Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 619 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: It begins with no clear warning. It seems to come out of nowhere. In a matter of minutes, episodes of strange, chilling deaths that defy reason and boggle the mind in their shocking destructiveness, erupt in major American cities. What is causing this sudden, total breakdown of humanIt begins with no clear warning. It seems to come out of nowhere. In a matter of minutes, episodes of strange, chilling deaths that defy reason and boggle the mind in their shocking destructiveness, erupt in major American cities. What is causing this sudden, total breakdown of human behavior?For Philadelphia high school science teacher Elliot Moore what matters most is finding a way to escape the mysterious and deadly phenomenon. (Twentieth Century Fox) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 38
  2. Negative: 18 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Stina Chyn
    60
    Whether you’re a casual or an ardent follower of M. Night Shyamalan's films, The Happening could alienate or dominate your thinking cap. Remember--it's perfectly acceptable to laugh one second and shriek the next.
  2. Some sure symptoms: The movie demonstrates a smart movie geek's obsession with the rhythms and gory details of horror storytelling, undermined by a pompous insistence on spiritual lessons of the tritest kind.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    40
    The old-school horror tricks (the fake scare followed by a real one, the safe haven that isn't) feel more like cribbing than homage, but they get the job done.
  4. 38
    M. Night Shyamalan's sixth film mines a rich lode of end-of-the-world-as-we-know-it clichés, but while the set up is spooky, the development is heavy handed and marred by Shyamalan's inability to write natural-sounding dialogue or convincing characters.
  5. He still sees dead people, only now they're the best thing in the movie.
  6. The Happening makes you wonder whether Mr. Shyamalan's own switch may have been flipped. How else to explain his film's befuddling infelicities, insistent banalities, shambling pace and pervasive ineptitude?

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. IsaacC
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Finally Score = Planet 1, Humans 0, I see Genius where humans took a back seat and you can tell by these ignorant reviews how lost we really Finally Score = Planet 1, Humans 0, I see Genius where humans took a back seat and you can tell by these ignorant reviews how lost we really are and sensitive to the possibility of nature being sensitive and defensive too. Truly a masterpiece and respects to all participants in down playing humans and upscaling the breathing breeze. Expand
  2. Williethefree
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    The best Overseas in the boxoffice, Hulk in second place, only USA seems to hate it, relax my friends!.
  3. AndrewD.
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    Suprisingly creepy with a definite ecocide-in-reverse theme. The disdain with which bloggers treat M Nights films is a worry. No mainstream Suprisingly creepy with a definite ecocide-in-reverse theme. The disdain with which bloggers treat M Nights films is a worry. No mainstream pulp director has ever received such scorn. Each and every film stimulated me intellectually and cinematically. In 20 years his films will be remembered and revisited again and again. Then witness the volte-face of the contempary critics who found his works to be egotistical. Methinks you do protest too much. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    6
    This became a dull film with a really bad plot, and confusing - but Wahlberg's performance was a little So and So with his character in TheThis became a dull film with a really bad plot, and confusing - but Wahlberg's performance was a little So and So with his character in The Happening. This film isn't what you might expect for a disaster film. It's a confusing film (for understanding what the film is about), and I think it wasn't showing any suspense or thrills in this sci-fi film. Expand
  5. SeanG
    Jun 14, 2009
    3
    I can't believe that a well-respected director like M. Night Shyamalan would make something this incredibly bad. You know that Shyamalan I can't believe that a well-respected director like M. Night Shyamalan would make something this incredibly bad. You know that Shyamalan is intending the movie to be a horror/thriller type of movie, and that is what you would expect, but that is not the case in this film. As many others have stated, the acting truly is laughable, at points similar to acting in movies such as Scary Movie and other parody films. What makes it even more funny is the lines that are used which always seemed like the most obvious lines you could think of. The only thing that came close to keeping me on the edge of my seat was the camera shots throughout the movie that built suspense for me multiple times. Other than that, and overall, the acting was bad, the script was bad, the storyline didn't go anywhere throughout the movie, and the ending didn't give off any second thoughts or any additional thinking (as I saw Shyamalan's Sixth Sense). When it's over, all it seems to be is an unrealistic movie with a plot that never went anywhere and parody-like acting. Expand
  6. ZackW.
    Jun 15, 2008
    2
    This was an terrible film. Not only was the entire audience laughing for half of the "horror" film, but it was booed at the ending. This was This was an terrible film. Not only was the entire audience laughing for half of the "horror" film, but it was booed at the ending. This was a late attempt for the writer/director to jump on the environmental bandwagon. This film was horrible. It left me with a feeling of.... hmm.... oh yeah, I want my money back! Expand
  7. EvanO.
    Jun 12, 2008
    0
    M. Night Shymalan's best movie since the Sixth Sense. Visually horrifying and psychologically thrilling. Will leave you thinking for a M. Night Shymalan's best movie since the Sixth Sense. Visually horrifying and psychologically thrilling. Will leave you thinking for a while afterwards. Expand

See all 362 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered

    Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 3, 2010
    The co-stars of this week's "The Other Guys" are hoping that the new action-comedy breaks them out of a slump. We look at the best and worst films of their careers to date.