Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Feb 3, 2013
    70
    The helmer generates suspense with shrewd pacing, deft emotional manipulation and efficient use of familiar tricks -- jittery editing, flickering lights and unsettling sounds -- common to haunted-house pictures.
  2. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Feb 3, 2013
    50
    Actually offers some decent scares before descending into typical horror film bombast.
  3. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 26, 2013
    42
    To the film’s credit, it doesn’t waste much time in doling out shadowy figures and fake-outs for the gullible and easily goosed, and the cast as a whole dutifully delivers its panicked looks and cries in the night.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Feb 5, 2013
    20
    The story is ultimately nothing more than a decrepit vehicle for the moldiest of scary-movie clichés: screechy specters, inane character behavior and jump scares that a toddler could anticipate minutes ahead of time.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jan 31, 2013
    20
    The storytelling, from a script by David Coggeshall, is at times nearly incoherent and relies too often on random scares.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Feb 5, 2013
    10
    The rotting corpses, projectile insect vomit, and creepy geezers in black arrive pretty much on cue, as does the great Cicely Tyson as the obligatory old blind woman who "sees" more than most people with two good eyes. It's her upper bridge, though, that's truly the scariest thing in the whole movie.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    3
    Ghosts of Georgia has some new ideas, but overall, it is filled with cliches and outdated ideas, old creaky stuff just to generate some scares that we pray for to work, at the end of the day, no shocks. Predictable and cheesy. At some points of the movie, I regret watching it and think that it would have been better to feel bored than watching this. I have some questions for the writers. Why should anyone sane, knows that some crazy stuff happening around him, move from his house at midnight rather than morning? And I don't think that anyone doing nothing, won't wait till morning, to do laundry! The acting is maybe good for a horror movie, I might give credit for that. The story is somehow interesting, and there is a little bit of ideas that are somehow new. So 3 out of 10 and I regret it. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    2
    AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL. Any good comments on here must be paid for as this movie has no good points at all.

    You know them really bad horror
    movies where characters go for midnight walks? do the clothes washing at night outside? move out there house at midnight? yeah this is one of those.

    Avoid at all costs.Nothing good to see here at all.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    3
    This movie is only trying to scare but it lacks story, and it lacks the way to capture its audience. I would recommend to skip this one. The movie is very dull and very confusing on to what the meaning of the movie is. The movie is way better to be left unwatched. Lions gate didn't make such a good movie this time. Not worth the watch. The story could've been written and directed better. Full Review »