this banal He is a pathetic human being who (now) lacks talent and should be sued and placed in jail for defrauding hard working viewers of their $10.00. He is truly a pathetic human being and a bad person for duping us out of our money with this banal movie about nothing. I have no respect for him as a human being and won't ever mention his name or support his work again. I hope he goes bankrupt and his poor storytelling ends forever! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
[Anonymous]Jun 14, 2008
If you're going to see an M. Night Shyamalan movie, you're going to be disappointed. This isn't a good movie at all really. What it is is a cheesy horror flick with a budget. The music and cinematography is great, but the mood If you're going to see an M. Night Shyamalan movie, you're going to be disappointed. This isn't a good movie at all really. What it is is a cheesy horror flick with a budget. The music and cinematography is great, but the mood is sort of ruined as a whole. If you go into this movie, expecting to crack jokes and laugh, then you'll have a slightly better time. I honestly think if the focus was more on the story, and less on the shock, it could've been better. This is coming from a long time fan, I enjoyed all of Shyamalan's previous works, including Lady in the Water, but The Happening was legitimately bad. I won't hold this against him, though; even the best film makers have made a bad decision, and I still regard him as one of the best film makers of our time. He should just stay away from B-horror movies in the future. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
CharlesJun 14, 2008
I'm actually angry that I contributed to this weekend's box office gross for this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesS.Jun 14, 2008
I saw this movie before reading the reviews and liked it, but so far I have liked all of M. Nights movies. if you liked lady in the water you'll like the happening, movie critics just like writing negative movie reviews, just read some I saw this movie before reading the reviews and liked it, but so far I have liked all of M. Nights movies. if you liked lady in the water you'll like the happening, movie critics just like writing negative movie reviews, just read some of the reviews on transformers, and you'll see what I mean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NicholasB.Jun 15, 2008
The happening? What actually happens? Not much. Marc Wahlberg is truly appalling- much like his cop role in Boogie Nights. This 90 minutes seemed along, long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaveP.Jun 16, 2008
I never take the time to rate movies bbut this one is an exception. Without a doubt this is the worst movie I have ever seen in a theatre, and possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. And yes, I saw Gigli, I saw Battlefield I never take the time to rate movies bbut this one is an exception. Without a doubt this is the worst movie I have ever seen in a theatre, and possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. And yes, I saw Gigli, I saw Battlefield earth and several other awful pices of filmaking and this trumps them all. Worst plot of any movie I have ever seen. I was laughing the entire movie it was so bad. The acting was also just terrible. I don't know how Mark Walhber accepted to be in this. M. Night Shamalany (or howveer you spell his name) should never be aloud to make a movie again in his entire life. I feel cheated just for wasting two hours and $10 or my life. Excuse me while I go throw up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SoleiS.Jun 18, 2008
ME CARES this movie !!, because I found it interesting and important for the age of our world, were you able to see the cinematography?, the art direction?, the smart of the script?, did you hear the wonderful music by the composer James ME CARES this movie !!, because I found it interesting and important for the age of our world, were you able to see the cinematography?, the art direction?, the smart of the script?, did you hear the wonderful music by the composer James Newton Howard?, pay attention and you will find art, but maybe many of you just go to the teathers to eat pop corn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IonA.Jun 19, 2008
Worst movie i have ever seen. I almost fell asleep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AramisG.Jun 21, 2008
I went in with very low expectations and every one of them was met with this boring film. This isn't a responsible time to be making puesdo science environmentalist movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianH.B.Jun 20, 2008
Always creative, with a mind full of original ideas, those who attack him don't lose any of his movies before get released at theatres. For me is pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DianeK.Jun 27, 2008
Another misunderstood movie, that works perfectly for who search more originality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulB.Jun 30, 2008
This movie is good and it has born to kill all the bad movies of horror or suspense this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Shippoo!Jul 1, 2008
Well done, well directed, this is the kind of movies I enjoy, sorry for others...you all can cry, an idea!, ask your money back, I will see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Jul 1, 2008
Better is going to see movies with no expectations, so you don't lose the ability of get surprised. Relax and see more...hear more, find the details.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JadeT.Jul 29, 2008
Not so bad, not so good !, but the rates of critics are not fair, for me Shyamalan's movies are full of originality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PaigeC.Jul 30, 2008
The only thing that bothered me in this film was the amount of comic relief. There was too much and make the movie more of a comical movie than anything else. It did have good moments of suspence and I did jump however.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnnaMJul 4, 2008
I am surprised by all the horrible reviews. I'll admit, there was some bad acting, but overall, I loved this movie. I though the premise was timely and I enjoyed the suspense. If you like movies about escape and survival, you like this I am surprised by all the horrible reviews. I'll admit, there was some bad acting, but overall, I loved this movie. I though the premise was timely and I enjoyed the suspense. If you like movies about escape and survival, you like this one. I felt it was thought provoking and a lot of fun to watch. I'm sorry critics are being so harsh and I think it's unjustified. I'm not sure why Shamalyan is getting so badly skewered here. It does not make sense to me. See it and decide for yourselves. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JerryS.Jul 6, 2008
I rather pay for this than pay for other hero doing tha same.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DiegoL.Jul 6, 2008
Really weak movie, interesting idea poorly developed with bad dialogues and bad acting. What a disappointment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesP.Jul 8, 2008
It is good, like birds of Hitchcock, yes! in a similar way, you can compare them. Maybe both are bad for you, for me are good enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ThiagoT.Aug 25, 2008
This movie is horrible. M. Night Shyamalan had good dreams and put it on the screen, after this one its proven how fucking luck and of course, immature he is as director. Zooey Deschanel didn't how what a hell she was doing in the This movie is horrible. M. Night Shyamalan had good dreams and put it on the screen, after this one its proven how fucking luck and of course, immature he is as director. Zooey Deschanel didn't how what a hell she was doing in the entire film, that was kinda fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JoeU.Aug 4, 2008
I think the movie was enjoyable, but, i did not like the script, i think it was lazy, not well worked, amateur. I also think Shyamalan tried to do something new but it didnt work either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveSJan 7, 2009
Just awful. Defies logic at many turns. Wahlberg's and performance is leaden. Zooey Deschanel spends the movie staring gap mouthed at the screen. If you want to watch a bad film to laugh at, there are better bad flicks out there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SameerS.Jul 9, 2009
I am a Shymalan Fan. But all of his movies do require one to see what was the thought behind the project. shyamalan is eeriely positive person. This is evident in 6th sense when the spirit redeems itself by helping the boy, unbreakable where I am a Shymalan Fan. But all of his movies do require one to see what was the thought behind the project. shyamalan is eeriely positive person. This is evident in 6th sense when the spirit redeems itself by helping the boy, unbreakable where Bruce is the positive force, Village where love wins, Lady in water where there is happy ending, signs where gibson returns back to faith and happening where love and belief wins over odds. I loved the happening movie He is brilliant where he leaves the audience thinking pondering and hungry for his next creation. His movies are 3D where the third dimension is thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaacCJan 3, 2010
Finally Score = Planet 1, Humans 0, I see Genius where humans took a back seat and you can tell by these ignorant reviews how lost we really are and sensitive to the possibility of nature being sensitive and defensive too. Truly a Finally Score = Planet 1, Humans 0, I see Genius where humans took a back seat and you can tell by these ignorant reviews how lost we really are and sensitive to the possibility of nature being sensitive and defensive too. Truly a masterpiece and respects to all participants in down playing humans and upscaling the breathing breeze. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful
9
AndrewD.Nov 2, 2008
Suprisingly creepy with a definite ecocide-in-reverse theme. The disdain with which bloggers treat M Nights films is a worry. No mainstream pulp director has ever received such scorn. Each and every film stimulated me intellectually and Suprisingly creepy with a definite ecocide-in-reverse theme. The disdain with which bloggers treat M Nights films is a worry. No mainstream pulp director has ever received such scorn. Each and every film stimulated me intellectually and cinematically. In 20 years his films will be remembered and revisited again and again. Then witness the volte-face of the contempary critics who found his works to be egotistical. Methinks you do protest too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Oct 1, 2008
Ahhhh, M Night Shyamalan. Mr. pretentious. And he does nearly kill what could have been a much better film. But I like this one better than his last string of stinkers. Mark Wahlberg is a big plus, it is well acted. Shyamalan needs to get Ahhhh, M Night Shyamalan. Mr. pretentious. And he does nearly kill what could have been a much better film. But I like this one better than his last string of stinkers. Mark Wahlberg is a big plus, it is well acted. Shyamalan needs to get off his high horse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohanF.Oct 18, 2008
I think this is a great movie!!! It just have to been seen! Dont listen to the 0 and 1 votes. If you dont watch this movie you have missed something!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MeghanOct 18, 2008
The previews looked excellent and the premise appeared interesting, but the movie itself was a flop. I was severely disappointed because the idea behind the movie could have made an incredible movie; it just wasn't served to the The previews looked excellent and the premise appeared interesting, but the movie itself was a flop. I was severely disappointed because the idea behind the movie could have made an incredible movie; it just wasn't served to the audience in a palatable fashion. The acting was literally laughable, as well as the script- a total cheez-factory. Idiosyncratic characters, such as the military guy on the road and the old woman who housed them in the end, seemed to be "weird" for no reason at all. I was sitting there wondering what was up with them, and it turned out that their personalities/behaviors served no purpose at all. I think M. Night Shyamalan wrapped himself up too tightly in concept (style) in this movie, and therefore failed to tell the story effectively. He is lost in his own artistry, but this is nothing new for his movies. Avoid this movie, and I encourage you to rewrite it yourself--- you could definitely do much better than this guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamieTOct 31, 2008
Possibly the worst movie I haver ever seen. It replaces his previous movie, Lady in the Water. I was hoping Night was going to get back to making good movies like Sixth Sense, Signs and Unbreakable but instead this retchid movie happened. Possibly the worst movie I haver ever seen. It replaces his previous movie, Lady in the Water. I was hoping Night was going to get back to making good movies like Sixth Sense, Signs and Unbreakable but instead this retchid movie happened. Did I feel drawn into the movie? Possibly - yes! I too had an overwhelming urge to stick something sharp into my neck while trying to digest this absolute howler! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichardR.Oct 31, 2008
A decent germ of an idea has been turned into a boring film with talk, talk, talk. What awful writing. Come on, Night. You know you can do better -- don't you?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanM.Oct 7, 2008
This has to be the worst movie I've ever seen....terrible acting, zero plot, and a god-awful storyline. The Happening = FAIL.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexB.Oct 8, 2008
Laughable at best and overly pretentious. Avoid this movie at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillBOct 9, 2008
I laughed so hard while watching this movie, not because it was supposed to be funny, but because it was so badly done. How can Shyamalan not realize that the dialogue, story content, and acting was absolutely terrible? Mark Wahlberg was I laughed so hard while watching this movie, not because it was supposed to be funny, but because it was so badly done. How can Shyamalan not realize that the dialogue, story content, and acting was absolutely terrible? Mark Wahlberg was worse than an 8th grader in a school play and Deschanel was more like a 6th grader. This movie played out like a stupid comedy, even though you could tell that it was 100% serious. Avoid The Happening unless you are a connoisseur of offal movies or you think that M. Night Shyamalan is a good director! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EvanO.Jun 12, 2008
M. Night Shymalan's best movie since the Sixth Sense. Visually horrifying and psychologically thrilling. Will leave you thinking for a while afterwards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AaronA.Jun 13, 2008
Poor acting, poor writing, poor production overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CRJun 13, 2008
A decent B grade movie which stays true to its genre.If you go with low expectations you will be entertained.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
vidmanJun 14, 2008
The movie is thrilling and thought provoking, but it builds up to nothing but speculation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ColbySJun 14, 2008
Oh, come on, critics. I consider myself pretty tasteful when it comes to movies, and this was definitely not the clunker it was cracked up to be. On par with Signs or The Sixth Sense? No. But I think what happened here is the equivalent of Oh, come on, critics. I consider myself pretty tasteful when it comes to movies, and this was definitely not the clunker it was cracked up to be. On par with Signs or The Sixth Sense? No. But I think what happened here is the equivalent of what happens in so many elementary schools worldwide: picking on an easy target simply because of the ease of the target. In this case, the target is Shyamalan, who has made a few bombs the past couple of years. Not high art, but it scared me a few times and left me entertained. Solid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Jun 14, 2008
Say what you will about "The Village" and "The Lady in the Water", the former- an allegory about the scare tactics of Homeland Security, and the latter- a contemporary fairy tale set in the city, as being dippy, pedantic, and somewhat Say what you will about "The Village" and "The Lady in the Water", the former- an allegory about the scare tactics of Homeland Security, and the latter- a contemporary fairy tale set in the city, as being dippy, pedantic, and somewhat sanctimonious; neither film, however, could be accused of being uninspired. The filmmaker took chances. Critics and audiences alike, ridiculed him for it. Now comes "The Happening", a film so shockingly formulaic, one is tempted to call this melding of "Attack of the Killer Tomatoes" and the Sparks' song "Don't Turn Your Back on Mother Earth"(made popular by Depeche Mode), a piece of confrontational art. For the first time, the filmmaker acknowledges, in a very cynical fashion, that the American moviegoing public have reduced attention spans with a preference for spectacle over narrative. The filmmaker purposely made a dumb movie because he thinks that movie audiences were too ignorant to get his last two pictures. That's why the dialogue is worse than perfunctory, it's practically post-literate. "The Happening" plays like an episode of "The Twilight Zone" directed by Ed Wood. Mark Wahlberg is off his game. Zooey Deschanel is off her game. There's very little indication that either actor received much instruction from their director. Wahlberg, in particular, is terrible; his character, sort of imbecilic. Elliot doesn't want to be alone, but being with Alma(Deschanel) means risking exposure to the aerial spores(or whatever), therefore killing her. A child is with them. Maybe the filmmaker is going for the child-killing trifecta. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveF.Jun 14, 2008
I really liked this movie. It might not have the wam bam of a twist that Sixth sense had but I really enjoyed the characters and the overall acting and story. I know that most critics are saying bad stuff about it but I just don't I really liked this movie. It might not have the wam bam of a twist that Sixth sense had but I really enjoyed the characters and the overall acting and story. I know that most critics are saying bad stuff about it but I just don't listen to people and have always judged movies after I have viewed them Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
IzzyN.Jun 15, 2008
Greatly disappointed in the manner of how a seemingly talented M. Night turned an entertainment film into a scare mongering, fear driven story about how WE AS PEOPLE are ruining the earth. If you see this movie, and fail to grasp this Greatly disappointed in the manner of how a seemingly talented M. Night turned an entertainment film into a scare mongering, fear driven story about how WE AS PEOPLE are ruining the earth. If you see this movie, and fail to grasp this inherent concept behind the plot, it is either because M. Night presented it in a backhanded fearful manner meant to scare you OR you just fall right into the group of people who believe exactly what is preached to you by the "all-knowing" environmentalists that think they have the right to give you guilt trips and, in the process, control your life. The message in the plot - and the plot in general, for that matter - was poorly executed. But maybe it was done like that on purpose - because you are so immensely inundated with horrific images and growing fear that the main characters' lives are coming to an end. Yet amid all of these dramatizations (many of which are very "corny") is a definitive message about why these people are dying. On the surface, it appears that they are dying because "nature is unpredictable" and it will do the craziest things - INCLUDING to KILL human beings. Don't fall for this mediocre conclusion. REALIZE that this movie was just made by another HOLLYWOOD LIBERAL looking to influence your emotions and fears. M. Night crafted NATURE to kill all of these people because it is as if nature was getting back at them for all the evil things he believes we are doing to the planet. [If you are just another kooky lib watching this movie, loving it and completely agreeing with it, then I pity your lack of judgment to discern when you are being scammed. Just continue thinking that your stance is never wrong.] The film is injected with LIBERAL talking points, some of which only last for a second - but when compiled together, a very naive and unknowing person will continue to take the talking points in as truths, and just walk away thinking only that they wasted $10 of their money and close to 2 hours of their life. People - Educate yourselves about the ways in which this GLOBAL WARMING scare is just meant to scare you, make you feel guilty and then tell you how to live your life --- AND THIS IS ALL FROM [AN APPARENTLY DWINDLING] HOLLYWOOD FILM DIRECTOR THAT'S ABUSING THEIR ARTISTIC RESOURCES TO MAKE YOU DEPRESSED AND SCARED. Movies have continued and will continue to go down the drain - AND THIS MOVIE IS AN EXAMPLE OF WHY. We as people are not destroying the earth in the way it is implied. And for M. Night to equate a terrorism threat with the global warming scam, is pathetic (even from an artistic stance, it lacks any and all sense of creativity or entertainment that people seek when paying to see a movie). Do NOT pay to see this movie. Don't even pay to rent it when it comes out. And if by some lapse of rational judgment you decide to see it, do not be confused or scared - realize the movie for what it is. Move on with your life, Be happy & NEVER change anything about your life just because failing directors and environmentalists like this one tell you to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BMillerJun 15, 2008
There was once a time that "Directed by M Night Shyamalan" got me excited. Not now. Love him or hate him, he had a unique style and some impressive success early on. Namely:
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ZackW.Jun 15, 2008
This was an terrible film. Not only was the entire audience laughing for half of the "horror" film, but it was booed at the ending. This was a late attempt for the writer/director to jump on the environmental bandwagon. This film was This was an terrible film. Not only was the entire audience laughing for half of the "horror" film, but it was booed at the ending. This was a late attempt for the writer/director to jump on the environmental bandwagon. This film was horrible. It left me with a feeling of.... hmm.... oh yeah, I want my money back! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NigelN.Jun 16, 2008
M Night Shaymalan needs to go back to basics. His name has been sullied in Hollywood with a series of egotistical moves. This has made audiences and critics alike scrutinize his movies even more. A much better effort than Lady in the Water M Night Shaymalan needs to go back to basics. His name has been sullied in Hollywood with a series of egotistical moves. This has made audiences and critics alike scrutinize his movies even more. A much better effort than Lady in the Water but the main problem with this movie - WHO CARES? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalyM.Jun 16, 2008
It is not the best movie of Night S., is not the worse either, for me is good, I could understand everything, but who knows what is our destiny?, you can see that the meltdown of poles is a reality, the oceans goes up and up, I want to It is not the best movie of Night S., is not the worse either, for me is good, I could understand everything, but who knows what is our destiny?, you can see that the meltdown of poles is a reality, the oceans goes up and up, I want to resist to believe that this is happening. For me the movie talks about the green effect, is a warning, and I wanna thank Shyamalan for remember to all people around the world for taking care our planet, we dont have another. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FredS.Jun 16, 2008
Started out good, but went to crap and stayed crappy for the rest of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MatthewH.Jun 16, 2008
The worst movie I've ever seen in the theater. Terrible acting. Atrocious writing. Horrible plot. The only funny thing about the movie was one of the character's lazy eye...seriously. The foreshadowing was so obvious. I felt like The worst movie I've ever seen in the theater. Terrible acting. Atrocious writing. Horrible plot. The only funny thing about the movie was one of the character's lazy eye...seriously. The foreshadowing was so obvious. I felt like M. Night and a class of kindergartenerds not only formed the plot between snack and nap time, but also wrote the script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NewkiddieJun 17, 2008
Sixth sense =10, Signs= 10, Unbreakable= 9, The Village= 10, Lady in the water= 7, The Happening= 10, why?, 'cause there are movies of this kind so good, so original in the scripts that "some special people" go to see 'em at Sixth sense =10, Signs= 10, Unbreakable= 9, The Village= 10, Lady in the water= 7, The Happening= 10, why?, 'cause there are movies of this kind so good, so original in the scripts that "some special people" go to see 'em at theaters every 2 years again, even when they pretend dont like Shymalans movie's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EddieB.Jun 17, 2008
Nature breaks wind in The Happening, the latest stinker from M. Night Shylamayan. Hey, I'm rooting for the guy, I really am, but it's tough when I have to sit through 90 minutes of laughably bad dialogue and acting, an unconvincing Nature breaks wind in The Happening, the latest stinker from M. Night Shylamayan. Hey, I'm rooting for the guy, I really am, but it's tough when I have to sit through 90 minutes of laughably bad dialogue and acting, an unconvincing plot, and boring characters. As in his last two films, M. Night finds an interesting idea that ultimately fails to deliver on its promise--sort of like writing a 10-page term paper only to realize halfway through that your thesis statement is weak. Note to Mr. S.: Bustling leaves, open windows, and swaying trees can be scary with the right film ingredients ... or an audience of allergy-sufferers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndreT.Jun 17, 2008
Not as bad as the critics might tell. The movie has some suspence in it, the starting idea is pretty good, but by the end it gets somewhat confused. The acting in this movie doesn't sell the film at all. Is it the comedians or how they Not as bad as the critics might tell. The movie has some suspence in it, the starting idea is pretty good, but by the end it gets somewhat confused. The acting in this movie doesn't sell the film at all. Is it the comedians or how they were directed ? For once, I think Mr. Shalayman missed on the actor directing. The story is average and how it's filmed is more then decent. I think it's time for Shalayman to direct a movie that was writen by someone else...it would help him on how he writes his own stories. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlekM.Jun 17, 2008
Shyamalan certainly deserves quite a bit of strife for his last effort, "Lady in the Water" but with this one I think that critics have gone a little overboard. No, this is not the Sixth Sense, or Unbreakable. You will not be shocked and Shyamalan certainly deserves quite a bit of strife for his last effort, "Lady in the Water" but with this one I think that critics have gone a little overboard. No, this is not the Sixth Sense, or Unbreakable. You will not be shocked and awed by a tantalizing plot twist. What you will enjoy, however, is a solid drama with a strong message. Despite what you've heard, the acting is quite good. Acting does not need constant buoyancy and flair to be effective, it requires solid development and connection to the viewers; in that regard this could be Wahlberg's finest performance to date. The cinematography is par for the course for Shyamalan, you will not experience seizure inducing cut rates, rather you will be able to enjoy the acting done by the cast. The dialogue is... lacking and the plot could have been better, and the whole thing could have been less cheesy, but really, it was a solid effort. Not deep enough, but not too light that it leaves you pining for more. Enjoy it for what it is, instead of bashing it for what Shyamalan HAS done for his audiences in the past. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeoR.Jun 18, 2008
This wasn't a great movie nor was it a bad one. It was an entertaining 90 minute thriller that kept your attention the whole way through. I disagree with the critics on the performances; I thought they were all great, especially Mark This wasn't a great movie nor was it a bad one. It was an entertaining 90 minute thriller that kept your attention the whole way through. I disagree with the critics on the performances; I thought they were all great, especially Mark Whalberg who I usually can't stand. The ending left me feeling a bit unsatisfied but overall this was a good Saturday afternoon flick. Not worth seeing at the cinema but it would make a great rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveK.Jun 19, 2008
One of the worst films I've ever seen, It was a great concept that failed on all levels. Poor script, poor acting, poorly executed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaO..Jun 20, 2008
Hulk better than Happening?, I dont think so "my hard critics", more about comics, remakes and the like, I rather something new and different, a better experience and surprises.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MauriceLoverJun 21, 2008
This director is a crazy man, the end of a career?. Somebody so creative like him has much art to stop working, around the world his movies are truly hits, has impact, this is the beginning of a leyend in the industry, adding in my comment This director is a crazy man, the end of a career?. Somebody so creative like him has much art to stop working, around the world his movies are truly hits, has impact, this is the beginning of a leyend in the industry, adding in my comment this last film is incredibly good !. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexaM.Jun 22, 2008
I see 4 movies per month each year, and this film got catch me from beginning to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JacobR.Jun 23, 2008
The only thing I enjoyed about the movie was how hilariously quotable all the one-liners were from the lack-luster acting. The plot holes were plain as day, there was little action or suspense when there should've been, and there was The only thing I enjoyed about the movie was how hilariously quotable all the one-liners were from the lack-luster acting. The plot holes were plain as day, there was little action or suspense when there should've been, and there was little there to constitute all the hype about it being Mr. Shyamalan's "first R-rated movie". Also, wind doesn't work like that. It can't chase people, and I found that hilarious in the movie. Also, what's the big deal about the female lead having dessert with a co worker? The whole script and execution was poor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AraV.Jun 24, 2008
Boring?, for me was a little scary and funny, good levels of suspense, boring for those who want to see monsters or aliens cutting heads and arms, don't be so lazy, buy more candies or pop corn and maybe you'll have fun, for me Boring?, for me was a little scary and funny, good levels of suspense, boring for those who want to see monsters or aliens cutting heads and arms, don't be so lazy, buy more candies or pop corn and maybe you'll have fun, for me that is unnecessary, I just wanted see more and more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JefframoneJun 24, 2008
An oh man, how many crappy movies does M. Night Shyamalan before I stop seeing his stuff? The mysterious premise sucked me. And honestly, the first like 15 minutes of the film was scary, weird, exciting, effective and roped me in An oh man, how many crappy movies does M. Night Shyamalan before I stop seeing his stuff? The mysterious premise sucked me. And honestly, the first like 15 minutes of the film was scary, weird, exciting, effective and roped me in immediately. And then Marky Mark opened his mouth. Let me save you the time, trouble and $10: some really angry plants are responsible for the events of The Happening. There was an opportunity to do something interesting, but instead Shyamalan wrote the point of the whole movie on a large polo mallet and continuously whacked moviegoers over the head again and again and again. The point: Mother Earth is pissed at us. Plants and trees are adapting to these foreign invaders (humans) and spreading a toxic across the Northeast presumably to purge the planet of humankind. The End. Yet another Hollywood missed opportunity. Shame on me for getting suckered into one of his films -- AGAIN! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MayrakK.Jun 25, 2008
Always honest with his scripts, follow his feels and own ideas, that's why I like his movies, Happened again, has much brain, he writes, produce and directs, not many do all this, it doesn't matter how many of his old ( enemies ) Always honest with his scripts, follow his feels and own ideas, that's why I like his movies, Happened again, has much brain, he writes, produce and directs, not many do all this, it doesn't matter how many of his old ( enemies ) friends of high school keep on voting here wishing him the worse, what so ugly is envy, dont you think?, the movie is brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwardA.Jun 25, 2008
The topic is treated well, is interesting, has lack of boring moments, is supremely entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LaurieG.Jun 20, 2008
It has quality in all aspects, is funny, sometimes scary and well acted, I really liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BetoB.Jun 29, 2008
It supposes to be a bad movie, and I like it very much, thank you god for not to hear critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArianaM.Jun 30, 2008
All you have to do is read the illiterate comments of the people who liked this to know that this movie isn't worth the dirt they stood on to film it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AlecB.Jun 30, 2008
Are you people serious giving this movie 10's? This was by far the most pointless movie of the year. Expected something good since the movie was directed by the same guy who made the 6th sense. Also why would Mark Walhberg want to star Are you people serious giving this movie 10's? This was by far the most pointless movie of the year. Expected something good since the movie was directed by the same guy who made the 6th sense. Also why would Mark Walhberg want to star in this crap. Terrible view at your own risk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RollerY.Jun 30, 2008
Fantastic and singular since beginning to end, Is my kind of movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordyB.Jun 30, 2008
Although it is not perfect, the movie can get you in hard road of entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KarthikPJun 8, 2008
A ferociously entertaining thriller with sympathetic characters, stunning set pieces and pulsating excitement. As viscerally compelling as smash-mouth filmmaking gets. It is brutal and almost exhaustingly terrifying, as any respectable A ferociously entertaining thriller with sympathetic characters, stunning set pieces and pulsating excitement. As viscerally compelling as smash-mouth filmmaking gets. It is brutal and almost exhaustingly terrifying, as any respectable zombie movie should be. It is also bracingly smart, both in its ideas and in its techniques. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PankyCJul 10, 2008
I always see all movies of suspense, and this one is better than the last 30 of it's genre, 'cause this is thriller! , isn't Mj ?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KeithR.Jul 1, 2008
The film is not *that* bad, but there were parts that I felt were uninspired. Several images throughout were disturbing, jarring, and even comical (Shyamalan is always tongue in cheek in his films). But I felt that he was unable to direct The film is not *that* bad, but there were parts that I felt were uninspired. Several images throughout were disturbing, jarring, and even comical (Shyamalan is always tongue in cheek in his films). But I felt that he was unable to direct his actors. Wahlberg did what he could, Leguizamo was wonderful -- and wasted, Deschanel is only good as a poor man's Mary Louise Parker. The score was excellent (a throw back to the Village with its haunting cello theme). The film was choppy with great moments, followed by not so great ones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CAnderssonJul 1, 2008
How anyone can give this film a very low score is beyond me. This is quite a good film. It's not the hollywood standard with explosions and stupid scares. This is a film without hero's, the main "man" is not a confident leader How anyone can give this film a very low score is beyond me. This is quite a good film. It's not the hollywood standard with explosions and stupid scares. This is a film without hero's, the main "man" is not a confident leader spouting bad script, he's scared and unsure like everyone else. The plot has some lofty ideas, but it's better than most similar thriller/horror/choosegenre. It doesn't necessarily follow typical hollywood standards with silly characters, bad camera and linear scares. It doesn't take itself too seriously, while at the same time it's not a joke like so many other films. Not to mention that it's fun seeing Wahlburg playing a non-macho role. It's a nice change compared to the low standard, high budget hollywood flicks that we keep being fed again and again and again. Kudos to Shyamalan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
Rev.RikardJul 14, 2008
It is quite obvious that critics are not ready to forgive Shyamalan for "Lady in the Water." He needed a great film like "Sixth Sense" or "The Village" to bury Lady in the Water for good. This was not it. However, the film was better than It is quite obvious that critics are not ready to forgive Shyamalan for "Lady in the Water." He needed a great film like "Sixth Sense" or "The Village" to bury Lady in the Water for good. This was not it. However, the film was better than most reviews. I found its opening and first half hour really entertaining and interesting. From there one wonders if Shymalan's mind took a sabbatical. "The Happening"'s noticeable flaw was the poor ending. I have never felt films needed have their endings neatly packaged, with all questions answered and problems solved. However, this ending leads the viewers to believe Shymalan ran out of creative ideas. It doesn't call upon us to employ our imaginations as well. The sequel could be easily produced: just run the film again. I really believed this film had potential, and stimulated our expectations. I find it difficult to forgive a director that raises my hopes and dashes them with a shabbily, inane ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IvonneR.Jul 17, 2008
Nice in all aspects, we don't want this things happened never, but its only a movie, amused me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdrianO.Jul 18, 2008
Si es buena, no creo en lo que dicen los amarguetas, si te gusta el buen suspenso y el estilo único del director de El sexto sentido no debes dejar de verla, definitivamente el y sus peliculas son infravaloradas, basta ver los reviews Si es buena, no creo en lo que dicen los amarguetas, si te gusta el buen suspenso y el estilo único del director de El sexto sentido no debes dejar de verla, definitivamente el y sus peliculas son infravaloradas, basta ver los reviews que le dieron a sus mejores filmes como Sixth Sense y Señales "Signs" y verás el desdén que le tienen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KellyM.Jul 10, 2008
Hey! Not so good as Unbreakable or Sixth sense, but much better than Lady in the water, I like the script, the score, the reactions of its characters, good role of Mark W.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShalimA.Jul 2, 2008
This review in this page is about the Sixth Sense : Reel Views by: James Berardinelli. An inferior product. It is not well written, well acted, or well directed. Now I say Je, je, je, the movie was nominated for 6 oscars including all these This review in this page is about the Sixth Sense : Reel Views by: James Berardinelli. An inferior product. It is not well written, well acted, or well directed. Now I say Je, je, je, the movie was nominated for 6 oscars including all these categories: the script, the actors and Direction...so?, the movie is good for many people ( Happening ), each one think whatever it wants, it won't win any nom but who cares?, is only a movie !, Shyamalan is an excellent creator of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IvanC.Jul 3, 2008
In a world of lack of ideas, Happening shines with many.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CerbionniMJul 3, 2008
Good enough in the genre of thrillers or suspense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaffaellaS.SJul 3, 2008
For discussing any movie there are forums dear Ariana M., I just want to say that this movie has been my number 3 this first part of the year, only under Wall-e and Under the same moon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaffaelaX.Jul 3, 2008
Stunning and not predictable, not so scary but it has excellent dialogues.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MagicB.Jul 4, 2008
For me it is an unnerving and astonishing thriller, and I'm sorry for who do not like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NsisongEJul 5, 2008
It was good not great. I thought it would be scarier but it's still a good one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BitBurnJul 5, 2008
As a huge fan of M.Night, I must agree with most of the negative reviews. Something was seriously missing here, a lot of things. Acting was poor, storyline was weak with no real subject and no real emotion. A couple scenes were okay but As a huge fan of M.Night, I must agree with most of the negative reviews. Something was seriously missing here, a lot of things. Acting was poor, storyline was weak with no real subject and no real emotion. A couple scenes were okay but overall it disappoints. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IvannaI.Jul 7, 2008
There are movies for everyone, Walbergh here is good, well acted, simply he is not doing the same, not heroic acts, he shows another way of acting !, only the little girl has a irregular act. Well, nobody is looking for awards !.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TravisS.Jul 8, 2008
It took a long time to get into the action and when it got there it was short. I came very hopeful and left disappointed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavinoB.Jul 9, 2008
Yes I like it a lot, forgive me but is true, I enjoy it, and believe me I know about movies, each year I can guess who will win Oscars, of course this is not for any award, well, maybe its terrific score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlA.Aug 1, 2008
Fantastically good!, bad for lazy minds, it has a enjoyable ryhthm made with a unique style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BlakeO.Sep 23, 2008
The story had no direction or ending. Where do I go to get last 2 hours of my life back?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JackS.Sep 5, 2008
If a small time director was responsible fro this movie, it would recieive good reviews based solely on the fact that such a movie would not be expected from them. But its the fact that M.Night Shaylaman directed, wrote and co-produced this If a small time director was responsible fro this movie, it would recieive good reviews based solely on the fact that such a movie would not be expected from them. But its the fact that M.Night Shaylaman directed, wrote and co-produced this movie set viewers high expectations that this film couldnt possibly achieve. A brilliant idea, but it didn't and never will work well in a movie. Plants just arent scary. The opening sequences were brilliant, thrilling and unique, and the film slipped away after that point, that just happened to be passing by. Dissapointing from a big time director like shaylaman, but a good film none the less. Expected it to be alot deeper like the rest of shaylamans works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DominickODec 10, 2009
I hate when people gives films 0 and 1 on this site because normally they are taking it too far. But I make an exception in this case. The worst acting, worst directing and worst script I have ever seen in a "blockbuster" film - bar none. A I hate when people gives films 0 and 1 on this site because normally they are taking it too far. But I make an exception in this case. The worst acting, worst directing and worst script I have ever seen in a "blockbuster" film - bar none. A good premise and exciting first five minutes followed by 90 minutes of the worst cinema I've ever witnessed. 5 people around us got up and left the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesNJul 21, 2009
Quite possibly the worst film I've ever seen. Wahlberg's acting blends in well with the trees and blows much harder than the deadly breeze he runs from.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SimonPJul 29, 2009
Perhaps we just have to face the fact that this guy had only one good film in him. I remember seeing the trailer for this and thinking it looked worth seeing. I was wrong. It fails on numerous levels, not least by drawing some really bad Perhaps we just have to face the fact that this guy had only one good film in him. I remember seeing the trailer for this and thinking it looked worth seeing. I was wrong. It fails on numerous levels, not least by drawing some really bad performances from some reasonably good actors. Wahlberg and Deschanel are painful to watch. The plot's full of holes and there simply isn't anything shocking, scary of moving about the whole thing. Imagine taking a generic zombie film but removing the threat posed by the zombies by having them kill only themselves. Scary? Fun? Nope. It might just be redeemable if it conveyed its message about Man's destruction of the environment in a meaningful or thought provoking way, but it doesn't; it's crass and patronising to anyone with half an ounce of intelligence. It would have been so much better to have donated the millions that went into producing this compost heap of a film to an environmental charity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichieF.Aug 11, 2009
I just saw this movie and didn't know what to expect because of all the negative reviews. Me, not being an avid M. Night Shyamalan fan, actually enjoyed it. However, there were a few flaws, I think. For one, I wish there was more I just saw this movie and didn't know what to expect because of all the negative reviews. Me, not being an avid M. Night Shyamalan fan, actually enjoyed it. However, there were a few flaws, I think. For one, I wish there was more evidence against the plants for releasing the toxins, although it is a smart idea. Another thing is that I thought they shouldn't have so easily come to the conclusion that larger groups were more susceptible to being killed. However, it was a smart idea to have the main character a science teacher and another important character be a plant expert, although a convenient pair. But other than that, I thought the movie was very intriguing. The camera angles were great and they really caught the effect of the film. The music was solid and of course the actors were alright. I especially liked Zooey Deschannel's performance as the wife. For the most part, this was a very good movie. It was a good idea that was executed well. I would definitely recommend this film to many people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveB.Oct 11, 2008
I thought this movie had a decent plot with good acting. I think it brings up a good point about global warming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CMNov 10, 2008
Simply horrible, in every respect. What a complete waste of a rental.
0 of 0 users found this helpful