Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 13, 2008
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 707 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
350
Mixed:
94
Negative:
263
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
DamianB.B.Jul 7, 2008
I like movies like this, specially for being created by one man's mind. It has a message but only if you have an open mind you'll catch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesS.Jun 14, 2008
I saw this movie before reading the reviews and liked it, but so far I have liked all of M. Nights movies. if you liked lady in the water you'll like the happening, movie critics just like writing negative movie reviews, just read some I saw this movie before reading the reviews and liked it, but so far I have liked all of M. Nights movies. if you liked lady in the water you'll like the happening, movie critics just like writing negative movie reviews, just read some of the reviews on transformers, and you'll see what I mean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SoleiS.Jun 18, 2008
ME CARES this movie !!, because I found it interesting and important for the age of our world, were you able to see the cinematography?, the art direction?, the smart of the script?, did you hear the wonderful music by the composer James ME CARES this movie !!, because I found it interesting and important for the age of our world, were you able to see the cinematography?, the art direction?, the smart of the script?, did you hear the wonderful music by the composer James Newton Howard?, pay attention and you will find art, but maybe many of you just go to the teathers to eat pop corn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianH.B.Jun 20, 2008
Always creative, with a mind full of original ideas, those who attack him don't lose any of his movies before get released at theatres. For me is pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DianeK.Jun 27, 2008
Another misunderstood movie, that works perfectly for who search more originality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulB.Jun 30, 2008
This movie is good and it has born to kill all the bad movies of horror or suspense this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Shippoo!Jul 1, 2008
Well done, well directed, this is the kind of movies I enjoy, sorry for others...you all can cry, an idea!, ask your money back, I will see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Jul 1, 2008
Better is going to see movies with no expectations, so you don't lose the ability of get surprised. Relax and see more...hear more, find the details.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JadeT.Jul 29, 2008
Not so bad, not so good !, but the rates of critics are not fair, for me Shyamalan's movies are full of originality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnnaMJul 4, 2008
I am surprised by all the horrible reviews. I'll admit, there was some bad acting, but overall, I loved this movie. I though the premise was timely and I enjoyed the suspense. If you like movies about escape and survival, you like this I am surprised by all the horrible reviews. I'll admit, there was some bad acting, but overall, I loved this movie. I though the premise was timely and I enjoyed the suspense. If you like movies about escape and survival, you like this one. I felt it was thought provoking and a lot of fun to watch. I'm sorry critics are being so harsh and I think it's unjustified. I'm not sure why Shamalyan is getting so badly skewered here. It does not make sense to me. See it and decide for yourselves. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JerryS.Jul 6, 2008
I rather pay for this than pay for other hero doing tha same.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JamesP.Jul 8, 2008
It is good, like birds of Hitchcock, yes! in a similar way, you can compare them. Maybe both are bad for you, for me are good enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SameerS.Jul 9, 2009
I am a Shymalan Fan. But all of his movies do require one to see what was the thought behind the project. shyamalan is eeriely positive person. This is evident in 6th sense when the spirit redeems itself by helping the boy, unbreakable where I am a Shymalan Fan. But all of his movies do require one to see what was the thought behind the project. shyamalan is eeriely positive person. This is evident in 6th sense when the spirit redeems itself by helping the boy, unbreakable where Bruce is the positive force, Village where love wins, Lady in water where there is happy ending, signs where gibson returns back to faith and happening where love and belief wins over odds. I loved the happening movie He is brilliant where he leaves the audience thinking pondering and hungry for his next creation. His movies are 3D where the third dimension is thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaacCJan 3, 2010
Finally Score = Planet 1, Humans 0, I see Genius where humans took a back seat and you can tell by these ignorant reviews how lost we really are and sensitive to the possibility of nature being sensitive and defensive too. Truly a Finally Score = Planet 1, Humans 0, I see Genius where humans took a back seat and you can tell by these ignorant reviews how lost we really are and sensitive to the possibility of nature being sensitive and defensive too. Truly a masterpiece and respects to all participants in down playing humans and upscaling the breathing breeze. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful
9
AndrewD.Nov 2, 2008
Suprisingly creepy with a definite ecocide-in-reverse theme. The disdain with which bloggers treat M Nights films is a worry. No mainstream pulp director has ever received such scorn. Each and every film stimulated me intellectually and Suprisingly creepy with a definite ecocide-in-reverse theme. The disdain with which bloggers treat M Nights films is a worry. No mainstream pulp director has ever received such scorn. Each and every film stimulated me intellectually and cinematically. In 20 years his films will be remembered and revisited again and again. Then witness the volte-face of the contempary critics who found his works to be egotistical. Methinks you do protest too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohanF.Oct 18, 2008
I think this is a great movie!!! It just have to been seen! Dont listen to the 0 and 1 votes. If you dont watch this movie you have missed something!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CRJun 13, 2008
A decent B grade movie which stays true to its genre.If you go with low expectations you will be entertained.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
vidmanJun 14, 2008
The movie is thrilling and thought provoking, but it builds up to nothing but speculation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ColbySJun 14, 2008
