User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 565 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 7, 2011
    5
    While this movie doe s pose an idea that could have been made into something interesting, M. Night Shyamalan fails to tell us a compelling story with characters that don t make you want to slit your wrists every time they open their mouth, or do anything. Mark Wahlbergs acting is horrible, the little girl acting was better. The suicide scenes become distasteful. The character actions areWhile this movie doe s pose an idea that could have been made into something interesting, M. Night Shyamalan fails to tell us a compelling story with characters that don t make you want to slit your wrists every time they open their mouth, or do anything. Mark Wahlbergs acting is horrible, the little girl acting was better. The suicide scenes become distasteful. The character actions are unbelievable to the circumstances. M. Night Shyamalans earlier work was good, this is not. Pass. Expand
  2. sLm
    Sep 30, 2012
    8
    I don't get why so many bad critics xD the movie was good! No special effects needed, just nature to scary us. And also there were funny moments followed by creepy ones. It was definitely NOT a bad movie.
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    5
    One of the funniest bad movies I have ever seen and in my opinion, it's up there with The Room. This film is just dumb, dumb, dumb. The premise, plot and its logic don't make any sense, the concept and execution of the neurotoxin or plant or whatever it is that makes people commit suicide is laughably bad, the actors are dull and boring and it's not scary at all. In fact, it's absolutelyOne of the funniest bad movies I have ever seen and in my opinion, it's up there with The Room. This film is just dumb, dumb, dumb. The premise, plot and its logic don't make any sense, the concept and execution of the neurotoxin or plant or whatever it is that makes people commit suicide is laughably bad, the actors are dull and boring and it's not scary at all. In fact, it's absolutely hilarious. If you don't take this film seriously , you might get many hilarities when there's a really dumb or over the top moment. In a broader prospective, it's Shyamalan at his usual worst. A very stupid film. Expand
  4. May 3, 2012
    1
    The downward slope, which I suspect is deliberate, continues: yes it's even worse than Signs. Thankfully there's no "twist" this time unless you the twist is that every element of the film is terrible, the awful plot is revealed very early on and then really does continue as the actual plot long after you've stopped laughing at it.
  5. May 13, 2011
    1
    Did anybody see the awful 2010 children's comedy "Furry Vengeance"? Well this is just like a botanical version for grown ups with more laughs. Ridiculous plot, bizarre acting. The only "Food for thought" this will give you is "is this meant to be a spoof?"
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers. This movie was not very good. I enjoyed few parts but the plot line was terrible and the acting sucked. Mark Wahlberg is not one of my favorite actors but I was surprised about Zooey Deschanel. I usually enjoy her acting but in this movie she was just horrible. The whole thing was horrible! The whole plants having a conscious and that it reacts to human stimulus or whatever. It was stupid. I had thought when I went to see this it would be good, but I was wrong. M. Night Shyamalan just doesn't have the touch that he had in his older work (Sixth Sense, Unbreakable). Now with Devil out too, I'm only thinking to myself, "when will he stop." All his movies are now is just incredibly horrible storylines with stupid and effortless twists, like in this movie. This stupid end of the world action drama had no storyline terrible twist and is a waste of time and money and I do not think you should see it. Also to M. Night Shyamalan, STOP!!!! Collapse
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    It may be no finer a horror film than other similar distinguished works, but it worked for me. The acting may have been a little off-par, but Shyamalan has produced something that is worth watching. The actors were well matched and the way events were anticipated through the wind in the trees and grass disturbed me thoroughly. Not only that, but the acts themselves alongside theIt may be no finer a horror film than other similar distinguished works, but it worked for me. The acting may have been a little off-par, but Shyamalan has produced something that is worth watching. The actors were well matched and the way events were anticipated through the wind in the trees and grass disturbed me thoroughly. Not only that, but the acts themselves alongside the atmospheric music almost scared the living daylights out of me. I think this film effectively posed a message towards the sceptics out there, of a growing problem that we need to face before it's too late, even if nobody else thought so. Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2011
    6
    This became a dull film with a really bad plot, and confusing - but Wahlberg's performance was a little So and So with his character in The Happening. This film isn't what you might expect for a disaster film. It's a confusing film (for understanding what the film is about), and I think it wasn't showing any suspense or thrills in this sci-fi film.
  9. Feb 24, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When Mark Wahlberg (who is playing a High School science teacher in this movie *begins to chuckle*) started having a conversation with a plastic plant and referenced a song he rapped about back when he was Marky Mark, I just about threw up in my mouth. I'm far from kidding. Seriously. The concept behind this "horror" film was somewhat savvy but was POORLY executed by director M. Night Shyamalan to a point where you honestly wouldn't be called crazy if thought this film was a comedy. Stay far away and watch something else! Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2012
    1
    This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The plot, once you figure it out, is so stupid you will not believe that someone actually approved this to be made into a movie. The movie moves along at a droning pace, just like most M. Night Shyamalan movies. Usually, this is acceptable to me because the payoff is worth it, like The Sixth Sense. In this case I was painfully boredThis is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The plot, once you figure it out, is so stupid you will not believe that someone actually approved this to be made into a movie. The movie moves along at a droning pace, just like most M. Night Shyamalan movies. Usually, this is acceptable to me because the payoff is worth it, like The Sixth Sense. In this case I was painfully bored until I figured out the ridiculous plot twist and by that time I was ready to call it quits.

    Mark Wahlburg is generally an okay actor but in this film I think even he realizes how stupid it is and just gave up. The rest of the acting doesn't really matter because you will have lost interest long before judging it.

    The only reason I even gave this movie a 1 is because I actually endured it till the end, otherwise it would have been a 0. You will miss nothing by not seeing this movie, except for the regrets of wishing you had not wasted 2 hours of your life on it.
    Expand
  11. Apr 5, 2012
    5
    A pretty pathetic attempt at a horror story. It was bizarre and creepy at times, but most of it was pretty stupid with some weird acting from a weird script. Interesting concept that was poorly done.
  12. Aug 4, 2012
    0
    MovieBoozer Rating: Six-Pack. Do not watch this movie sober!

    I would almost recommend watching this film just to revel in the sheer awfulness of it. Just sit back and laugh at all the millions of dollars and months of people
  13. Mar 9, 2013
    1
    In The Happening Shyamalan doesn't only stomp on his career, he tries to stomps on Wahlberg's as well. This film tried to be creepy and I'm pretty everyone who saw this afterwards said to him or herself what the hell did I just watch.
  14. Oct 17, 2010
    2
    Just want to start out by saying I was one of the few remaining M. Night fans still out there up until this. I actually enjoyed Lady In The Water, but this movie really pissed me off. I am a huge fan of Marky Mark Wahlberg too, and he was disappointing too. He wasn't even close to the problem though. The plot of this movie kept me going, and then at the M. Night just craps on us. I don'tJust want to start out by saying I was one of the few remaining M. Night fans still out there up until this. I actually enjoyed Lady In The Water, but this movie really pissed me off. I am a huge fan of Marky Mark Wahlberg too, and he was disappointing too. He wasn't even close to the problem though. The plot of this movie kept me going, and then at the M. Night just craps on us. I don't know if that was his best idea, or it was just laziness or what, but that wasn't an okay ending. Go back to your twists, they did you good. Expand
  15. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Some people on here have an agenda. They are strictly trying to ruin Mr. Shyamalan's career with negative reviews any which way. I saw Lady in the Water. Yeah, it was weird and I wasn't impressed. But The Happening? I watched it yesterday expecting the worst, after reading all the bad press surrounding it I thought it would be an absolute disaster. 90 minutes later I walked away feeling ISome people on here have an agenda. They are strictly trying to ruin Mr. Shyamalan's career with negative reviews any which way. I saw Lady in the Water. Yeah, it was weird and I wasn't impressed. But The Happening? I watched it yesterday expecting the worst, after reading all the bad press surrounding it I thought it would be an absolute disaster. 90 minutes later I walked away feeling I have just watched a very original and thoughtful movie. Mark Wahlberg and the ever beautiful Zooey Deschanel act their way through this strange premise and it's not bad at all. I've seen much worse movies that weren't thrashed nearly as badly. I say watch it and see for yourself. It's by far not your typical script and the story weaves in an uneasy way. Good job Mr. Shyamalan!! Expand
  16. Aug 23, 2010
    1
    Central Park NYC, people start standing still then killing themselves, media blame it on terrorist attacks, spreads to Philadelphia, people evacuated to the countryside, gets worse, love can save the day.
    If I had to describe this film in one word it would be "ridiculous". It's sort of a cross between The Day After Tomorrow, Day of the Triffids & a reverse War of the Worlds.
    The acting is
    Central Park NYC, people start standing still then killing themselves, media blame it on terrorist attacks, spreads to Philadelphia, people evacuated to the countryside, gets worse, love can save the day.
    If I had to describe this film in one word it would be "ridiculous". It's sort of a cross between The Day After Tomorrow, Day of the Triffids & a reverse War of the Worlds.
    The acting is pretty bad, dialogue not much better & the whole story is just plain & simple nonsense.
    Expand
  17. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    More proof that M. Night Shyamalan is, indeed, a one-trick pony that relies on the same techniques in every film. Whereas some of his other movies occasionally have good acting and cinematography to pick up the slack, this movie has nothing. It's just crap.
  18. Oct 26, 2010
    2
    Shyamalan, what happened? This movie had a great concept, great actors, and decent plot. But the execution is so unintentionally flawed. These actors weren't even trying. You can tell from Mark Wahlberg's infamous "What? No!" The what-was-supposed-to-be scariest scene had me bored to tears and wasn't scary. There was only one scene that disturbed me a bit, but now i can watch it withoutShyamalan, what happened? This movie had a great concept, great actors, and decent plot. But the execution is so unintentionally flawed. These actors weren't even trying. You can tell from Mark Wahlberg's infamous "What? No!" The what-was-supposed-to-be scariest scene had me bored to tears and wasn't scary. There was only one scene that disturbed me a bit, but now i can watch it without being disturbed. This isn't even a fun movie, joyless, and serious. You can find this movie fun, if you find it unintentionally funny, as most people do. If you find this movie enjoyable and scary, then hooray for you, you don't mind the flaws. I try to give Shyamalan some slack, he's in a rut, but this movie is an embarrassment to his career. Expand
  19. Mar 17, 2013
    3
    The Happening is haunted by a lacklustre performance on everyone's part, a weak script filled with what could be considered several major plotholes and far more distasteful suicide scenes than necessary to get the point across. The Happening is a weak movie built on an interesting premise that should have been in the hands of a more capable director and writer with a much stronger message.The Happening is haunted by a lacklustre performance on everyone's part, a weak script filled with what could be considered several major plotholes and far more distasteful suicide scenes than necessary to get the point across. The Happening is a weak movie built on an interesting premise that should have been in the hands of a more capable director and writer with a much stronger message. Apparently the movie had a 48 million dollar budget but it felt like it was thrown together by art-students on a budget barely large enough to pay for next week's pizza delivery. Expand
  20. May 5, 2013
    2
    There was a time when the name M Night Shyamalan was effectively a synonym for the new generation of writing: plots that could turn on a dime, characters that were interesting, and generally movies that could be counted on to be interesting and a good use of your time. Well, that era appears to be over. So let's run down The Happening. On its positive side (and there is a considerableThere was a time when the name M Night Shyamalan was effectively a synonym for the new generation of writing: plots that could turn on a dime, characters that were interesting, and generally movies that could be counted on to be interesting and a good use of your time. Well, that era appears to be over. So let's run down The Happening. On its positive side (and there is a considerable positive side), it is a unique execution of an uncommon premise: the environment has turned on us. But unlike most previous versions of the plot, this isn't about animals rising up en masse against us (whoops, sorry James Patterson...but Zoo was a real piece of cheese), but rather nature subliminally convincing us to do the dirty work for it. So, neat twist on a not-new idea. Unfortunately, though, Shyamalan's "new approach" completely wrecks what could, should have been an outstanding movie. Remember that in all of great works...and Shyamalan's early stuff...that they held to a basic maxim: tension is built most by not letting the audience see. Keep them guessing and off-balance. knew it, and Signs did it, too. (So did The Village, but a little less so.) The Happening? Total screwup. Where the camera should cut away, it doesn't. Shyamalan completely jettisoned any hope of creating an atmosphere that keeps the audience off balance. Instead, the film goes for splatter-gore shock value, and it goes way over the top. Where there used to be finesse in these films, all that is present in The Happening is the most pedestrian, hamfisted attempt to rattle the audience. What should have been a shocking nature-doesn't-like-us film ended up being Maximum Overdrive with trees. The sad part is that the plot had some actual ability to work; it didn't have to be a self-parody, but the absolutely classless, talentless writing doomed it. Characters were wooden and unconvincing, but NOT because Mark Wahlberg or Zooey Deschanel did a poor job; they did well with what they were given. The problem is that they were given drivel. Wahlberg was, well, Wahlberg. He really doesn't have a lot of gears as an actor, but he is dependable. Deschanel turned in a surprisingly touching and believable performance which was quite out of place in this pile of junk. (Allow me to clarify: the surprise was not that Zooey Deschanel could turn in such a performance; we know she can. What's surprising is that she was able to do that with this bucket of sludge script.) So, frankly, when you get right down to it, you do not watch The Happening because you want a cerebral, atmospheric thriller. You watch it because...well, frankly, I can't think of a reason to watch it deliberately. Maybe if you're a fan of splatter-horror. But for everybody else, there are much better things to watch. Much better. A sorely disappointed 2 out of 10 for the total misfire that was The Happening. Expand
  21. Sep 25, 2013
    0
    Poor acted, Painfully slow, and the interesting premise is quickly killed off by the lack luster story and the pathetic ending that leaves you very unsatisfied. I can see why critics hate it so much.
  22. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    M. Night Shyamalan + Mark Wahlberg + Zooey Deschanel? On what level did we truly expect this one to work. There's no traditional Shyamalan that we crave in each of his films.
  23. Jan 20, 2013
    1
    This is what you call a joke. Mark Wahlberg was absolutely terrible. The story was disgraceful. Bad cast, story feels long and drawn out for a 90 minute film. The Happening is just another flop from M Night
  24. Dec 8, 2012
    3
    It has an eerie premise, but turns into nonsense. The best (worst?) part is when Mark Walhberg asks for the permission of plastic plants to enter their home.
  25. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    It is so bad that you can watch it as a comedy. The plit was good...that was until you find the cause of this "epidemic" and performances are really bad that you laugh at them due to the awful screenplay. I thought that he would learn after Lady In The Water.
  26. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    The Happening could've been so much more than it was, but Shyamalan cuts it down to 91 minutes and leaves us still hungry.
  27. May 4, 2014
    5
    Despite pulling off one or two tricky shots, "The Happening" is severely undone by its vastly distasteful screenplay, filled with implausibility, unforgivably strange characters, and painful dialogue.
  28. Sep 22, 2013
    1
    Ugh, what a waste of time, not really a spoiler but it's basically a bunch of people killing themselves, and that's it. The whole mystery element gets lost when you realize that the answer is pretty simple and just downright boring. Not to mention the seriously bad acting, although I suppose you could blame that on the 5 year-old that wrote the script, I mean seriously, in some situationsUgh, what a waste of time, not really a spoiler but it's basically a bunch of people killing themselves, and that's it. The whole mystery element gets lost when you realize that the answer is pretty simple and just downright boring. Not to mention the seriously bad acting, although I suppose you could blame that on the 5 year-old that wrote the script, I mean seriously, in some situations I was expecting the actors to just burst out laughing, and at some points it looked like Zooey Deschanel really, reeeeaaallyyy, REEEEEEAAAALLLLLYYY wanted to, and I honestly can't blame her. It was like all the actors involved sort of gave up half-way through probably thinking to themselves "well, this piece of junk movie isn't going to sell itself on it's story, hopefully our lackluster acting will convince people to want to watch it just for ****s and giggles" Expand
  29. Dec 16, 2014
    0
    **************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
  30. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    Buen inicio y buen cierre, lo demás, buena trama aunque ciertamente añadir a ese anciana antipática a mitad de la nada no me pareció un buen toque y ademas que porque si la anomalía se fuera tampoco.
  31. Mar 20, 2014
    4
    The happening is a bad movie, with a bad story and terrible performances, And that's just me being generous.
    believe it or not, M. Night is one of my favorite directors, yes even after all the terrible movies he's done, because sometimes i get what is he trying to deliver, however i didn't feel anything about this one.
    Mark Wahlberg is also one of my favorite actors, so saying this, is
    The happening is a bad movie, with a bad story and terrible performances, And that's just me being generous.
    believe it or not, M. Night is one of my favorite directors, yes even after all the terrible movies he's done, because sometimes i get what is he trying to deliver, however i didn't feel anything about this one.
    Mark Wahlberg is also one of my favorite actors, so saying this, is really hard for me.
    First the story which was dull and stupid, and then the fact that everything about this movie is forced,
    forced thriller and forced scenes and the fact that everything "should" be scary and weird.And all that was ok with me.
    what gets me is the terrible awful down right insulting performance by Zooey Deschanel, i mean seriously, she couldn't act at all and didn't make sense the entire film.
    and you have another bad performance by John Leguizamo and the sad thing is that even Mark Wahlberg performance was bad, watching him squeeze his face to make some impressions is really painful to watch.
    after all, this is just a bad movie being bad with no excuse of excising, thank you very much M. Night for making me feel weird about myself watching Mark Wahlberg talking to a plant, Sigh.
    Expand
  32. Jun 7, 2014
    3
    This movie is impressively bad!

    Is so bad that it becomes one of the must funny movies you can ever see; How is it that plants become such a hazard to humanity? is not even well explained, how do you run from the wind? that's impossible, why is the acting so awkward? I know the cast is talented but they were you just have fun to laugh. The director of this movie is a legend among
    This movie is impressively bad!

    Is so bad that it becomes one of the must funny movies you can ever see; How is it that plants become such a hazard to humanity? is not even well explained, how do you run from the wind? that's impossible, why is the acting so awkward? I know the cast is talented but they were you just have fun to laugh. The director of this movie is a legend among filmmakers for starting on the top and then go way down bellow... The writing is horrible, the characters are dumb, the plot is funny and the directing is just idiotic...

    I cannot believe that this is the same men who directed "The Sixth Sense", he is now a laughing stock and maybe he deserves this new heat... maybe one day he will come around but until then this will always be his worst movie...
    Expand
  33. Jul 15, 2013
    6
    Entretenida otra buena pelicula de M night salayman guarda un buen suspenso y trayectoria es el trauma de esta familia por salir de este casi irremediable problema
  34. Jun 14, 2013
    4
    wow that was a bad movie. Starts good but seriously thenature wants to attack us? What the heck? M.night has made such great movies like The sixth sense and Devil is not that bad. But this one was extremely bad. Too scientific for a horror movie. Thumbs down
  35. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    This review contains no spoilers, ironic really considering it was a waste of time and money and spoiled my day. People in the film start killing themselves for no apparent reason, probably after finding out who the director was. Very little Happens, which Happened to be the films only redeeming feature. If less and less had Happened, way back until what may Happen was merely aThis review contains no spoilers, ironic really considering it was a waste of time and money and spoiled my day. People in the film start killing themselves for no apparent reason, probably after finding out who the director was. Very little Happens, which Happened to be the films only redeeming feature. If less and less had Happened, way back until what may Happen was merely a possibility of it Happening until finally there was no chance of it Happening I would have had a better day, something I like might have happened. Expand
  36. Nov 15, 2013
    3
    Little happens in The Happening.
    The Happening begins intriguing and mysterious until out stretching its concept. The acting is nothing special, and there isn't anything thought provoking about the ending. It simply ends when they decide its gotten too boring.
  37. Dec 20, 2013
    5
    M. Night Shyamalan's "The Happening" would rather be a nonsense science fiction film with no clues to the problem itself. It's direction of camera filming was a shaky performance and the characters in the film was not mere fully fit for filmography career, but as of the film's thrilling scenes and eerie to scary sounds, it can be considered an okay film.

    The story mainly focuses on the
    M. Night Shyamalan's "The Happening" would rather be a nonsense science fiction film with no clues to the problem itself. It's direction of camera filming was a shaky performance and the characters in the film was not mere fully fit for filmography career, but as of the film's thrilling scenes and eerie to scary sounds, it can be considered an okay film.

    The story mainly focuses on the problem only not on the scale of the plot. The plot sequence was feeling randomly assessed. This film was too bad for Shyamalan's popularity on directing on some of his best critically acclaimed films like The Sixth Sense (1999).

    Rating 5 10
    Expand
  38. Feb 14, 2014
    3
    The film feels like a jumbled mess of ideas that were not carefully thought of. Maybe if it was approached, handled and directed differently, The Happening may have been able to pass off as decent.
  39. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    The happening had great potential but the realization of M.Night Shyamalan was not very good.The dialogues and the acting were really bad and when the action start,after 10 minutes it's over and they are again talking.The movie was still enjoyable even if it's not realistic at all.
  40. Oct 13, 2014
    2
    I understand that Shyamalan can have a very particular style and specific angles he wants to define. That being said, this movie, while having interesting ideas tossed around, finished with nothing but gore and jibberish for acting. I can see that the approach is that maybe plants have the capacity to effect the human brain and its processing. So due to that it makes everyone'sI understand that Shyamalan can have a very particular style and specific angles he wants to define. That being said, this movie, while having interesting ideas tossed around, finished with nothing but gore and jibberish for acting. I can see that the approach is that maybe plants have the capacity to effect the human brain and its processing. So due to that it makes everyone's interactions with each other just odd and confusing. In that sense, the performances were not that bad. But that doesn't make it an entertaining experience. This is disappointing because I know there was a lot of wasted talent and ability here. It is an interesting idea to think the planet could get defensive against humans in that way but in the end I think Shyamalan tried too hard. There were a lot of positive elements that were in the wrong places. The genre wasn't really all that clear either. Pretty graphic and gruesome, while being light and humorously sarcastic almost...I mean what is going on? I am confident there was a well defined point in the director's mind but how it was relayed and delivered was too cryptic. Its just like, what are you trying to say here? Because whatever it is, its not getting across. There was no emotional time to connect to any of the characters and relate to them, there was no self involvement in the struggle. Whatever the struggle was exactly... Definitely a dip in Night's consistency in movie making. Expand
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 38
  2. Negative: 18 out of 38
  1. The movie seems more like a '50s science fiction film of extreme paranoia or an episode of "The Twilight Zone" that even at a swiftly paced 90 minutes feels padded.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    50
    In short, this is a Shyamalan movie minus the bravado, the swagger; there are no audacious attempts to pull out the rug from under the audience, no ham-fisted lessons about the importance of religious belief or the power of storytelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Wilonsky
    50
    What a bunch of nonsense--effective nonsense, chilling nonsense, occasionally wrenching nonsense, but nonsense nonetheless.