Oh, come on, critics. I consider myself pretty tasteful when it comes to movies, and this was definitely not the clunker it was cracked up to be. On par with Signs or The Sixth Sense? No. But I think what happened here is the equivalent of Oh, come on, critics. I consider myself pretty tasteful when it comes to movies, and this was definitely not the clunker it was cracked up to be. On par with Signs or The Sixth Sense? No. But I think what happened here is the equivalent of what happens in so many elementary schools worldwide: picking on an easy target simply because of the ease of the target. In this case, the target is Shyamalan, who has made a few bombs the past couple of years. Not high art, but it scared me a few times and left me entertained. Solid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveF.Jun 14, 2008
I really liked this movie. It might not have the wam bam of a twist that Sixth sense had but I really enjoyed the characters and the overall acting and story. I know that most critics are saying bad stuff about it but I just don't I really liked this movie. It might not have the wam bam of a twist that Sixth sense had but I really enjoyed the characters and the overall acting and story. I know that most critics are saying bad stuff about it but I just don't listen to people and have always judged movies after I have viewed them Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalyM.Jun 16, 2008
It is not the best movie of Night S., is not the worse either, for me is good, I could understand everything, but who knows what is our destiny?, you can see that the meltdown of poles is a reality, the oceans goes up and up, I want to It is not the best movie of Night S., is not the worse either, for me is good, I could understand everything, but who knows what is our destiny?, you can see that the meltdown of poles is a reality, the oceans goes up and up, I want to resist to believe that this is happening. For me the movie talks about the green effect, is a warning, and I wanna thank Shyamalan for remember to all people around the world for taking care our planet, we dont have another. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NewkiddieJun 17, 2008
Sixth sense =10, Signs= 10, Unbreakable= 9, The Village= 10, Lady in the water= 7, The Happening= 10, why?, 'cause there are movies of this kind so good, so original in the scripts that "some special people" go to see 'em at Sixth sense =10, Signs= 10, Unbreakable= 9, The Village= 10, Lady in the water= 7, The Happening= 10, why?, 'cause there are movies of this kind so good, so original in the scripts that "some special people" go to see 'em at theaters every 2 years again, even when they pretend dont like Shymalans movie's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlekM.Jun 17, 2008
Shyamalan certainly deserves quite a bit of strife for his last effort, "Lady in the Water" but with this one I think that critics have gone a little overboard. No, this is not the Sixth Sense, or Unbreakable. You will not be shocked and Shyamalan certainly deserves quite a bit of strife for his last effort, "Lady in the Water" but with this one I think that critics have gone a little overboard. No, this is not the Sixth Sense, or Unbreakable. You will not be shocked and awed by a tantalizing plot twist. What you will enjoy, however, is a solid drama with a strong message. Despite what you've heard, the acting is quite good. Acting does not need constant buoyancy and flair to be effective, it requires solid development and connection to the viewers; in that regard this could be Wahlberg's finest performance to date. The cinematography is par for the course for Shyamalan, you will not experience seizure inducing cut rates, rather you will be able to enjoy the acting done by the cast. The dialogue is... lacking and the plot could have been better, and the whole thing could have been less cheesy, but really, it was a solid effort. Not deep enough, but not too light that it leaves you pining for more. Enjoy it for what it is, instead of bashing it for what Shyamalan HAS done for his audiences in the past. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeoR.Jun 18, 2008
This wasn't a great movie nor was it a bad one. It was an entertaining 90 minute thriller that kept your attention the whole way through. I disagree with the critics on the performances; I thought they were all great, especially Mark This wasn't a great movie nor was it a bad one. It was an entertaining 90 minute thriller that kept your attention the whole way through. I disagree with the critics on the performances; I thought they were all great, especially Mark Whalberg who I usually can't stand. The ending left me feeling a bit unsatisfied but overall this was a good Saturday afternoon flick. Not worth seeing at the cinema but it would make a great rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaO..Jun 20, 2008
Hulk better than Happening?, I dont think so "my hard critics", more about comics, remakes and the like, I rather something new and different, a better experience and surprises.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MauriceLoverJun 21, 2008
This director is a crazy man, the end of a career?. Somebody so creative like him has much art to stop working, around the world his movies are truly hits, has impact, this is the beginning of a leyend in the industry, adding in my comment This director is a crazy man, the end of a career?. Somebody so creative like him has much art to stop working, around the world his movies are truly hits, has impact, this is the beginning of a leyend in the industry, adding in my comment this last film is incredibly good !. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexaM.Jun 22, 2008
I see 4 movies per month each year, and this film got catch me from beginning to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AraV.Jun 24, 2008
Boring?, for me was a little scary and funny, good levels of suspense, boring for those who want to see monsters or aliens cutting heads and arms, don't be so lazy, buy more candies or pop corn and maybe you'll have fun, for me Boring?, for me was a little scary and funny, good levels of suspense, boring for those who want to see monsters or aliens cutting heads and arms, don't be so lazy, buy more candies or pop corn and maybe you'll have fun, for me that is unnecessary, I just wanted see more and more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MayrakK.Jun 25, 2008
Always honest with his scripts, follow his feels and own ideas, that's why I like his movies, Happened again, has much brain, he writes, produce and directs, not many do all this, it doesn't matter how many of his old ( enemies ) Always honest with his scripts, follow his feels and own ideas, that's why I like his movies, Happened again, has much brain, he writes, produce and directs, not many do all this, it doesn't matter how many of his old ( enemies ) friends of high school keep on voting here wishing him the worse, what so ugly is envy, dont you think?, the movie is brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwardA.Jun 25, 2008
The topic is treated well, is interesting, has lack of boring moments, is supremely entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful